User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 64
  2. Negative: 11 out of 64

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    5
    Operation: Anchorage is a very neutral DLC. The DLC itself is not particularly good, but also has no glaring gameplay flaws and doesn't really outright bore or annoy the player. It feels more like a few more quests added to the game. The only major issue is a lack of RPG characteristics, a key part of Fallout 3. Even this is not a crushing blow, though it certainly makes the DLC less interesting and rather forgettable. The real benefit of this DLC is the loot you gain at the end, which are more than worth slogging through the DLC itself. Expand
  2. May 29, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. what do you get when you put a pretty decent remake of a popular isometric shooter and make a dlc that is completely linear and unchallenging? THIS DLC. The appearance of the Outcast Brotherhood had raised my eye, hoping that this DLC would have a lot packed in for me to assist the brotherhood. But no, all I do for them is to open an armory for their materialistic pleasures with this "simulation" that sends me to what I would think EA or Activision would've done to Fallout if they owned the rights to it: Linear Shooter it the up, make it incredibly easy, not to mention sucking america's patriotic with all of the whole "america yeah and communism can go to hell" monotomy. Still, I can forgive that fortunately this is just a DLC And that the simulation IS a simulation of a completely fictional war. Still, it doesn't make it any more of a bore. Yes, it is somewhat difficult in the start, as you are left with little ammo and a pea shooter and only like 2 stealthboys to try to push your way through parts of chinese-controlled Anchorage. The biggest issue with this game, however, is it's difficulty. NO matter what level you are, you will have a breeze through this game, as there is auto-health and auto-ammo stations plentiful throughout the game, which will replenish your ammo and health an unlimited amount of times, not to mention there is an actual ammo cap in this DLC and intel just like any COD fanboy will wet their pants for. The DLC is short, and to some who complained it, I'm actually glad for it, as I didn't really wanted to be pandered any farther with the patriotic or how I was pushed down a corridor going rambo on a bunch of chinese soldiers because "they aren't american". Admittedly, there was some highlights on this DLC, the Gauss Rifle is a fun weapon to use short and or long range, and you get to fight big ****ing transformer's as well. still, what infuriated me the most was that the Outcast really only had depth in this simulation, as you complete it, there is an argument going on that automatically eliminates them. I never got a idea where they came from or how they were made, and that it seemed they were just organized chaos hoping to grab some guns. This was not the way for bethesda to go with a DLC like this, especially when I was looking forward not to have a Modern Military Shooter in my FPS RPG. Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    Its coming to my attention that I'm like the only person who likes this. But a quick side note. You will most likely find great experiences with this if you like sneaking through, but if your guns ablazing then welcome to a nice open can of whoop ass. The game never really feels like its in fallout 3 and for some reason i didn't like that. But the whole simulation thing and the awesome swag you get after is WELL worth the price of admission. Expand
  4. May 16, 2012
    7
    This is the second dlc I have played for fallout 3, and after a crap dlc [Mothership Zeta] This dlc was much better than the last one I played. Operation Anchorage was more like a FPS than a RPG if you ask me, but it was cool. You can choose what units you want in combat which was cool. Operation Anchorage has a bit too much combat like Mothership Zeta but din't really care about that in Operation Anchorage. Some very cool new weapon's like the Guass rifle or the Chinese offieir's sword and some good power armor which beats Mothership Zeta's weapons going down the plug hole. It was also a bit short but worth buying. Fallout 3 - Operation Anchorage 7.8/10
    .
    Expand
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    6
    I love Fallout 3, it's easily one of my favourite games of all time. Operation: Anchorage was decent for me; it kept me interested long enough for better DLC to come out, and it provided some interesting back story. The items included were a good addition. But overall it was just a bit clumsy. It didn't really feel like Fallout as presented in the core game. Still, being a fallout fanatic, I played this to it's extreme and if you are like me you will enjoy it, if only the one time. Expand
  6. Feb 4, 2011
    9
    Fallout 3's DLC Operation Anchorage is a great DLC it has a great story, that gives you a look back at the beginning of the war that started the apocalypse, it adds new weapons, characters, achievements, and a slightly different gameplay style, the only problem I can find with it is that it has glitches and it is extremely short, this is definitely worth the $10 asking price, and I highly recommend it to any fan of the game. Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2010
    6
    Fallout 3 is all about exploring and character customization, so if there is going to be DLC for it, that download should give us more of those two primary things. But Operation Anchorage is just a lot of shooting mindless enemies. It's worth playing for the items you get at the end, but only that.
  8. Oct 16, 2010
    7
    I thought that this DLC was pretty good. Operation Anchorage was different compared to the regular Fallout 3, the gameplay was lot more action based.The plot was nothing special,defeating the chinese in a simulation about operation anchorage.This DLC is pretty short, compleating it will take 3-4 hours.But in the end of the Operation Anchorage you will get the Best armor, and one of the best weapons in Fallout 3.So overall this DLC was pretty good. Expand
  9. Oct 8, 2010
    8
    i liked this. i liked the video game within a video gameesque theme going on here. enjoyed playing through it. i liked the goodies you got after finishing it. plus the photo being taken of a few soldiers which was then made into a landmark in the fallout 3 world.
  10. Oct 8, 2010
    0
    i liked this. i liked the video game within a video gameesque theme going on here. enjoyed playing through it. i liked the goodies you got after finishing it. plus the photo being taken of a few soldiers which was then made into a landmark in the fallout 3 world.
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. The changes in gameplay are refreshing and the challenge level which results from them make it a satisfying experience. It is not painfully difficult, just pleasantly so, and its running time of roughly three hours is long enough to be enjoyable without becoming monotonous.
  2. I love Fallout 3. I love it to an almost indecent extent. It was far and away my game of 2008, and doesn't look like being knocked out of my personal top spot for a good while yet. But when you sift out its role-play, the ammo-box inspection and the exploration and draft in a fleet of health and ammo regeneration points to compensate... well, affairs just feel shallow and somewhat naked.
  3. 70
    Ultimately, it's the die-hard Fallout 3 fans that should enjoy this new chapter in the series' history, and those same fans who may end up slightly annoyed after the fact. Operation Anchorage doesn't answer many questions regarding the lead-up to the big war, but it's an interesting piece of the puzzle that fits into the overall game without feeling out of place.