User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1384 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Fallout 3 masterfully creates a parallel universe for players to explore and lose dozens of hours in. No other game of this console generation comes close to offering the amount of content, freedom of choice, and level of immersion that can be found here.
  2. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    An excellent game in the development of weapons and skills
    But the only problem is walking! Hero does not walk never walk normally!
    The story is great grandfather and so many weapons and too many drugs and beam in some cases not be a good situation
    For the transmission of a new era needs for a long time.
    by / adil khojah saudi arabia jeddah city
  3. Oct 8, 2010
    10
    Loved this game. preordered it and awaited its arrival. loved it straight away. i've replayed it more than oblivion, i find it easier to take off from where i left it than oblivion where i feel i have to start a new character. rather than fast travel i wish there was the option of some sort of vehicle to pilot but i guess the terrain in the game would not be able to support this. i like the fact you can spend hours walking. see things in the distance and travel towards them and the level of if i can say "realism" in that travel from A to B of the obstacles you might encounter in between. Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2010
    10
    A wonderfully immersive game. If you're looking for an escape from reality for a good month or so pick this game up. Sometimes while playing I became sidetracked from where I intended to go and ended up exploring a random building for hours without realizing how much time went by. The introduction of the VATS allows the player to get much more use and variation from the many different weapons in the game, increasing the depth of the story and the fallout world. The character development will be different for those (like myself) who played the game after all the DLC came out. I was able to level up my character evenly although it is possible to level up first as a stealthy sniper or a brutal close range melee fighter (to name just two) before leveling other attributes. Much like life, everything in this game decays over time. You will always have to fix your equipment and sometimes your companions will die and not come back. My advice is to just sit back and let the game take you where it wants to go. Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    Epic classic game the likes of which has yet to be betterd.I have played through this game several times and thoroughly enjoyed every play-through.All in all I,d recommend this great game to anyone.
  6. Sep 16, 2010
    10
    First of all, does this game deserve a 10? No, but it deserves a 9.5 to me, and that rounds to 10. Why? Gameplay - 10 Truly immerses you into the post apocalyptic environment. You feel like you can't do anything because you lack resources. Story is great, as are side quests. Playability - 9 Controls are nice, but not quite FPS material. They seem a bit jerky and you find yourself relying on VATS more than you should. Difficulty isn't bad on normal. Difficult enemies can be quite difficult if not handled correctly, easy enemies can be dangerous if you aren't paying attention.
    Replayability - 10
    I have put more time into this game than any other. Once as an evil character and as a good character. It is really fun, even after you have beaten it. Especially if you have some expansions.

    If you find this game boring, you most likely need to let it grow on you. I have a brother who quit this game, but then came back in a year for no particular reason and "fell in love with it". My friend did the same thing. They didn't understand the whole, conserving resources concept and couldn't sustain enough resources to be able to leave Megaton. So they grew tired of lacking ammo and health and then quit. Now they both have completed the game (Took them twice as long as me, but that is what happens when you need to get over that learning curve and steer away from FPS's like CoD.). Play a real game like this instead of games for the simple minded like CoD or Halo and you might just never turn back.
    Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    I felt a sense of accomplishment. But then again I don't feel the need for a "100% completion score." It can be done without much hassle, though. Very fun game - I really liked Oblivion and I loved playing Fallout and Fallout 2 as a kid so that engine with that story was nice. Can't wait for New Vegas.
  8. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Best fallout ever made so far.Fallout 3 has allot of great dlc,and the graphics and story are superb.if you love rpg's and fps's you'll feel right at home with fallout 3.
  9. Oct 16, 2010
    10
    This game was amazing. There is just so many things to do in Fallout 3. I have personally already played this game, and all the DLC:s through many times, and I still love them.Fallout 3 may actually be my favorite game of all time.If you own an Xbox 360,PS3 or a good PC,you must buy this game.
  10. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. The world is huge and there is so much to do. I felt like the world was really alive and truly felt like I was in a post-apocalyptic DC. The graphics are great and the music is great. There are some very memorable characters found in Fallout world and overall the story is very good. And the gameplay is great! It is so much fun to explore the wasteland. Do not miss this game! Expand
  11. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = This game has frozen on me a total of 36 times, but you know what?? Despite all of it's issues it still manages to be one of the best games ever made!! Excellent atmosphere, amazing design.
  12. Jul 12, 2011
    10
    Ok. This game is AWSOME! Yes, the game has it flaws. Many of them too. Damn many. But that cant drag the game down. It is just too good. Yes, it is like it was made to be buggy. Yes, the thing that you cant chose how the ending shall be is also very bad. Ad that you cant support the bad guys in an winning way. But it cant drag it down. It is just too good. First time you play the game, you will play it without thinking about how long you have played. And neither will you the 4 next times. The game has still very many flaws, but it is not bug enough to destroy for it. It is the best game i have played. Not my favorite game, but the best still. That is with the Broken Steel pack. Without it is kinda a downturn at the end. But still, it deserves a Expand
  13. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    First off the other people saying the game has a short plot it is true, but the purpose of the game are also the side quest which are extremely interesting. Your not just supposed to fly through the campaign in 6 hours, do side quest and make the game last for weeks, savoring the true greatness of fallout. There is no other game like it and it is defenitely one of my favorite games I have owned, which is over 150 games. Expand
  14. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    I love this game. Love it. Just my favorite game of ALL time. Well besides Black Ops & Reach. Please do yourself a giant favor and go pick this game up. The mechanics are just wonderful, the game play is addictive, but the graphics need a little work, but I don't give damn. I love it!
  15. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    Fallout 3 is one of the best experiences I have ever had with a video game, the graphics are AMAZING and still highly impressive even by todays standards, voice acting is top notch, and sound effects and music are outstanding, the quests are amazing, this game has stolen over 200 hours of my life and I still want more, my only complaints are that it has some bugs and glitches, but in the end they don't hinder the experience at all, I highly recommend this game to any and all gamers, it is an adventure that must be experienced by everyone. Expand
  16. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    perfect. the perfect game really.

    anyone who says it's too short, should go play pac man. the point of the game and it's ilk is exploration.

    I still play.
  17. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    This game is NOT an FPS. When going into you need to realize that Fallout has a long and great history and that its history is Turn Based play. This is where VATS comes in. They have created a great mix of the old Turn Based style play with the speed of FPS. The game has great visuals, a large and diverse environment that will always be giving you something to do. There is no shortage of side quests to keep you busy and you will probably beat the game without exploring 75% of what the game has to offer. I recommend at least getting Brotherhood of Steel DLC as it really opens the game up (literally) and adds a lot of great features. (Best to get the GOTY version) Expand
  18. Mar 6, 2011
    10
    Yes some of the character animation isn't great - human anyway - but switching to first person view helps.
    This games has offered me more hours of entertainment than any other, and that includes some of the big titles from 2010. The open ended exploration coupled with the enemy AI make this game so exciting to play: enemies will not simply wait for you - they will come after you. There is
    also great variety in the gameplay, so many ways to kill or be killed. Expand
  19. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    A surreal and immersive post-apocalyptic experience. Everything about this game is excellent, from the story to the interface to the controls to the gameplay to the graphics. It is fun, challenging, rewarding and interesting. The world map is large and not easily traversed, but the sense of accomplishment you get from venturing further and further into the Wasteland is very satisfying. While being completely open-ended, there is enough direction to keep you on the right track, along with enough distraction to keep your mindlessly entertained when you don't feel like doing anything in particular. Fallout 3 is very similar to Oblivion (because it runs on the same engine), but with a number of extra elements that make certain aspects of it far more entertaining. Combat in Fallout is a lot of fun, although aiming can be difficult, so you will almost certainly become reliant on the V.A.T.S. turn-based aiming system. Inventory is a similar to Oblivion, in that you don't mind it until you are overburdened. Then, you hate it. Dialogue is somewhat force and stilted, but generally entertaining and varied. The level system is FAR superior to Oblivion's skill use-based system, with actual experience points gained from completing mission and killing enemies determining when you level. The real appeal of Fallout 3, though, is that you can just play and play in whatever fashion you want, for hours and hours, in a fascinating, detailed and somewhat frightening world. Expand
  20. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    What ever your opinion on Fallout games before this, you need to rethink your ideas. If you thought oblivion was good (or bad) there is no denying this is an excellent game. If your not sure whether to but this game, let me put it to you this way WWW.AMAZON.COM, £15, thats it for a thirty hour game and five peices of DLC worth 800msp each. Although it can be frustrating at times and sometimes youll want to puch your console for megafailing at killing a deathclaw and i can tell you before you do something you may regret SAVE, i can tell you how much i've wanted to kill everyone in the game but to do that would be foolish,not if you had a save before though... either way this game is unquestionably good and for everyone ou there, all you have to do is install and no more bugs/glitches!!! FALOUT FTW!!! Expand
  21. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    Huge immersive world that calls out to the player. It puts you in the post apocalyptic hell of Fallout in an unmatched game that is truly magnificent. You will never stop being surprised by the amount of things in this game that you will just happen to stumble upon.
  22. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    This game will draw you in and never let you go if you let it. It's post apocolyptic setting mixed with it's unique cast of characters, stellar soundtrack and interesting locations and missions and you have one of the best settings in video games. If you love post apocolyptic settings, 1950's American culture, salvaging and character customization, this is your game.
  23. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Fallout 3 is far one of the best games i have ever played. I have spent over 100 hours playing and I don't wish at all that I could have any of it back. One thing that makes it such a good game is that the decisions you make reflect what happens the rest of the game. There is so much stuff to do in this game that 100 hours is miniscule to the amount of time it would take to do everything in the game. Perfect! Expand
  24. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    The begining of this game was sooo slow and I almost stopped playing, but I continued knowing it had to get better, and it did. The moment the game completely captured me was the moment the character walks out of the vault. the landscape was amazing, the map huge, the gameplay endless. I rented the game at first then I bought the GOTY edition and never before have I gotten my moneys worth from a game. 160 hours and I am still playing. Expand
  25. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    With Fallout 3 they took everything great about Oblivion and made it TEN TIMES BETTER. Not a surprise that this was awared so many GOTY rewards. Ignore the negative reviews of this MASTERPIECE, buy this game!
  26. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Unreal, this game is just spectacular!!!! Leaves you breathless and the story has no match. This is the one and only game that matches to Oblivion with the exception of Mass Effect games. This is unlike all, this is stunning. 11/10 greatest RPG for me I really enjoyed it!!!!!
  27. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    This game is so massive and epic,even without the DLC's! But with'em your looking at a game of epic per-portions. Loved every second of this awesome game. One of the greatest open world games all time period.
  28. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    Simply put, one of the best RPG's made so far. It's content-packed, ever-exciting, post-apocalyptic world is always fun to explore, and it's members are always fun to shoot. The DLC makes the game even better.
  29. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    Whilst Skyrim feels like a cheap, by the numbers cash-in designed for nothing more than raking in people's dollar from pre-orders, Fallout 3 (GOTY ed) is a superbly crafted game, and the effort + skill put into this top notch package is evident throughout. The main reason the game works so well is because the game's environment, and subsequent discoveries you make throughout exploring it, really draw you in and submerse you with ease - the capital wasteland has so much character that you can't help but fall in love with it. Everything about the game fits and works well too, from the leveling system to the VATS combat system which, although it may take a little time to get used to, never gets old. The atmospheric terminator-esq music helps draw you in too, and a lot of the quests actually require you to keep pushing on throughout the wasteland instead of being simple fetch quests (although there are a few of those in there) - which again enhances that desire to explore further. The RPG aspect does still lack - again it's a case of there not being that much choice available (although there is still SOME choice available, more than Skyrim). But the game is no weaker for it, and a game which is all about exploration in a ruined wasteland manages to nail that right on the nose. It can be a bit buggy at times, and it can also be a tad repetitive, but overall it just works and it works superbly. Definitely one to put at the top of your shopping list. Expand
  30. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    This is one of my all time favorite games, the story, gameplay, and sound all stand out in this title. There is so much stuff to do that you will spend well over 100 hours finishing side quests and exploring. The combat is unique to where a blend of turn based action with shooter mechanics fleshes out a new combat style. The environments are beautiful, including all the DLC which adds to the already massive and immersive fallout world. The VATS finishing kill cams never get old no matter how long you play. There is just so much good content in this single game that even without the DLC it will satisfy you for hour on end. The DLC is just icing on the cake. Even though its aged you should buy this game. Expand
  31. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game is a amazing and noone should pass it up. It's a great evolvement from Oblivion, which was also fantastic. Good questing and other such stuffs.
  32. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    This is an awesome game with a good story and lots of action and it is one of my favorite games so bravo!! And the game is extra good because you finally can choose who you want to be.
  33. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    Fallout 3 is an amazing game, with so many choices to make, quests and extra DLC to play and a variety of weapons, companions and essentials to choose from. An easy 10/10.
  34. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    An absolute essential to any gamers repertoire. If you don't have Fallout 3, then you need to go and get it ASAP. You can get the GOTY edition now for 25$ brand new. That is a huge deal. For a game that offers hundreds of hours of entertainment, that is a steal.

    Go and buy Fallout 3 right now, you will not regret it.
  35. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Despite a glitch for every hour of gameplay, you'll forgive it for the compelling multi-arching story, the expansive world to explore, and the interesting characters. Fallout 3 will keep you wandering the wasteland for days, gathering every little artifact, talking to every NPC, and shooting every mutated thing for the ever-valuable XP so you can again level up and chase the next perk.
  36. May 17, 2013
    10
    After Oblivion, I didn't think I could enjoy a game this much, but Fallout 3 completely blew me away. Quite possibly the best game I have ever played.
  37. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Out of all the games I have played, Fallout 3 is among the best. In terms of gameplay VATS never gets old and the wide variety of possible play styles mean that there are multiple ways to do the same thing; thus resulting in an astoundingly high level of replay-ability. The dreary and destroyed Capitol Wasteland coupled with some excellent sound design conjurer up a mood that perfectly meshes with the story and game as a whole. In conclusion with its numerous quests, locations, and interactions Fallout 3 is an experience that you can sink hundreds of hours into and still be begging for more. Expand
  38. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Without a doubt my favorite game of all time, the most intense, original, creative, enjoyable, lengthy, spontaneous gaming experience I have ever had. I must have spent over 300 hours on this game and look back on every second fondly.
  39. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Greatest Game of All Time. As a fan of the series since it first began in 1997, I couldn't have been happier with the return of the Fallout series in 2008. I have logged over 250 hours on this game in the three years since I have purchased, and it simply never gets old. The story, although not as original as the previous 2 games, was quite enthralling. The gameplay is fantastic (especially VATS mode) and the graphics are stellar (for its time of course.) The game world is enormous, filled with dozens of quests and hundreds of locations to explore. Truly, it is easy to get sucked into Fallout 3 and log 100 hours in a single epic playthrough. 10/10 Expand
  40. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    What Fallout 3 is, is a fully fleshed out world. It has a tone unprecedented in the video game medium of this console generation. Science fiction mixed with an mid 20th century vibe gives a strange yet refreshing feel to the game. Here is why I think Fallout 3 deserves a 10:

    - Story
    You wake up one morning and to find your father has escaped from the underground vault you've been living
    in, the one people say no-one ever enters or leaves. This introduces you to the world of Fallout well, and your primary mission throughout the majority of the game is to find him which this slowly changes as you get caught up in the struggle for civilization and power. While I find the story to be stellar, what really came shining through to be story wise and the sub-plots within side missions and the moral dilemmas within those. Finding an old lady's ancestor's violin could only be fun in Fallout 3 because of the way it fits in with and teaches you about the fiction. Playing Fallout 3 feels like your carving your own story into the wasteland, as opposed to a pre-determined one. I finished the story after around 60 hours (And have gone on since to about 100 hours before I moved onto other games).

    -Gameplay
    Fallout 3's gameplay, though quirky and not without glitches, is fun. Shooting mechanics are decent and get the job done. When playing Fallout 3, I slowly became dependent on the VATS system because of how much easier it is to hit targets using it. Weapon spread can feel way too high to FPS fans, especially to ones who've been playing Call of Duty at 60 frames per second which has laser like precision and speed. Weapons can take damage and need to be repaired, as with apparel, adding an interesting element to the game. Exploration is rewarding (literally, you get experience points!) and the vast number of places you'll find when wandering randomly is staggering. These places wont be empty, loot and even quests are to be found in the most barren looking of places. There is also a multitude of ways to deal with any given situation. By customizing your character, you can decide what kinds of ways to will deal with situations. Will you spend skill points on Science skills to access the computer and disable the turret in the next room? Or will you spend them on Weapon skills and go in the room guns blazing? This is a simple example to illustrate the freedom you have to deal with situations. You are confronted with moral choices throughout your stay in the wasteland, and at times you may feel the need to steal from friendlies to survive. Through customizing your character, not only does it give to choices but it also makes your character feel unique to the point you doubt anyone else in the world has a character exactly like yours, which is most likely the case. You are free to save pretty much at all times, and this may seem like an asset, but knowing the if you screw up and make a bad decision you can return to a save not to far back does make the experience a little less immersive. It does mean you can experiment with social bounds and immoral decisions in the game though, which is fun.

    -Graphics
    Understandably, being a game of this scale, this isn't the fastest running game nor the greatest looking one. The graphics aren't bad. At times, though far and few between, I would even go as far to say they're good. Being post apocalyptic, there's not much color on the palette and the game can feel a little dreary at times, however this adds to feel of Fallout and further establishes its tone. The skyboxes look incredible. Though it's something few pay attention to, I'm sure every one will look up at night and feel as though it's dark in the real world. Stiff animation does make the game feel sluggish however. But its unmatched graphical style is enough to pull it through on the graphics end of things.

    In conclusion, Fallout 3 is just a game that you have to play to comprehend how good it is. Every element of the game works in unison to produce something with an underlying tone and incredible immersion. People may be skeptical of buying a game 3 years of age, but be assured, this is a masterpiece and you don't want to miss it.
    Expand
  41. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Now, to start off, this is my first review i've ever done. Honestly to, I don't really intend to do more reviews, but this game...it needs to be said how great it is. Also as another note, this game isn't for everyone. Though, I believe, if you give it a try and really go deep in its immersive story, incredibly characters, addicting gameplay, and amazing quests, anyone can enjoy this great game. This review won't contain any spoilers or even any real plot elements, just my thoughts on the game itself and how I came to get it. About a year ago, just when summer started, I remember that I was on youtube looking at random game footage from several different games, when I saw the E3 2008 cinematic trailer for this game. As I remember, I never went and looked up any game footage, but that trailer really did intrigue me. As so-called fate would have it, my sister asked me if I would take her to GameStop to pick up Scribblenauts for her DS, while there I noticed in a small bargain bin, there was Fallout 3, in there for only $15. I wasn't sure if I really did want it, since I only saw the trailer, but for the first time in my life I took a blind chance on a video game and bought it. I came home, put it in my Xbox and...wasn't impressed. I was lost in the beginning, didn't know how to leave "the vault" and was, honestly, annoyed. A few days later I would come back and finally finish it, which wasn't hard at all really, then the doors of the vault opened, and I was blown away. I remember just walking around for about 2 hours, not knowing what to do or where to go, all I did was just explore, and was so happy I could do this in a game. Eventually I stumbled onto a town called "Megaton" (which I obviously now realize I was supposed to go there anyway) and met the sheriff there, who I tried to me nice to, since now that I know what this game is set in I was afraid he'd kill me if I said the wrong thing! My first time seeing a ghoul, genuinely scared me, but with a character like Gob I felt so sorry for him, and thats one thing you'll notice that this game does to you, it gives you a real emotional connection with the characters in this game. Anyway though, that was my story of how I found Fallout 3 and my first time playing it. But thats not a review, is it? This game, took more then 300 hours of summer time from me, and honestly, i'd do it again if I was given the choice to go back in time. By the time I beat the game the first time through, I felt bad that I had only paid $15 for this game, it has something for truly anyone that likes to play video games. This is honestly one of my all time favorite games, for this reason in particular: When I had my 300 hour fill of fallout, I had beaten the game through twice, with broken steel added to both files, and I was done then. I didn't return to the game, until recently, I missed being able to explore the wasteland, finding new things and seeing new sites, even making a few companions to travel with (my favorite feature!). So I started playing as a villain and it was like I was re discovering everything from my playthroughs a year ago, and none of the fun has been diminished. Thats why this game should have a spot in the best games of all time, even after so much time has gone by, and playing through the game multiple times, you can still come back and find hours of enjoyment from this masterpiece. If you, well like video games, then at least try and rent this game, play from the true beginning, not from someone else's half way save file. I would also highly recommend getting broken steel, since you can then continue after you have finished the game, or the game of the year edition, since it supposedly has the DLC already installed. Nonetheless, this is a masterpiece, I fell in love with this game, and if you give it a chance, you can to. This truly deserves a 10/10, hopefully this helped someone out there decide on this game, if not, it was nice to tell my small story. Expand
  42. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    This is one of my favourite games of all time, the sheer amount to do and discover is ridiculous, and everything you do feels so rewarding. The DLC after release was also very good, yet again Bethesda delivered a cracking experience which I can say I have easily spent over 100 hours playing
  43. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    My favorite game on the Xbox 360. Huge game world to explore, lots of quests to do, flawless voice-acting and great setting. Even though it has its issues, like the third-person camera and the not perfect combat, it's still an awesome game, that will consume a lot of your time.
  44. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    This game was an amazing game, even with all the bugs and glitches the game still delivers, in my opinion one the best Role Playing Games ever, there real'y isn't anything like it, the game is perfect.
  45. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    This is the best RPG I have played. It beats oblivion and skyrim to me. It has a meaningful story with great progression and skills. It is to good to ignore.
  46. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    When I picked up this game in 2009 I didn't know anything about it, but now after having put hundreds of hours, multiple playthroughs, and having done everything in the this game and New Vegas it has opened me up to RPG genre. It is to date The 2nd best RPG ever made, after Skyrim. With countless opportunities, missions, things to do, and a compelling storyline. It earns its 10 from me with a bang. Expand
  47. May 22, 2012
    10
    I've been gaming for years so I've played loads of great games but for me fallout 3 is top of my list. I'm on my third play thru and it's just fresh each time. Was so disappointed with new Vegas and hated how reviewers kept saying the graphics we're like fallout 3. They weren't, fallout 3 graphics were far better.
  48. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    Masterpiece of modern gaming. Bethesda crafted a unique game which remains an excellent homage to the original Fallout series. Almost 4 years after its release and I can still pick it up and enjoy it again and again. It would not surprise me if I had 300+ hours of play time into it. It's just that good.
  49. May 24, 2012
    10
    One of the best games ive ever played. Beautiful open massive enviroment with so many locations to discover that arnt even part of the main quest. Its a game for explorers who like to just delve into a huge world filled with all sorts to discover and collect. Great leveling system and the perks you can chose give each character an individual and unique feel. Cant express enough how massive the game world is and being totally open you can chose which direction to walk and press forward for hours before hitting the end of the map. But you dont have to walk too far to find a new location to explore or monsters and raiders to fight. 10/10 any rpg fans dream game. This is skyrim/oblivion with guns and a future feel to it Expand
  50. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    This is a game that will stand the test of time. Graphics 8.5/10 Story 9/10 Gameplay 9/10 Sound 8.5/10 Fun 10/10 Replay Value 10/10 If you want a game that will immerse you for hour's, then this is the game you want. The game will amaze you with an impressive open world, a great story, and interesting characters, I highly recommend this game to fans of Open World/RPG's. This is one of my favorite games of all time, the game is everything but linear as you can choose to follow the main story or go your separate way. the game does have some glitches but nothing game breaking. The enviroment has an amazing feel and the Capital Wasteland is one of the greatest places in Video game history, it has over a hundred quest's and most of them are very satisfying and don't just feel like a bunch of sidequests with no meaning. The game does a fantastic job with exploration and the replay value in this game is very high. Overall its a must buy game. Expand
  51. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    You have to get this game. It combines shooting, story, character interactions, and speaks to about every genre of gamer It's my favorite game of all time.
  52. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    This game is THE best game I'VE ever played. I love this game so much, I've spent alone 100 hours on one save file, this excludes the four other save files I have for this game. This game was my first RPG game that I had ever played, and still my favorite. At first when I played the game, I escaped the Vault and didn't know where to go after it. So I quit playing the game and eventually ended up selling it. After a chat with my friend about the game, he changed my mind and I thought I would give it another try, and boy was I glad he changed my mind. I started off a new file just so I could remember everything that happened. The reason I quit the first time was because I didn't know where to go or what to do. (Note: This was my first RPG so give me a break) After I left the Vault on my new file, I found Megaton right away, and after that I was hooked. The story, the characters, the big opened wasteland, the weapons. I beat the main story in about 4 hours. I knew I had to get the GOTY edition because I wanted to enjoy this game more. I got it and man I didn't think it was possible to be blown away even more than I already was. I don't want to keep babbling on about how awesome this game is because than you probably won't want to read this, but this game is a MUST buy, because you will love it! Expand
  53. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    Fans of Mad Max and science fiction should love this game. I had never played a RPG before and I loved it. I will warn people who have never played a RPG before that it is a long slog and you will spend a long time searching through boxes in the desolate wasteland, although you should love the action / first person rpg system.
  54. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    What is there not to love about Fallout 3, there is a real sense of achievement playing this game which rewards you when u level up and get perks which means you can make the player the way you want whether you want him to talk his way out of most things or do high damage in melee to explosion expert its up to you. The scenery in the game is amazing a pure work of art and the design of the wastelands monsters are original and well designed. the feel of the 1950s retro America just adds a nice touch to the feel of the game and for me made it more enjoyable to play.The big thing i love about this game is ur karma, do good deeds you get good karma and people treat you better and sometimes give you ammo where s if u go around killing people you get bad karma which will make people treat u differently and sometimes attack you. The story line is pretty good tho i wish it was longer and enjoy the way the game literally begins when you are being born. over all this is a fantastic game which u will love right to the end and if you haven't already bought it i would advise that u did Expand
  55. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    I bought the GOTY edition,and must say that this is the only RPG I have gotten all of the DLC for and played through it all. I'm actually reconsidering buying the GOTY edition for my PS3 as well just to play it all over again. Absolutely great RPG by Bethesda.
  56. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    It's a fact that RPG's are one of the most influential genres of all times. RPG's have given us a new way to immerse our selves in a world of interesting characters and epic stories. Although I am in the minority I think that RPG's of previous generations were far superior than now a days. I am not a fan of these modern RPG's like Mass Effect and Skyrim (before you flip out I admit they have some fun in them too). It was a big surprise to play 'Fallout 3'. I couldn't believe that this game would turn out the best yes the BEST RPG of this generation. Like other Bethesda games the lore in this game is amazing. Actually that is the main plus for me. Was the gameplay fun yes, the story yes but it was the artwork, secrets, ester eggs and the environment that hooked me to the game. The reason I prefer Fallout 3 than the modern RPG is the difficulty. Although people don't admit it modern day 'masterpieces' like Mass Effect and Skyrim are way too easy and need basic skill to beat (not all modern RPG are like this ex. Dark Souls). But Fallout 3 has survival horror in the mix which makes it more challenging, rewarding and in my opinion makes an overall better game. Some flaws of the game are the minor bugs,and the somewhat dated visuals. When it comes to gameplay this is similar to an FPS making it more surprising that I like it (I hate FPS mainly tks to COD). There are many guns and you always have the awesome V.A.T.S in your command. This awesome feature slow down time and lets you aim to specific body parts..The Characters in this game are all thought out and all are a bunch of fun to talk to. Another plus in this game is the side quests. Unlike Skyrim were you have hundreds of side missions here you have less but they are more thought out and in my opinion miles better than the retarded pointless miscellaneous tasks like Kill a troll quests in Skyrim. The Biggest problem in this game is for people without the GOTY edition or specifically broken Steel DLC. This is because some bonehead thought that you cant end the game and continue playing. You need to load a previous save data. This is luckily fixes in broken steel. Side note this idea of not allowing you to continue is so stupid this problem is also found in New Vegas and Rage. If you are buying this game and you should make sure to pick up the GOTY edition which has awesome DLC like two of my favorite DLC on the 360; Point Lookout and The Pitt. Not much is left to say other than BUY THIS GAME. All gamers should buy this game especially the Survival Horror and RPG fans!!! Expand
  57. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Excellent choice of character customisation in Fallout 3, not to mention the a bright green warhawk haircut! Many other awesome features are included; my favourite being the sense of awe that's experienced whenever the game is played. Also, with the Bloody Mess perk; gore has never been so good.
  58. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    Fallout 3 is possibly even better on the Xbox than on the PS3. It is the greatest gaming experience ever created, and blows all other game series out of the water.
  59. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    2008 game of the year and did it diserve it hell yes the game is slower than fallout new vegas thats why the newer fnv newcomers dont like it i played the first fallouts and this one was a welcome revival to the series
  60. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    There isn't much more I can say than Fallout 3 is genuinely my favourite game of all time and that if you haven't played it, you are missing out. Buy this game!
  61. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    One of, if not the best game for the current generation. While having not played anything like this before this was a completely fresh idea to take the fallout series into the First Person RPG. The main story of the game is not great but it is just a drop in the ocean compared to the size and scale of the rest of the game. I could easily spent hours upon hours just exploring and coming across different things across the wasteland and have managed to have over 200 hours played across different save files. Every gamer should have played this game and at its current price you would be silly not to at least give this a try Expand
  62. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    One of the best RPGs on Xbox 360. You can start off on the main quest line but I can easily get sidetracked through exploring unknown location throughout the map. Yet again with any Bethesda RPG the odd glitch and bug but once you get past that you can truly appreciate what s superb game Fallout 3 really is
  63. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    The first fallout I have played, and I instantly became a fan. I like the whole skills, perks, and SPECIAL system, and even just how the game felt as I was playing. How you could be good or evil was also something I enjoyed (and I was always evil). Great open world game.
  64. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    Fallout 3
    Fallout 3 has to be one of the best games out to this date for the Xbox but, there are other games that are good, but this one has to be one of the best. The game was made by Bethesda Game Studios it is the third game out that is a Fallout game and this one has to be the best of the three. There is a new one out that is called Fallout new Vegas this is a good game but not as
    long as the older one Fallout 3. In the story, you play as a baby to start with and the world and had a war and in the war, an atomic bomb was used. A war so big that most people live in Vault underground you live in this vault with your dad and you see his life in the Vault for a bit of his life. Then your dad has gone missing he has left the Vault and is not around. You wake up and you are trying to find your dad, you get told by a friend that your dad has left the vault and you need to find him you try to leave the Vault the leader of the vault will not let you so you end up fighting your way out of the vault you leave all your friends and start trying to find your dad as you leave the vault you see the world as a waste land form the war. At this point, you can change the story and there are many things you can do you change the story from this point. As you walk around the wasteland, you meet people and you fight people who will try to kill you and there are monsters that will try to kill you as well but the idea of the game is to live and not die. And some point in the game depending on how you did the story you will find your dad who is trying to make you drink the water from a lake you help your dad do this but again you don Expand
  65. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the greatest game I ever played. I spent a lot of hours of fun trying to solve every quest. It's awesome how much fun you can have playing this game. The DLC's are cool, I like the freedom this game gives you to explore the whole Capital Wasteland. It's awesome. Expand
  66. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    Fallout 3 is a game that is all about the atmosphere. The atmosphere created by Bethesda Studios in Fallout is, in my opinion, one of the most well made atmospheres in a game. This atmosphere is created and sustained through the vintage 1950's Cold War culture and a futuristic post-apocalyptic wasteland that can keep the player entertained and exploring for hours on end. With a solid game play system, including the V.A.T.S. stop time combat, Fallout 3 sets out to guide the player on an incredible quest of epic proportions, and succeeds brilliantly at doing so. Expand
  67. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This is easily one of the best RPGs you'll ever play in your life. It plays well on Xbox and it even has amazing DLC. The GOTY edition is a must buy for any gamer
  68. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Fallout 3 is a strong contender for the greatest game of the generation. Everything about the game, from the enemies, to the characters, to the settings, to the story, to the music, are all so captivating that, when combined with the atmosphere Bethesda have created, makes it near impossible to put the controller down. With story missions and side missions coming out of its ears, Fallout 3 will provide players with entertainment for months and is a truly amazing masterpiece. Expand
  69. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Fallout 3 is without a doubt my favourite game of this console generation. I have put easily over 100+ hours into this game and I've enjoyed every moment of it. Fallout 3 is a game that encourages you to go off the beaten path and is far from a linear experience. While there is a clear main story, there are multiple ways to get to the end. Although, the side quests are where Fallout 3 shines. There are tons of marked and unmarked side quests that keep you exploring the Capital Wasteland. To a degree, Fallout 3 can also be a fairly emotional experience as well. In spite of the game being obviously fictional, I particularly enjoyed exploring the abandoned buildings and subway tunnels and reading up on the game lore and learning what led to the events that created the Fallout world.

    The character creation is fairly detailed, you can choose between a male or female character in addition to several facial options. You can also customize your character as you progress to fit your play style. You can invest in points to increase your melee damage, increase your accuracy in VATS or raise your charisma if you prefer to talk yourself out of situations.

    Furthermore, with the addition of the Broken Steel add-on the "ending" of the game is removed and you can continue to play and explore the world. There are also four other DLCs that contribute to the length of the game while giving you access to new perks, items and weapons. I occasionally ran into the odd technical glitch that ranged from a texture pop-in to the game outright freezing. I would highly recommend anyone who plays Fallout 3 to save often to avoid the latter occurring during their game and losing their progress.

    Overall, Fallout 3 is truly a must have for any gamer who enjoys open world games and in spite of technical problems I experienced I have to give it a 10 out of 10 based on sheer amount of content that is packed into this game.
    Expand
  70. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    One of my top 5 games of all-time, great and huge open melancolic-postnuclear work of art, the graphics are good for the time it was released, with some bioshock silimiliarities in some parts, great scifi wasteland legend, love the liam neeson voice acting, sounds like god of heaven in your game
  71. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    this game is one of those classic games that you might pick up not knowing much about but end up just completely falling in love with. I highly recommended it to anyone
  72. May 14, 2013
    10
    It's been almost 5 years since Fallout 3 came out and yet it remains my favourite game of all time. If you weren't already convinced by the list of prestigious award the game has won, the fact that in 5 years no other game has come close to giving me such an enjoyable experience should tell you all you need to know.

    Listing all the game's qualities would take too long so I'm going to
    apply a broader approach to this review by simply telling you that you MUST buy this game. As long as you aren't a simpleton who needs a game to have shiny visuals to keep you entertained, you will LOVE this game. And I don't mean how you love chips, I mean actual, true love. To paraphrase Chad Michael Michaels from Blades of Glory, I could not love a human baby more than I love this game...

    The world in which Fallout 3 is set is quite simply the coolest environment I've ever experienced in any game. It will draw you in and make you wish you could be part of a nuclear apocalypse (despite all the obvious draw-backs). The wild, mutated animals roaming the wasteland, the unique settlements and factions dotted around the map, the eccentric characters you meet, the amazingly rich side quests that have such a great story behind them that you will want to complete all of them; there is something around every corner that will make your jaw drop.

    I am convinced that all the negative reviews this game has received on this website are from people who are either fans of the original Fallout games (Fallout and Fallout 2) who automatically wrote Fallout 3 off because it is so radically different from its predecessors, or people who are too impatient to play an RPG. So if you don't fall into either of those two categories, GO AND BUY THIS GAME. And even if you do, GO AND BUY THIS GAME.

    Safe.
    Expand
  73. Jun 3, 2013
    10
    It's hard to pick one, but I can safely say Fallout 3 is my favorite game of all time. It's an open world of discovery in an ideal apocalyptic setting. I've put hundreds and hundreds of hours into it, but there is so much I haven't done (I only just got the last of the achievements).

    The amount of loot and guns you can find is mind-boggling. The VATS system is innovative. Deaths are
    deliciously gruesome. True, there are glitches, but I think it adds seasoning and a little fun to the game (as well as a sense of dread). And did I mention the story? It's right up there close to the likes of Bioshock.

    The only possible things that could be improved are the graphics and the ability to play with friends. But otherwise, zero complaints. Fallout 3 is the standard in gaming.
    Expand
  74. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    Fallout 3 is to this day the best game I have ever played. I went into it knowing surprisingly little about it and immediately fell in love with it. The way the combat is designed is the best possible way that shooting could be integrated into an RPG. The fact that the combat in the game is not like any conventional shooters does wonders for the game's actual experience, and the inclusion of VATS takes the combat from plain shooter to something so much more unique and special (not to mention fun). The RPG elements of the game are also some of the best I've ever played. The interaction between characters is interesting and engaging, and the way that people react to your character based on the impressions they have made from you is extremely impressive, especially since they retain their behavior long after your first encounter with them. Though the character models are certainly something that could be improved upon, the voice acting is so stellar it more than makes up for it. The voice acting is certainly the best of its time for this game. There has also never been a game that has encouraged exploration more than Fallout 3 in my opinion. Other games like Oblivion never really got me interested in the world enough to want to wander aimlessly for hours in search of something new. There is so much to see in the game if you take the time to see it, and so many valuable items to find, like alien pistols or specially designed sniper rifles. There is also the constant and engaging prospect of finding a wayward scavenger out in the wastes and getting the thrill of stealing from him or just killing him for his goods (if you know how to have fun, that is), as well as getting attacked by any number of dangerous foes from an Enclave ambush to a wandering Deathclaw. And from the exploration that you have, you can find any number of marked and unmarked quests like finding a Stradivarius violin for an old woman, stumbling across an "oasis of green in a depressing sea of brown" and talking to a mutated tree-man, and even things so small as getting a proposition to help a shady ghoul make ultra-potent narcotics. Everything a person could imagine could be found in Fallout 3 if you know where to look. This brings a ridiculous amount of playability to the game; I am still finding new things on my very first playthrough that I maxed out years ago. I must have logged over 200 hours in Fallout 3 by now and I am still thrilled to play it. The core storyline in the game is more engaging and interesting than most other games as well. The emotion that the story brings is so great, and the choices that the player has to make (in all quests, not just story quests) weigh so heavily that it is sometimes hard to decide what to do. The story and all of the stories hidden in the game are at the very least enthralling. Though it may be a cliche, Fallout 3 is more than a game; it is an experience. If any game deserves a 10/10, it's this one. Expand
  75. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    This is quite possibly the best game I have ever played. It has great graphics, talented developers and voice actors, a deep and interesting main quest line, along with well written side quests and DLC. The open landscape is beautiful, and the time the developers put in to the smallest details makes the game, in my opinion, the game of the decade.
  76. Aug 15, 2013
    10
    Best game ever. Well perhaps shared top spot with Fallout New Vegas. Great character development, massive amount of great content, post apocalyptic setup and various ways to play. What else can you hope from a game?
  77. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    My review for the amazing game known as fallout 3:

    SINGLE PLAYER (STORY)- 10/10. an outstanding story that has the best backstory i have seen in years. it has great storytelling, and lots of side missions as well.
    GRAPHICS- 9/10. outstanding visuals, and great draw distance and ragdoll physics. character animations are very wooden, however.
    SOUND- 10/10. exceptional voice acting, and
    great sound effects. no problems here.
    GAMEPLAY- 8.5/10. combat is simple, but fun. can be very glitchy sometimes, but rarely takes away from the fun. no control issues.
    FUN FACTOR- 10/10. the best RPG i have played in a LONG time.
    OVERALL- 10/10
    Expand
  78. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    The plot is incredibly interesting, the setting is wonderful, with a very enjoyable gameplay and it's incredibly captivating. The GOTY edition actually might lower the score since the DLCs are sub-par when compared to the game itself
  79. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Some days ago, my 7 years son asked me what was the better game I have ever played. I spent half an hour after that trying to explain what nuclear holocaust means.
  80. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    Well writing this almost 6 years from its release, but I continue to play it, continue to find new things to do and continue to love it. I suppose it is slightly showing its age now, graphics wise, gamplay-wise it is still just as good to play as it was when I first ripped the packaging off 6 years(ish) ago. So if you have an xbox360 and love great gameplay then you should either have owned this or it should be still in your collection gathering dust. Simply fire up the 360 and get it running. There are still loads to do in my game (I saved at level 19, and yes I know we can go to 30). Expand
  81. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    PROS:
    story
    V.A.T.S.
    weapons
    collectibles
    huge world
    characters
    voice acting
    enemies
    CONS:
    no iron sights
    you cant explore after the final quest
    glitches

    much more pros i dont have the patience to discuss
  82. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I remember being at Walmart back in mid 2009. I was looking for Grand theft Auto IV Liberty City stories but it wasn't there. I decided to try Fallout 3 and oh I was impressed. The intro was just amazing The whole Growing up in the vault was just great and it felt real too! (Does get repetitive after a couple playthroughs) when I got out that door and saw the world, I was astonished on how well done it was. The graphics were amazing. By far some of the best in any game of that time. Only thing that was a little off were the facial models but that is Bethesda's weak point. Examples Oblivion, Skyrim. The gameplay was pretty good and the game had some memorable characters in it. Like Mr. Burke, Moira Brown,etc
    The storyline was probably the best part in the game. Finding your dad (Liam Neeson) watching him die, looking for GECK, fighting for the purifier and Broken Steel that added to it.
    The combat wasn't bad but could have been better. I think the only reason that the Vats thing was thrown it was to make it seem like the first 2 Fallouts and to take your eyes away from the mediocre combat. The
    game wasn't really buggy for me. Sometimes I may get stuck in a rock but that's about it. So I really would give this game a 9.5/10.
    Graphics: 9/10 impressive, looked realistic except the faces. Huge improvement over Oblivion.
    Gameplay 8.5/10 pretty good. Combat could have been better.
    Story 9.5/10 one of the best stories in any game in my opinion. Though Broken Steel kinda twisted it a little.
    Fun: 10/10 I have spent over 150 hours in my latest playthrough and over 600 total hours. You still find new things and the game has high replay value.
    I also loved the music. Wished that they could've added more but it added to that 50s theme.
    Also get the goty edition if you ever buy it.
    Expand
  83. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    Taking place in post-apocalyptic Washington DC, Fallout 3 takes you through a journey you never thought possible. This game allows you to do literally whatever you want. Want to be evil? Go for it. Good? That's just fine. What separates this game from so many other however is all the gray area in between. You start as a baby and the game quickly accelerates and allows you to choose which S.P.E.C.I.A.L. abilities you wish to have. This is great because the different SPECIAL abilities you choose will affect the way in which you play the game, which equates to near infinite replay value. Personally, I have played through this game probably 6 six times, logging on average over 50 hours of gameplay each turn. Every time you play, you find something new in the game. It is so vast and even the DLC is worth buying (especially point lookout). There is so much to this game and the plot that it is mind blowing. I won't give away any spoilers, but check out literally every vault that you can find. Each one has it's own story. I could not recommend this game more. Just be careful - when you start playing, you will not stop for hours and hours. Fantastic. Get Fallout New Vegas as well. It updated a lot and made things a bit more difficult and allows crafting of certain items and chems. Expand
  84. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Oh. My. God. Fallout 3 is an absolutely phenomenal game, I love it so damn much. It's definitely in my top 10 games ever. If you like RPGs, then get this game, if you like GAMES, then GET. THIS. GAME. Stop reading my review (if anyone is even reading this...) and go play Fallout 3!
  85. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    I highly recommend you pick the GOTY right now, it's that good! The story follows a vault dweller who is growing up in a Vault, because of the atomic bombing that China did to the United States in 2077. Now it's 2277. Your father voiced by Liam Neeson decides to leave the vault, something that no one ever does as the vault is supposed to be permanently shut. However, your character chooses to follow him. Not exactly sure where to go. you go to the nearest town Megaton to find some clues. This is where the game really get's started as you are thrown in the post apocalyptic wasteland. There is hundreds of hours of content in this game to keep anyone interested. This game has a very 30-40s vibe and the music on your pipboy fits this game perfectly! There are all kinds of strange creatures, people, places, and weapons to keep anyone satisfied. This game does have its problems though, it can crash at any time and pretty often too. Some things just maybe won't trigger for a quest, making it impossible to complete and that can get pretty annoying. Overall this game is great! I suggest everyone give this game a try it will really be worth your time. Expand
  86. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Simply, My favorite game of all time!! I got the GOTY edition and spent around 200 hours until I unlocked every achievement...

    With its massive world full of quests, interesting places, great NPCs this game just makes you feel you are actually in the wasteland fighting for survival.

    I loved when you were just wandering and there were a lot of random events that kept you busy... And
    there's Dogmeat one of the best companions you can have in a video game...

    Sure the game has a lot of glitches and I bet they are difficult to control with the mass world Bethesda created (just one advice, save often... very often), but the game manages to engage you with the details, funny level perks and game mechanics (V.A.T.S is one of the best inventions in gaming history...
    Expand
  87. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    Fallout 3 is an action packed role playing game that never leaves the player bored. With the new cinematic way of combat (V.A.T.S) fighting off feral ghouls never gets old. The quests are always new and fun to complete and the weapons are always fun to use, and destructive. This is the best game I have ever played and I hope you play it as well, if you don't, well your missing out on the best game ever. Expand
  88. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    Okay, we all know Fallout 3's clunky combat isn't the best, but if you look at the rest of the game, WOW. Fallout 3 is truly an amazing and beautiful game that can be revisited tons and tons of times. The RPG elements are heavy and your choices matter, the characters are interesting, the leveling system is complex, the sound design is mysterious, this game is an experience you have to see.

    Fallout 3 gets 9.8/10
    Expand
  89. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    One of my favorites SSOOOOO good anyone who gives this game a bad rating doesn't understand gaming. One of the best rpg ever made the world was by far the most fun to explore bethesda makes me horny
  90. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    For me Fallout 3 is the best game available on 360, it is so immersive and chock full of surprises. The setting is fantastic and the surrounding of 50s style propaganda really adds to the games character. There is a vast amount of fun weaponry and ways to use them, the character building is top notch with some very fun and interesting perks. The world is full of wonderful characters (the "super heroes" at war with each other using giant ants and robots spring to mind) with many problems across the game world that need sorting, it's the exploration that really makes this game, there are some very interesting buildings around that can really come in useful while some serve as sheds for plungers and lead pipes. The main story is good and gripping but the same could be said about the majority of side quests. This game is excellent, the standard by which all other games should be striving to achieve, It gets my 2008 game of the year and also stands as my game of the generation. Expand
  91. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    This is a great game. Whether you play all day or just 3 hours it is still a great game you will fall in love with. This game can help you get through hard times.
  92. Jun 23, 2014
    10
    I have been playing indies and old school games for a while and decided to go back to Fallout 3.....I finally realize how great this game is. Music, atmosphere, weapons, armour, NPCs....a blend of perfection.
  93. Mar 21, 2014
    10
    Im not going to write a huge review here as I think most people will have already played this by now but on the off chance that someone somewhere is thinking about weather to buy this or not and is going through others reviews to make a decision then here is my take on Fallout 3...

    The single greatest game ever to come out on the Xbox 360.

    I have 36 years old and have been gaming
    since the 80s so while i may be old, I can say i have enough experience to know my games :) and this is in my top 5 of all time games.

    Thats really all i can say! Go, buy and enjoy!
    Expand
  94. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    I fell in love with fallout the second i started playing. Fallout does everything right that a post apocalyptic game should. The game does have its instances of morbid humor that maybe the more messed up person enjoy (I am that person). The game offers up to over 200+ hours if you're like me and enjoy just walking around and trying to get everything in the game. I can recommend this to any RPG fan as the game does very well. The game is perfect if you own all the dlcs which you can get in the game of the year edition which goes for around $15 at Gamestop. Just pop that bad boy in and let the slaughter of Enclave and super mutants begin (Recommend the bloody mess perk for a good laugh). The game isn't just fun it's very beautiful to look at, the visuals are stunning and even the depressing sea of brown and destroyed buildings still leaves me in awe. Weather you're good or evil the choice is yours. Help a town out or murder its residents and take the loot you earn for yourself, but be warned you don't want to mess with the wrong people. Or you might find yourself dying quite often. If your a fan of the RPG genre or a fan of post apocalyptic genre I can recommend this game %100. Now sit back relax and open up nice cold Nuka-Cola. Expand
  95. May 11, 2014
    10
    If Bethesda had taken the easy route, 'like Oblivion with guns', this would be a solid game well worth the $60. But, Todd Howard and Bethesda chose to innovate, and bring the Fallout license to the next level. The complete sense of emptiness and despair isn't video game-y. It feels like post-apocalyptia. Sure, there might not be any grand vistas or mountain ranges like Fallout's successor, Skyrim, but nuclear bombs desecrated the land not two centuries before! This doesn't feel like a video game. It feels real. Granted, the voices are samey, and V.A.T.S. does get monotonous after a few hours, and glitches that break immersion are a part of the deal, but with a Super Mutant with a Gatling laser following me, I couldn't care less. Expand
  96. May 28, 2014
    10
    I remember playing this game back in 2010, and feel in love with it. The story is unique in its own way from the realism of this game is what is a stand out. combat is well done, each choice you make in this game combat wise can affect the story. your an individual in the wasteland and your free to do whatever you want, this game doesn't have limits which is what people love about it. This game is well put together, you definitely get your money's worth with there's so much to do, there's 3 add ones you can buy. At times can be glitchy with the map being so big, apart from that this game is perfect. One of my favorite games of all time. Definitely recommend getting. if you enjoyed this look into getting fallout new vagas! Expand
  97. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Fallout 3 is one of the greatest open world RPGs on the Xbox 360. With a vast, explore-able, post-apocalyptic Washington D.C., and a handful of memorable moments for you to uncover yourself, Fallout 3 is a must own. The DLCs are for the most part worth it, the game does not hold your hand through every section, and you can play it and enjoy what it offers without even doing a single story quest.
  98. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    I'll start by saying that if you liked Elder Scrolls Oblivion and Skyrim, Then you might like this as it was created by the same company. Anyway the game is an open world game based in a wasteland. The first time you see the massive area that you get to explore you will be shocked. With a good story and plenty of side quests, You will spend a load of time on this game. No matter which direction you decide to go, You will find something, It could be a destroyed building, a house, a sewer, etc. With plenty of perks to choose from once you level up and all kinds of enemy's to kill. Random events occur which could be simple like someone trying to rob you or give you a quest. Loads of weapons to use, Ranging from a pistol to plasma laser. Overall this game is one of the best games i have played. I have played since it was first released and went back to it plenty of times. This is my favourite game of all time. Expand
  99. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nothing says I love you than placing a grenade in someone's back pocket and watching them explode.

    Fallout 3 is by far THE BEST game I have played, one of my personal favourites that I have played and completed a numerous amount of times!

    You start off as a baby down in vault 101, sadly your mother dies not long after she gives birth to you. (All aboard the feels trip). James (Your father) leaves the vault when you grow up. The immediate thought is "what a complete **** but he leaves for the right reasons, so your job is to escape the vault yourself and go looking for your dad!

    Sounds simple enough? Nope... When you leave the vault you see yourself surrounded by a complete wasteland which stinks to high heavens of radiation in most parts, due to the "nuclear apocalypse".

    Fallout 3 takes place in the year 2277, it's a post apocalyptic sci-fi action role-playing open world game. It has multiple DLC's too, like that doesn't sound good enough right?

    Even though it's in the future, it still seems like an early 1950's era.

    There is so much to do in this game, from pickpocketing people, breaking into people homes stealing their supply of food or you can be a good person and leave their stuff alone, either way, it will effect your karma.

    Karma plays a huge roll in this game, if you steal from somebody, break into their apartment, lock-pick safes that you're not supposed to, you will get bad Karma from doing so. However... If you're being a little **** on the game there is always ways to get your karma towards the good side! This does not mean pleasuring a homeless man for a bottle of water... It certainly doesn't mean that at all...

    The life you pursue in the game has its advantages and disadvantages. Be careful what you do and how you do it, killing someone for their clothes is an acceptable excuse.

    If you haven't played it, get to it! You're missing out on such a huge fantastic game Bethesda has to offer!

    10/10. (Think I might go and play some of it now!)
    Expand
  100. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    Fallout 3 is an unforgettable experience. The setting of Fallout 3 is very unique, I haven't seen anything like it at all; it's a post-apocalyptic world set in Washington D.C. and other parts of the east. It does a very good job with the environment such as abandoned buildings, towns, and national monuments. There is so much to explore, and it's exciting to discover new places to scavenge weapons, armour, and necessities that are needed to survival. The missions are fun and exciting and the characters you meet along the way are great in their own way. The combat system works great, and I haven't seen it in another game. The leveling system is great also with many skills to increase and perks to choose rom to make your character more powerful. Fallout 3 is an amazing adventure, and it's a must play. Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 84 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 84
  2. Negative: 0 out of 84
  1. Fallout 3 is an experience in itself, and while it may not offer as much replay value as Oblivion, it’s so much more then an “Oblivion with guns”.
  2. 90
    From the hollow wind blowing down through subway tunnels, to the radioactive dust clouds swirling throughout the wasteland, up to the buzzards circling the encampment where the bodies of 30 slave traders lie; Fallout 3 is as much a game as it is a training sim for the coming apocalypse.
  3. In fact, Fallout 3 is leaner and meaner than Bethesda's previous efforts, less expansive but more intense, while still offering immense replay value and quite a few thrills along the way.