Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
Buy On
  1. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jul 25, 2011
    70
    In short bursts it's about as fun as games can possibly get. [Issue#74, p.88]
  2. Jul 25, 2011
    70
    Insect Armageddon is a fun little game that has a lot of gameplay variation. However all that variation won't stop you from getting bored with the game after a short while. If you don't want to get bored, try the co-op mode with a friend and you'll have a ton of fun.
  3. games(TM)
    Jul 23, 2011
    70
    An enjoyable, recklessly fun game. [Issue#111, p.111]
  4. Jul 22, 2011
    70
    It looks like a budget game, feels like a budget game and is a ton of fun for the price. Stupid, campy and one of my guilty pleasures for the year.
  5. Jul 11, 2011
    70
    Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon pays homage to days spent in smoky arcades with friends, pumping quarter after quarter into a fruitless gaming machine. It's a simple game that is stupid fun.
  6. Jul 8, 2011
    70
    Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon has lots of explosions and destruction, but not quite enough variety to keep things moving.
  7. Jul 6, 2011
    70
    This isn't a game that demands your undivided attention, though; it can be played sporadically, either on your own or with a few friends and some beers. It can become monotonous – mindless even, if you let it – but with the right frame of mind, there's a remarkable amount of fun to be had here.
  8. Jul 6, 2011
    70
    Ugly as sin, but funny, especially when played with other humans. Earth Defence Force: Insect Armageddon is and old school shooter in third person, with a ton of weapons and a well devised upgrade system.
  9. 68
    Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon is simultaneously better and worse than its predecessor. While the core shooting gameplay against hordes of bugs and robots has never been better, Insect Armageddon lacks the humour and charm that made the original such a cult hit in the first place.
  10. Jul 26, 2011
    65
    Not a game for everyone, which bets all in pure destructive action and online co-op, sacrificing graphics and story.
  11. Jul 22, 2011
    65
    Insect Armageddon is missing the magic B-movie sensibility of its predecessor -- Insect Armageddon looks too sophisticated! -- but it's still an okay action game to play with friends and strangers who would rather blast giant monsters than serve as cannon fodder in Call of Duty or Battlefield.
  12. 65
    If you're looking for tactical depth, environmental variety, or anything resembling a story, you'll be left wanting. But if you're in the mood for a blissfully mindless fire-and-forget shooting gallery, you could do a whole lot worse.
  13. Jul 27, 2011
    60
    As usual, EDF is charming and terribly fun in co-op, but lacking and even boring as a solo game. The simple and arcade nature of the game can't hide the fact it lacks better production values and needs more interesting mechanics to hold a candle against better action-focused alternatives.
  14. Jul 24, 2011
    60
    Unquestionably a fun game, but it's the same fun we had with its PS2 and Xbox 360 predecessors. The latest game offers very little that it can call its own, has a severe lack of memorable moments and is often incredibly dull and repetitive.
  15. Jul 22, 2011
    60
    Old hands will still find much of the personality and singular vision of the franchise intact, but it's the newcomers, ironically, who might find Insect Armageddon a jarring mix of old-fashioned thrills and modern gameplay trends.
  16. Jul 18, 2011
    60
    Earth Defence Force 2017 is a strange drug. You hate yourself while you are playing it, but you can't quit the game. It's boring and dull, but... fun and addictive at the same time. If you like B-Movies, this is your game.
  17. Jul 11, 2011
    60
    Ultimately it all comes down to this: There's an achievement for killing 100 ants, and you'll get that before completing the first level. Does that get your blood pumping "EDF! EDF!"?
  18. 60
    I'm honestly astounded as to how any game can be so good and so bad at the same time.
  19. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Aug 15, 2011
    58
    As much as we love EDF's template, the sequel needed to impress more than this. [Oct 2011, p.88]
  20. Jul 11, 2011
    55
    Insect Armageddon can be enjoyed in short intervals with friends, but don't expect anything more than a B-list multiplayer rental. It's a generic shooter that brings nothing new to the table, and there are far better options in the backlog to cure your summer boredom.
  21. Aug 9, 2011
    50
    Fair is fair, Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon is a game of below average quality. But because it doesn't pretend to be anything more than that, we'll let that slide. But even for a game in which simplism is the main attraction, it still does too many things wrong. That makes EDF: Insect Armageddon entertaining for an hour or two (possibly longer in coöp), but the lack of any variation makes you want to put it down rather sooner than later.
  22. Jul 14, 2011
    50
    It's a perfect bargain bin timesink, maybe.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    At a retail price of $39, Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon is a TREMENDOUS value. My friend and I are having an absolute blast playingAt a retail price of $39, Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon is a TREMENDOUS value. My friend and I are having an absolute blast playing the co-op campaign (on the hard setting) online, literally blasting our way through everything we see. Unlocking the literally hundreds of weapons and leveling up my soldier class (Trooper) is extremely addicting and rewarding. Once I got my hands on that missile launcher that locks on, and that grenade launcher that fires six at a time, well things got very interesting. There's so much replay value after you've beaten the campaign, tons of weapons to unlock, plenty of soldier classes to level up, and a variety of game modes and difficulties including...INFERNO!!. When you see an online buddy fire a weapon that turns your entire TV screen into a blinding light, all the surrounding bugs go up in flames, and all the surrounding skyscrapers slowly collapse, you'll go, "Wow, this game is awesome". Full Review »
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    I never played EDF: 2017. In fact, I hadn't even heard much about it until I started seeing previews for Insect Armageddon. I now wish I hadI never played EDF: 2017. In fact, I hadn't even heard much about it until I started seeing previews for Insect Armageddon. I now wish I had picked up 2017. Even without the expectations as an EDF fan, I'm still having a blast with this game. I love the B-movie look and feel of the game, and the constant on-screen action is absolutely insane. If you're looking for an old-school arcade shooter that delivers the goods via insect guts, then this is your game. Consider me a fan. Full Review »
  3. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    First, if you're looking at this, you might have played EDF: 2017. If this is the case, you need to know that vehicles are fixed, spider websFirst, if you're looking at this, you might have played EDF: 2017. If this is the case, you need to know that vehicles are fixed, spider webs can't hit you through walls, the mechs are worthwhile, you can revive your primary squadmates (and they can revive you), and there is online co-op. That should address all your complaints about EDF: 2017. Go buy EDF: Insect Armageddon now.

    If you didn't play EDF: 2017, and you want a deep game with serious business and artful stylings of a world yet unrealized, move along, nothing to see here.

    This game is the definition of stupid fun. 'STUPID' - There is no deep storyline, no emo characters wearing uniforms with a thousand zippers and buckles, no quirky sidekicks, none of that. There's just you, a few hundred guns, giant insects and robots, and cheesy one-liners just like a B-Movie. 'FUN' - You make stuff go boom. There's very little between you and the carnage. The only downside is that the game is a bit short, and to me one of the armor types is fairly useless. Within a few days it will probably get a bit repetitive, but the online co-op, difficulty modes, campaign remix, and survival mode with a total of 6 players make it still worthwhile.
    Full Review »