Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 237 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Arktech. Some will die for it – everyone kills for it. Join a futuristic online open-world shooter where thousands of players scour a transformed Earth competing for alien technology. Hunt alone or with other people as you improve your skills and level up unlocking powerful weapons that helpArktech. Some will die for it – everyone kills for it. Join a futuristic online open-world shooter where thousands of players scour a transformed Earth competing for alien technology. Hunt alone or with other people as you improve your skills and level up unlocking powerful weapons that help you survive the massive battles that await you. Defiance is the first multiplatform shooter MMO which interconnects with a global television program by cable channel Syfy. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    80
    I may not know what other MMOs offer, but something that feels like a single-player game where other people just happen to show up is just about the best possible thing I can imagine. Coming from this perspective, Defiance delivers.
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    70
    Despite the ropey opening few hours Defiance settles into its rhythm very nicely and becomes a game that is so easily picked up and played you cannot help but fall for it a little. Yes for every positive there are at least two negatives but ultimately it’s light, fun and most of all an experience that console players currently do not have.
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    70
    Defiance is essentially a single player shooter, that has been retrofitted to an MMOFPS. The multiplayer component doesn't really add anything to the game, if you don't count some random back-up crews as such. [Aug 2013]
  4. Apr 18, 2013
    60
    Much like its own arkfalls, Defiance offers treasure, but you have to battle an array of bugs before you can reap it.
  5. Jun 10, 2013
    60
    With its straight focus, repetitive missions and static world, Defiance shouldn't work as well as it does. There's potential here. [July 2013, p.69]
  6. May 21, 2013
    55
    Defiance isn’t a bad game, it’s just not all that fun to play.
  7. Apr 18, 2013
    25
    Defiance can still get its hooks in you in the addictive way that most MMO’s do, but there’s a point where frustration with the various issues will continue to build, and make you put the game up for good. Once those issues are fixed, assuming they will be, then I imagine we’ll have a decent experience on our hands, especially for console gamers that don’t get a lot of MMO love. But until then, I’d suggest saving your time and money for something that actually works and feels complete.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 118
  2. Negative: 22 out of 118
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Finally! Defiance is THE game this console has been missing for a long time. It's like Fallout 3 meets Borderlands meets Final Fantasy. TonsFinally! Defiance is THE game this console has been missing for a long time. It's like Fallout 3 meets Borderlands meets Final Fantasy. Tons of things to do MMO RPG PvP Excellent combat system NO SUBSCRIPTION FEE WIN. Now where is my fish sticks hat? Collapse
  2. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    Awesome game noting else like it available for console; reminds me of a borderlands, gears of wars and rift mix up. Can be enjoyed with a fewAwesome game noting else like it available for console; reminds me of a borderlands, gears of wars and rift mix up. Can be enjoyed with a few friends or hundreds of players at the same time. Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2013
    9
    Defiance really served on pretty much everything- Good graphics, good gameplay, good music, it's all just so easy to love. I'm already wishingDefiance really served on pretty much everything- Good graphics, good gameplay, good music, it's all just so easy to love. I'm already wishing they would make a Defiance 2.... Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    8
    I have been following this game for about 6 weeks before launch. The concept sounded interesting and the planning behind everything had meI have been following this game for about 6 weeks before launch. The concept sounded interesting and the planning behind everything had me hopeful at a successful launch for both the TV show and game.

    After launch, I waited about 1 1/2 weeks checking in frequently with the developers website to see how the launch was going. From the looks of it, the launch was rough on the 360. To be fair, from what I can tell, this launch seems smoother than other MMO's and the developer seemed fairly quick to own up to their mistakes and quickly fix them.

    After I purchased the game, I had about a 1 hour install while the game loaded from the disk and then downloaded the patches. Not to bad and it gave me time to go to the site and create an account as well as enter the Ark Codes...there's 120 of them, so I needed some time.

    Once I got into the game, it was fairly quick and painless to create a character and jump in. The tutorial did a good job of teaching how to use most of the systems, but did not touch on how to quick travel or what lock boxes are. So..to get in the game and shoot things, easy. To learn how some of the various systems interact with each other...hit up your search engine of choice because it's not clearly explained.

    The graphics seem on par with other 360 titles, so no major complaint there. I am concerned whether or not this game will play nicely with next gen consoles though.

    I have had some minor bugs, but nothing game breaking. The most annoying one was when I kept getting killed when standing under a bridge with nothing around and no line of sight to anything but either dirt or concrete (I was exploring). After I evacuated, I kept getting shot with no one around. Eventually I just logged out and back in. After that everything went smooth. I am a little confused about the complaints with bugs glitches. Sad to say, but don't most games that ship today come with bugs out of the box only to be patched within a day or two of launch? Sad but true.

    So far I've played the game about 10 hours. Through that time I have had missions where I was desperately out numbered and needed help when a random stranger would wonder by and help. Those moments were a god send. However, I've also had the opposite where I'm fighting for my life and people drive by. I'd say that is about par for an online game and isn't something the developers can really fix.
    Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2013
    7
    I was so excited about the potential for an MMO on the 360, read everything I could and got caught up in the hype. After the sharp learningI was so excited about the potential for an MMO on the 360, read everything I could and got caught up in the hype. After the sharp learning curve and first month of technical problems it becomes just a game that makes you repeat the same things you have done a million times. Go there and do this or go there and kill that. The world is bland and lifeless compared to games like GTA even if they are different worlds. You can drive forever in Defiance without seeing much, not that it's even worth seeing. After you play through a couple of Ark Falls and finish the solo story you just lose interest. There isn't enough meat in the game to keep you coming back. Maybe if the world expanded or your leveling was set up in a different fashion. The level system could use some work and perks could be better but works ok as it is. The whole game is ok but had so much more potential.
    The other thing to consider is how are they going to roll into the new console generation? This is an online game through their servers. With the new generation coming are they going to set you up on the new xbox or are you going to have to buy another game since they just signed on for a second season?
    Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2013
    6
    Defiance isn't bad neither is it particularly good. This is the best way that I can sum up this game. I wanted to enjoy this game but it justDefiance isn't bad neither is it particularly good. This is the best way that I can sum up this game. I wanted to enjoy this game but it just didn't do enough to keep me wanting to stick around.

    To start, the lack of choices when it comes to choosing your race was disappointing. It would seem that the game lore has the potential to have more races be available but you are limited to only two when you create your character. Furthermore, your origin story that you choose means absolutely nothing beyond the outfit and gun type that you start with. During cutscenes, characters show the bare minimum of emotion and lip syncing is poor at best. I also experiencing a fair amount of screen tearing during cutscenes but nothing overly intrusive. The game world from a graphical standpoint looks generic and underwhelming and low resolution textures are everywhere. I don't want to say that graphics are the highest priority, but coming off of recent releases that push the Xbox 360 to its limits, Defiance is severely lacking in this department. I understand that given the scale and amount of rendering that is needed, this becomes difficult to achieve but I personally felt it took me out of the experience. Technical issues become more apparent the more you play. On several occasions I noticed large amounts of lag even doing something as simple as opening up my character's inventory. In some cases, other player's armor would render properly from a distance but up close the game would make all surrounding characters look the same. Sound will also cut out frequently during large engagements such as the events known as "Arkfalls".

    Arkfalls are usually multi-stage events within the game world that players can participate in to gain loot and currency. However, as a result of the game scaling the difficulty as a result of more players being around, these Arkfall events end up turning into 50+ players holding down the trigger devoid of any real skill. The AI is also very unsupportive during missions and will typically leave you bleeding out waiting to be revived or end up crawling around the environment themselves after contributing nothing to the battle at hand. Side missions typically fall under the fetch quest motif and add nothing substantial to the story while growing increasingly repetitive. The world itself also fairly uninteresting to explore due in my part to the poor graphics but the game does insist on placing audio logs in the rubble of random buildings should you wish to learn more about the lore of the game.

    Overall, my opinion of the game is generally negative but at the same time I can't at least give some credit to the Trion for attempting to take on the task of bringing an MMO to the consoles. Defiance had so much potential but falls short of solid execution. I also haven't mentioned the other aspects of the game such as co-op missions and PvP. The former are similar to the co-op style missions in Red Dead Redemption and the latter are Team Deathmatch style similar to what you might see in Gears of War/Tomb Raider etc.
    Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2013
    0
    One of the ugliest games I've ever seen on the Xbox 360. Even the cut-scenes do stutter. Furthermore it is an epic fail on the mmo-side. NoOne of the ugliest games I've ever seen on the Xbox 360. Even the cut-scenes do stutter. Furthermore it is an epic fail on the mmo-side. No dynamic voice chat to replace the loss of the chat dialog. I mean typing with the Gamepad seriously? The AI is non existent. NPCs behave very dumb. Quests have no interesting quality and the game is a boring overall experience. It feels like a game from 10 years ago with huge design mistakes. Expand

See all 118 User Reviews