Dishonored Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 785 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 89 out of 785
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    It is a rare sight in this day and age to have a game that gives the decision making to the player. If you are an action nut and killing everything in your path is your style Dishonored lets you do it, if you are a stealthy assassin who's goals are to inflict little to no casualties, Dishonored lets you do it. I have only had my hands on Dishonored for a few hours but in that time I seeIt is a rare sight in this day and age to have a game that gives the decision making to the player. If you are an action nut and killing everything in your path is your style Dishonored lets you do it, if you are a stealthy assassin who's goals are to inflict little to no casualties, Dishonored lets you do it. I have only had my hands on Dishonored for a few hours but in that time I see how well Arkane Studios has done with this game. The control are solid, the stealth system has only a few flaws to mar an almost perfect system, and the action is intense. Dishonored is definitely a sleeper hit for this year and is going to be the game that will be given credit for Arkane Studios success with future games. The only small issue I have with the game is the graphical design the developers took. Looking back on trailers and reading article about the game it gave off a vibe of gritty and dark that would benefit from a very realistic graphical approach, unfortunately it comes up short in these aspects, the graphics mimic more of a Bioshock look and some of the colors in game are too bright and eye catching for a game based in a town plagued by corruption and a plague. Overall the game is not something that most people should pass up on, and I can't wait to see the work that Arkane Studios will be putting out form here on out. Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing game; the best in years. Signed up to Metacritic just to say that.
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Second review, after playing the game for a while. My score for it hasn't changed, still 10/10. People have complained about the length but achievements wise, you have to replay the game many times, and u get to study each map so for me the length is perfect. The story, yes it isn't the greatest or most dramatic but honestly that's not why we play this game. Graphics on the 360 leaves muchSecond review, after playing the game for a while. My score for it hasn't changed, still 10/10. People have complained about the length but achievements wise, you have to replay the game many times, and u get to study each map so for me the length is perfect. The story, yes it isn't the greatest or most dramatic but honestly that's not why we play this game. Graphics on the 360 leaves much to be desired but it didn't bother me at all. It looks better on PC, which is puzzling. The reason we play this game is for the gameplay and concept and both of those have been implemented Brilliantly. The abilities are all significant and unique, the maps all have multiple paths that u learn about each time u play. For the intrigued you have the ability to be creative. Don't put this game down for not being an open world rpg. That's not what it is it's not assassins creed. It's dishonored and it's a brilliant game. Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2012
    6
    This game, while having some genuinely interesting points, kind of disappointed me. It just didn't live up to it's potential. First, the good stuff. This game has a pretty interesting steampunk setting, the gameplay concept itself is really interesting and decently executed, and the way they've given you the ability to finish the game without killing a single person (if you so choose) isThis game, while having some genuinely interesting points, kind of disappointed me. It just didn't live up to it's potential. First, the good stuff. This game has a pretty interesting steampunk setting, the gameplay concept itself is really interesting and decently executed, and the way they've given you the ability to finish the game without killing a single person (if you so choose) is genuinely interesting. Unfortunately, on the Xbox 360 version at least, the graphics are pretty shoddy (probably due to the poor/non-existent anti-aliasing), and it's very distracting when the scenery has clipping artifacts when you look side to side. In addition to the poor graphics, this game is really short. I've done a few playthroughs, and it ranges from a low of 5ish hours for a "killing whatever and ignoring the optional objectives on easy" run to around 20ish hours for me to run the entire game on the hardest difficulty, finish all of the optional objectives, and collect all of the runes and bone charms. On top of all of this, the storyline really is just not very compelling. The game feels like way more thought went into the setting and lore than went into the actual events and dialogue that you're playing through. In summary, Dishonored is a game that has an interesting setting and some really neat gameplay options, but it's let down by graphical problems, story length, and some poor writing. In my honest opinion, if they would have made this game an open-world RPG, thrown more content into it, and given you a few more options as far as abilities and customization goes, this game could have been great. Such as shame, really. Collapse
  5. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    One of the best games out there its so fun to play it can make you cry.I hope there going to be dishonored 2 because we could use another one I never kept my copy of this so i'm mad at my self.
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    I would most likely grant this game a solid 8.25 rating. The game largely succeeds at what it set out to accomplish but manages to trip up on more than one occasion. This is definitely one of the better stealth games that I have played in recent memory. You take the role of Corvo, the personal bodyguard to the Empress and her daughter, Emily. As you probably already know, the Empress isI would most likely grant this game a solid 8.25 rating. The game largely succeeds at what it set out to accomplish but manages to trip up on more than one occasion. This is definitely one of the better stealth games that I have played in recent memory. You take the role of Corvo, the personal bodyguard to the Empress and her daughter, Emily. As you probably already know, the Empress is slain on your character's watch and Corvo is framed for the dark deed and immediately thrown into prison to await execution. At first glance, this is a fantastic (albeit somewhat cliche) setup for a good revenge story, but as you progress through the game, it never really becomes said story. The people who framed Corvo for the assassination rarely made any sort of appearances, save for when you're sent to assassinate them and so I never quite developed a need to hate them. The story fails to build this hate that's necessary for any good revenge story and so these missions wound up being "Kill this guy because he's supposedly bad". Not to mention that the entire game progresses in a repetitive manner that will quickly bore you of the storyline. I found it difficult to care what the hell happens to the future of Dunwall and what the hell is currently happening to Dunwall as you assassinate targets. The storyline also proves to be quite predictable throughout and there will be multiple occasions where you will have deciphered what happens next before it's even revealed to you. The game attempts its own twist about 3/4's of the way through the game but as I mentioned earlier, you will probably already have it figured out at that point in time. The fact that Corvo is also a silent protagonist means that any NPC interaction is pretty much trimmed to a minimum and so your ability to care for anyone other than yourself becomes quite limited. The inclusion of a supernatural being that bestows your character's supernatural powers feels forced and is entirely unnecessary to the overall plot. The game attempts to include this character as a bigger part of the story but instead, it serves simply as a means of explaining how you're character obtains powers and that's it. The game's environments quickly become bland and rather colorless and the game's climax is extremely unsatisfying. Generally, when a good revenge game or movie concludes, the targeted audience will feel relief and satisfaction knowing that the main character accomplished what he/she set out to do. I felt none of this at the game's conclusion. In fact, I actually began to feel somewhat angry at how unsatisfied I was with how the entire plot panned out. There's two different endings to the story, depending on how many people you actually kill throughout the game. Similar to the original Bioshock, the "evil" ending pretty much sucks and the "good" ending is far and away better. However, unless you want to Youtube it, the only way you can view the other ending is by playing through the entire game again. Honestly, this isn't so bad, as the game does possess some fantastic controls and combat mechanics. In my opinion, I felt that the combat was far too easy. Obviously, the primary goal of the player should be stealth but not every encounter will go so smoothly and this forces you into combat with guards or Overseers. Blocking and countering are key aspects to surviving encounters, unless of course you have ammunition with your pistol (which you always do). Shooting enemies or destroying them with your supernatural powers is far easier than engaging them in swordplay, making any scenario throughout the game a cakewalk. Moving on to positives, the stealth mechanics in the game are top notch and they really give the players an astonishing amount of tools to get the job done. All of Corvo's gadgets are extremely fun to utilize and there's a delightfully wide range of them to choose from to accomplish the task at hand. Whether it be sleeping darts to silently take down targets in a nonlethal manner or explosive bolts to eliminate clusters of enemies at once, it's all up to the player how these scenarios go down. Corvo's supernatural powers are grandly-implemented, never feeling imbalanced or out of place and they really allow you to overcome just about any obstacle. Possessing a guard and walking him into a nearby electrical fence is always good fun. As is with any good stealth game, there are multiple paths that you can take to successfully eliminate guards and complete missions. It's always a treat to become the silent predator lurking from above, waiting for that one guard to be alone before pouncing. Overall, Dishonored is a treat for stealth-game fans. The stealth mechanics are surprisingly well-done and allows for tons of freedom in how the player chooses to accomplish tasks. However, the story is weak and predictable and if you have never been a fan of stealth games before, I highly doubt that this game will change your mind. Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    A very strong showing of a new IP. It is poised to capitalize on a strong start to probably make a fantastic second entry into what hopefully will continue as a console series. Its flexibility in play-style cannot be overstated... when I was patient I could play super stealth or maybe I wanted a bit more action and to just "move" through the story... Dishonored allowed me to fly aroundA very strong showing of a new IP. It is poised to capitalize on a strong start to probably make a fantastic second entry into what hopefully will continue as a console series. Its flexibility in play-style cannot be overstated... when I was patient I could play super stealth or maybe I wanted a bit more action and to just "move" through the story... Dishonored allowed me to fly around levels knocking out enemies and feeling like the most powerful stealth assassin ever. Awesome fun. Improvements should come with story (fiction is great though) and flow as well as level design could be improved even more. Great job Arkane. Expand
  8. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    This game is a cross between Thief and BioShock. Overall there is very little to complain about. This is an excellent start to the series. The ability to do things stealthily or guns blazing is great. The powers seem pretty cool and unique. The environment and story is different and interesting. I didn't experience any issues playing the game at all. The length of the game is aThis game is a cross between Thief and BioShock. Overall there is very little to complain about. This is an excellent start to the series. The ability to do things stealthily or guns blazing is great. The powers seem pretty cool and unique. The environment and story is different and interesting. I didn't experience any issues playing the game at all. The length of the game is a little short compared to other games but given the story I think it was perfect. Some games stretch out the story to make the game longer and it shows with dull levels. With this game it is long enough to convey the story without levels that are tedious or dull.

    The only complaint I have against this game are the achievements. Firstly it looked like I was playing Dues Ex all over again with some of the achievement names. Secondly some of the achievements just seem stupid to me. One of the achievements has you play the entire game without using any powers or equipment upgrades. Why would the developers put all the time and money into building this stuff in just to create an achievement saying you cannot use them?? One of the stupidest achievements ever. It's like an RPG that says you cannot level up or an FPS that says you have to use the pistol. Achievements should reward you for playing a consistent or different way. Not punish you for using the features that are supposed to make the game fun and different. Additionally the achievements mandate that you play through more than once. I fail to see why devs feel their games are so awesome that everybody has to play through it more than once. There are very, very few games worth playing more than once for many, many reasons. So don't punish us by making us play your game again. It isn't as much fun the second time through.

    The only other thing that I found to be odd was the side missions. At the beginning of the game you get a couple of side missions. Then nothing through most of the game and a final side mission at the end. The side missions are interesting until themselves but this isn't an RPG and they just feel out of place compared to the rest of the game. They don't really add anything but they don't distract either.

    Overall a great game if you like BioShock, Thief or Dues Ex then pick this one up. If you are an FPS person then this game isn't for you.
    Expand
  9. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Amazing game! I had high hopes for this title Pre-Launch and it lived up to it for me. Which very few games do these days. A beautiful World with great characters that were wonderfully voice acted. Top that with great game play mechanics that took inspiration from some wonderful predecessors, all brought to you with original art style and solid controls. I hope this game inspires moreAmazing game! I had high hopes for this title Pre-Launch and it lived up to it for me. Which very few games do these days. A beautiful World with great characters that were wonderfully voice acted. Top that with great game play mechanics that took inspiration from some wonderful predecessors, all brought to you with original art style and solid controls. I hope this game inspires more companies to take a risk on more new IP's instead of spoon feeding us sequels each year. Expand
  10. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    Sure the story is short but where this game is at its greatest is its replay value didn't want to kill anyone in one mission but did replay it. My point is that giving the control to the player means it can be fun for however long you want.
  11. Dec 21, 2013
    8
    Dishonored is a unique experience. Stealth or not, this game is filled with various choices that effect the outcome of the story. This amounts to a great experience, bogged down only by a few irritating areas.
  12. Dec 20, 2013
    8
    I deeply enjoyed the game, it had a different approach to gaming. One thing that appealed to me was that Corvo isn't forced to kill everyone he sees. You can make it though a good portion of the game without killing anyone. A second is combat is more realistic. In battle, you can't just take out 50 people with ease. Games do that. Dishonored doesn't. Most often, you can only take 4-5I deeply enjoyed the game, it had a different approach to gaming. One thing that appealed to me was that Corvo isn't forced to kill everyone he sees. You can make it though a good portion of the game without killing anyone. A second is combat is more realistic. In battle, you can't just take out 50 people with ease. Games do that. Dishonored doesn't. Most often, you can only take 4-5 people with your sword. This provides a strong sense of realism in gameplay. Great game with a few flaws. Expand
  13. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    This game was a totally surprise for me. I loved it. The story is one of the best parts, and I totally got into it. There's ways to optionally dive deeper into the story that I won't reveal but the plotline is rich and very fleshed out. The gameplay is very fun too, and the missions which the game revolves around are all well thought out chapters in the overall story. Many of theThis game was a totally surprise for me. I loved it. The story is one of the best parts, and I totally got into it. There's ways to optionally dive deeper into the story that I won't reveal but the plotline is rich and very fleshed out. The gameplay is very fun too, and the missions which the game revolves around are all well thought out chapters in the overall story. Many of the characters are memorable and interesting.

    I 'keep'd the game from GameFly because I plan on playing through again on a harder level. I'm debating on buying the DLC as well.
    Expand
  14. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    Good investment. I had a lot of fun with it. It was the first game in a very long time which I replayed right after finishing my first walk through. While a narrow environment, you still have a number of options on how to approach the missions. Some of the abilities you receive are very mighty and make the game play unnecessary easy, but by declining them the second time, the challengesGood investment. I had a lot of fun with it. It was the first game in a very long time which I replayed right after finishing my first walk through. While a narrow environment, you still have a number of options on how to approach the missions. Some of the abilities you receive are very mighty and make the game play unnecessary easy, but by declining them the second time, the challenges are quite right. Visuals are good, atmosphere and some elements remind a lot of Thief 3 which is a good thing from my perspective. Expand
  15. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Gameplay is amazing, as is the whole steampunk setting. It felt like a mix between Bioshock (really atmospheric, and the Powers are sort of similar to Plasmids), Hitman (main focus of the game is assassinations) and Deus Ex (open world, different routes available, choice between stealth and carnage.)

    Main problem is the length (I completed it in just over 2 days, admittedly I spent all
    Gameplay is amazing, as is the whole steampunk setting. It felt like a mix between Bioshock (really atmospheric, and the Powers are sort of similar to Plasmids), Hitman (main focus of the game is assassinations) and Deus Ex (open world, different routes available, choice between stealth and carnage.)

    Main problem is the length (I completed it in just over 2 days, admittedly I spent all weekend playing it. Also, it would have been nice to be able to replay the game with the upgrades you earned on your last playthrough (New Game Plus.)
    Expand
  16. Apr 13, 2014
    9
    This game is a true delight for any stealth fan. Not a bad little runner for action/combat fans too. To my eternal shame I missed this game first time. Borrowed it, played it for an hour, just didn't get it. After Adam Sesslers review of Thief I decided to give Dishonored a try a couple of years later. And loved it. Everything works. Gameplay, story, stealth mechanichs, magic and combatThis game is a true delight for any stealth fan. Not a bad little runner for action/combat fans too. To my eternal shame I missed this game first time. Borrowed it, played it for an hour, just didn't get it. After Adam Sesslers review of Thief I decided to give Dishonored a try a couple of years later. And loved it. Everything works. Gameplay, story, stealth mechanichs, magic and combat are all perfectly balanced. Expand
  17. Jun 10, 2013
    8
    Despite all the processing power this generation of consoles have to offer modern games all too often want to just funnel the player from one cinematic set piece to the next. For me the very best video games, such as Half-Life 2 and Deus Ex, provides the player with an interesting game world and lets them decide how best to make their way around it. Fortunately Dishonored allows you to doDespite all the processing power this generation of consoles have to offer modern games all too often want to just funnel the player from one cinematic set piece to the next. For me the very best video games, such as Half-Life 2 and Deus Ex, provides the player with an interesting game world and lets them decide how best to make their way around it. Fortunately Dishonored allows you to do just that.

    Each and every mission provides players with a number of possible solutions made all the more interesting by the different powers (that are far more than just the usual fire and ice spells so often seen) and weapons that can be found or unlocked throughout the course of the game. As a result it is possible to complete Dishonored without killing a single person or, should you choose, you can simply kick down the front door and fight your way through.

    Aside from the fact that the morality system is a little too black and white the main criticism I would level at the game is that it is perhaps over a little too quickly, my first playthrough took about 12 hours, but it is certainly a game I will return to and play differently at some point. This is certainly one to buy.
    Expand
  18. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    These days, I'm already thrilled by a game that just let's me play. This one offers me the option to play like I want. Being stealthy gives you the best endings, being an assassin might not give you a great ending but it's fun to make some creative kills. Most games only offer you the illusion of choice (yes Bioware, I'm looking at ME3 and Dragon Age 2) I've been let down by a lot of bigThese days, I'm already thrilled by a game that just let's me play. This one offers me the option to play like I want. Being stealthy gives you the best endings, being an assassin might not give you a great ending but it's fun to make some creative kills. Most games only offer you the illusion of choice (yes Bioware, I'm looking at ME3 and Dragon Age 2) I've been let down by a lot of big game series and it has become rather rare that game studios are willing to take risks. This game is by no means perfect but If you are looking for a game that doesn't make you feel like it has been dumbed down for a 6-14 yo target audience by marketing boys, look no further. Expand
  19. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    Probably the best game I played in 2012, I love how the game uses its art style and the story telling is amazingly well done, the game is very immersive and overall a great game.

    Only problem is the game is quite short, it has multiple endings but you want more after.
  20. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    This is one incredibly memorable stealth action adventure. Dishonored gives the player a handful of fun and exciting tools, all incredibly flexible for mixing and matching gameplay styles. They are hard to pick up, challenging to master, but incredibly fun once dash across a roof top, possess a rat, sneak up behind a guard, jump out of the rat, assassinate him, and teleport back up toThis is one incredibly memorable stealth action adventure. Dishonored gives the player a handful of fun and exciting tools, all incredibly flexible for mixing and matching gameplay styles. They are hard to pick up, challenging to master, but incredibly fun once dash across a roof top, possess a rat, sneak up behind a guard, jump out of the rat, assassinate him, and teleport back up to the rooftop. PHENOMENALLY satisfying. The story is fairly interesting, but there are some inconsistencies and some rather poor design choices that mar the experience. The core of the game gets everything done right: first person assassination with a dose of stealth and run and gun. It's an incredibly exciting game, and a hard one to put down at that. The story is pretty exciting but simple, but it's the rich and dramatic world that will keep you invested for the 15-20 hour run time. There are a couple of truly unique levels, and playing through the game without killing anyone is a gleeful challenge (to an avid fan of Metal Gear Solid). The ending leaves much to be desired, though, as it proves to be sloppy and rushed. Fans of Assassin's Creed or Half Life will really enjoy this game, as it executes first person stealth, exploration, and gameplay very well. It's just the sloppy story and ending that leaves a somewhat negative impression. So, in the end, triumphant and polished gameplay, intriguing world building, but weak and lacking story. Expand
  21. Nov 1, 2012
    8
    DISHONORED is great but not as i thought before playing it.there are so many ways to kill the enemies,various upgrades and challenges but the story is not great as gameplay.game in the beginning is not so attractive(i played on hard) because you are weak and stoppable but after 2 or 3 upgrade you are a terminator with unstoppable powers.game locations are multi-layers but small(my ideaDISHONORED is great but not as i thought before playing it.there are so many ways to kill the enemies,various upgrades and challenges but the story is not great as gameplay.game in the beginning is not so attractive(i played on hard) because you are weak and stoppable but after 2 or 3 upgrade you are a terminator with unstoppable powers.game locations are multi-layers but small(my idea bad).
    graphic details are good but the textures are middle quality(why?i did not know).
    enemies AI is so-so,sometimes challenge you and sometimes just watch you killing them.
    with high&low it is great at total but the best thing is it`s satisfying gameplay elements.
    Expand
  22. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    Well done Bethesda you utter bastards for tricking me again. Time after time they show games that look good but I very rarely buy, however when I do it ends up being crap like Brink and I end up overlooking brilliant games like RAGE and Dishonoured.
    Corvo Attano is an assassin for the Empress of Dunwall, a city riddled with crime, scum and a deadly plague spread by rats. When Corvo
    Well done Bethesda you utter bastards for tricking me again. Time after time they show games that look good but I very rarely buy, however when I do it ends up being crap like Brink and I end up overlooking brilliant games like RAGE and Dishonoured.
    Corvo Attano is an assassin for the Empress of Dunwall, a city riddled with crime, scum and a deadly plague spread by rats. When Corvo returns from an unsuccessful search for a cure to the plague the Empress is assassinated, her daughter and heir to the throne taken and you are accused for the crime. 6 months of jail time later and with a little assistance you escape to hunt down the power hungry aristocrats of Dunwall to gain information on the heirs whereabouts, take her back and no longer be dishonoured, however the roots of evil and corruption run deep in the streets of Dunwall so this will be no easy task.
    Dishonoured at its heart is a stealth game, however it can be played as a melee focussed action game, requiring you to mix sword attacks, magic powers and ranged weaponry such as crossbows pistols to take down your foes. The game lasts around 6-7 hours which is disappointingly short however these hours are insanely good fun.
    Dont be put off by the length or the stealth focused gameplay if that isn't your thing because Dishonoured is easily one of the best games of 2012.
    Expand
  23. Feb 18, 2013
    9
    Starting to play this game at the start I knew this was gonna be a good enough game, but when you escape the prison you will fall in love with this game. You play as Corvo who is the bodyguard of the Empress who gets murdered by assasins. After been acused for killing the Empress you go to prison and the games story just more interesting. Another thing I love about this game is that is hoStarting to play this game at the start I knew this was gonna be a good enough game, but when you escape the prison you will fall in love with this game. You play as Corvo who is the bodyguard of the Empress who gets murdered by assasins. After been acused for killing the Empress you go to prison and the games story just more interesting. Another thing I love about this game is that is ho you choice of taking out your foes like killing everyone you see with the power of spawning rats to devour your foes or not kill a single soul (I did I it of sneak killing but mainely not killing anyone) and it all affects the ending. Only flaw is stealth is a little messed up and needs bit of fixes. But overall Dishonored is the Bioshock and Assassins Creed met and make this and hope for some type of sequel. Dishonored 9.2/10 Expand
  24. Oct 31, 2014
    9
    Dishonored blends a great plot, wonderful stylized graphics, excellent non-linear feel, and great completion variety to the missions. You will discover a style of gameplay that works for you in the first couple of missions and spend the rest of the game perfecting it.
    I love the dynamic environments that change as you complete missions to reflect the style of gameplay you have chosen.
    Dishonored blends a great plot, wonderful stylized graphics, excellent non-linear feel, and great completion variety to the missions. You will discover a style of gameplay that works for you in the first couple of missions and spend the rest of the game perfecting it.
    I love the dynamic environments that change as you complete missions to reflect the style of gameplay you have chosen. Go through levels as death incarnate and kill all you see? Watch the world grow darker, more dangerous, and more plague infested. Slip through levels like a shadow, making your enemies disappear without a trace? Watch the city begin to come back to life and the plague wither.

    Loads of replay-ability coupled with all of the things listed above and this game is nearly perfect.
    The only two gripes I have are a soundtrack that disappears and is totally forgettable, and graphics that are definitely showing their age. Seriously, I thought I was playing Half-Life 2 again.

    A must play for any assassin lover.
    Expand
  25. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    One of Top 5 games on this generation. More freedom on gameplay than almost any other game out there. Graphics and style are awesome, really artistic. There are so many ways to go trough this game that one walktrough is totally different from another. You have to own this game and play it over and over again.
  26. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Dishonored feels like a game that inherits 75% of its history from Thief and 25% from a mix of System Shock/Bio Shock games. As such its certainly a first person game, and you can shoot guns but I would personally not call it a "first person shooter'.

    I almost didn't buy this game based off of some reviews, but I took a chance and I was well rewarded. Much of the depth of this game
    Dishonored feels like a game that inherits 75% of its history from Thief and 25% from a mix of System Shock/Bio Shock games. As such its certainly a first person game, and you can shoot guns but I would personally not call it a "first person shooter'.

    I almost didn't buy this game based off of some reviews, but I took a chance and I was well rewarded. Much of the depth of this game comes from playing it the way you want your character to work and how you want the end game outcome to be influenced.

    If you are simply playing the game to beat each level as fast as possible the game will certainly feel short. You can hit the primary objectives in quite a few levels relatively quickly. Mow down a few guards with your guns and knives and complete the objective next level up.

    If however you want to play a more stealthily game and play towards certain goals; like no one being alerted/alarmed during a level or completing a level with minimal (or perhaps no) deaths you can do that as well. This may require you to take the rooftop route, and find a secret back balcony entrance to the building instead of a front door but the designers will reward this alternate route taking with story interjections that you would otherwise miss, extra loot, and some times even side-quests.

    Whichever route you take you can upgrade your character similar to system shock bio shock with steampunk like upgrades to your characters abilities and equipment. Want to stabilize your cross bow and improve its range and damage? No problem. Want to be more stealthy and have bodies dissapear in a puff of smoke to leave no trail for your enemies to discover? Earn enough points and these skills will be yours.

    My personal feeling is Dishonored is a top notch game for what it wants to be: a worthy fusion sucessor to the Thief/Bio Shock genre.

    For those people looking only for a run and gun shooter it is going to feel a bit of a disappointment. Some of those players may make the switch in mentality early in the game and find themselves having fun anyways. Otherwise if you dislike anything that doesn't focus purely on action you might pass this up or wait until its on sale so you don't feel cheated.
    Expand
  27. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    Great game, great story, but, is short, and the graphics are not the best, you could finish the game in one day, however, if you like games in first person, you should play it
  28. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    The plot for this game is great! best game ive played, recommend this if your into stealth games.. it offers unique abilities to make the game more interesting and even though ive seen complaints about graphics, theyre actually not that bad! (if your not a super geeek who cares) worth buying this game though, the game does seem abit short but each level takes its time, thats if you dont goThe plot for this game is great! best game ive played, recommend this if your into stealth games.. it offers unique abilities to make the game more interesting and even though ive seen complaints about graphics, theyre actually not that bad! (if your not a super geeek who cares) worth buying this game though, the game does seem abit short but each level takes its time, thats if you dont go berserk aha and take time off of your xbox instead of staying in one position for 12 hours.

    Id like to see a DisHonored 2 if im honest although i cant see that happening because of the ending but who knows?.. another good thing is that as you play the game, the way you play it actually decides the ending you get out of 3 possible endings.. the missions are the same old same old just go and assasinate people.. but there's always optional side missions and new surroundings that take away that feeling that youve just done the same thing. There's also a thousand different paths you can take towards your target which is pretty cool!
    BUY THE GAME
    Expand
  29. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    The thousand ways to complete a part of a mission make this game the best Videogame ever when it comes to pure gameplay, while the Talks between Guards, the look of the city and more make this game the best Videogame ever when it comes to pure atmosphere. Sadly the story is only a 7/10, aswell as the graphics, but the most important (the Gameplay itself) is kinda like a 20/10, whichThe thousand ways to complete a part of a mission make this game the best Videogame ever when it comes to pure gameplay, while the Talks between Guards, the look of the city and more make this game the best Videogame ever when it comes to pure atmosphere. Sadly the story is only a 7/10, aswell as the graphics, but the most important (the Gameplay itself) is kinda like a 20/10, which makes me giving this game a 10/10. Last drop of bitterness: The game is too short and waaay to easy (even on hardest grade), exspecially if you try to stealth.
    The playagainworth is phenomenal: First time=stealthy, but fighting-not every side mission/rune, Second time=stealthy+every mission for complete run, Third time=aggressive or stealthy, but killing many people for different ending and experience, fourth time=nihilistic, stealt, no kill & every side-mission, fifth run=different magics for different experience, etc.
    I have worked a long time to finally have 90% of all achievments and can just say best gameplay ever. The handle of the weapons and magics are just perfect and after 2 hours you just feel like corvo and use the magic you want in the right way at the right time, to get through a hidden way into the building. Whoa!
    10/10 for sure and a must-have for stealth-gamers and fans of Deus Ex or Hitman, but I would say even for aggressive gamers like CoD to for the great feeling of the sword-battle and more.
    Expand
  30. Nov 29, 2014
    8
    A very interesting and unique stealth game. You play as the assassin Corvo Attano, who witnesses the murder of the royal empress kaldwin and is blamed for it, hence "dishonored". The world of Dunwall where the game takes place is a corrupt dystopian world with plaques, tyrannical leaders, and of course conspiracies. It doesn't say when it takes place, but it has a Victorian steampunkA very interesting and unique stealth game. You play as the assassin Corvo Attano, who witnesses the murder of the royal empress kaldwin and is blamed for it, hence "dishonored". The world of Dunwall where the game takes place is a corrupt dystopian world with plaques, tyrannical leaders, and of course conspiracies. It doesn't say when it takes place, but it has a Victorian steampunk hybrid look to it and it is awesome. Corvo escapes from the prison he was held in and joins some revolutionary movement that wants to take take down the corrupt leader and put empresses daughter Emily Kaldwin on the throne. Most of the characters are very boring and don't show any emotion at all, except for Emily of course. Every time your told to go assassinate some bad guy, sure you may know why, but the bad guy doesn't ever come off as truly evil so there doesn't feel like any true motivation to kill. I wish there where more cool villains in games these days like Vaas and Handsome Jack. There is a plot twist towards the end, you can see it from a mile away. While the story has some problems, the most important part of any game got the most love here, which is the gameplay. The game takes place over 9 different missions, and each one is a mini sandbox. They are fully explorable with no invisible walls that I could find and the only thing stopping you being the laws of physics. You are tasked with different objectives within each level, and there all very diverse. There's tons of different ways to approach these objectives which gives the game a lot of replay value. You can run in and stab and shoot every guy, or freeze time and just walk through, or set spike traps in specific places for enemies to walk into, or teleport all over the place to sneak around them, there is so much diversity. How much fun you'll have depends on how creative you are. And I like that the alternate endings and the way the story plays out depends on your actions in the gameplay itself rather than just pressing one button or another in a cutscenes like in other games. At the end of each mission you are ranked with either low of high chaos. If you set off alarms and stab every throat you see, you get high chaos, but play it stealthy and spare enough lives and keep it quiet, you will get low chaos. I mostly played stealthy but every once in a while got in a bloody sword fight because stealth was too tricky, but still got low chaos overall. No matter which way you play, the game will still challenge you. Big sword fights are frantic and tough, but sneaking around is also nerve wracking and can be broken with one little slip. At times the game can be a bit frustrating. A lot of times I would be trying to be stealthy and guys would come running after me and I had no way of knowing how I got caught. But god the most part it's a legitimate challenge, unlike most games these days. I didn't come across any glitches in my playthrough, and the graphics are very unique. Some people say this game has ugly graphics, we'll duh it's not trying to look photorealistic. It has a unique art style that goes with the steampunk world. The game also has great sound design, the weapons and magical powers have cool sound effects when you use them. The city itself has these sound of steam machines and metal clanking and buzzing sounds that really give it that industrial feel and it sounds awesome. I really wish there was there was more interesting enemies to fight. Most of the time you'll just be confronted with boring guards, but there are also infected zombie like people and other assassins who can teleport. The only stand out enemy is the stilt walkers as they are big scary and challenging to get around. If they see you prepare for a pain of a fight. If you like stealth games, then this is certainly a must have for it's stellar gameplay, after all that's the most important part. It's something unique, refreshing, and original and I would love to see a sequel and this being turned into a franchise. There's a lot more I want to learn about this unique world. Just don't have high expectations for the plot, I do hope they make a better plot if there is a sequel. Expand
  31. Oct 13, 2012
    0
    This game, while having some genuinely interesting points, kind of disappointed me. It just didn't live up to it's potential. First, the good stuff. This game has a pretty interesting steampunk setting, the gameplay concept itself is really interesting and decently executed, and the way they've given you the ability to finish the game without killing a single person (if you so choose) isThis game, while having some genuinely interesting points, kind of disappointed me. It just didn't live up to it's potential. First, the good stuff. This game has a pretty interesting steampunk setting, the gameplay concept itself is really interesting and decently executed, and the way they've given you the ability to finish the game without killing a single person (if you so choose) is genuinely interesting. Unfortunately, on the Xbox 360 version at least, the graphics are pretty shoddy (probably due to the poor/non-existent anti-aliasing), and it's very distracting when the scenery has clipping artifacts when you look side to side. In addition to the poor graphics, this game is really short. I've done a few playthroughs, and it ranges from a low of 5ish hours for a "killing whatever and ignoring the optional objectives on easy" run to around 20ish hours for me to run the entire game on the hardest difficulty, finish all of the optional objectives, and collect all of the runes and bone charms. On top of all of this, the storyline really is just not very compelling. The game feels like way more thought went into the setting and lore than went into the actual events and dialogue that you're playing through. In summary, Dishonored is a game that has an interesting setting and some really neat gameplay options, but it's let down by graphical problems, story length, and some poor writing. In my honest opinion, if they would have made this game an open-world RPG, thrown more content into it, and given you a few more options as far as abilities and customization goes, this game could have been great. Such as shame, really. Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Hyper Magazine
    Nov 14, 2012
    90
    Precise and elegant systemic design engenders an absurd degree of player agency, but is marred somewhat by a sloppy, unconvincing narrative and soulless characters. [Dec 2012]
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    What is there is so compelling that the lack of additional stages can't help but feel like a disappointment. The game's strengths are a double-edged sword. Regardless, this is still one of the best games of this year. With a bit of work, a potential sequel could be one of the best games of any year.
  3. Dishonored is never able complete that transformation from a game into a totally new and exciting world to inhabit. To be sure, our mostly positive rating reflects that this game is well-structured with all the pieces you'd expect and story flexibility will offer up a unique adventure for every player. It's a promising and mostly enjoyable start to what will perhaps be an ongoing series, but it lacks the emotional punch that could make it great.