Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon Xbox 360

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 302 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 302

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 8, 2013
    8
    Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon is an amazing standalone expansion pack to the amazing FC3. The story follows Rex Power Colt, a cyber-commando in a 80's action movie style 2007 where the world has been torn apart by nuclear war and the world is filled with neon and lasers.
    Though the story isn't that good it is a classic 80's action film plotline and one that is highly enjoyable for high octane
    Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon is an amazing standalone expansion pack to the amazing FC3. The story follows Rex Power Colt, a cyber-commando in a 80's action movie style 2007 where the world has been torn apart by nuclear war and the world is filled with neon and lasers.
    Though the story isn't that good it is a classic 80's action film plotline and one that is highly enjoyable for high octane thrills and crude humour.
    The game plays mostly like FC3 too, just a little stripped down making the game feel a lot smaller than it actually is.
    With a campaign of about 3 hours and about 6 hours for the 100% Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon is worth that £10, I highly anticipate a sequel, just perhaps a bit longer and more fleshed out.
    Expand
  2. May 8, 2013
    10
    A $15 open world 80s cyber action game starring Michael Biehn! What's not to love here? Blood Dragon is not just good for a DLC but a fantastic, fully realized game in its own right and one of the most entertaining first person shooters of this generation. I've been rocking Blood Dragon every day since it came out and have to stop for a second and appreciate it when a DLC does somethingA $15 open world 80s cyber action game starring Michael Biehn! What's not to love here? Blood Dragon is not just good for a DLC but a fantastic, fully realized game in its own right and one of the most entertaining first person shooters of this generation. I've been rocking Blood Dragon every day since it came out and have to stop for a second and appreciate it when a DLC does something this mind boggling unique rather than the usual cash grab offerings of new maps or a few more hours of the same levels in an epilogue or prequel. The last time a DLC title this ambitious was attempted happened was Undead Nightmare and with the (hopeful) success of this rad new beast I hope these kinds of re-purposed games become more common. Making an entirely new game from ashes of an enjoyable older game is a great way to test out new ideas. It breeds innovation and, in this case, DRAGONS! Expand
  3. May 1, 2013
    10
    I will admit i am a little biased as i grew up on action films from the 80's and 90's but this game is great. If your a fan of the old style action movies this is the game for you. It has everything the hit and miss one liner's, a great soundtrack, explosions, big guns, ridiculous plots, all in all its a great game. The gameplay is great, and while it uses the same engine as farcry 3 theI will admit i am a little biased as i grew up on action films from the 80's and 90's but this game is great. If your a fan of the old style action movies this is the game for you. It has everything the hit and miss one liner's, a great soundtrack, explosions, big guns, ridiculous plots, all in all its a great game. The gameplay is great, and while it uses the same engine as farcry 3 the game has a much different feel to it. Got to say this game is pure cheese and man is it worth the fifteen dollars. It takes away the crafting farcry 3 had for the most part and hunting is mostly just for fun now but the game is still great. You start out with some abilities that you wouldn't have in farcry 3 and the leveling system is now linear you gain a certain bonus at a certain level but for me that wasn't a bother. I don't know what made Ubisoft make this game but i am so glad they did! Expand
  4. May 3, 2013
    10
    Brilliant game, worth all 1200 microsoft points. The game is a beautiful look at and 80's arcade game with nowadays graphics (except the nostalgic cut-scenes which are hilarious). I does justice to old 80's arcade games by being over the top and with brilliant and hilarious dialogue. The gameplay is the same as far cry 3 which means it is brilliant and easy to get into if you have playedBrilliant game, worth all 1200 microsoft points. The game is a beautiful look at and 80's arcade game with nowadays graphics (except the nostalgic cut-scenes which are hilarious). I does justice to old 80's arcade games by being over the top and with brilliant and hilarious dialogue. The gameplay is the same as far cry 3 which means it is brilliant and easy to get into if you have played far cry 3 or not. Michael Biehn is great as Rex Colt and there are a lot of references to the 80's in general (I loved the VHS collectibles). 10/10 Expand
  5. May 3, 2013
    9
    great graphics, well done 80s look, a story which is dumb as and very bad jokes. what do you want more? awesome and funny game for low pricing
  6. May 23, 2013
    9
    this game is epic. blood dragons weapons humor 8 bit cut scenes list could go forever this game is da bomb its little short but hay its stll better than re6
  7. May 3, 2013
    10
    Absolute perfect 10 game. Had me rolling laughing and enjoying every bit of it. I think growing up in the age to truly understand the references throughout the senses i appreciate the humor, but also always wanting to interact with a Snake Pliskin type character really immersed me thoroughly in the world. Also the value in such a cheap price point really solidified a 10 score. Keep up theAbsolute perfect 10 game. Had me rolling laughing and enjoying every bit of it. I think growing up in the age to truly understand the references throughout the senses i appreciate the humor, but also always wanting to interact with a Snake Pliskin type character really immersed me thoroughly in the world. Also the value in such a cheap price point really solidified a 10 score. Keep up the good work. Expand
  8. May 1, 2013
    9
    Phenomenal, just about the most 80s you could ever get. The aesthetics of Far Cry 3 are intact, but the guns, and how you play around in your environment are what make the game special. This game will make you laugh, 80s references galore, and you play as Rex Power Colt, who has a flair for stringing together obscenities and making the best/worst one liners ever. If you enjoyed Far Cry,Phenomenal, just about the most 80s you could ever get. The aesthetics of Far Cry 3 are intact, but the guns, and how you play around in your environment are what make the game special. This game will make you laugh, 80s references galore, and you play as Rex Power Colt, who has a flair for stringing together obscenities and making the best/worst one liners ever. If you enjoyed Far Cry, that justifies buying blood dragon, if you enjoy an 80s feel that serves as an excellent parody, and sudo-tribute, you're gonna have a great time too. Don't expect an elaborate story, and while there are a good few missions even after you complete the main story, there isn't a whole lot of depth here. But for the sum of it's parts Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon is enjoyable from beginning to end, and will keep you grinning with it's pop culture, and it's abundant over the top awesomeness. Expand
  9. May 1, 2013
    10
    somethin that not too many folks will talk about is the music. the music really did it for me. i was laughing or grinning through the entire game because the music turned the game from a sort of funny 80s knockoff to a 100% funny 80s knockoff. you have to play it to understand.
  10. May 1, 2013
    10
    Lasers, 80s keyboard music, 80s references, 80s one liners, dinosaurs, and Nes style cinematics! Entirely awesome new map complete with multiple garrisons and new campaign to blast through. Worth every penny!
  11. May 1, 2013
    10
    Well, the game is funny and the gameplay excellent. Best weapons ever and the story line dumb as hell. I see a lot people complaining about the game deepness, duration, etc in front of FC3. Hey guy this is a 15$ title! 1/4 of FC3 price. Just be logic. It definitely worth more than 15$.
  12. May 1, 2013
    9
    one of the only games that make you laugh not only with violence but with stupid and brainless quotes
    to. if you know 80s movies etc it wil make you day worth its moneys!!
  13. May 3, 2013
    10
    This game is fun and entertaining, it takes me back to the 80's cyberpunk era and make me wanna kill cyborgs and shoot with laser guns, this is a must have for anyone who like cyberpunk things!
  14. May 1, 2013
    9
    First off, official Xbox uk magazine!!! These redcoat ALWAYS lowball kickass games. The EGM review is spot-on...great visuals, hilarious dialogue, über ass-kicking, & just tons of fun to play. Rex Power Colt for President!!!!!! :D
  15. May 5, 2013
    10
    Blood Dragon is a chilling tale based in the aftermath of Canada's demise in Cold War 2. The year is 2007 and you play a hero out to secure freedom for the world using futuristic weaponry and one man's unwavering determination.

    Other games should just postpone launch until 2014, this is the GOTY.
  16. May 1, 2013
    8
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME IF YOU WERE NOT BORN IN THE 70'S OR 80'S. You might be able to get by if you were born in the early 90's, but this game makes a ton of references to many 80's action movies. And it is glorious. The FarCry 3 engine feels as great as ever. You start off with a ton of upgrades from the original FarCry 3 (like double jumping takedowns,etc), so right off the bat youDO NOT BUY THIS GAME IF YOU WERE NOT BORN IN THE 70'S OR 80'S. You might be able to get by if you were born in the early 90's, but this game makes a ton of references to many 80's action movies. And it is glorious. The FarCry 3 engine feels as great as ever. You start off with a ton of upgrades from the original FarCry 3 (like double jumping takedowns,etc), so right off the bat you feel capable. Throw in 4 extremely powerful weapons and the game does an amazing job of making you feel like a futuristic badass cyborg. The game is extremely corny which in turn makes it extremely funny. I know the game isn't suppose to last too long (from what I've heard, it can take around 6 hours), but in all fairness I paid the same price for Journey. And in both cases, I think both these games are absolutely worth it. Besides, why wouldn't you want to kill a laser eye firing dragon? Expand
  17. May 2, 2013
    10
    If you like pop culture,fun, and have $15 then Buy this game.
    Style: 10
    Humor: hit and miss cheese
    Gameplay: 9
    Value: 10
    Smoke a joint and enjoy this throwback to when things were less serious.
  18. May 3, 2013
    8
    I simply love this game. It's retro style sequences pretty much remind me off the good old game boy times, the 80's techno soundtrack kicks ass, the sayings of both, enemys and the main character, are pretty funny, and the overall athmosphere is just nice.
    Didn't played the main story so far, atm I'm on the misson to the clear all the outposts, so I can not tell much about the story,
    I simply love this game. It's retro style sequences pretty much remind me off the good old game boy times, the 80's techno soundtrack kicks ass, the sayings of both, enemys and the main character, are pretty funny, and the overall athmosphere is just nice.
    Didn't played the main story so far, atm I'm on the misson to the clear all the outposts, so I can not tell much about the story, but the begining is fun!

    I didn't bother about Far Cry 3, but this Standalone Spin-Off is a Must Have for Retro Gaming and Trash Fans!

    At last, some informations to the german player out there, like me:
    despite all doubts, the german dubbing is a good one. The sayings an robo voices are well translated into german. On top of that and that's a rare thing novadays Blood Dragon allows us to switch to original, english dubbing wich is, indeed, even better than the german ).
    1200 MS Points means 15 euro, so go and get this game!
    Expand
  19. May 28, 2013
    10
    I can't give this game less than 10/10. I had SO MUCH FUN, literally laughing all the time. It's the perfect trip back to the 80's. Over the top action and pure fun. The gameplay is solid and I find no reason to compare it to Far Cry 3, this game stands on its on merits. No overly complex plot and the cutscenes are hilarious and beautiful in 16-bit glory. The music is SO AWESOME and II can't give this game less than 10/10. I had SO MUCH FUN, literally laughing all the time. It's the perfect trip back to the 80's. Over the top action and pure fun. The gameplay is solid and I find no reason to compare it to Far Cry 3, this game stands on its on merits. No overly complex plot and the cutscenes are hilarious and beautiful in 16-bit glory. The music is SO AWESOME and I can't stop talking about this game. A little short, around 8 hours to complete everything including achievements but that's allright for $15. I had more fun with this than most $60 titles. Best game since Skyrim. Expand
  20. May 9, 2013
    10
    Everyone should do themselves a favor and buy the game, especially if you have any memory of the 80's and 90's. It was funny, the soundtrack is AMAZING, and the gameplay handles exactly how you think controlling a cyborg would feel. On top of that, if you did play Far Cry 3, then this is a must buy as well, because in a way it expands upon some of the limitations you faced because you wereEveryone should do themselves a favor and buy the game, especially if you have any memory of the 80's and 90's. It was funny, the soundtrack is AMAZING, and the gameplay handles exactly how you think controlling a cyborg would feel. On top of that, if you did play Far Cry 3, then this is a must buy as well, because in a way it expands upon some of the limitations you faced because you were human. You run faster, swim faster, take no fall damage....Pretty much feels like a vacation after playing Far Cry 3 (I loved that game as well BTW). It all just flows together really well. Expand
  21. May 27, 2013
    10
    One of the most just sheer FUN shooters I have played in a long time. Well done to the people behind this game. I would love too see this as a stand alone, EXACTLY the same thing but MORE!

    Well done!
  22. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    pure dumb fun doesn't take itself seriously and is full of good laughs with the same high quality combat and exploration that far cry 3 offered also the soundtrack is incredible
  23. May 11, 2013
    10
    OMG! Best add on ever. I loved every second of this game. Well worth the money and I cant wait for more. If you from old school gaming, you will be in heaven.
  24. Jun 23, 2013
    8
    It seems as though Mass Effect: Citadel might have started something. For those who didn't take a look at that one, it was a lighthearted, essentially just-for-fun romp full of laughs and moments to remember just for the sheer hilarity. Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon was made apparently for the same reasons. So let's take a look at it. Summarizing the game is relatively easy: take every singleIt seems as though Mass Effect: Citadel might have started something. For those who didn't take a look at that one, it was a lighthearted, essentially just-for-fun romp full of laughs and moments to remember just for the sheer hilarity. Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon was made apparently for the same reasons. So let's take a look at it. Summarizing the game is relatively easy: take every single 1980s action movie between grades A+ and D-, pull all of the one-liners, dialogue tropes, and situation comedy, and blend them together while mixing in the Far Cry 3 engine and design, then retro it back to 80's video game design norms and you get...Blood Dragon. If this sounds critical, it's not meant to: the game is meant to just be plain fun, and it lives up to it. If you were a fan of movies like Robocop, Outland, and a whole slew of movies too bad to remember (mainly because they were bad movies, not in spite of it), then Blood Dragon was made for you: it'll take you on a trip down that memory lane and keep you in stitches every step of the way. The game developers also deserve congratulations because they didn't go too far, and it would've been so easy. While the cinematics harken back to 1980s game animations, the game itself uses the graphics engine and mechanics of Far Cry 3, so all of that polished smoothness doesn't go to waste. It's not perfect, though. First, the game's color palette gets tiring fast; everything is in a red overcast, just like innumerable 80's postapocalyptic films, but for a game designed to last several hours, you're likely to end up with retina fatigue. The other hitch for Blood Dragon is uneven pacing and difficulty. The difficulty pendulum swings rapidly and often without warning, which can saddle players with a situation harder than expected. But given the superhero mechanics at work in the game, this is usually only a temporary setback. Overall, Blood Dragon is everything you remember and love about 80s sci-fi action films: over the top everything, a wisecracking hero, implausible technologies, way too much neon, and plots that don't get a lot of explanation...but don't really need it anyway. A well-enjoyed 8 to Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon, a trip down memory lane...with lasers...and dinosaurs. Expand
  25. May 7, 2013
    8
    If you purchased Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon you are probably in 1 of 2 schools of thought: I love Far Cry 3 so this will be sweet (which it is) or I love 80's action movies/humor (which this has). This add-on (if you would even call it that) to the Far Cry 3 game is one of the best of this generation of games, in short this is what Duke Nukem Forever should have been.
  26. May 7, 2013
    10
    Finally someone at Ubisoft gets the Idea. This is more than a fan service cause this could be a legit franchise. I'm sick and tired of the same US vs European/Middle East/Asian military BS or Space Super Soldier who I thought was dead but was miraculously alive pfffff
  27. May 5, 2013
    10
    please do yourself a favor and buy this game. i played part of farcry 2 and hated it. i played part of farcry 3 and loved the gameplay part but couldnt stand the story. this is perfect. the story in farcry 3 tried to be serious but just got cheesy with all the be one with the forest, path of the warrior blah blah. this game dosent take itself seriously and is better for it. cant reccomend enough!
  28. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a very over the top game. It has absolutely nothing to do with Far Cry 3, but it doesn't matter... this game is still great. The weapons are amazing, the story and delivery of dialogue from Rex Power Colt is cheesy, with a 80's "futuristic" style. The game is very short though, it only took about 4 hours to beat... so I would suggest that people wait for it to goFar Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a very over the top game. It has absolutely nothing to do with Far Cry 3, but it doesn't matter... this game is still great. The weapons are amazing, the story and delivery of dialogue from Rex Power Colt is cheesy, with a 80's "futuristic" style. The game is very short though, it only took about 4 hours to beat... so I would suggest that people wait for it to go on sale before they get it if they're looking for something really long. Expand
  29. Sep 20, 2013
    8
    This was unexpected for an expansion pack, if you could call it that. Not only is it an XBLA title, but other than the game engine and mechanics, this shares little in common with the base game. With it's satire of 80s pop culture, crazy enemies and animals, and synth soundtrack (provided by Power Glove), you'd think this is a completely different game. Everything that made the originalThis was unexpected for an expansion pack, if you could call it that. Not only is it an XBLA title, but other than the game engine and mechanics, this shares little in common with the base game. With it's satire of 80s pop culture, crazy enemies and animals, and synth soundtrack (provided by Power Glove), you'd think this is a completely different game. Everything that made the original Far Cry 3 a great game (unlockable weapons and upgrades, exotic wildlife, wide open world, etc.) are present here, mixed with pop culture references, 80s sci-fi flair and cheesy one-liners by Kyle Reese himself, Michael Beihn. Of course, being an XBLA game, it's fairly short and really easy compared to the original game. NO multiplayer either, but given how unspectacular the original's was, that's probably for the best. A pretty fun and funny take on Far Cry 3, and a recommended download. Expand
  30. May 23, 2015
    8
    "Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon" is an homage/parody of 80's Hollywood sci-fi flicks. Everything from "The Terminator" to "Robocop" are referenced throughout in a tongue-in-cheek way. There are even jabs at non sci-fi movies from the era such as Stallone's "Cobra". The synthesizer soundtrack, VHS-style "tracking" bar and the title's font all combine to make a direct throwback to the "Decade of"Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon" is an homage/parody of 80's Hollywood sci-fi flicks. Everything from "The Terminator" to "Robocop" are referenced throughout in a tongue-in-cheek way. There are even jabs at non sci-fi movies from the era such as Stallone's "Cobra". The synthesizer soundtrack, VHS-style "tracking" bar and the title's font all combine to make a direct throwback to the "Decade of Excess". You play as Rex Colt (voiced by Michael "Kyle Reese" Biehn), a cyborg soldier who is recruited to take down his former superior who is now a rogue Colonel that wants to destroy the world. The game plays just like "Far Cry 3" but with a short campaign, only three different side-missions and only one vehicle to mount. Oh, and the blood dragons, which can be avoided or used as allies. You can hunt animals, rescue captured scientists, take down outposts or find three types of collectibles (VHS tapes, TV's and Letters). However, there are is no skill tree in "Blood Dragon". You earn experience points as you progress in the game which automatically levels you up. This stand alone DLC is about $5 too much (it costs 15 dollars), but it is a lot of fun, especially if you're a child of the 80's. So if you like "Far Cry 3" and 80's Hollywood action flicks as well as their cheap knock offs, then "Blood Dragon" should belong in your library. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. games(TM)
    Jun 28, 2013
    80
    It's a meaty, gratifying dose of excess that refuses to pander to subtlety. [Issue#136, p.108]
  2. Games Master UK
    May 30, 2013
    81
    As if Far Cry 3 was developed by Ocean Software and starred The Terminator. [July 2013, p.76]
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    May 22, 2013
    90
    Wholly entertaining, Blood Dragon chucks everything we didn't like about Far Cry 3 in the bin and cranks everything else we did like up to 11. Then adds lasers. Solid. [Issue #98, p.72]