Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 122 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Re-mastered for Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, this game and its expansion pack offers enhanced graphics, immersing the player in the demonic world of this terrifying horror game. Players experience a never-before-seen single-player story, 'The Lost Mission,' featuring seven new levels.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    Still creepy, still fun eight years later. Not quite enough new content to win back old fans, but first-timers will delight. [Jan 2013, p.74]
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    80
    Doom 3 BFG Edition is an outstanding package for the price tag. If you have never played the original Doom 3, it is a must for fans of the genre.
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    80
    DOOM 3 BFG Edition is basically an appetizer for the main course that is DOOM 4. Still, it's a fantastic bundle for any horror enthusiast or DOOM fan, or even anyone looking to relive one of the better games of the last generation. It's flawed, sure, but there's almost a bit of charm in that
  4. Oct 25, 2012
    67
    Doom 3: BFG Edition is still an enjoyable romp through armies of hellspawn, and if you've yet to play the Doom series, there's a lot to like here. Just be prepared for plenty of repetitive strafing and hours of fragging ugly demon ass. This is quite clearly the devil's work.
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    60
    The BFG Edition is the best you're going to do right now if you want to buy a new copy of a shooter that, for better or worse, ranks among the most hyped video game releases of all time.
  6. 60
    Doom 3 has flaws that have only become more obvious with time, and tweaking a few gameplay mechanics isn't enough to rectify them.
  7. 30
    Terrifically boring. [Issue#92, p.84]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    Clearly people don't understand how to rate a game. This is DOOM 3 Plus ROE with the Lost Mission. Includes 5.1 Surround Sound, ImprovedClearly people don't understand how to rate a game. This is DOOM 3 Plus ROE with the Lost Mission. Includes 5.1 Surround Sound, Improved Rendering and lighting, new check point save system as well for 3D Visuals. ( All which I read off the back of the game I bought) Doom 3 BFG is DOOM 3 Major Expansion and well worth every penny. Expand
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    10
    Its alot of Doom and worth every dollar I spent on this BFG edition. I do not understand the negative reviews. I already played all theseIts alot of Doom and worth every dollar I spent on this BFG edition. I do not understand the negative reviews. I already played all these games but it is nice to have them all in one menu and not have to look for my old disks. Its like buying a movie trilogy after you seen the movies. This is a must buy for us old folks who have been playing this series since the mid 90s. Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    I never got a chance to play this game on it's first iteration and now that there is an HD re-release I decided to pick it up. Really, I loveI never got a chance to play this game on it's first iteration and now that there is an HD re-release I decided to pick it up. Really, I love it. I can't imagine that the HD edition did that much improvement to the game, and it's 7 or 8 years old. That's a pretty huge feat. I haven't finished it all the way through, but I am already happier with this $40.00 purchase than I have been with a few of my $60 ones. I wish the audio on the weapons sounded better, that's my only complaint. Expand
  4. Apr 17, 2013
    8
    I have a very small list of games that are my all time favorites, just to name a few: Bioshock, Payday, Halo Combat Evolved, Minecraft, andI have a very small list of games that are my all time favorites, just to name a few: Bioshock, Payday, Halo Combat Evolved, Minecraft, and DOOM 3. When it came out for the original xbox, i bought it and loved playing it through the end, no matter how many times i peed myself. I later found it was compatible with the xbox 360 when it came out, it was sort of not as fun, but then they remade it, and there's almost no difference, i was hoping for atleast a little new content or beefed up graphics, but no, i guess it was for people to know why the game was so popular and play it, but i can't believe they kicked doom fans in the shin by adding not to much into it. I suppose it's alright, i have a lot of nostalgic feelings and i feel they still have that amazing game, so i would say it is definetly worth your money. Collapse
  5. Oct 17, 2012
    8
    I was extremely excited for this game and in some ways, it did not disappoint. However, it did fall a bit short for me. Let me start off byI was extremely excited for this game and in some ways, it did not disappoint. However, it did fall a bit short for me. Let me start off by saying, if you have the original on pc and you are expecting to get your $40 worth on console, you will be disappointed due to the vast amount of mods for the original pc game. But the game doesnt deserve to get knocked for this. It was redone for the console crowd who may not have played the originals. Now that being said, it does deserve to be knocked for several things. For instance, you cannot install this game to the HDD if you want to play the originals. That just doesnt seem well thought out. There's got to be a reason for that, and it better be a damn good one. Also, there's a lack of control customization. It's either their way or the highway. Not a huge deal since its got the basic shooter layout but still, i would tweak a few things like crouch not being a RS click. And while some people are going to rip this game to shreds for taking the fear and suspense out of it with the flashlight fix, brighter lighting, etc. But that's not a valid reason. They redid the game to feel like the originals, pure fun shooters. However, one "feature" they added in doesnt sit well with me. The autosaves. They're jarring as hell. Its not like its every few seconds but when it does save, its like a 3 second freeze that reminds you that you're playing a game. But all those things aside, the game is what they promised. A remastered doom 3, a few extra missions, and the originals. The execution just wasn't flawless.

    ****So I wanted to make a change on my previous review. I originally called this a 7 due to the inability to play the originals while the game is installed to the HDD. This can be bypassed by opening one of the originals from the "My Games" area of the dashboard. So 8 it is. And to Grimdandelo, the reason why people are posting their first reviews on THIS game is because of people like you who take it upon themselves to rate something a 0 because its not call of duty, skyrim, etc. If the people who do enjoy this game don't voice their opinion, it will get crap scores. Alot of people base their purchases off of reviews and there is absolutely no reason for someone not to buy this game. Its a piece of gaming history******
    Expand
  6. Dec 9, 2012
    7
    This is a good way to start to introduce this generation of gamers' to doom just before doom 4 comes out and is still fun to play. althoughThis is a good way to start to introduce this generation of gamers' to doom just before doom 4 comes out and is still fun to play. although outdated it is still a solid game and i must say, this makes me a bit excited for the next one. People hate this just because it's graphics are sh*t and you don't really aim, but they miss the point of enjoyment and the fact it was made more than 10 years ago Expand
  7. Oct 21, 2012
    5
    This game is pretty bad. Loading times are atrocious. Repetitive Enemies and horrible AI. Graphics, guns, voices are bad too. I neverThis game is pretty bad. Loading times are atrocious. Repetitive Enemies and horrible AI. Graphics, guns, voices are bad too. I never played Doom 3 before but always wanted to being a fan of the horror genre. I always thought I was missing out. I guess not. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews