Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    Still creepy, still fun eight years later. Not quite enough new content to win back old fans, but first-timers will delight. [Jan 2013, p.74]
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    88
    This collection is a little something for fans to whet their appetites with in preparation for id's long-awaited reveal of the long-in-development fourth installment. With that said, this is one of the best HD re-releases I've played so far.
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    85
    Doom 3 BFG Edition isn't the complete, ultimate Doom collection I was hoping for but it's still a lot of great content in one place and for a good price. Even if I prefer the original games modded to fan perfection, BFG Edition is a great entry point for novices, or a good way for lapsed fans to rediscover the blood, carnage and white knuckle terror of Doom.
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    80
    DOOM 3 BFG Edition is basically an appetizer for the main course that is DOOM 4. Still, it's a fantastic bundle for any horror enthusiast or DOOM fan, or even anyone looking to relive one of the better games of the last generation. It's flawed, sure, but there's almost a bit of charm in that
  5. Oct 23, 2012
    80
    It wasn't a very good game eight years ago and slightly improved graphics certainly don't improve its standing now, but if nothing else this proves the world needs a Doom 4.
  6. Oct 23, 2012
    80
    Doom 3: BFG Edition is, without a doubt, the definitive collection for fans of this series. The package brings together virtually every Doom offering that has ever existed, with additions like the "duct tape" mod and The Lost Missions amounting to delicious gravy.
  7. Oct 22, 2012
    80
    Doom 3 BFG Edition is an outstanding package for the price tag. If you have never played the original Doom 3, it is a must for fans of the genre.
  8. Oct 19, 2012
    80
    Whether you have the energy to experience all of that entertainment depends entirely on your tolerance for non-stop, mostly immutable FPS action, but nevertheless, this is worth nabbing for any DOOM fan currently not rocking a gaming rig.
  9. Oct 25, 2012
    76
    While several nagging issues can make it feel more like a rushed port rather than the definitive director's cut it should be, there's no denying that Doom 3 has improved with age.
  10. Oct 22, 2012
    75
    Doom 3 is a simple and old FPS but it's also a classic with a nice survival horror soul. Those who love old school shooters and missed the third chapter of the saga should try this enhanced version before it becomes too old.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 123 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Clearly people don't understand how to rate a game. This is DOOM 3 Plus ROE with the Lost Mission. Includes 5.1 Surround Sound, ImprovedClearly people don't understand how to rate a game. This is DOOM 3 Plus ROE with the Lost Mission. Includes 5.1 Surround Sound, Improved Rendering and lighting, new check point save system as well for 3D Visuals. ( All which I read off the back of the game I bought) Doom 3 BFG is DOOM 3 Major Expansion and well worth every penny. Full Review »
  2. Oct 20, 2012
    9
    I have never played a Doom game before. I dont know who thinks this game seems dated but I would suggest that they are wrong. The garphics areI have never played a Doom game before. I dont know who thinks this game seems dated but I would suggest that they are wrong. The garphics are sharp and nice, and it makes a change to have a game that runs so good on a console. The game itself is intense, challenging and very fast paced. It feels like a pure, adrenaline fueled shooter with many suprises and makes you jump a lot. I have played many worse AAA titles and seen many recent games that look much worse. It is a great game. Full Review »
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    Graphics don't make a good game. Doom 3 and RoE were and still are excellent games. The new "lost missions" are excellent and the 3D reallyGraphics don't make a good game. Doom 3 and RoE were and still are excellent games. The new "lost missions" are excellent and the 3D really pops. This is a must have for classic horror fans. Full Review »