Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A collection of Kinect-based mini-games.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Mar 7, 2012
    90
    Happy Action Theater is more of a gadget or a tech demo than a game. But it's a great example of what the Kinect can do.
  2. Jan 31, 2012
    90
    Double Fine Happy Action Theater fully succeeds in offering us a "foolishly entertaining" gaming experience, something we could associate to the video gaming equivalent of a kids playground. Perfect for both playing with children and as a party warmer.
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    85
    In the end, the only reason to not pick up Happy Action Theater is if you absolutely hate having fun. It's a brilliant little digital toy that will suck up a surprising amount of time. At 800 MSP ($10 USD), it's not going to break the bank, and if you happen to be a parent with little kids, it may be the best investment you make this year.
  4. 80
    Not every activity enthralls, and it's a brief overall affair with little incentive for repeated solo-play once you complete a couple of cycles. But Happy Action Theater is an absolute powder keg of a party experience, instilling childlike delight in nearly anyone that crosses its path while proving imaginative minds can still make inspired use of Kinect.
  5. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    A ton of fun, but if you're the kind of gamer who craves action, excitement, and a plot to keep you coming back for more, this isn't for you. Rather, this was made for gamers with kids around the house, or players who have a living room that frequently hosts friend-filled parties.
  6. Feb 15, 2012
    75
    Happy Action Theater is a unique product, which exploits the features of Kinect and manages to recreate onscreen situations that all of us as children, at least once, we have dreamed or imagined living.
  7. Feb 17, 2012
    67
    Double Fine's Happy Action Theater isn't a great "game", but it is the best tech demo and use of Microsoft's Kinect peripheral to date. There is a simplistic joy to be found in this title and you really get out of it what you put into it. There is no purpose, no goal(s), and no real requirements to succeed. Players simply interact with a variety of environments and have a ton of fun. It may not sound like much, but it works, and the manner in which it does is almost like magic.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    My kids 7 and 9 love this game. They just can't get enough of it. But, what I really like are the reactions we had from adults the other night when we had a dinner party. I turned on Happy Action Theater and just let it run in the background. It wasn't long before the entire party moved from the kitchen to the living room and everyone was laughing out loud and having fun. This is an amzaing party game in a deceptively simple and playful wrapper. A must have for every Kinect owner! Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    A great title, Double Fine Happy Action Theater is a fantastic game with much funny mini games, one of the best Kinect games, is funny, colorful, with a great control, a classic. Expand
  3. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    Agree with the broader comments - light-hearted, lot of laughing from my 5 & 7 year olds. Asking for it repeatedly. Typical Double Fine quality (high) Expand
  4. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    Awesome fun for kids but parents & family as well. My three year old daughter can´t get enough of this game! A must-have for Kinect owners in my opinion. Almost all the minigames are fun and entertaining. The price is fair too. Expand
  5. Feb 4, 2012
    7
    I'm typically very stingy when spending my MS points (that I earn through bing.com anyway), but my five- and two-year-old loved the demo so much I gave in and bought the game at full price (800 pts), rather than wait for it to go on sale. I'd feel far better about spending 400 points on a title like this because it's a little thin on content -- I think eventually the kids are going to get tired of the few games that are really fun (particularly the ones that flood the room with lava, snow, or birds). That said, the minigames they like are SO popular and interactive it made the purchase worth it to me. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2012
    6
    Had a little fun with. 2-player mode is incredibly enjoyable: throw lava at each other, feed the birds, dance, jump, crush etc. We were running from one side of the room to another like kids and had a great time. Things changed when another 2 friends signed in... More than 2 players cannot interact! We tried many times to grab some lava and throw it, but only two players were actually "playing". The other two were unable to do anything. Sadly underdeveloped. Oh well. Still, it has some good little ideas. Collapse
  7. May 10, 2013
    1
    I don't know what I am thinking when purchasing this game on xbox market. what a stupid and lame 'game'. kick balloons, throw lava, take photos. I am not a 5 years old, so if you are not/ have no children avoid this 'game' at all cost. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews