Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon Xbox 360

Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 309 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon is THE Kick-Ass Cyber Shooter set in a bizarre open-world island teeming with evil. Welcome to an 80’s VHS vision of the future. The year is 2007 and you assume the role Sargent Rex Colt, a Mark IV Cyber Commando who is fighting against a cyborg army gone irreversiblyFar Cry 3 Blood Dragon is THE Kick-Ass Cyber Shooter set in a bizarre open-world island teeming with evil. Welcome to an 80’s VHS vision of the future. The year is 2007 and you assume the role Sargent Rex Colt, a Mark IV Cyber Commando who is fighting against a cyborg army gone irreversibly rogue. Your mission: get the girl, kill the bad guys, and save the world. Experience every cliché of a VHS era vision of a nuclear future, where cyborgs, blood dragons, mutants, and Michael Biehn (Terminator, Aliens, Navy Seals) collide. [Blood Dragon doesn't require a copy of Far Cry 3.] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    100
    Rarely do I laugh my way through an entire game but even in the intense action scenes Blood Dragon is still throwing humor out every which way.
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    90
    The game’s writing is one of the big highlights. The tutorial sections are hilarious, as is the dialog between characters. Rex is constantly spouting insanely cheesy dialog, and it all works really well.
  3. May 5, 2013
    90
    Blood Dragon its a wonderful homage to the Eighties, and a very good variation of one of the best game of the last year. A true must buy for every thirty-something gamer who loves video games, movies and bad jokes.
  4. May 3, 2013
    83
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon's campaign is too short and lacks challenge, but it makes up for those shortcomings with an over-the-top production, hilarious characters and dialogue, and enough fun to leave you asking for more.
  5. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    It’s a shame the experience is so brief, but because this is an arcade title that only costs fifteen bucks to scoop up, it’s a nice amount of depth and a completely absurd amount of fun. It’s just funny that this may turn out to be one of the better things released this year and it started out as a joke.
  6. Apr 30, 2013
    75
    It doesn’t make a lot of significant changes to Far Cry 3, outside of streamlining some of the light RPG concepts in favor of something even more action-oriented. And it does a really great job of capturing that kitschy, hyper-stylized wave of 80’s nostalgia that few manage to get outside of the recent Hotline Miami.
  7. Apr 30, 2013
    60
    If Far Cry 3 was the dinner entree when it released last year, then Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is an ice cream sundae on top of a slice of chocolate cake for dessert. It goes a bit farther than it needs to for some of its parody, but the game's core is as strong as ever wrapped in a love letter to the '80s vision of cool.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 72
  2. Negative: 2 out of 72
  1. May 1, 2013
    10
    Well, the game is funny and the gameplay excellent. Best weapons ever and the story line dumb as hell. I see a lot people complaining aboutWell, the game is funny and the gameplay excellent. Best weapons ever and the story line dumb as hell. I see a lot people complaining about the game deepness, duration, etc in front of FC3. Hey guy this is a 15$ title! 1/4 of FC3 price. Just be logic. It definitely worth more than 15$. Expand
  2. May 7, 2013
    10
    Finally someone at Ubisoft gets the Idea. This is more than a fan service cause this could be a legit franchise. I'm sick and tired of theFinally someone at Ubisoft gets the Idea. This is more than a fan service cause this could be a legit franchise. I'm sick and tired of the same US vs European/Middle East/Asian military BS or Space Super Soldier who I thought was dead but was miraculously alive pfffff Expand
  3. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    It might not have loads of serious story arcs and character development the great visual style the really good humour the 80s homages theIt might not have loads of serious story arcs and character development the great visual style the really good humour the 80s homages the gameplay the graphics has a great style the animals it is just SO MUCH FUN Expand
  4. May 4, 2013
    9
    This game is pretty damn AMAZING. I can't believe how a simple rehash of an open world game can still be stunning. Though I'm not from theThis game is pretty damn AMAZING. I can't believe how a simple rehash of an open world game can still be stunning. Though I'm not from the 80s, I've watched a ton of 80s Action Movies from Arnold Schwarzenegger's Predator to Sylvester Stallone's Rambo series... Hell, I've even watched Terminator and Aliens. This game will make you feel like you're an 80s kind of action hero because of its:

    • It's Presentation, this game is probably has one of the best presentation of a 80s Action Movie like game.
    Packed funny One Liners in cinematics and while kicking cyborg ass ingame. Another thing is the
    cinematics, every single bit is shown in that 80s Arcade Game Style cinematic that anyone from the 80s
    who plays video games is gonna love.

    • The Weapons that are though few, they're still a lot of fun to use in many ways to kill Enemies in the game.

    • The Soundtrack, this one of the best parts about Blood Dragon. Really represents that 80s Action Flick with
    references of it sounding almost like the terminator's theme. Blood Dragon's soundtrack never lets up with
    it's 80s theme and it's a part of what makes this game amazing.

    All in all... You'll be feeling like 80s Cyborg Action Hero when playing Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon.
    The ONLY bad thing that I can say about this game is it's ending. I got this feeling the last part with the villain was rushed because nothing really happened but an epic cinematic. I feel the need of an epic fist fight with the villain especially with funny twist while in the cinematic.
    Though it kinda makes up a bit near the credits where in there's a possible sequel for this game.
    (AND GOD YES I WOULD KILL FOR A BLOOD DRAGON 2!) It kinda reminds me of that ending in Michael Jackson's Thriller Music Video... The only thing missing was that evil laugh.

    My Verdict for Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon is VERY SOLID 9/10. Get this game now...
    Even if you're not an 80s fan. You'll enjoy every bit of this game. for $15? Nothing can go wrong.

    "It's a Sgt.Rex Power Colt Guarantee!"
    Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    This game is a $15 investment to relive the nostalgia we so desperately didn't want to relive. Blood Dragon captures the 80's perfectly andThis game is a $15 investment to relive the nostalgia we so desperately didn't want to relive. Blood Dragon captures the 80's perfectly and plays just as greatly as Far Cry 3 did. Though it was a bit short and there's not as much replay value after it's done as there was in FC3, it is still a hilarious little standalone expansion everyone should be getting. Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2013
    8
    This game is great top to bottom. All of the artwork adds a great immersive feeling as it makes you feel part of the cyber universe. With allThis game is great top to bottom. All of the artwork adds a great immersive feeling as it makes you feel part of the cyber universe. With all of the references from various internet trends, which I counted 14, this game is funny, sad and even a little romantic all at the same time.The only thing missing from this game is a longer campaign. Because once you beat the game and capture all of the outposts, there is really nothing to do except kill blood dragons. But this game is definitely worth buying if you are a fan of the Far Cry series. Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2013
    0
    Easy, boring, unfunny, and wretchedly ugly (accomplished by making it permanently pitch black out and throwing a hideous dark reddish purpleEasy, boring, unfunny, and wretchedly ugly (accomplished by making it permanently pitch black out and throwing a hideous dark reddish purple haze over what was once the gorgeous FC3). Everything about this screams cheap cash-in the only new model is the blood dragon, which wouldn't look out of place on the N64, everything else is hastily retextured or not at all, the bargain bin voice acting attempts (sounds like Michael Biehn just read down a list of a few dozen phrases in a 10 minutes take with no direction). The writing features an ambiguously consensual 'no means yes?' sex scene that might be most catastrophic failure of taste I've ever seen in a game outside of Japan. All of the weird interface from FC3 is still here too, unpatched, and the game will acknowledge that it sucks while mocking you for getting frustrated.

    Even for when this goes under $5, you'll still be giving your money to for a visciously unfun 6 hours.
    Collapse

See all 72 User Reviews