User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 585 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 585

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Whoever stands behind this game took this stuff seriously. You really can't blame a game these days only because of an outdated hardware on which it is supposed to run. Visuals, sound, AI, mechanics, dialogue, RPG elements are crafted generally the way they should be. Making it more complex could let you lose most of the audience who haven't played it prequels. This game is really challenging. If you lose you know it's because you didn't think of a correct solution to the problem. Deus Ex universe is what gets as close as possible to what you could possibly witness in the next few decades in your own world. I think that's the main reason to check it out. Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    This game is awesome the fact that you have choices on how you want to approach an enemy and take them down there is so many hiding places and secrets to find to help you though the game out of 10 I would give it a 9.5 out of ten
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Role-playing games are becoming more and more an illusion these days. With modern graphics and other detractions truely taking away the experiences that created the genre we all love. With Deus Ex HR, we can finally go back to some of the RPG roots we have forgotten. Given the amount of choice and freedom you are given, it doesn't ultimately forgive that there are some short-comings to this masterpiece. All in all, Deus Ex HR sings the songs of older genre games that we older gamers long for. Well done! Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    A truly outstanding dark and gritty, cyberpunk, action role-playing experience. This title by Eidos Montreal lives up to the hype and then some. Whether you're a fan of the sci-fi, role-playing, first person/third person shooter, or the stealth-action genre Deus Ex: Human Revolution is the game for you.
  5. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    Having a lot of fun with this game so far. I feel like it is a good combination of old school Splinter Cell and the MGS series. Like many reviews have said the setting is very Blade Runner-esque, which is very cool IMO. The story is bound in conspiracy and corporate espionage which is a fun thing when you are an augmented badass. There are many ways to approach a level as the developer states, though if you are like me and are a completionist, you will need to augment in several different areas. I recommend spending some augmentation points in hacking (at least to level 2 or 3) fairly early on. You will eventually encounter side mission objectives that can't be completed without a decent hacking skill. That being said, you are still free to shotgun your way through different levels. The game supports run-and-gun approaches but I have to say it is somewhat weighted heavier to a stealthy approach to problem solving. Love the graphics, dialog options and music of the game, all done in good taste. The game is not without a few flaws though. There are exploits you will find that take advantage of the cover system and allow you to breeze through some levels, but just avoid this to keep the game challenging. I recommend this game for fans of stealthy, techy shooters with some decent RPG elements thrown into the mix. Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    This game is by far one of the most intelligent and adult games I've played in years! By far the biggest surprise AAA experience of the year so far and absolutely deserving of every penny spent on it. I've played nonstop 9 hours already and my jaw has been on the floor the entire time. Do yourself a favor and buy this game as it's one of the most original concepts out right now. Picture a cross between Bioshock and Mass Effect and you'll be on the right track. Can't give enough praise to this product-simply blew me away! Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution has a Blade Runner atmosphere mixed with innovative combat mechanics and a compelling story.
    Human Revolution is prequel to the original game set in 2027. Players take on the role of Adam Jensen, a former SWAT officer who has been hired as the security chief for Sarif Industries. The company him and his girlfriend work for is attacked and he is almost killed.
    Sarif rebuilds Jensen using "augmentation" which allows players to mold Jensen into a truly unique character according to how they want to play the game. You can go through this game like Call of Duty: Black Ops or take a more tactical approach like Mass Effect 2. There is a way for the more stealthy characters or ones who enjoy manipulating conversations. It all depends on how you want to play. Guns and gadgets are heavily varied and combat never gets old. I will replay this game using a different "pillar of gameplay" as the developers put it. The closest game I could compare this is to is probably Alpha Protocol. Only it doesn't have all the bugs and problems Alpha did.
    The graphics may seem a little dated to some, but in my opinion fit this game perfectly. Settings are beautifully designed and characters are interesting and unique. One of my few gripes is there really isn't any way to make Jensen seem "closer" to the characters like we see in games like Mass Effect. Nonetheless, this doesn't detract from the story at all. The soundtrack seams perfectly with the game.
    The story is brilliant. Excellent voice actors convey the characters emotions perfectly. Biotechnology and political (and industrial) espionage is rampant in this game. The plot continues at a steady pace and ends on a satisfying conclusion.
    Other than a few A.I. glitches here and there, this game is stellar. If you enjoy fun FPS, RPGs, or just want to try something new. This game is recommended for you.
    Expand
  8. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    This game is pretty good. Yesterday I had said that this game was "okay", but the further I get through the game, the more I love it. The upgrade system (the augmentation system) is well done, the game really starts giving more options tactically the further you go, and the weapons feel great. I still have gripes, but being most of the way through now, I think I can safely say this game is an 8.5 out of 10 (rounded to nine above). Expand
  9. Aug 28, 2011
    6
    for what it may be worth: At the Square Enix website (June 28; 5 days after the game's release) you still cannot register your copy of Deus Ex: Human Revolution for the promised 50 extra members' points.
    It still reads "coming soon" -- as if Square Enix did not have months to prepare -- or doesn't care.
  10. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    No its graphics are not as good as Mass Effect 2 or Call of Duty. yes their better than your normal RPG/FPS game.. Deus Ex 3 does what they said it would do, what it was meant to do, to take you back to the days of system shock, thief 2 and deus ex 1 a time when single player was rewarded for thinking and creativity. when the story and atmosphere really meant something and makes many of the triple A games from the last few years look foolish. Deus Ex 3 is a peace of art work. its not a game its an experience and Deus Ex 3 will be remembered long after this years blockbusters are forgotten. Expand
  11. Aug 23, 2011
    0
    A shadow of the original. The levels are all small, hallwayish. Rather like exploring the bowels of something (long intestine hallway to office room full of **** The area design itself feels.. random, generated even, like it was done by algorithm and clone stamp (think oblivion houses).

    The combat is incredibly simplified (hold q to defeat foe! you held q, 50 exp! silent takedown!) and
    the guns are unintuitive and, honestly, I found them harder to use than the first game's weapons with no skill points in them.

    Also blah blah the textures look like **** the clothing look absolutely retarded (think renfair meets ravers), the enemies are braindead, the boss fights are awful, loading times, blah blah etc console gaming, etc.

    The only thing I really can appreciate is the mocap on some of the people looks pretty realistic, though perhaps a little overdone.

    Overall I'm glad this game was only $49 on steam, because I would have been **** furious to have paid 60 bucks for this uninspired attempt to milk a series.
    Expand
  12. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    Great atmosphere and nice story which seems to be a throwback to many sci-fi stories from the past (Bladerunner first came to mind). The combat is decent and so is the stealth aspect. The cover-system is a little screwy at times, and the load times seem a little unnecessary for the medium quality visuals. Boss fights are random as heck and don't go with the flow of the game. Good fun, overall.
  13. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    This game is RIDICULOUSLY good!! - I kind of had low expectations as the trailers seemed too good to be true, and being a fan of the original (not IWars though, as that sucked mad balls), I was sceptical anyone could take on the hype and win. Boy, was I wrong... this game is so bloody sexy it's not funny: I definately recommend the Augmented edition (especially if you're in Australasia or Europe) as you'll get all the pre-order bonuses and the Tong mission... you'll want as much of this experience as there is to get, it's that good.

    One final note, the three IDIOTS who gave this 0/10 can eat balls and die big time... trying to bring the user score down on purpose is pretty low. It's obviously pro-haters, or just one real f**ktard with three accounts. May you be struck down for your insolence! :) A big 10/10 from me, Demikly.
    Expand
  14. Aug 23, 2011
    0
    Does not compare to the original. A a C-list attempt at reinvigorating a cult classic. Cheap looking level design, simpleton controls that are made out to be more then they are. Severly lacks the depth and character building experience of the original.
  15. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    Wow, I love these haters on here. They make a great Deus Ex game and either some strange loyalty to Ion Storm persist or you are one of those people who just like to **** with no foundation. Deus Ex: Human Revolution is the first great game of the Holiday Season. The story is wonderful and a marvel of cyberpunk story telling. The game holds the Deus Ex name high and is a worthy successor as it emulates the gameplay of the original game and expands upon it with grace and class. And game play is where it counts and is where DE: HR excels. Sneaking around cities, finding new paths to follow. Almost everything I could do in Deus Ex, I can do in DE: HR. The graphics are average at best but great graphics do not make a great game. The environments are great though and the level design is something a lot of devs (Looking at you copycat FPS creators especially Call of Duty). There are many ways to achieve your objective and beautiful Sci-fi cities and backgrounds await you. The music is just awesome and does not get in the way of you play. Yeah, a few of the tunes may take you back to the Mass Effect games but it is distinct enough to distinguish itself from that series. Plus, a familiar tune for those original Deus Ex players gets whistled by a few NPCs every once in a while, adding to the Easter Eggs and throwbacks to the beloved original. Pretty much, if you want a thinking man's game and the first great RPG to hit the market this season then get your 60 bucks ready and buy in. Only serious gamers apply as DE: HR has no patience for the twitch gamer who does nothing but push a button and go from scripted scene to scripted scene. For that matter how can you have problems with the bosses?? Seriously, they are nothing new and are pretty easy to boot. You have played other video game right? Ask yourself if they really differ from any other boos fights. To me, they did not disrupt the gameplay and actually gave me a different style to take in this great game. Ignore the haters and the fools, go get this game and enjoy many sleepless nights! Expand
  16. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    The biggest surprise of the year. Not many originally believed that a console oriented Deus Ex sequel developed in an era of dumbed down gaming experiences could in any way approach its predecessor, which, released in the year 2000, showed the world what does "Interactive game" truly mean. Turns out it could. Human Revolution is everything Deus Ex was and more, it is a true sequel to the cult classic and is a masterpiece on its own. It shows that, even in the year 2011 and despite the obsession of the gaming industry with simplifying games to the point where they can barely be called games anymore, it is still possible to have a high budget, blockbuster gaming experience designed not to be played by your grandma, but by you. Expand
  17. Aug 26, 2011
    3
    Gutted I really enjoyed the original game 10 years ago. I have to say i`m half way through this game and very disapointed with it. The ulgy graphics poor quality animation looks like a 360 launch title. The game play is pretty standard stuff very average. Theres no real choice you have to stealth most of it , which isn`t very well done in this game and gets boring fast the cover system feels broken at times . The programming and graphics and AI are all poor its 2011 this game plays looks and feels like a 5 year old game. The world never feels real with the stiff animation the lip sync its miles off and lack of detail is unforgivable they manage to fit the whole game on one dvd shows. The menu system and hud are poorly implemented hacking is tiresome crappy mini game. This game does nothing new nothing exciting there plenty of far better stealth games than this. The idea for the game is great i just dont think the team behind it managed to even come close to making it good don`t believe the hype. Rent it. Expand
  18. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    I haven't played any of dues ex games before this game. When i saw the trailer i was immediately hooked because of the story was interesting, two it looked epic. Kickass trailer. this game deserve 10 ot of 10
  19. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    Nice big 10 to offset against the three idiots who gave this a 0 score. Professional haters.

    Great game which continues the tradition set down by Deux Ex and Invisible War.
  20. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    Simply a mind blowing RPG - Action packed first person shooter, but if you go into it thoroughly, DX Human Revolution is indeed a revolution to its franchise, a beautiful triple A title that's all i ever dreamed of.
  21. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    This game is incredible, and is worthy to have the name Deus Ex. it does have some minor imperfections, the graphics could have been a bit better, and Ive been experiencing a lag every now aga. But everything else, the "4 pillars of gameplay" are there, the atmosphere is fantastic, and the game is actually really dang hard. you will enjoy it if you played the original, and have been longing for the return of the golden age of videogames. this isnt Call of Duty. its not meant for kids, it's meant for the true gamers out there. Expand
  22. Aug 24, 2011
    8
    First let me start off that I've been following this series since the first Deus Ex and was reasonably expecting this game to match or excede the original. Therefore all of my review will be comparing it to the first Deus Ex. And I must say it comes pretty close, but not quite. I will start off with the good first. The graphics are excelent: they capture the cyber-punk atmosphere. My only complaint is that Square kinda forced their Final Fantasy style graphics on the wardrobe and the character models. Music and sound is adequete for the game. The first Deus Ex music (Not sound effects) in my opinion was better. You have a very large selection of augmentations which can be unlocked through gaining experience points. All the weapons you find in the game can be upgraded in style similar to the Second Deus Ex but with more upgrade slots. Now the Bad....The path choice is nowhere near as broad as the first Deus Ex. You pretty much can either go though the front door or crawl therough the air duct hidden behind the movable cardboard box. There is maybe a sewer or a ladder to scaffolding here and there, but not much else. The enemy has very robotic AI. The will come straight at you and barely ever miss a shot when you are out in the open. Yet, they will funnel though a doorway you are hiding behind after watching their teammate get punched or shot in the head right in front of them. And is I mentioned above: the character models and the wardrobe reeks very much of Square/Enix. I'd go as far tho say the characters looked better in Deus Ex 2 or even 1 just for the fact they looked the part for the atmosphere created for them. Not the outlandish,"Lets add some spikey ruffles to the dress/coat for coolness." type of style seen in the recently horrible Final Fantasy series. It's as if Square has combined emo, pirate, and renaissance to make this mutation that they seem to think looks cool. Overall I am satisfied with this game, but not blown away like I should be for a game made in 2011. Especially since they were supposedly basing the gameplay off of part one. I concur with the previous reviewers that this game is very much dumbed down for the ADD generation raised on CoD and Halo games. The story and gameplay is good, but it won't keep you playing for hours on end looking for every possible path like the first Deus Ex did. I would definately say it is worth buying. But if I had a choice of this one or a graphically remade (Or even rereleased) Deus Ex 1, I would chose Part One in a heartbeat Expand
  23. Aug 24, 2011
    8
    The gameplay will keep everyone on their feet in anticipation. A very intense game, full of great visuals and phenomenal music. Only problems are the loading times and short amounts of ammunition, but that doesn't take much away from this awesome game.
  24. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    Deuce Ex lives up to name and delivers giant load of crap to enjoy from the comfort of your own home. You will enjoy repeatedly dying, an infinitely frustrating stealth and cover system, and an obnoxious inventory limitation to contend with. Yes it is a FPS mixed with RPG elements, and NO this doesn't make it an original concept. I think nerds are just happy to have something that isn't COD or BF. Its not unique, innovative and most importantly fun. Don't buy the hype this game is garbage. Collapse
  25. Aug 30, 2011
    5
    I have to say, it feels like we, as gamers, and reviewers, as professionals are so incredibly amazed that actual, honest to God, EFFORT exists in this industry that when something comes out in which it's obvious the developer invested real effort, we close our eyes to all it's faults and go "Well at least it's not yet another bland uncreative modern shooter about killing russians/terrorists/germans!". I can certainly sympathize with that logic, but there's only so many faults I can excuse based on it. Let's get real here, this game is not a 9/10, it's not an 8/10 either. It has problems stacked on top of problems and if I'm the only one willing to sit down and point them out, then I will do just that. So let's start shall we?

    1. Immersion:
    It's an elusive thing isn't it? Difficult to create but incredibly rewarding if you succeed. It's one of the reasons the Portal games did so well. This game has none. As hard as you may try to immerse yourself in it's world, it will not let you in. You'll see a breaker that's been breaking for the past 5 hours of gameplay or notice that no NPC ever does anything other than the one thing you saw it do the first time you laid eyes on it. Or you'll get in a firefight in the streets and all the civilians will crouch, raise their hands in the air and start repeating "go away" over and over. Or you'll notice that while traversing the city you hear the same scream over and over and over. Or you'll get annoyed at the fact that all enemies have a single, solitary patrol path (really, is waypointing such advanced technology in 2011?) and nobody ever reacts to the fact that just a few minutes ago there were another 4 of their friends in the room and now they're alone. In short the scripting in this game is bad. Very, very bad, made all the worse considering we're in the post GTA4 era. And it will mercilessly shoot down any attempt you make to place yourself in the characters position.
    2. The story is..well, bland. You're asked to care about a lot of things based on the "death" of a woman you knew for about 2 minutes. And well..you just don't. None of it has any sense of importance whatsoever, it doesn't feel epic or even interesting. 3. The characters: I'm sorry but nothing excuses making such 2 dimensional characters in this day and age. I could literally fill everything I know about all 3 of the "Major" NPCs in a single paragraph. This is the diablo 2 approach to creating characters. And then you're asked to care about them. Why? I don't know their backstories, I don't know their motivations, I don't know anything about them. Their personalities are generic, we've seen them a million times. So how am I meant to give a damn about any of this?
    4. Character progression: The upgrade system is..well, unimaginative. Most of the activated abilities serve little practical purpose or give advantages so small it hardly seems worth investing the points in it. All this is exacerbated by the fact that the energy system can only be replenished via consumables. When has this EVER been a good idea guys? 5. There's a "right" way and a "wrong" way to play this game. Yes, they give you a gun. They give you several guns in fact, with fancy upgrades for them and everything. Then they reward you outrageously if you don't use them and stealth instead and give you next to nothing if you go the crazed gunman route. Why have the option at all I ask? What's the point of giving the players two clear alternatives on how to beat them game then rewarding one ridiculously and the other not at all?

    Overall I struggle to call this a good game. It's a game where the developer actually tried to invest some creativity in, which I can respect considering we're soon getting CoD 500, Battlefield 300 and Halo 50 (you get the idea, don't take it literally). But there are far too many glaring issues for the game to even entertain much less earn all the hype and praise it's getting.
    Expand
  26. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    The fact that certain morons give this game such a low score, without actually pointing out its innumerable merits, discredits them completely. This game is beautiful. Granted not perfect, but it would be unrealistic to expect much more from a game of this magnitude. The technical constraints, I can only imagine, were numerous. I can't stand net-douches trolling just for the sake of trolling. Disliking a game is one thing, but giving a game with so much depth a "0" or a 1"???? That's just plain ignorance. The story is fantastic, extremely engaging, and to anyone with at least a grade 5 level of intelligence, enormously relevant in today's society. I suspect "ComradeRifle ", "Toneboat923 ", "Hillean", and the like to suffer from severe brain hemorrhaging. This might explain the stupidity and ignorance in their posts. You guys might want to get checked out - could be fatal. Douchebags aside, the gameplay is tight - despite occasional AI glitches - and thoroughly immersing. The sheer amount of options at your disposal when customizing your character is astounding. I found myself taking forever to choose where I would use my praxis points, as almost every decision you make in Human Revolution has a direct impact in your experience. And that is fantastic. Rarely have I found myself so drawn into a world, a game, the way I have with Human Revolution. Pay no mind to the ignorant - they are absolutely entitled to their opinions, but disliking a game and trashing it score wise without pointing ANY redeeming qualities, is just plain trolling. If you're a fan of engaging stories, intense action and Rpgs in general, then do yourself a favor and buy this game. Forget the trolls. Deus Ex Human Revolution deserves better. Expand
  27. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution is not like other FPS's. You don't just blow s#it out, and kill people. You've got to be intelligent. Of course, you can just kill everything that move towards you. But the fun in this game, is to think, to make a fortress of boxes to hide, to find a vent and go through it, to hack, to hide bodies, and to think what's going to be your next augmentation. This game is not perfect (it's cutscenes are just awful, for example) but the way it plays, it's just incredible. It's a nice RPG and a nice shooter as well. For me, this is a candidate for GOTY. Expand
  28. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    I was a huge fan of the original, was hugely disappointed by Invisible War, and have thankfully been hugely impressed by Human Revolution. I don't think it's entirely fair to expect the same level of intricate detail and micro-tuning found in the original (it was a keyboard and mouse exclusive before being ported to PS2), and honestly, I don't really miss improving my swimming skill level anyhow. HR's grid inventory and item crafting really pleased the old PC gamer side of me too (glad to see the universal ammo and item wheel from IW gone). This game is a fantastic balance of complexity and accessibility. Also, some of the most unique art direction in a long time. Don't listen to the graphics nay-sayers. It looks great, and middle-of-the-road graphics with beautiful design work beats out bleeding edge graphics with uninspired art direction any day. Expand
  29. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    I'm a huge fan of the original Deus Ex and Deus Ex invisible war was just average. I'm glad to say that this isn't the case with Deus Ex: Human Revolution. The game has a great story, atmosphere, and the graphics are pretty well done for an open world game. The combat and stealth are satisfying in DXHR and I like how Adam can only take a few bullets before he dies and isn't a bullet sponge like in most fps'. The voice acting is top notch and the enviroments change enough to keep you interested in DXHR throughout the entire experience. The game does have some weird AI glitches and slow points but, it's nothing that ruined the gameplay experince for me. This is the perfect RPG/FPS hybrid and a lot more people should give it a try. This game earns the nine i'm giving it because DXHR is different than most of the boring FPS clones that come out year after year. The game took me about 35 hours to beat doing lots of the sidequests and just taking my time to enjoy the game and not rush through it. I recommend this game to anyone who likes a good story and an immersive gameplay experience. Expand
  30. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    this is a great game and a real throwback to the days of oldschool rpgs with the addition of choice. I must say the hud is not the best but it is not the worst. The graphics are good, not great but the style really works in the games favor and gives a new flair to enclosed environmental. Basically this game is a little COD mixed with final fantasy with player choice added to the midst.
  31. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    I loved this game!! Great storyline, graphics and gameplay. I love sneaking around hiding and taking out people one by one. I never played the original and thought that i would give this game a chance and i am glad i did. 10 out of 10!!!
  32. Aug 28, 2011
    8
    This is an amazing game. I wasn't really sure what to expect with this game, but it has quickly become one of my absolute favorite games. The cover system is reminiscent of something like Mass Effect 2 or Metal Gear Solid, so if you enjoyed those games this might be an option for you. You can approach every situation in a huge variety of ways which are dictated by a very well done augmentation system (very similar to a level-up system). All in all this is a great game. The only problem I have with it is that male character models seem to have kind of tiny heads, but it's not a huge issue. PS - For anyone having issues with registering your product on square enix, I was able to register on release day (North America). Expand
  33. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    I never really played the original but this game is hugely impressive. I was really excited about this after the initial trailer but unsure if it could live up to the hype until I played it. My first impressions were that the graphics are really cool but there were one or two sloppy character models and Jensen's voice is a little cheesy. I also found the controls a little fiddly at first. But once the game-world opened up proper it blew me away with the level of choice and detail. And the in-game music is incredible. I would say it edges Mass Effect 2 as the best action RPG out there. Expand
  34. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Ok, square-Enix deserve to be praised on this as it is amazing, even more so that fans constant bash them for final fantasy 13 for not having for free roam for 20+ hours.....do they remember final fantasy 10? One of the best ff games ever with next to no free roam, anyway. Great game. Graphics are not perfect but not bad in anyway if anything they had to come back a little without throwing money into games just for people to crush them in reviews, (ff, k&l etc etc) the gameplay is outstanding more so that there have been next to no games out this year that have made you go "WOW". the map size is huge! Think free roam like the darkness, stealth like splinter cell and action like fallout. An all round top game and a must buy. Drag yourselves away from the mindless run and gun and enjoy a real game. And people are complaing about not having 100 save files 0n0 REALLY? Is 20 and auto saves not enough? I use 1 why? Because I play the game not save over and over to find a fault. Idiot! Why are there always people who don't have anything better to do try and troll on the Internet. Great game Square-Enix keep it up! Expand
  35. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    Just as good as the original. The huge variety which the series is known for is back and dare I say even better due to the wide selection of augmentations which you can unlock. Through every situation and encounter I experienced I came across several different routes that lead to completely different areas or were inaccessible due to me not having the right ability. This game has massive replay potential, I want to go back just to see what I missed. The story like the other games is filled with conspiracies, secrets and twists that will completely surprise you as well as the main character Adam Jensen. Overall this is my game of the year, Eidos Montreal did a great job of capturing the essence of the original game which wowed so many people over a decade ago. Expand
  36. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    Games do not get much better than this! The sheer depth, detail and beauty of the environments alone is enough to keep you hooked. And with 3 different ways to play, it lasts so many hours!
  37. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    sorry I'm not much on reviews and don't mess with them much but this is different. this game just might be one of the most thought out games that's been released in sometime. its not the same old stuff, make some new maps, play for 5 hours and send them on their multiplayer way. a lot of care went into this game right down to the smallest of things. its a shame some just can't grasp the full scope of what this game offers and very and i mean very few games show the amount of dedicated work that must have went into this. Thanks Eidos, a job very well done. Expand
  38. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    This game is glorious, it is by far the most engaging game of 2011 (so far). Any of the visual limitations or mediocre voice work are made up for by the gameplay and story. I love the stealth options which begs a second playthrough by offering a trophy for not killing a single person in a single playthrough. My initial reaction to the augmentations was underwhelming but once you get deeper into the game you realize the necessity of some of the weaker options, some of the initialy exciting augs come back underwhelming (like seeing through walls). But like I said I found myself building up Adam's hacking abilities and so forth more than I ever initially thought I would. Great game great play time, I have invested roughly 22 hours into this game and still havent finished. I dont purchase games due to a pass at blockbuster that I get all my rentals for 20 bucks but a purchase is not a bad idea in this ones case. When you start give it at least 2 or 3 hours to sink in and you will fall into this games trap. Play it! Expand
  39. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    As a gamer since the Commodore 64 days, and specifically an RPG gamer, I have longed for the days of games that captured my attention and kept me there four days. Bards Tale, Elite, and a few others did that. Until recently, only a few games such as System Shock 2 and Planescape gave me that feeling. It has been awhile, but Dues Ex HR does this for me.
    The game graphics are great.
    They are perfect for what this game is. Any more and they would just bog the game down (sometimes I think that great graphics are there so you don't notice that the game sucks).
    The sound is so good that you don't notice. It immerses you into the game and it fits so well that you have to make yourself listen to notice.
    The upgrade system is what it should be; you have to choose and there is no right or wrong build. The sneaking system made me feel like I was playing Thief again, but the AI was MUCH better.

    I am about half way through this game and as a 43 year old gamer playing since he was 10, it was well worth the money and I would have paid twice the amount. Can't wait for the expansions!
    Expand
  40. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    A brilliantly realized world, a perfect mesh of realism and cyber-fantasy to create a stunning story that has kept me gripped in my playtime. The gameplay variety gives you many options, and though some are more limited and challenging than others, it still gives you an experience that allows you to do what you want, as long as you reach the objective some way. I do admit, there are cons, being some poor voice acting in sections, and some animation issues with characters, but these small dishes never draw away from the main course. Just, overall, I was hugely amazed by this game; it gives everything you could want from an RPG, and more. Expand
  41. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    I'll keep this short and sweet: Deus Ex: Human Revolution has without-a-doubt the best, most in-depth, engrossing story I've played in a game this generation. Throw that in with completely approachable combat that lets you play how you want (it may be a stealth shooter at heart, but I went in guns-blazing and taking cover and it went perfectly! The shooting physics are beautiful). The environments are rich and detailed, and the upgrading system -- the RPG half -- was perfect, letting you upgrade and progress your character as you wished. I honestly had multiple sessions of this game where I played for more than 8 hours at a time because it was so gripping and I just had to see what happened next. Fully, completely recommended by me; it's a modern-day masterpiece. Expand
  42. Aug 25, 2011
    2
    Very unforgiving in changes on each level--if you choose to go the stealth route and get caught, you'll die in a heartbeat. If you choose the combat route and get seen... well, you still die in a heartbeat. The AI seems to see you a mile off, even on the lower difficulties.
  43. Aug 26, 2011
    5
    I really do not understand all the high reviews, especially from critics. I think the need for nostalgia is tainting a majority of them. This game is at best a MGS clone, which is not a compliment. It's story is muddled and unengaged. The game itself is linear levels doted with boring and dated stealth missions. The fact that guards follow this routine path all the time and have notable awful AI is just way to old. Why is it that everyone has this extreme aim and can unload hundreds of rounds, yet when you take someone down, they are only carrying about 3 rounds of ammo? Why are boss fights just plain frustrating, made more so by incredibly long load times? Why is everything so dark?

    All those critic reviews seem paid for, much like LA Noire was. This is an AAA title with some polish but middling gameplay and story. Does it deserve a 0 rating? No. Does it deserve 9s and 10s? No. At the end of the day, it's an average rental unless you really really ache for a games like MGS or Thief 2. Even then, I would wait for a price drop in a few months.
    Expand
  44. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    Stunning game, not without flaws, but the few it has are easily forgiven. The size of the world and attention to detail is staggering. The world feels believable, immersive and lived in. Walking through offcies and labs, seing lots of objects in the areas just makes you feel like someone actually lives or works in the places you visit. Audio is well done and the music just fits perfectly. All in all the atmosphere of the game is brilliant. Gameplay wise i was surprised how easy the multitude of mechanics are to pick up. I was particularly worried about implementation of stealth, but it is superb. The controls are intuitive and just work - a few minutes of playing and you will feel right at home. No long or steep learning curve at all. The gameplay elements are varied and all done to a high level. It is not a shooter, but even playing with guns blazing feels ok. With stealth and alternative approaches to solving problems the game really comes into it's own though. There is ALWAYS multiple ways of reaching your goals in true Deus Ex style. I know i have a good game in my hands when i start planning an approach for a second playthrough while still playing for the first time! Definitely a must buy and keeper. Playing through once took me well over 30 hours and i know i missed quite a few things, so several playthroughs are a certainty for me. Not many games can boast such a high value for money these days. Expand
  45. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    Best game of the year so far. I never played the original and was worried that I may not get this game because of that, but it really makes no difference if you've played the original or not, this game is just plain fun. It has a Mass Effect vibe which is pretty cool. Definitely worth getting. My only complaint is that hacking is just not fun. Why do video game developers think people want to hack things in video games? Give me a break guys. I play games for the story and to crack skulls. Pick this game up and you'll have a good time. Expand
  46. Aug 26, 2011
    8
    A fantastic stealth game with tons of options in various playstyles.Solid graphics and an immersive, if a little convoluted story ,combined with some tight gameplay make this game a winner.Some drawbacks include innumerable elavator rides,dodgy A.I and a hacking system that quickly gets annoying.Load times are a disgrace in this day and age,as is the auto-save.I would have liked a little more in the open-world department with a few more shops as well.All in all a good game but hardly a top-tier title. Expand
  47. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    What can i say about this game,other than if it wasn't for Battlefield 3 & possibly Batman-Arkham City this year,then it would've been game of the year.Games like this,where this much genuine effort,perfection & a sense of pride(No bugs i can see AT ALL) in their work from the developer comes along.If only more games companys had the same level of pride & perfection in their work.. I hope when these offending developers see this game,they feel shame for the state they ship they're products in.Considering its an RPG,the attention to detail & graphics are astounding,& even the gunplay is tight & very enjoyable.In fact all the elements of this game are fun,however you choose to approach the game,be it All guns blazing,stealth or adaptive by using alot of hacking,The Icarus landing system to drop in,or moving heavy objects to gain access to areas otherwise inaccessible.Whichever method you use,you'll have fun,& the takedown moves are very satisfying,as are all the other moves like the Icarus,that go to a cinematic type view when they're triggered.Theres many other skills that effect the way & things you can do in the game,but i wont go into them.This game makes you feel like a bad-ass,because well,basically you are! I havnt finished the game yet at time of writing,so dont know if you can take your skills with you to subsequent playthroughs,but either way,theres definately potential for multiple playthroughs,as you may want to adopt different tactics,buy different upgrades,take a different avenue in the conversations,or just for the pure fun of it.
    The music & look of the game are top notch too.I cant stress just how polished & perfect this game is.It seems like a pretty big game too,with plenty of Main & sub quests to be getting on with.
    If i was to describe this game,I'd describe it as a cross between Mass Effect,Splinter Cell & Metal Gear Solid with inspiration from Blade Runner & Robocop,which lets face it,is a good thing on all counts.
    As i said at the beginning,rarely do you see such a polished,Perfect,& Bug Free game in this day & age(mores the pity),& i for one congratulate & salute Eidos Montreal for making such a masterpiece.. 10/10 from me because this is literally a perfect creation.(I cant believe some people are giving this 7 or under,much less Zero?! Even if its not your kind of thing,I cant fathom what goes through someones mind,that they couldnt see this as an extremely well made,competent & well above average product).& giving it a zero is an absolute insult & shows a lack good balanced judgment.Besides,zero should be saved,& used on those products that truely deserve it,the TRUELY terrible.Zero's are thrown around too freely on here,by far.
    Expand
  48. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    I suspect the main reason that some people are giving this wonderful game a low score is because they can't handle something more complex than what they are used to. They can't handle actually thinking while playing a game. They need a cranium augmentation.
  49. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    Unbelievable! Seriously.... once you get used to the dated graphics, you realize just how amazing this game is. I will be sitting at work and literally thinking of how I am going to address a conversation in the game or what direction I want to take my character. I have never played a game that has made me think so deeply. People... stop complaining about the graphics. This game proves that there is more to gaming than just pretty graphics. The story is consuming, the atmosphere is amazing, the RPG elements are PERFECTLY balanced, and the game play is addicting. This game is the closest game to perfection. 5 years from now, I really think that people will be voting this game to be one of the best of all time... it's that good. Buy it, get past the tutorial (about an hour), and realize what I'm talking about. Expand
  50. Aug 30, 2011
    9
    If you are still really thinking about getting this game then you need to get in your car (or have mommy drive you) and just lay the 60 buck down to play one of the best games I have ever played in my 35 years of life. The story is UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!! POSSIBLE GAME OF THE YEAR SLEEPER!!!!
  51. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    After just completing Deus Ex: Human Revolution, I have to say, this is one of the best games I have played in a long time. It was so easy for me to get completely lost in the brilliant cyber-punk world. With so many twists in the story, it was impossible not to be on the edge of my seat the entire time. From the crowded, neon-lit Hengsha island to the gritty Detroit City hub, the stunning visuals make this world so tangible, the player feels like they are actually living every nail-biting second right next to the hero, Adam Jensen. Add to this mix, top notch writing and some of the best voice work I have ever heard in a game. This was a day 1 purchase for me, and I was not disappointed. This game turned out to be all I hoped it would be and more. Expand
  52. Sep 10, 2011
    0
    Bought this game after great reviews from the critics. This is one of the worst games that I have ever played. Found it to be well, boring to say the least, not fun, which is what games should be! By review is 0 out of 10
  53. Sep 5, 2011
    7
    Fun but not the best. Decent story but horrible voice acting. Glad that I played it but not that I bought it. Although I had plenty of fun with this game, it will be forgotten as soon as the real games of the season come out.
  54. Sep 1, 2011
    5
    If I were to quickly describe this game I would say it is a mix of Metal Gear Solid and Splinter Cell: Conviction. However, for some reason this game just comes off as being..boring. At first it is impressive until you realize you are doing the same thing over, and over, and over, and over, and over again. This repetitive fun includes sneaking through an air duct, hacking a PC, hacking a door, shooting someone and running because people four blocks over heard you and call their cousins to come after you, running to an air duct and hiding. Rinse, repeat.

    The character models remind me of characters from an early Grand Theft Auto. They are very stiff and "odd" looking. The AI is very lacking. If a NPC is chasing you and "sees" you go into an air duct they will stand outside of it and shoot at the wall. Luckily they don't seem to know how to bend over and pull a trigger.

    For a game as hyped as this one, I would have rather spent my money on buying a used copy of Splinter Cell: Conviction. At least then I wouldn't want to fall asleep with the controller in my hand.
    Expand
  55. Sep 3, 2011
    4
    Firstly I am going to try to be fair reviewing this game. For starters I am a huge fan of the original game by Warren. Lot of respect to him and that game mostly because of the characters, story, conspiracies etc. I disregarded the second one because it didn't really deliver the goods, despite that awesome level meeting JC again. Jumping to now and seeing this game I am surprised they even slapped the Deus Ex name brand on the box. First the art design is strange, while cool in a blade runner style, it doesn't seem to fit the universe. For a prequel I don't remember the original being set in this fancy world. Guess we gotta appeal to the newer fans, which brings me to the terrible story which didn't hold my interest one bit. Lame voice acting (why not get Tom Hall back for goodness sake), boring level design, super boring bosses, same run of the mill stealth and first person modes, and finally the horrible hacking crap. I wanna play THE game not a game within a blinking game. Only thing it has got going for it is this weird aug varied world, but it sure as heck doesn't deserve the name Deus Ex.. its got little to do with the original, no interesting enemies (what happened to the robot guys and the creatures from the conspiracy labs?), only 2 hubs, and crappy weapons. I gave it a 4 mostly because it is a semi-good time wasting game if your new to the series but really it has nothing to do with the original which is why I gave it such a low score. Shame on the developers taking this approach to an original universe, guess we gotta live with it. Back to playing the original game for me. oh yeah don't pay 60 dollars for it. Wait till it drops to 20 at least, or better yet rent it. Expand
  56. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Deus Ex Human Revolution is such a perfect mix of a Role Playing Games and Shooters. Deus Ex games typically present you with an open environment that have been designed with a variety of gameplay styles in mind, which allows you to approach the map and navigate the intricate inner workings of the warehouse, army base, gang hideout ect. To all our relief Deus Ex Human Revolution pulls this off flawlessly. I would give you an example but im only on my second playthorugh and im still finding air vents, locked doors and breakable walls that lead me to groups of enemies, rooms and armouries with very rewarding loot. -The layout of missions are absolutely perfect, ive not found one single flaw in that respect- -Art Direction and Atmosphere-
    The ambient noise while roaming one (to avoid spoilers I wont say how many different cities there are) of the * cities can get a bit repetitive with the odd scream and dog bark that occurs every now and again. But apart from that walking around hearing hobo's rummaging around in trash cans and ravaged and ruined augmented hookers, war vets and hobos moan, complain and mumble there views on life to you as you walk past make you really care and understand life in the city your city. Also the Cyber punk art style is executed fantastically. The cut scenes can get a bit dark since they take heavy use of the light on dark effect, but can be improved in the settings.
    -You feel like your in a conspiracy ridden Detroit in 2027

    -story and characters-
    Your Adam Jensen,(The events that follow this message are within 30 minuets of the game) A man who had was brought back to life by Sarif industries after a ferocious attack on their HQ and ultimately tore you a new one. Its not clear weather or not Adam approves of augments, alot of it is also dictated on your real life views on augmentation. So in essence the augmentation is a very simple idea following the usual split society views and ideologies. But is told in a really interesting way. It pans out well, and at a good pace too. Its an RPG/ Shooter so there are loads of characters. And apart from a few scientists *somewhere in the game* i haven't really found a bad character, a character thats prevalent in the story anyway. Newspapers, Personal Computers and pocket secretaries 99% of the time provide really interesting back stories to characters you might not even ever meet.( Im being really vague to avoid anything that might be taken as a spoiler)
    -In essence characters vary in depth of backstory and personality. However, the story is tightly woven into the game and era and moves at a very good pace. Consumers like me often give out perfect ratings lightly, any game that they take a shine to within the first hour of the game gets a 10 from them. Im not like that. Ive searched for flaws in every respect. So im going to give this game a 10 since the only flaws ive found are minuscule and considering its just a lot of coding wrapped up in all of the above its so impressive.
    Expand
  57. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    Thief (old gamers only can remember - Eidos) meets Matrix (the movie) decorated with a Clint Eastwood-like voice of the main character. Choose the way in, the way (to take) out and even the hardware you character wishes to use in his missions. Great RPG elements and decision making that changes the plot. Awesome hacking mini game and abilities that (if chosen) are depicted graphically during the gameplay (i.e. when you choose the "See through walls" augmentation or the one that makes you jump from a distance. Not sure if the hard core Rambo players around will like it but I absolutely loved it as a small "tour" inside the venting corridors of my game, you will find stunned bodies... The only reason I gave it a 9 is that I am still at the beginning and didn't have the whole picture. Expand
  58. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    I got this on Friday and i haven't completed it yet which is good but i think i'm nearly there. This is because i started on the difficulty give me deus ex and i am trying not to be detected by anything and not killing anyone which has proven a challenge, its been awhile since i've played a game with challenge. I probably saved about 300 times just to get perfection. Saving can be a burden but it don't bother me that much its the loading that bothers me. When you have to keep retrying the loading screen becomes a frustration.
    You get secondary mission which should keep you busy and make the game longer.
    I like the choice you get if you want to play combat or stealth but you will find yourself having to hack a lot of things which gets annoying. The A.I are sometimes stupid when you can be right beside them and they wont notice but the cameras can detect you so easy i find yourself reloading save in anger so PLAN YOUR STEPS. I would get rid of bosses or at least change them in some way which involves stealth. I was playing the game doing my thing then all of a sudden i'm forced into a combat situation which i was unprepared for.
    + Its different from a lot of the games out.
    + Fun stealth (not often you see stealth games)
    + Speech is good because its fun to see a smart politician get owned.
    + Lengthy when trying to play it the hard way.
    + Challenging.

    - Sometimes get stupid A.I
    - Bosses ruin my stealth
    - Sometimes the HUD is confusing like not knowing where to go.
    Expand
  59. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    11 years ago, Deus Ex changed gaming forever. It is still, for my money, the best game ever made. Human Revolution has some big shoes to fill.

    I truly believe that a great game is as much about immersion in a virtual world as it is about gameplay. Though a classic game can still exist without a richly detailed setting and extensive backstory, the presence of these things adds to and
    enriches the overall gaming experience immeasurably.

    Eidos Montreal have pushed hard to set new standards in this field. Few developers are ever this thorough, careful and determined in creating a believable setting for a game. The worlds of William Gibson, Philip K. Dick and Masumune Shirow are referenced and recreated here in astonishing detail, and whether you are familiar with Deus Ex or not, it's a total science fiction nerdgasm. There are hundreds, even thousands of books and newspapers, emails, product brands created specifically for the game, overheard conversations, TV and radio shows, and other snippets of information to be found and pored over.

    The locations are simply jaw-dropping, ranging from sprawling urban jungles to opulent corporate penthouses and beyond. You'll just want to stop and look at everything, there is an insane amount of detail. Some of the areas are just stunning in terms of architecture, artwork and design, and the overall art direction is absolutely superb. The soundtrack is sheer perfection. Every glimmer of hope and fear that we have about the future is explored and magnified by Michael McCann's epic score. Itâ
    Expand
  60. Sep 4, 2011
    4
    To begin I'll say that I really wanted to like this game. I was a massive fan of the original and the hype coupled with the live action advert for the game had me incredibly excited, nigh orgasmic. As such I had this game pre-ordered for months before the actual release and I was thoroughly prepared to like it. Unfortunately it is simply not a very good game. The characters are boring, eg Adam being a stereotype of every action character ever, and you never find yourself actually caring what happens to any of them. The story is really quite simple and plot twists can be seen miles off. Similarly, the graphics for the game are not up to standard and look about 3 years old and the voice acting is rather bad. A further note on the graphics is that almost everything is orange, black or green, at first glance this looks futuristic but after a while the lack of colour (along with the unimaginative level design) variety makes every other area look the same. My biggest gripe however is that this was marketed quite heavily as an open world game, when it is in reality very very linear. Similarly, it was heavily implied that the AI would be intelligent, this is simply not the case! They are mindless, they will find a body be alert for 45 seconds and then go back to moving around like nothing has happened. Similarly in combat they simply line up to be shot, there is very little use of tactics by the AI. As another reviewer said, this game tries to be all things to all men and while not totally unsuccessful it does not do any of them well. The stealth is fine but not up to the standard of Metal Gear Solid or Splinter Cell, the combat is frustrating but even at it's best it does not even come close to the standard of many other FPS games out there. The designers should have focused on making the game really good, even if it meant focusing on just combat or just stealth rather than making a mediocre mix of both. Similarly, the game can't decide whether it wants to be first or third person, this breaks immersion in the game and is remarkably annoying to use. Another issue is the whole "moral choice" aspect of the game, these choices have no effect on the game. Characters will re-act the same to you no matter how you act. Gun down half the police force and within 30 seconds the remaining police love you again. Choose a morally dubious solution to a crisis? No problem because it has no bearing on anything that happens in the game at all. Very poorly done, at least other games with similar choice systems have consequences for your actions. Rarely do I feel bored while playing a game but this game has managed it which is a shame because I was really excited to play it. I'm not saying that it's not worth playing, and there will certainly be some people who enjoy it, but I would say that it's not worth £39.99 and that it does not live up to the hype and glowing reviews that it has received from reviewers. Wait to buy it in a sale Expand
  61. Aug 26, 2011
    0
    In terms of experience this game reminds me of The Parasite Eve Games. Low score reviews high actual game play and memories. Like it is said, A Must Play Period.
  62. Aug 30, 2011
    6
    Despite a very interesting storyline, and awesome trailer, the game just has not lived up to it for me. None of the characters really hit home, seems, kind of redundant, despite the different venues you visit. I just expected more from the game. The positives are the free world aspect of the game, but seems more about stealth than engaging in combat. Engaging in combat is a suicide mission no matter what, until augmentations are at max. Even then, it takes no timing skill, or thinking to disable an enemy, like other games. Expand
  63. Sep 3, 2011
    5
    For a game that offers unlimited choice, the game is rather limited. You can either go stealth and spend half the time standing still, watching guards walking around, only to be punished by one simple mistake, or you can go in all guns blazing and get shot down in 3 rounds. Needlessly hard to get in to and relentlessly boring at every turn.
  64. rhe
    Sep 9, 2011
    9
    This game is truly Deus Ex as it was meant to be. A deep and engrossing narrative coupled with mostly excellent voice acting, a strong AI that doesn't just stop looking for you seconds after you move away from their sight and the AI reacts fantastically in combat regularly trying to flush you out of cover with a grenade but also all of the enemy's seem to be proficient marksmen, the game also encourages you to explore and i actually really liked that about this game and it allowed me to get sucked into the world of Deus Ex even more. However my main issues with the game are firstly the controls as it felt kinda weird at first and it took some getting used to, one good example is having to press X to interact with objects in my inventory when in most other FPS/RPG'S i would have to press A or that you have to press LT to get into cover when i'm normally used to pressing RB. Another issue i had with the game was the fact that it didn't seem to know whether it wanted to be an FPS or a Stealth action game. I say this because the game mainly rewards you for finding ways around enemy's and using non-lethal take-downs by giving you more xp for this method so naturally it would be favorable to pick the augments which would allow you to do this the most proficiently and quickly but then all of a sudden the game throws in boss battle's which means that you're stealth approach now has to be thrown out the window since you are locked in a tight space and all those augments that you have brought on increasing xp suddenly become useless since many of them favor a stealth approach. In all honesty for these main facts I feel like the game deserves a very high 9 and while i really wanted to give this game a 10 these faults really can't be overlooked. Expand
  65. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    Finally this year a game worthy to be called GAME OF THE YEAR. There is sooo much that I could put, but I'll keep it brief. Firstly when you own this game, take your time, enjoy the world your in, search every nut and cranny, enjoy the charcters you meet, and don't spend all your PRAXIS points at once, save up and then spend, but do use online guides to help you with the right augmentations at the right time in the game, and save frequently, this is the number one rule with this game. If you don't save and end being killed you'll end up regretting it for eternity. Ok there are autosave moments, but you still save manually, this is a must do. And most importantly enjoy what is an incredible thrill ride through the eyes of possibly the best new character on consoles, ADAM JENSON. Its all about you, all about the decisions you make and the way you play the game, thats why this has be a clear winner for GAME OF THE YEAR 2011!!! Expand
  66. Oct 10, 2011
    5
    Im sorry deus ex but really? i was personally lookng forward to this game for years, i always had faith but what a pile of s**t. The graphics are good, the story is good, the shooting is good but the whole do it anyway thing is complete and utter bull. the AI suck, they do laps and have the same routine non stop,i can stand 1 foot away from a guard and he wouldnt notice me. Although, it does have the best mission in a game ever. In the detroit police station, i wont say anything else but after that it all goes downhill. achievments are so effing hard and missions consist of get into building, find someone/something and get out. great fun for thirty hours, i got bored and traded it in for gears 3, a much better game with multiplayer!!!Online!!!!Co-op!!!and a decent story. dont buy it until its cheap, its simply not worth £30 Expand
  67. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    Amazing. I really liked the game as a whole, however there were some flaws that took maybe some of the overall experience away, or let me rather say it distracted me from it. I am very much a completionist, and unfortunately the game was designed in a way that you will get more XP by really hacking everything and go everywhere. That would translate into more Praxis points (augmentations). Which is obviously what iam after. However that hunt for more XP had me stay in one area for too long when i was emotionally ready to move on with the story. I dont mind spying **** out and going another way, but it was sometimes a mood killer knowing that the story wants me to go quickly forward but i know i need to check everything out first in order to no forget anything. But these are just minute details. They have however build up over time and were teh reason for my conclusion. Overall this game is the sheeeeet. I would recommend it to anybody Expand
  68. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    I really like the atmosphere! The gameplay is a little bit stiff , not as smooth like in other FPS. The role playing-part with upgrades and stuff are really nice , a bit confusing in the beginning. The graphical interface could have been more adjusted for a gamepad but it works okay. I like that you can choose your own playstyle during a mission , you can choose to be stealthy or "Go Berserk" and kill everything in your way. The problem is that you get more experience points (XP) for choosing the stealth option , but what the hell Deus Ex is in someway supposed to be played that way. In conclusion i want to say that Human Revolution is a worthy prequel to the mother of all tech/cyberpunk-RPG's of all time - Deus Ex! Expand
  69. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    awsome! same mood like in first deus ex. Maybe GFX is only allright but... the rest is sucking me all the time. I am not sure what this negative scores are about?
  70. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    This is a truly inspiring game from start to finish. The style of gameplay combined with the style of architecture is just awesome and stunning. The animation style might seem a little bit outdated but the textures all look fine to my zombie eyes :). Furthermore you have multiple dialogue options and multiple opportunities to reach your target. This goes for conversations and gameplay. Bottom Line: Amazing Game which is focusing the single players out there and offers a huge replay value! Expand
  71. Oct 19, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A satisfactory but flawed game which doesn't live up to the high scores it has received. The game starts well in a reasonably sized district of near-future Detroit. There are an abundance of characters to interact with, numerous sub-quests, the promise of multiplicity of ways to achieve quests and a palpably atmospheric vibe. It feels like an open-world like full of intrigue and potential. At some point before the first boss however, doubts begin to set in. First of all: how dull, trite and one dimensional are the characters? Jensen, Sarin, the villains... just rough thumbnail sketches, with no depth or originality. For a main character Jensen is particularly flimsy. I felt nothing for him and his tedious attempts at laconic wit. The story is similarly lack-lustre: a derivative William Gibson-esque jaunt in which barely anything happens other than visiting a few rival corporate headquarters. As for the "twist"... pffh. Risible stuff. Of course, none of this sniping at plot would matter if the gameplay was as engaging as promised, but after a brief period of novelty the illusion of flexibility becomes painfully apparent. The interesting city-hubs aside, the environment is surprisingly linear and if I'm honest, all very uninspiring and samey looking. Corridors, air ducts, offices, warehouses. A barren and homogenous environment in which to pull off the same gambits to a defeat brainless collection AI simpletons. By the time you've reached the Picus headquarters the gameplay has descended into a hopelessly tedious rut: hacking into computers to read emails vapid emails, earning praxis points for augments that add little advantage, collecting credits you can't spend. I don't even want to talk about the boss battles. In summary, the word setting and premise of game provided a very rich canvas, but Square Enix botched it with a lifeless execution and a painful lack of imagination. Rent this game, don't buy it. Expand
  72. Dec 6, 2011
    7
    Having seen this game when it was first released back in August when my friends were playing it, I took little interest as I hadn't really followed the story up until this one. However, seeing this game preowned for £10 last week, and needing something to bar my boredom until I obtained Skyrim this weekend, I decided to pick it up. Let me first just say that this game is not one of those games you dive into immediately and requires some time before you get used to it. Anyway, on with the review:

    Gameplay (8/10): This game is not like most games currently on the market today. With most games pushing you to kill everything in sight one way or another, this game will really catch you off guard if you intent to bring along the same attitude. This game is stealthly. While you may play offensively, you will find that the game often promotes being stealthy far more than it does going head-on (Two achievements for being stealthy+more XP, it is rather apparent what the developer wanted you to do.). Either way, if you enjoy this sort of game then the controls are fluid and nothing really feels out of place. Even the objective markers are convenient and easy to use.

    Graphics (5/10): These are nothing really special. It seems that Eidos caught the Gears of War disease where everything feels brown. It adds to the dark feel, but it isn't anything out of the ordinary. You will have seen worse, but you'll also have seen a lot better. Don't expect Skyrim graphics here.

    Sound (4/10): Perhaps the biggest let-down for me was the sound. There's really nothing to write home about here: The voice-acting is bordering on a shambles and the main character really should've had a better voice. Still, I like to give a game a chance and the background music does add to the tense feeling of the game. It's just... The voice acting... Oh, the pain.

    Multiplayer: N/A.

    Lasting value (8/10): Not something you'd expect from a game so linear, but this game can actually be surprisingly long. There's an achievement for getting all four of the endings, and because the game offers different moral choices as well as several achievements that require different styles of play, this game could easily last you 60+ hours.

    Final comments: This game is not for the people who prefer to rush through their games and massacre everybody, although there are fewer things more satisfying than tapping a guy on the shoulder, then punching him, knocking him out cold and dragging him into a closet and proceeding to do the same to three of his team. If you're looking for a change of pace from all the Call of Duty and Battlefield, then get this game.
    Expand
  73. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    WOWOOW!!11111111!!!!!! I AM FRICKIN ROBOT CYBORG I KICK A$$$$$$$$$!!!! THE SUNGLASSES ARE SICK... but i wish he had beats, cus that wuld make him like listen better the bad guys and kick more A$$$$ !!!!!1111
  74. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Dues Ex: Human Revolution is probably one of the best stealth games I ever played. I'm a big fan of stealth games and Deus Ex: Human evolution easily holds its place as one of the best in the stealth genre. The story is really good and interesting but that varies between people. Some might find it boring but in opinion I enjoyed the story line and the characters.The story takes play in the future where people have augmentations that are pretty much robotic hands and arms. But not all is good because there are humans who oppose these augmentations to humans. The game also offers choices that can change the storyline outcomes. Which actually has differant results so some people might reload their game to choose differant choices. The game looks great overall but some of the cinematics sometimes look worst the Game play itself. I found it funny how people in the cinematic look like they were covered in grease like a cheesy McDonald commercial. The gameplay is also fun with a mixed of first person and third person action. Suprising it works well with the game and before you know it you get well used to it. You can also run and gun through the game if you want to but the best choice is probably stealthy all the way through. There also many role playing elements that work well with the game. Such as augmentations that give you more health or more energy. The game also offers many different paths you can take to your objective. You get alot more if you thoroughly explore the area instead of rushing from point A to point B. There are also a good amount of weapons that can suit everyone's needs. The only complaint I probably have is the boss battles which hardly requires any stealth mechanics. All you do is get the most powerful weapons you can find and spray all you bullets into the bosses. So players who went through the stealthier approach and invested their skill points in stealth skills they will have a harder time. Also I would have preferred it better if you had the option to kill the bosses or let them live. Since you can complete the entire game without killing the anyone except the bosses. Overall, if your a fan of stealth games or enjoy like a futuristic story you should pick up this game. Expand
  75. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    I never played the original Deus Ex, but that's something you clearly don't need to enjoy this game. Basicly, don't come looking for a first person shooter. It's a mix of stealth/action..., but you do have scenes you have to shoot like hell... this however is optional. Boss encounters forces you into combat... and even then you can replace it with setting traps or just bombing him/her away.-- POSITIVE: Incredible story telling - Interesting characters - Augmentation (upgrade) system - the many ways for completing quests, so definitely replayability!-- NEGATIVE: Some characters can look bland, graphicly wise. CLOSING COMMENTS: Deus Ex: HR is a great game. It's fun, interesting and beautiful. Expand
  76. Sep 7, 2011
    8
    As many have said, its a step in the right direction, but its not as good as the original. You can tell a lot of work has gone into the art style and overall look of the game, though the yellow does tend to grate after a while. I did miss some of the gothic and punk vibe the original had. There are some nice little details and nuances that bring the world alive especially in Detroit, that area really was a pleasure to explore. The second hub was a lot less fun to navigate though. The sound design was solid, nice gun sfx. Exploration is deep, there is always a reward for those that want to wander off and explore all the nooks and crannies, though a couple of levels, last level in particular was very boring with not much happening in it, and no real challenge. Side quests are multi-part similar to Fallout 3, so they don't feel like a chore. Controls are a bit iffy, and there is only one scheme available, so if you like Aim on the Left Trigger like me, then its gonna take some getting used to.

    One of the big features I'm not keen on is the third person. The game is mainly played in first person, but pops into third when you use cover or for dramatic effect, like when Jensen takes down an enemy with a contextual melee attack... I dunno, just makes me feel detached from the the game when it happens. I mean there is nothing wrong with the cover mechanic per se, or the contextual melee, both work fine. Its just the camera shift is very distracting and kinda takes you out of the moment. The take-down can feel a bit out of context sometimes though.

    Boss fights arenâ
    Expand
  77. Sep 6, 2011
    8
    I've finished this game twice and enjoyed both times, First play was guns blazing and second hard with stealth.

    GRAPHICS: 8/10 Yellow wash Techno world, The environment and atmosphere is stunning and well thought out. Lip syncing of characters and stiff animations can sometimes become annoying.

    SOUND: 7/10 Ambient sounds effects are well done. Music is well placed and nice to listen to,
    But there is nothing memorable about it. Bad voice acting here and there, But nothing that is horrible.

    GAMEPLAY: 9/10 The Reason why this game is awesome. Gun play, stealth or a mixture of both play it your way and see what happens. There isn't a deep choice system for the story or side quests.

    FINAL THOUGHT: I recommend this game to everyone. This was the first DEUS EX that i have played!!!
    I'm happy to say I've just started playing through the original PC version.

    Paid Normal retail price and I'm still VERY Happy.
    Expand
  78. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    This game puts Splinter Cell to shame. The dark environment, NPC's, hacking system, and stealth combat are all awesome. The only complaint I had was Deus Ex was a linear story line. I prefer an open world non-linear story. I LOVE that combat cannot devolve to a first person shooter take on the world approach (even on the easiest level) as gunshots are lethal. FANTASTIC game!!!
  79. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    Action or Stealth you decide! Brilliant job at pulling it off. As a RPG fan as well I love how it hybrid the best elements of it. Even more so then the "Action-RPG" game Mass Effect 2. Your choices made a difference, not directly on the world around you but certainly in the scope of the plot and the main missions. Customisation of your character and of the your weapons was really fun. The the musical score was fantastic as well as the detail of the environments. The hacking mini-game was enjoyable too. Normally they are just prolonged chores, but this one was indeed fun. Fantastic game. Expand
  80. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    As I have never played a Deus Ex game before, I was unsure of what to expect. Having been weaned on first-person shooters during my early childhood and later action RPGs I have always been on the hunt for a game which combines RPG elements with meaty combat that is different from the slow action of Fallout 3 but also distanced from the arcadey shooting in Mass Effect 2.

    Well, that search
    is over. Human Revolution gives you so many options in every choice you make. What shall it be today, charging in with a minigun or navigating a vent to reach my objective? Every decision you make feels important, and can have certain consequences too. In one scene you must defuse a hostage situation. If you choose the right conversation options, the kidnapper will free the hostage and you will be congratulated for your efforts. However if you make a wrong decision and the man kills the hostage, you will be given an unexpected reward. EVERY choice you make has a consequence of some kind, which makes the game infinitely replayable.

    Another remarkable thing about this game is that it achieved the impossible: it made me hate CoD. I was once furiously addicted to gunning down enemies on Nuketown in Black Ops' multiplayer and playing through the long campaign. But when I played Human Revolution that all changed. Now the Black Ops single-player mode was extremely boring and linear. Why walk in a straight line, only being able to shoot or stab one bad guy after another when you could be running past them, taking them down, turning turrets against them or even convincing them to join your cause? Human Revolution has the best combat I have ever seen. The guns feel great and encourage ammo conservation, the cover system is perfectly implemented, the brief take-down 'cut-scenes' are cool and you always, ALWAYS, feel like a bad-ass. And even if shooting isn't your thing, there are many other ways to complete a mission. How about crawling into a secret room and hack a computer to deactivate cameras, giving you an advantage? Or you could just simply adapt to the (exceptionally intelligent) enemies' patrol patterns and avoid them completely. The choices are yours.

    If this game still doesn't sound good enough to you, then an extra layer of depth is added via Augmentations. When you earn enough XP you unlock Praxis Points, which are spent on Augmentations. These can range from the ability to see through walls to giving you dermal armor or even invisibility. THESE are the icing on an already very tasty cake.

    Still not convinced? Well, there are so many locations and side-missions in the game that it's impossible to complete them all in your first playthrough. And while the graphics are nothing special up close, the visual style of gold and black is quite breath-taking. DO NOT dismiss this game just because of the graphical style; they are not some crappy anime visuals.

    The writing, too, excels with a deep story and very memorable characters. I felt heartbroken when a certain character died towards the end of the game and continue to wonder whether I could have prevented their death.

    After all of the lavish praise I have thrown upon this game, you must think that there are no flaws. But there are. Critical decisions are sometimes made for you during cut-scenes, making you curse to yourself and say 'I could have prevented her from getting away if this wasn't a God-damned cut-scene!' or something of the like. Along those lines, boss fights are very standard fare like in other games. You are given no options regarding the three in the game but to kill them. No talking, no hacking, just plain shooting until they're dead.

    And during the course of the game I could have sworn that I was playing Oblivion. The game can be so buggy sometimes I occasionally recoiled and thought 'WTF?'. As an example, I once walked into a room to find a pile of clothes on the floor. When I hovered the cursor over it, the 'clothes' appeared to be a certain Doctor Colvin. When I pressed A to talk to her, a body suddenly filled those clothes and started conversing with me. And when the second boss battle begun, I took cover behind a nearby wall. After a few moments of nothing happening, I decided to see what she was doing. It turned out that the 'boss' was actually spending her time running into a wall, unable to move away. I took advantage of the oppurtunity and emptied to clips on her until she died.

    Remarkably, though, these minor setbacks donnot detract from the game's excellence whatsoever. Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a deep, though-provoking game that betters the original in every way. And if there's one decision that is clear, it's this: BUY THIS GAME.
    Expand
  81. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    It's pretty good considering it's trying to live up to the original Deus Ex. I thought the story to be intriguing and immerse much like the original Deus Ex. It combines FPS with 3rd person elements (that can seem clunky at times but it's different and that's what counts.). It's definitely a bit different than recent games to be released and a welcome change to the stagnant market these days. I cannot however say that it lives up to the original Dues Ex or has the same amount of immersiveness as Deus Ex did, but that is a hefty benchmark to live up to and when compared to recent games it outshines them quite a bit imo and needs much more recognition. One thing this games does do that the original didn't is introduce much more flush characters with a much more down to Earth feel as well as a main character that isn't your typical bald macho guy and actually has some uniqueness to him. Expand
  82. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    I loved it for what it was. Sure the animations might be dated, the combat awkward at times & the boss battles uncalled for.

    But this game is set in such a rich world, such beauty and depth.

    I found myself just slowly walking down the streets of Detroit, just sucking in the atmosphere.

    Very glad that i had picked this up.
  83. Sep 9, 2011
    8
    I liked this game the combat was good not great, the take down needs reworking it uses to much energy even when maxed out. the story is OK it reminds me of Ghost in the shell stand alone complex. I hate the inventory system all F-ing shotgun shells should be in one spot etc.... you should have several storage hubs so you don't have to drop a good weapon so you can take a new one.
  84. Sep 11, 2011
    8
    Really great expansion to the series, but fails to live up to expectations. Deus Ex pioneered limitless player customization and moral choices in gameplay that modify the story in countless ways, but Human Revolution feels more like an interactive story than role-playing. You feel like you ARE JC Denton when playing Deus Ex, but in Human Revolution, you simply follow Adam Jensen on his own quest. But all that aside, I deeply enjoyed Deus Ex: Human Revolution, even though it could have been something so much more special. Expand
  85. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    This game is terrific, i even find myself passing time by hacking whatever i find and talking to janitors... It has one of the best single player campaigns ive played in a while and its SO IMMERSIVE OH MY GOD. Playing this on the xbox is much better than I anticipated and doesn't feel like a port. The only reason i don't give it a 10 is because playing none-lethal long range is a pain to keep supplies flowing and the start of the game. I'd rate this game 9.99/100 Expand
  86. Sep 5, 2011
    8
    It's without a doubt an incredibly fun game, however the gameplay lacks intuition, the graphics lack polish, and the story lacks any sense of urgency. Ends up being really repetitive, and there are moments where you'll feel like it's not worth the amount of time you put into it. I had to step away from it several times and go back. It's got bits of action, shooter and rpgs, but it doesn't do any one thing that well. This game is only getting 10s because it was the first decent game after the dry season. It's absolutely not a flawless game, on technicalities alone, regardless of if you're a fan of the series or the gameplay. It is also no deserving of some of the derision in the negative votes. It's an ok game. Expand
  87. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    Absolutely quality game, not quite as good as the original (but what is?) and a good remedy for the rubbish cash in that was invisible war. A glitch here and there but fantastically put together, get production value, well thought through missions and just great looking.
  88. Sep 20, 2011
    0
    At least square enix has enough money to pay off its reviewers of this game. I got this game based on score alone, and it ended up being the single biggest let-down of a game in my life. This game has the same problem as, say, Duke Nukem. You die instantly, and then you face 30 seconds of load-screen. Rinse and repeat that a few times, and you get total garbage. Achievement hunters on the 360 wont be happy with the way it disproportionately dispenses achievements. You are forced to run around and hide like a nancy-boy, not the behavior of the man pictured, or an "enhanced" person. Seriously needs some more options in which way you choose to play the game. Oh I forgot, this is square enix, the company that fires employees for creativity. Should have known, but I am officially done with what was once a great developer. Expand
  89. Sep 26, 2011
    7
    A good game overall with some varied game play. A great break from the standard shooter games we have been getting a heavy dose of. The game also comes with a thoughtful story to go with it which is a bonus. If you do not like sneak games like MGS this might not be for you
  90. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    My only complaint about this game is the boss fights are a bit annoying but that's just me personally otherwise it's a very worth while game. PS you don't need the missing link dlc but if you need more deus ex action it's worth your time.
  91. Oct 25, 2011
    2
    Talk about a snooze fest. I foolishly bought into the hype on this one and came out extremely let down. So many people have raved about "the story" but I found it extremely boring. Oh no robot pieces on humans what a terrible controversy! The combat is lame, the stealth is repetitive and boring..I really don't see why this game is being rated as high as it is elsewhere. To each their own, but in my opinion this is one of the most boring anti-climatic games I have played.. Expand
  92. Oct 25, 2011
    9
    It's hard to make a game that stands up to the original Deus Ex, and while Human Revolution didn't quite make the Benchmark, it is still a great game in its own right. The graphics are a little dated, but the visual art style more than makes up for this. The atmosphere it something to behold, as Human Revolutions really irks me, like in a good way. It makes me care about he plights of its people, simply by the way it presents itself. The combat is good, even though the AI can be pretty goofy at times. Then generally just patrol the exact same route, so with careful study one can sneak by them pretty easily. You can play the game like a total badass commando, or be a stealthy player. i highly recommend the Stealth Route, as it's just a much more satisfying and rewarding experience. The story can get a little muddled, and I will admit that sometimes Adams voice makes me want to punch something. It sounds like he needs to clear his throat...for the whole game. It's still well written though, so if you can get past that then theres a unique and well presented story to be told here. Overall, I would say you should get this game, or at the very least, its worth a rent. Expand
  93. Oct 25, 2011
    9
    This is a great game and one of the best this year. The action when it occurs is good and never too in your face but that was never my preferred way of playing this game. I liked to go stealth with the occasional gunfight and this is what the game is all about Choice. There is not one path which you must take, there are multiple paths with different advantages which makes this game shine compared to most FPS. The RPG elements work really well and deciding which augment to choose next can be tricky. Though amazingly I actually loved the story which is one of the best I know, the only problem with game is the bosses which are a little generic and not as innovating as everything else. This is a must buy for all SP lovers Expand
  94. Nov 15, 2011
    2
    after everything the trailers promised I was so, SO bitterly disappointed with this game:( linear to the point of absurdity, flat and somewhat empty... thank god I actually rented it rather than bought:) not a great game at all
  95. Mar 18, 2012
    5
    This game was okay. It was fun sneaking around and taking people out. Also had a semi interesting story with some fun and exciting moments. Other than that it was bad. Everything in the game was either amber colored or black. I felt punished for leveling a certain way. The boss battles were stale too. My powers were limited because they never let ne find power bars ever. And if I did find one it wouldn't regen even if I didn't use the whole bar. The choosing of how it ended was stale like mass effect ones way of choosing the end. The game had way too many Japanese influences and sucked. Every character looked dumb as hell. And navigating the levels was confusing and boring. I'd say pass. Expand
  96. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    A brilliant prequel to the original Deus Ex, Square Enix has definitely delivered with Human Revolution. Combining an absolutely brilliant story, along with fluid gameplay mechanics and a wide choice of playstyles to choose, Deus Ex: Human Revolution is one of the best Stealth/RPG/FPS games of the recent years. An excellent score of music also helps to reflect the dark undertone of the game. Set in future Detroit, the game revolves around conspiracy, and secrets. Players will feel involved in the story travelling from Detroit, and other places such as China etc.

    Overall, one of my favourite games from the past few years, and an excellent addition to both the Stealth genre, and the Deus Ex series too.
    Expand
  97. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution had some very big shoes to fill. Not only did it have the pressure of hype because of the amazing trailers Square Enix and Eidos put out, but they had to live up to one of the most beloved games ever. After being disappointed already, I don't think Deus Ex fans would've been so kind if another sequel failed to meet their expectations. Luckily, I'm here to report that this game will go down in history as one of the absolute finest out there. If you want a meaty single player experience that offers something truly unforgettable, you better get yourself a copy right now. Expand
  98. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    AWESOME, this game is an example of what a stealth game must be! Story is very well written and totally believable, and the flexibility in gameplay makes this game 3 in 1. You can play it by stealth, action or no-confront at all, This is Money well spent for sure!
  99. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Put simply, Deus Ex is what games should be. The gameplay of Deus Ex will have you teetering on the edge of your seat while you grind away your teeth. It's a good frustrating that rewards you well at the end of achieving and accomplishing what you're required to do. The storyline of Deus Ex doesn't fall short and is set in a rich dark world that is highly polished, full of detail, and immerse. With plenty of things to look at, people to talk to, and lore to learn about. Deus Ex is what video games try to do when trying to tell a good story. And by that Deus Ex tells quite possibly one of the best stories in gaming. Through gameplay, to narrative direction Deus Ex does everything right. Making you full of emotion, stress, frustration, and happiness. It's a game that you must surely check out! If you haven't already. Expand
  100. May 27, 2013
    9
    Amazing game! Upgrading yourself is fun and there are so many different ways to tackle a level. The story was well done and very engrossing. I hope they release more!
  101. Aug 25, 2011
    0
    Deuce Ex lives up to name and delivers giant load of crap to enjoy from the comfort of your own home. You will enjoy repeatedly dying, an infinitely frustrating stealth and cover system, and an obnoxious inventory limitation to contend with. Yes it is a FPS mixed with RPG elements, and NO this doesn't make it an original concept. I think nerds are just happy to have something that isn't COD or BF. Its not unique, innovative and most importantly fun. Don't buy the hype this game is garbage. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 29, 2011
    90
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution lives up to the lofty expectations of the Deus Ex name. Beyond that, it's a superb game in its own right.
  2. 94
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution has happily been worth the wait and is a game that can hold its head up high next to the first game. Jensen isn't the most charismatic character, and the story is a tad patchy in places, but the game's world and its characters more than make up for it. Deus Ex: Human Revolution heralds the arrival of the cyber-renaissance, and it's pure gold.
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    90
    Deus EX Human Revolution has been one of the more entertaining games I have played this year so far. Filled with a gripping story, interesting characters, and addictive game play Deus Ex is a game that would be a worthy addition to any collection. Fans of action or RPG games should find a lot of value in this retail title.