Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 294 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon is THE Kick-Ass Cyber Shooter set in a bizarre open-world island teeming with evil. Welcome to an 80’s VHS vision of the future. The year is 2007 and you assume the role Sargent Rex Colt, a Mark IV Cyber Commando who is fighting against a cyborg army gone irreversiblyFar Cry 3 Blood Dragon is THE Kick-Ass Cyber Shooter set in a bizarre open-world island teeming with evil. Welcome to an 80’s VHS vision of the future. The year is 2007 and you assume the role Sargent Rex Colt, a Mark IV Cyber Commando who is fighting against a cyborg army gone irreversibly rogue. Your mission: get the girl, kill the bad guys, and save the world. Experience every cliché of a VHS era vision of a nuclear future, where cyborgs, blood dragons, mutants, and Michael Biehn (Terminator, Aliens, Navy Seals) collide. [Blood Dragon doesn't require a copy of Far Cry 3.] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    100
    Rarely do I laugh my way through an entire game but even in the intense action scenes Blood Dragon is still throwing humor out every which way.
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    90
    The game’s writing is one of the big highlights. The tutorial sections are hilarious, as is the dialog between characters. Rex is constantly spouting insanely cheesy dialog, and it all works really well.
  3. May 5, 2013
    90
    Blood Dragon its a wonderful homage to the Eighties, and a very good variation of one of the best game of the last year. A true must buy for every thirty-something gamer who loves video games, movies and bad jokes.
  4. May 3, 2013
    83
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon's campaign is too short and lacks challenge, but it makes up for those shortcomings with an over-the-top production, hilarious characters and dialogue, and enough fun to leave you asking for more.
  5. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    It’s a shame the experience is so brief, but because this is an arcade title that only costs fifteen bucks to scoop up, it’s a nice amount of depth and a completely absurd amount of fun. It’s just funny that this may turn out to be one of the better things released this year and it started out as a joke.
  6. Apr 30, 2013
    75
    It doesn’t make a lot of significant changes to Far Cry 3, outside of streamlining some of the light RPG concepts in favor of something even more action-oriented. And it does a really great job of capturing that kitschy, hyper-stylized wave of 80’s nostalgia that few manage to get outside of the recent Hotline Miami.
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    60
    If Far Cry 3 was the dinner entree when it released last year, then Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is an ice cream sundae on top of a slice of chocolate cake for dessert. It goes a bit farther than it needs to for some of its parody, but the game's core is as strong as ever wrapped in a love letter to the '80s vision of cool.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 70
  2. Negative: 2 out of 70
  1. May 1, 2013
    10
    Well, the game is funny and the gameplay excellent. Best weapons ever and the story line dumb as hell. I see a lot people complaining aboutWell, the game is funny and the gameplay excellent. Best weapons ever and the story line dumb as hell. I see a lot people complaining about the game deepness, duration, etc in front of FC3. Hey guy this is a 15$ title! 1/4 of FC3 price. Just be logic. It definitely worth more than 15$. Expand
  2. May 9, 2013
    10
    Everyone should do themselves a favor and buy the game, especially if you have any memory of the 80's and 90's. It was funny, the soundtrackEveryone should do themselves a favor and buy the game, especially if you have any memory of the 80's and 90's. It was funny, the soundtrack is AMAZING, and the gameplay handles exactly how you think controlling a cyborg would feel. On top of that, if you did play Far Cry 3, then this is a must buy as well, because in a way it expands upon some of the limitations you faced because you were human. You run faster, swim faster, take no fall damage....Pretty much feels like a vacation after playing Far Cry 3 (I loved that game as well BTW). It all just flows together really well. Expand
  3. May 1, 2013
    10
    I will admit i am a little biased as i grew up on action films from the 80's and 90's but this game is great. If your a fan of the old styleI will admit i am a little biased as i grew up on action films from the 80's and 90's but this game is great. If your a fan of the old style action movies this is the game for you. It has everything the hit and miss one liner's, a great soundtrack, explosions, big guns, ridiculous plots, all in all its a great game. The gameplay is great, and while it uses the same engine as farcry 3 the game has a much different feel to it. Got to say this game is pure cheese and man is it worth the fifteen dollars. It takes away the crafting farcry 3 had for the most part and hunting is mostly just for fun now but the game is still great. You start out with some abilities that you wouldn't have in farcry 3 and the leveling system is now linear you gain a certain bonus at a certain level but for me that wasn't a bother. I don't know what made Ubisoft make this game but i am so glad they did! Expand
  4. May 4, 2013
    9
    I have never played a game that has so many puns and jokes in it but still matches that with riveting gameplay and a classic 80's Sci-FiI have never played a game that has so many puns and jokes in it but still matches that with riveting gameplay and a classic 80's Sci-Fi storyline. This game has billions of references to 80's action and Sci-Fi movies. I personally think that FC3 Blood dragon is an infusion of the Far cry 3 engine with Halo graphics and artstyle turned up to 100. In my opinion this game is better than the original Far Cry 3 simply because it is more unique and exciting. The only problem i have with this game is that it doesn't have any multiplayer or a seperate co-op campaign like Far Cry 3 which is understandable since it is a downloadable game but i think they should make this into a full game with multiplayer and a seperate co-op campaign. Overall a very unique, exciting and well made game. Solid 9/10! Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    This game is a $15 investment to relive the nostalgia we so desperately didn't want to relive. Blood Dragon captures the 80's perfectly andThis game is a $15 investment to relive the nostalgia we so desperately didn't want to relive. Blood Dragon captures the 80's perfectly and plays just as greatly as Far Cry 3 did. Though it was a bit short and there's not as much replay value after it's done as there was in FC3, it is still a hilarious little standalone expansion everyone should be getting. Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2014
    8
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon has almost nothing to do with Far Cry 3 story wise. It is set in a neon future were a rogue General has taken over anFar Cry 3: Blood Dragon has almost nothing to do with Far Cry 3 story wise. It is set in a neon future were a rogue General has taken over an island and you must stop him. You play as Rex Power Colt, a cyborg tasks to take down this threat. The story is basic but the writing and characters are hilarious and make fun of action game troughs. The game play is very similar to Far Cry 3, you liberate garrisons and complete missions. The open world is actually quite large and filled with stuff to do. The weapons are unique and varied enough to keep combat interesting. The game's length feels just right for its DLC, downloadable price. Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a cool, hilarious, and fun add on to Far Cry 3 and is a prime example of how to do a franchise spin off well. Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2013
    0
    Easy, boring, unfunny, and wretchedly ugly (accomplished by making it permanently pitch black out and throwing a hideous dark reddish purpleEasy, boring, unfunny, and wretchedly ugly (accomplished by making it permanently pitch black out and throwing a hideous dark reddish purple haze over what was once the gorgeous FC3). Everything about this screams cheap cash-in the only new model is the blood dragon, which wouldn't look out of place on the N64, everything else is hastily retextured or not at all, the bargain bin voice acting attempts (sounds like Michael Biehn just read down a list of a few dozen phrases in a 10 minutes take with no direction). The writing features an ambiguously consensual 'no means yes?' sex scene that might be most catastrophic failure of taste I've ever seen in a game outside of Japan. All of the weird interface from FC3 is still here too, unpatched, and the game will acknowledge that it sucks while mocking you for getting frustrated.

    Even for when this goes under $5, you'll still be giving your money to for a visciously unfun 6 hours.
    Collapse

See all 70 User Reviews