User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2342 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    Charming game with a cool interactions on the world and on the society of the game. Its cool the options of that every actions affect your aspect giving you personality,thats cool but it needs more depth ,also annoying some AI don't act well and some weird glitches. The graphics are colorful , the gameplay is easy and simple.
  2. Sep 6, 2010
    8
    This is a very solid RPG. Especially for a system that has few RPGs. The story is pretty good and the gameplay is fun but some of the quests can get kind of repetitive but this is not a very major problem. The main problem is that there is not much replay value after you beat the main quest. After the game you might spend 2 hours after the game and this is kind of dull for most RPGs. ThisThis is a very solid RPG. Especially for a system that has few RPGs. The story is pretty good and the gameplay is fun but some of the quests can get kind of repetitive but this is not a very major problem. The main problem is that there is not much replay value after you beat the main quest. After the game you might spend 2 hours after the game and this is kind of dull for most RPGs. This doesn't count the DLC which was actually a lot of fun for me. All and all, this is a very solid RPG with a good story, fun missions, and some cool gameplay. Expand
  3. Jan 9, 2011
    8
    I really don't understand why the user reviews for this game are so low, because Fable II is a lot of fun. Sure, it's fairly linear and the gameplay can become pretty simple, but it's still a very well-designed adventure. Some people might argue that there isn't enough to do, but you really need to appreciate the things you CAN do, because those things are very enjoyable.
  4. Erikheidt
    Dec 10, 2008
    9
    I reallt enjoyed fable but the thing is I was very upset that it wasnt open world such as oblivian and fall 3. I liked the three wishes choice ,because that made me want to play it 3 different times and try each one. The thing is this made me eally want to play Fable: Lost chapters veery badly.
  5. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    I'm seeing 2's and 0's here, with an average score of 6.2. What? These are obviously guys who are just PS3 fanboys, or are mad that lionhead changed the fable gameplay formula. Get over it. I prefer this Fable to any of the other fable's, and that includes fable 3 (While good, it wasn't fantastic). The inclusion of the guns and different rates of fire was nice, while also keeping theI'm seeing 2's and 0's here, with an average score of 6.2. What? These are obviously guys who are just PS3 fanboys, or are mad that lionhead changed the fable gameplay formula. Get over it. I prefer this Fable to any of the other fable's, and that includes fable 3 (While good, it wasn't fantastic). The inclusion of the guns and different rates of fire was nice, while also keeping the weapons simple and fluid at the same time. The combat's great, and you have to work to get that ridiculously overpowered spell. The story was really good, and while no mass effect, it was definitely worth experiencing. While co-op is nice, it's way too limited, which has been improved on in the third game, though its still too easy. But all-in-all, this is a brilliant game that you should definitely pick up ahead of the other two fables, with the only bad points being it's quite easy, the co-op is limited. Expand
  6. Teli
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    I really enjoyed The Lost Chapters and everything that prevented TLC from being great has been improved here.
    The user interface needs to be sped up though and my dog doesn't fetch the ball, maybe he's got brain damage, not sure. Other than that I'm really enjoying the game. A lot to do apart from the quests.
  7. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    A truley amazing game.. despite what most people say about it, its amazing so much to do it looks amazing and its awesome to play.. i think i put in 25+ hours and i would deff play it through again
  8. AnonymousMC
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    i have never laughed so hard while playing a video game. humorous on levels other games can never hope to reach. i ate 5 live chickens in front of someone, i starved my children, i made a thriving town a ghost town, i farted on wealthy lady, i ran through the steets naked with guards chasing after me, i married 5 people in one day.
    my only gripe is that its WAY TOO EASY!!! you get
    i have never laughed so hard while playing a video game. humorous on levels other games can never hope to reach. i ate 5 live chickens in front of someone, i starved my children, i made a thriving town a ghost town, i farted on wealthy lady, i ran through the steets naked with guards chasing after me, i married 5 people in one day.
    my only gripe is that its WAY TOO EASY!!! you get mountains of money all the time, and if you spend them on health packs you can basically be invincible
    Expand
  9. ChrisD
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    I can definitely say that PM delivered. This is a game where you spend an obsessive amount of hours on one playthrough alone; imagine when you want to start a second and be the opposite of your first (i.e evil instead of good)? Trust me, buy this game!
  10. BrettH
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    It has been one of the finest gaming experiences I've had, and is among the best examples of the art form. That is subjective, of course. As with anything else in life, your enjoyment will depend on how you approach it. For example, if you went into the Sistine Chapel looking for "a kick-ass place to play paintball", and found that it "sucks because there is no Coke machine", It has been one of the finest gaming experiences I've had, and is among the best examples of the art form. That is subjective, of course. As with anything else in life, your enjoyment will depend on how you approach it. For example, if you went into the Sistine Chapel looking for "a kick-ass place to play paintball", and found that it "sucks because there is no Coke machine", you're probably not going to get much out of an RPG like Fable 2. Expand
  11. NasosT.
    Oct 20, 2008
    10
    The only game in ages to rival Zelda OOT epicness and greatness, fun and addictive combat that takes many replays to experience fully, amazing varied vistas, things to do until the second coming, a whole world to buy, interact with, and that is just an appetizer :) The story is great too, the quests varied and unique as in no game before, and when you are done replaying it 6-10 times, The only game in ages to rival Zelda OOT epicness and greatness, fun and addictive combat that takes many replays to experience fully, amazing varied vistas, things to do until the second coming, a whole world to buy, interact with, and that is just an appetizer :) The story is great too, the quests varied and unique as in no game before, and when you are done replaying it 6-10 times, there is always co-op and more things to do to your unique world Simply put, EPIC !!!! Expand
  12. AGamer
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    This was an awesome game, honestly I had no problems with this game. Some people might not like a Game like this(it's not as serious as some), but I had no problems with that either, so A Must-Buy for any Un-Serious Gamer.
  13. AshtonJ
    Aug 8, 2009
    10
    This is one of those games I enjoyed so much it hurt to finish. It had a story I loved and gameplay which kept me entertained throughout. One of the best games I have played to date.
  14. RavenWolfx
    Oct 27, 2008
    8
    Goods news first. This game is entertaining and worth the purchase if you are into Action RPGs. The graphics are good (not amazing), the companion is interesting, the Spells are pretty cool looking, and the interface is user friendly. The bad news. The story is fairly short. Even with side quests, you will probably beat it in about 10 hours, maybe 15. There is no armor in the game, so you Goods news first. This game is entertaining and worth the purchase if you are into Action RPGs. The graphics are good (not amazing), the companion is interesting, the Spells are pretty cool looking, and the interface is user friendly. The bad news. The story is fairly short. Even with side quests, you will probably beat it in about 10 hours, maybe 15. There is no armor in the game, so you can only get more health, which annoys the hell outta me. The co-op doesn't let both of you use your own characters or weapons, which is a definate let down. Framerate drops when you use a high-level spell (especially in co-op). The appearance for Good characters is rather plain. The Evil characters get a lot more thought put into them. The character looks needs more customization, too few hair/tattoo options. They have cut out the tattooes for arms and legs, you can only get tattooes on your face and chest. While I listed a lot more bad points, I'm a negative kind of person. This game is still fun and at least worth a rent (a buy if you liked the orginal Fable or action RPGs). Expand
  15. Gregg
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game!! I have recently purchased the game and probably played only 6 hours. This is a hugely entertaining game and I have spent the majority of this time working as a blacksmith and investing in property, Im actually rating myself as quite the property guru. Therein lies the beauty of this game; you can play it as you see fit. In fact my girlfriend is playing this Absolutely fantastic game!! I have recently purchased the game and probably played only 6 hours. This is a hugely entertaining game and I have spent the majority of this time working as a blacksmith and investing in property, Im actually rating myself as quite the property guru. Therein lies the beauty of this game; you can play it as you see fit. In fact my girlfriend is playing this game in a sims like manner, buying houses, decorating them, buying clothes, changing her apperance, getting married, having kids and accumalting a nice little fortune. All of the above mentioned is a small part in wonderfully diverse game. The overall atmosphere of the game is great, from the voice acting to the presentation of the cities and the landscape. Walking around bowerstone market is much like walking around a real-life market, you hear the cries of "sales", the gossiping between the ladies, the men and woman at their respective stores or stands pushing for sales; all of this is truly immersive and of course if you are well liked you will have followers or at least you will be greeted as walk from place to another. Obviously there are all the normal rpg elements such as levelling up, increasing the potency of weapons etc. Of course there is the main storyline to follow which I believe is quite an epic tale. There are so many variables in this game such as the way your apperance changes depending on your actions, either good or evil, corrupt or pure; you can also become fat which is defendant on the food you eat, there really is just so much to the game. All in all this a fantastic immeresive experience and as mentioned one in which you can play as you see fit.....bottom line; you cannot really ask more from an RPG. Well Done PM!! Expand
  16. IronE
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    Engaging, open and fun. Main quest advances quickly, but if you take a bit of time exploring it becomes a lot more enjoyable. New magic system take some getting used to, but i like it. In an age of the MMOs creating a playstyleof find the '!' and complete the task, it is nice that they allow some freedom to have some imagination with the game. It is not quite as open as an Engaging, open and fun. Main quest advances quickly, but if you take a bit of time exploring it becomes a lot more enjoyable. New magic system take some getting used to, but i like it. In an age of the MMOs creating a playstyleof find the '!' and complete the task, it is nice that they allow some freedom to have some imagination with the game. It is not quite as open as an Oblivion, but you can have more impact on the game. I am sure that DLC will be coming soon and will expand the game even further. Expand
  17. DaveH
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Great game - I have put in over 30 hours already doing all the various activities around the world and am not halfway through the MQ. There are a few ways to play, either rush through the MQ, or explore and enjoy the world around you and sink tons of hours into the game by doing other things that are substantial to the world. There's no reason to complain that this game is too short Great game - I have put in over 30 hours already doing all the various activities around the world and am not halfway through the MQ. There are a few ways to play, either rush through the MQ, or explore and enjoy the world around you and sink tons of hours into the game by doing other things that are substantial to the world. There's no reason to complain that this game is too short if you have just rushed through it. Also of note is that the world and regions change after certain events (and depending on what your do makes them either prosperous or in ruin). Fable II is heaps better than the first installment. In my experience, spellcasting is EASY to use and as you add points into your spells, your lower tier spells charge faster and are more powerful. Combat is satisfying and often can encourage the use of many techniques (from melee, range, spellcasting) and is rewarded by boosting XP bonuses. Expand
  18. Jack
    Oct 8, 2008
    10
    I loved the original, and from digging into the unreleased content of the first game, I have found out what Peter meant when he said he was unsatisfied with the game. The second Fable promises to include everything from before as well as much more and also refining everything to perfection. I have no doubt that this will be the best 360 game of all time. Yeah rock on.
  19. NickM
    Feb 1, 2009
    10
    A fantastically immersive game with a ridiculously broad scope. Aside minor control issues and a few minor bugs, I found my main criticism was that the game wasn't even bigger, unfair but illustrative of the huge potential this well crafted universe has. Fable 3 is definitely one to watch.
  20. CoryD
    Nov 1, 2008
    9
    I never played the first Fable so it took me a little while to settle into the second installment, but it's a blast once you start upgrading and getting into the meat of the game. Honestly, it took me little while to warm up to it, cuz it's quite a bit different than my fave rpg of all time, Oblivion, but it's a very solid game.. recommended buy!
  21. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    IT Is very positive and amaizing roll game. It's let me remember my childhood specialy when i was play with my brother and sister, it's something else.
    I Give this game 10
  22. Oct 9, 2010
    10
    This game is good, is the combat simplistic, yes but it works more towards the games advantage than against, is the story simple and cliche why yeah, but so are a ton of other games, the world is more open than fable was, the game looks good, it plays well, I like the game. I'm not trying to say it's perfect, but there are no glaring issue that take away from my enjoyment of the game as aThis game is good, is the combat simplistic, yes but it works more towards the games advantage than against, is the story simple and cliche why yeah, but so are a ton of other games, the world is more open than fable was, the game looks good, it plays well, I like the game. I'm not trying to say it's perfect, but there are no glaring issue that take away from my enjoyment of the game as a enjoyable whole. Expand
  23. SeanL
    Nov 1, 2008
    9
    addictive, deep and very fun. ignore all negative reviews, any fan of a solid rpg adventure will be in love with this game. there all small flaws, but the undeniable charm and beautiful graphics more than make up for it. combat is simple to pick up, but you can spend a long time truly mastering it. the plot is weak, but all the spoken dialouge is amazing. a must buy. anyone who gave this addictive, deep and very fun. ignore all negative reviews, any fan of a solid rpg adventure will be in love with this game. there all small flaws, but the undeniable charm and beautiful graphics more than make up for it. combat is simple to pick up, but you can spend a long time truly mastering it. the plot is weak, but all the spoken dialouge is amazing. a must buy. anyone who gave this game a negative review was obviously not playing the game a true gamer should. Expand
  24. JamesK
    Nov 1, 2008
    8
    Fable 2 is a very cool game and I enjoy it very much. the only reson why I gave it an 8 instead of a 10 is because the loading scenes are too frequent and too long.
  25. RobH
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    love it, best RPG ever made. The play is amazing, loving the dog as a companion and the fighting is so simple but very addictive and can be used in many different styles from mashing the button to skilfully slaying enemys with well timed hits and combos. I also love buying everything in the game and the ability for towns to grow and change due to what you do is good as you feal as though love it, best RPG ever made. The play is amazing, loving the dog as a companion and the fighting is so simple but very addictive and can be used in many different styles from mashing the button to skilfully slaying enemys with well timed hits and combos. I also love buying everything in the game and the ability for towns to grow and change due to what you do is good as you feal as though what you do is better than if nothing happened ie. you destroy a town and days later its back to its old ways. Expand
  26. Daithi
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    This is a great game. Of course, Lionhead promised more than they could possibly deliver, but the depth is there for those who realize what they are looking at, with MANY hidden features. and this game is FUNNY. the comedy in this game is top notch, from the commentary down to the little descriptions of every little item or object. any game that sells "Flaccid Celery" is awesome in my book.
  27. BarryP
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    Firstly, Robert H is a bit ignorant to think the only good game on the 360 is gears of war, JUST because it's a shooting game. In my opinion we need less of these types of whiny shooter players and more of these RPG games. Too many shooters and not enough variety of different genres. Fable II looks amazing, the story is captivating and it's so smooth to play.
  28. SteveM.
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    Notice every low score for this game is written by an idiot? That said, I am no fanboy, and although I love me some good RPG's, this is it's own thing. This game, graded against it's own merits, is wonderful. Really, color me impressed. To not like this game, well, you must not have an appreciation for innovation. Or dogs.
  29. CrazyGameR
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Wow! If you haven't played the first Fable game (like me), I think you're in for an even bigger treat. This game is just simply pure fun. I find it so easy to get caught up in the world; so many things to do, so little time. The combat is very different from other games I've played (especially RPGs) but it is satisfying and deep nonetheless. The art direction is charming Wow! If you haven't played the first Fable game (like me), I think you're in for an even bigger treat. This game is just simply pure fun. I find it so easy to get caught up in the world; so many things to do, so little time. The combat is very different from other games I've played (especially RPGs) but it is satisfying and deep nonetheless. The art direction is charming and very fitting for the story. However, there are a lot of bugs that need patching (come on, Lionhead Studios) but, when you look at the game as a whole, they really won't bother you all that much. I promise. If you don't go out and buy this game, it will be your loss. Expand
  30. PatrickD
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    Very deep, funny game with a lot of replay value. It;s an action RPG that skews a bit more adult in terms of humor (that's a good thing) and an interesting although not engrossing plot. It's not a perfect game as it is a bit buggy and co-op is a bit of a downer. The campaign is a great time though and if you want a good RPG experience, pick this game up.
  31. JasonD
    Oct 26, 2008
    9
    Wonderfully designed game. Gameplay is engaging, the world is very large, and the game's sense of humor is spot on (I especially enjoyed the Evil Dead and Anchorman references). I find it very hard to put the game down. Highly recommended.
  32. JamalJ
    Oct 27, 2008
    8
    Honestly, it's a fun game. Graphically and musically, a masterpiece in my opinion. If you've played fable 1, you'll notice a lot of the plot themes are recycled (one bad guy, tragic childhood, magical savior, bandit camp, an arena, a swampy area, and so on). I thought it was hilarious that, through the load screen captions, Lionhead made fun of themselves.."my village Honestly, it's a fun game. Graphically and musically, a masterpiece in my opinion. If you've played fable 1, you'll notice a lot of the plot themes are recycled (one bad guy, tragic childhood, magical savior, bandit camp, an arena, a swampy area, and so on). I thought it was hilarious that, through the load screen captions, Lionhead made fun of themselves.."my village burned down and parents are dead..cliche.." Going on..the story really isn't about the main quest, so i kept it till the end. Real estate had been greatly expanded- would have loved to see a general menu to control everything for that though--families are nice, and so on. Menu glitches get annoying..but be patient. This game will honestly make you feel like a little kid again from beginning to end, it is without a doubt worth playing through, but if you haven't already, do yourself a favor and play Fable I first. Expand
  33. NickP.
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    Extremely addicting. The more effort put into the game, the more fun and surprises encountered. Play with patience, and you will be rewarded with one of the most fun experiences with a video game ever.
  34. PcF
    Oct 29, 2008
    8
    This game is pretty good and can be alot of fun. One thing that I really miss is that there is no mini map in the corner of your screen so it makes it diffcult to really explore. The little yellow sparkly line that guides you to quests will sometimes disappear for a few minutes, and once it lead me away from the quest that I had selected. The only other flaw I can say is that why does This game is pretty good and can be alot of fun. One thing that I really miss is that there is no mini map in the corner of your screen so it makes it diffcult to really explore. The little yellow sparkly line that guides you to quests will sometimes disappear for a few minutes, and once it lead me away from the quest that I had selected. The only other flaw I can say is that why does moving feel so weird. It feels like your feet aren't really moving you. Just your feet move when you move but it just feels disjointed. And turning makes you slow down like your running through molasses. Some minor flaws but nothing to bad, and overall a wonderful, addictive gaming experiance. Expand
  35. EricW
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    An improvement over the original in every way. Lionhead has finally "almost" lived up to Fable's potential. They may have dropped the ball with the co-op, but the single player game is a solid casual RPG. It's not meant to be as deep as a Fallout, or Mass Effect, and that's part of why it's great. You can just jump in, and enjoy it for what it is. There's plenty An improvement over the original in every way. Lionhead has finally "almost" lived up to Fable's potential. They may have dropped the ball with the co-op, but the single player game is a solid casual RPG. It's not meant to be as deep as a Fallout, or Mass Effect, and that's part of why it's great. You can just jump in, and enjoy it for what it is. There's plenty to do even after the main story line is over; and in fact a large part of the game doesn't even open up UNTIL the main story is done. It's not perfect, but it's a great compliment to a deeper Mass Effect or Fallout. Expand
  36. HayleyW
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    I think Fable II is much better than the first! You have the choice to be a woman which makes it so much more interesting, and you have different and new exciting places to explore. I really enjoy it because its so magical and addictive. The new Fable also has more humour, and its great you have new expressions and can access them more easily. I think it was a really good idea that theyI think Fable II is much better than the first! You have the choice to be a woman which makes it so much more interesting, and you have different and new exciting places to explore. I really enjoy it because its so magical and addictive. The new Fable also has more humour, and its great you have new expressions and can access them more easily. I think it was a really good idea that they added in long-term quests like the Gargoyles, it gives you a great experience and makes you really enjoy it. Expand
  37. JohnK
    Jul 2, 2009
    9
    I always find the disparity between critic and user votes interesting, but this this the strangest example of it. The critics usually detract for the most minor drawbacks in the game while die-hard fans usually get past them with ease. That being said, this game was great. I didn't want it to end. Which is why I am surprised the user score is seemingly low.
  38. TimV
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    Amazing visuals and sound. Mind-blowing scale of map and game quests. Seemingly limitless outcome possibilities. Ironically, the actual main storyline feels a bit detached from the overall game experience, and is perhaps a bit too underdeveloped, as most of the playing time is spent on addictive side quests and character development. Excellent combat action, easy to learn and use. Overall Amazing visuals and sound. Mind-blowing scale of map and game quests. Seemingly limitless outcome possibilities. Ironically, the actual main storyline feels a bit detached from the overall game experience, and is perhaps a bit too underdeveloped, as most of the playing time is spent on addictive side quests and character development. Excellent combat action, easy to learn and use. Overall a great game, with a great interface and thoughtful details, but I think will probably be less effective in multiplayer mode (disclaimer: haven't tried it or co-op mode yet) and therefore not a game you'll likely be playing more than a few weeks (i.e., once you've completed all quests). Expand
  39. VioletLove
    Nov 16, 2008
    8
    Fable 2 IS an extremely fun game to play, and the graphics are amazing. Many people see through all the good things of this game, only recoginzing the flaws of it and how it isn't what they expected it would be. If some people couldactually pay attention to the good parts of it than they would most likely love it. I do agree though, some parts of the game do confuse me and upset me. Fable 2 IS an extremely fun game to play, and the graphics are amazing. Many people see through all the good things of this game, only recoginzing the flaws of it and how it isn't what they expected it would be. If some people couldactually pay attention to the good parts of it than they would most likely love it. I do agree though, some parts of the game do confuse me and upset me. I had no idea how many glitches there were in this game and how badly they could affect your Xbox 360 system. I had only found this out while trying to solve the single glitch I had gotten so far-In the Love Hurts Quest When I try to give the man the lower body part he only stands there mindlessly- and I was completely gratefull that I hadn'tgotten the game ending glitches like the Rescuing Charlie quest. I do also agree that the game should have been released later and that they should of double checked for all the glitches, because for most people they are very annoying and ruin game experiance. It is blood boiling to know that they took years to make this game when it is below the standards of most Fable fans and that they had the longest time given to of looked for the flaws and they never took the time to fix them. Also, it was very short. Truthfully, it is the first game that I have ever truelly beaten by myself, without using cheats or making my brothers do part of it for me, which declares it as very easy. Another thing that bugs me is the lack of clothes and hairstyles in the game, and how I always seem to look fat when the fat level says zero and the fact that I have level 2 phisice ( or however you spell it ). They say that there is endless possiblities and that It would surprise them to see two different heros look the same when i highly disagree with that. I bet that if every player of Fable 2 posted how their character looked online there would be triplets and up for every perosn's character. I also wish that there was a map avalible in Fable 2, since the golden trail isn't always very dependent. After reading all the bad things about this game it is hard to give it an 8, but even through it's flaws I would most definetly choose it over Oblivion. It amazes me also that so many people think that Oblivion is better than Fable 2 by a landslide when I personally hate the graphics-the faces of the people in Oblivion look inhuman and the quests are a waste of time. I have never played the origanal Fable, and now I plan to soon. Lastly, it confuses me that they are may start working on Fable 3, even through all the negative comments. The strange thing is that even though Im confused, I still cant wait for it. Expand
  40. TeemuH
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    My first game for Xbox 360, and damn, its very good! Gameplay is very good, it was confusing in the beginning but when you get used to it, it rocks! This game got very nice voice acting, musics and graphics too. Ok, they aren't any Crysis or something, but i absolutely love the environments and lights. I've played for about 50 hours now, played through with good once, now My first game for Xbox 360, and damn, its very good! Gameplay is very good, it was confusing in the beginning but when you get used to it, it rocks! This game got very nice voice acting, musics and graphics too. Ok, they aren't any Crysis or something, but i absolutely love the environments and lights. I've played for about 50 hours now, played through with good once, now I'm halfway through with bad. It's a lot different when you play bad, assassination quests and everything. Get this game if you like adventure games! Expand
  41. RobertC
    Nov 5, 2008
    9
    It keeps enough of the positives of Fable and manages to add a few perks as well. While the gameplay is simplistic, it's still very smooth and a joy to use. And the dog has to be one of the cleverest game-perks on this generation. As I've told friends, this is a God game masquerading as an action-RPG, and I mean that in the best way possible. It is a game meant to be played It keeps enough of the positives of Fable and manages to add a few perks as well. While the gameplay is simplistic, it's still very smooth and a joy to use. And the dog has to be one of the cleverest game-perks on this generation. As I've told friends, this is a God game masquerading as an action-RPG, and I mean that in the best way possible. It is a game meant to be played multiple times with multiple results, and I look forward to each journey. Expand
  42. Beguiler
    Nov 6, 2008
    8
    I found this game to be fun and enjoyable but not as fulfilling as the original
  43. gabep
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    Looks like ps3 fanboys have messed up this great game score like gears of war 2, this game its exeptional,this is the best rpg that ive played on my life graphics are great, great storyline, fast-paced action and much more, a game that a 360 owner must have.
  44. LeonardG.
    Oct 19, 2008
    9
    I haven't been attracted to a game like this since Mario Galaxy. The world is beautiful, the characters are entertaining the designs are original, the acting is good. Most importantly, the game is FUN and addictive. With Fallout 3 sucking everyone else's time away, I may stick to Fable 2 for my entertainment for a while. This game is great. My only complaints are only minimal, I haven't been attracted to a game like this since Mario Galaxy. The world is beautiful, the characters are entertaining the designs are original, the acting is good. Most importantly, the game is FUN and addictive. With Fallout 3 sucking everyone else's time away, I may stick to Fable 2 for my entertainment for a while. This game is great. My only complaints are only minimal, if it could have had about 4 more months in the oven, it could be perfect. The interface needed a bit more work. After I got married, I felt more unsure of how to have sex than I did in real life the first time. I had the bed there, she "wants sex" but I just couldn't figure out how to perform. Didn't see it in the menus and the brief popup info at the top went away too quickly, but this is only minor. I LOVE this game! Expand
  45. MichaelA.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    No RPG ever made has been perfect (except arguably Chrono Trigger). This game comes the closest I've seen to perfection since the mid-late '90s. Mass Effect, while a good game, is currently rated a 91 on here. Two points above this work of art. That hopefully will not continue for much longer.
  46. ChapmanS.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    This game is everything you wanted Fable 1 to be and more. A very worthy sequel and very deep rewarding gameplay. If it wasn't for Little Big Planet this would probably be game of the year.
  47. DavidN.
    Oct 21, 2008
    10
    It takes a while the get the hang of it, but then it's just pure and plain OWNAGE! From the combat system to the traveling menus and online, not anything to complain of. There's just one "If only...." and it's the fact you can't local coop. Then you wonder if they'll make it in an update, then you shut up and continue playing fable.
  48. DigitalE.
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    Fable II is everything you wanted the first Fable to be. It's still on the short side, but there's much more reason to play this time after the game is over and replay since you can play as a girl or guy. A must purchase if you are a fan of the original!!!
  49. EdwardB.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    I've played just a few hours of it. Lionhead's goal with this game have really shown and have provent to be quiet effective. I found myself smiling when my dog just wouldn't leave and I actually grew very fond of the darn thing. I do feel like the childhood portion may have been too short, but it works outs. Even when it was said the hobbes used to be little children kind I've played just a few hours of it. Lionhead's goal with this game have really shown and have provent to be quiet effective. I found myself smiling when my dog just wouldn't leave and I actually grew very fond of the darn thing. I do feel like the childhood portion may have been too short, but it works outs. Even when it was said the hobbes used to be little children kind of saddened me. I think Peter Molyneux's vision of creating some emotional attachment to an otherwise imaginable place is successful. I look forward to progressing and seeing what decisions wait for me ahead, Expand
  50. IngramvanHelvoort
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    It's clear that Robert H. has never actually played the game and is just trying to bash it, so don't mind him.
    The only reason people are downvoting this is because A: they don't like peter moly, B: they don't like the genre, or C: they don't like xbox 360 and it being exclusive..
    This game is great and a lot of fun, and a user score of 7.5 is total bull.. anyone
    It's clear that Robert H. has never actually played the game and is just trying to bash it, so don't mind him.
    The only reason people are downvoting this is because A: they don't like peter moly, B: they don't like the genre, or C: they don't like xbox 360 and it being exclusive..
    This game is great and a lot of fun, and a user score of 7.5 is total bull.. anyone who's actually played the game properly will generally give it around a 8/9 because that's what it's actually worth (at least), not 7.5 or below (it used to be lower due to ignorant bashers)
    Expand
  51. NathanV.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    So I love it when someone comes and votes for a game who doesn't even like the genre, let alone the particular game in question and gives the game an incredibly low score. Having played and loved the first one despite its shortcomings, it only took two minutes of playing Fable 2 last night to realize just how much better the game was. Two minutes turned into several hours and I had So I love it when someone comes and votes for a game who doesn't even like the genre, let alone the particular game in question and gives the game an incredibly low score. Having played and loved the first one despite its shortcomings, it only took two minutes of playing Fable 2 last night to realize just how much better the game was. Two minutes turned into several hours and I had barely done anything, I was so absorbed in running around talking to people and playing with my dog. How anyone, even a hater of the genre and the Xbox 360 could play this game and rate it as low as a 2 leads me to believe they didn't play it at all. Gears of War 2 will be awesome, but don't hate on our game while you wait. Expand
  52. RobinF.
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    I have not played fable 1,and Iam pretty new to the xbox game scene.I played Fable 2 for a couple of hours the other night and the game sucked me right in.WOW
  53. JohnS
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Despite the bugs and a few glitches if you are too shallow to look past its minor problems you wil lose out on one of the best gaming experiences. Its a very good game perhaps the bast and the story line is more emotional than any other i have seen. I highly recommend this game.
  54. NathanG
    Oct 24, 2008
    8
    So far, so good! I'm really enjoying this game, but there are a few things that I don't like, and hold it back from being a truly amazing rpg (like oblivion). They seemed to remove some of the cool things from fable 1 which bring the score down. For instance... where'd the combat multiplier go? I loved that bad boy! Now it just gives you bonus after each fight... thats no So far, so good! I'm really enjoying this game, but there are a few things that I don't like, and hold it back from being a truly amazing rpg (like oblivion). They seemed to remove some of the cool things from fable 1 which bring the score down. For instance... where'd the combat multiplier go? I loved that bad boy! Now it just gives you bonus after each fight... thats no fun! Also, the GUI is slow and clunky. In fable 1 you could access your items by pressing UP on the d-pad... why did they get rid of that? All whining aside, this is a fun game and I look forward to exploring, adventuring, and playing it again and again, Expand
  55. whoevernever
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    fuck off sony fanboys this game i amazing good dont listn to the fucking reviews who ever gave this game below 9.0 is the biggest idiot in the planet the graphics is abit better than gta4 and the voice acting is aamzing theirs so much to do i was stuned ! it world is amaziingly detailed and the gameplay is fucking well no words can express it but it has some downs do theirs alot of glitchsfuck off sony fanboys this game i amazing good dont listn to the fucking reviews who ever gave this game below 9.0 is the biggest idiot in the planet the graphics is abit better than gta4 and the voice acting is aamzing theirs so much to do i was stuned ! it world is amaziingly detailed and the gameplay is fucking well no words can express it but it has some downs do theirs alot of glitchs and bug becus its so huge buto ther than thatt its fucknig truly amazing and poeple stop fucking complaining about coop becuas coop is still good erven though u cant bring your own heros Expand
  56. JustinS.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    Love the conversations, Love the multipalyer, Love the wonderful country side and cities and inhabitants that live there. There isn't much not to love in Albion. I have been through it once and have invested about 48 hours of play am still enjoying new discoveries.
  57. FelixJC
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    Mesmerizing, and enthralling experience. The temptations, and emotions elluded to for years by Mollyneux, are realized beyond expectation. Fable 2 is a tremendous effort to evolve this now epic franchise.
  58. MikeL.
    Oct 26, 2008
    8
    Great game, lush visuals, fantastic lighting, and numerous side quests to add up the hours in this wonderful rpg, its one weak spot would have to be its main story. it just seems a bit dull, but even with this in mind i can honestly say this is a must buy for any rpg fan.
  59. LeroyR.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    Fable 2 is in short an amazing game and I think the qhole pet aspect of the game is extremely charming and well thought-out the first time I saw my pet in action I had this huge grin on my face. Its simply the coolest and most realistic thing on a game that I have seen. Oh and the game is awesome too.
  60. SamE.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    This is just an amazing game; must have! Beautifull graphics, great gameplay, and the voice acting is A+! A ust have for every RPG-gamer. And please, don't look to the user score, cause much people gave it a score like 0 before the game was actually released, it are just Microsoft haters!
  61. GeorgeM
    Oct 27, 2008
    8
    being a happy / frustrated fan of the first Fable, i HAD to take a chance with Fable 2....and luckily this improves upon its predessor in all the right places. Fable 1 was probably one of the most hyped games of its time because the talk was that it was gonna include a great and many things that simply DID NOT make the cut, which in turn gave us a good but not the great game everyone was being a happy / frustrated fan of the first Fable, i HAD to take a chance with Fable 2....and luckily this improves upon its predessor in all the right places. Fable 1 was probably one of the most hyped games of its time because the talk was that it was gonna include a great and many things that simply DID NOT make the cut, which in turn gave us a good but not the great game everyone was anticipating, false promises of this and that didn't make it in the game. Fable 2 DOES indeed fill a great and many of what was missing in Fable 1, but does that make it a great game.....well yeah, of course. graphically, if reminds me alot of Fable 1 just with the HD treatment and a much larger world, which all-in-all looks fantastic, colorful and very lively looking.....it simply pops off your screen and the lighting is the only MAJOR upgrade i noticed. music is top-notch and soundeffects ring loud and clear. Now the gameplay, this is where things get iffy depending on the gamer.....the controls in Fable 2 are VERY user-friendly, there is NOTHING complex about its gameplay....most of what you do is controlled by the use of single buttons which makes for a very accessible game and thats good or bad depending on how dumbed down you like your gameplay. The more traidtional RPG players and fans of games like Elder Scrolls Oblivion will probably play this and think its a little TOO basic and lacking depth, but for what its worth....the controls are spot-on. Overall, i'm very happy with this game.....its nice to visit this world once again, watch your character beomce good or evil, and farting, getting drunk, and sleepin around makes for a smile inducing good time. Expand
  62. JohnM.
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    Refreshing and unique. A fantastic range of flexibility and innovation. Despite a couple flaw, it would be a better world if more RPG developers put this much effort into their games.
  63. Grocs
    Oct 28, 2008
    8
    Fable 2 is a very good rpg - but it isn't perfect. In a sense it is a shame that Far Cry 2 and Fable 2 came out pretty much the same time as each other because I probably haven't given Fable 2 its dues. Luckily my wife is thoroughly enjoying Fable 2 so I can combine her gaming with mine to form an opinion. The combat, although sounding simplistic, is a good blend and once you Fable 2 is a very good rpg - but it isn't perfect. In a sense it is a shame that Far Cry 2 and Fable 2 came out pretty much the same time as each other because I probably haven't given Fable 2 its dues. Luckily my wife is thoroughly enjoying Fable 2 so I can combine her gaming with mine to form an opinion. The combat, although sounding simplistic, is a good blend and once you get the hang of it you'll be fighting with heaps of flourish. The emotion system is ok - I'd prefer the traditional speech approach but my wife loves the emotional responses. The story is quite well done. The dog is great. I guess my main problem with it is that loading times can be slightly annoying - when you go from one area to the next it does take a while. This may be allievated slightly when the new dash update comes out on the 360 which supposedly allows you to copy an entire game to the hard drive - this should speed things up. It feels a little restrictive in where you can go - jumping some walls tends to be a problem. You can marry (either straight or gay) which is a nice touch. It is a nice game to look at but not nearly as nice as say, Far Cry 2, nor Fallout 3 from what I've seen of that so far. It is a sweet rpg - some adult themes involved but overall going to be much more family friendly than Fallout 3. If it had less loading times and a bit more dialogue it could have been better. I guess the main reason (apart from those listed) that it gets an 8 is that the much hyped co-op mode is a big let down (both offline and the patched online on release) - I can understand why they used a henchman system but it would have been better to scale your own hero (if level scaling was the reason they decided on the henchmen idea in the first place). Do not buy this game for the co-op. Henchmen can't do half the stuff the hero can do and the camera is terrible (you have to stay in the same vicinity even via xbox live). So a decent effort but make sure you buy it for the single player experience. Expand
  64. JamesB
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    I am surprised at the level of criticism this game is recieving and I am not sure what people are expecting, but I find it very frustrating that people give a 3 for a game that is quite obviously deserving of a higher mark. Now if you were to say IronMan then fair enough that is a 3! There is a lot of love that has been put into this game. The basic questing is relatively simple but it I am surprised at the level of criticism this game is recieving and I am not sure what people are expecting, but I find it very frustrating that people give a 3 for a game that is quite obviously deserving of a higher mark. Now if you were to say IronMan then fair enough that is a 3! There is a lot of love that has been put into this game. The basic questing is relatively simple but it done in an intuative way. The game environments are excellent and engaging and I like the style they have used. Where as the game isn't necessarily unique it does what it does well. It is quite easy to explore and go off route and just appreciate the game for what it is. Honestly look at all the mainstream reviews and make up your own mind, but a thoroughly great game that deserves to be played. Expand
  65. JohnW
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    As I anticipated, this game has set a high standard for RPGs. Some might say that the story line is a little boring but this is untrue. Although they could have come up with something more unique. However I had so much fun completing the side quests and buying stuff like houses in towns, and getting married that i forgot that there was a main plot to the game. Over all I gave the game a 9 As I anticipated, this game has set a high standard for RPGs. Some might say that the story line is a little boring but this is untrue. Although they could have come up with something more unique. However I had so much fun completing the side quests and buying stuff like houses in towns, and getting married that i forgot that there was a main plot to the game. Over all I gave the game a 9 because there is a bit of a lengthy load time and an occasional glitch that will get you stuck and cause you to reload. however I haven't had this much fun playing an RPG since FF7 and with the coop feature added it makes the game that much more fun. good job and great game. Expand
  66. johno
    Jan 21, 2009
    9
    Fable 2 is a great game. the only flaws that I can find is that the main storyline is a little short; surely lionhead could have made it a little longer? if you like to have challenge in your games, leave this and pick up a copy of far cry 2 instead, but the excellent thing fable 2 does is it makes it appear that there is a challenge, even when closer inspection reveals there isn't. Fable 2 is a great game. the only flaws that I can find is that the main storyline is a little short; surely lionhead could have made it a little longer? if you like to have challenge in your games, leave this and pick up a copy of far cry 2 instead, but the excellent thing fable 2 does is it makes it appear that there is a challenge, even when closer inspection reveals there isn't. this game comes highly recommended, as the gameplay and the combat feels fluid, impressive and fun at the same time. Expand
  67. MikeM
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    This was (and still is) one of the best games I have ever played. The overall storyline is short, but sweet and satisfying to play. But what you do when you aren't playing the storyline is what separates this game from the rest. You can have a family and job and live a good life or you could sleep with hookers and kill for a living; either way, this game is very enjoyable. If you This was (and still is) one of the best games I have ever played. The overall storyline is short, but sweet and satisfying to play. But what you do when you aren't playing the storyline is what separates this game from the rest. You can have a family and job and live a good life or you could sleep with hookers and kill for a living; either way, this game is very enjoyable. If you choose to be evil and corrupt you will become dark and grow horns. If you are good and pure you will likewise look extremely attractive. You also get money (if you rent out) for every 5 minutes of real time, that means you are making money while you sleep, this makes the game a lot easier, but it also unlocks doors, such as buying homes and stores to make a living. Buy this game and choose your destiny. Expand
  68. AnonymousMC
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    Honestly, I was not terribly impressed with Fable I, but Fable II is definitely an improvement over the original in just about every way. It's simply one of those titles that you play the **** out of until you're bored and feel like underrating it just because it's gotten old to you. I guess I'm less impulsive than some of the other reviewers. Yeah, I guess itHonestly, I was not terribly impressed with Fable I, but Fable II is definitely an improvement over the original in just about every way. It's simply one of those titles that you play the **** out of until you're bored and feel like underrating it just because it's gotten old to you. I guess I'm less impulsive than some of the other reviewers. Yeah, I guess it wasn't the brightest RPG of '07 (that would've been fallout 3), but it wasn't the dimmest either. Expand
  69. BenD
    Feb 2, 2009
    8
    A good solid game, i enjoyed playing this a lot!! loads of lush weapons to collect a stuff, but the ending was weak and the choices and the end spoilt it. Its too easy to make money and why did they take out armor from the last one???? clearly the best thing about the last one was saving up to get the lushest armor possible. Oh well i ll probably still play it even though i own everything A good solid game, i enjoyed playing this a lot!! loads of lush weapons to collect a stuff, but the ending was weak and the choices and the end spoilt it. Its too easy to make money and why did they take out armor from the last one???? clearly the best thing about the last one was saving up to get the lushest armor possible. Oh well i ll probably still play it even though i own everything in the game. Expand
  70. AustinM.
    Feb 4, 2009
    8
    This is decidingly the best game i have bought in a lllooonnnngggggg time. Even after you beat the main story, you do extra missions and scout for legendary weapons in the gaming universe that you could kill peasants and hobbes with, and you can have t********s with w*****, and get an achievement for it. At first is a little slower than it should be, it being dragged down by doing the This is decidingly the best game i have bought in a lllooonnnngggggg time. Even after you beat the main story, you do extra missions and scout for legendary weapons in the gaming universe that you could kill peasants and hobbes with, and you can have t********s with w*****, and get an achievement for it. At first is a little slower than it should be, it being dragged down by doing the childhood quest. But, the achievements are the most funny and inventive that have ever been made. Collapse
  71. BillA
    Nov 1, 2008
    8
    Delivers on much of what the original hadn
  72. JaronR
    Nov 1, 2008
    8
    I love how no one on this website understands how game ratings work. THIS GAME LACKS ONE FEATURE THAT I WANTED SO IT IS A 0. What is wrong with you? In what world is a single player RPG a "0" because the co-op is lacking? I don't understand. Overall I found it to be a very fun game with plenty to do, and an interesting story. The fact that you have to have played pub games to get the I love how no one on this website understands how game ratings work. THIS GAME LACKS ONE FEATURE THAT I WANTED SO IT IS A 0. What is wrong with you? In what world is a single player RPG a "0" because the co-op is lacking? I don't understand. Overall I found it to be a very fun game with plenty to do, and an interesting story. The fact that you have to have played pub games to get the completionist achievement is pretty lame though. Expand
  73. JohnA.
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    This game has so many features, and that alone merits the game a score of 10! Peter Molyneux really put his heart in this one, and there no broken promises like the previous one. This game is awesome!
  74. BrandonM.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    Great graphics,social interaction that has never been done this well in an rpg before,combat: ease of use and difficulty to master makes this enjoyable to all.removing armor stats in clothing lets you look any way you want without hindering yourself, and amazing ai even for the dog.
  75. Dan
    Oct 19, 2008
    9
    I only received this yesterday(thanks Hardly Normal for breaking the embargo, Suckers!) but have been having a blast so far. An excellently crafted world full of charm and life. Your canine companion is one of the best examples of in game animation I have seen ever making it very hard not to feel a connection with him. From what I have seen there is plenty of depth to the I only received this yesterday(thanks Hardly Normal for breaking the embargo, Suckers!) but have been having a blast so far. An excellently crafted world full of charm and life. Your canine companion is one of the best examples of in game animation I have seen ever making it very hard not to feel a connection with him. From what I have seen there is plenty of depth to the combat,magic,ranged weapons,economic and social systems, whilst if you don't want to get to involved any of these areas you dont have to. I am playing on the good side so far, but I can see there is a huge potential to have a lot of wicked fun as an evil S.O.B. Have to try co-op soon as it shouod be great. There are some flaws but the overall package is that good that they are easily overlooked. Cant wait finish work and see how much money my pie shop has earned. Happy Adventuring all!!!! Expand
  76. GarrettS.
    Dec 20, 2008
    9
    This is a grat game. Don't listen to the other reviewers that gave it a low score. Those reviewers probably haven't even played the game or there just angry because it isn't on the PS3. This game is what Peter Molyneux promised in the first game and more.
  77. AndrewM.
    Oct 22, 2008
    8
    Really solid game. Huge improvement over the first Fable, which I didn't really enjoy too much. Still a bit on the short side, and has the all-too-familiar 75% finished feel to it as far as the storyline goes. I guess it means it's easy for them to sell us the expansion when it comes out. The combat felt awesome, although was really a bit too easy, which coming from me, Really solid game. Huge improvement over the first Fable, which I didn't really enjoy too much. Still a bit on the short side, and has the all-too-familiar 75% finished feel to it as far as the storyline goes. I guess it means it's easy for them to sell us the expansion when it comes out. The combat felt awesome, although was really a bit too easy, which coming from me, indicates that it was far, far too easy. Property ownership is expanded and more worthwhile, and engagement with the other people in the world is a lot more interesting, although there's no real challenge to it. Fun, though. A prostitute offered me sex, so I married her instead. She lives in a caravan. Expand
  78. AlanD
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    Epic, the story draws you in and has some really good twists, raises some interesting moral questions and the voices are just impressive. The art and graphics are wonderful and lush, there is a lot of extra content to get involved with and just lost. It's one of those rare games that has a certain magic something - all you can think about during the day is what to do with your hero Epic, the story draws you in and has some really good twists, raises some interesting moral questions and the voices are just impressive. The art and graphics are wonderful and lush, there is a lot of extra content to get involved with and just lost. It's one of those rare games that has a certain magic something - all you can think about during the day is what to do with your hero as soon as you get home, you cancel dates with friends just to be able to spend some more time in Albion. The music is just perfect. The local multiplayer is great for when a friend comes around and you don't want to stop playing - he can just quickly drop in! The online part of it is less interesting but still cool to show off your world and hero. The orbs (set to Everyone under options) is just pure genius. Expand
  79. PeterA.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Awesome game so far. Took everything I loved about the first game and made it so much better. I love my dog and I am glad they improved the usefulness of the gun/crossbow compared to the prior game. I am also voting just to offset the idiot who did not play the game but gave it a 2.
  80. IndyR.
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    Must buy. Only problem, needs a more open map and longer campaign. But don't let this put you off at all, the game is so sick that anyone who enjoyed the first will love this one.
  81. James
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    I am blown away by this game, its magical. I never really got on with these games as I lost my direction but this holds your hand through it, (if you want). The graphics are mindblowing I am amazed that reviews haven't really mentioned that and they really add to the games charm, also I love the British humour!! BUY IT!
  82. JishanF
    Oct 25, 2008
    8
    While this game is not as great as it could have been its not horrible either. It's a pretty good RPG and I have enjoyed playing through the story on single player. The co-op leaves much to be desired and could perhaps be fixed with a future patch. Otherwise, still worth taking a look at but I can't reccommend a purchase.
  83. Ryencoke
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    What a great game. Very well done I must say Lionhead Studios. I did beat the game and do everything that you can do for the side quests and the game itself was excellent took about 23 hours, but they really should have held out on us for a couple more months to fix and add some stuff. Allow me to just point out some stuff that they really should have added to the game; Minimap, What a great game. Very well done I must say Lionhead Studios. I did beat the game and do everything that you can do for the side quests and the game itself was excellent took about 23 hours, but they really should have held out on us for a couple more months to fix and add some stuff. Allow me to just point out some stuff that they really should have added to the game; Minimap, breadcrumb trail is a let me hold your hand aspect that should have been selective. Loadtimes are the one reason that I knock this to a 9 instead of a 10. They are often and are a wait. Big downfall. Other 2 minor aspects that were bad for me: way to small variation of clothing. Like 7 pairs in total? And there is no armor which totally sucks. And of course other small things. Aside from the bad aspects though, the game was great don't get me wrong. The story was great, gameplay was exciting and fun. Just needed to make it bigggggggggggggggggger. The world seemed small. So far though in all honesty it's my Game Of The Year. Let's see how Fallout 3, LBP & Gears Of War 2 are first. But it's in 1st so far. Very worthy buy. Love and enjoy. Expand
  84. CarolD.
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    Excellent game. my family will be playing this for ages. Thumbs up to Molyneaux for expanding the RPG universe. Truly makes you care - goes from fun to annoyance - some people make you want to smack them over and over! - to yes, missing that dog when he wanders off. Oblivion was cardboard compared to this. One gripe - the mao is too small.
  85. JohnJ.
    Oct 25, 2008
    8
    I'm a fan of the original fable and this definitely surpasses it. It's a gorgeous world with detailed game play and lush graphics. Though the story is not particularly engrossing, the writing is nevertheless clever and witty, in a very ''British Comedy'' sort of way, and even where the story lacks, immersion is no less with the fantastic AI and the addictive I'm a fan of the original fable and this definitely surpasses it. It's a gorgeous world with detailed game play and lush graphics. Though the story is not particularly engrossing, the writing is nevertheless clever and witty, in a very ''British Comedy'' sort of way, and even where the story lacks, immersion is no less with the fantastic AI and the addictive gameplay. Oblivion has to be mentioned, for it's the only real competition (though they're both wholly different) fable has in terms of a western RPG on the 360, and it does seem to draw a few influences from that. It may even surpass it in AI, but overall Itstill falls slightly short of it. It's a slightly flawed yet fantastic rpg, and Lionhead is getting better with each swing, so it may be safe to expect that we've seen nothing yet. Expand
  86. Knoell
    Oct 26, 2008
    9
    This game is excellent on any level, there are a few issues in the game that can be annoying, but the coop is growing on me and im starting to realize why they made it the way it is. In any event this game is a solid 9.
  87. BrianC
    Oct 31, 2008
    8
    Very good game, I especially enjoyed the exploration and the fighting sequences. I like the game so much, that I'm afraid to finish the main quest because I just don't want it to end. However, if I had any complaints, it must be that the variety of weapons, buildings, magic, and clothings are pretty limited. There is only so many variations you can choose that make you still Very good game, I especially enjoyed the exploration and the fighting sequences. I like the game so much, that I'm afraid to finish the main quest because I just don't want it to end. However, if I had any complaints, it must be that the variety of weapons, buildings, magic, and clothings are pretty limited. There is only so many variations you can choose that make you still look cool, nagging questions such as, "Where are the capes? I want my freaking cape" sometimes crop to mind. Also a big annoyance is the long load times. It's natural for any RPG game of this magnitude to have load times, but these instances still bother me immensely. All in all though, the game is still a blast to play. Expand
  88. SarahR
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    A very fine game. It has an actual plot (which apperently most games I find don't have) and the graphics are beautiful. Also, I only found 1 bug in it, whenever I get knocked out my hair goes crazy and sometime my head spins, but I find it amusing so, 10.
  89. christianb
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    Love it great game fun humorous Ect, The game is really big..... allot of HUGE games like Fable II, Oblivion, fallout3 Ect, have bugs in them,, well i doubt someone can make a massive game like fable with no bugs!
  90. AnonymousMC
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    LULZ THIS GAME SUCKS!!!

    Oh wait, no it doesn't. Who cares if you can't customize your character the same as in the first one? Big fucking deal. So much of the game is amazing: the art style, combat, the story, and more. Sure the dog and other aspects of the game aren't as revelatory as they were supposed to be, but have you come to expect anything else from Peter Molynux?
    LULZ THIS GAME SUCKS!!!

    Oh wait, no it doesn't. Who cares if you can't customize your character the same as in the first one? Big fucking deal. So much of the game is amazing: the art style, combat, the story, and more. Sure the dog and other aspects of the game aren't as revelatory as they were supposed to be, but have you come to expect anything else from Peter Molynux? Seriously.
    Expand
  91. CraigR
    Dec 31, 2008
    8
    this game has its good and bad points the dog idea was executed brilliantly as was the soundtrack and combat but it was to short and left me feeling a bit lied to its not as satasfiying to complete the main storyline as i would have hoped making money is far to easy you can make way to much money far to fast it takes no time to get any sum of money if your renting out enough proporties this game has its good and bad points the dog idea was executed brilliantly as was the soundtrack and combat but it was to short and left me feeling a bit lied to its not as satasfiying to complete the main storyline as i would have hoped making money is far to easy you can make way to much money far to fast it takes no time to get any sum of money if your renting out enough proporties and just in general it doesnt feel like the expansive ever changing world promised with only a few bits of the story actually having any noticable change on the world you inhabit Expand
  92. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    Fable 2 is what people in the industry would call a
  93. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    In my opinion Fable II is a totally unique and very enjoyable RPG. It took me nearly two years to play this game since it was released back in 2008, 1) because I didn't buy a 360 until recently and 2) because Fable 1 was quite a letdown for me. The characters were fun but the entire world just felt so small and confined, like an MMO that I was beta testing. This game raised the bar inIn my opinion Fable II is a totally unique and very enjoyable RPG. It took me nearly two years to play this game since it was released back in 2008, 1) because I didn't buy a 360 until recently and 2) because Fable 1 was quite a letdown for me. The characters were fun but the entire world just felt so small and confined, like an MMO that I was beta testing. This game raised the bar in absolutely everything. Story, Gameplay, Characters, Side-quests, and so much more. If you love action RPGs then you absolutely cannot miss out on this game. Expand
  94. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    By technical aspects the game is not perfect, but damn-it, it's enjoyable. It's one of the only games that to me merited a replay not just once, but 3 separate times. That's right. I played through the game 4 times (not in a row), and am planning on playing it again. Way better than its sequel.
  95. Apr 6, 2011
    9
    Fable II is one of the greatest RPGs and one of the greatest games I've ever played, and in my personal the best so far in the Fable series, the gameplay, story, and features are outstanding, as are the graphics and sound, and it's just so much fun, but it does have its flaws like the bugs and glitches, and the fact that it lags in populated areas, but this is still a highly enjoyableFable II is one of the greatest RPGs and one of the greatest games I've ever played, and in my personal the best so far in the Fable series, the gameplay, story, and features are outstanding, as are the graphics and sound, and it's just so much fun, but it does have its flaws like the bugs and glitches, and the fact that it lags in populated areas, but this is still a highly enjoyable experience I can recommend to all. Expand
  96. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Absolutely loved this game, so much so I played it from start to finish twice. I can see from the other reviews that you either like this sort of game or you don't, and I am one that does. There are many well known voice actors, the game looks beautiful and plays well and is full of humour.
  97. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    I very much enjoyed Fable II. Character interactions, combat controls, and the expression system are unique among RPGs which makes for a refreshing feel. I like toying with the locals as much as I enjoy toying with my own morality. The only major issue was feeling like the game was over too quickly (which was unfortunately the same problem with the original Fable). There were lots of oddI very much enjoyed Fable II. Character interactions, combat controls, and the expression system are unique among RPGs which makes for a refreshing feel. I like toying with the locals as much as I enjoy toying with my own morality. The only major issue was feeling like the game was over too quickly (which was unfortunately the same problem with the original Fable). There were lots of odd little achievments along the way that were also fun. :) Expand
  98. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    FANTASIC GAME!! I loved the first fable i still play it to this day. I have rarely come by a Lion head studio game which i didn't like, the story wasn't my favorite if they would have stayed with the heros guild it would have made this game perfect. The dog is perfect, they did a great job with it. graphics were awesome. the game play was so much better then the first one. you can get moreFANTASIC GAME!! I loved the first fable i still play it to this day. I have rarely come by a Lion head studio game which i didn't like, the story wasn't my favorite if they would have stayed with the heros guild it would have made this game perfect. The dog is perfect, they did a great job with it. graphics were awesome. the game play was so much better then the first one. you can get more involded in your world and the world changes with you. fun game :) Expand
  99. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Story: 7
    Characters: 10
    Graphics: 8
    Setting: 10
    Multiplayer: 5
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 7
    Re-Playability Value: 8
    Fun Factor: 8

    Score: 8.3/10 = A-
  100. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    this is my review:
    pros
    -the story is the best in the series - combat is way better than the first one in a landslide -the world in the game is huge and there are a ton of a fun and exited side missions -lots of
    this is my review:
    pros
    -the story is the best in the series
    - combat is way better than the first one in a landslide
    -the world in the game is huge and there are a ton of a fun and exited side missions -lots of cusomization -can do almost anything (like buy and rent houses get married and have children)
    -the dog is an awesome addition to the series
    -beautiful graphics
    cons
    -co-op is horrible
    -this game crashed on me a few times (it may of been just of my game)
    Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 95 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 95
  2. Negative: 0 out of 95
  1. Fable II is everything Molyneux promised the first time around. It's funny, deep, emotional, epic, and, yes, wildly charming. We are already eager for a second playthrough, and we're betting a lot of you will have exactly the same reaction. [Dec 2008, p.68]
  2. It’s a game that builds gradually and then becomes irresistible, a beautiful lump of an RPG that continues beyond the close of its main campaign, and will have you thinking about it when you’re not at your 360. [Dec 2008, p.79]
  3. The combat handles well, it’s visually stunning, the voice acting and musical score are brilliant, and the epic storyline doesn’t end before it begins (like the first game did). But the most appealing thing about it is that it delivers everything that Molyneux has promised, plus it is oozing with wit and charm - something sorely lacking from many games nowadays. At the end of the day, Fable II is a triumph and a must buy.