User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 114
  2. Negative: 31 out of 114

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    With a game as legendary, spectacular, and praised as Doom, it can only be expected to deliver with a bang on the current generation of consoles, and that it has. Doom 3 BFG Edition provides countless of hours of entertainment, generated from the 3 Doom titles, as well as special exclusives included within each. Even with accomplishing the achievement of defeating any of the three games, the gruesome, gory, and gut-retching gameplay will uncontrollably draw you in to play it again and again. While, of course, it won't win any awards for best game or anything of the sort, Bethesda truly gave a valiant effort to restoring the franchise, as well as not only bringing back memories for experienced, veteran players, but also in creating memories for new, novice gamers. 8/10 Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    Great console port of the game Smooth framerate Great lighting
    Great Shadows The inclusion of The ROE and the lost missions and doom 1 & 2 make it
    well worth the money also very atmospheric great game
  3. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    Let me get this out of the way: I love Doom. It was one of the games I grew up with, and I still play it to this day. When I heard they were releasing a remastered version of Doom 3 and its expansion Resurrection of Evil, as well as a brand new expansion (The Lost Mission) and the 2 classic Doom XBLA offerings, I simply couldn't resist. Aside from the slightly upgraded visuals and a few additions, it is largely the same Doom 3 I played on the first Xbox in 2005 (I've never played the PC version). I'm interested to see what The Lost Mission has to offer, and I already know how the classic Doom games are like. In all, an amazing package. While it may not be as good as The Orange Box, it's still a great deal, seeing as you're getting 3 awesome games and 2 expansion packs. Now if only they would announce Doom 4... Expand
  4. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    If you want a game that scares the crap out of you this game is for you. If you love the Doom classics then this game is for you. This is a must own game in your horror category for games
  5. May 25, 2013
    9
    What's with all the hate for this game? Its the complete Doom franchise in one disk people! What more could you ask? This is a sign that Bethesda WILL make Doom 4! So please stop and play this game!
  6. Apr 17, 2013
    8
    I have a very small list of games that are my all time favorites, just to name a few: Bioshock, Payday, Halo Combat Evolved, Minecraft, and DOOM 3. When it came out for the original xbox, i bought it and loved playing it through the end, no matter how many times i peed myself. I later found it was compatible with the xbox 360 when it came out, it was sort of not as fun, but then they remade it, and there's almost no difference, i was hoping for atleast a little new content or beefed up graphics, but no, i guess it was for people to know why the game was so popular and play it, but i can't believe they kicked doom fans in the shin by adding not to much into it. I suppose it's alright, i have a lot of nostalgic feelings and i feel they still have that amazing game, so i would say it is definetly worth your money. Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    6
    Having played some of Doom 3 on the PCand remembering how amazing it looked backed then, it was somewhat jarring to see how bad it looks today. While ID did upgrade the textures and the frame rate is super smooth, the character models look terrible by today's standards. While some might think it's unfair to compare an odler game to today's standards I would day that this is technically a remake, and there was room for imrovements to everything. With that being said, this is still not a bad game.
    For starters, I have to say, if you're not a Doom fan you might want to pass this up. It hasn't aged well next to the likes of its peers, even the 2007 Bioshock. The story is still interesting and the enviroments well designed but it feels dated. Also, the combat, while still fun, is pretty simplistic. The animations are stilted and uninspired as well.
    While the models of the human players don't hold up, the creature models are servicable and the lighting still looks great today. The dark enviroments are still spooky as well. Perhaps the biggest dissapointment in this game is that the 3D is awful. Part of the reason I got this game was the 3D and it is unplayable. As someone who loves 3D, and never had a problem with it before, it gave me a headache and strained my eyes. You can adjust the 3d in the settings but it still did nothing to help.
    That being said, you can get this game at a fairly decent price and it includes the original Doom 1 and 2 which is a nice bonus. If you're looking for an FPS at a decent price you can always take this on, otherwise your life would be just as great without it.
    Expand
  8. Feb 4, 2013
    9
    This game is going into my library of games I will never trade in. There is so much content and fun to be had both in the old games and in Doom 3. You even get the dlc so this is a really good deal. I think the games all look great and I am addicted to playing all of them. Scary and fun, what more could you ask.
  9. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    Simply one of the greatest fps of all time: scary, hard, dark as hell, long lasting, wonderful: but you little kids can surely go on playing CoD and **** games like that!
  10. Dec 9, 2012
    7
    This is a good way to start to introduce this generation of gamers' to doom just before doom 4 comes out and is still fun to play. although outdated it is still a solid game and i must say, this makes me a bit excited for the next one. People hate this just because it's graphics are sh*t and you don't really aim, but they miss the point of enjoyment and the fact it was made more than 10 years ago
  11. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    I have never played any of the Doom games before, but I have always wanted to. I saw the re-release of the Doom games for the 360 as a great opportunity for me to play them. So I did, and I love them. Besides some dated graphics, Doom 3 is fun, gory and atmospheric and even occasionally scary game that is one of the better shooter games that I have played in a while. The other Doom games are also quite retro and fun. All together, DOOM 3 BFG Edition is the definitive collection for all Doom fans and for all the people who have wanted to play the game. Expand
  12. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Originally, I hadn't planned on writing a review for this game, considering that the original Doom 3 was pretty well-known but after reading how idiotic the majority of the critic reviews are, I feel it's best that I attempt to educate some people about it. First off, entirely disregard most of the actual critic reviews, as their reasoning for giving it a 5 or 6 is cited from the fact that the game is "old". Well, yes, it is. The game was originally released in 2004. However, I was purchasing this game under full knowledge that the game is 8 years old and am not disappointed in the slightest. The critics are like a broken record, harping on the age thing constantly but they act as if the game was developed this year... FYI: it wasn't, and giving the game a 4 out of 10 is absurd. Despite the fact that it's an 8 year-old shooter, it still manages to be more fun than many shooters today. In sum, the game is a pure horror-fest with loads of shooting. If you enjoy fragging demonspawns from hell, this is the game for you. Not to mention how insanely horrific the atmosphere in general is. Never have I played a game that will psychologically disturb you in such a way. Even after I had played through it back when it was initially released, it still managed to scare me in countless ways. People have made bold claims such as "DEAD SPACE IS SCARIER!!", but these claims are ridiculous. I was a huge fan of Dead Space and Dead Space 2 and I admit that they had their moments (even if they were scarce in my opinion), but they don't even come close to rivaling the horrific atmosphere and intense chills that Doom 3 brings to the table. You will never feel safe in this game, no matter which weapon you are currently using. Every new room you progress through feels like it could be your last but the game never manages to be unfair or cheap. One might be wondering what makes Doom 3 any scarier than a modern-day horror game and I would generally chock it up to the amazingly-done atmosphere. The deep growling of lurking nearby monsters, patiently waiting for their opportunity eviscerate you, or the chilling environments themselves, which seem to come alive at many points throughout the game. Hallways will somehow breathe on their own, and footsteps will sound directly behind you and when you whirl around in defense, your finger on the trigger, you see nothing. As you desperately struggle through the seemingly-endless hordes of hell, the devil himself will laugh and mock your efforts, instilling a feeling of hopelessness and despair as you continue onwards. The game is immensely hellish and will leave you scarred psychologically to the point of no return. I admit, the general gameplay of walking around shooting demons does tend to stale after an hour or so, but that hour is insanely satisfying and you are guaranteed to be at the edge of your seat throughout. The storyline is pretty nonexistent, save for make it from point A to point B while wasting countless baddies from hell in between. The new optimized HD graphics definitely improve the overall experience, although it still is quite obvious that the game has a considerable age difference in comparison to other modern shooters. However, this doesn't even come close to tarnishing the experience, which generally spans approximately 12-15 hours for the Doom 3 campaign alone. The Resurrection of Evil expansion pack is included as well, which is an additional 5-6 hours as well as the newly-created Lost Mission campaign, which is an additional 2-3 hours of heart-pounding thrills. The BFG Edition also includes the original Doom and Doom 2 as well, totaling a decent amount of content for a much lower price than your average game. Of course, multiple playthroughs are required for you achievement-whores out there (such as myself), so this ends up being a pretty solid package overall. The Doom 3 multiplayer exists, but I wouldn't recommend wasting your time there since, suffice it to say, it's pretty out-of-date. Even back in 2004, it was still pretty awful so I'll simply leave that out of the review. Overall, Doom 3 BFG Edition is one hell of a bargain (pun intended). 3 full-length games + 2 expansions make this a seriously good deal that will satisfy horror and shooter-fans alike. If you thought Dead Space was even a little scary, I would play this game with the lights on. Expand
  13. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    Hey look. Another game getting flack it really doesn't deserve. For the record Doom 3 came out at a time when first person shooters were really hitting that stride. Now days the market is over saturated with military shooters and stories are taken a little more serious in the genre. By today's standards the game does not set a high bar and looks merely average next to other games on the market. But this is a remake folks. Can't expect greatness. Funny enough the game is better than I remember. I only had it for the original XBOX and I must say I think I may of gave it a harder time than it deserved. The game still uses sound well to create suspense, dark areas create tension and will leave you wondering if you have the ammo to go through another 2 or 3 rooms (Lets assume you play it on hard), and the monster closets where the local demons spawn out of thin air still can make you jump right out of your seat, something Resident Evil hasn't done in a decade. So it has the scares down and can get you a little nauseous. It does have problems though. Some of the levels were meant to be dark and the transition with the light on your weapons and just more light in general was a clumsy after thought. You can't configure your control or can only do it by their standards, it takes way to long to get interesting, and the new levels did nothing for me. No new weapons, no new enemies. Basically it feels like a more polished version with minimal effort given to people who has already invested serious time in the game 7 years ago. But this wasn't created for those folks. I recommend if for people who never got to play it or never played the PC version. Everyone else should just move on. But make no mistake, it isn't a bad game. If anything it was a nice surprise. Expand
  14. Nov 13, 2012
    6
    Good package if you don't own the original doom 3, but I you own the original there are mods and addons that do a better job than this HD update. I returned the game after a day of play and I'd rather play it on steam. Recommend to only people that have NEVER played doom 3.
  15. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    first i must mention i like this game so much.it is still fearsome after years.it still scare me with darkness and sounds;sudden appearance of enemies,empty flashlight for seconds and more.
    the game is so generous in bullets because the gameplay is only on it.visuals seem old in all time but the gameplay is fresh still.
    2 retro games included too(i am so happy for these).
    story is light
    and non-deep but the DOOM`s gameplay will doom you to play it so hard.
    everything is ok in my idea and i like this game still.
    (i have many memories with DOOMs)
    ^__^
    Expand
  16. Oct 25, 2012
    7
    This version of Doom 3 is very good; a beautiful game to look at. There are only two but annoying problems. The first are the auto saves that intrude upon the experience with a sudden rude pause. The second problem is even worse. There is no option to map your weapons to the d-pad. Instead they decided to permanently assign fists and chainsaw to right, grenades to up, and the soul cube to left. These are not my go-to weapons for the great majority of time. Instead I have to scroll weapons with either LB or RB looking for the pistol, shotgun, machine gun, chain gun, grenades, plasma gun, rocket launcher, BFG-9000. In the heat of battle (which is the whole time), either you have memorized what gun is best for that fight or you're left to frantically scroll through the gun menu while trying to survive. This my friends is an unacceptable blunder; a gross oversight of the d-pad's Raison d'être.

    Did not yet play any of the other stuff.
    Expand
  17. Oct 24, 2012
    8
    Not sure what is with all the negative reviews. The big news here is the Shoulder Mounted Flashlight. Nuff said. Totally worth the purchase, especially if you want to combine the love of retro games that you may or may not have grown up with along with an enhanced version of the game that rebooted the franchise. This is really just a precursor to Doom 4 to get people more familiar with the history of the games. Now I will admit playing Doom and Doom II on the console was weird and awkward at times, but Doom 3 played hard and looked hot. Hear my full review on the show, http://liquidgamer.podbean.com Expand
  18. Oct 22, 2012
    9
    Don't buy this game expecting a drastic remake but to those that never played doom 3 I would recommend trying it out if not now then when you can find a cheap used copy. The graphics are improved but they didn't blow me away either. Yes the game is nearing 10 years old at this point I realize that and it looked amazing back in the day but the texture detail hasn't aged well. I actually felt like the game played even better with a controller than it did on pc but I have been playing mostly console games as of late. Expand
  19. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Its alot of Doom and worth every dollar I spent on this BFG edition. I do not understand the negative reviews. I already played all these games but it is nice to have them all in one menu and not have to look for my old disks. Its like buying a movie trilogy after you seen the movies. This is a must buy for us old folks who have been playing this series since the mid 90s.
  20. Oct 21, 2012
    6
    This game is pretty bad. Loading times are atrocious. Repetitive Enemies and horrible AI. Graphics, guns, voices are bad too. I never played Doom 3 before but always wanted to being a fan of the horror genre. I always thought I was missing out. I guess not.
  21. Oct 20, 2012
    9
    I have never played a Doom game before. I dont know who thinks this game seems dated but I would suggest that they are wrong. The garphics are sharp and nice, and it makes a change to have a game that runs so good on a console. The game itself is intense, challenging and very fast paced. It feels like a pure, adrenaline fueled shooter with many suprises and makes you jump a lot. I have played many worse AAA titles and seen many recent games that look much worse. It is a great game. Expand
  22. Oct 19, 2012
    5
    I can't give it the pass. Lack of co-op (WHY WHY WHY NOW WHEN CO-OP IS THE MOST POPULAR THING IN GAMES) that was in the original DooM 3 really kills the value on this game. It's still a good game but that's an inexcusable lacking feature. Stick to the original versions, it's a bad port.
  23. Oct 19, 2012
    5
    Its good to be able to play doom 1,2 and 3 on the console. My first major complaint however is that Doom 3 doesnt have a coop campaign feature, although the xbox 1 version did back in 2005. The HD makeover really hasnt had the love and care put into it that it deserves. The multiplayer game types seem very quiet/dead which isnt a good sign, I played on launch and found it difficult to find any full lobbies. There are nagging gripes such not being able to change control mappings and the fact that you are unable to play doom 1&2 if the game is installed to your console. All in all its doom and everything that you can expect from the franchise, and if you (somehow) missed out first time round now is a good time to crack it open, but its really worth waiting for a price drop. Expand
  24. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    It was good in 2004 and it's good now. One of the most atmospheric games ever made. Just because the game play is simple doesn't mean it's not great fun. Get ready for the obligatory hate campaign.
  25. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    Grimdandelo a obvious troll. Going to each and every system release and rating it 0? get out fo here. I picked it up for PC and 360... its a great bundle on PC if youve never played the original games, and its well polished. But it really shines on the console, especially for those of us who played the Xbox original Doom 3 that was watered down from its PC counterpart.... this one really should make you smile and see what you missed :)

    Also, the 3D effects are great... some of the best I've seen in a game that supports 3D. A definete must buy!
    Expand
  26. Oct 17, 2012
    8
    I was extremely excited for this game and in some ways, it did not disappoint. However, it did fall a bit short for me. Let me start off by saying, if you have the original on pc and you are expecting to get your $40 worth on console, you will be disappointed due to the vast amount of mods for the original pc game. But the game doesnt deserve to get knocked for this. It was redone for the console crowd who may not have played the originals. Now that being said, it does deserve to be knocked for several things. For instance, you cannot install this game to the HDD if you want to play the originals. That just doesnt seem well thought out. There's got to be a reason for that, and it better be a damn good one. Also, there's a lack of control customization. It's either their way or the highway. Not a huge deal since its got the basic shooter layout but still, i would tweak a few things like crouch not being a RS click. And while some people are going to rip this game to shreds for taking the fear and suspense out of it with the flashlight fix, brighter lighting, etc. But that's not a valid reason. They redid the game to feel like the originals, pure fun shooters. However, one "feature" they added in doesnt sit well with me. The autosaves. They're jarring as hell. Its not like its every few seconds but when it does save, its like a 3 second freeze that reminds you that you're playing a game. But all those things aside, the game is what they promised. A remastered doom 3, a few extra missions, and the originals. The execution just wasn't flawless.

    ****So I wanted to make a change on my previous review. I originally called this a 7 due to the inability to play the originals while the game is installed to the HDD. This can be bypassed by opening one of the originals from the "My Games" area of the dashboard. So 8 it is. And to Grimdandelo, the reason why people are posting their first reviews on THIS game is because of people like you who take it upon themselves to rate something a 0 because its not call of duty, skyrim, etc. If the people who do enjoy this game don't voice their opinion, it will get crap scores. Alot of people base their purchases off of reviews and there is absolutely no reason for someone not to buy this game. Its a piece of gaming history******
    Expand
  27. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    I never got a chance to play this game on it's first iteration and now that there is an HD re-release I decided to pick it up. Really, I love it. I can't imagine that the HD edition did that much improvement to the game, and it's 7 or 8 years old. That's a pretty huge feat. I haven't finished it all the way through, but I am already happier with this $40.00 purchase than I have been with a few of my $60 ones. I wish the audio on the weapons sounded better, that's my only complaint. Collapse
  28. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    This is a no-brainer: the father of first-person shooters best installment in the franchise, gloriously enhanced for had tv's, loads of content, and one of the most chilling, atmospheric, seat of your pants action games ever designed. Buy it, live it, and love it. These kinds of games don't come around often.
  29. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Clearly people don't understand how to rate a game. This is DOOM 3 Plus ROE with the Lost Mission. Includes 5.1 Surround Sound, Improved Rendering and lighting, new check point save system as well for 3D Visuals. ( All which I read off the back of the game I bought) Doom 3 BFG is DOOM 3 Major Expansion and well worth every penny.
  30. Oct 16, 2012
    5
    If you never had played this game before, it's a MUST BUY. If you are a Doom fan, you can miss this one without feeling guilty. The new missions are all except new and this pack is just a HD edition of the games.
  31. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    Graphics don't make a good game. Doom 3 and RoE were and still are excellent games. The new "lost missions" are excellent and the 3D really pops. This is a must have for classic horror fans.
  32. Oct 17, 2012
    0
    I never got a chance to play this game on it's first iteration and now that there is an HD re-release I decided to pick it up. Really, I love it. I can't imagine that the HD edition did that much improvement to the game, and it's 7 or 8 years old. That's a pretty huge feat. I haven't finished it all the way through, but I am already happier with this $40.00 purchase than I have been with a few of my $60 ones. I wish the audio on the weapons sounded better, that's my only complaint. Collapse
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    Still creepy, still fun eight years later. Not quite enough new content to win back old fans, but first-timers will delight. [Jan 2013, p.74]
  2. 30
    Terrifically boring. [Issue#92, p.84]
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    85
    Doom 3 BFG Edition isn't the complete, ultimate Doom collection I was hoping for but it's still a lot of great content in one place and for a good price. Even if I prefer the original games modded to fan perfection, BFG Edition is a great entry point for novices, or a good way for lapsed fans to rediscover the blood, carnage and white knuckle terror of Doom.