User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1133 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 6, 2013
    7
    After one complete playthrough of this game, I can say that I have mixed feelings about it overall. On one hand, it is a very solid FPS with a HUGE game world. The story is truly top notch, voice acting is excellent. The arsenal of guns at your disposal is equally as large, and each one is customizable in the way of attachments, and paint jobs. There are quite a few upgrades to get byAfter one complete playthrough of this game, I can say that I have mixed feelings about it overall. On one hand, it is a very solid FPS with a HUGE game world. The story is truly top notch, voice acting is excellent. The arsenal of guns at your disposal is equally as large, and each one is customizable in the way of attachments, and paint jobs. There are quite a few upgrades to get by hunting and skinning animals (one of my favorite parts), and generally the controls are excellent. Unfortunately, there are a few problems with Far Cry 3 that convey a huge lack of attention to detail. After liberating outposts, more and more side quests open up for you to do. Each one is one of two types, Path of the Hunter, or WANTED dead. Each mission of these type are awfully similar to one another, and need only to be done if you need money. Go find this group of 5 guys, kill one with a knife, rinse and repeat in another area. Also, liberating outposts gets extremely boring after you get about a quarter of them, and by the end I was only doing them to get the achievement, otherwise I would have stopped after about 10 of them. One of my favorite parts of the game, hunting, became completely worthless to do after I got about 20% through the game, as I had already upgraded all of my equipment (except for a few extended pieces). Blue exclamation point side quests are also equally pointless, as each one is so unimaginative it was painfully obvious they were just there to add some sort of filler. A complete playthrough took me only 20 hours, doing everything except collecting the relics and most of the side quests. This is an EXTREMELY short amount of time for an open world RPG, and there is little reason to play it all over again, unless you want to use different guns or approach outposts differently. I had fun, but it was over way too quick, and I wish there was just a little bit more variety. Good job Ubisoft, just not a great job. Expand
  2. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    Summary good game, good plot and ending delivery not so great nut otherwise a great game. Well I expected more towards the end and it didn't deliver. Though do not get me wrong I enjoyed my time I just expected it to be more pyshcological. The alternative endings didn't deliver as well, but I mean hey it was a good game and I had a good ride. I expected to track down the person who set usSummary good game, good plot and ending delivery not so great nut otherwise a great game. Well I expected more towards the end and it didn't deliver. Though do not get me wrong I enjoyed my time I just expected it to be more pyshcological. The alternative endings didn't deliver as well, but I mean hey it was a good game and I had a good ride. I expected to track down the person who set us up or sent us to the island in the first place. But this didn't occur. Good selections of weapons and good progression there was a point though where I asked myself why wasn't I playing on the hardest difficulty. Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2013
    5
    At it's core, FC3 is a solid FPS with an open-world setting. In addition, they make you unlock moves and power-ups through a shallow leveling system. Because of this, some people have compared FC3 to Skyrim and even gone so far as to say it is an RPG/FPS akin to Fallout 3. They are so very, very wrong and I will never forgive those friends of mine who said such lies. Skyrim shouldn'tAt it's core, FC3 is a solid FPS with an open-world setting. In addition, they make you unlock moves and power-ups through a shallow leveling system. Because of this, some people have compared FC3 to Skyrim and even gone so far as to say it is an RPG/FPS akin to Fallout 3. They are so very, very wrong and I will never forgive those friends of mine who said such lies. Skyrim shouldn't even be brought up, really. The RPG elements are mostly superficial and unnecessary. Most games of this type would just dole out the moves/power-ups as you progressed or teach you the moves through a lengthy tutorial instead. FC3 just found another way to do it that allows for a tiny, tiny amount of customization. That's fine and all, but seriously, if you gave the player all those moves right from the start, I doubt it would alter the gameplay very much. I kind of think it would improve it. Also, for such a dull story, they really make you wallow in it at times.
    FC3 looks and sounds great and controls very, very well. If you can't get enough of first-person shooters, you'll probably love this game. I, on the other hand, am growing tired of the repetitiveness of the FPS genre and FC3 does nothing to improve my attitude. If you're like me, this is strictly a rental.
    Expand
  4. Feb 14, 2013
    6
    Don't believe the hype. While Far Cry 3 is a solid game, it lacks the depth needed to be truly excellent. Full Review Here http://alloyseven.com/articles/game/item/83-fc3qr
  5. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    UPDATE: after playing this game some more, my original score of 7 seems a little generous. I would like to make some complaints starting with the graphics. The frame rate is quite bad for starters. Also, as you approach some objects in the game world you'll notice they kind of ''de-rez'' and reappear for some odd reason. Like a lamp or piece of equipment on the ground. WTF is up withUPDATE: after playing this game some more, my original score of 7 seems a little generous. I would like to make some complaints starting with the graphics. The frame rate is quite bad for starters. Also, as you approach some objects in the game world you'll notice they kind of ''de-rez'' and reappear for some odd reason. Like a lamp or piece of equipment on the ground. WTF is up with that? Getting a close up kill or searching a body reveals horrible textures and the see through effect. Oh yeah, the water is horrible too. It barely moves no matter if you're looking at it from the ground or swimming on the surface. Hardly any animations. Now if water didn't play such a large part in the game environment I would forgive this but for taking place on a huge group of islands you can't help but notice how bad it looks every time you play. Bioshock from 5 years back has water that looks lightyears ahead of FC3. The animals are cool but their sounds get annoying really fast. If there's a big group of them together it sounds ridiculous. The enemy chatter is repetitious, all you hear from them is complaints of the heat and getting VD. Hate to continue the negatives here but there are many. The menu system is poorly designed and convoluted. The game is constantly throwing messages at you on screen which is distracting. Compared to FC2, FC3 has made some improvements. No more respawning enemies and easier fast travel to name a couple. Overall, it just feels rehashed and tired to me though. I actually prefer FC2 overall I think...call me crazy I know. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2013
    7
    Good-Opening intro when you start the game is awesome. The main villain did some really good acting, it really got me into it and from there the chase was a good start. Then it happend...

    Bad- As soon as I started climbing the first antenna tower it started feeling like ANY Assassins Creed from the last 3 years. Boring climbing, zipline feels forced. The animal skinning kept me going
    Good-Opening intro when you start the game is awesome. The main villain did some really good acting, it really got me into it and from there the chase was a good start. Then it happend...

    Bad- As soon as I started climbing the first antenna tower it started feeling like ANY Assassins Creed from the last 3 years. Boring climbing, zipline feels forced. The animal skinning kept me going until I realized how similar to red dead and other AC games it was. Ugly- Felt too much like an AC way too early. (Chapter 3)
    Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2013
    7
    While it is a good shooter, Far Cry 3 isn't nothing more. It has a big map, but boring though. The map just feels all the same, but, it has a good quality though. The plot is predictable and not very catchy at the beginning. Otherwise, the AI is pretty good and the weapons are well made. Even if i love game with skills (or RPG elements in general), I totally hated this aspect of FC3. NotWhile it is a good shooter, Far Cry 3 isn't nothing more. It has a big map, but boring though. The map just feels all the same, but, it has a good quality though. The plot is predictable and not very catchy at the beginning. Otherwise, the AI is pretty good and the weapons are well made. Even if i love game with skills (or RPG elements in general), I totally hated this aspect of FC3. Not well developed. It also really doesn't feel like an open world game, because, even if you're doing it in a big open map, all you've got to do is going from A to B. The characters are well developed. Generally, it is a funny game, but definitely not the best. Expand
  8. Jan 26, 2013
    7
    Fantastic game, great graphics, (the fire effect is nowhere near as good as FC2), and some really amazing environments. The hang gliding is just terrific! My only criticism is that some of the voice acting and repetitive dialogue by the NPC islanders us just atrocious. The 2nd rate Kiwis used to mimic this tribe were cringeworthy bad. Can't a big budget game afford a) in real voice actors,Fantastic game, great graphics, (the fire effect is nowhere near as good as FC2), and some really amazing environments. The hang gliding is just terrific! My only criticism is that some of the voice acting and repetitive dialogue by the NPC islanders us just atrocious. The 2nd rate Kiwis used to mimic this tribe were cringeworthy bad. Can't a big budget game afford a) in real voice actors, and b) more than 3 of them for all the NPCs? And in 2012/3 using the same 3 lines hundreds of times over and over and over again is just lazy. All up an excellent game, but once the story was complete, very little reason to keep playing, gets boring and annoying. Expand
  9. Jan 12, 2013
    6
    Although the graphics are nice, they seem too fake. The sound quality is pretty bad, especially for the islanders - they all sound 'tinny'. The fighting as alright with a fine ability to do it stealthily, although it's nothing special. The story is pretty obvious, plus having mission areas is annoying. As different as the environment is to most games, it gets repetitive soon and theAlthough the graphics are nice, they seem too fake. The sound quality is pretty bad, especially for the islanders - they all sound 'tinny'. The fighting as alright with a fine ability to do it stealthily, although it's nothing special. The story is pretty obvious, plus having mission areas is annoying. As different as the environment is to most games, it gets repetitive soon and the overall game just doesn't have enough to do in it to make you want to keep playing. Expand
  10. Jan 12, 2013
    5
    Far Cry 3 is a mixed bad with great graphics and open gameplay hamstrung by the most awful menu and out-of-gameplay interface I have ever seen (including its tie-in with the nothing but annoying Uplay system). Other parts are just plain amusing, as in the main character with a wimpy personality that you just want to **** slap. You would think that after killing some fifty plus animals heFar Cry 3 is a mixed bad with great graphics and open gameplay hamstrung by the most awful menu and out-of-gameplay interface I have ever seen (including its tie-in with the nothing but annoying Uplay system). Other parts are just plain amusing, as in the main character with a wimpy personality that you just want to **** slap. You would think that after killing some fifty plus animals he would stop being disgusted... Ohhh gross ;) Expand
  11. Dec 24, 2012
    6
    An island sandbox with elements of Assassin's Creed (climbing tall phallus shaped objects), Red Dead Redemption (hunting), and World of Warcraft (terrible skill tree). First, the worst part of the game is the addition by duck tape of a bare bones RPG skill tree. The skill tree, by the end of the game will feel like it was a cocoon wrapped around you preventing you from playing how youAn island sandbox with elements of Assassin's Creed (climbing tall phallus shaped objects), Red Dead Redemption (hunting), and World of Warcraft (terrible skill tree). First, the worst part of the game is the addition by duck tape of a bare bones RPG skill tree. The skill tree, by the end of the game will feel like it was a cocoon wrapped around you preventing you from playing how you should have played from the first minute on. The best part of the game is that it it is easily the most responsive shooter I have ever played. When playing you will feel like you are in more control of Brody than any game character you have played. Every shot you miss, you will never feel like it is lag. The game is so responsive, you will unconsciously take responsibility for ever mistep you make.

    I score it down because, like Darksiders 2, Far Cry 3 should have been in development for another 3 to 6 months. In short, the first half of the game is brilliant, while the latter half plays like a pc tech demo.
    Expand
  12. Mar 14, 2013
    6
    Proof that once more in an open world game, variety and quantity doesn't equate to quality. Far Cry 3 throws an abundance of activities at you and yet non of them or their mechanics are particularly satisfying. You play as carefree fratboy Jason Brody, who along with his equally model-perfect chums, get abducted on an idyllic paradise island, by a group of pirates headed by cliched loony,Proof that once more in an open world game, variety and quantity doesn't equate to quality. Far Cry 3 throws an abundance of activities at you and yet non of them or their mechanics are particularly satisfying. You play as carefree fratboy Jason Brody, who along with his equally model-perfect chums, get abducted on an idyllic paradise island, by a group of pirates headed by cliched loony, Vaas. Even before the prologue is over you'll be struggling with who you hate more. The aforementioned cartoon villain, Vaas, or the nauseating protagonist and his 1-dimensional cast of apparently lab-grown wasters. actually, that's a lie. It's the latter. By a long way. This leaves you with an interesting motivational conundrum: It's hard to play as the 'hero' wanting to save all his poor friends, when you really want nothing more then to aid Vaas in helping him skin the lot of them and sell them back to their parents as designer handbags. But the game doesn't let you do this. So much for choice!
    And while we're on the subject of choice, don't expect it when it comes to the main story. If you're a stealth player expect the game to remove that option for you in favour of explosions and scripted set-pieces. This is particularly galling when so many of the environments are teeming with great ambush possibilities. But even action fans will be disappointed by how little of the environment is actually accessible due to the maddeningly awful and illogical jumping mechanics. Guns feel pretty weak and hit-detection is spotty. The much vaunted animals provide amusing ad lib moments, ruining your or your enemies plans, but quickly become tiresome, particularly as they appear virtually and comically indestructible. Bears and tigers will barely break stride when confronted by such inconveniences as 3 sniper rifle bullets to the face and animals as small as dogs will shrug off petty attacks like being run over by a 4x4. The save system is awful, and the whole island feels plasticky. If all you desire from a game is a huge map, loads of stuff to do (and by that I mean shoot and blow stuff up) and aren't particularly bothered how well it does it, or by how painfully, insultingly vacant the plot and characters are then I can guarantee you will love this game. I found one that constantly teased greatness,, only to waste a whole lot of design potential, to the point where it became an infuriating, vapid bore.
    Expand
  13. Dec 7, 2012
    6
    I am not enjoying this game at all. it is as dull as dishwater. there is no tension in the game. the big anoying shadow around the grsphics. the water looks very poor. for me this shows how out of date the current xbox is. the sound is terrible. the main badie is annoying and hamy. the side missions boring. attack one outpost and the map becomes easy. AAA it may be but i get noI am not enjoying this game at all. it is as dull as dishwater. there is no tension in the game. the big anoying shadow around the grsphics. the water looks very poor. for me this shows how out of date the current xbox is. the sound is terrible. the main badie is annoying and hamy. the side missions boring. attack one outpost and the map becomes easy. AAA it may be but i get no feeling/tension/feedback from the game. the original farcry is still the best by a country mile. i give this six. Expand
  14. Dec 7, 2012
    5
    Plastic paradise anyone? i ll keep this simple.. Graphically its a mess on the xbox 360 it haslow frame rates that make you dizzy, the environment has this sickly cheap plastic sheen, the water effects are appalling, in some parts the water looks more solid than land sometimes it doesnt even move! The whole game with the exception of taking out posts has a been there done that feel forPlastic paradise anyone? i ll keep this simple.. Graphically its a mess on the xbox 360 it haslow frame rates that make you dizzy, the environment has this sickly cheap plastic sheen, the water effects are appalling, in some parts the water looks more solid than land sometimes it doesnt even move! The whole game with the exception of taking out posts has a been there done that feel for example hunting, picking flowers, crafting etc etc..its dull dull dull d d d dull Driving physics in all vehicles are terrible, theres constant information popping up on screen an oddly placed mini map which you cant turn off.. i could go on and on and on and i havnt even got to the story
    In the end the bad far out way the good. Its a far cry from the only FAR CRY.
    This has just too many hallmarks of triple A mediocrity. something for the masses = Far cry 3.
    Expand
  15. Dec 14, 2012
    6
    WARNING, CRITICISM! If you like this game, do not read. FC2 was adult, realistic, promising. FC3 childish, simplistic. Game has very good stealth system for nonspecialized genre. And bow. Promising features from FC2 (no HUD, no teleporting, gun entropy, realistic look, ingame map, gun cases...) are gone. FC3 - now you can buy every weapon in every savehouse (WTF?), you have no legsWARNING, CRITICISM! If you like this game, do not read. FC2 was adult, realistic, promising. FC3 childish, simplistic. Game has very good stealth system for nonspecialized genre. And bow. Promising features from FC2 (no HUD, no teleporting, gun entropy, realistic look, ingame map, gun cases...) are gone. FC3 - now you can buy every weapon in every savehouse (WTF?), you have no legs (hoverhead), you can teleport, HUD, menu and map are UGLY and for nothing, minimap (oh Lord, I hate minimaps) is almost in centre of screen, your enemies are red, friends are blue (!)... How I can see in FPS through walls without shades or helmet? Fauna is TOO agressive, my enhanced health do not work without medicine, collectibles are shining, you can not holster... If you can evaluate FC2 (I know reception of FC2), game is like parody. I think this is excellent game for average audience. Like Skyrim. This industry listen to average, because average = max money. Hamburger culture... Et tu, Ubisoft? Expand
  16. Dec 4, 2012
    6
    Far Cry 3 is a game I coul'd wait for but when it came out it was quite disappointing. Graphics are ok but not adequate for a game in 2012 which calls itself "best game of the year". The story was ok and provides you also a lot of open world sandbox gameplay. You can (almost) everytime do what you want to do. Mapping is nicely dont except some border which are pretty annoying - you can'tFar Cry 3 is a game I coul'd wait for but when it came out it was quite disappointing. Graphics are ok but not adequate for a game in 2012 which calls itself "best game of the year". The story was ok and provides you also a lot of open world sandbox gameplay. You can (almost) everytime do what you want to do. Mapping is nicely dont except some border which are pretty annoying - you can't go over them so you have to jump (even if it's only a cm) -> alerts the enemies. The AI is not the best but they're ok. The singleplayer offered me about 10 hours individual gameplay (story) + a lot of additional time to explore, capture checkpoints, doing nice missions, unlocking perks. Rating for the singleplayer ~8/10
    The multiplayer is UNPLAYABLE!!! Matchmaking does not work, lobbys are bugged %95 and does not start the game. It's not only me - everybody is having these problems and it is a shame they released such a buggy product. When it works the multiplayer is quite laggy -> not really fun. They provided some unique features for example the "killcam" or the dicision if you as a winner execute or exempt the loser. But all in all it's just a ~2/10
    A few years ago it would have been a great game but in 2012 it lacks of quality - and it's a SHAME to release such a buggy game!
    Expand
  17. Jul 22, 2013
    7
    Okay people, lets ignore these Hyped-up-Fangame-Hippies" with their +10 joy ratings and REALLY give this game a review. With an author that's an actual critic, not someone who's played the game for 10 min.

    That being said, lets get down to business: Far Cry 3 pulls you in! Right away! The first 15 minutes of this game have been some of my most astonishing gaming experiences. Almost
    Okay people, lets ignore these Hyped-up-Fangame-Hippies" with their +10 joy ratings and REALLY give this game a review. With an author that's an actual critic, not someone who's played the game for 10 min.

    That being said, lets get down to business:

    Far Cry 3 pulls you in! Right away! The first 15 minutes of this game have been some of my most astonishing gaming experiences. Almost instantly you realize the situation you are in, and the things you have to do. Some things happen that are believable and feel legit. And that's exactly what's wrong with this game.

    I've spend a solid 20+ hours playing this game and the story line (though many people say is "good") I find to be quite...unrealistic. First of all..Jason Brody. Now, this guy is maybe an adrenaline junky not a stranger to racing cars, jumping out of planes and other things some of us might not do on a regular basis. So I guess the things he does in the game in forms of transportation are plausible. But he goes from being absolutely clueless about what to do, to an expert-stealth-bush-stalking-take-down-accurate-shooting-killing-machine almost overnight! This is no exaggeration.
    Using Knifes, Machine guns, Grenades, Rocket launchers, LMG's, Mines, C4, and not to mention shooting an bow and arrow without flaw.....this all becomes available to you in the first act of the game. If they really wanted to create a believable scenario in which someone grows from normal guy, into a fighter. There should have been some sort of builldup in the form of learning how to shoot and learning how to sneak up on people.

    The story itself is kind of this-and-that. Making you feel like you're doing what you're told rather then making your own decisions. And though I understand the game has to steer you in some direction as in regard to progress of the game. It would have been nice to have atleast been able to make some form of choice making. I did not feel any emotional attachment what so ever to my friends" You don't really know anything about them, untill you save them, and when you do, you just leave them somwehere in a safe area while you go back killing things. Sure, there is some dialogue....but even the woman portrayed as your girlfriend gives me this feel of annoyance and detachment. (well, I guess thats nothing new to some of you guys ;)

    THE GAMEPLAY:

    Like I said, you wield guns well. So you should'nt have any problems finding the gun that suits your particulair need. SIlent approach? Sure, just silence all your guns and stay out of sight.
    More of a rambo kinda guy? NO problem, just pick up that LMG, attach an ammo mod and you're good to go.

    If you really wanna give yourself a challange, I say go with the knife. This is by far the hardest approach. And also in someways advocated by the game. Since knife kills yield the most experience rewards. (Sometimes stacking up to X5 the normal exp for a kill)

    Jason's combat abilities, (if overlooked that he is just a normal kid) do feel good. He responds well. Moves around with ease, and going in and out of combat is quite easy thanks to all the jungle foliage.
    I guess it comes down to personal taste here. Myself? SIlenced sniper to get rid of the lookouts" then go in and clean up with the knife.

    THE MISSIONS:

    The whole game is riddled with little things to do. Hunt animals. Deliver Cargo. Look for a person. Look for ingredienets. Kill some bad guys. Etc etc...
    While the variety of side quests might be plentifull, fun to do and sometimes challanging. I couldn't help but think they where a waste of my time. Tedious repetition just to keep you busy from your main objective. Which is ...ow, I don`t know, trying to get the off a pirate invested island full of people who wanna kill ya?

    SUMMARY:

    The only thing really fun to go through, even with it's little implausible setting, is the main story. You'll end up wanting to know what happends, where it goes, and how it all ends. The bad part is, to fully enjoy the story line, you`ll need talent points and upgrades you`ll only get for actively spending time doing side tracking. Such as hunting, clearing outposts and crafting gear.

    I think that if you`d focus on the storyline. You could finish this game in less then 8 hours.
    Expand
  18. Dec 13, 2012
    6
    This game is a decent shooter, the weapons are satisfying to use and there is some intense shooting, there is option to an stealth aproach and is satisfying to cleanse an outpost of enemies without been seen. However, this game isn't Skyrim tropical island version, if you are expecting deep RPG mechanics and involving side quests you are going to be dissapointed. It is a game about a guyThis game is a decent shooter, the weapons are satisfying to use and there is some intense shooting, there is option to an stealth aproach and is satisfying to cleanse an outpost of enemies without been seen. However, this game isn't Skyrim tropical island version, if you are expecting deep RPG mechanics and involving side quests you are going to be dissapointed. It is a game about a guy with guns that shoot other guys with guns, outside the main storyline, you just kill alot of guys with red shirts for no real reason but only for your amusement, its a Call of Duty on a island, less scripted and with more options. If compared with Call of Duty, its a more complex game, but when compared with other open world games it's a little too shallow. Expand
  19. Feb 19, 2014
    6
    I like this game quite a bit but a huge downfall was the fact that you can't carry anything. I found the crafting to be boring and unnecessary. The open world feels isolated and empty in comparison to Just Cause 2. This is also one of those games where you can die just by jumping down a small ledge.
  20. Jan 17, 2013
    7
    Story, gameplay and associated mechanics are good, gunplay is very solid. It should have been a classic, however, I refuse to believe that these professional reviewers have touched the console versions to give it such high praise. The immersion is often ruined by the persistent screentearing and framerate drops. The XBOX is simply not capable of handling it properly. The environments don'tStory, gameplay and associated mechanics are good, gunplay is very solid. It should have been a classic, however, I refuse to believe that these professional reviewers have touched the console versions to give it such high praise. The immersion is often ruined by the persistent screentearing and framerate drops. The XBOX is simply not capable of handling it properly. The environments don't look polished enough either. A pity, as there's obviously a great game struggling to get out - get it on PC Expand
  21. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    Worth it or not I still deciding on that one. So far as graphics look, vegetation and dirt looks like crap fire and water look great so do skin textures the weapons look amazing and the mechanics are great. On a more negative note this game has been glitching/artifact really bad and if you don't check to see if you have all the download files in place it will crash and often. This game isWorth it or not I still deciding on that one. So far as graphics look, vegetation and dirt looks like crap fire and water look great so do skin textures the weapons look amazing and the mechanics are great. On a more negative note this game has been glitching/artifact really bad and if you don't check to see if you have all the download files in place it will crash and often. This game is a 9/10 but with the **** and poor support for fixing it I'm giving it a 7/10 Expand
  22. Jan 6, 2014
    6
    Positives: Good production value, loved the open world aspect, variety of weapons and tools.

    Negatives: Excessively repetitive, graphics for most secondary NPCs and textures were very sub par, main voice actor was not very strong. If you play games to get achievements then Far Cry 3 is your game....lots of hide and go seek achievements: find these relics (they all look the same),
    Positives: Good production value, loved the open world aspect, variety of weapons and tools.

    Negatives: Excessively repetitive, graphics for most secondary NPCs and textures were very sub par, main voice actor was not very strong.

    If you play games to get achievements then Far Cry 3 is your game....lots of hide and go seek achievements: find these relics (they all look the same), find these memory cards, kill this animal, kill this person (they all look the same), take over this base (it looks just like the last base you took over), unlock these weapons we stole from Call of Duty, etc, etc. The game got very boring to me other than 3 or 4 really fun sequences in the main story in between hours of doing the same thing over and over and over.

    I was really hoping for a better game based on the reviews. However, I like games with good story telling and more variety and this game simple didn't have enough of that to justify a better score...however it did hold enough of my interest to play it until the end, which obviously means I still enjoyed it to some degree.
    Expand
  23. Dec 21, 2012
    7
    Far cry 3 drops you into a beautiful open world full of wildlife, pirates, and mercenaries. the game is very colorful and you will find yourself lost looking at the beauty of the game, under the ocean, on a cliffside and on sandy beaches. the single player was pretty well don, offering around 20 hours of gameplay it is short, but if you go collecting the collectibles and doing the sideFar cry 3 drops you into a beautiful open world full of wildlife, pirates, and mercenaries. the game is very colorful and you will find yourself lost looking at the beauty of the game, under the ocean, on a cliffside and on sandy beaches. the single player was pretty well don, offering around 20 hours of gameplay it is short, but if you go collecting the collectibles and doing the side mission it can extend a bit longer.

    where the single player is so good, the rest of the game lacks, which is sad because the multiplayer in the game is some of the best this gen, simple and elegant the vs mode puts 2 teams vs each other in one of a few game modes including team deathmatch, transmission ( sort of like headquarters) domination, and a mode called firestorm.
    the multiplayer is pretty simple, there is a form of killsteaks that hark back to the COD4 days, there is nothing extraordinarily powerful and things like "scouts" don't last very long the best part about the streaks in this game is you don't lose it when u die. Camping has been a minimum since I got the game.

    now for the issues with the game. lets start with the obvious, bugs in single player are game breaking. unlike most games, you cannot save in more then 1 file, so if your file gets a bug no reloading to last save, some bugs include the inability to use your camera ( can't progress in the game). The multiplayer matchmaking is CRAP, there is no party system, it's hard to play with friends. it's frustrating that in this day in age a game is released without a way to play with friends easily.

    map editor- the map editor was the sole reason farcry 2 was worth it, player made maps were amazing and better then the developer made maps...the map editor in farcry 3 no longer allows vehicles, ammo, or AI. there used to be race maps and many other kind of maps in far cry 2, but they are now impossible.

    co-op, it's an ok mode but not free roam at all, the only real complaint is that it isn't as good as it should have been...

    if ubisoft fixes the multiplayer and map editor this game would be amazing.... but sadly, the best features of the series are not present in the newest game
    that said, far cry 3 is the best shooter this year..
    Expand
  24. Feb 25, 2013
    7
    Far Cry 3 came as quite surprise to me. I wasn't sure what to expect seeing as each of the games are not very connectable from their story lines and I didn't watch any gameplay prior to buying the game. However the words "Its like Fallout, except in the jungle" shattered any anticipation for what was to come. The story of a man turning almost to insanity as he tries to save his friendsFar Cry 3 came as quite surprise to me. I wasn't sure what to expect seeing as each of the games are not very connectable from their story lines and I didn't watch any gameplay prior to buying the game. However the words "Its like Fallout, except in the jungle" shattered any anticipation for what was to come. The story of a man turning almost to insanity as he tries to save his friends from captivity on an island full of maniac pirates seems like an idea that would interesting a film where all attention could be focused on the characters. Though in the form of a game, the story is quite boring and felt like it dragged on but it certainly wasn't bad. Many people will probably enjoy as it suprisingly has much depth. The gameplay makes the game which in itself is a good sign seeing as the presentation seems to overshadow it at first glance. The shooting mechanics are fun and theres a variety of upgrades to suit.The combat situations are interesting and the game allows you to choose how you go about fighting. Story missions are more to guide you through mechanics in the game and further the story as doing your own thing in the sandbox area is where most of the fun comes from. At the same time, the island may look nice to look at, there isn't much actually out there. The presentation is beautiful. The island is wondrous to see, and there are many gorgeous set pieces. It even has a sort of slight cell shade style added to give it an extra gleam and not to mention, the facial animations are great. Overall Far Cry 3 was a great game which was really fun and interesting while also not submitting to modern shooter game cliches. However it failed to keep me interested the whole time and at times it felt like a skip button should've been added as I had no interest in the storyline at all. This game was quite the surprise from EA so if you assumed it was another washed up fps then I advise you look again. Expand
  25. Jan 31, 2013
    7
    Great game. It has some drawbacks though. The menu UI is not user friendly enough. The amount of bugs I've encountered have cost me a few hours of gameplay to have to be repeated. There is way to much busywork and not enough story. The co-op is fun and mp is adequate. Graphically and physxs are spot on what is right with this game.
  26. Jul 20, 2013
    7
    I enjoyed Far Cry 3. It isn't a classic but generally, a decent and fun game. The story was the game's main strong point offering a well thought out and gripping story line in which Jason Brody takes on the quest of rescuing his friends from a pirate-style militia. Some of the characters such as the main antagonist, Vaas, were very interesting, indeed, and added to enthralling story. II enjoyed Far Cry 3. It isn't a classic but generally, a decent and fun game. The story was the game's main strong point offering a well thought out and gripping story line in which Jason Brody takes on the quest of rescuing his friends from a pirate-style militia. Some of the characters such as the main antagonist, Vaas, were very interesting, indeed, and added to enthralling story. I particularly liked the hunting aspects of the game and the weapon system in the game which has you spending the money you earn in the massive world on different weapons and attachments. One thing I found to be a little tedious in Far Cry 3 was the same environment throughout the entire game, I did start to long for some different scenery. Also, a lot of the quests seemed quite samey and unoriginal at times, but overall, Far Cry 3 is a good game and definitely worth playing. Expand
  27. Apr 24, 2013
    5
    Never have i been more bored in my life while playing a game. Far Cry 3's story is alright at best with good villians and allies. Jason on the other hand just sounds annoying and i just didn't like him. Gameplay is unforgiving if you even show your shoulder to any bad guy as the will gun you down like the scene in robo cop (see robo cop to know what I'm talking about) and it wasn't funNever have i been more bored in my life while playing a game. Far Cry 3's story is alright at best with good villians and allies. Jason on the other hand just sounds annoying and i just didn't like him. Gameplay is unforgiving if you even show your shoulder to any bad guy as the will gun you down like the scene in robo cop (see robo cop to know what I'm talking about) and it wasn't fun Graphics for the xbox are not very good. I would play it on PC. Hunting is rewarding but BORING i spent at least 6 hours looking for animals just so i would get a better ammo pouch or other items. Rook Island is a nice place to explore all of itself and I recommend it. Let's end with this, Far Cry 2 had it's share of problems but it it better then this average sandbox tiger em up Expand
  28. Dec 12, 2012
    7
    Pros: Great story line, lots of side missions, big map to roam
    Cons: Tearing in graphics, horrible driving mechanics, to much crafing/herbing required, main story is too short, enemies too easy to kill. With all the cons of this title i still enjoyed it very much. Side missions make up the bulk of this game. hunting,crafting,herbing is dreadful and made to keep you busy. I skipped
    Pros: Great story line, lots of side missions, big map to roam
    Cons: Tearing in graphics, horrible driving mechanics, to much crafing/herbing required, main story is too short, enemies too easy to kill. With all the cons of this title i still enjoyed it very much. Side missions make up the bulk of this game. hunting,crafting,herbing is dreadful and made to keep you busy. I skipped hunting,herbing,crafting and just played the game with one weapon at a time and was still very easy to beat missions.
    Expand
  29. Dec 6, 2012
    7
    Really, the single player element of this game is top notch. This game contains everything from your level progression and gaining fun new abilities to racing, and not to mention it's got a pretty solid shooter mechanic going for it. The biggest problem I've run into is in its actually-very-awesome multi-player. The lobby system is junk, so don't expect to play with your friend's party. IfReally, the single player element of this game is top notch. This game contains everything from your level progression and gaining fun new abilities to racing, and not to mention it's got a pretty solid shooter mechanic going for it. The biggest problem I've run into is in its actually-very-awesome multi-player. The lobby system is junk, so don't expect to play with your friend's party. If that wasn't bad enough, you will rarely find a game where you're starting with more than the bare minimum. So, overall, the game is awesome - and the multiplayer doesn't ruin that experience, but this could be GOTY material if the multiplayer lobby would have what should be one of the key details for any multiplayer game in this day and age. Expand
  30. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    A really great game. Beautiful visuals, fun combat mechanics, a huge map to explore, interesting and very detailed characters. BUT, all the beauty aside, it is nothing more than a collection of fetch quests and scavenger hunting. Once the novelty wears off you realize just how repetitive it is. Overall: a great game that could have used a bit more variety in activities, when consideringA really great game. Beautiful visuals, fun combat mechanics, a huge map to explore, interesting and very detailed characters. BUT, all the beauty aside, it is nothing more than a collection of fetch quests and scavenger hunting. Once the novelty wears off you realize just how repetitive it is. Overall: a great game that could have used a bit more variety in activities, when considering how big the map is. Expand
  31. bwp
    Feb 20, 2013
    6
    I really, really liked this towards the beginning of the game but now that I'm almost finished can say it is more than a bit overrated. The first thing I thought when I started playing is that the graphics are not as good or detailed as Far Cry 2 (and the foliage and environment does not respond to your character's movements the way it does in FC2), which is odd since that game is 4 yearsI really, really liked this towards the beginning of the game but now that I'm almost finished can say it is more than a bit overrated. The first thing I thought when I started playing is that the graphics are not as good or detailed as Far Cry 2 (and the foliage and environment does not respond to your character's movements the way it does in FC2), which is odd since that game is 4 years older than this one. It is too contrasty and has a fake sheen to it, numerous framerate and draw glitches, and could generally use a lot more polish. However, the world is incredibly well designed and fun to traverse, and the way they laid it out is a big improvement over FC2. Unfortunately, the ENTIRE game looks and feels the same there is very little variation in look and feel across the (undeniably huge) gamespace which adds a sense of dullness to exploring new areas since anything new looks like everything you've already seen (and there is little to no variation in weather, and when it becomes night it only lasts 5 minutes before becoming daylight!). So much of the continuing appeal of a game is about exploring the environment and maintaining a feeling of 'newness' as you progress through a game, and visually this game is simply too static.

    The missions are a lot of fun at first, but I started to realize they too were very repetitive and there was very little variation (especially towards the end, when it becomes only shooting, whereas the first part has much more exploring and 'adventuring'). I'm picky about FPS games I tend to like games where you have a large area to spread out and strategize a plan of attack. With pretty much every fight here you are trapped in very confining spaces and just bombarded by enemies, which in addition to being dull is also frustrating. The story is OK at best; the characters, with one or two exceptions, are also fairly dull and one-dimensional, the voice of the 'hero' is wimpy and meek even towards the end of the game (when he has supposedly become a fearless warrior!) The interface is pretty easy, but the game bombards you with so much information about gameplay in the very beginning that it makes it seem much more confusing and complicated than it actually is, which is just bad design. Speaking of design, the look of the text and visual design of the menu screens is straight out of 1995 it's not terrible, just very dated. This could have been a great game had they injected more variety into the mission layouts and visual design of the island Unfortunately, by about halfway through I know exactly what to expect from the rest of the game, and indeed that is exactly what I got.
    Expand
  32. Apr 18, 2013
    5
    A good fun to play first person shooter here with RPG elements. Unfortunately let down by a lacklustre story which feels disjointed that had a lot of potential.
    Great graphics and some good voice acting with one of the best bad guys in recent games. "Vaas" command the screen when he is on it and is great fun to watch. The same can't be said for the rest of the cast and even the main
    A good fun to play first person shooter here with RPG elements. Unfortunately let down by a lacklustre story which feels disjointed that had a lot of potential.
    Great graphics and some good voice acting with one of the best bad guys in recent games. "Vaas" command the screen when he is on it and is great fun to watch. The same can't be said for the rest of the cast and even the main character who it's is really hard to connect with yet care about.
    There is a lot of fun to be had here but you will find yourself getting bored by the repetitive missions. Capturing the same looking base go the tenth time or climbing some annoying radio tower is just a few examples.
    Well worth a try. But certainly not due the high praise credited by a lot of critics.
    Expand
  33. May 4, 2013
    6
    Ubisoft certainly took on board many complaints from Far Cry 2 when making this sequel. The only problem is that they listened to the wrong people.

    Far Cry 3 is a FPS that tried to please all the casual gamers who complained about the difficulty and seriousness of it's outstanding predecessor Far Cry 2. And as a result it has traded it's amazing visuals in for larger and fuller World
    Ubisoft certainly took on board many complaints from Far Cry 2 when making this sequel. The only problem is that they listened to the wrong people.

    Far Cry 3 is a FPS that tried to please all the casual gamers who complained about the difficulty and seriousness of it's outstanding predecessor Far Cry 2. And as a result it has traded it's amazing visuals in for larger and fuller World size and the serious and mature survivor attitude for pure, far-fetched and mindless fun.

    You play as Jason Brody, a privileged, middle-child brat from L.A who is kidnapped along with his brothers and friends while travelling around Asia. You manage to escape with your older brother (who would have made a much more believable main character) and begin a search for the rest of your party. Along the way your blind luck gets you inducted into a local tribe (all of whom somehow have New Zealand accents) and you're taught the 'way of the warrior' which basically means your arm gets tattooed and all of a sudden you are a battle hardened killing machine who can clear heavily armed, militia infested camps with ease all by yourself.

    You are then turned loose to explore and hunt various herbivorous and carnivorous wildlife to craft carry bags and avoiding or killing psychopathic, smuggling humans freely in any part of the expansive islands using Tenchu-like stealth kills (which I must admit was an excellent addition) or all out Rambo heroics.

    Sounds like a dream come true right? However you do this in repetitive and texture-less 'jungles' which are actually quite sparse of foliage and resemble NOTHING of the first screen shots and footage we were shown of the game.
    There are also many technical bugs like waterways that do not register as such, floating plants, holes in the map, poorly recorded NPC voices and more screen tearing issues than anything you've likely seen before in any game ever. (A simple slow-pan of the main friendly village shows what a stuttery mess of a game it is).

    Oh and did I mention you keep dislocating your thumb? Even if you get shot in the face?

    BUT if the issues I mentioned do not bother you in the slightest then Far Cry 3 is an effective and fun Open World hunting game laced with a far fetched story of rescue and revenge and sporting a very memorable villain by the name of Vaas.
    Fans of Far Cry 2 will be disappointed though.
    Expand
  34. May 15, 2013
    7
    Short answer: This is a fun game, and will become more fun as more people buy it and begin to play online.

    Long Answer: There are a few negatives. The biggest thing is they tried to copy COD (understandable) in a few areas, such as the dogs jumping on you and etc. IMO, I came to this game to get away from COD. You can still knife people through gunfire in this game which is a big
    Short answer: This is a fun game, and will become more fun as more people buy it and begin to play online.

    Long Answer: There are a few negatives. The biggest thing is they tried to copy COD (understandable) in a few areas, such as the dogs jumping on you and etc. IMO, I came to this game to get away from COD. You can still knife people through gunfire in this game which is a big reason people get angry at the other shooters. Another downside is the lack of multiplayer games and game-types; it is easy to get bored with the small maps and even smaller teams. The killcam is excessive and horrible, and the final cutscenes when you lose a map make you want to rage-quit (it's bad enough that new players have to try and level up against people who have all unlocks). Finally, the damage is so unrealistic, and this is coming from someone who plays COD and BF. STK in this game is excessively high.
    Expand
  35. May 15, 2013
    7
    Far cry 3 is a really good game not great but good. There is a ton of stuff to do in side missions and exploration. The main story itself starts off really slow in my opinion but picks up and becomes enjoyable. However after what seems to be the end of the game turns into a convoluted grasping at staws how to we end this story. All that being said Far cry 3 is a fun game and it gives you aFar cry 3 is a really good game not great but good. There is a ton of stuff to do in side missions and exploration. The main story itself starts off really slow in my opinion but picks up and becomes enjoyable. However after what seems to be the end of the game turns into a convoluted grasping at staws how to we end this story. All that being said Far cry 3 is a fun game and it gives you a lot to do. Just do not expect a satisfying resolution to the end game. Expand
  36. May 24, 2014
    7
    Far Cry 3 is like a bag of those chemically over saturated sweets that come in many different shapes and sizes but ultimately all taste the same. The experience is satisfying but after the deeds are done, there is little to go back to, especially since the main quest tree is so short that you are better off carrying out side missions in tandem with the story.

    The voice acting is strong
    Far Cry 3 is like a bag of those chemically over saturated sweets that come in many different shapes and sizes but ultimately all taste the same. The experience is satisfying but after the deeds are done, there is little to go back to, especially since the main quest tree is so short that you are better off carrying out side missions in tandem with the story.

    The voice acting is strong but the plot and especially the script are terrible. The characters are all caricatures and the protagonist is definitely not someone you can sympathize with. Whiny and always overreacting. Admittedly Jason Brody is up creek and I would definitely have emptied my bowels countless times, were I in the same position. Brody is sadly insfufferable. Perhaps it was a conscious decision for the emotional scope to be so on-the-nose but above all the plot is centred around the dehumanisation of the protagonist... That's serious b! Sadly, you might as well have had high school drama students try and re-enact The Pianist. This is a big deal since FC3 is not Serious Sam. It's not a random guy who goes and pillages space-monkeys but a fragile boy who turns into a ruthless beast. The plot is supposedly central and is meant to grip you, yet it merely gropes you and hides.

    Most importantly the shooting mechanics are solid and naturally the source of all things fun. The game is EXTREMELY easy even on the hardest difficulty and beyond. You can hunt animals too RD: Redemption style although I always felt guilty killing the bears and big cats.

    Far Cry 2 is a bad apple for many players but it's odd qualities made it challenging and above all made you think about how you were going to survive. FC3 bears no resemblance to FC2 whatsoever but it would have been nice to see some of the nihilistic and unsettling atmosphere of FC2 back around in this release.

    The murdering is great fun, the world is big and bright but upon completion it felt like wasted time.
    Expand
  37. Sep 16, 2013
    6
    A mediocre addition to the Far Cry series. It lacks the simplicity, intensity and rawness of the previous two games. It also lacks the maturity of Far Cry 2. In further comparison to FC2 the damage physics are not as realistic, the weather effects are minimal, the AI are significantly dumber, the day/night cycle is not convincing, and the setting is unoriginal (basically Far Cry 1 withA mediocre addition to the Far Cry series. It lacks the simplicity, intensity and rawness of the previous two games. It also lacks the maturity of Far Cry 2. In further comparison to FC2 the damage physics are not as realistic, the weather effects are minimal, the AI are significantly dumber, the day/night cycle is not convincing, and the setting is unoriginal (basically Far Cry 1 with better polish). To me Far Cry 3 was designed to please those people who play whatever fps is trending at the moment rather than true fans of the Far Cry series. As such the game is destined to be remembered for two things only, occasional animal attacks and Vaas. The rest is forgettable. It is too superficial and too easy. I also don't like playing a spoiled and dumb frat-boy in my shooters. Expand
  38. Jan 15, 2014
    5
    The story is unique. It includes survival and action/adventure. However, I just wish there were more story missions. There's lots of things to do. I got tired of Far Cry 3 one time. Coop is terrible because it seems like I could never get to the last mission. People kept quitting the game and then I had to start over. I'm not complaining. Vaas is the main character because Rook Island isThe story is unique. It includes survival and action/adventure. However, I just wish there were more story missions. There's lots of things to do. I got tired of Far Cry 3 one time. Coop is terrible because it seems like I could never get to the last mission. People kept quitting the game and then I had to start over. I'm not complaining. Vaas is the main character because Rook Island is his home, and it shows Vaas on the front cover. Overall, Far Cry 3 is average. Expand
  39. Jan 2, 2013
    0
    A fantastic open world FPS set on a tropical island with some decent RPG elements. What more could people want ...... wait there's more. You can punch sharks in the face!....... This time we do not need a bigger boat (see what I did there).

    The graphics on this game are beautiful some of the best I've seen on console, heck they might even rival those seen in GTA 4 and Crysis 2. The
    A fantastic open world FPS set on a tropical island with some decent RPG elements. What more could people want ...... wait there's more. You can punch sharks in the face!....... This time we do not need a bigger boat (see what I did there).

    The graphics on this game are beautiful some of the best I've seen on console, heck they might even rival those seen in GTA 4 and Crysis 2. The animals, trees and setting things on fire is pretty decent. Gameplay wise it's your standard first person shooter/RPG but it's actually fun (Unlike some other shooters .... yes you know who you are!). I really love setting things on fire, but the recent update has broken the fire spread .... seriously I used to be able to cause massive forest fires and now I can only set a small patch of grass on fire.

    Audio wise ..... main characters are fine but enemies sound very poor, like they were recorded back in the early 90's.

    Also after you complete the game, there is no New Game+ mode which also hampered the score a little bit. If/when they solve some of the issues then this game would get a 10 from me. Far Cry 3 is the only game where you can do stupid **** and get away with it. PARENTS! Do not let your kids play this game there are a few ........ adult (and very nice) scenes in the game.
    Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3 reaches for greatness, but falls short at merely being really fun. It has a few hiccups here and there and the story is very thin, but the exploration and combat really shine. It's a worthy addition to any collection.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Almost everything about Far Cry 3 speaks to the game’s skilled, confident and tightly interwoven design, and players are free to seek their specific flavour of gratification and victory as Jason becomes the most dangerous animal on the island.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The freeform combat, gorgeous locations, and excellent multiplayer are strong, and Far Cry 3 does a fantastic job of putting the player in the middle of a lawless, chaotic world and letting them get up to whatever they please. Yes, video games are capable of achieving much more than Far Cry 3 does, but it makes a persuasive argument that there's nothing wrong with a guilty pleasure now and again—especially when it's as slickly presented as this is.