Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 597 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    100
    The map, though similar-sized to Fallout 3's, seems more jam-packed than ever – New Vegas is less a sandbox game than whole beach to play around in.
  2. 90
    Fallout: New Vegas does betray the age of its engine every now and then, but it also shows why it has aged so well, powering the same tasty mix of great gameplay, endless side-quests and a world to get lost in.
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    90
    From the warring factions you can align with to the companions you can recruit, no adventure will ever be the same the numerous times you play through.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    85
    New Vegas is like a Huge DLC, an enormous add-on. But the formula is still fresh and deep.
  5. Oct 27, 2010
    83
    Fallout: New Vegas is an epic journey that matches the magnitude of Fallout 3.
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    And so it is Fallout: New Vegas is both playable and enjoyable. It's variable too - Hardcore mode, playing a super dumb character, ramping up your charisma and speech from the beginning - all of these will result in a vastly different experience when you play the game.
  7. Oct 22, 2010
    60
    Creatively, New Vegas gets almost everything right. Mechanically and technically, it's a tragedy. So, it's a simultaneously rewarding and frustrating game, the gulf between what it is and what it could be a sizeable stretch indeed.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 208
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Simply an excellent addition to the Fallout canon. An imaginative and extremely crafted story, numerous and refreshingly enjoyable side quests and engaging and thoughtful characters. This game will appeal to fans of Fallout 3 primarily, yet occasional references to previous games in the series to keep die-hard fans happy. By allowing Obsidian to create this game, it allows them to strike a near perfect balance of the complete Fallout experience. Many hours of mine have already been sunk into this game, and if you are looking for a thought-provoking enthralling video game adventure then look no more. This might sound sycophantic and gushing, yet this game really has brought a smile to my face. Roll on Fallout 4! Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    First, I would like to state that my review concerns the latest, fully patched, version of the game, not the game as it was right after release. That being said I would like start with the game's flaws, as even this game is not perfect. The graphics speaks for itself I think - Bethesda's old engine just cannot dream to be on par with latest productions, but graphics is not what this game is about. Apart from that there are some glitches that may occasionally resurface like character ending up stuck in some invisible force field, items and critters not spawning correctly in some areas (re-loading the location usually helps), script triggers not working properly at times, rather long load times. All those may be annoying but are not able to really spoil the fun. What we got from Obsidian is nothing less but a true blood Fallout RPG, for the first time since 1998 and Fallout 2. Not only is it a rightful continuation to the franchise, but also a grand improvement comparing to painfully simplistic Fallout 3. The main plot is pretty simple, like in all Fallout games, but this time the player has a truly extraordinary control over the outcome of the story. Each and every choice influences the Mojave Desert area in some way. Completing quests may not have consequences immediately but later in the game our previous decisions may prove crucial. Aside from the main storyline there are at dozens of side quests - some of them longer, some shorter - all well-designed and interesting. In FNV there are many old-new features. Old because they were present in the original Fallouts 1 & 2, new because they were drastically simplified or totally omitted in F3. Some of these are: Levelable companions with interesting backgrounds and a "companion wheel" to control their behaviour. Traits are back! Reputation and fraction system. Maintenance bar for weapons and armours as well as minimal requirements to use weapons. Various ammunition types. Multitude of new, useful and interesting perks. Last but not least: Hardcore mode - a nightmare of Fallout 3 fans (or rather - of Fallout 3's simplicity fans). In this optional difficulty level, some of Bethesda's simplifications, like instantly-healing stimpacks or weightless ammo, vanish and the game itself gets a survival aspect, never present before, PC needs to sleep, eat and hydrate regularily - I strongly recommend ticking it on. One more thing - world map. The area in NV is a bit smaller than that presented in F3 but is more densely packed with locations and monster encounters - what should be a good news to those bored with running through a nearly empty, nearly critterless desert of Capital Wasteland. Overall - the game has some minor flaws but they should not interfere with experiencing one of the best RPGs ever created by man. The game (without dlcs) has a gemetime potential of even 100+ hours if you want to discover every location and do every quest. Moreover, if you want to exploit every possibility and gain every achievement you will want to start over and take a different path, siding with other factions and completing quests in alternative ways. Objectively, my score should be 9,5, because of the flaws, but I give it 10 as in reality it does not deserve less. Buy and play. Amen. Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    I love this game! I cant stop playing it. Ive gone to bed way too late every night since its come out.
    More quests, customizable weapons,
    and a western sort of feel to the game too. More of an interesting story line for sure! Graphics are the same as Fallout 3, though, there is a lot more depth & many improvements to the game.

    I seriously recommend that you try playing it on Hardcore. It adds even more to the game ;-)

    Only a few glitches, like fire ants walking around with their thorax' in the ground. Rad Scorpions get stuck on a rock and also walk around with their heads underground. But most of the time its all good.
    Expand
  4. May 6, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is basically Fallout 3, but with more content. Here's my review:

    Good:

    - Lots of quests, weapons, and armor

    - Hardcore mode adds a different experience

    - Great voice acting

    - The different factions in the game add a nice twist

    - Large world with many different places

    Cons

    - Story not as good as Fallout 3

    - Looks like Fallout 3 without a lot of improvements (texture and model wise)

    - Quite a few bugs and glitches that hampers the game horrendously

    - The Strip is SEVERELY disappointing
    Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    I loved this game. I loved this game before a lot of bugs were fixed. I loved this game even while I raged after it froze my Xbox, or after a quest NPC randomly fell through the earth, or when the Strip's gate randomly locked again. That says a lot to the quality of the story and RP elements of the game. Every DLC is worth more than charged (though I didn't enjoy Dead Money all that much), and the bugs seem to have been ironed out. Just going by the number of playthroughs and the number of hours I put into Fallout: NV, I have to give it a high rating. Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    Very fun game. with tons of side quests, and adventures, and items, this game has me playing for longer than I imagined. recommend it, but still needs improvement. Expand
  7. May 22, 2012
    0
    This game was released BROKEN, and with ample time to fix it with patches it is still unacceptably BROKEN.
    The only reason the critics gave it
    a higher score is that there's practically no such thing as "game criticism". The only reason fans give it a higher score is that they are willing to tolerate the bugs and glitches and CRASHES because they love the franchise. This game is not the franchise itself, and it is far, far, far more BROKEN than Fallout 3, which had only the occasional glitch. It is not my Xbox, my Xbox is fine. I do blame Microsoft for one thing, though: not revoking Bethesda's and Obsidian's license to publish on the Xbox. Expand

See all 208 User Reviews