User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 79
  2. Negative: 6 out of 79

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    The ORIGINAL DOOM! Oh my good, DOOM 1! Without all of these stupid Doom 2, Doom 3, Doom 4, Doom 5, Doom 6... All I am saying is back in the day, Doom the original was the bomb. I still love it: I have it on my laptop. Sure the graphics suck, but it is so addicting and fun. Plus, it is probably the first FPS ever made. WITHOUT DOOM, THERE WOULD BE NO COD! NO BATTLEFIELD OR HALO, OR WHATEVERThe ORIGINAL DOOM! Oh my good, DOOM 1! Without all of these stupid Doom 2, Doom 3, Doom 4, Doom 5, Doom 6... All I am saying is back in the day, Doom the original was the bomb. I still love it: I have it on my laptop. Sure the graphics suck, but it is so addicting and fun. Plus, it is probably the first FPS ever made. WITHOUT DOOM, THERE WOULD BE NO COD! NO BATTLEFIELD OR HALO, OR WHATEVER YOU LIKE THESE DAYS!!!! Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Why is the score around 80? This absolute CLASSIC deserves nothing less than a 10/10. A gaming masterpiece, I will never forget this game. Once you get started, you barely notice how old this game is!
  3. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    Great lighting, great maps - not linear at all!
    And the best part, easy to mod!
    I recommend you buy it! And throw your copy of COD/Halo/Doom 3 out the window so hard, it kills the cat it hits!
  4. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    It's like a Paul Verhoeven version of Aliens with Lovecraftian elements and inspired by thrash metal.

    YOU ARE HUGE. THAT MEANS YOU HAVE HUGE GUTS. RIP AND TEAR.
  5. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    Doom didn't invent the First Person Shooter but it defined it and it's legacy lives on to this day. You therefore have to review this watershed game from two perspectives: what it was like playing it when it was originally released and how it holds up today. 20 years ago Doom was revolutionary. The (sort of) 3D graphics and level design were like nothing we'd ever seen before, weapons wereDoom didn't invent the First Person Shooter but it defined it and it's legacy lives on to this day. You therefore have to review this watershed game from two perspectives: what it was like playing it when it was originally released and how it holds up today. 20 years ago Doom was revolutionary. The (sort of) 3D graphics and level design were like nothing we'd ever seen before, weapons were varied and kickass, the sound design was rock solid and the multiplayer was a revelation. It was also one of the first games that truly had a distinct "atmosphere". It was scary, nailbiting and just plain eerie. For the first time I felt truly immersed in the world of the game. This wasn't just a fun way to kill a few hours, Doom was an experience. But how does it hold up? I can't speak for younger gamers who are playing it for the first time but I still think Doom is a blast to play. I love all of the things modern shooters have brought to the fray both in terms of graphics and gameplay but sometimes I want to just mindlessly strafe through a horde of demons with a shotgun. No stealth, no jumping and rolling, no cover system, no crosshair --- just plain old run-and-gun. People still watch Casablanca and Gone with the Wind after 70 years, why shouldn't people play Doom after 20? It's a classic. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Carmacks and Romeros masterpiece. Ahead of its time. The very first series that got me into First person shooters. It is simple & fun. If the world would go under and someone would ask me what game would i choose to have with me this would be the answer. Midi music from godlike bands like Metallica, Pantera, Slayer, AC/DC and many more just made you addicted. I dont care that people sayCarmacks and Romeros masterpiece. Ahead of its time. The very first series that got me into First person shooters. It is simple & fun. If the world would go under and someone would ask me what game would i choose to have with me this would be the answer. Midi music from godlike bands like Metallica, Pantera, Slayer, AC/DC and many more just made you addicted. I dont care that people say Catacombs or Wolfenstein put shooters into the map. In my eyes this will always be the revolutionary fps game of all time. Expand
  7. Nov 30, 2014
    10
    I use Z Doom that allows you to run the old WAD file games on a modern PC and O/S and even in 2014 I still play using Z Doom The Ultimate Doom, Doom 2: Hell on Earth, Final Doom: Plutonia Experiment & Final Doom: TNT - Evilution. I do play Doom 3 but for me Doom 1 and the other games in the series that I have mentioned in this post are the best, so I would recommend Doom 1 on the XBox 360I use Z Doom that allows you to run the old WAD file games on a modern PC and O/S and even in 2014 I still play using Z Doom The Ultimate Doom, Doom 2: Hell on Earth, Final Doom: Plutonia Experiment & Final Doom: TNT - Evilution. I do play Doom 3 but for me Doom 1 and the other games in the series that I have mentioned in this post are the best, so I would recommend Doom 1 on the XBox 360 for anyone who likes these type of games and maybe you will see why even today I still play the Doom games via Z Doom. Expand
  8. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    Doom is one of best X-box arcade games it has that classic feel of the original its a classic and if you haven't got it yet I highly recommend it. well it has some problems like the first time I downloaded it was lagging but I think that it was my x-box and some times it freezes
  9. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    I remember playing this the week it came out. It blew everyone's minds. Granted it was running on a beefed up version of Wolfenstein's engine, but Doom made it f**king awesome!

    Even though it is graphically dated, it is still fun to play to this day. Is there anything more satisfying than ripping through an army of Imps with your shotgun and Chainsaw. Evil Dead: This is the video
    I remember playing this the week it came out. It blew everyone's minds. Granted it was running on a beefed up version of Wolfenstein's engine, but Doom made it f**king awesome!

    Even though it is graphically dated, it is still fun to play to this day. Is there anything more satisfying than ripping through an army of Imps with your shotgun and Chainsaw.

    Evil Dead: This is the video game you were supposed to make!!!!!!

    Overall:
    A legendary game that gave birth to the modern FPS genre.
    Expand
  10. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Dated but still awesome for only 400 MSP get it and it now has multiplayer and co-op split-screen and xbox live as well and all the original episodes are still here updated graphics, achievements and all the modern polishings
  11. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    The father of the " FPS " genre, classic gun and running experience packed with a decent multiplayer . Old school FPS fan might want to play this tittle.
  12. Feb 5, 2015
    8
    The best port of a classic game. It doesn't support KB&M and obviously no mod support, but that's all that's holding back this excellent port. The only better way to play it is using a source port on PC. If you play one FPS in your life, make it DOOM.
  13. Mar 2, 2013
    8
    I never played doom 1 before it came with doom 3, so I never knew what all the rage is about. I didn't realize I would have so much fun playing it. It was more fun than a lot of the modern games out nowadays. The shooting and hit detection was spot on and the shotgun so satisfying. The game was both challenging and fun to find secrets and get to the exit.
  14. May 30, 2013
    8
    This here is the of all FPS's. This is a great game and is definitely worth the 5-10 dollars you spend paying for this game. Not a whole lot of diversity besides shooting, but who cares, it's so satisfying to shoot everything.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Jan 20, 2012
    90
    Doom remained young at heart. (...) Doom´s speed, the simple but highly energetic movement, its wicked and labyrinthine levels are something that no Call of Duty, no Halo, no Killzone, not even a RAGE can offer.
  2. This Xbox 360 version of the game stays mostly faithful to the original, and it holds up well after all these years.
  3. At the time this was released, it blew people's minds and nearly everyone played it. The innovation doesn't hold a candle to today's games, but it carries over nicely as an Arcade title.