Fable II Xbox 360

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2351 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EdwardB.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    I've played just a few hours of it. Lionhead's goal with this game have really shown and have provent to be quiet effective. I found myself smiling when my dog just wouldn't leave and I actually grew very fond of the darn thing. I do feel like the childhood portion may have been too short, but it works outs. Even when it was said the hobbes used to be little children kind I've played just a few hours of it. Lionhead's goal with this game have really shown and have provent to be quiet effective. I found myself smiling when my dog just wouldn't leave and I actually grew very fond of the darn thing. I do feel like the childhood portion may have been too short, but it works outs. Even when it was said the hobbes used to be little children kind of saddened me. I think Peter Molyneux's vision of creating some emotional attachment to an otherwise imaginable place is successful. I look forward to progressing and seeing what decisions wait for me ahead, Expand
  2. maxs
    Oct 23, 2008
    5
    after the first one disappointed me so much, and hearing how good this one was, i decided to pick it up. More of the same! I can't believe after how boring the first was, that they continue the same. Such a disappointment, i can't believe how gimmicky this game tries to be.
  3. IngramvanHelvoort
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    It's clear that Robert H. has never actually played the game and is just trying to bash it, so don't mind him.
    The only reason people are downvoting this is because A: they don't like peter moly, B: they don't like the genre, or C: they don't like xbox 360 and it being exclusive..
    This game is great and a lot of fun, and a user score of 7.5 is total bull.. anyone
    It's clear that Robert H. has never actually played the game and is just trying to bash it, so don't mind him.
    The only reason people are downvoting this is because A: they don't like peter moly, B: they don't like the genre, or C: they don't like xbox 360 and it being exclusive..
    This game is great and a lot of fun, and a user score of 7.5 is total bull.. anyone who's actually played the game properly will generally give it around a 8/9 because that's what it's actually worth (at least), not 7.5 or below (it used to be lower due to ignorant bashers)
    Expand
  4. NathanV.
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    So I love it when someone comes and votes for a game who doesn't even like the genre, let alone the particular game in question and gives the game an incredibly low score. Having played and loved the first one despite its shortcomings, it only took two minutes of playing Fable 2 last night to realize just how much better the game was. Two minutes turned into several hours and I had So I love it when someone comes and votes for a game who doesn't even like the genre, let alone the particular game in question and gives the game an incredibly low score. Having played and loved the first one despite its shortcomings, it only took two minutes of playing Fable 2 last night to realize just how much better the game was. Two minutes turned into several hours and I had barely done anything, I was so absorbed in running around talking to people and playing with my dog. How anyone, even a hater of the genre and the Xbox 360 could play this game and rate it as low as a 2 leads me to believe they didn't play it at all. Gears of War 2 will be awesome, but don't hate on our game while you wait. Expand
  5. MikeFromPA
    Dec 30, 2008
    7
    Pros: Beautiful landscapes, co-op play, no level grinding needed, nice story, brilliant interacting abilities with townfolks. Nice combination of several genres of gaming. Gameplay suits folks of many different play levels and styles. I enjoyed a game that is finally catering to the older gamer. Cons: would have like to see more quests instead of jobs for gold. Jobs themselves are silly, Pros: Beautiful landscapes, co-op play, no level grinding needed, nice story, brilliant interacting abilities with townfolks. Nice combination of several genres of gaming. Gameplay suits folks of many different play levels and styles. I enjoyed a game that is finally catering to the older gamer. Cons: would have like to see more quests instead of jobs for gold. Jobs themselves are silly, pushing a button over and over again is mind-numbing. While the golden trail to follow was helpful in the beginning, an option to turn it off would be nice. The areas felt confined, with many limited to a set path--I've been spoiled by more recent RPGs and MMOs. Recommended overall, very good game. Expand
  6. RobinF.
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    I have not played fable 1,and Iam pretty new to the xbox game scene.I played Fable 2 for a couple of hours the other night and the game sucked me right in.WOW
  7. JohnS
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Despite the bugs and a few glitches if you are too shallow to look past its minor problems you wil lose out on one of the best gaming experiences. Its a very good game perhaps the bast and the story line is more emotional than any other i have seen. I highly recommend this game.
  8. NathanG
    Oct 24, 2008
    8
    So far, so good! I'm really enjoying this game, but there are a few things that I don't like, and hold it back from being a truly amazing rpg (like oblivion). They seemed to remove some of the cool things from fable 1 which bring the score down. For instance... where'd the combat multiplier go? I loved that bad boy! Now it just gives you bonus after each fight... thats no So far, so good! I'm really enjoying this game, but there are a few things that I don't like, and hold it back from being a truly amazing rpg (like oblivion). They seemed to remove some of the cool things from fable 1 which bring the score down. For instance... where'd the combat multiplier go? I loved that bad boy! Now it just gives you bonus after each fight... thats no fun! Also, the GUI is slow and clunky. In fable 1 you could access your items by pressing UP on the d-pad... why did they get rid of that? All whining aside, this is a fun game and I look forward to exploring, adventuring, and playing it again and again, Expand
  9. jimbo
    Oct 24, 2008
    1
    This game is bland boring and same from Microshaft. They are trying to dominate and stagnate the gaming industry as they have done with the PC industry for the past 20 years. Microshaft would like the public and tech in general to advance when they say we can advance. I don't have Windows anything at home is use Linux, FreeBSD and Solaris.
  10. whoevernever
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    fuck off sony fanboys this game i amazing good dont listn to the fucking reviews who ever gave this game below 9.0 is the biggest idiot in the planet the graphics is abit better than gta4 and the voice acting is aamzing theirs so much to do i was stuned ! it world is amaziingly detailed and the gameplay is fucking well no words can express it but it has some downs do theirs alot of glitchsfuck off sony fanboys this game i amazing good dont listn to the fucking reviews who ever gave this game below 9.0 is the biggest idiot in the planet the graphics is abit better than gta4 and the voice acting is aamzing theirs so much to do i was stuned ! it world is amaziingly detailed and the gameplay is fucking well no words can express it but it has some downs do theirs alot of glitchs and bug becus its so huge buto ther than thatt its fucknig truly amazing and poeple stop fucking complaining about coop becuas coop is still good erven though u cant bring your own heros Expand
  11. JustinS.
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    Love the conversations, Love the multipalyer, Love the wonderful country side and cities and inhabitants that live there. There isn't much not to love in Albion. I have been through it once and have invested about 48 hours of play am still enjoying new discoveries.
  12. KaiN.
    Oct 25, 2008
    4
    Awesome game, apart from the game breaking bugs, shoddy CDs that stop working after you have played the game for more than X hours, and the crummy choices of CoOp characters that player 2 must choose from, instead of using his own characters apperance from their own game.
  13. MrG
    Oct 25, 2008
    6
    Quite a dull game, I got bored of it very quickly, and have already traded it in. Suprised to see so many 10's I wonder how many of them work for Microsoft?
  14. FelixJC
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    Mesmerizing, and enthralling experience. The temptations, and emotions elluded to for years by Mollyneux, are realized beyond expectation. Fable 2 is a tremendous effort to evolve this now epic franchise.
  15. MikeL.
    Oct 26, 2008
    8
    Great game, lush visuals, fantastic lighting, and numerous side quests to add up the hours in this wonderful rpg, its one weak spot would have to be its main story. it just seems a bit dull, but even with this in mind i can honestly say this is a must buy for any rpg fan.
  16. DinglerD
    Oct 26, 2008
    7
    The main quest was too short, but luckily there's still alot to do. The combat system is simply brilliant and so is the skill/exp system. Good dialouge, solid story and a nice soundtrack. The social aspect lacks depth and falls to the ground; hard! I experienced quite a few bugs and graphical glithes during my first playthrough reducing this games ability to draw one into its The main quest was too short, but luckily there's still alot to do. The combat system is simply brilliant and so is the skill/exp system. Good dialouge, solid story and a nice soundtrack. The social aspect lacks depth and falls to the ground; hard! I experienced quite a few bugs and graphical glithes during my first playthrough reducing this games ability to draw one into its universe. All in all this game didn't justify the hype, but really no game ever did. If you're a fan of the first Fable it's definitely worth a spin. Or if your just tired of JRPG this game proves that western RPG's can be solid and entertaining, to some extent at least. Expand
  17. Pieter
    Oct 26, 2008
    3
    I bought the game mainly to play online coop with a friend. The online coop is really unplayable: no more control over the camera, the second player can't play with his "hero" but has to use a sidekick, the players _have_ to stay within a range of about 20 meters from eachother, ... In my opinion, the coop exists online to be able to put "online coop" on the box. A pure marketing stunt.
  18. LeroyR.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    Fable 2 is in short an amazing game and I think the qhole pet aspect of the game is extremely charming and well thought-out the first time I saw my pet in action I had this huge grin on my face. Its simply the coolest and most realistic thing on a game that I have seen. Oh and the game is awesome too.
  19. SamE.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    This is just an amazing game; must have! Beautifull graphics, great gameplay, and the voice acting is A+! A ust have for every RPG-gamer. And please, don't look to the user score, cause much people gave it a score like 0 before the game was actually released, it are just Microsoft haters!
  20. DanielG.
    Oct 26, 2008
    6
    Could have been so much more. The world is large, beautifully rendered, and all the mechanics are here for a long and inspired adventure. It's too bad Lionhead squandered all that hard-work on a 6 hour campaign that is padded with marginally interesting side-quests. This could have been a Masterpiece; instead, it's a piece of...Well it's not that bad....But it is Could have been so much more. The world is large, beautifully rendered, and all the mechanics are here for a long and inspired adventure. It's too bad Lionhead squandered all that hard-work on a 6 hour campaign that is padded with marginally interesting side-quests. This could have been a Masterpiece; instead, it's a piece of...Well it's not that bad....But it is disappointing. Save your money; rent it. Expand
  21. FawfulS.
    Oct 26, 2008
    3
    The main quest is terrible. There's no depth in the combat system at all. There are literally only 5 classes of enemies in this game, and they were all reused from the first one. Not only that, but they have no depth. As for the combat, it really just involves pressing x. Or if you want skill, pressing Y. I don't know how these Xbox gamers can enjoy button-mashing X for hours on The main quest is terrible. There's no depth in the combat system at all. There are literally only 5 classes of enemies in this game, and they were all reused from the first one. Not only that, but they have no depth. As for the combat, it really just involves pressing x. Or if you want skill, pressing Y. I don't know how these Xbox gamers can enjoy button-mashing X for hours on end. It gets old and boring after 5 minutes. The experiences system is a bit better, but overall doesn't make up for the depth-less combat. It makes me wonder happens if you make a 360 gamer play a real RPG. You know, an RPG with more than 5 enemies and requires thinking. I mean, would these gamers be able to handle it? It requires them to think! Story is also predictable and rehashed from the first game. There's also the occasional puzzle, but they are way too easy. Overall the main quest was short, shallow, and rehashed from the first game. Where this game shines is the exploration. There's far more exploration in this game then main quest, which is good, because there's actually fun to be had in it. It's fun trying to get married, sell real-estate, find silver keys, and figure out clever demon doors. I also like how your evolves through depending on what you do, like the first game. But also like the first game, being evil or good doesn't really affect the overall outcome of the game, which I hated. Overall this game is not very good at all. I judge games on their main-quest, not their side-quests. And this is typical shallow western-RPG crap that gamers who can't think will gobble up as the greatest RPG ever. If you find button mashing for hours fun, simple puzzles too complicated/annoying, and awesome graphics = awesome game-play, then you'll love this game. Expand
  22. GeorgeM
    Oct 27, 2008
    8
    being a happy / frustrated fan of the first Fable, i HAD to take a chance with Fable 2....and luckily this improves upon its predessor in all the right places. Fable 1 was probably one of the most hyped games of its time because the talk was that it was gonna include a great and many things that simply DID NOT make the cut, which in turn gave us a good but not the great game everyone was being a happy / frustrated fan of the first Fable, i HAD to take a chance with Fable 2....and luckily this improves upon its predessor in all the right places. Fable 1 was probably one of the most hyped games of its time because the talk was that it was gonna include a great and many things that simply DID NOT make the cut, which in turn gave us a good but not the great game everyone was anticipating, false promises of this and that didn't make it in the game. Fable 2 DOES indeed fill a great and many of what was missing in Fable 1, but does that make it a great game.....well yeah, of course. graphically, if reminds me alot of Fable 1 just with the HD treatment and a much larger world, which all-in-all looks fantastic, colorful and very lively looking.....it simply pops off your screen and the lighting is the only MAJOR upgrade i noticed. music is top-notch and soundeffects ring loud and clear. Now the gameplay, this is where things get iffy depending on the gamer.....the controls in Fable 2 are VERY user-friendly, there is NOTHING complex about its gameplay....most of what you do is controlled by the use of single buttons which makes for a very accessible game and thats good or bad depending on how dumbed down you like your gameplay. The more traidtional RPG players and fans of games like Elder Scrolls Oblivion will probably play this and think its a little TOO basic and lacking depth, but for what its worth....the controls are spot-on. Overall, i'm very happy with this game.....its nice to visit this world once again, watch your character beomce good or evil, and farting, getting drunk, and sleepin around makes for a smile inducing good time. Expand
  23. JohnM.
    Oct 27, 2008
    9
    Refreshing and unique. A fantastic range of flexibility and innovation. Despite a couple flaw, it would be a better world if more RPG developers put this much effort into their games.
  24. SimonE
    Oct 28, 2008
    4
    So I finished the main storyline and was generally satisfied with the game. The gun element is cool, but takes a little of the skill out of the game. In fact, I was a little disappointed so much from the first game was missing....what happened to the cool weapon rewards behind the Demon Doors for starters? Just a bunch of money and stuff I could get elsewhere in the game. Anyways, whilst So I finished the main storyline and was generally satisfied with the game. The gun element is cool, but takes a little of the skill out of the game. In fact, I was a little disappointed so much from the first game was missing....what happened to the cool weapon rewards behind the Demon Doors for starters? Just a bunch of money and stuff I could get elsewhere in the game. Anyways, whilst playing through the main game I became increasingly aware of how difficult it became at times to action stuff with the 'A' button. Most of the time I could only look at the property titles by standing at the sides. Also, characters had a tendency to jump straight into the air before falling back to earth.....very bizarre. Some characters also repeated their lines occasionally. However, worst of all (something that has left me seething) is the massive glitch on the quest 'Love Hurts'. I did all the searches for Lady Grey - on the last one you have to get her head, however, when returning it to the Grave Digger he just stands there and doesn't do anything. I tried to go out the building and come back in again, and at that point noticed I was walking through the door and also heard the grave digger asking me the same stuff he asked in the beginning.....very frustrating.... II liked Fable 2, even if it was ridiculously easy and requiring no skill at all..... Expand
  25. Grocs
    Oct 28, 2008
    8
    Fable 2 is a very good rpg - but it isn't perfect. In a sense it is a shame that Far Cry 2 and Fable 2 came out pretty much the same time as each other because I probably haven't given Fable 2 its dues. Luckily my wife is thoroughly enjoying Fable 2 so I can combine her gaming with mine to form an opinion. The combat, although sounding simplistic, is a good blend and once you Fable 2 is a very good rpg - but it isn't perfect. In a sense it is a shame that Far Cry 2 and Fable 2 came out pretty much the same time as each other because I probably haven't given Fable 2 its dues. Luckily my wife is thoroughly enjoying Fable 2 so I can combine her gaming with mine to form an opinion. The combat, although sounding simplistic, is a good blend and once you get the hang of it you'll be fighting with heaps of flourish. The emotion system is ok - I'd prefer the traditional speech approach but my wife loves the emotional responses. The story is quite well done. The dog is great. I guess my main problem with it is that loading times can be slightly annoying - when you go from one area to the next it does take a while. This may be allievated slightly when the new dash update comes out on the 360 which supposedly allows you to copy an entire game to the hard drive - this should speed things up. It feels a little restrictive in where you can go - jumping some walls tends to be a problem. You can marry (either straight or gay) which is a nice touch. It is a nice game to look at but not nearly as nice as say, Far Cry 2, nor Fallout 3 from what I've seen of that so far. It is a sweet rpg - some adult themes involved but overall going to be much more family friendly than Fallout 3. If it had less loading times and a bit more dialogue it could have been better. I guess the main reason (apart from those listed) that it gets an 8 is that the much hyped co-op mode is a big let down (both offline and the patched online on release) - I can understand why they used a henchman system but it would have been better to scale your own hero (if level scaling was the reason they decided on the henchmen idea in the first place). Do not buy this game for the co-op. Henchmen can't do half the stuff the hero can do and the camera is terrible (you have to stay in the same vicinity even via xbox live). So a decent effort but make sure you buy it for the single player experience. Expand
  26. JamesB
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    I am surprised at the level of criticism this game is recieving and I am not sure what people are expecting, but I find it very frustrating that people give a 3 for a game that is quite obviously deserving of a higher mark. Now if you were to say IronMan then fair enough that is a 3! There is a lot of love that has been put into this game. The basic questing is relatively simple but it I am surprised at the level of criticism this game is recieving and I am not sure what people are expecting, but I find it very frustrating that people give a 3 for a game that is quite obviously deserving of a higher mark. Now if you were to say IronMan then fair enough that is a 3! There is a lot of love that has been put into this game. The basic questing is relatively simple but it done in an intuative way. The game environments are excellent and engaging and I like the style they have used. Where as the game isn't necessarily unique it does what it does well. It is quite easy to explore and go off route and just appreciate the game for what it is. Honestly look at all the mainstream reviews and make up your own mind, but a thoroughly great game that deserves to be played. Expand
  27. marcb.
    Oct 28, 2008
    6
    Overrated. My 6 is primarily out of respect for the production values, and even these are uneven at times. As for the rest, the story is vague and incredibly disjoiinted, there is no sense of cohesion with regards to geography (frequent load times break everything up), and the old school menu-hunt further disturbs cohesion/immersion. The magic system is borderline unusable IMO, and the Overrated. My 6 is primarily out of respect for the production values, and even these are uneven at times. As for the rest, the story is vague and incredibly disjoiinted, there is no sense of cohesion with regards to geography (frequent load times break everything up), and the old school menu-hunt further disturbs cohesion/immersion. The magic system is borderline unusable IMO, and the combat, while visually appealing, is essentially a button mash. And (without going into any specifics) some of the dramatic set-pieces are insanely boring. It's not a bad game, in fact I was "in love" for a couple of hours, but the more I play it the less I like it. Expand
  28. DannyH
    Oct 29, 2008
    5
    I really wanted to like this game, but there are a few elements that really work against it: *Glitchy.* I've encountered a LOT of bug, for example: - the "zombie child" where your kid gets stuck and won't respond or move. -jobs that you can't finish but also can't drop (e.g., bounty hunter where there aren't enough monsters to satisfy the quest...). -Shops cease I really wanted to like this game, but there are a few elements that really work against it: *Glitchy.* I've encountered a LOT of bug, for example: - the "zombie child" where your kid gets stuck and won't respond or move. -jobs that you can't finish but also can't drop (e.g., bounty hunter where there aren't enough monsters to satisfy the quest...). -Shops cease to have anything for sale (e.g., no more furniture in the store) Read the official forums and you'll see a plethora of glitches, some of which are game breaking. One of the fundamental game design issues is that you have ONE save - if you encountered a glitch and the game autosaves (which it does frequently), there's no way to go back to a time before the glitch and avoid it. *UI is very poor.* Melee and ranged is very simple and you can completely button mash through the game. The spellcasting UI is poorly conceived - the inability to really map spells means you'll probably use 1 or 2 spells for the entire game. The inventory management is very poor - reminiscent of Mass Effect's cluttered menu system. Have fun scrolling through a long list to get to a potion - then, once you drink it, you have to scroll back down again to get another potion (eating food, drinking a potion, reading a book, etc. all have this effect). *Awful multiplayer.* One of the main reasons I bought this on release was that my brother and I could play together over Live. The multiplayer is so poor that there's no point - this is really unacceptable when so many games have great multiplayer. *Lack of items.* The game has no "armor" - you can select from a handful of outfits (e.g., highwayman, bandit, nobleman) and that's it for clothing. Other than affecting your "attractiveness" there's no benefit to any clothing. The weapons are also lacking in variety. The game repeatedly tells me that I should upgrade my equipment, but I've already got the best sword that's purchasable and have 2 augments equipped.... The game has an unpolished, unfinished quality and in many respects reminds me of Hellgate: London in terms of being released before it was ready. Expand
  29. mfg.me.uk
    Oct 29, 2008
    0
    this game get a big fat 0 from me, id rather suck a cock than play this for another minute. it sucks big fat dick with an std dont buy it buy a sony game that is decent maybe like LBP or GT5 or HOME i mean seriusly get a life i dunt wanna run aboot with my fucking pet camel. pS3 FTW
  30. JohnW
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    As I anticipated, this game has set a high standard for RPGs. Some might say that the story line is a little boring but this is untrue. Although they could have come up with something more unique. However I had so much fun completing the side quests and buying stuff like houses in towns, and getting married that i forgot that there was a main plot to the game. Over all I gave the game a 9 As I anticipated, this game has set a high standard for RPGs. Some might say that the story line is a little boring but this is untrue. Although they could have come up with something more unique. However I had so much fun completing the side quests and buying stuff like houses in towns, and getting married that i forgot that there was a main plot to the game. Over all I gave the game a 9 because there is a bit of a lengthy load time and an occasional glitch that will get you stuck and cause you to reload. however I haven't had this much fun playing an RPG since FF7 and with the coop feature added it makes the game that much more fun. good job and great game. Expand
  31. spencerm
    Oct 31, 2008
    2
    Poor gameplay! to much like the first one with restrictive paths and no challenging enemies. enemies are so easy to dismiss i get excited to see something to kill because i know the fight will be short and unfulfilling. also very disappointed with the lack of content. The money every 5 mins also ruins the game almost immediately "woo hoo i own everything" but theres nothing fun to kill, Poor gameplay! to much like the first one with restrictive paths and no challenging enemies. enemies are so easy to dismiss i get excited to see something to kill because i know the fight will be short and unfulfilling. also very disappointed with the lack of content. The money every 5 mins also ruins the game almost immediately "woo hoo i own everything" but theres nothing fun to kill, dont waste your time. Expand
  32. fablelovercook
    Jun 11, 2008
    2
    This game is rubbish i wanted to go to a building and it didnt let me in but it is where i needed to go to get misson 2 i am so disappointed about the makers i think it the intro is rubbish there is one good thing about it its name and graphics !!!!!!!!
  33. johno
    Jan 21, 2009
    9
    Fable 2 is a great game. the only flaws that I can find is that the main storyline is a little short; surely lionhead could have made it a little longer? if you like to have challenge in your games, leave this and pick up a copy of far cry 2 instead, but the excellent thing fable 2 does is it makes it appear that there is a challenge, even when closer inspection reveals there isn't. Fable 2 is a great game. the only flaws that I can find is that the main storyline is a little short; surely lionhead could have made it a little longer? if you like to have challenge in your games, leave this and pick up a copy of far cry 2 instead, but the excellent thing fable 2 does is it makes it appear that there is a challenge, even when closer inspection reveals there isn't. this game comes highly recommended, as the gameplay and the combat feels fluid, impressive and fun at the same time. Expand
  34. RO
    Jan 2, 2009
    5
    Unfortunately the game was _way_ to easy and the I found all these gestures pretty boring, useless, and off-topic. I regret the fact that i spent money on it. The gaming industry reached the point where they focus too much on the millions of casual gamers with attention span of half an hour before they get attracted to something else.
  35. MikeM
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    This was (and still is) one of the best games I have ever played. The overall storyline is short, but sweet and satisfying to play. But what you do when you aren't playing the storyline is what separates this game from the rest. You can have a family and job and live a good life or you could sleep with hookers and kill for a living; either way, this game is very enjoyable. If you This was (and still is) one of the best games I have ever played. The overall storyline is short, but sweet and satisfying to play. But what you do when you aren't playing the storyline is what separates this game from the rest. You can have a family and job and live a good life or you could sleep with hookers and kill for a living; either way, this game is very enjoyable. If you choose to be evil and corrupt you will become dark and grow horns. If you are good and pure you will likewise look extremely attractive. You also get money (if you rent out) for every 5 minutes of real time, that means you are making money while you sleep, this makes the game a lot easier, but it also unlocks doors, such as buying homes and stores to make a living. Buy this game and choose your destiny. Expand
  36. AnonymousMC
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    Honestly, I was not terribly impressed with Fable I, but Fable II is definitely an improvement over the original in just about every way. It's simply one of those titles that you play the **** out of until you're bored and feel like underrating it just because it's gotten old to you. I guess I'm less impulsive than some of the other reviewers. Yeah, I guess itHonestly, I was not terribly impressed with Fable I, but Fable II is definitely an improvement over the original in just about every way. It's simply one of those titles that you play the **** out of until you're bored and feel like underrating it just because it's gotten old to you. I guess I'm less impulsive than some of the other reviewers. Yeah, I guess it wasn't the brightest RPG of '07 (that would've been fallout 3), but it wasn't the dimmest either. Expand
  37. ChrisW
    Jan 5, 2009
    5
    Gorgeous looking game with great soundtrack, but it quickly grows tedious. It's basically "Animal Crossing" for grownups who like RPG fantasy games. Or it's "Oblivion" with all the really detailed stuff that makes that game so impressive removed or dumbed down. And it's sooooo easy that I found myself growing bored because there was never any real threat of *anything* Gorgeous looking game with great soundtrack, but it quickly grows tedious. It's basically "Animal Crossing" for grownups who like RPG fantasy games. Or it's "Oblivion" with all the really detailed stuff that makes that game so impressive removed or dumbed down. And it's sooooo easy that I found myself growing bored because there was never any real threat of *anything* happening. Even the good/evil choices are presented in such a morally neutral way that you don't feel good or bad as a player when you make a decision. I enjoyed it enough to play it through to the end (mainly because of the pretty eye candy), but I was left feeling distinctly unimpressed, and a little annoyed that it wasn't a smarter game. Wish I had rented instead of bought it. Expand
  38. SteveK
    Feb 11, 2009
    5
    The most disappointing game I've played in a long, long time. In truth, not a terrible game, but it is certainly not very good. Sure there is a lot to do, but it is the very definition of "much ado about nothing." Who cares that I can make millions of fake dollars if there is nothing truly epic to buy? Who cares that the world is free-roaming? What's the point? What is the point The most disappointing game I've played in a long, long time. In truth, not a terrible game, but it is certainly not very good. Sure there is a lot to do, but it is the very definition of "much ado about nothing." Who cares that I can make millions of fake dollars if there is nothing truly epic to buy? Who cares that the world is free-roaming? What's the point? What is the point of the social system? Everything is way too easy with no pay-off. Even combat is a joke because there is NO consequence to dying. ZERO. I mean, you respawn instantly from where you fell. And for a 360 game, this game is very ugly. The characters look absolutely hideous, it is inexcuseable. Plus, why is there no armor in this game? Have you people ever played a RPG before???? Instead, I can wear a "gentlemen's coat" while fighting that makes me 5% more attractive in a game where I can easily make anyone fall in love with me in no time, coat or not. (And the clothes are of course, absolutely hideous). Not that it matters. The game feels like one long, boring chore. The original Fable had its flaws, mostly because it was too short and the plot seemed to be mostly an after-thought, but that game had an "edge" to it. It was exciting, mystical, and engrossing. This game seems to have lost any sort of magic that the first game had. Peter Molyneaux should really rethink this whole game-making thing. Overall, this game is a massive disappointment. Expand
  39. charliespencer
    Feb 1, 2009
    1
    rrrraaaaagh im so pissed off wth this game. apparently theyve covered everything and its so big and all this but i cnt even go through the first portal! why??? cos it keeps crashing im being genrous with a 1 and im takin it bk asap good job i kept the recipt. and my m8 has a full ring of death from it! *sigh* thats my little rant and rave
  40. BenD
    Feb 2, 2009
    8
    A good solid game, i enjoyed playing this a lot!! loads of lush weapons to collect a stuff, but the ending was weak and the choices and the end spoilt it. Its too easy to make money and why did they take out armor from the last one???? clearly the best thing about the last one was saving up to get the lushest armor possible. Oh well i ll probably still play it even though i own everything A good solid game, i enjoyed playing this a lot!! loads of lush weapons to collect a stuff, but the ending was weak and the choices and the end spoilt it. Its too easy to make money and why did they take out armor from the last one???? clearly the best thing about the last one was saving up to get the lushest armor possible. Oh well i ll probably still play it even though i own everything in the game. Expand
  41. SamJohnson
    Feb 22, 2009
    5
    Too short, offline multiplayer sucked, Too easy, button mashy combat, awkward spell system, the story sucked and the ending was ridiculous. Don't expect an epic final boss battle, unless u count shooting bottles as a boss battle.

    Excellent graphics, great customisation, you can own any building at all and plenty of weapons to look out for. overall, very disappointing, Fable
    Too short, offline multiplayer sucked, Too easy, button mashy combat, awkward spell system, the story sucked and the ending was ridiculous. Don't expect an epic final boss battle, unless u count shooting bottles as a boss battle.

    Excellent graphics, great customisation, you can own any building at all and plenty of weapons to look out for.

    overall, very disappointing, Fable lost chapters is certainly a much better game
    Expand
  42. AustinM.
    Feb 4, 2009
    8
    This is decidingly the best game i have bought in a lllooonnnngggggg time. Even after you beat the main story, you do extra missions and scout for legendary weapons in the gaming universe that you could kill peasants and hobbes with, and you can have t********s with w*****, and get an achievement for it. At first is a little slower than it should be, it being dragged down by doing the This is decidingly the best game i have bought in a lllooonnnngggggg time. Even after you beat the main story, you do extra missions and scout for legendary weapons in the gaming universe that you could kill peasants and hobbes with, and you can have t********s with w*****, and get an achievement for it. At first is a little slower than it should be, it being dragged down by doing the childhood quest. But, the achievements are the most funny and inventive that have ever been made. Expand
  43. PatrickRoche
    Mar 2, 2009
    5
    Let me begin by saying that this is not necessarily a bad game. I mean the art style is pretty unique, the combat can be fun and it is kinda cool to make your character look like the badasses from "Brotherhood of the Wold" but that is where the praise for this game ends. This game is the definition of the word disappointment. I loved the first Fable and i believe it was a better game thenLet me begin by saying that this is not necessarily a bad game. I mean the art style is pretty unique, the combat can be fun and it is kinda cool to make your character look like the badasses from "Brotherhood of the Wold" but that is where the praise for this game ends. This game is the definition of the word disappointment. I loved the first Fable and i believe it was a better game then this one. Everything we were promised seems superficial in this game. I mean so i can affect the world but only see the actual effects of my actions in certain areas. I can "customize" my character by dressing him in the same ridiculous looking clothing. Oh but wait i can use horrible looking dye to make my character look like a walking banana if i want to. Also why is it that every male character has Buzz Lightyear's chin? I mean my character looked like Jay Leno's brother and it was annoying. As far as influence goes the social system makes me feel like i was a mime trying to flail my arms about as the inhabitants of Albion painfully explained every finite detail to me because my character is incapable of asking questions. The first Fable was an awesome game that gave us great ideas and begged for a sequel to capitalize on the amazing principles of the first game. Unfortunately this is not that sequel. Peter Molyneaux next time you make a game tell us it is going to be a game about monkeys throwing feces so when we get something slightly more impressive we can actually be impressed. Expand
  44. ericurena
    Mar 20, 2009
    6
    i really wanted to rate this higher but i can't the game was just not very good. the story line was mediocre at best the battles were way too easy & no final battle to speak of or if there was a final battle, it was so easy that i didn't realize it was a final battle. after waiting so long for the sequel, i have to say what a disappiontment. by the way i was a huge fable one fan
  45. BillA
    Nov 1, 2008
    8
    Delivers on much of what the original hadn
  46. MischaB
    Nov 1, 2008
    7
    The game was entertaining and engaging, but it was over very quickly and was did not have the level of immersion and depth expected. There was no armor in the game :(, only clothing. What is up with that? Furthermore, weapon selection was comparatively small when looking at other games such as Oblivion, or even Fable 1. I still prefer to play Fable 1 over this game. Critics rate the game The game was entertaining and engaging, but it was over very quickly and was did not have the level of immersion and depth expected. There was no armor in the game :(, only clothing. What is up with that? Furthermore, weapon selection was comparatively small when looking at other games such as Oblivion, or even Fable 1. I still prefer to play Fable 1 over this game. Critics rate the game based on first impressions and limited play time. In that short amount of time it seems like a great game but soon becomes tedious and uneventful (Especially after beating the short main story line). Expand
  47. JaronR
    Nov 1, 2008
    8
    I love how no one on this website understands how game ratings work. THIS GAME LACKS ONE FEATURE THAT I WANTED SO IT IS A 0. What is wrong with you? In what world is a single player RPG a "0" because the co-op is lacking? I don't understand. Overall I found it to be a very fun game with plenty to do, and an interesting story. The fact that you have to have played pub games to get the I love how no one on this website understands how game ratings work. THIS GAME LACKS ONE FEATURE THAT I WANTED SO IT IS A 0. What is wrong with you? In what world is a single player RPG a "0" because the co-op is lacking? I don't understand. Overall I found it to be a very fun game with plenty to do, and an interesting story. The fact that you have to have played pub games to get the completionist achievement is pretty lame though. Expand
  48. AutheR
    Nov 4, 2008
    3
    It's amazing that such a sucessful game with few flaws can turn into a hyped game with many flaws. First of all the storyline is even less intricate than the original. I never once gave a damn about any of the characters or even the dog because there was no necessary use for them. Sure i can find buried treasure with the mutt but most of the time i find the dog walking back and forth It's amazing that such a sucessful game with few flaws can turn into a hyped game with many flaws. First of all the storyline is even less intricate than the original. I never once gave a damn about any of the characters or even the dog because there was no necessary use for them. Sure i can find buried treasure with the mutt but most of the time i find the dog walking back and forth as i try to follow it to find out where to dig. It only takes two hits for the dog to go down in a fight so i find myself constantly healing the dog so i can find treasure. Also fame is your worst enemy in this game. Later on i find myself going into a building only to find myself blocked off from leaving from the masses of people gathered at the front door. Battlewise there is nothing special in the game, in fact the number of spells was reduced and I find myself with no way to heal/ drain life so i end up spending a fortune on potions that are limited to one in a store. Really... why only one? And why is there no punishment for dying? I probibly bit the dust 25 times yet i only have one scar. Kinda beats the purpose of trying. Also the amount of area in the game is diminuative and no new creatures roam the land aside from the infrequent encounter with a banshee. I probably shouldn't have played this game after Oblivion... Expand
  49. JohnA.
    Oct 14, 2008
    10
    This game has so many features, and that alone merits the game a score of 10! Peter Molyneux really put his heart in this one, and there no broken promises like the previous one. This game is awesome!
  50. BrandonM.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    Great graphics,social interaction that has never been done this well in an rpg before,combat: ease of use and difficulty to master makes this enjoyable to all.removing armor stats in clothing lets you look any way you want without hindering yourself, and amazing ai even for the dog.
  51. BrendanC
    Nov 5, 2008
    7
    Ok, im not a game freak lets put it that way, i have really spent most my xbox 360 time playing FIFA 08 and trying to win everything in the game (which im sure everyone knows is extremely long process). But my brother went out and bought FABLE 2 and i was bored one night and found myself playing this game, 2 in the morning comes around and i have to force myself off the xbox!! i was Ok, im not a game freak lets put it that way, i have really spent most my xbox 360 time playing FIFA 08 and trying to win everything in the game (which im sure everyone knows is extremely long process). But my brother went out and bought FABLE 2 and i was bored one night and found myself playing this game, 2 in the morning comes around and i have to force myself off the xbox!! i was extremely addicted!! graphics where 7/10, loved having a dog companion 8/10, didnt rate the whole family thing (root n run) 4/10, buying all the house's and shop's in the main town 8/10, melee attacks 9/10, ranged attacks 5/10 (barely used), spell attacks 7-8/10(made the game too easy, but loved the different results of using different series of spells ie. 5*time control-4*raise dead-3*shock). story line was interesting i thought and i like the way u can end up being someone completely different come the end of the game(ie im good, bro is evil). having said all that, i still rate the FIFA series 10/10!!!!! keep it up fella's! Expand
  52. Dan
    Oct 19, 2008
    9
    I only received this yesterday(thanks Hardly Normal for breaking the embargo, Suckers!) but have been having a blast so far. An excellently crafted world full of charm and life. Your canine companion is one of the best examples of in game animation I have seen ever making it very hard not to feel a connection with him. From what I have seen there is plenty of depth to the I only received this yesterday(thanks Hardly Normal for breaking the embargo, Suckers!) but have been having a blast so far. An excellently crafted world full of charm and life. Your canine companion is one of the best examples of in game animation I have seen ever making it very hard not to feel a connection with him. From what I have seen there is plenty of depth to the combat,magic,ranged weapons,economic and social systems, whilst if you don't want to get to involved any of these areas you dont have to. I am playing on the good side so far, but I can see there is a huge potential to have a lot of wicked fun as an evil S.O.B. Have to try co-op soon as it shouod be great. There are some flaws but the overall package is that good that they are easily overlooked. Cant wait finish work and see how much money my pie shop has earned. Happy Adventuring all!!!! Expand
  53. KristopherS.
    Dec 16, 2008
    3
    Game is pretty and delivers on the awe inspiring. Game lacks in depth even though it is supposed to be based on depth. The characters I did not connect with. The idea behind good and bad is not blurred but very distinct and way to predictable. The major issues with this game are the many many many bugs and glitchs. I have experienced at lest 5 separate bugs and one game ending glitch, Game is pretty and delivers on the awe inspiring. Game lacks in depth even though it is supposed to be based on depth. The characters I did not connect with. The idea behind good and bad is not blurred but very distinct and way to predictable. The major issues with this game are the many many many bugs and glitchs. I have experienced at lest 5 separate bugs and one game ending glitch, Brightwoods Freezing issue. This game failed to deliver on promises as is the pattern we see from thed developer, Lionhead. there must have been some tremendous marketing by the boys at Microsoft and Lionhead to get the reviews and teh GOtY from G4. This game is an epic failure in my opinion. Hop-efully they fix the issues with the game and offer some kind of patch that delivers on the promises made by Peter M. Expand
  54. RobertH.
    Oct 22, 2008
    2
    Give me Gears 2, dross like this is getting more wide spread on the 360! Its becoming a 2nd rate system thats selling well due to its low price, but its a budget machine, closed off system. Only one game worth playing on it and thats Gears.
  55. JackC.
    Dec 2, 2008
    7
    Before this game came out, I was ready to rate it a 10 no question asked, based on the hype and the game play previews that I had seen. However, after playing this game my views have changed substantially. Yes this game has a LOT of good things about it, brilliantly implemented design techniques such as the dog and the way you socially interact with the villagers and not to mention a Before this game came out, I was ready to rate it a 10 no question asked, based on the hype and the game play previews that I had seen. However, after playing this game my views have changed substantially. Yes this game has a LOT of good things about it, brilliantly implemented design techniques such as the dog and the way you socially interact with the villagers and not to mention a soundtrack that will blow away any other rival rpg soundtrack (keep it coming Danny and Russell). However, the world just doesn't feel the same as the first fable, maybe because it is 500 years down the track but I think that's not the main reason. Combat is extremely satisfying, however after a short while, every battle just seems to be a pointless struggle for experience, which you don't need. It isn't challenging enough while trying to kill the mobs and even the boss' are a blow over. It's a game that gives the player endless opportunities to do many different things, however too many of these things are optional, some only offering an emotional reward, 'love', Maybe Fable 3 will be different, I just hope that it isn't again, 500 years down the track maybe push it back 1000 years, that would be interesting. Expand
  56. GarrettS.
    Dec 20, 2008
    9
    This is a grat game. Don't listen to the other reviewers that gave it a low score. Those reviewers probably haven't even played the game or there just angry because it isn't on the PS3. This game is what Peter Molyneux promised in the first game and more.
  57. AndrewM.
    Oct 22, 2008
    8
    Really solid game. Huge improvement over the first Fable, which I didn't really enjoy too much. Still a bit on the short side, and has the all-too-familiar 75% finished feel to it as far as the storyline goes. I guess it means it's easy for them to sell us the expansion when it comes out. The combat felt awesome, although was really a bit too easy, which coming from me, Really solid game. Huge improvement over the first Fable, which I didn't really enjoy too much. Still a bit on the short side, and has the all-too-familiar 75% finished feel to it as far as the storyline goes. I guess it means it's easy for them to sell us the expansion when it comes out. The combat felt awesome, although was really a bit too easy, which coming from me, indicates that it was far, far too easy. Property ownership is expanded and more worthwhile, and engagement with the other people in the world is a lot more interesting, although there's no real challenge to it. Fun, though. A prostitute offered me sex, so I married her instead. She lives in a caravan. Expand
  58. AlanD
    Oct 23, 2008
    10
    Epic, the story draws you in and has some really good twists, raises some interesting moral questions and the voices are just impressive. The art and graphics are wonderful and lush, there is a lot of extra content to get involved with and just lost. It's one of those rare games that has a certain magic something - all you can think about during the day is what to do with your hero Epic, the story draws you in and has some really good twists, raises some interesting moral questions and the voices are just impressive. The art and graphics are wonderful and lush, there is a lot of extra content to get involved with and just lost. It's one of those rare games that has a certain magic something - all you can think about during the day is what to do with your hero as soon as you get home, you cancel dates with friends just to be able to spend some more time in Albion. The music is just perfect. The local multiplayer is great for when a friend comes around and you don't want to stop playing - he can just quickly drop in! The online part of it is less interesting but still cool to show off your world and hero. The orbs (set to Everyone under options) is just pure genius. Expand
  59. PeterA.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Awesome game so far. Took everything I loved about the first game and made it so much better. I love my dog and I am glad they improved the usefulness of the gun/crossbow compared to the prior game. I am also voting just to offset the idiot who did not play the game but gave it a 2.
  60. IndyR.
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    Must buy. Only problem, needs a more open map and longer campaign. But don't let this put you off at all, the game is so sick that anyone who enjoyed the first will love this one.
  61. James
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    I am blown away by this game, its magical. I never really got on with these games as I lost my direction but this holds your hand through it, (if you want). The graphics are mindblowing I am amazed that reviews haven't really mentioned that and they really add to the games charm, also I love the British humour!! BUY IT!
  62. JackB.
    Oct 25, 2008
    5
    This game is so fun, too bad I have a game ending glitch keeping me from finishing. I had to start the game over once already. Froze in Brightwood. Minor bugs are one thing, but this is unacceptable. Please post on Lionhead forums if you are freezing, so they can release a patch. Again, I love this game, just wish I could actually play it.
  63. JishanF
    Oct 25, 2008
    8
    While this game is not as great as it could have been its not horrible either. It's a pretty good RPG and I have enjoyed playing through the story on single player. The co-op leaves much to be desired and could perhaps be fixed with a future patch. Otherwise, still worth taking a look at but I can't reccommend a purchase.
  64. Ryencoke
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    What a great game. Very well done I must say Lionhead Studios. I did beat the game and do everything that you can do for the side quests and the game itself was excellent took about 23 hours, but they really should have held out on us for a couple more months to fix and add some stuff. Allow me to just point out some stuff that they really should have added to the game; Minimap, What a great game. Very well done I must say Lionhead Studios. I did beat the game and do everything that you can do for the side quests and the game itself was excellent took about 23 hours, but they really should have held out on us for a couple more months to fix and add some stuff. Allow me to just point out some stuff that they really should have added to the game; Minimap, breadcrumb trail is a let me hold your hand aspect that should have been selective. Loadtimes are the one reason that I knock this to a 9 instead of a 10. They are often and are a wait. Big downfall. Other 2 minor aspects that were bad for me: way to small variation of clothing. Like 7 pairs in total? And there is no armor which totally sucks. And of course other small things. Aside from the bad aspects though, the game was great don't get me wrong. The story was great, gameplay was exciting and fun. Just needed to make it bigggggggggggggggggger. The world seemed small. So far though in all honesty it's my Game Of The Year. Let's see how Fallout 3, LBP & Gears Of War 2 are first. But it's in 1st so far. Very worthy buy. Love and enjoy. Expand
  65. CarolD.
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    Excellent game. my family will be playing this for ages. Thumbs up to Molyneaux for expanding the RPG universe. Truly makes you care - goes from fun to annoyance - some people make you want to smack them over and over! - to yes, missing that dog when he wanders off. Oblivion was cardboard compared to this. One gripe - the mao is too small.
  66. JohnJ.
    Oct 25, 2008
    8
    I'm a fan of the original fable and this definitely surpasses it. It's a gorgeous world with detailed game play and lush graphics. Though the story is not particularly engrossing, the writing is nevertheless clever and witty, in a very ''British Comedy'' sort of way, and even where the story lacks, immersion is no less with the fantastic AI and the addictive I'm a fan of the original fable and this definitely surpasses it. It's a gorgeous world with detailed game play and lush graphics. Though the story is not particularly engrossing, the writing is nevertheless clever and witty, in a very ''British Comedy'' sort of way, and even where the story lacks, immersion is no less with the fantastic AI and the addictive gameplay. Oblivion has to be mentioned, for it's the only real competition (though they're both wholly different) fable has in terms of a western RPG on the 360, and it does seem to draw a few influences from that. It may even surpass it in AI, but overall Itstill falls slightly short of it. It's a slightly flawed yet fantastic rpg, and Lionhead is getting better with each swing, so it may be safe to expect that we've seen nothing yet. Expand
  67. JonathanRafii
    Oct 26, 2008
    1
    you know what game i like, a game that isn't absoulute wank and a pile of shite. peter edbrook told me to buy this game and i hate him for it it's a pile of shit and a waste of money. FUCK YOU EDBROOK! I'd like a game where it'd tell where the fuck to go, instead of a the shit way they do now!
  68. Knoell
    Oct 26, 2008
    9
    This game is excellent on any level, there are a few issues in the game that can be annoying, but the coop is growing on me and im starting to realize why they made it the way it is. In any event this game is a solid 9.
  69. Ian
    Oct 26, 2008
    6
    Not bad, I honestly enjoyed fable 1 more, the story was certainly better in fable 1 (not that fable 1's story was good), there are certainly some more polished aspects of gameplay added in this version of fable, others less. very ho-hum after beating it (which took all of 10 hours).
  70. hairyn
    Oct 27, 2008
    0
    This was a terrible racing game! The cars are completely customizable they are slow and at some times will not even start. the controls which require you to play with your tounge are very hard to adapt to and just plain inconvenient. I did not understand this underground street racing plot at all and would not recommend this race game to anyone that enjoys the genre if you want a real This was a terrible racing game! The cars are completely customizable they are slow and at some times will not even start. the controls which require you to play with your tounge are very hard to adapt to and just plain inconvenient. I did not understand this underground street racing plot at all and would not recommend this race game to anyone that enjoys the genre if you want a real racing game try super smash bros. Expand
  71. RyanS
    Dec 7, 2008
    6
    Fable 2 is a very fun game to play. It felt a lot like the first Fable in some ways. The problem with Fable 2 is that I expected so much more and all they gave me was a game that was too easy and too much adult content. I borrowed this game for 1 week and just about got every achievement in 5 days. I know there was more rare items to find but the game just felt unplayable and boring after Fable 2 is a very fun game to play. It felt a lot like the first Fable in some ways. The problem with Fable 2 is that I expected so much more and all they gave me was a game that was too easy and too much adult content. I borrowed this game for 1 week and just about got every achievement in 5 days. I know there was more rare items to find but the game just felt unplayable and boring after the main quest finished. The best part about this game is that on xbox live you can see orbs of other players even not on your friends list. This is very helpful as players can give gifts to each other but the only bad thing is that its a gift giving system not a trading system. So what happens is you give something to another player such as a rare item in return for something else rare and they just log off and you loose your items. So in conclusion this game can be fun at times but it is lacking. Expand
  72. NateB
    Oct 29, 2008
    4
    As a big fan of the first Fable, I was really let down by this title. The user review score paints a much more accurate portrayal of this game than do the critics' reviews. While Fable 2 can be funny, charming and occupying as there's plenty to explore, you'll quickly realize that Fable 2 features incredibly shoddy frame-rates, clunky controls (really, four controller As a big fan of the first Fable, I was really let down by this title. The user review score paints a much more accurate portrayal of this game than do the critics' reviews. While Fable 2 can be funny, charming and occupying as there's plenty to explore, you'll quickly realize that Fable 2 features incredibly shoddy frame-rates, clunky controls (really, four controller inputs for one expression?), a boring rehashed storyline, poor graphics, awful multiplayer and way too many things left unfinished. Save yourself $45 and just go buy the first Fable and play that instead. Expand
  73. CJCJ
    Oct 29, 2008
    6
    To give credit where it's due, there are indeed interesting moral choices in the game; the ability to buy any building in the game is great, as is the option to marry and raise a family; NPCs' range of flexible reactions to the PC are also good. These are all real breakthroughs. But: The graphics are third-rate; the game is VERY short (couldn't believe how fast I finished To give credit where it's due, there are indeed interesting moral choices in the game; the ability to buy any building in the game is great, as is the option to marry and raise a family; NPCs' range of flexible reactions to the PC are also good. These are all real breakthroughs. But: The graphics are third-rate; the game is VERY short (couldn't believe how fast I finished the main quest, even though I did many side-quests; the story underlying the main quest line isn't compelling, nor even very clear; the side quests are repetitive; the menu structure is awful (after drinking a potion you're forced to scroll through the whole menu again if you wish to drink another); the gameworld is surprisingly small and limited (and you cannot just wander anywhere you want); the maps provided in the menu system are tiny and barely readable; weapon choices are limited; clothing provides no benefits besides "attractiveness"; the combat system is extremely simple and unrealistic -- no skill required at all, just mash the "X" or "Y" button; combat is highly repetitive -- really just the same thing every single time; the spell interface makes it difficult to use more than one or two spells; most objects in the world cannot be interacted with; the game does not allow you to sneak up on enemies; above all, the distant 3rd-person view makes it very difficult to achieve a high level of immersion. Originally, I thought that the major comparison and competitor for Fable II would be TES IV: Oblivion, but although Oblivion is already more than two years old, I find it so far superior to Fable II overall as an RPG that it seems unfair even to compare them. If you liked Oblivion, I expect Fable will disappoint you. Fable II is more comparable to Devil May Cry, though the combat system in the latter is better. Expand
  74. BrianC
    Oct 31, 2008
    8
    Very good game, I especially enjoyed the exploration and the fighting sequences. I like the game so much, that I'm afraid to finish the main quest because I just don't want it to end. However, if I had any complaints, it must be that the variety of weapons, buildings, magic, and clothings are pretty limited. There is only so many variations you can choose that make you still Very good game, I especially enjoyed the exploration and the fighting sequences. I like the game so much, that I'm afraid to finish the main quest because I just don't want it to end. However, if I had any complaints, it must be that the variety of weapons, buildings, magic, and clothings are pretty limited. There is only so many variations you can choose that make you still look cool, nagging questions such as, "Where are the capes? I want my freaking cape" sometimes crop to mind. Also a big annoyance is the long load times. It's natural for any RPG game of this magnitude to have load times, but these instances still bother me immensely. All in all though, the game is still a blast to play. Expand
  75. SarahR
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    A very fine game. It has an actual plot (which apperently most games I find don't have) and the graphics are beautiful. Also, I only found 1 bug in it, whenever I get knocked out my hair goes crazy and sometime my head spins, but I find it amusing so, 10.
  76. RonG
    Oct 19, 2009
    7
    This game is great in many ways. However the game is soooo short. It would get a much better score if it took longer than a day to beat. Even with sidequests and achievements it's very very short.
  77. MikeChambers
    Feb 15, 2009
    7
    I was pleasantly surprised by both the number of user reviews and the overall average review score of these users. It is a far more accurate representation of this game's quality than the one given by official publications, and inline with not only my own opinion but that of everyone I know who has played it.
    Never has a game, in thirty years of playing them, left me feeling more
    I was pleasantly surprised by both the number of user reviews and the overall average review score of these users. It is a far more accurate representation of this game's quality than the one given by official publications, and inline with not only my own opinion but that of everyone I know who has played it.
    Never has a game, in thirty years of playing them, left me feeling more disappointed than this one. It could and should have been great, especially seeing as it is more Fable 1.5 than a true successor. Where was all that development time spent?
    Play Fable The Lost Chapters instead, and have a much better time doing so!
    Expand
  78. MarkH
    May 26, 2009
    6
    While Fable 2 offers tons of side quests, it leaves the player feeling like they accomplished very little. It's far too easy to build up a massive real estate empire or get to the higher ratings of jobs and because it's so easy it ends up feeling more like work than fun. The main quest also felt pretty lacking, and while the main characters were entertaining it felt like you While Fable 2 offers tons of side quests, it leaves the player feeling like they accomplished very little. It's far too easy to build up a massive real estate empire or get to the higher ratings of jobs and because it's so easy it ends up feeling more like work than fun. The main quest also felt pretty lacking, and while the main characters were entertaining it felt like you barely got to meet them before the game was over. Overall, Fable 2 has the potential to be really great, but it feels soulless. Expand
  79. EliJ.
    Jul 12, 2009
    6
    this game isnt bad. but then again the combat is complete button smashing and it didn't impress. I also love how edge magazine gives it a 90. I've never seen edge magazine give a ps3 game above an 80. It just goes to show you how biased this site is, especially when it comes to xbox vs. ps3..it makes me laugh.
  80. christianb
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    Love it great game fun humorous Ect, The game is really big..... allot of HUGE games like Fable II, Oblivion, fallout3 Ect, have bugs in them,, well i doubt someone can make a massive game like fable with no bugs!
  81. AnonymousMC
    Sep 26, 2009
    9
    LULZ THIS GAME SUCKS!!!

    Oh wait, no it doesn't. Who cares if you can't customize your character the same as in the first one? Big fucking deal. So much of the game is amazing: the art style, combat, the story, and more. Sure the dog and other aspects of the game aren't as revelatory as they were supposed to be, but have you come to expect anything else from Peter Molynux?
    LULZ THIS GAME SUCKS!!!

    Oh wait, no it doesn't. Who cares if you can't customize your character the same as in the first one? Big fucking deal. So much of the game is amazing: the art style, combat, the story, and more. Sure the dog and other aspects of the game aren't as revelatory as they were supposed to be, but have you come to expect anything else from Peter Molynux? Seriously.
    Expand
  82. JulianM
    Nov 11, 2008
    3
    Having played Fable 1, I imagined this would be as good - if not better. I was wrong. The game has good physics and the actions you make really do influence what happens later which is really cool. Combat is simple, no complications. Why am I giving it a low score? Simple : Freezing. It freezes all the time! No, worse than that, it gave me AND my friend Red Rings of Death. Yes, after a Having played Fable 1, I imagined this would be as good - if not better. I was wrong. The game has good physics and the actions you make really do influence what happens later which is really cool. Combat is simple, no complications. Why am I giving it a low score? Simple : Freezing. It freezes all the time! No, worse than that, it gave me AND my friend Red Rings of Death. Yes, after a few hours in RRoD. It had froze about 20 times before that. Bad quality, Microsoft should not have rushed. Graphics : Pretty good, but like I said could be improved. Co-op: I only played about 20 minutes of co-op, and it was okay. I like the way it's not split screen. Sorry to all Fable 1 fans, this is not as good. Expand
  83. JohannL
    Nov 11, 2008
    5
    I have not been able to play through it. I attempted it twice but got stopped both times after more than ten hours by gamebreaking bugs. Very frustrating. There is only one saveslot so its pretty much gameover when the game autosaves with one of the numerous gameending bugs active. I am shocked that there still is no patch out. I payed 60
  84. Dave
    Nov 29, 2008
    7
    Fable 2 was the great sequal to Fable released on the xbox, unfortunatly just like the first game, Peter M. promised more than he could give us. Many things said to be in the second game were indeed gone and we recieved a game based off forgotten promises. Its the sad truth, but the happy part to this game is that it still holds your attention for a good 6-7 hours. They is a little bit of Fable 2 was the great sequal to Fable released on the xbox, unfortunatly just like the first game, Peter M. promised more than he could give us. Many things said to be in the second game were indeed gone and we recieved a game based off forgotten promises. Its the sad truth, but the happy part to this game is that it still holds your attention for a good 6-7 hours. They is a little bit of replay value but not enough to keep you coming back again and again. Overall, the game gives us what we expect from the Fable franchise but doesnt deliever enough innovation from the series to save it. Also, the loading between realms is ridiculous when he promised an open world. Expand
  85. CraigR
    Dec 31, 2008
    8
    this game has its good and bad points the dog idea was executed brilliantly as was the soundtrack and combat but it was to short and left me feeling a bit lied to its not as satasfiying to complete the main storyline as i would have hoped making money is far to easy you can make way to much money far to fast it takes no time to get any sum of money if your renting out enough proporties this game has its good and bad points the dog idea was executed brilliantly as was the soundtrack and combat but it was to short and left me feeling a bit lied to its not as satasfiying to complete the main storyline as i would have hoped making money is far to easy you can make way to much money far to fast it takes no time to get any sum of money if your renting out enough proporties and just in general it doesnt feel like the expansive ever changing world promised with only a few bits of the story actually having any noticable change on the world you inhabit Expand
  86. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    Fable 2 is what people in the industry would call a
  87. Mar 30, 2012
    5
    OMG what a terrible game. This has to rank as one of the most solid game products out there that is dull dull dull. A fantastic job was done on the world and some of the dungeon or areas were done fantastic but the gameplay is about as basic as it can get and even those mechanics are poor at best. The game is so simple it is a one button masher, ok I can understand we want this game to beOMG what a terrible game. This has to rank as one of the most solid game products out there that is dull dull dull. A fantastic job was done on the world and some of the dungeon or areas were done fantastic but the gameplay is about as basic as it can get and even those mechanics are poor at best. The game is so simple it is a one button masher, ok I can understand we want this game to be for the young or inexperienced gamer but then what is with the romantic parts of the game? Are we trying to teach the young how to have an orgy with anyone of any sex because in this game I tried to get my wife and my wife only to follow me and instead we constantly find a mob of groupies standing around me offering to marry me. On the status screen my wife says she wants sex yet you can buy her the world, all her special likes in her favorate world areas, then she does nothing except clap her hands and watch you do silly tricks and is not interested in trigerring her status effects. So, if the status screen says one thing and the action side doesn't match, the game is broken. Its not just broken there either- the game is too simple for advanced gamers and too far out there for youngsters too....Lets talk about other mechanics, I can buy one shop or home then turn my xbox off lets say for a month and come back and I'm a millionare? I like the advancement systems, they are neat but really that is all, if i leave my xbox off i can come back rich as can be and buy the game up. There is so much wrong with this game i don't know where to start. Maybe if i was 10 years old it would appeal but being an adult i have to say this game is definately not for me. Expand
  88. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    In my opinion Fable II is a totally unique and very enjoyable RPG. It took me nearly two years to play this game since it was released back in 2008, 1) because I didn't buy a 360 until recently and 2) because Fable 1 was quite a letdown for me. The characters were fun but the entire world just felt so small and confined, like an MMO that I was beta testing. This game raised the bar inIn my opinion Fable II is a totally unique and very enjoyable RPG. It took me nearly two years to play this game since it was released back in 2008, 1) because I didn't buy a 360 until recently and 2) because Fable 1 was quite a letdown for me. The characters were fun but the entire world just felt so small and confined, like an MMO that I was beta testing. This game raised the bar in absolutely everything. Story, Gameplay, Characters, Side-quests, and so much more. If you love action RPGs then you absolutely cannot miss out on this game. Expand
  89. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    By technical aspects the game is not perfect, but damn-it, it's enjoyable. It's one of the only games that to me merited a replay not just once, but 3 separate times. That's right. I played through the game 4 times (not in a row), and am planning on playing it again. Way better than its sequel.
  90. Apr 6, 2011
    9
    Fable II is one of the greatest RPGs and one of the greatest games I've ever played, and in my personal the best so far in the Fable series, the gameplay, story, and features are outstanding, as are the graphics and sound, and it's just so much fun, but it does have its flaws like the bugs and glitches, and the fact that it lags in populated areas, but this is still a highly enjoyableFable II is one of the greatest RPGs and one of the greatest games I've ever played, and in my personal the best so far in the Fable series, the gameplay, story, and features are outstanding, as are the graphics and sound, and it's just so much fun, but it does have its flaws like the bugs and glitches, and the fact that it lags in populated areas, but this is still a highly enjoyable experience I can recommend to all. Expand
  91. Aug 3, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok, so Fable II sounds like this really awesome game. I never had any of the gamebreaking glitches mentioned here (but there were some funny ones, such as when Bowerstone lost its buildings after completing a job). However, why am I giving this game a 6? The combat is ok, that's a pass. I like the demon doors and the silver keys, in my opinion, those are the pride and the glory of this game. But there are three glaring problems: lore, story, and items. Albion, I have to say, is not a very exciting fantasy world. Firstly, it's not big, like Nirn (Elder Scrolls), Amalur (KOA:R) or even Tyria (Guild Wars). No fun races (hell, even elves would sound nice in the game), realistic backstory (like who created the world? why the hell are we even in this game?) or even fun creatures (heh, the most menancing is a Balverine, a rip off of every single werewolf you've seen, and btw, only 5 types of creatures to kill). Secondly, its story (which includes sidequests) just lacks the feel Skyrim has. In Skyrim, you're lost in the world, like a kid in a candy store. Everything is beautiful, feels magnificent, and even feels real (bears attacking you on the middle of the road, numerous [and I mean NUMEROUS] caverns, forts, waterfalls, mountains, forests, just like a real world). Secondly, the lore is so bad the story suffers (couldn't you have chosen something better than Hero as the "heroes" of the world? And, might I mention, no fun boss fights [trolls don't count] or final battle-WHY CAN'T I JUST FIGHT LUCIEN? WHY DOES A BULLET JUST KILL HIM?). Thirdly, the item system is no fun. Only four types of weapons (from Rusty, Iron, Steel and Master) instead of countless numbers of great loot and items you get in other rpgs. I don't know if I can call Fable II an RPG. Yes, I can level up. Yes, I can "upgrade" my equipment. The first time I played through it, maybe I said yes. Maybe I convinced myself it was indeed worthy of competing with Oblivion. But now, I know even Oblivion is several steps ahead. If I could become completely lost and immersed in Fable II, then it would absolutley crush Bethesda's masterpiece. But its lack of length or even its lack of redundancy cripple the game, allowing the Elder Scrolls to trample over it. I want more out of you Lionhead. You're not a terrible company. I want to have more items and customizations to choose from. I want to explore a massive, massive, world. Fable could have been that and so much more. It may forever be the game that promised immense potential and failed to deliver. If it were anywhere on the level of Oblivion and Skyrim, then I would crown it the king of games. Expand
  92. Mar 15, 2011
    7
    The highly anticipated Fable 2. I enjoyed Fable 1 so much. it was awesome. I had such high hope. But I've got to be honest. For me it just didn't deliver. There's so many bugs and the most annoying thing of all is the low FPS while executing jobs and cycling through menus. I keep playing hoping it will have more to give but it just doesn't grab me like the first one. Sad face :(
  93. Mar 16, 2011
    5
    Technically sound and nice visuals which I like,however your time in the world of Fable 2 is wasted.Why build up spell power and such when there are no big bosses or even challenging encounters.Some great ideas but poorly implemented.The most generic story very dissapointing.Its bad when you're 4 year old can complete a game like this.I wanted to love it more but it just let me down overTechnically sound and nice visuals which I like,however your time in the world of Fable 2 is wasted.Why build up spell power and such when there are no big bosses or even challenging encounters.Some great ideas but poorly implemented.The most generic story very dissapointing.Its bad when you're 4 year old can complete a game like this.I wanted to love it more but it just let me down over and over and over. Expand
  94. Mar 20, 2011
    7
    First, I will admit that had never played Fable when I played Fable II, so I didn't have any prior experience with the franchise going into this game. That being said, I did have a lot of fun playing this and exploring the world. The story was alright and the character interactions were really quite good/well acted, but the climatic moment was too sudden and short for me to really feelFirst, I will admit that had never played Fable when I played Fable II, so I didn't have any prior experience with the franchise going into this game. That being said, I did have a lot of fun playing this and exploring the world. The story was alright and the character interactions were really quite good/well acted, but the climatic moment was too sudden and short for me to really feel the payoff from all the hours invested. But I did enjoy the metagame of being a hedonistic slum lord hero, and watching the reactions of the NPC's around me - that alone provided hours of hilarity. Expand
  95. Apr 23, 2011
    10
    Absolutely loved this game, so much so I played it from start to finish twice. I can see from the other reviews that you either like this sort of game or you don't, and I am one that does. There are many well known voice actors, the game looks beautiful and plays well and is full of humour.
  96. May 9, 2011
    7
    Not a bad game. In my mind the user score is more accurate than the metacritic score. Fable is decent, has a good story line and is fun. Also graphics are exceptional. Problem is this game gets boring towards the end. Worth playing.
  97. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    I very much enjoyed Fable II. Character interactions, combat controls, and the expression system are unique among RPGs which makes for a refreshing feel. I like toying with the locals as much as I enjoy toying with my own morality. The only major issue was feeling like the game was over too quickly (which was unfortunately the same problem with the original Fable). There were lots of oddI very much enjoyed Fable II. Character interactions, combat controls, and the expression system are unique among RPGs which makes for a refreshing feel. I like toying with the locals as much as I enjoy toying with my own morality. The only major issue was feeling like the game was over too quickly (which was unfortunately the same problem with the original Fable). There were lots of odd little achievments along the way that were also fun. :) Expand
  98. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    FANTASIC GAME!! I loved the first fable i still play it to this day. I have rarely come by a Lion head studio game which i didn't like, the story wasn't my favorite if they would have stayed with the heros guild it would have made this game perfect. The dog is perfect, they did a great job with it. graphics were awesome. the game play was so much better then the first one. you can get moreFANTASIC GAME!! I loved the first fable i still play it to this day. I have rarely come by a Lion head studio game which i didn't like, the story wasn't my favorite if they would have stayed with the heros guild it would have made this game perfect. The dog is perfect, they did a great job with it. graphics were awesome. the game play was so much better then the first one. you can get more involded in your world and the world changes with you. fun game :) Expand
  99. Aug 30, 2011
    7
    A decent RPG, but not deserving of GOTY 2008 (Gamespot). The game-play was fun while it lasted, but the sense of achievement or adventure in the game was limited by how easy everything is, and how little there is to do.
  100. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Story: 7
    Characters: 10
    Graphics: 8
    Setting: 10
    Multiplayer: 5
    Soundtrack: 10
    Audio: 10
    Gameplay: 7
    Re-Playability Value: 8
    Fun Factor: 8

    Score: 8.3/10 = A-
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 95 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 95
  2. Negative: 0 out of 95
  1. Fable II is everything Molyneux promised the first time around. It's funny, deep, emotional, epic, and, yes, wildly charming. We are already eager for a second playthrough, and we're betting a lot of you will have exactly the same reaction. [Dec 2008, p.68]
  2. It’s a game that builds gradually and then becomes irresistible, a beautiful lump of an RPG that continues beyond the close of its main campaign, and will have you thinking about it when you’re not at your 360. [Dec 2008, p.79]
  3. The combat handles well, it’s visually stunning, the voice acting and musical score are brilliant, and the epic storyline doesn’t end before it begins (like the first game did). But the most appealing thing about it is that it delivers everything that Molyneux has promised, plus it is oozing with wit and charm - something sorely lacking from many games nowadays. At the end of the day, Fable II is a triumph and a must buy.