Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 347 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 20 years have gone by since the Prime Evils were defeated and banished from the world of Sanctuary. Now, you must return to where it all began—the town of Tristram to investigate rumors of a fallen star, for this is an omen that the End Times have begun.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 100
    A conversion that is almost too good to be true. Diablo III is moving past its previous mistakes and removes the game-breaking auction house that made PC players suffer through its charts. [Issue#234]
  2. Aug 29, 2013
    93
    It’s different in all the right ways. With an engaging new control scheme, fewer online hurdles, and all the depth of the original, taking on Diablo’s legion of demon lords has never been more enjoyable.
  3. 90
    Dispel any doubts you might have had: thanks to some smart tweaks and changes, Diablo III is a deep, spirited game that fits right into its new home.
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    This Diablo III PC to the consoles conversion is not only, so to say, flawless, but also, as a matter of fact, superior to the original.
  5. Sep 20, 2013
    85
    This edition of Diablo III is quite different from its PC "brother", but still offers an addictive and superb action-rpg/dungeon crawler experience.
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    80
    There’s no auction house or online demands, but the console port suffers from issues with local multiplayer. Preferably, get the PC version. If not, this will do you just fine as well.
  7. 70
    As good as Diablo is ever likely to be when playing with a joypad, but even the new local co-op options are subject to necessary but debilitating compromises.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 71
  2. Negative: 9 out of 71
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    10
    i never played the PC version but playing this game with a friend that did actually got me to be positive about this game... all i can say is that removing the auction house was actually a good thing that made this game better, i enjoy the gameplay and the character builds, definitely worth getting Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    First of all I have never played any Diablo game. I am not a PC GAMER. So I have not played the previous generations of Diablo.

    Having said
    all that, Diablo III Rocks! Thank you Blizzard for bringing this couch co-op over to the PS3. Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    This game shines in the local couch play. Gather 4 friends or family members and have fun in a never ending dungeon crawler to hunt for loot and Gold while drinking and laughing at ALL the Blizzard hating trolls with no lives outside of their mental state.
    This game is simply dynamite: a family that plays together, stays together. Let's rock and roll and loot
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    -Graphics- 9/10. I really like how smooth this game was on my Xbox. I didn't see any texture pop ups during the time I played it.

    -Performance- 8/10. Nothing too serious, I had a few times where there was a horde of monsters I was attacking, and noticed a little bit of a framerate drop. Only happened from time to time, though.

    -Gameplay- 9/10. Porting it over to the Xbox 360 felt right. It was easy to control on my controller and responded very well. Fighting mass hordes of demons is a blast, and only gets boring when you have been doing the same thing for a few hours or so.

    -Sound- 8/10. Much of the same things can be heard, but doesn't get boring too fast. But once you hear the same sound of the same enemy dying, it really drags along.

    -Conclusion- Now, I have only played this for about 2 hours, and do not have much depth of what everything really is, but the time I played, I was excited to play it, but after a few hours, it began to feel a bit repetitive. Still, a good game, and probably one of the better ports of a PC to Console game than most, I give it an 8.5/10 (9/10).
    Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    This game is a joy to play The graphics are good. I feel it still lacks something. I don't feel like experiencing a new diablo compared to its previous successors. The gameplay is nice and there's no doubt about it. New amazing powers, costumes are added and i am impressed with it. Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2013
    8
    While the game still lacks scope and personality, this is the best version of Diablo 3. If you are wanting a true sequel to D2, you'll come away disappointed but if yo
    u're out for $60 of entertainment, you're good to go her
    Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2014
    0
    When i first started this game i was excited cause im old enough to remember the first two. as i got through the first act it felt like a clone of the originals with almost nothing new in it. as i breezed through the story i knew that there was nothing special about it. it was just another excuse for blizzard to try and make more money off people. i would rather play the worst game ever then sit through it again Expand

See all 71 User Reviews