Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 737 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dishonored is a tactile first-person action game that thrusts you into the role of a supernatural assassin driven by a thirst for revenge. With Dishonored’s flexible combat system, creatively eliminate your targets as you bring together the supernatural abilities, weapons and unusual gadgetsDishonored is a tactile first-person action game that thrusts you into the role of a supernatural assassin driven by a thirst for revenge. With Dishonored’s flexible combat system, creatively eliminate your targets as you bring together the supernatural abilities, weapons and unusual gadgets at your disposal. Hunt down your enemies under the cover of darkness or viciously attack them head on with weapons drawn. The results of each mission are a result of the choices you make. Win or lose, you must choose. Ozzy. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Oct 15, 2012
    100
    Dishonored is put together so well and executes its ideas in such an expert way that it would be difficult to not recommend the game to the highest degree possible.
  2. Oct 9, 2012
    95
    So does Dishonored stand up on its own two feet? It most certainly does! On the surface it is easy to compare previous games we have loved, and it is easy to see similarities in style and gameplay, but these are elements that have clearly been learned, honed and enhanced to make Dishonored a title that lives high up in the rooftops of being one of my favorite games of 2012 so far.
  3. Oct 7, 2012
    92
    It's also one of the prettiest games of recent years. The art direction is nothing short of incredible, and it's matched with a visual aesthetic that makes the world look like an oil painting in motion.
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    90
    It's the big intellectual property that comes to retail and shows up the competition by being bold, original, and -- more importantly -- brilliant. Easily deserving of its place among the BioShocks and the Borderlandses, Arkane's aggressive, non-aggressive, unsubtle, sneaky, thoroughly versatile tale of intrigue makes for the kind of game that reminds us this generation isn't all straightforward shooters and "me too" trend-seekers.
  5. Oct 8, 2012
    90
    Innovation in video games is coveted by many but rarely achieved-Dishonored has this in spades. It may not be perfect, but what Arkane Studios accomplishes is astounding for a debut of an original IP. Its memorable characters, striking game world, and incredible seamlessness between combat, stealth, and magic set a new standard for the action genre. Dishonored is unquestionably Game of the Year material.
  6. Oct 24, 2012
    85
    Dishonored could well have been the fourth installment of the Thief series, but there are also traces of BioShock and Half-Life 2 here and there. If you compare it to these paragons it's a bit disappointing, but it still shines among this year's games. [12/2012, p.60]
  7. Oct 7, 2012
    70
    After my first playthrough (which took around 6 hours), I felt a bit underwhelmed. As in I literally thought to myself - that was it? But then after going through a few more times, I realized how fun taking different paths could be.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 219
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    This game is probably the best new IP since Asassins creed . I think the game play is its best asset . They created an awesome world withThis game is probably the best new IP since Asassins creed . I think the game play is its best asset . They created an awesome world with interesting characters and brilliant story . everything in this game is fresh and its story is enthralling from the moment you played it to the end. Cant wait to see what they do with this series. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    This is the game we all wanted an unique game with great art style graphic great AI and the best of all unique gameplay you can play like youThis is the game we all wanted an unique game with great art style graphic great AI and the best of all unique gameplay you can play like you want if you want sneaky you can you want action/FPS you can and thats why this game rules and probably win some game of the year award becaouse like CVG said its the best game in this generation.A perfect 10 from me. P.S Sorry for bad english im in a hurry Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing game; the best in years. Signed up to Metacritic just to say that.
  4. Jan 16, 2013
    9
    This game makes me proud to be a gamer.

    Its a new IP but its a "spiritual sequel" to the thief series... the best fpsstealth games ever
    This game makes me proud to be a gamer.

    Its a new IP but its a "spiritual sequel" to the thief series... the best fpsstealth games ever made.

    Its well writte, good dialog, great art, and enough lore to keep you wanting Dishonored 2 :)

    Buy this game
    Expand
  5. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    I've played the game through three times now and each time has been a interesting walk through Dunwall. The game offers so many differentI've played the game through three times now and each time has been a interesting walk through Dunwall. The game offers so many different ways to complete missions and infiltrate locations that you could play through each mission more than once and still feel the suspense of finding and killing or saving your target. I played the game through on hard all three times, each being semi-challenging. The game shines with its use of supernatural powers; allowing fun combos and unique ways to move around each level. I found myself using different combinations every time I played through, as well as trying to get to my targets in different ways, and it kept the game fresh. Dishonored also has books and notes scattered around the city that help provide some lore and back story to help immerse yourself in the world. I'm a sucker for this stuff. It adds time to the game trying to find all of them, and brings the world to life. My first run of Dishonored took around 12-13 hours or so (with subsequent runs each being around half that time) and I never once felt like pacing was a problem or that the story was starting to die out. The game offers multiple endings, each of which have an interesting cut scene that ends the game and wraps up the future of your character and the city of Dunwall. As far as characters go voice acting is sub-par, but gets the job done. I never had any strong connections to any of the characters, but instead I found myself enthralled in the city. I wanted to make sure the city had a positive outcome for the princess, your character, and all the citizens I had read about in their left-behind journals. The graphics remind me of Bioshock's in a way. They're cartoony, but provide a realistic enough looking setting. All in all it's a great game, and for the price you could get it for now it's a must play. Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2012
    7
    I was expecting something resembling the original Deus Ex or the Thief games: Large sprawling levels and a long playthrough. I got 9 missionsI was expecting something resembling the original Deus Ex or the Thief games: Large sprawling levels and a long playthrough. I got 9 missions with a few sidemissions and levels that look open but all the routes go the same way. It gets progressively linear as times goes on. The best mission I have to say was the Boyle Party mission. It's a lot like Human Revolution, as it sort of resembles the open Action RPGs of the past, but has the disgusting dumbed down casualized gloss that all multiplatform releases must have these days. Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Overhyped and overrated, this game is not near as good as I expected. A number of issues include a weak story, repetitive gameplay, abysmalOverhyped and overrated, this game is not near as good as I expected. A number of issues include a weak story, repetitive gameplay, abysmal graphics, and rushed stages. Expand

See all 219 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.