Fable III Xbox 360

Fable III Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 88 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 595 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Five decades have passed since the events of Fable II, and Albion has matured into an industrial revolution, but the fate of the kingdom is at peril. In Fable III” you are called upon to rally and fight alongside your people, ascend to the seat of power, and experience the true meaning ofFive decades have passed since the events of Fable II, and Albion has matured into an industrial revolution, but the fate of the kingdom is at peril. In Fable III” you are called upon to rally and fight alongside your people, ascend to the seat of power, and experience the true meaning of love and loss. The choices and sacrifices you make while fanning the flames of revolution, and then as you rule as King or Queen or Albion, will lead to an ever evolving world of consequences that will be felt across your entire land. This sets the stage for unparalleled action and adventure that offers even more ways to fight and engage than ever before. Throughout your journey, you encounter a colorful cast of characters that fans have come to expect from the off-beat style and humor in the Fable games. After determining whether these characters are your friends or foes, you either join them or fight against them in explosive combat, alone or with a friend on Xbox LIVE. In your quest to plant the seeds of revolution, seize power and rule over your kingdom, the choices you make change the world around you, for the greater good or your own personal gain. Who will you become? A rebel without a cause, the tyrant you rebelled against, or the greatest ruler to ever live? [Lionhead] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 88
  2. Negative: 0 out of 88
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    100
    It's hard to talk about Fable III without heaping more and more praise on it. It's one of the best games of the year and one of the richest role-playing experiences to hit the Xbox 360. It begs to be played by anyone who appreciates a game that is expertly produced in almost every area.
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Dec 28, 2010
    90
    A bold experiment in storytelling that shines all the brighter for its many imperfections. [Jan 2011, p.93]
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    88
    Fortunately, those familiar concepts have been augmented with some innovative new ones, and while they aren't all successful, the overall package is an impressive, if imperfect RPG experience.
  4. Oct 26, 2010
    80
    For those of you looking to rekindle the Fable flame and get online and have digital babies, then there's plenty to sink your teeth into. You'll feel right at home with what's on offer, and be glad to make decisions for the greater good. It's an entertaining ride, and one that has the legs to keep you hooked from humble beginnings to royal conclusion.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 19, 2010
    80
    Revolution in story is not followed by a revolution in the game system – unfortunately. Nevertheless Fable III is a decent ending to the series. Although great freedom of act is not followed by great responsibility. [Dec 2010]
  6. Dec 19, 2010
    75
    With a little more polish, Fable III could have been a great game, but it fails to live up to its potential. Instead, it's good, but disappointing.
  7. Dec 19, 2010
    50
    Fable III attempts to radically reinvent the franchise, a reinvention that fans neither wanted nor asked for. Instead of following on the success of the previous entries, Fable III tries to be something other than it is, but I don't think the developers were even sure what this is supposed to be.

See all 88 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 168
  2. Negative: 41 out of 168
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    It's been interesting to see how critics respond to the latest iteration of a well known game franchise over the course of this year. With soIt's been interesting to see how critics respond to the latest iteration of a well known game franchise over the course of this year. With so many top-notch titles the market itself has felt more than saturated with grade-A content. This is far from a bad thing for us gamers. Quite the opposite as it marks a new step in gaming where we aren't overstocked on too much random IP and have a plethora of games to choose from.

    The drawback has been in the way games have been received and the strange ambiguity that game critics have put forth of late. It's been a neverending series of "damned-if-you-do-damned-if-you-don't" reviews that seem to be in constant conflict with other games. When a game like Fable III hits the shelves you'll see critics lauding the game as a triumph for its hilarity, size and willingness to change the mold, and yet another game will be crushed for doing the same. What do we as players want? The same game again? Do we want it to change? The difference in this perspective is causing critics to appear extremely random in their desires. The frustration of this all is knowing that yet another by-the-numbers FPS will be out here shortly that will roll in praise for no solid reason. We, as gamers, deserve better than that. As a result I urge you to enjoy the title for yourself and ignore negative reviews for this game because after several hours (all night) I can stamp it with a seal of greatness.

    Fable III has what I will call the Star Wars: The Force Unleashed syndrome. By that I mean you'll have harsh critical bile spewed over changes in the franchise and yet the fans will flock to it because it has a certain charm that just can't be labeled. The humor of the game is as hilarious as it's ever been and yet there are moments of true human drama that should tug at you emotionally. The games engine feels slightly dated at times, but it's never a drawback and might be considered a perk to veterans of the series. The story can feel slightly contrived at times, but there are twists to be found that make it worthwhile. It's difficult to discuss without spoilers but suffice it to say that the story is far more engaging than the so far more critically appraised Fable II.

    Everything is improved in every way. From the graphics to the story to the humor to your dog there is nothing that hasn't seen a step up in the series. Enjoy it for yourself and take the game in the lighthearted fashion it is meant to be played. If you don't you will miss out on one of this years top must play games.
    Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    So good and so humorist Lion Head managed to fix a lot of things in the game old places just like Bower Stone are more bigger and differentSo good and so humorist Lion Head managed to fix a lot of things in the game old places just like Bower Stone are more bigger and different than on Fable 2 making you to explore the whole city. Also necessary they made a voice to the protagonist (son of the hero of fable 2) so he talks giving it a personality . Many new features cool interesting is the menu anytime you press start it transports you to a house (or something similar), and this time you are not going through vengeance, revolution is the main theme in this installment trying to throw out of the way your brother that is a tyrant King. Simply awesome Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    Fable 3 es uno de los mejores videojuegos de esta generación. Aún a pesar de no ser muy novedoso y de no tener unosFable 3 es uno de los mejores videojuegos de esta generación. Aún a pesar de no ser muy novedoso y de no tener unos gráficos espectaculares, fable nos enamora por contarnos una historia como sólo molineux sabe llena de magia y de referencias a los cuentos tradicionales. Si a eso se le une su magistral doblaje al castellano y su fx, fable 3 se coloca como el tercer mejor juego de rol de la plataforma de redmond sólo por debajo de la saga mass effect. Expand
  4. Jan 28, 2012
    7
    The game isnt as bad as some reviewers say. I actually genuenly thought the game was fun ,funny (In some parts) and pretty unique. Sure theThe game isnt as bad as some reviewers say. I actually genuenly thought the game was fun ,funny (In some parts) and pretty unique. Sure the game has its faults. Like having to go into the sanctum every time you want to equip something. Yeah it does get sort of annoying but since theres no loading screen when heading there its not so bad and i found it actually kind of cool and unique. The combat is all around decent but its FAR to easy and removes the tension that combat should have. Heres my biggest issue with the game. The designers put a lot of effort into creating the world which looks very nice and is designed well. But instead of looking at the stellar visuals you are forced to stare at a glowing trail of sparkles to your destination, That is annoying and should have been removed entirely, and sure you can turn it off but then you have no clue where to go. Overall its a pretty enjoyable game though. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2010
    5
    Fable 3 is basically Fable 2 for the majority of the game, until you get to manage your kingdom. But the combat, dialogs, economy are all justFable 3 is basically Fable 2 for the majority of the game, until you get to manage your kingdom. But the combat, dialogs, economy are all just a simplified version of Fable 2. The main character is a prince/princess, who for some reason decided to leave the wealth and power, only to fight their way back to the same place. I don't really feel any connection to any of the characters. Unlike Fable 2, where I really felt like I knew the main characters and they were developed well. Now, you're just thrown in the game as some random noble doing favors for random people to start a revolution against a king who's a jerk. It's funny actually, because revolutions against the crown usually don't end up placing the king's brother in power, because they end up killing the entire royal family. That aside, the game feels so over-simplified that it's actually quite boring. The dialogs no longer have a little moving line that you have to hit at the right moment. You just hold down the button until it says "release", and that's it. Many quests make you keep going back to the same place over and over again. Making money is extremely easy. There aren't very many good/evil choices in dialog. Actually there isn't much dialog at all. And what the hell were they thinking with the hand-holding garbage?? My quest was to get apprehend a criminal called "the butcher", so I run up to him and grab his hand and we skip and dance back to the guard, as if I'm taking a naughty child back to their mother. Really? I feel so awkward when I have to do this. Also, the hand-shaking, kissing, hugging sound effects are really bad. Do people really moan and groan loudly when shaking hands? I hate this part of the game so much that I avoid interacting with any NPCs. I do like the inventory system, where you go into your sanctuary to look at your stuff. But the map is useless... I want a quick way to pull up a map, but instead i have to jump to my sanctuary, run up to the map table, zoom to the area I'm in, and figure out where I was standing. Combat is more difficult that Fable 2, but there are few weapons, and your clothes and armor have no bearing on your abilities. There's tons of outfits you can put on, as if you're playing dress-up with a doll. It's pointless and stupid, and it makes me think this game was targeted towards people who love The Sims but want to fight too. Expand
  6. T-A
    Jun 18, 2011
    5
    Fable III is a major letdown for fans of the series. Despite new, seamless inventory and traveling systems, the game lacks the wonder,Fable III is a major letdown for fans of the series. Despite new, seamless inventory and traveling systems, the game lacks the wonder, challenge, and exploration of its predecessors. The plot at first seems very promising and epic, but Molyneuxâ Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2014
    0
    The AVGN should review this boring chore of a game. It sucks. It sucks REAL hard. If you like the game, great. But I see it as one of theThe AVGN should review this boring chore of a game. It sucks. It sucks REAL hard. If you like the game, great. But I see it as one of the biggest disapointments ever. Expand

See all 168 User Reviews

Trailers