User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 42
  2. Negative: 11 out of 42

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    I'm a huge fan of Trendy Entertainment's criminally underrated Tower Defence/RPG mash-up, Dungeon Defenders. It is pretty good on iOS devices, but it truly shines on 360 (and PS3). Gorgeous Unreal Engine 3 powered graphics, absurdly addictive levelling, and some properly entertaining co-op hack'n slashing all add up to one of my favourite new IP's of the year. But with it not *really* clicking with the iPad's buttonless interface, I was almost foaming at the mouth at the prospect of finally being able to play Dungeon Defenders on the go with the planned Playstation Vita port. However, that has now been canned, and I'm absolutely gutted. Seriously, I'm devastated. That's how much this fabulous little game has me hooked. It isn't perfect, far from it in fact, but I for one utterly adore it. If Trendy are listening, and if it is viable in any possible way, please, PLEASE bring this wonderful game to Vita. In fact, with it's dual screens, it'd work equally well - if not better - on Nintendo's 3DS. Either way, I need the definitive version of Dungeon Defenders in handheld form. Please, someone, anyone, make it so! Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    8
    When my cousin and I discovered this game, it became a lost weekend as we could not help but play it for as many hours as our bodies would allow us to stay awake for. It is a compelling form of tower defense, that has both action and strategy, with a heavy bonus of loot hoarding as well. All the way up through the game's final boss (before DLC), we enjoyed leveling our weapons, armor, pets, ect. The fun factor drops a heavy amount after a while, as we began to long for more character choices and game play options. The challenge levels were fun but most were either too simple or too difficult, never hitting a crucial balance. We started the DLC campaign but never finished and I wonder if we ever will. Expand
  3. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game! Easy to control, lots of variety to game play with the 4 characters. My only real complaint is if your soloing the game, 2 of the 4 characters are borderline unusable. A bit of a learning curve, but within an hour you shouldn't have any problem with it.
  4. Nov 13, 2011
    6
    Great game, but the modding is seriously out of hand..
    I probably won't play dungeon defenders again until they release new patches with new characters in it.
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    This game is surprisingly awesome for how cheap it is. It gives loads more content than some $65 games. I'm a pretty big fps fan, and I play Dungeon Defenders more than I play BF3. I've recently got all the achievements in the game and accomplishments, which I was rewarded for in game. I thought this was really cool, and I wish that more games would do this. Even after achieving everything in the game I keep playing it, it has a good bit of replay value. Which is always a huge plus. It is a must buy if your into RPGs or tower defenses, and especially if you're into both. One problem I've started to notice though is that people are starting to mod weapons and items, and I believe that they should have expected that and prepared for it. Some of us like to earn our gear, not be a child and just mod it. Overall this game is good, and loads of fun. Everyone should at least try the trial out, I mean it is free! Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2011
    8
    You can try this one as a demo for free and after an hour of fun with that I bought the full game and would of paid more than the $15 they charged. Very addicting and fun game that I've already recommended to a few friends. Now we all have a great time playing this one together.
  7. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Uno de los mejores juegos que eh jugado, realmente vale la pena. This is a good game guys!
    Tower Defense and nice Rpg, 10 for this game ;)
    In this game you will be play like 100 hours! 100% or more ofc
  8. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    Dungeon Defenders may spell the continued revival of a long stagnant Tower Defense genre. Like the beloved Plants vs Zombies, Dungeon Defenders gives us a unique take on Tower Defense. You pick your unique class, level up your characters, upgrade weapons and armor, and distribute points to specialize your character. You can either rely on your characters ability to fight, or your characters ability to build and maintain "towers", or you can go somewhere in between. The story is light and humorous, but falls into place well. Having beaten the game already, I walk away remembering several intense moments, heartache, and triumph. While the game is slightly lacking in content, it is important to remember this is a $15 download release. Furthermore, there have been balancing patches and also plans to add a full campaign expansion to the game sometime in November. This game is a must have for any avid Tower Defense player looking for another pleasant surprise in the genre. Expand
  9. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    this game is very fun i love playing with my friends building defenses picking up and upgrading our equipment. there are four classes which have unique towers
  10. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    WouldYouKindly.com: Dungeon Defenders is a great, unexpected pleasure that Iâ
  11. Oct 24, 2011
    0
    Uno de los mejores juegos que eh jugado, realmente vale la pena. This is a good game guys!
    Tower Defense and nice Rpg, 10 for this game ;)
    In this game you will be play like 100 hours! 100% or more ofc
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 80
    A blast for anyone who's spent a few too many hours on Tower Defense games or hunting that elusive piece of magical equipment with their friends.
  2. Jan 23, 2012
    78
    A difficult solo experience, but the fun increases with the number of players.
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    Dungeon Defenders is unlike any game you'll find on the market, and that is what makes it such a triumph. It's not without its few pitfalls, but it creates an enjoyable atmosphere that has yet to be replicated by other co-operative RPG experiences.