Devil May Cry 4 Xbox 360

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 240 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 240
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2013
    8
    Enjoyed the game a lot. This is my personal favorite DMC of the series. Very good hack and slash action and changes the pace by playing as different characters. Very good for what it is. Only complaint is it's a bit too easy.
  2. Jun 17, 2013
    9
    An awesome hack n' slash game that can entertain for hours at a time. It offers great combat and a satisfying new protagonist other than Dante with his very own powers.

    9 out of 10
  3. May 8, 2014
    10
    An Outstanding game that's worth playing.Fast Fun and also interesting with any move you make and also the COMBO is just AMAZING.The weapons ,the art style which the characters were designed is just SUPERB

    Hideaki Itsuno => the Best gaming producer
  4. May 18, 2012
    10
    Honestly? Best god damn game i played so far, the exact game type that i love and adore, the super powers, the combos, the spec effects, graphics! First game that i decided to replay right after i finished it, but now on legendary dark knight difficulty, and you know what? It feels even better now! Well earned 10/10
  5. Oct 26, 2015
    8
    Nero... Why... Dante is a lot more better and badass than you! You're annoying and you're a b*tch! Dante, please come back in Devil May Cry 5 and show them who is the real badass character!
  6. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    ''Devil May Cry 4'' is everything that a hack and slash game should be and it's the best in the series because DMC was the worst in the series I can't believe that but I still play this game until now.
  7. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Excellent! After the perfect DMC 3, Capcom gave us a great sequel, and with the same Dante of the previous game (Reuben Langdon did an excellent job as voice actor and mocap actor). Style Switch on the fly makes the gameplay perfect, giving the player the chance to make expectacular combo chains. More combos than DMC 3 and the add of a new character on the franchise, giving new storyExcellent! After the perfect DMC 3, Capcom gave us a great sequel, and with the same Dante of the previous game (Reuben Langdon did an excellent job as voice actor and mocap actor). Style Switch on the fly makes the gameplay perfect, giving the player the chance to make expectacular combo chains. More combos than DMC 3 and the add of a new character on the franchise, giving new story possibilities for the future. The only flaw of this game is Dante backtracking Nero stages, but still, the game is fast-paced and extremelly fun. Also, Gothic enviroments looks more beautiful than ever. Weapons design is very creative and the smart humor is glorious! Brillant game! Expand
  8. Dec 19, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is not quite as good as its predecessor, DMC3. That's mainly due to the fact that about a third of the game consists of backtracking back through Nero's levels with Dante.

    You have two protagonists, Nero and Dante, who must defeat the bosses of the Order of the Sword. This will take you from a futuristic science lab to a forest, to inside a huge demonic statue whose insides look like some kind of interpretation of hell. Through the course of the story, Nero finds out he is somehow related to Sparda, Dante and Vergil's father. Capcom has not yet answered who exactly Nero is, even though hints have been given in a non-canon novel that he's Vergil's son. This should make for an interesting story for DMC5. After Nero finds out he's part demon, strange things start happening. Dante attempts to kill the preacher of the Order of the Sword, the order Nero is part of. In the end, Nero has to accept himself for who he is and beat the person who wishes to subjugate the humans with demonic force.
    The story is expertly crafted, and the cutscenes are marvelous. It amazes me that even though this game's development time was reduced by a whole year, it still turned out so great. There's suspense, there's well-choreographed and stylish action, there's an amazing revelation, and it's epic in scale. This game pretty much has it all.

    The gameplay is excellent. Dante, the protagonist of the previous games, can now switch between five styles on the fly, with just one button press each time. Yes, one style was added; the Dark Slayer style Vergil uses in DMC3 (roughly). Each style, like before, does different things. The Swordmaster style alters your B button for melee weapons, the Gunslinger alters B for guns, Royal Guard allows you to block and counter, and the Trickster allows you to dodge, play with your enemies, and to close distance. The amount of combos you can do in this game, and the variety of them is great. Almost all of the attacks work well together, allowing you to create long chains of combos. Each weapon is spectacular in its own way; go Bruce Lee on your enemies with the Gilgamesh, or blast them into the stratosphere with the Pandora, or just go classic Dante with the Rebellion... and that's not even all the weapons.

    The graphics are amazing for a 2008 game, no doubt partly due to the fact that the game was created on an engine meant for PCs. Somehow it's been altered to work with the 360 and PS3 consoles really well too. The characters look sharp, they move fluidly and realistically and have nice combat models, and the contrast is amazing. Even the brightness levels seem perfect on my calibrated TV. Visual effects, like fire, look great. The cutscenes, even in 2014, still look sharp, fluid and contrastful. The game runs at a steady 60 frames per second, which only ever dips when you fight aerially and something blocks the screen (like tree branches).

    The soundtrack could be better. Many of the combat tracks are entirely forgettable, as they sound like rehashed DMC3 songs and have almost no melody. Most of them sound too much alike too. They do kind of get your blood pumping, but it's generally a bland mess that goes on forever. The lyrics are nonsensical; it's English with bad grammar, created by the Japanese development team. I'm not sure which genre they even are, though it's been called metal. It's very un-rock-like, though.
    The acting is very nice, though. The person who voiced Nero, Johnny Yong Bosch, does an excellent job. He sounds like he means everything he says - his entire intonation changes when he gets sad, and Nero's anger will surely make your heart skip a beat sometimes. Reuben Langdon sounds a bit odd sometimes, though. He sounds like he's trying to lower his voice, because he's supposed to portray a Dante older than in DMC3. So whenever he needs to raise his voice, it starts sounding unnatural. The actor who portrayed Credo did a decent job, nothing more I can say about it. Agnus's VA did very well; he truly sounds distraught and angry, and the contrast between that and his more 'cold' side is top-notch.
    The actor who voiced Sanctus did pretty well too - he sounds evil, and he's got a great maniacal laugh. He accomplishes his work without sounding too over-the-top.

    This game is great for newcomers and old DMC fans alike. Nero serves as the tutorial character, and he's easy to use. His Devil Bringer arm adds some nice in-gameplay cutscenes that allow you to severely punish your enemies. Dante, meanwhile, is the perfect character for seasoned players, with huge combo strings and fast-paced attacks.
    I should've reviewed this game far sooner, but I'll settle for singing its praises in 2014, with the Special Edition coming out in 2015. I will surely pick that one up as well.
    Expand
  9. Feb 21, 2013
    8
    Devil May Cry 4 may not be the best of the Hack n Slash genre of games or the best of the series, but definitely has a lot of depth in the combat whilst playing as Dante and strategy and ease of use when playing as Nero. Even though the main levels become repetitive, the game still deserves praise for its good cutscenes and decent story and romantic side plot. Dante obviously steals theDevil May Cry 4 may not be the best of the Hack n Slash genre of games or the best of the series, but definitely has a lot of depth in the combat whilst playing as Dante and strategy and ease of use when playing as Nero. Even though the main levels become repetitive, the game still deserves praise for its good cutscenes and decent story and romantic side plot. Dante obviously steals the show but then again it's not really a DMC game without Dante. I was glad they improved upon the style system from DMC 3 but I was sort of disappointed at the removal of some styles but it was compensated with the removal of having to select one style for one mission.
    As for Nero, his combat technique is a little bit different. it requires precise timing in order to power up the sword combos and the player must take note of whether they'll risk themselves when using the devil trigger arm that can do throws that Dante cannot. The platforming and puzzles are either too long or just plain pointless. The enemies though are slow don't always notify the player when they're attack. At the most, the boss battles compensate for the extra challenge depending the difficulty.
    It's a lovely game but could have been better if there wasn't so much repetition, but the game certainly is a favourite. I could hope that Capcom remake DMC 3 with the multi-style system of DMC 4 or maybe make another DMC game (not that Ninja Theory stuff but the new one was okay)
    Expand
  10. MitchO.
    Feb 8, 2008
    9
    Devil May Cry is one of my favorite game franchises, and this game lived up to the hype I've had since it was announced.
  11. JoeS.
    Feb 8, 2008
    9
    It s hard to me how anyone can score this game under 8. Deep combat system,difficult levels from casual to hardcore, beautiful graphics, full action packed, 60fps, a lot of style.... Good work again Capcom
  12. ConnorT
    May 6, 2008
    9
    As expected, DMC4 is what DMC should be: rough, tough, fast, and flowing with style. Although short, the plot structure is strong and deep, giving characters that one can admire and identify with. Nero certainly was a nice risk to take and was a very admirable character to have in the series. Nicely ranged techniques for both Nero and Dante, with distinguished combos a challenge to As expected, DMC4 is what DMC should be: rough, tough, fast, and flowing with style. Although short, the plot structure is strong and deep, giving characters that one can admire and identify with. Nero certainly was a nice risk to take and was a very admirable character to have in the series. Nicely ranged techniques for both Nero and Dante, with distinguished combos a challenge to execute and for good reason. The difficulty range in itself I believe was nice and balanced, offering a slow, steady mode for new gamers, and Devil Hunter for the more experienced ones, moving on to Son of Sparda and harder difficulties (which need to be unlocked). Achievements are quite difficult to get, and require time, especially ones associated with the arena-like Blood Palace, and any difficulty mode, even easy, will put the average player through his paces. Those that say the game is too easy or repetitive probably have not played on the higher-up levels quite yet. Into hack-n-slash? Into games that require the cut above? Give this a spin. Expand
  13. DD
    Jun 9, 2009
    9
    DMC4 is terrible fun to play. For me that's a 9. The graphics are beatifully designed and the engine is almost rock solid. The control is well crafted and woth practice the combo sequences can be excitating. It has a very high replay value with Bloogy Palace and patterns and enemies varying from one level of difficulty to another. Story has no weight, but the cinematic sequences are DMC4 is terrible fun to play. For me that's a 9. The graphics are beatifully designed and the engine is almost rock solid. The control is well crafted and woth practice the combo sequences can be excitating. It has a very high replay value with Bloogy Palace and patterns and enemies varying from one level of difficulty to another. Story has no weight, but the cinematic sequences are espectacular and the speech from Dante and Nero are fun from a comedy point of view. Expand
  14. LindaP.
    Feb 6, 2008
    9
    Perhaps not the perfection served up by the original action opera, but nonetheless this is one stylish slasher!
  15. TravisM.
    Feb 9, 2008
    9
    Overall a very solid game. Any fan of the first 3 will not be disappointed. I'm glad they've finally decided to release this game for the Xbox.
  16. GonzoH.
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    The most fluent combat system of the series, partnered with gorgeous cinematics and a surprisingly appealing shift in tone lend to the second best devil may cry game to date. Bring on number five!
  17. aguy
    Apr 10, 2008
    8
    Reclycled enviroments and boss fights super linear level design and simple puzzels so devil may cry is a bad game yes HELL NO! despite devil may cry's many faults none of them matter because devil may cry has simply the deepest most rewarding hack and slash combat in any game ever its a fantastic display of skill and style all wrapped up in some of the best graphics ever made that Reclycled enviroments and boss fights super linear level design and simple puzzels so devil may cry is a bad game yes HELL NO! despite devil may cry's many faults none of them matter because devil may cry has simply the deepest most rewarding hack and slash combat in any game ever its a fantastic display of skill and style all wrapped up in some of the best graphics ever made that makes devil may cry 4 such a delight to play. Expand
  18. TedK.
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    Great change of pace. To many FPS's. I love it...
  19. DamianP.
    Feb 19, 2008
    8
    Good game, bit repetitive, very enjoyable in small doses.
  20. ZakB.
    Feb 6, 2008
    9
    It kicks ass. Thats all you need to know.
  21. ThomasK.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    A fantastic addition to an already awesome series. A really good game!
  22. azo164
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    It may not be as perfect as the 1st dmc but this gave me one hell of a journey i wont forget,graphics and story are great!nt everybody will like it but if you dont like mazes,plenty of button mashing action and nt your average story well then simply dont buy it.
  23. ShaneS.
    Mar 3, 2008
    9
    There are some bad things about this game. The level design leaves you out wandering around confused. Dante's weapons have half the combos and moves of DMC3's weapons. Three of the bosses are recycled a bit too much. And the worst thing is the story isn't all that great (although it is nowhere near as bad ad DMC2's plot.) Now for the good things about this game... There are some bad things about this game. The level design leaves you out wandering around confused. Dante's weapons have half the combos and moves of DMC3's weapons. Three of the bosses are recycled a bit too much. And the worst thing is the story isn't all that great (although it is nowhere near as bad ad DMC2's plot.) Now for the good things about this game... Nero's one of the best hack and slash character's ever. His combo's are varied and easy to pull off. The exceed system with his sword brings something refreshingly new. He has a homing beacon to help him find secrets in the game, like hidden levels. And best of all he is the first hack and slash character in ages to have a throw button. The Style system is easier to use thanks to a style bar that goes down slower than DMC3. You can switch between all of Dante's fighting styles and weapons in the middle of a fight by just hitting the trigger and D-pad buttons. All and all this game has it's flaws but it also has it's strengths (which are being overlooked in the reviews). Also could metacritic please do a better job of screening reviews? One of the worst reviews for this game baselessly bashes it simply because the plot is anime based. They even go so far as to call the whole game Animoo garbage. Expand
  24. Alex
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    Very fun, VERY solid game. easily the best in the series. thanks to Nero, it has all the exciting newness that was felt in the first DMC, and it also has the difficulty and challenge of DMC3. gorgeous graphics (especially in the lighting department), slick, fluid, uninterruped gameplay, awesome cutscenes, a (FINALLY) fully customizeable control scheme... the list of triumphs goes on. i Very fun, VERY solid game. easily the best in the series. thanks to Nero, it has all the exciting newness that was felt in the first DMC, and it also has the difficulty and challenge of DMC3. gorgeous graphics (especially in the lighting department), slick, fluid, uninterruped gameplay, awesome cutscenes, a (FINALLY) fully customizeable control scheme... the list of triumphs goes on. i especially like Dante's new ultra-cocky demeanor. some of the bouts between Dante, Nero, and certain bosses are nothing short of hilarious (Dante vs. the She-serpent ftw!). that being said, the game isn't without flaws. it is EXTREMELY repetitive. as in, Halo 1 repetitive. for those of you who haven't played Halo 1, the last 1/3 of the game is essentially the same thing as the first 2/3. only in reverse. DMC 4 does this exact same thing. and also expect to be fighting a lot of the same bosses two, and even three times with VERY little variation in the fights. with the exception of Lucifer, an exploding energy sword, none of the aquired weapons are that interesting to use. the Gauntlets (a normally fun staple in the DMC series) are useless, and the Pandora, a 666-in-1 gun is way too tough to use to be practical in any way. but, the game is fun, if somewhat short. haven't quite beaten it yet, but my guess is it falls somewhere in the 14-16 hour range, assuming you just breeze through it and not worry about extras or anything like that too much. there is probably enough extra things on the harder difficulties to warrant a couple extra playthroughs, but like all the rest of the DMC games, don't expect a lot of lasting appeal. still, a must buy, especially for any DMC fans who have been waiting to see the series on the Xbox. Overall 9 our of 10. Expand
  25. MinawaK.
    May 31, 2008
    8
    The game is solid, however the human mode is too easy and the Devil Hunter mode is too much of a difference in the increase of difficulty. Don't make me remind you about the harder difficulties such as Heaven Or Hell, Dante Must Die.
  26. JohnS
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Awesome new features, gota love new character Nero and his devil bringer, dante now has more freedom in combat and Pandora is one hell of a suitcase.
  27. BekkiF
    Jun 4, 2008
    10
    Simply my favourite game EVER!! Can't get much better than this. Graphics are AMAZING!! The story line is great. I was one of the people who was very unsure about the new main character Nero, as i have played the whole DMC series and totally love Dante. However on playing this game i very much enjoyed playing as Nero. And later getting th play as Dante again made my day. Dante is Simply my favourite game EVER!! Can't get much better than this. Graphics are AMAZING!! The story line is great. I was one of the people who was very unsure about the new main character Nero, as i have played the whole DMC series and totally love Dante. However on playing this game i very much enjoyed playing as Nero. And later getting th play as Dante again made my day. Dante is always going to be better than Nero though!! Okay so this game may be a bit of a button basher, but its by far the best game on 360!! Definately buy it!! Expand
  28. KyuuD.
    Jun 7, 2008
    9
    This is definitely the best Hack and Slash game since the original DMC .. a MUST must-have!! try it out NOW.
  29. QwenS.
    Jul 18, 2008
    8
    The game is amazing the cinematics are great so is the gameplay which allows you to use many different combos to take your enemies down however the grading system at the end of each mission could be done better and a certain boss proves to be quite hard.
  30. AndrewR.
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    This game is everything I asked for in a DMC game!
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Everything a hack-and-slash should be and then some. Sadly it falters with repeated level design and a moderately troublesome camera; but in the grand scheme of things, these are only minor flaws. Devil May Cry 4 delivers an experience that is second to none on Xbox 360, so far. Held together by a solid narrative, it makes your blood boil with every fight you encounter.
  2. 90
    Even with its minor faults, you'll be hard-pressed to find a better-feeling, better-looking, jack-of-all-trades action game on the market today. [Mar 2008, p.82]
  3. Maxi Consolas (Portugal)
    80
    The combat system is still brilliant, Nero proves to be a good character and visually it’s pretty impressive. But we can’t help feeling a little disappointed. It’s still a great action game, but has the same flaws of every other title of the series. [Feb 2008]