Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 573 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    100
    The map, though similar-sized to Fallout 3's, seems more jam-packed than ever – New Vegas is less a sandbox game than whole beach to play around in.
  2. 90
    Fallout: New Vegas does betray the age of its engine every now and then, but it also shows why it has aged so well, powering the same tasty mix of great gameplay, endless side-quests and a world to get lost in.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    From the warring factions you can align with to the companions you can recruit, no adventure will ever be the same the numerous times you play through.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    85
    New Vegas is like a Huge DLC, an enormous add-on. But the formula is still fresh and deep.
  5. Oct 27, 2010
    83
    Fallout: New Vegas is an epic journey that matches the magnitude of Fallout 3.
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    And so it is Fallout: New Vegas is both playable and enjoyable. It's variable too - Hardcore mode, playing a super dumb character, ramping up your charisma and speech from the beginning - all of these will result in a vastly different experience when you play the game.
  7. Oct 22, 2010
    60
    Creatively, New Vegas gets almost everything right. Mechanically and technically, it's a tragedy. So, it's a simultaneously rewarding and frustrating game, the gulf between what it is and what it could be a sizeable stretch indeed.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 204
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Simply an excellent addition to the Fallout canon. An imaginative and extremely crafted story, numerous and refreshingly enjoyable side quests and engaging and thoughtful characters. This game will appeal to fans of Fallout 3 primarily, yet occasional references to previous games in the series to keep die-hard fans happy. By allowing Obsidian to create this game, it allows them to strike a near perfect balance of the complete Fallout experience. Many hours of mine have already been sunk into this game, and if you are looking for a thought-provoking enthralling video game adventure then look no more. This might sound sycophantic and gushing, yet this game really has brought a smile to my face. Roll on Fallout 4! Expand
  2. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    The sheer amount of content in the fallout games is what I really like. With many good games today I find myself being saddened that the fun came to an end in a day or two. With new vegas you'll be playing constantly and continue to find new things to do and keep entertained day in and day out.. It is funny how I always considered bethesda as like the worst game creators I knew, but that was before I discovered games like oblivion, skyrim, fallout 3, and new vegas. I cannot wait for the next fallout game to hit shelves. I hope it doesn't end soon. Expand
  3. Oct 24, 2010
    9
    Before I say my thoughts on the game, I have to say that I'm appalled at the way you people are reviewing it. Saying "Oh, I love this game but its really buggy" and then giving it a 0? That rating to me makes no sense at all....you can't give a 0 to a game you love. Or saying "I refuse to buy this game" and giving it a 1? IF YOU HAVEN'T PLAYED THE GAME DON"T REVIEW IT! You people are tarnishing the score for this game by giving it crazy low ratings over one or two negatives while neglecting all of the positives.

    Review:
    I'm about 10 hours into the game and so far I love it. Fallout 3 is my favorite game, so New Vegas has a lot to live up to for me...but so far it's doing it. Unlike Fallout 3 where you really had to go looking for side quests, New Vegas is jam packed with various things to do. I've barely traveled at all, still near the first town, played for 10 hours, and have only done 1 main quest so far. The new iron sights mechanic is excellent, as is the fact that critical strikes are played in slo-mo even if not in VATS. Caravan (the original card game within New Vegas) was hard to understand at first, but once I got the hang of it it's super fun...and a great way to make some extra caps. As far as the bugs...it has frozen on me once, but besides that I've gotten zero. I know that a lot of people are having different experiences, but come on people...there's a patch coming out soon anyways. Just save often and stop your **** because they're working on a fix.

    In conclusion, this game has a lot to live up to in order to be on the level of Fallout 3, but so far it seems to be doing just that. The bugs aren't EVEN CLOSE to a game changer. Get this game, you'll love it.
    Expand
  4. May 6, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is basically Fallout 3, but with more content. Here's my review:

    Good:

    - Lots of quests, weapons, and armor

    - Hardcore mode adds a different experience

    - Great voice acting

    - The different factions in the game add a nice twist

    - Large world with many different places

    Cons

    - Story not as good as Fallout 3

    - Looks like Fallout 3 without a lot of improvements (texture and model wise)

    - Quite a few bugs and glitches that hampers the game horrendously

    - The Strip is SEVERELY disappointing
    Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2010
    8
    This game had an awful lot to contend with seeing as fallout 3 was so good and to be honest......it did it. The game is equally as good as fallout 3 with new features to go with it. The campaign holds more variaty also as i myself have so far discovered 4 different endings all with thrilling conclusions. I think its to be said that there are alot of problems with corrupt saves and what have you. I have not experianced this as of yet but as far as complaints go there seem to be alot of them. However im rating this as to what i have experianced and therefore im going to have have to say its pretty epic and was definitely a tough contender for game of the year which was won by Red Dead Redemption if anybody was intrested! Expand
  6. May 6, 2011
    7
    A decent rpg game, not as good as its predecessor fallout 3. The in game graphics are fantastic, leveling up system is good also the combat system works well. Unfortuneatly like many recent rpg,s the storyline was poor. Towards the end of the game i wasnt sure what i was supposed to be doing, because there where so many side quests and the main theme of the main quest was uninteresting. All in all a decent game just wish the main storyline could have been better. Expand
  7. Jul 14, 2013
    0
    Like all fallout games new Vegas is fun to play and has an intriguing story all while being one of the best post apocalyptic games out there. while not as good s fallout 3 new vegas is defiantly a great game. Expand

See all 204 User Reviews