Dishonored Xbox 360

Dishonored Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 820 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dishonored is a tactile first-person action game that thrusts you into the role of a supernatural assassin driven by a thirst for revenge. With Dishonored’s flexible combat system, creatively eliminate your targets as you bring together the supernatural abilities, weapons and unusual gadgetsDishonored is a tactile first-person action game that thrusts you into the role of a supernatural assassin driven by a thirst for revenge. With Dishonored’s flexible combat system, creatively eliminate your targets as you bring together the supernatural abilities, weapons and unusual gadgets at your disposal. Hunt down your enemies under the cover of darkness or viciously attack them head on with weapons drawn. The results of each mission are a result of the choices you make. Win or lose, you must choose. Ozzy. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Oct 15, 2012
    100
    Dishonored is put together so well and executes its ideas in such an expert way that it would be difficult to not recommend the game to the highest degree possible.
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    95
    So does Dishonored stand up on its own two feet? It most certainly does! On the surface it is easy to compare previous games we have loved, and it is easy to see similarities in style and gameplay, but these are elements that have clearly been learned, honed and enhanced to make Dishonored a title that lives high up in the rooftops of being one of my favorite games of 2012 so far.
  3. Oct 7, 2012
    92
    It's also one of the prettiest games of recent years. The art direction is nothing short of incredible, and it's matched with a visual aesthetic that makes the world look like an oil painting in motion.
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    90
    It's the big intellectual property that comes to retail and shows up the competition by being bold, original, and -- more importantly -- brilliant. Easily deserving of its place among the BioShocks and the Borderlandses, Arkane's aggressive, non-aggressive, unsubtle, sneaky, thoroughly versatile tale of intrigue makes for the kind of game that reminds us this generation isn't all straightforward shooters and "me too" trend-seekers.
  5. Oct 8, 2012
    90
    Innovation in video games is coveted by many but rarely achieved-Dishonored has this in spades. It may not be perfect, but what Arkane Studios accomplishes is astounding for a debut of an original IP. Its memorable characters, striking game world, and incredible seamlessness between combat, stealth, and magic set a new standard for the action genre. Dishonored is unquestionably Game of the Year material.
  6. CD-Action
    Oct 24, 2012
    85
    Dishonored could well have been the fourth installment of the Thief series, but there are also traces of BioShock and Half-Life 2 here and there. If you compare it to these paragons it's a bit disappointing, but it still shines among this year's games. [12/2012, p.60]
  7. Oct 7, 2012
    70
    After my first playthrough (which took around 6 hours), I felt a bit underwhelmed. As in I literally thought to myself - that was it? But then after going through a few more times, I realized how fun taking different paths could be.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 225
  1. May 16, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game. I started it out like a typical noob and started off killing the badies. Then I realized it was way more fun to avoidFantastic game. I started it out like a typical noob and started off killing the badies. Then I realized it was way more fun to avoid detection and not kill and also way more challenging. The fact that it allows for multiple play throughs because of it makes it a well thought out game. One of the best given the XBOX360 lifecycle. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I am having a really good time with this game. It reminds me of System Shock and Deus Ex but definnitely has its own personality and style.I am having a really good time with this game. It reminds me of System Shock and Deus Ex but definnitely has its own personality and style. You have so much control over how you proceed with your objectives its crazy. This is a game that demands exploration and experimentation. I definitely recommend it. Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing game; the best in years. Signed up to Metacritic just to say that.
  4. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    Excellently made game; the game-play is fresh in its approach but not dauntingly new, the basic concepts are familiar from games like those ofExcellently made game; the game-play is fresh in its approach but not dauntingly new, the basic concepts are familiar from games like those of the the Thief and Batman: Arkham series, but with enough original concepts to keep you interested. The plot is not as strong as I would have hoped but you always know what you are working towards in the game and this makes missions more rewarding. Furthermore, the way in which you carry out missions is great; either stealthily and without killing or simply killing everyone you see (or a mixture of both) gives a lot of replay value to Dishonored. Buy it. Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    This is one incredibly memorable stealth action adventure. Dishonored gives the player a handful of fun and exciting tools, all incrediblyThis is one incredibly memorable stealth action adventure. Dishonored gives the player a handful of fun and exciting tools, all incredibly flexible for mixing and matching gameplay styles. They are hard to pick up, challenging to master, but incredibly fun once dash across a roof top, possess a rat, sneak up behind a guard, jump out of the rat, assassinate him, and teleport back up to the rooftop. PHENOMENALLY satisfying. The story is fairly interesting, but there are some inconsistencies and some rather poor design choices that mar the experience. The core of the game gets everything done right: first person assassination with a dose of stealth and run and gun. It's an incredibly exciting game, and a hard one to put down at that. The story is pretty exciting but simple, but it's the rich and dramatic world that will keep you invested for the 15-20 hour run time. There are a couple of truly unique levels, and playing through the game without killing anyone is a gleeful challenge (to an avid fan of Metal Gear Solid). The ending leaves much to be desired, though, as it proves to be sloppy and rushed. Fans of Assassin's Creed or Half Life will really enjoy this game, as it executes first person stealth, exploration, and gameplay very well. It's just the sloppy story and ending that leaves a somewhat negative impression. So, in the end, triumphant and polished gameplay, intriguing world building, but weak and lacking story. Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2012
    7
    I was expecting something resembling the original Deus Ex or the Thief games: Large sprawling levels and a long playthrough. I got 9 missionsI was expecting something resembling the original Deus Ex or the Thief games: Large sprawling levels and a long playthrough. I got 9 missions with a few sidemissions and levels that look open but all the routes go the same way. It gets progressively linear as times goes on. The best mission I have to say was the Boyle Party mission. It's a lot like Human Revolution, as it sort of resembles the open Action RPGs of the past, but has the disgusting dumbed down casualized gloss that all multiplatform releases must have these days. Collapse
  7. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Overhyped and overrated, this game is not near as good as I expected. A number of issues include a weak story, repetitive gameplay, abysmalOverhyped and overrated, this game is not near as good as I expected. A number of issues include a weak story, repetitive gameplay, abysmal graphics, and rushed stages. Expand

See all 225 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.