Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: F1 2012 features all of the official teams, drivers and circuits from the 2012 FIA Formula One World Championship.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Sep 24, 2012
    95
    F1 2012 is by far the most satisfying, all-encompassing F1 experience yet. From the immersive graphics to the full-on career mode and the brilliant Season Challenge, it's as though Codemasters have thought of everything. Highly recommended.
  2. 90
    Another podium-worthy effort from Codemasters that deserves to be doused in expensive champagne once more. F1 2012 is the best Formula One game Codies has made to date, welcoming newcomers with open arms, while refusing to dial down the realism for the established fans. A tough balancing act that F1 2012 pulls off with aplomb.
  3. Sep 27, 2012
    90
    All the polish, options and new modes are all well and good, but without a precise handling model and intelligent AI, then F1 2012 wouldn't be worth the upgrade, so the fact Codemasters have managed to spend the year getting that aspect right, plus improve all the bells and whistles is just so refreshing to see.
  4. Sep 25, 2012
    85
    As a Formula 1 simulator, there really is nothing better on the market, and the dichotomy between the desires of the hardcore and the casual gaming market has been balanced exquisitely. Credit must be given to Codemasters for refusing to rest on their laurels like some annual releases and making an effort to give us a new game rather than adding a few minor tweaks and releasing what amounts to a glorified expansion pack.
  5. Oct 13, 2012
    84
    This year's F1 game delivers something for everyone. The feel for the driving is as deep as you want it to be. [Oct 2012]
  6. Sep 25, 2012
    80
    F1 2012 is a must-play for Formula 1 enthusiasts who also count themselves among the ranks of racing game fans. The feature set is simply too rich, the attention to detail too great to turn it down. More casual racing fans will have a harder time justifying a purchase. It's a steep learning curve, and quite an investment of time to function at high levels. Either way, it is certainly an achievement.
  7. Oct 31, 2012
    68
    Formula 1 2012 is a great F1 racing simulator, but it's only an okay game. For a title that aims to be approachable to all audiences, it has failed in that regard, but for those who are racing fanatics and crave a realistic immersion into the F1 world, F1 2012 is the game for you.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    This game has great tutorials and a load of options for new and experienced F1 players/fans. Career mode has many options that can be changed between each race (including how long each race is). My only issue is that the controls are so sensitive that you can only play with a new controller. Loads of great racing hours ahead for F1 fans. Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2013
    9
    F1 2012 is a awesome game! Great graphics, great gameplay, and many more. If you looked at my previous reviews, I reviewed Forza 4 and I bought the game and I thought at that time that Forza is the best racing game I have played. Well, after playing F1 for a couple of races, I can honestly say F1 2102 is the best racing game I have played. Take into account that I only have like four racing game in my collection so may range is limited. Nevertheless, F1 2012 is very fun. If you are new to Formula 1 racing games, there is a Young Drivers Tutorial about how to play the game and be successful. It might take a little while to get adjusted to the gameplay. After you are down with the tutorial, you have many game modes to choose from like Time Trial, Time Challenge, Season Challenge, Career, etc. The time trials are self-explanatory. Just try to beat the time. The Season Challenge and career are two different modes. Season Challenge is basically you race for a team and you have to beat a rival that you choose. You can choose any rival you want and if you are a big fan of real life Formula 1, you will be really happy to know that all the real life people are in the game. Once you have chosen which rival you want to face, you have to beat them twice in order to advance your team. The graphics in the game are really pretty. Something as simple and textures are very nice. Now the best part about F1 is the gameplay. What strikes me about the gameplay is it is fast! When you are racing, you have to pay very close attention and if you take your eye off the road for just a split second your car will be flying across the track. I strongly encourage you to buy this game. I bought this game from Best Buy for $45 and hope that you can find a place near you that can sell you this game for the same amount of money. Expand
  3. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    This thing is... Um... this thing is. Uh, yeah. I got my butt kicked. The most hard core racing game this gen. I placed 23 in my first race, and I was in 9th in my second race and on the second last lap... I ran out of gas! The racing is so fast and intense that I almost had an anerism (sp). Also... you have to do a min of 25% of a real race in career. That's like 15 laps. I give it a 10 for the racing but not enough difficulty options and too long of races brings it down a notch. Honestly, don't buy this if your a casual racing fan. Do buy it if you want a hardcore experience like no other. Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    8
    A truly fun racing experience. The driving is intense and very rewarding. The graphics look amazing and the sounds are excellent. It also has a great value. This title is way better than the previous two. Expand
  5. Jul 31, 2013
    8
    This game was a big surprise! Very good. Good graphics and great game play. Surprisingly realistic. I really liked this game. It's one of the better racing games out there! I hate all those arcade style racers. Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    F1 2012 is an excellent game to get! I praise the addition of the Circuit of the Americas, the Season Challenge and the Champions Mode added. I also like the change of the menus so it's more easier to navigate around the game. But there are some changes: the long race weekend has been modified from 3 practice sessions to one session because the three practice sessions on F1 2011 were very unpopular. Also the minimum race distance you can do in Career mode is 25%, since in F1 2011 there was an option to do 3 laps and a three lap race is too short for a career race. There are bugs in this game though, which may be fixed. May not be the best F1 game of the year, but this game should do this year. Collapse
  7. Sep 30, 2012
    3
    Being a lifelong F1 fan as well as gamer I was very excited by release of F1 2010 by Codemasters. Although the game wasn't as much of a simulation as some wished for, and filled with game glitches upon release I still enjoyed the game to a large degree. Codemasters have a great history of 'sami-simulation' driving games and F1 2010 had little competition since they took over the motorsport license.

    Although there was a worry of 2011 having very worth the buy by games, the new rules changes in F1 sport gave the game hope of second success. Features like KERS and DRS made this instalment of the game feel like a new experience, and even though the game was again released with few bugs and glitches, it received positive reviews from the license games around. Now onto 2012, due to no gameplay effected changes in the real sport, little new was expected in the game itself. Upon release the main drastic difference were visuals of the game. Many reviewers and gamers around jumped to premature positive reviews. Don't be fooled. Yes, visually the game is gorgeous, and few extra game modes. To break it down; the Young Driver Test is totally pointless. Not only it does very little regarding teaching you how to drove and controle a F1 car, but it's not even representative of the real F1 Young Driver Tests each year. The Champions mode is an interesting addition, with player racing against some of the best drivers on the grid this year, but the scenarios become repetitive after a while and very little creativity is put into it by the developers. The Career mode is the bigerst disappointment. Not only it's very similar in many was of the borring career mode in previos edition, but its parts like media interviews and post-race press conference have been removed. The immersion is very disappointing and could do with a more creative approach like we had in TOCA Test driver back in the day. Another thing that has been tweaked to a large degree are the car physics. If it's better or worst can probably be a individual opinion of people who play it, personality I like it, but what I hate about the game, and by hate I should say despise, are the car physics in the rain, especially since in this new edition of the game many of the races have been designed to pit for a tire change multiple times due to the changing weather conditions, now that's great and at first I was excited by this news, but after driving it multiple times now in wet and intermediate tires the driving feels so unpredictable and with no indication (or mention in the Young Drivers Test 'tutorial'), you will often find yourself frustrated with rage, swearing at your TV, as your F1 car slides on the rode as if someone made a prank by dipping your intermediates in oil before you drove out of the pits. I used to love the rain races in 2011 version, actually I liked them so much I would be very excited every time rain was announced for the next race. In the 2012 version it's not even a challenge, its a lottery ticket every corner you turn into you just don't know what will happen. If you change your tires for wet in heavy intermediate conditions the vehicle is simply uncontrollable, for you only, as AI passes you by in (often in same tires as you have) twice the speed you manage to achieve.

    When it comes to AI, I found them very unpredictable, which again should be a good thing to have. Unfortunately that is not the case here, as the AI drivers decide randomly to slow down half the speed in certain corners, then next lap speed though it as if spirit of Ayrton Senna himself controlled them. Also, on straights sometimes I wonder if AI drivers have an invincible DRS open as they catch up to you at immense speeds just to slam on breaks right on your tail (instead of overtake you on the side).

    There are many other issues with this game I could list, but I think I covered the most notable points which I found frustrating with this release. I know many games our there, as well as reviewers, claim to really like this game and consider it the best release by Codemasters of this license so far. Personally, I think it's a good game, but I won't rate it high just because it looks nice but plays poorly like many people do these days. I consider F1 2011 to be the best version of the game so far, and I would gladly continue playing my 2011 version if I haven't already sold it.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews