Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    EA Sports MMA wrestles away the belt from the reigning champ with its stellar combat that feels much closer to the genuine article than what we've seen elsewhere.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    75
    Intuitive controls, a lengthy career mode, and impressive online options make this mixed martial arts game a serious contender.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    50
    EA Sports MMA isn't as intricate as the sport it represents; it never presents itself as an arcade-like representation, so it's hard to not notice that it is a lackluster effort within the simulation genre.
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    82
    But no matter what the future holds, EA Sports MMA is a title that MMA fans should appreciate, and is a refreshing take on the MMA genre.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    85
    Despite these issues, EA Sports MMA is still a powerful brawler, and another year or two in the gym should turn it into a true monster.
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    Although it gets a lot right with a well-structured fighting system – which has a solid mix of subsystems to master – it doesn't have the same level of hardcore appeal as the current champion.
  7. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    EA Sports MMA isn't perfect, the lack of UFC fighters is a huge gaping hole that is impossible to ignore and the number of special moves available are fairly slim. Those problems are overshadowed by smooth animations, intuitive controls, and incredibly dynamic online features.
  8. Dec 15, 2010
    75
    The career mode is excellent, and the overall presentation is well done. The fighting engine is solid, though there are a few odd mechanical choices in play, and the career mode is very deep and time-consuming in a good way.
  9. Dec 19, 2010
    83
    While EA Sports MMA won't be an instant success due to the overwhelming popularity of the UFC name brand, I can honestly say that EA has made a more accurate and solid version of the shoot fighting sport than THQ.
  10. Dec 19, 2010
    83
    If you want to be your favorite fighter and have a fight night at home with some buddies, you're probably better off looking to UFC. If you want a game that controls better, presents the sport in a more favorable light, and really handles the intricacies and spirit of MMA, EA Sports has you covered.
  11. Dec 15, 2010
    79
    Excellent on the ground, easy to learn and the online features are extensive. [Issue#232, p.70]
  12. Jan 7, 2011
    78
    A really good start for a new franchise, which is only flawed by the lack of many UFC fighters and a few hic ups.
  13. Dec 15, 2010
    90
    While it might not have the UFC stars that bring some fans to the table, any dedicated fan of mixed martial arts should take a look at EA SPORTS MMA to see the face of the future.
  14. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    A great package overall and especially for long time MMA fans. There are some minor sticking points in the controls and some will miss their favorite UFC fighters, but if you want a fuller experience of what mixed martial arts is coupled with superior online modes, you can't do better than EA MMA.
  15. Oct 22, 2010
    68
    EA Sports MMA is a good first step to build a new series, but it is nowhere near its competition.
  16. Dec 15, 2010
    85
    In the end, EA Sports MMA is a fantastic foundation for the series, and delivers a very fun experience overall. However, it suffers from some robotic animations that cripple the intensity of the fights.
  17. Oct 20, 2010
    91
    It's great to see some real competition for THQ in this genre and MMA fans shouldn't hesitate to pick this one up.
  18. 90
    EA Sports MMA's universal accessibility - especially its fast-paced career progression and one-button-based grappling - is an impressive improvement over UFC Undisputed's dense amount of complexity. Both games are great, but EA Sports MMA is, indisputably, the best brawler of its kind.
  19. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    EA Sports MMA is a definite contender in the arena of mixed martial arts videogames. Once you grasp the control scheme everything becomes much more fun, and you really begin to appreciate what the developers have accomplished.
  20. Jan 20, 2011
    90
    A veritable knock-out. [Issue#102, p.100]
  21. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    While MMA might be the better game compared to UFC Undisputed 2010, it would be folly to ignore the void left by the lack of the UFC license. The Strikeforce league might be increasing in popularity, much like the sport in general, but it barely commands the weight of the Ultimate Fighting Championship. Its branding is sorely missed, alongside Joe Rogan's and Mike Goldberg's industry-leading commentaries.
  22. Oct 20, 2010
    86
    EA Sports MMA is a great title that every Mixed Martial Arts aficionado should have. The attention to detail is top notch, with fighters that behave mostly like their real counterparts in a fight and a well-crafted career mode. Despite frequent and long loading times and a somewhat unbalanced difficulty curve EA devs definitely know their stuff when making sports games, and this is further proof of their ability.
  23. Jan 20, 2011
    85
    EA Sports MMA brings a nice package to the ring.
  24. Dec 19, 2010
    70
    EA seems like it wants to make this work and if this first shot is any indication of the future of the series, they have come to fight hardcore.
  25. Jan 26, 2011
    70
    This is a very well realised first attempt by EA and one that won't require much tweaking should there be any subsequent additions to the series.
  26. Oct 28, 2010
    70
    Some good ideas are spoiled by the complete absence of realism during the fight. Ground fights are well reproduced, but punches and kicks have no strength and no physical adherence to reality.
  27. Oct 20, 2010
    85
    Everybody who is looking for a real challenging fighting game will find it with MMA.
  28. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    Even without the UFC license, EA Sports MMA still manages to offer a polished, engaging and 'different' MMA experience that is likely to satisfy fans of the sport.
  29. Oct 22, 2010
    75
    EA Sports MMA certainly is based on a good foundation but Electronic Arts will need some more time to optimize the formula. Add another year of practice and UFC Undisputed will need to watch its championship belt.
  30. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Finally EA MMA walks on the ring to fight against it's rival, UFC Undisputed. The game is really good but the lack of the UFC license is a huge limitation for the most hardcore fighting fans. Anyway, the game is smooth and based on a simple but deep command system.
  31. Jan 5, 2011
    70
    MMA has enough moments that are worthwhile. It's just too bad that EA hasn't learned from the strong and weak points of the competition. The controls aren't always working properly and the number of modes are a little on the thin side. However, true MMA-fans will be able to ignore these faults.
  32. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    A great start to a promising new sports series. It does feel a little lightweight in some of the options but the central combat is handled very well.
  33. Oct 21, 2010
    82
    EA Sports MMA comes out swinging with a solid first entry, but only time will tell if its defining features will truly sustain the game over the long term, especially with regards to its bold decisions when it comes to online play.
  34. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    EA Sports MMA is its first installment in the Mixed Martial Arts genre, and it becomes a worthy rival to THQ's UFC franchise.
  35. 70
    Great in places, horribly sparse in others.
  36. Dec 15, 2010
    80
    The meat of the game comes in the form of the career mode.
  37. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    Compared to the king of the genre, UFC Undisputed, I must confess I have a personal preference for EA Sports MMA, thanks to its accessibility and "easy to pick-up" philosophy. UFC remains the deepest of the two, and benefits greatly from its official license, but this first foray of EA on that front really establishes it as a serious competitor. It's especially true if you're looking for online play, where EA's experience is really shining in comparison to UFC. So if you're not already a hardcore fan playing UFC, but just someone who's interested in starting up with something more noob-friendly, EA Sports MMA is just for you.
  38. Dec 15, 2010
    90
    There is a layer of depth in MMA for those who are looking for more. [Issue#65, p.86]
  39. Oct 22, 2010
    80
    With a disappointing career mode and less-than-stellar presentation, it's a less complete package than Undisputed. I should probably drop in a fighting metaphor here, I suppose: with MMA, it seems like EA is finding its range with the jab in the first round, before swinging for the fences in the second.
  40. Jan 3, 2011
    84
    There's plenty of room for growth and improvement, but EA has a solid, well varied and quite fun first title. If you are not loyal to the UFC brand, or maybe just sick of how saturated the market is with the premiere mixed-martial arts league, EA Sports MMA is a viable alternative to THQ's dominate franchise.
  41. Dec 19, 2010
    80
    By all accounts, EA Sports MMA is a good game. It has great graphics combined with a solid presentation and good controls.
  42. Oct 25, 2010
    60
    Can't really escape the headlock of its rival but a decent MMA game, all in all.
  43. Dec 15, 2010
    70
    Considering this is EA Sports first crack at an MMA game, the overall results are good.
  44. Dec 15, 2010
    82
    EA Sport's sophomoric effort into the gaming world of MMA is a stand up showing. While its in-ring action isn't exactly up to the level of their main rival, it's international diversity and live broadcast feature puts into the title hunt.
  45. 83
    A rich, substantial fight engine that will suit some players and make others pine for the UFC.
  46. Dec 15, 2010
    70
    In spite of speculation that EA MMA would be dead on arrival there's a very satisfactory entry here, one worthy of any fighting gamer's consideration and one EA would be remiss to abandon next year.
  47. Dec 19, 2010
    85
    There's no doubting that EA Sports MMA is a contender, but is it better than UFC Undisputed? Yes indeed, ladies and gentlemen, we have a new champion!
  48. Dec 15, 2010
    71
    EA Sports have achieved moderate success with their first step into the MMA space providing a game that plays well and contains some promising features that give incentive to dedicated play, however it unfortunately falls short by failing to introduce the player to the game's complexities and missing core issues such as player disconnects cutting stat tracking short.
  49. Dec 15, 2010
    80
    With its innovative online features and realistic fight system, EA's first attempt at MMA lays down a solid foundation that's worth checking out.
  50. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    If you're willing to put in the time to learn how to actually play it properly, EA Sports MMA becomes a very rewarding experience. When you lose a fight online, you usually know exactly what you need to work on, either in the career mode to get your fighter's stats up or just, you know, as an actual player.
  51. Needed to feel more brutal, but still a very accessible fighter made by fans of the sport. [Issue#98, p.86]
  52. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    MMA is a fuller game that celebrates the broadest scope of the sport with a loving precision, while UFC brings out a roster of more recognizable fighters for a more casual, beer-and-buddies experience.
  53. Oct 25, 2010
    84
    More fighters and options the next time around would be the way to go for this series.
  54. Dec 19, 2010
    85
    It's not perfect though, and a myriad of small issues prevent EA Sports MMA from being the best mixed-martial arts title this year.
  55. Oct 22, 2010
    70
    This game does most things right on the first attempt, and there's no significant quality difference between it and main rival UFC: Undisputed. This is a great choice if you want an MMA game that is accessible and rewarding.
  56. Oct 21, 2010
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  57. Jan 11, 2011
    83
    A good mix of simulation and arcade gameplay with a great graphical fidelity, EA Sports MMA manages to reproduce all the fetures of mixed martial arts without scaring away the player wit too complex combos or controls.
  58. Oct 22, 2010
    79
    EA Sports MMA is well-made, impeccably presented and could in time threaten UFC's title, just not yet. Fight fans would do well to give EA Sports MMA a whirl though. You won't be disappointed.
  59. Oct 22, 2010
    90
    It takes a special game to make you appreciate losing just as much as winning. EA MMA does it every time you step into the ring. Now that's a knockout.
  60. Dec 15, 2010
    80
    As a game, EA Sports MMA works really rather well, with that important sense that you're continually getting better, and that one more go might be enough to propel you to success. A pleasant surprise.
  61. Dec 15, 2010
    80
    If you are an MMA fan be sure to give this title a shot. If you aren't an MMA fan then you should still give this game a chance because it can be a good fighting game too.
  62. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    EA Sports MMA is a very good sports simulation with beginner-friendly gameplay mechanics but still enough gameplay depth to be true to the sport of Mixed Martial Arts. The career mode is more fun than the one in its rival UFC Undisputed. However the game is lacking in different game modes. And applying as well as defending arm or leg submissions gets boring too soon.
  63. Oct 20, 2010
    80
    EA Sports MMA is a deep, well-rounded, well-structured sim, chewy enough to keep a veteran of the genre occupied but not so chewy that laymen will bounce off.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 27
  2. Negative: 9 out of 27
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. BEFORE I get into EA MMA I would like to lead in with a little insight as to where MY review comes from! I also have been an MMA Participant/Fan since the Beginning! I have Played everything from UFC on Dreamcast, Tapout 1 & 2 on XBOX, UFC Sudden Impact & PRIDE FC on PS2, Throwdown on Nintendo GameCube, UFC Undisputed 2009/2010 & NOW EA MMA on 360! That was Not meant to be a BragFest but rather a recap of Where My Opinions/Comparisons come from! The Original DreamCast UFC was, of course, the GroundBreaker that Started it all! UFC 2009, to me, was The BEST MMA game to Date! 2010 Seemed like a Rushed (to beat EA to release!) Cash grab and NOT Much More than a Roster Update with Few Real Notable changes. The Event Mode being the Most memorable & my personal Favorite. Now for EA MMA!: First off if they would have named it something like "EA Sports Presents MMA Featuring StrikeForce!" there Might be LESS complaints about "where are the UFC guys?"! Maybe! From the beginning I Too did Not give much chance for EA's MMA title. Like a Lot of Fellow gamers I fell into the "If it doesn't have the More Well Known UFC Fighters It will Probably Not be as Good!" category! I am GLAD to say I was Wrong there! There are So Many Exclusive fighters that are as good or Better than their UFC counterparts In there own respective weight classes! There are also Very Extensive Fighter Creation/Share tools (They are Far Superior to THQ UFC's current version!) that Offer NEAR Perfect UFC Clones! For those Longing for Dream matches like Brock Lesnar vs Fedor Emelianenko Here is the Place to get it! Well this is as Close as we can get for now at least! There are also other Various COOL Options to keep fights from getting stale. Venue Locations, Ring Types (Round, Boxing & Of Course Octagonal) Plus being able to set Rule types are a Nice and Refreshing change of pace! I haven't jumped into the Career mode so I can't comment on that Yet. I feel compelled to voice my concern and comment that ONLY EA can Tank (No. Not Paul Abbot!) its MMA Game at this point by Pulling the Online support like it has done with a Lot of its other Franchises! For MMA and just Fighting Game Fans alike EA Sports MMA is the BEST way to put a Digital BeatDown on/with your friends! I feel the Competition here Is a Good thing! Look at how Tekken, Soul Calibur & Street Fighter and Forza & Gran Turismo Push each other to improve! THQ and EA can continue to Pour quality features into their Games! In the end we win! Like Arcade Style Fighting, Racing Games etc... I have NO problem owning 2 MMA games. IF they are Both well made & are each worth having! My reviews tend to be scatterbrained! For that I apologize. My Main goal is to Help Fellow gamers that are fans of the Same genre be able to enjoy quality games! This Also put a BullsEye on me for tweens & Other ADHD FOOLS to Jab at MY Review Instead of My Online Fighter! Keep in mind witty review Blasters: My review does NOT Hit Back. I DO! Full Review »
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    Ok, got an advanced copy and here are my thoughts...Quite frankly, sets the standard with Striking in the MMA genre. Love the career modeOk, got an advanced copy and here are my thoughts...Quite frankly, sets the standard with Striking in the MMA genre. Love the career mode with different gyms and leagues around the world (really puts the world wide emphasis of the sport into it, and gives me some flashbacks into the martial arts lore of it all...ex. remember Bloodsport?). The submission system is different and a bit simplified compared to UFC, but I'm getting use to not frantically mashing, etc. on the controller. Love the potential of the live broadcast feature too! I really hope EA gets the UFC license in the future...DANA, FORGET THE PAST, EA KNOWS SPORTS GAMES AND WILL GIVE THE UFC IT'S PROPER VIRTUAL EXPERIENCE! Full Review »
  3. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    Great game all around and I believe this game is a great base for EA to keep pumping out future MMA games from here on out. The Career,Great game all around and I believe this game is a great base for EA to keep pumping out future MMA games from here on out. The Career, Online, Presentation, and flow of the game blow UFC Undisputed of of the water giving it great replay value, something Undisputed 2010 clearly lacked. Great job EA! Full Review »