Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 84 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1406 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Vault-Tec engineers have worked around the clock on an interactive reproduction of Wasteland life for you to enjoy from the comfort of your own vault. Included is an expansive world, unique combat, shockingly realistic visuals, tons of player choice, and an incredible cast of dynamicVault-Tec engineers have worked around the clock on an interactive reproduction of Wasteland life for you to enjoy from the comfort of your own vault. Included is an expansive world, unique combat, shockingly realistic visuals, tons of player choice, and an incredible cast of dynamic characters. Every minute is a fight for survival against the terrors of the outside world – radiation, Super Mutants, and hostile mutated creatures. From Vault-Tec, America's First Choice in Post Nuclear Simulation. Vault 101 - Jewel of the Wastes. For 200 years, Vault 101 has faithfully served the surviving residents of Washington DC and its environs, now known as the Capital Wasteland. Though the global atomic war of 2077 left the US all but destroyed, the residents of Vault 101 enjoy a life free from the constant stress of the outside world. Giant Insects, Raiders, Slavers, and yes, even Super Mutants are all no match for superior Vault-Tec engineering. Yet one fateful morning, you awake to find that your father has defied the Overseer and left the comfort and security afforded by Vault 101 for reasons unknown. Leaving the only home you've ever known, you emerge from the Vault into the harsh Wasteland sun to search for your father, and the truth. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 84
  2. Negative: 0 out of 84
  1. 100
    Fallout 3 almost effortlessly succeeds in its central aim of reviving a much-loved brand to appeal to the vast majority of players. It's a thrilling, all-consuming experience that will absorb you for weeks, whether you're attracted by the action, the adventure, or the role-playing, as you fall in love with the relentless excitement, incredible atmosphere, sense of place and sheer choice...Bethesda has once again delivered a game of life-affirming brilliance that will be heralded as a classic, and talked about for years to come.
  2. 100
    Yes, Fallout 3 is a lot like Oblivion (with guns!), but it's a superior game in nearly every way, as it features a more engaging storyline, impeccable presentation, and hundreds of hours of addictive gameplay. While the jury is still out on whether or not hardcore Fallout enthusiasts will accept the game as part of the storied franchise, Fallout 3 is a must-have title for most RPG fans, as well as one of the finest games of this generation.
  3. If you like role playing games, buy it. If you like first person shooters, buy it. The game is just amazing in everyway and we could not have expected a better Fallout title. Bethesda has another huge galactic hit on its hands and now we need to see some downloadable content please.
  4. When people talk about deep, immersive video games, Fallout 3 can stand as a reference.
  5. Bethesda has done an excellent job at creating a living and wheezing post apocalypse world. Combining RPG elements and gory action orientated combat flawlessly.
  6. There's no denying Fallout 3 is little more than Oblivion in a post-apocalyptic setting. However that's more a compliment than complaint.
  7. It’s a game that rewards the long-haul with deep, inventive missions which eschew the usual fetch and kill structure, ensuring that the many hours spent in Fallout 3’s wasteland aren’t wasted. [Christmas 2008, p.88]

See all 84 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 342
  1. [anonymous]
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    You must get the GOTY edition with the DLC to enjoy this game!!! I could see this game being an 8 or 9 without the DLC, but with the level You must get the GOTY edition with the DLC to enjoy this game!!! I could see this game being an 8 or 9 without the DLC, but with the level cap raised, and other missions. this is my favorite game of all time!! Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Best fallout ever made so far.Fallout 3 has allot of great dlc,and the graphics and story are superb.if you love rpg's and fps's you'll feelBest fallout ever made so far.Fallout 3 has allot of great dlc,and the graphics and story are superb.if you love rpg's and fps's you'll feel right at home with fallout 3. Expand
  3. JohnHartman
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    First of all, can anyone else see that Mike R is taking the piss? He's made 2 comments already, and both of them are completely (AndFirst of all, can anyone else see that Mike R is taking the piss? He's made 2 comments already, and both of them are completely (And deliberately) inane.

    As for fallout 3, it ranks in the best 3 games I've ever played.

    1. Half life 2 (Including episodes)
    2. Bioshock
    3. Fallout 3.

    The graphics weren't fantastic, but the environmental design was. This is everything that oblivion has but more, such as VATS, Guns, and the fallout setting.
    Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    I fell in love with fallout the second i started playing. Fallout does everything right that a post apocalyptic game should. The game doesI fell in love with fallout the second i started playing. Fallout does everything right that a post apocalyptic game should. The game does have its instances of morbid humor that maybe the more messed up person enjoy (I am that person). The game offers up to over 200+ hours if you're like me and enjoy just walking around and trying to get everything in the game. I can recommend this to any RPG fan as the game does very well. The game is perfect if you own all the dlcs which you can get in the game of the year edition which goes for around $15 at Gamestop. Just pop that bad boy in and let the slaughter of Enclave and super mutants begin (Recommend the bloody mess perk for a good laugh). The game isn't just fun it's very beautiful to look at, the visuals are stunning and even the depressing sea of brown and destroyed buildings still leaves me in awe. Weather you're good or evil the choice is yours. Help a town out or murder its residents and take the loot you earn for yourself, but be warned you don't want to mess with the wrong people. Or you might find yourself dying quite often. If your a fan of the RPG genre or a fan of post apocalyptic genre I can recommend this game %100. Now sit back relax and open up nice cold Nuka-Cola. Expand
  5. MikeP
    Nov 1, 2008
    9
    Everything in the game was as good as promised, the environments are very detailed and awesome to look at, the V.A.T.S system is very well Everything in the game was as good as promised, the environments are very detailed and awesome to look at, the V.A.T.S system is very well done, and gives the player an edge over their enemies, like a better form of bullet time. Characters in this game are at least twice as well developed as they were in Oblivion, I felt attached and involved with the storyline and the characters. As far as following the overall feel of a fallout game, I feel it does pretty well, it stumbles in some places that really point out the difference between Black Isle/Interplay and Bethesda. Bethesda's fallout world is less free, less funny and less nuanced than Black Isle' fallout world. There were less dialogue options in F3 as opposed to F1&2 but I suppose that when you record voices for every NPC sentence it makes it more difficult to have 7 options when 3 would get the point across. Along those lines though sometimes I felt like what I wanted to say didn't have a parallel with the options I was given. It was also like I said not quite as funny as the first two games in the tragic-comedy type of way. Also Bethesda does not give you the ABSOLUTE freedom that you would get from the first two games, if you have 99 skill in lockpick and the door requires 100 your not getting in, in Fallout 1&2 you'd just chuckle as you set a five pound brick of plastic-explosives for 20 seconds and dive behind cover as the door flies off it's hinges. You require training to use certain armor, and the person that trains you isn't available to you until you complete an objective well within the middle of the game; F1&2 you'd just put it on. It's details like those that I'm missing from this fallout and have made it slightly frustrating to play as a fallout game. That and my biggest annoyance is that if I turn every enemy in the room into steaming goo before my allies fire a shot, they still talk to me like I needed their help and I can't handle myself. Expand
  6. May 5, 2012
    9
    Fallout 3 is beautiful example of how less can be more. In a post-apocalypse environment, the feeling of isolation and desolation this gameFallout 3 is beautiful example of how less can be more. In a post-apocalypse environment, the feeling of isolation and desolation this game successfully portrays is essential to pull the player into that world. Some have complained the game is sparse, so would life be after such events. The graphics are good, but the heavily glitchy nature keeps them from being great. The music and soundtrack are one of the best out there, period. The balance of amusing vintage American and tense thematic background create a constantly changing mood that lasts right through the 40 or 50 hours you can log. The storyline is compelling and goes from the slow searching to a feverish paced finally, a very rewarding finish, even without the DLC expansion. This game is random exploration heaven and apart from some mechanics issues, a completely enveloping experience. Expand
  7. MikeRobichau
    Oct 30, 2008
    0
    What game are you guys playing?? This game is horrible. Its slow and targeting system is stupid. This game is the worst game that i haveWhat game are you guys playing?? This game is horrible. Its slow and targeting system is stupid. This game is the worst game that i have played. Its the biggest disappointed, so much hype and this is it. I have both the 360 and ps3 and have or played every game worth buying or renting and this is the worst and i mean the worst game ever. Expand

See all 342 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.