EA Sports MMA Xbox 360

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
Buy On
  1. Dec 19, 2010
    50
    EA Sports MMA isn't as intricate as the sport it represents; it never presents itself as an arcade-like representation, so it's hard to not notice that it is a lackluster effort within the simulation genre.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    Although it gets a lot right with a well-structured fighting system – which has a solid mix of subsystems to master – it doesn't have the same level of hardcore appeal as the current champion.
  3. Oct 22, 2010
    68
    EA Sports MMA is a good first step to build a new series, but it is nowhere near its competition.
  4. Oct 28, 2010
    70
    Some good ideas are spoiled by the complete absence of realism during the fight. Ground fights are well reproduced, but punches and kicks have no strength and no physical adherence to reality.
  5. Dec 19, 2010
    70
    EA seems like it wants to make this work and if this first shot is any indication of the future of the series, they have come to fight hardcore.
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    A great start to a promising new sports series. It does feel a little lightweight in some of the options but the central combat is handled very well.
  7. Jan 5, 2011
    70
    MMA has enough moments that are worthwhile. It's just too bad that EA hasn't learned from the strong and weak points of the competition. The controls aren't always working properly and the number of modes are a little on the thin side. However, true MMA-fans will be able to ignore these faults.
  8. Jan 26, 2011
    70
    This is a very well realised first attempt by EA and one that won't require much tweaking should there be any subsequent additions to the series.
  9. 70
    Great in places, horribly sparse in others.
  10. Oct 25, 2010
    60
    Can't really escape the headlock of its rival but a decent MMA game, all in all.
  11. Dec 15, 2010
    70
    In spite of speculation that EA MMA would be dead on arrival there's a very satisfactory entry here, one worthy of any fighting gamer's consideration and one EA would be remiss to abandon next year.
  12. Dec 15, 2010
    70
    Considering this is EA Sports first crack at an MMA game, the overall results are good.
  13. Oct 22, 2010
    70
    This game does most things right on the first attempt, and there's no significant quality difference between it and main rival UFC: Undisputed. This is a great choice if you want an MMA game that is accessible and rewarding.
  14. Dec 15, 2010
    71
    EA Sports have achieved moderate success with their first step into the MMA space providing a game that plays well and contains some promising features that give incentive to dedicated play, however it unfortunately falls short by failing to introduce the player to the game's complexities and missing core issues such as player disconnects cutting stat tracking short.
  15. Oct 21, 2010
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 29
  2. Negative: 10 out of 29
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. BEFORE I get into EA MMA I would like to lead in with a little insight as to where MY review comes from! I also have been an MMA Participant/Fan since the Beginning! I have Played everything from UFC on Dreamcast, Tapout 1 & 2 on XBOX, UFC Sudden Impact & PRIDE FC on PS2, Throwdown on Nintendo GameCube, UFC Undisputed 2009/2010 & NOW EA MMA on 360! That was Not meant to be a BragFest but rather a recap of Where My Opinions/Comparisons come from! The Original DreamCast UFC was, of course, the GroundBreaker that Started it all! UFC 2009, to me, was The BEST MMA game to Date! 2010 Seemed like a Rushed (to beat EA to release!) Cash grab and NOT Much More than a Roster Update with Few Real Notable changes. The Event Mode being the Most memorable & my personal Favorite. Now for EA MMA!: First off if they would have named it something like "EA Sports Presents MMA Featuring StrikeForce!" there Might be LESS complaints about "where are the UFC guys?"! Maybe! From the beginning I Too did Not give much chance for EA's MMA title. Like a Lot of Fellow gamers I fell into the "If it doesn't have the More Well Known UFC Fighters It will Probably Not be as Good!" category! I am GLAD to say I was Wrong there! There are So Many Exclusive fighters that are as good or Better than their UFC counterparts In there own respective weight classes! There are also Very Extensive Fighter Creation/Share tools (They are Far Superior to THQ UFC's current version!) that Offer NEAR Perfect UFC Clones! For those Longing for Dream matches like Brock Lesnar vs Fedor Emelianenko Here is the Place to get it! Well this is as Close as we can get for now at least! There are also other Various COOL Options to keep fights from getting stale. Venue Locations, Ring Types (Round, Boxing & Of Course Octagonal) Plus being able to set Rule types are a Nice and Refreshing change of pace! I haven't jumped into the Career mode so I can't comment on that Yet. I feel compelled to voice my concern and comment that ONLY EA can Tank (No. Not Paul Abbot!) its MMA Game at this point by Pulling the Online support like it has done with a Lot of its other Franchises! For MMA and just Fighting Game Fans alike EA Sports MMA is the BEST way to put a Digital BeatDown on/with your friends! I feel the Competition here Is a Good thing! Look at how Tekken, Soul Calibur & Street Fighter and Forza & Gran Turismo Push each other to improve! THQ and EA can continue to Pour quality features into their Games! In the end we win! Like Arcade Style Fighting, Racing Games etc... I have NO problem owning 2 MMA games. IF they are Both well made & are each worth having! My reviews tend to be scatterbrained! For that I apologize. My Main goal is to Help Fellow gamers that are fans of the Same genre be able to enjoy quality games! This Also put a BullsEye on me for tweens & Other ADHD FOOLS to Jab at MY Review Instead of My Online Fighter! Keep in mind witty review Blasters: My review does NOT Hit Back. I DO! Full Review »
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    Ok, got an advanced copy and here are my thoughts...Quite frankly, sets the standard with Striking in the MMA genre. Love the career modeOk, got an advanced copy and here are my thoughts...Quite frankly, sets the standard with Striking in the MMA genre. Love the career mode with different gyms and leagues around the world (really puts the world wide emphasis of the sport into it, and gives me some flashbacks into the martial arts lore of it all...ex. remember Bloodsport?). The submission system is different and a bit simplified compared to UFC, but I'm getting use to not frantically mashing, etc. on the controller. Love the potential of the live broadcast feature too! I really hope EA gets the UFC license in the future...DANA, FORGET THE PAST, EA KNOWS SPORTS GAMES AND WILL GIVE THE UFC IT'S PROPER VIRTUAL EXPERIENCE! Full Review »
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    Great game all around and I believe this game is a great base for EA to keep pumping out future MMA games from here on out. The Career,Great game all around and I believe this game is a great base for EA to keep pumping out future MMA games from here on out. The Career, Online, Presentation, and flow of the game blow UFC Undisputed of of the water giving it great replay value, something Undisputed 2010 clearly lacked. Great job EA! Full Review »