Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Mar 7, 2012
    90
    Happy Action Theater is more of a gadget or a tech demo than a game. But it's a great example of what the Kinect can do.
  2. Feb 13, 2012
    90
    My daughter played Happy Action Theater for about three hours when we first downloaded it. We had to drag her away. She shows it off to her friends, who are equally enchanted by it. She now asks to play it after school rather than watch TV.
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    90
    Double Fine Happy Action Theater fully succeeds in offering us a "foolishly entertaining" gaming experience, something we could associate to the video gaming equivalent of a kids playground. Perfect for both playing with children and as a party warmer.
  4. Feb 4, 2012
    88
    It's a fantastic little title for children of all ages, and to be honest, I probably had more fun than I should have, as I was climbing up on my furniture to avoid the lava and jumping into the ball pit that appeared in my living room. Why? It was fun and I felt compelled to see what happens.
  5. Feb 21, 2012
    85
    In the end, the only reason to not pick up Happy Action Theater is if you absolutely hate having fun. It's a brilliant little digital toy that will suck up a surprising amount of time. At 800 MSP ($10 USD), it's not going to break the bank, and if you happen to be a parent with little kids, it may be the best investment you make this year.
  6. Feb 6, 2012
    85
    But I don't want to detract from what is here – Double Fine is hands-down the most innovative development studio in gaming, and Double Fine Happy Action Theater is a truly fantastic example of what can be achieved when you combine an amazing group of people with an amazing piece of technology.
  7. Apr 2, 2012
    83
    If you opt to try it out, beware that this is the sort of thing you really do need to play with others. Playing is fun, watching others play is fun – but flailing through a bunch of Kinect minigames alone in a darkened apartment is not the Happy Action way.
  8. Mar 21, 2012
    83
    No one in view of the Kinect sensor is safe from the fun that Happy Action Theater brings – at 800 MS credits, it's well worth it for anyone who has kids or entertains guests. In fact, I'd recommend MS bundle this with every new Kinect – this is a simple-yet-effective use of getting some unexpected fun from your 360.
  9. 80
    An excellent kid's game with oceans of entertainment.
  10. Feb 27, 2012
    80
    Double Fine Happy Action Theater ist an interesting Kinect toy – yes, it's more of a toy than a game – for young kids. If you aren't a kid and don't have any, skip it, you won't find enough tangible rules or goals. Kids will love just that, though – no patronization, just using their imagination.
  11. Feb 24, 2012
    80
    Happy Action Theatre is not so much a videogame as it is a virtual toy. Like the LEGOs in the basement, it can be taken out at any time... For all you parents out there this is simply a must-have.
  12. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    A ton of fun, but if you're the kind of gamer who craves action, excitement, and a plot to keep you coming back for more, this isn't for you. Rather, this was made for gamers with kids around the house, or players who have a living room that frequently hosts friend-filled parties.
  13. Feb 1, 2012
    80
    Happy Action Theater is a great game for children with plenty of variety in almost every activity – each being different and exciting both visually and interactively. Although the entirety of the game can literally be seen in an hour or two, young gamers are sure to want to revisit their favorite version of their transformed room again and again, and at 800 Microsoft Points ($10), it's well worth it.
  14. 80
    Not every activity enthralls, and it's a brief overall affair with little incentive for repeated solo-play once you complete a couple of cycles. But Happy Action Theater is an absolute powder keg of a party experience, instilling childlike delight in nearly anyone that crosses its path while proving imaginative minds can still make inspired use of Kinect.
  15. Feb 1, 2012
    80
    A fun collection of playful diversions well worth the moderate asking price.
  16. Feb 15, 2012
    75
    Happy Action Theater is a unique product, which exploits the features of Kinect and manages to recreate onscreen situations that all of us as children, at least once, we have dreamed or imagined living.
  17. Apr 3, 2012
    70
    Happy Action Theater is not really a game. It is however an impressive demo that shows what Kinect is able to do. It's fun to see yourself on the screen, instead of a small avatar. Unfortunately, developer Double Fine hasn't fully used Kinect's camera. It just isn't enough.
  18. Feb 17, 2012
    70
    A nice experiment with some genuinely fun moments, and a great showcase for what Kinect can accomplish, but unless you have young kids or like to play with simple toys, Happy Action Theater won't do much for you.
  19. Feb 3, 2012
    70
    Double Fine Happy Action Theater's imaginative scenarios make for unstructured, lighthearted fun.
  20. Feb 2, 2012
    70
    None of the activities are particularly inventive, but I also wouldn't go so far to say they're boring, either. Enough of them are interesting that you probably won't regret buying Happy Action Theater for yourself. On the other hand, it should prove to be sufficiently engaging for kids (and kid-like adults, particularly when alcohol is in the room).
  21. May 21, 2012
    69
    More of an interactive demo than a game, it will hold your attention for about the same amount of time as a short demo will.
  22. Feb 17, 2012
    67
    Double Fine's Happy Action Theater isn't a great "game", but it is the best tech demo and use of Microsoft's Kinect peripheral to date. There is a simplistic joy to be found in this title and you really get out of it what you put into it. There is no purpose, no goal(s), and no real requirements to succeed. Players simply interact with a variety of environments and have a ton of fun. It may not sound like much, but it works, and the manner in which it does is almost like magic.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    Awesome fun for kids but parents & family as well. My three year old daughter can´t get enough of this game! A must-have for Kinect owners in my opinion. Almost all the minigames are fun and entertaining. The price is fair too. Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2013
    1
    I don't know what I am thinking when purchasing this game on xbox market. what a stupid and lame 'game'. kick balloons, throw lava, take photos. I am not a 5 years old, so if you are not/ have no children avoid this 'game' at all cost. Full Review »
  3. Mar 18, 2012
    6
    Had a little fun with. 2-player mode is incredibly enjoyable: throw lava at each other, feed the birds, dance, jump, crush etc. We were running from one side of the room to another like kids and had a great time. Things changed when another 2 friends signed in... More than 2 players cannot interact! We tried many times to grab some lava and throw it, but only two players were actually "playing". The other two were unable to do anything. Sadly underdeveloped. Oh well. Still, it has some good little ideas. Full Review »