User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 64
  2. Negative: 7 out of 64

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 17, 2011
    8
    Honest Hearts improves over Dead Money in many ways, and is definitely a buy for any New Vegas fan. This $10 DLC will take our favorite Courier to Zion, located in Utah. You pick up a radio signal, like any Fallout DLC, from Happy Trails asking for you to join them in a trek to New Caanan. After your Happy Trails expedition is decimated by a surprise attack from tribals upon arriving, you'll become embroiled in a war between tribes. This story differs greatly from Dead Money, which had a compelling story, but was weighed down by too much survival gameplay. You'll meet the Burned Man, formerly Caesar's right hand man, and discover fun "pre-War" technology. It comes with the typical New Vegas glitches; sometimes characters mouth's don't sync with their words, falling inside a rock, V.A.T.S. bugs, but it doesn't hamper the experience too much. The best thing about this DLC is learning more about the rich history of the Fallout Universe. Your level cap will be raised by 5, new guns are available, new companions, new locations, and new perks make this a fun Fallout experience. Overall, an 8/10. Expand
  2. May 31, 2011
    4
    I was not a huge fan of Dead Money. However, playing this DLC has made me appreciate what DM did so much more. Sure, it was cheap how they stripped you of our gear as soon as you got to the Sierra Madre and made it so you could never return to collect any goodies you missed, but here's the thing: Dead Money felt BIG. High stakes, theatrical events, a plethora of interesting characters, a creepy atmosphere, an epic climax and a generally well-told story. The events of Dead Money felt *special*.

    Unfortunately, none of that is present in Honest Hearts. Yes it was fun to finally see the Burning Man and he was an interesting character, but ask yourself: if all these quests were present in the vanilla New Vegas game, would it have appeared at ALL different or more epic than any other line sidequests? Would it have felt special? Memorable?

    I would say not. If what you like out of DLC is a couple new weapons, armor, and craftable items, you'll like this DLC for that, but not much else.
    Expand
  3. May 30, 2011
    6
    The content I have waited for so long for is finally out, but it does not seem like the time was well spent. It starts by trying to give you a story or reason as to why you should travel to this land, and, as with all things in a wasteland, that falls to pieces. Then you meet "The burned man" in a very anticlimactic way. You just sort of meet him. Its not this epic encounter I was hoping for with a man, much like that legate, in the Grand Canyon, and, in a way, this meeting represents the whole of Honest Hearts. There are things you think would be more fulfilling then they are. Zion is a huge addition, but there is no incentive to explore, especially when most places are caves or campsites because any new weapons are on enemies you will find just doing the story, and there are few new items of interest. The story is also kind of boring. As with everything in Fallout, there is a choice at the end, but the possible plans at the end seem so different tactically that it surprised me that any set up I did before hand applied to both, and that when I was pushed to make a decision I could say I wasn't ready, save, and play both possibilities very easily. In the end, it seemed like there was plenty of room for more content, and those big moments Fallout has done so well, but they did not take them. For an add on that took this long, it felt rushed. Expand
  4. May 18, 2011
    5
    Too short, too boring sums up what I think of Honest Hearts. Maybe four short main quest, all of them fetch until the final showdown. The scenery is nice, and the new outfits and weapons are cool, it's the thin story that lets this dlc down.
  5. May 18, 2011
    9
    Really good DLC. Really impressed me. I loved Dead Money, the last DLC. This one is by far better. Its about as long as Dead Money, even longer if you decide to just explore everything that it has to offer. This DLC takes us to Utah, at a place called Zion you meet new faces, specifically the Burned man, Joshua Gramah. Joshua Graham and Daniel (another character you meet) are part of a religious group called the "New Canaanites". At the beginning of the game, you find out Joshua was part of legion, Caesar's right hand man, but later betrayed and burned alive and thrown into a canyon.Turns out Joshua survived. Caesars has sent out men to look for him, and won't admit Joshua survived. But this DLC isn't about Legion You head out in a caravan to New Canaan, only to find its destroyed, and the people you wen't with are killed instantly. You meet up with a guy named "Follows Chalk" at the beginning of the game, he says Joshua is alive, and taught a group called the "Sorrows" and "Dead Horses" how to survive. He's revered as a war hero. Follows chalk takes you to him, you find out Joshua is alive, and have a nice chat with him. Joshua is a extremely religious person (although not a pacifist, and probably Mormon, go figure), and defending the Sorrows from a group called the "white legs". Not gonna say much more about the story. You meet a variety of enemies, new faces, and a whole new area to explore, and get achievements and kill stuff. And at the end you get a bunch of **** (lol, by the way, thats not much of a spoiler so don't complain). Good stuff, highly recommend it. 9.4/10. Expand
  6. Jun 1, 2011
    6
    Honest Hearts introduces a pretty cool new area with a few worthwhile areas to explore but suffers from lackluster characters and a boring, uninspired story. Outside of a few decent weapons, perks, the increased level cap and some new enemies to fight, there is not much in this DLC pack that the average Fallout player will be interested in. -------The story is easily the weakest part of this expansion. It consists of you getting stranded in Zion National Park in Utah and helping out the local tribes in order to return to the Mojave. While at first I was interested in this DLC because it included the Burned Man, they totally dropped the ball in including anything interesting or worthwhile surrounding his history and his background. Zion itself is the strongest part of this DLC. Zion is a unique area and quite large, though many of its locations are nothing more than barren campsites. For the dedicated explorer, there are terminals spread across several caves (I have not found all of them) telling the story of a survivor in Zion which is pretty interesting. There are a few new weapons, some of which may be as good or better than what you can find in the Mojave and Honest Hearts also sees the return of the Yao Guai. Expand
  7. May 31, 2011
    8
    Honest Hearts is a lot better than Dead Money. Firstly Honest Hearts lets you keep most of your equipment ( though there is a weight limit ) which is very generous, but it should always be like that. The story for Honest Hearts is good and there are good side quests. The return of the Yao Guai is most welcome. The feature of rain is welcome as well, when it rained first, I was amazed. The story is very short though and you can only side with one group but you can decide their fate. Expand
  8. May 31, 2011
    1
    Boring quests, boring non-apocalyptic scenery, cookie cutter caves, boring new weapons, preachy annoying npcs. This dlc barely felt like fallout in any way. Severely disappointed.
  9. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Zion National Park remains as beautiful in the Fallout world as in the real world. The environment design is absolutely beautiful and gives you everything you want from DLC. Points are taken off for length; it is much shorter than the other DLC's and provides little in the way of reward for completion. Still, it's an interesting world that was fun to explore, and fun to return to. Also have to give a shout out to the Survivalist, which may be the most ingeniously conceived background story I've ever seen. Expand
  10. Jul 15, 2013
    0
    This DLC felt like I was playing Nancy Drew. Go here, go there. Hardly any story. Horribly boring quests that left me feeling empty, and hoping the end was near.

    Avoid this DLC.
  11. Sep 19, 2011
    6
    Honest Hearts is an add-on of thoroughly middling quality, mostly due to length. I beat the entire DLC in one sitting, after getting home from work (I checked with the wiki, and I did in fact complete all non-mutually exclusive quests, not just the main storyline). While the change of setting is nice, most of the environment looks like it was made using old assets from Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, and the required mountain climbing is frequently tedious. The three new companions introduced constitute fully half of of the DLC's characters of consequence, and their Companion Perks are forgettable. The only compelling character in the DLC is on screen for perhaps 30 minutes. Many of the quests simply start in sequence, making your character's motivation for completing them unclear. The so-called final battle of the DLC mostly consists of running across the length of the map with fast travel disabled, killing small pockets NPCs that never present much of a threat. Adding to this, only two of the characters in the entire DLC have any sort of personality, the rest being generic tribals. While there is good loot to be had (especially for character who wish to focus on Light Armor), loot alone makes for a grind, not a fun experience, as anyone who played Fallout 3's Operation Anchorage can attest. If you only want one or two New Vegas DLCs, I would recommend against Honest Hearts. Expand
  12. May 24, 2011
    9
    After the disappointing Dead Money DLC I wasn't sure about buying this, but I'm glad I did, like all the other Fallout DLC it adds new weapons and achievements, but it also extends the level cap by 5 again, and it includes the burned man which is cool, and adds awesome things like rain, and stars in the sky at night, and adds a few side quests outside of the main quests to extend the length and has a lot of locations to explore, but even with those it's pretty short, but a lot of fun, and after this DLC I am anxiously looking forward to the other DLC on the way. Expand
  13. Jul 23, 2011
    7
    Beautiful expansive vistas are somewhat dimmed by an uninspired storyline. The landscape in this expansion is gorgeous and like wandering through a national geographic documentary on the desert. Rich oranges and reds for the sandy landscape, a starry sky that goes on forever, and weather effects that aren't present in the regular game. The downside of all the nature of course is that the interiors are less than interesting and are mostly caves, and there is only so much you can do with caves. The storyline wasn't bad, but it wasn't good either and I couldn't help but think a western theme would have suited it better than a native one. So be prepared for an enjoyable game, but alas, not an exciting one. Expand
  14. Sep 16, 2011
    5
    I found this DLC a waste of time. The only benefit I found was levelling my character up a bit more but it added nothing to my game play experience. The creatures and people were repetitive and the scenery all seemed the same.
  15. May 27, 2011
    7
    I'd heard a lot about Dead Money being frustrating and all, so I decided not to buy it. But I heard that the second piece of DLC for New Vegas would be pretty good, so I decided to buy it. And yes, the reviewers are correct in the sense that the story is weak and the companions are repetitive. However, it has a few decent side quests and there are some neat combat sections. Plus, the new .45 weapons are nice and chunky. After the ending you may be left with just wilderness and all the named characters gone, but If you're a hardcore Fallout fan looking for another four or five hours to add onto your experience, I reccomend that you buy this. Collapse
  16. Oct 23, 2011
    7
    Though the changing weather and story might be a little bit interesting, over time you realize that Zion is kind of a boring place. Still worth getting though.
  17. Aug 29, 2011
    5
    Honestly, I thought this DLC was boring. There's so much empty space and hardly any NPC interaction that you find yourself with a lack of interest. While Dead Money had it's flaws, at the end of the DLC, I thought the storyline, characters and setting were evocative and compelling. Honest Hearts doesn't feel like that, it feels empty and slow, but with a huge map and beautiful scenery (which is not like the Fallout universe at all). They could have done so much more to make this DLC worthwhile. I'd only recommend buying this if it happens to go on sale on Steam. Expand
  18. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    Honest Hearts really, really improves over Dead Money in many ways. Honest Hearts is close to a small masterpiece. The creatures and people and the scenery might seem repetitive (the landscapes is hug and often beautiful), but its about the tens fights with the very strong creatures (using the environment and tools to the max, finding the best path for an approach ect.), the characters, background stories and enjoying the great and fitting soundtrack (again).

    Honest Hearts should be played on very hard (or hard at least, better very hard), to really feel the tension from the strong creatures, to really try to "survive" out in the wild ect. anyone playing Fallout New Vegas on normal or easy, then going how dull the game is, is simply playing the wrong game (and probably misunderstanding, what Fallout is all about)
    Expand
  19. Oct 3, 2011
    7
    I played this when it came out. This DLC is decent, not good, not bad, but decent. I give it props for actually making an environment that I wanted to explore (Dead Money obviously didn't do that). The story while its a bit quirky and cliche it satisfies me at the moment. The one thing that I just love about the game is the new weapons. The M1911 and Tommy Gun are weapons you will use throughout the rest of your time in Fallout New Vegas. I was very happy with that. The things I weren't happy with was the very short campaign. I blew through it on Normal in just over 4 hours (I explored and completed all side quests as well). The ending was very reminiscent of New Vegas's ending, but like I said it satisfies me. The game could have gone into depth with some of the character though, I was really never attached to anyone or anything (except the Yao Guai, they were awesome in F3 and they're awesome in FNV). All in all this DLC is in the middle. 7/10 Expand
  20. Jan 19, 2012
    6
    It was ok. The plot isnt interesting and I ignored it most of the time because of that. For 800 MS points, You get about 4-5 hours of gameplay, which isnt bad. I also didnt like how your companions were super powered, It took all of the challenge from the combat.
  21. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    My biggest complaints are the length and the piss poor rendering of Zion National Park. They really butchered the 'Three Patriachs' the biggest feature of Zion. Anyways the plot is interesting enough and its really cool to meet Joshua Graham and talk to him. I do like that you can travel here after completion.
  22. Jun 7, 2012
    7
    I was put of by dead money because of the reviews of it. So I went to honest hearts instead. It was a good dlc but just a good dlc. It had a good story line. The quests were okay in it. A lot of animals are in this from fallout nw like geckos so nothing really new. I leveled up about 5 time in this dlc whith was really good. It was only like 2 hours long so its a very short dlc. Its not as good as most dlc's in fallout but still is worth getting. Falloit New Vegas - Honest Hearts 7.3/10 Expand
  23. May 21, 2012
    8
    Interesting characters, great plot, great enviroment and an excellent politics. Not worth the original price but a must buy if it's on sale(Like 2.50$)
  24. Mar 9, 2013
    7
    Honest Hearts was the second DLC that I played after Old World Blues, and being satisfied by the experiences I had playing the first one, I was willing to keep going with Honest Hearts. Unfortunately, I didn't quite feel so excited. Now, the environment in this game is quite wonderful, almost unique in it's own right to the landscape of the mojave wasteland. Unfortunately, the story pushes you into it's main quest so hard that you won't have enough time to smell the roses and look at the eerie canyon levels in the Navarro. And the story I couldn't quite follow either, thinking about it now it all became just thin air for me. While the context of it does follow towards old ways being fought in modern traditions, i.e. native americans using fully automatic assault rifles to defend their villages, and while it is quite interesting to see this change even after the destruction of pre-war society as a whole ,it gets annoying real quick to annihilate these bastards that seem to just pop out of the woodwork. Which also made me more inclined just to get this story done rather than suffer through all their consistent attacks and my consistent inability to sell all of the loot that I got because there is literally only one trader in this entire DLC. The Burned Man is interesting, having been mentioned only briefly in the original game, it was nice to actually meet him face to face. Despite his former duties as legate for the legionaires, I could see a new person in him, someone who'd rather build than destroy from now on. I just wish I could get more out of this game that I would believe could have offered me. AFter destroying the cliched villain (i forgot who he was as well), I suddenly came across the biggest bomb that you could do to make this game even less replayable. I found myself transported straight to the exit, with a chest full of all of the unique loot that either was equipped to unique characters or found on the map. WOW. that was too easy! I mean, I still wanted to give this game a chance, but I guess it decided it'd be better just to get the good stuff and go home. Yet, I still like Honest Hearts for at least being "Honest" about attempting to show us to a new world, but it didn't quite have the "Heart" for me to keep going on. Expand
  25. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    Honest Hearts has a great story and memorable characters, set in the excellent Zion Valley in Utah. The game focuses on the tribal warfare we hear about in the main game, but have never actually experienced until now. The Sorrows, White Legs and Dead Horses are all enjoyable factions and The Burned Man is an amazing character to have running around with you.

    Yao Guai make a violent
    return from Fallout 3, a welcome addition to the roster of returning monsters from the Mojave. The new weapons and armour are great and make use of the previously semi-redundant Survival skill. Sadly, the big final decision doesn't feel that spectacular and the final confrontation and boss fight are rather forgettable.

    Although being shorter than the other DLCs, Honest Hearts is a great expedition for an experienced Courier.
    Expand
  26. Sep 29, 2013
    2
    More a trial in patience than a new setting, Honest Hearts has one sort of good quality: A mildly interesting side story inside the caves sprinkled throughout the map. Besides this, it has a boring and predictable plot, way more walking than anything has a right to force me to do, no landmarks besides canyon walls, and characters with yawn-inducingly unoriginal personalities and goals.

    It looks pretty though.
    Expand
  27. Aug 14, 2014
    4
    by far the weakest DLC released for New Vegas, Honest hearts offers little to the player outside of a few useful unique items. The quests are overwhelmingly bland, and feature almost no development to the games plot as a whole, outside of meeting The Burned Man, a central figure to New Vegas lore.

    Pros:
    - Nice looking world, breath of fresh air compared to other DLC's
    - New weapons
    pack a real punch, and are easy to acquire
    - Tracking down and learning the story of the Survivalist is heartbreaking and intense

    Cons:
    - You never really get to know any of the characters outside of Joshua Graham. Everyone seems like they could have been thrown away or written out
    - Enemies are insanely powerful, carrying some of the most damaging weapons in the game if you are over level 20, including Anti Materiel Rifles, which can one-shot players on medium or higher if they aren't wearing very expensive armor
    - Very little unique loot
    - Unique enemies are gimmicky, aren't very powerful
    - Riverbanks and canyons are covered by giant cazadores, which makes navigation without fast travel far to difficult
    Expand
  28. May 27, 2011
    0
    I'd heard a lot about Dead Money being frustrating and all, so I decided not to buy it. But I heard that the second piece of DLC for New Vegas would be pretty good, so I decided to buy it. And yes, the reviewers are correct in the sense that the story is weak and the companions are repetitive. However, it has a few decent side quests and there are some neat combat sections. Plus, the new .45 weapons are nice and chunky. After the ending you may be left with just wilderness and all the named characters gone, but If you're a hardcore Fallout fan looking for another four or five hours to add onto your experience, I reccomend that you buy this. Collapse
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jan 4, 2012
    50
    With more time and attention given to the writing, characters, and quests, it could have been a very special experience. As it stands, it's a forgettable detour through Averagetown that strays from the exceptional content I've come to expect from New Vegas.
  2. Aug 12, 2011
    70
    While the journey into the rocky wild of Utah lacks the cleverness of 'Dead Money' or the excitement of 'New Vegas,' it will still please fans because it simply more Fallout.
  3. Jul 8, 2011
    57
    Unspectacular add-on for the rapidly ageing action-RPG. For hardcore fans only. [Aug 2011, p.95]