• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Divinity II - The Dragon Knight Saga includes the original adventure "Ego Draconis", and "Flames of Vengeance", the Dragon Knight's new adventure that continues the epic story and adds dozens of hours of additional gameplay. Divinity II - Ego Draconis appears here as an entirely new and re-mastered edition with improved graphics and content that make the game even more beautiful and more impressive than ever before! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jan 30, 2011
    88
    It is not only recommended for fans of the original game, but for anyone who want to embark into a new roleplaying adventure with a lot of intelligent humour.
  2. Jan 30, 2011
    80
    Traditional it may be but Divinity 2 Dragon Knight Saga is an excellent RPG that is up there with the very best on the Xbox 360.
  3. Jan 30, 2011
    80
    The Dragon Knight Saga is a solid RPG with a funny gameplay and a nice proposal.
  4. Should have been this good the first time out. [Feb 2011, p.104]
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    70
    While it shows significant improvement over its previous release, Divinity II's visuals and gameplay still lack the level of polish we've come to expect from this generation's entries.
  6. Apr 18, 2011
    60
    Ultimately, The Dragon Knight Saga is a game at odds with itself. Its solid writing and quest design has to contend with balance issues and a myriad of other minor problems such as a sporadic autosave function that feels more like an afterthought.
  7. Jan 30, 2011
    50
    It's sad to see that Divinity II: The Dragon Knight Saga hasn't become a good game. The graphics may look nice but in the end the gameplay will leave you disappointed.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    The Dragon Knight Saga is a great RPG with tremendous value. I highly recommend at least checking it out, but I'd definitely buy it if I were you. This game contains great characters with hilarious writing, and a fun world to explore. Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    Holy Shnuzel this game kicks ass!! I am bewildered at all the low scores and poor reviews given to it by the trend following drongos out there. Having not played the original I decided to have a punt on this for a laugh, and I'm now 35 hours in to one of the best games I've played since Mass Effect 1&2. In my little gaming world Divinity 2 is sort of a spiritual successor to Summoner 2 on the PS2 - (too many 2's!! lol), even though they have little in common from a business perspective they both value fun, atmosphere, and genuine RPG elements over being 'sellable' to Jo Public. The blend of humour, epicness and grandeur, is perfect, making the rol-playing aspects of the game a joy to get involved with - the local Barnsley accents are particualrly cool. Then the combat, whilst not perfect, is still really fun and gives the players various ways of approaching the game - all down to how you want to build your character. The musical score fits to a tee, very immersive, the challenge is good, and although the graphics certainly aren't great at all, who's complaining? Not me, because this is one of the best games and RPGs I've played in ages. Avoid Dragon Age 2, go for this instead. Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best RPG games I have ever played. It is huge and full of fun things to do. The voice acting is excellent and the story is good as well. There are a lot of nods to movies and books in the names of characters and some of the achievements. This game is totally engaging right from the start and once you get the hang of how things work you will have hours of fun. The only issue is with the escort mission that is quite tedious to get through but other than that I loved this game. Expand
  4. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    Having not played the Original Divinity or its sequel, I don't have much to base this game on its improvements. I have however, gotten sick of most modern RPGs and this game is a breath of fresh air. The writing isn't as good as a Bioware game, nor does it look as pretty. However, this game has something that Mass Effect and Dragon Age lacked: exploration. The world of Divinity II is huge and beautiful and it only gets better the more you play. Much of the games design is great too, but you'll have to look past some of the games problems to get there. There is some freezing issues but most of the glitches you'll see in the game don't effect the over all playability of the game. Once you get past this you'll see an RPG that is more about fun and enjoying yourself than about nerdy stats and grinding loot fests. For instance, you get access to any skills in the game, regardless of what class you choose. This allows you to create your hero in any way you want. Want to be a ranged weapon specialist who can summon demons and shoot fire? You got it! The over all menu system is easy and from about half way in the game, it gets even better, allowing you go send anything you pick up to your "Battle Tower," a central hub that acts as your own personal shop/training grounds/evil necromancer's lab. There are other fun unique things as well, such as the ability to turn into a dragon on command and having your own Frankenstein-esque creature that you piece together from body parts scattered in the game. This game is a hidden gem, destined to be a sleeper hit that any RPG fan who just wants to have fun exploring a huge and endearing world. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2011
    8
    This is a good old school rpg game which I enjoyed. Good upgrade system and plenty of weapons and loot. The game also does well graphically. The not so good was the weird voice acting and the crazy problem solving at times. All in all well worth playing. HINT Upgrade your fireball spell to maximum even if you are warrior class. Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    7
    Fantastic game which takes you right back to old school rpg gaming. Storyline is good upgrade system is done supremely well and you can customise your weapons and armour continually throughout the game. Added to that you can transform from a dragon knight into a dragon, what more would you want. For anyone who is a fan of old school rpg gaming this is a must. Would recommend this game to rpg fans out there. Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2011
    3
    After having tried to play the first XBOX version of this game and had given up out of frustration, I have hoped that the revised and remastered version would play like a fantastic new game. Sadly, while the newest version, after another year+ of incubation and revision, does have much better FPS, the game sorely lacks the polish promised and misses the mark yet again in many departments.

    During my first play session, the game locked-up my new slim XBOX 3 times while wandering the world and another time during a save game operation. Frustrated, pushing-on past my first-version quit-point, I soon discovered that while the FPS has been smoothed out somewhat, the game, itself, seems to have been modified in odd ways. Some quests omitted, others added with minimal effect, NPCs with poor pathfinding and collision, better-balanced combat with some new monsters, all seemingly undermined by typos in quest dialogue, non-synched NPC voicetracks, clunky UI and the list could go on and on, unfortunately.

    The artwork and textures look to be improved in some areas while completely gutted in other areas, presumably for better FPS and less stuttery performance, which "worked" for me, however.

    I wanted to give Larian the benefit of the doubt. Along with Focus Interactive, the game has been improved a great deal, although it is difficult to claim success due to the overall inconsistencies and odd occurences still prevalent in the gameplay and world. Personally, locking up the new XBOX 3 times and then, another, while on the save screen really tells the tale. Maybe other users will have a different experience, I hope so. . . .

    Frankly, instead of the artbook and included soundtrack disc, I would have much rather had the game that Larian, Focus and Atlus had promised us for the last year+.
    Collapse

See all 22 User Reviews