Metascore
41

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 18
  2. Negative: 11 out of 18
  1. May 22, 2012
    62
    The game will be delightfully nostalgic to gamers of old, and should be tried by anyone who is too young to remember it. It's an important part of gaming history, one that will make a fine addition to your Xbox LIVE Arcade game collection.
  2. May 29, 2012
    50
    When it comes to re-releases of classic games, the most important aspect is ensuring that the original experience is preserved. While Dragon's Lair gets it mostly right, the sloppy Kinect controls and odd issues with the UI make it feel rushed. At 800 MSP ($10 USD), it's not the most expensive purchase, but it's also not a definitive version of the game. There are better ports out there
  3. Games Master UK
    Jun 25, 2012
    62
    Even Kinect can't rescue it. [Aug 2012, p.77]
  4. Jun 8, 2012
    50
    Nostalgia is the sole reason I can fathom someone would want Dragon's Lair at this point and, admittedly, the Xbox Live Arcade version is as solid as a HD release as either the iOS or PSN release. Regardless, Dragon's Lair is a quest best remembered in kind aged memories rather than on your Xbox 360.
  5. Jun 28, 2012
    60
    Yet another release of the classic Dragonʼs Lair game. This version remains as charming as ever for older gamers, but it is highly unlikely that it can attract new crowd.
  6. Jun 8, 2012
    65
    Dragon's Lair retains its charm, and it's in no way a bad game, but unnecessary Kinect controls make it a hard sell to someone like myself who's already bought the game a dozen times for multiple platforms.
  7. May 31, 2012
    50
    Dragon's Lair is a heralded classic that, in some forms, still stands the test of time, but Digital Leisure kind of flubbed this version by overpricing it at ten bucks and trying to make it "new tech" by adding useless Kinect controls.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    Dragon's Lair is a classic game of the 80s, which was played in Arcades, is actually an interactive cartoon, where the objective is to controlDragon's Lair is a classic game of the 80s, which was played in Arcades, is actually an interactive cartoon, where the objective is to control the protagonist, a knight named Dirk through various scenarios for the final attempt to rescue Princess Daphne. It was a great success at the time (83) and was known for its difficulty, which is transmitted to the Xbox 360 - the difference is that here, instead of getting lost countless arcade tokens, here you can play until the end. The graphics are the ones of an animation of the time (actually a former Disney animator made â Full Review »
  2. May 22, 2012
    8
    Dragon's Lair is a forever classic, i recomend for the new and old school gamers! The only bad point is the very short time to finish theDragon's Lair is a forever classic, i recomend for the new and old school gamers! The only bad point is the very short time to finish the history, but is great. Dirky is so nice on the Xbox 360, enjoy! Full Review »
  3. Aug 29, 2017
    5
    A really frustrating game, i found myself ripping my hair out when i died at the same spot numerous times. I know this is an old arcade game,A really frustrating game, i found myself ripping my hair out when i died at the same spot numerous times. I know this is an old arcade game, so i will take that into accounting. I took me half an hour to play through the game, but many have spent a whole hour on it, but i just wanted to finish the thing. I could see this game me much better if there where some nostalgia involved, but not in my case.
    The controls where also extremely confusing at times.
    Full Review »