Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 299 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A legend is born in this open-world adventure. Assume the role of the Arisen, a legendary hero in a land haunted by a feared, omnipotent dragon. As you fight to protect your homeland, you will pick up companions, make enemies, and find yourself embroiled in an even deeper mystery.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 59
  2. Negative: 1 out of 59
  1. May 22, 2012
    90
    Dragon's Dogma is a marvelous game that fills you with the joy of exploring and unknown world filled with danger and adventure. It pulls you in and forces you to stay.
  2. May 21, 2012
    85
    It may not be saying much but Dragon's Dogma is the ballsiest, most ambitious thing Capcom has attempted in years.
  3. Aug 3, 2012
    80
    A unique hybrid between japanese and western rpg's featuring extensive customisation options, fun fights and indirect but rewarding ways to help (and be helped by) other players.
  4. May 31, 2012
    78
    The hardcore RPG players that will take their time with the game, and play it how the developers intended, will have a fantastic time with Dragon's Dogma. Impatient players and casual fans will, more than likely, need to steer clear of this hardcore game
  5. May 28, 2012
    75
    Brand-new Capcom's IP, Dragon's Dogma is a kind of super Monster Hunter in a Medieval-Fantasy world. Grounded on titanic fights, this game works very well on this specific point. With its open world and its large landscapes, Dragon's Dogma seems to be a great adventure. It's true in a way, but some problems prevent it to be a brilliant game. Especially technicals flaws and the poor pawn's AI.
  6. May 25, 2012
    70
    A decent effort at a difficult genre. More polish and more charm would have improved Dragon's Dogma enormously, but it's still worth a trip for genre fans.
  7. May 21, 2012
    40
    Any brief flickers of fun I came across were consistently extinguished by the game's oppressive flaws.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 107
  2. Negative: 12 out of 107
  1. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    This game is a masterpiece you have to admit the rare feature's in this game.Personaly I like it way better then skyrim the whole game was Amazing you must try it.They currently made a new Dragon dogma dark arisen I hated they new one its the same thing until you beat it all over again then at end theres Expansion,but I though the original was way better.

    [This is a must buy Massive Open world]

    M9ki.
    Expand
  2. May 29, 2012
    10
    Hey guys how's it going,just trying to be as real as possible with you,I played skyrim and gave that game a 10,I've been playing dragons dogma for about 40 hours,and I've already en like it better than skyrim.
    So it's only fair for this game to get that kinda score.Don't believe the hype,or the fanboys, play the game for yourself and decided.
    Expand
  3. May 30, 2012
    10
    Terrific game! Just as good as any other of the RPGs out on the market if not better. Granted it has its nitpicking flaws (what other game doesn't have a single flaw?), but they are minor and are easily over looked. The combat in the game is the most original I have seen and I feel as though I am literally on an adventure, fighting for mine and my pawns lives and I love it! Play the demo if you are unsure about this game, otherwise pick this game up, it's worth it. Also don't let day one DLC or downloadable content already on the disc sway you. All DLC has been extremely minute and you don't miss out on any of the experience from the game. Collapse
  4. Jun 18, 2012
    9
    thisss game rite here is fun, so fun i will type it down for you, i spend 40 hours before i started main quest, i play as wizard, whn i got that tornado i had so fun boooyha, sweet jesus but boy, this game could have been so much better if them gredy capcoms didnt clutter the game with dlc, this could ve been my next dark souls but no. they had to ruin it, boy mmm good stuf Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2012
    9
    Great game built with tradition RPG values and mechanics with an innovative class and party system. Challenging yet rewarding and flows brilliantly. Combat is fluid and does have a slight learning curve. Only negative for me, after a 8-10hrs and 28levels new equipment seems to be a little sparse, though I could have just missed something - There is no hand holding in this game to ensure you find everything. Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2012
    8
    Dragon's Dogma is a great beginning for a new franchise, while still having a few flaws this game is a lot of fun. This action rpg is about going on adventures, collecting equipment and materials, slaying monsters and dragons, and finding out what it is to be an arisen. Story: The story tries to bring you in but soon kind of fades into the back ground due it not coming back in until about 10 hours into the game and doesn't really climax until the end (there are some stand out missions on the way to the end though). It should be said there is a NG+ mode that works with the story and also the game does not end where you expect it to, the game continues on into the real story after the credits. The real story after the main credits is also a pretty big shock and done well. Gameplay: This is where the game will either draw you in and keep you playing for hours on hours or make you want to not pick the game up at all. The Combat is a button-masher/hack and slash that has good animations and a feel of impact when you hit your enemy, such as when fighting a armored cyclops when you hit its armor pieces you feel the impact of not piercing the armor or when you hit its eye you know your doing damage. Speaking of cyclops, this game has the best big boss enemy fights I've ever seen in a game. The fights with the big boss monsters are a bit far and few in between but when you seen one your in for a fun fight. Fighting each boss monster has its own strategy for taking them down such as hitting the cyclops in the eye by climbing up there or fighting a griffon by shooting it with fire to bring it down to the ground for your pawns to wail on it there. Pawns are also a vital part of the game, which they are the arisen's servants that help you fight. You make your on pawn, customizing it as much as your main character, and also hire 2 other pawns which can be other players pawns. The pawns are a bit strange since they have a system in place to make them learn organically, such as knowing what to do for a quest or how to kill a monster, but the system is a bit simplistic so they tend to repeat themselves a Lot.
    Exploring the world is very fun since the world does not scale to you, so you can easily run into enemies that are much more powerful than you. This is even more so at night because more stronger enemies come out at night and it is pitch black at night so bring a lantern. While exploring is fun, it can get old due to the lack of fast travel and repeatingly going to the same places over and over again. There is a fast travel system but it is limited and cost some coin to do so and really isnt used to its full extent until NG+, so keep in mind you will be doing a lot of walking on your adventures. Leveling takes a few notes from jrpgs since the game uses a job system instead of a class system, meaning you can swap at any time. The jobs are your standard classes you would expect in a western rpg with in addition to the base 3 there are 3 advance classes and 3 hybrid classes, with hybrids being the most unique and only being available to the arisen. The classes also have their own equipment they can equip so as warriors being the only ones that can equip 2-handed swords, so there is a lot of equipment in the game which makes the customization pretty high. On top of the equipment and jobs for customization options, this game has the best character customization in any game yet, want to play as a short fat guy or a tall skinny woman or anything in between? this game lets you do it. Sound: The music is pretty good including the cheesy j-pop song on the menu. Sounds from combat have weight and give a good sense of impact. Pawns talking on the other hand will either be charming and funny or just annoying. Mics:
    It should be noted you only get one save file per saving device, this is done because of the pawns system. I would recommend installing the game to the hdd to help improve the graphics since there is some screen tearing and a Lot of pop-ins. There is also On-disc dlc available, while I think it is a BS business tactic, the dlc is not in anyway needed, in fact its almost all worthless.

    So in conclusion, Dragon's Dogma is a fantastic game with a few flaws that keep it from standing head and shoulders above the other games. Its lack of a proper fast travel keeps the pace of this game slow but still having the feeling of adventure that will either draw players in or keep them out, which is a bit sad since i think they could have easily made the fast travel system more accessible by doing what they did in NG+ from the start. This game is great to easily jump into when you have time to play but it demands your time to see it through to the end..
    Expand
  7. May 25, 2012
    0
    no true coop...i'm sure i'm not alone when i say this game could've sold TONS upon TONS more had it of been 4 player true coop multiplayer. soooo disappointed in this, this looked like the perfect merge of monster hunter/dark souls/skyrim with the cool stylized looks and characters you see in resident evil and devil may cry. considering cashcom is all about the cash these days and not their fans, i wonder why they didn't go the multiplayer route...it has and i know it, slashed their sales for this game in a huge way. Expand

See all 107 User Reviews