Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 28
  2. Negative: 18 out of 28
  1. Jan 19, 2013
    30
    Appalling levels, terrible writing, repetitive gags and weak shooting mechanics make for one of the least enjoyable experiences of 2012. Be smart and avoid at all costs. [Issue#93, p.82]
  2. Jan 10, 2013
    30
    Not good. Not funny. Which is a sin for a Family Guy game.
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    30
    A functional, ordinary third-person shooter hobbled by simplistic AI and vulgar gags.
  4. 45
    When Multiverse is at its best, you'll enjoy its clever quips and competent shooting. Unfortunately, these highlights are all too rare.
  5. Dec 16, 2012
    40
    Only for fans of the TV series, and we're not even sure if they'll be able to like this poor game.
  6. Dec 6, 2012
    40
    It successfully adopts the humor of the TV show and the original voices give it some extra authenticity, but at the end of the day, Back to the Multiverse is just another bad third person shooter.
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    40
    Macfarlane is a man of many talents. Understanding what makes a videogame great is not one of them, unfortunately.
  8. Dec 4, 2012
    20
    If you're the sort of person who doesn't inherently find the concepts of greased-up deaf people, Amish people commenting on their sex lives, older women grotesquely demanding group sex from frat boys, people in wheelchairs falling over, or "the gays" completely hilarious, do not get angry at Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse.
  9. Dec 4, 2012
    45
    Half of Back to the Multiverse is done exceptionally well. The other half is the polar opposite. The gameplay could fuel any generic shooter, and doesn't feel like it belongs with this property. Stewie and Brian deliver some good laughs that fans of the show will want to see, but working through gameplay this bad isn't worth the effort to others.
  10. Dec 3, 2012
    40
    While licensed games seem to grow in popularity and quality, there are still titles that didn't even try to improve themselves. Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse is one of these games. Despite the fact that the game uses the fame of the cartoon series, it is just a collage of levels, most of which are just colorless copies of the situations we used to see in the TV series. Too bad for the Griffin family, they deserved a better game than this one.
  11. Nov 29, 2012
    20
    There is surely scope to make a decent Family Guy game - just imagine an adventure or puzzle title littered with acerbic humor and smart observations. But as a shooter, Back to the Multiverse is a hopelessly moronic, completely pointless experience that will please neither Family Guy fans nor people who enjoy games. In this case, the joke is most definitely on us.
  12. Nov 28, 2012
    38
    The game isn't funny, and that's inexcusable.
  13. Nov 28, 2012
    35
    Back to the Multiverse is complete nonsense. Small-minded and archaic shooting gameplay with little comedy and a boring story.
  14. Nov 28, 2012
    30
    Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse is terrible, a bad idea that is malformed. Brian and Stewie deserve a better game. Not this unplayable, short and ugly TPS.
  15. Nov 27, 2012
    20
    A return to the very worst standards of video game tie-ins, with terrible gameplay and an equally incompetent attempt to mimic the show's humour.
  16. Nov 27, 2012
    35
    Family Guy: Back to the Multiverse is by far the worst game I've played this year, and I've played Kinect Star Wars! It's a title that's utterly marred by its own identity crisis, with gameplay more suited for kids but with subject matter aimed at adults, and too many recycled jokes to warrant a purchase for diehard Family Guy fans.
  17. Nov 24, 2012
    40
    None of the key features really hold up compared to other shooters, save for the appearance of Seth McFarlane and his crew of writers and actors. Even then, this would have made for a weakly written episode of the show. If it were down to a night with your buddies in front of the TV with a few drinks, then it would make for an alright rental.
  18. Nov 20, 2012
    20
    Crude, archaic, sloppy, and unfunny, but I don't want the show to be blamed for any of it -- not because I wish to defend Family Guy, but because by blaming the show, we let this game get away with being the invidious dross it is.
User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    1
    I myself love Family Guy so I came into this challenge wishing for the best. Needless to say I was given the exact opposite. The game is aI myself love Family Guy so I came into this challenge wishing for the best. Needless to say I was given the exact opposite. The game is a terrible mix of unrelenting, repetitive game play that at times makes you want to punch your controller. And generally, punching your controller actually helps just as much as trying to play the game. Its a terrible mess of polygons slapped together to make a branded piece of merchandise that falls flat before you even know what hit you. You could either buy this game, or kick a baby. The later making more sense. Full Review »
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    1
    You know the game is garbage the second you put the disk inside your console. Anything that you dreamed this game will be like will not beYou know the game is garbage the second you put the disk inside your console. Anything that you dreamed this game will be like will not be found. There's a reason they didn't have any demos or show any videos of the game before it's release. Gameplay is atrocious and comedy is non existent. Save your money! Full Review »
  3. Nov 22, 2012
    7
    This game is fun. There is lots to do and some replayablility with some very well hidden secondary goals. The controls work great and theThis game is fun. There is lots to do and some replayablility with some very well hidden secondary goals. The controls work great and the game really captures the show with lots of humor, I laughed out loud a lot. It is not a great game but it is certainly not as bad as the critics are saying. I think the developers did a pretty good job of giving fans a Family Guy game and I am not disappointed at all. Not a masterpiece but a very fun game to play, much more fun than Assassins Creed 3. Full Review »