Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This in-depth, documentary-style title promises to provide the deepest, most authentic and entertaining experience ever seen in a boxing video game. Prizefighter brings the realism of live action match-ups and the true tactics of the sweet science together for the first time. More than just a night at the fights - players are responsible for building a career by overcoming adversity, avoiding temptation, and balancing their commitments to train and promote, all while focusing on the goal of ultimately winning and defending the title belt. The story is told by a revolutionary sports documentary-style narrative never before seen in a video game. [2K Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 45
  2. Negative: 8 out of 45
  1. Doesn't quite do enough to steal "Round 3's" crown, but takes it right down to the wire. [Aug 2008, p.78]
  2. It represents the sport in a grittier light than the super-polished Fight Night series.
  3. Clunky and unresponsive controls.
  4. Unfortunately, if you are looking for a realistic boxing game, you aren’t going to find it here.
  5. 55
    In the end, the positives surrounding the career mode of Prizefighter just aren't enough to make up for the numerous negatives in control, collision detection, and overall gameplay.
  6. Prizefighter lacks the necessary skill set to become the next great champ or even contender for that matter. If I had to compare it to a fighter it would be the 'Hurricane' Peter McNeely of video game boxing. It does everything right to sell the fight, it just can't execute anything resembling skillful boxing once it steps into the ring.
  7. Prizefighter turns out to be a big step in the wrong direction. Going back to button-presses to throw leather is like going back to coach after flying first class.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. MeharGill
    Aug 15, 2008
    8
    When Don King Presents: Prizefighter was first announced I was pretty excited, especially when the announcement came around the time the Fight Night series was presumed M.I.A.! I feel Don King Presents: Prizefighter is a very underrated game, which is a shame since it is a really solid game.

    The graphics in the game a really top notch, although not as good as Fight Night Round 3 the graphics are really clean which is a nice touch. The game also runs at a solid frame rate which makes it even better. I did notice some bugs though, mainly sync issues, if you skip a scene when a round is over and the announcer is still talking the audio does not skip but the scene forwards to your character in his corner. And their are some lip sync issues as well.

    The Audio is top notch, your gonna hear every swoosh coming from your boxers gloves, every word spewing from your coach in his corner, etc. The game also goes has far as having a track list of about 70 or so songs, their not bad songs either, there good songs that really help pump you up when your training or getting ready to fight. Their were the audio issues I talked about above but I think those are more engine issues then Audio issues so that will stay in the graphics section.

    The gameplay is pretty simply, the A, B, X, and Y buttons are used to pull of punches X and Y being the left side of your body while A and B are your right. The left thumbstick is used to move around the ring along with dashing, the right is used to move your boxer around like when he
    Expand
  2. JimM
    Jun 13, 2008
    8
    I have no idea why these guys are bagging this game. It's certainly no "worse" than Fight Night when it comes to the fight mechanics. In fact, it's a lot alike. You're not going to be able to go an entire fight without getting punched ONCE like you can Fight Night. You have to work tactically. Sure, it's not perfect, but adding the story, (disjointed though it is), and other bells and whistles takes a large step in the right direction in filling in the blanks that the Fight Night series has always had.

    One of the reviewers states there are better boxing sims out there. Umm, Really? Like WHAT? Fight Night Round 3? Great game. It's only YEARS old. I mean, come on, if you like boxing games, you won't be disappointed. Just don't get frustrated, because even though the controls are similar, the fighting mechanics are a little different.

    There are some annoying things about the game that occur in career mode as far as not being able to pick your fighter's nickname. You're the Kid. Deal with it. Little things like that. And the story is kind of confusing, but who cares? It's a boxing game, not Gone With the Wind. And Lampley's commentary is repetitive and quickly gets annoying. But picking your opponent apart with jabs, and then lighting him up with a quick perfectly timed punch never gets old.

    It's not a masterpiece of innovation, but it's fun. I play games that are fun. Call me Captain Obvious. The reviewers above are elitist dweebs.

    I do loathe and despise Don King, but he's not as prevalent in the game as I feared he would be.
    Expand
  3. R.M.
    Jun 4, 2008
    8
    Cant wait for this game because by the looks of it its gonna be a good game. I played fight night round 3 and hated the parrying system. theres no parrying in real boxing. If you watched a real boxing match and count how many parry each boxer did through the whole fight. The answer to that is none. You do not counter the other boxer by doing a parry what is this Karate or Boxing? You counter them by moving out of the punches way and hitting them when they are out balance. thats how you counter non of that getting parried nonsense. Expand
  4. keithlock
    Jun 14, 2008
    8
    This game is way better than the reviews. I prefer it to Fight Night. Much more realistic boxing and interesting career mode. Could it be better? Yes, but if this a good foundation to build on. Other good games of late: GRID, NBA2K8 (steal at current price. change game speed to 31), NHL2K8 (sim mode). Expand
  5. May 19, 2013
    3
    Honestly, I was kind of expecting more from this game, by the way it looks, I thought it looked alright, but when it went down to gameplay, I just couldn't stand it. By the way the tutorial was telling me to play, I was doing everything it asked, and it just didn't match up, with broken controls, and broken gameplay, this game won't make up for any of your time. Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2014
    3
    Prizefighter is a game that never stood a chance, you can't go against a juggernaut like Fight Night and then put little effort into your fighter.

    The boxing this time takes it back to the old school, where face buttons control your uppercuts, jabs and hay-makers, which I have always prefer-ed. But there is nothing behind those punches. Mash the buttons and your boxer will stick out his arms and it's touch and go whether or not the game recognizes them as a landed punch. They all look unconvincing due to poor animation but it's up to the A.I whether they make it to not.

    Presentation has some potential, licensed music and fan fare makes you almost want to get pumped up for the fight if you didn't already know how things are going to turn out when the game-play kicks in.

    The game's main focus seemed to be a well fleshed out fictional documentary piece about your created fighter, but when it gets down to it, it doesn't matter how man C-list celebrities they got to record footage, if there is no solid game-play there is no point.
    Expand
  7. Jun 7, 2012
    0
    Other game of the big mouth of Don King. We meet much fighting games: Dead or Alive, Tekken, Mortal Kombat, Street Fighter; And all are better than this game. And we meet the principal box saga, Fight Night Round, a better box game. The principal problem in this game is that the story is really stupid, the graphics are awful, when you play with other people the game have some funy moments, but the rest is terrible. Collapse