User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 6 out of 14

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 6, 2012
    8
    Dragon's Lair is a classic game of the 80s, which was played in Arcades, is actually an interactive cartoon, where the objective is to control the protagonist, a knight named Dirk through various scenarios for the final attempt to rescue Princess Daphne. It was a great success at the time (83) and was known for its difficulty, which is transmitted to the Xbox 360 - the difference is that here, instead of getting lost countless arcade tokens, here you can play until the end. The graphics are the ones of an animation of the time (actually a former Disney animator made â Collapse
  2. May 22, 2012
    8
    Dragon's Lair is a forever classic, i recomend for the new and old school gamers! The only bad point is the very short time to finish the history, but is great. Dirky is so nice on the Xbox 360, enjoy!
  3. Feb 7, 2013
    3
    Dragon's Lair's game play was designed back in the days when computer graphics were in their infancy. What it did was give you the only way to have stunning graphics, by hand drawing them out as a cartoon. This left no "free choice" for the game players' movement, but instead relied on timed joystick movement or pushing a single button. If successful in your timing the cut-scenes would play out in a semi- continuous way until the end of the story. When I was growing up, I was always fascinated by this arcade game; however, after dropping in $1.00 and only having thirty seconds of game play, I left it mostly alone, wondering what type of storyline would unfold but forever out of my reach. Well, after just purchasing this game online, I've gone through the whole story and, considering how games have evolved todays, I was left very unimpressed. The cutscenes are poorly edited together, the flashing signals used in front of you, sort of blend into the background leaving you to have to view the game using your peripheral vision instead of enjoying the animated art work, the sound system and music is poor, the same scenes get played over repetitiously but in a opposite view to make you think you are advancing to a different part of the dungeon (Maybe this is were Dragon Age II received its inspiration from?) and in the end, the game is just extremely short. I finished it in less than twenty minutes. The only good thing about it is that I can now feel good about myself from avoiding putting more coins into this arcade when I was a kid. I probably saved myself $40 worth. Expand
  4. Jul 3, 2012
    6
    Worth it for the nostalgia. I never got very far on this game when it was out in the arcade - didn't have that many quarters! Came across it while perusing the XBOX arcade games with my 6 year old and after playing the trial decided to buy and try to finish it. Love the animation style of Bluth & Co. and it definitely brings back the 80's feel. I didn't realize how often they reused the same animation, many of the sequences are just reversed versions of the animation. We finished the game after a couple of sessions and I was happy to finally know the ending. My 6 year old did enjoy some of the creepier animations and it's definitely something he doesn't see on Nick/Disney today. As for the controls, at first it was a bit difficult but once you start to memorize the sequences and get used to the quick button timing things were fine. I could see someone getting frustrated if they kept getting stuck in a sequence. I was glad to see this game on the XBOX. Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2014
    0
    I just threw away $10. I know that is not a lot, but I usually don't just drop a tenner into the waste basket. There is not enough time to complete the desired actions, sometimes the arrows blend in the background, and sometimes even if I did do the action in time, it didn't matter. God I'm irritated.
  6. Jun 6, 2012
    0
    Dragon's Lair is a classic game of the 80s, which was played in Arcades, is actually an interactive cartoon, where the objective is to control the protagonist, a knight named Dirk through various scenarios for the final attempt to rescue Princess Daphne. It was a great success at the time (83) and was known for its difficulty, which is transmitted to the Xbox 360 - the difference is that here, instead of getting lost countless arcade tokens, here you can play until the end. The graphics are the ones of an animation of the time (actually a former Disney animator made â Collapse
Metascore
41

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 18
  2. Negative: 11 out of 18
  1. 10
    Why punish yourself? [Sept 2012, p.105]
  2. Jul 26, 2012
    40
    Though you might think Kinect would be the perfect fit for its staccato gameplay, it ultimately makes things even more frustrating. [Issue#87, p.87]
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    30
    Dragon's Lair is not the game you're looking for on Xbox Live. The controls don't work well and you don't need a lot of time to beat the entire game. So leave your sword where it is, because Dragon's Lair doesn't ever make you feel like a knight.