User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1126 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    The thing I found most crazy about this game was that it wasn't even on my radar as being even a semi interesting game until a week before it came out. I remember seeing it during E3 and maybe Gamescom and it showing poorly; subjective of course, but the topless woman seen mixed with Ubisoft's MC did it no favors. So that compounded with an hour long crap experience with Far Cry 2 I hadThe thing I found most crazy about this game was that it wasn't even on my radar as being even a semi interesting game until a week before it came out. I remember seeing it during E3 and maybe Gamescom and it showing poorly; subjective of course, but the topless woman seen mixed with Ubisoft's MC did it no favors. So that compounded with an hour long crap experience with Far Cry 2 I had written this one off. Well Giant Bomb had a quick look and I figured that wouldn't hurt and within about 10 minutes I was convinced that I would like this game. So, two days after it comes out I decide I need to have it and pop it in and get going. I remember being totally lost in the first few minutes of 2 and wasn't sure how I was going to tackle this new one. Luckily it sort of eases you into the open island and gives you the basic knowledge of survival (read: crafting). So after about two to three hours I feel like I am blowing through it way to quick and having too much fun and decide I need to pace myself. I found myself thinking about the game while I wasn't playing. Thoughts such as "What things do I need to do next, get materials for crafting? What do I want to craft next? Should I continue with the story or go get more radio towers? What skills should I invest in?". It was wild that I cared this much about a game outside of playing it and then it dawned on me that the last time this happened was Skyrim. I've been somewhat disappointed since Skyrim that nothing has really grabbed me as well and tricked me into throwing 86 hours of my life into it over the course of 4 weeks. Well, Far Cry 3 came to the rescue and scratched that itch. I always liked the aura of Skyrim but never was really motivated to go find cool site seeing locations. With Far Cry 3 I was always wanting to see what was on the other side of the hill and see how far I could see and generally just view this paradise that I was tromping through. The best part was definitely the exploring and being able to scale massive mountains, hang glide [spoiler] wingsuit [/spoiler] for what felt like miles was totally exhilarating. One bit I was surprised by was the driving. They tackled that aspect extremely well so that it doesn't feel like a clunky part of the game you want to avoid and compromise with walking. Jumping in a jeep and bouncing around as you roared through the jungle dodging trees and aiming for enemies felt exactly like I would have imagined it. So that was the upside of Far Cry 3, but unfortunately there were some downsides too. Remember how I was hooked? Well that continued through the first half of the game and a little bit into the second half but eventually the story slows down and doesn't feel as irrational as some of the missions in the first half. There was also a skills tree which I hardly used at all and felt it had little effect on my play through. It was only towards that end that I realized I had all these upgrades available to me and with them I didn't feel like I could accomplish anything more efficiently. While some may argue that certain characters were weak in this game (especially the main) I found it also had some great characters: Vaas and Sam Becker being my favorites. I don't really know who the right crowd for this game is as I didn't think it was myself going in, but I can say I got my brother who normally has zero interest in games to play it and beat it before me. So my recommendation is that if you are interested in the slightest bit, you need to sit down and play 2-3 hours and you will understand what I am talking about. Expand
  2. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    Best game in the series !! What a surprise ! I couldnt stop playing this game . I am an assasins creed fan and the similarities between these two game is unreal but it works and it realy is brilliant . Biggest surprise of 2012 and most overlooked !
  3. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    This game is fantastic, with a top notch story, over the top surreal characters that are also enhance with a superb voice casting. With a beautiful landscape and abundance of wildlife you really feel that, you in a vast, wild, untamed land with unexpected encounters. The quests can be rather monotonous at times especially with picking up and delivering items but that being said it isThis game is fantastic, with a top notch story, over the top surreal characters that are also enhance with a superb voice casting. With a beautiful landscape and abundance of wildlife you really feel that, you in a vast, wild, untamed land with unexpected encounters. The quests can be rather monotonous at times especially with picking up and delivering items but that being said it is worth a buy. Oh and the mutliplayer and Co op is also excellent. Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the biggest and best surprises of 2012, an amazing game with nearly every aspect of the game being near perfection . The game play is great on PC (the driving and combat was great , but the cover system could be improved )the story is great but i would have liked if some characters got a bit more depth (such as Liza ;) )The graphics are also amazing, there were many things that surprised me such as crocs in the river, i love this amount of depth in a open world game. There are also many objectives none of which seem boring or tacked on.Some other things that could be improved upon would be the repetition at the start of the game i.e. constantly having to sneak around is boring and annoying why does a silenced scorpion alert guards wtf?, the heal animations. Also loved how there was player choice in the ending but it want really reflects as much through out the game. Ubisoft's best game of 2012 /in quite a while and possible one of THE best of 2012. Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed playing through this game. While the story was weak it was presented so well I didn't care.
    My gripes were all small ones, such as the sliding hills, slow response to the heal button at times, tiny things like that.
  6. Jan 9, 2013
    9
    As I started the game of Far Cry 3, I had no idea what to expect. I have not played any of the other games of the series, but this game definitely caught my attention with how stunning it looked. So once I popped it in, I was instantly hooked, it's like something how I wanted Dead Island more to be like. The gameplay is simple and easy to maneuver, the frame rate could be better but soAs I started the game of Far Cry 3, I had no idea what to expect. I have not played any of the other games of the series, but this game definitely caught my attention with how stunning it looked. So once I popped it in, I was instantly hooked, it's like something how I wanted Dead Island more to be like. The gameplay is simple and easy to maneuver, the frame rate could be better but so many things are going on, it's withstandable, graphics to die for, glitches minimal and could be fixed with one easy patch once their all pointed out. And I just love how it almost never breaks out of first person perspective, making everything just feel so interactive. This has brought back hope for FPS's for me, and hopefully for many others. After you're done with this game, no matter which ending you choose...you'll be taught the definition of insanity. Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    Nearly perfect. While a few quests can be a bit samey and some of the side quests seem really pointless, the rest of the game is excellent. Has a great story with excellent characters and a bit of a disturbing look into the what can happen to someone's mind under the right circumstances.
  8. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    Usually G4TV's reviews feel almost like they were paid off by the company, but they are so spot on it's sick. This game is incredible. That's the only word that can describe it. The most captivating game I've ever played. I loved Far Cry 1 and 2, but this is a game you get your money's worth 10 fold. Don't think twice about it... besides possibly Bioshock and Watch Dogs, game of the year.
  9. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    Far Cry 3 is one of the best games of 2012, ill go as far as saying one of the best games this gen in certain areas. You play as Jason Brody, a spoiled rich kid from America who is off partying with his brothers Grant and Riley plus all your friends when you are kidnapped by pirate slavers on the beautiful Rook Island. In an attempt to escape, Grant is shot and killed by the pirates leaderFar Cry 3 is one of the best games of 2012, ill go as far as saying one of the best games this gen in certain areas. You play as Jason Brody, a spoiled rich kid from America who is off partying with his brothers Grant and Riley plus all your friends when you are kidnapped by pirate slavers on the beautiful Rook Island. In an attempt to escape, Grant is shot and killed by the pirates leader Vaas Montenegro and you are left stranded on the island. With the help of the local tribe, The Rakyat and some others willing to stab Vaas and his boss Hoyt in the back and take back the island you embark on a 40+ hour journey of off the rails action as your mind slowly succumbs to insanity.
    You are given a massive playground with the north and south sections of Rook Island with no loading times, hundreds of side missions & activities and a gripping main storyline alongside a robust skills & weapon upgrade system.
    Far Cry 3 is easily one of the best sandbox titles this decade, one of the best shooters and has an excellent but dark and twisted story that isn't afraid to show you what others wouldn't, a must play.
    Expand
  10. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Having never played a Far Cry game before, I decided to try this one, not expecting to be as blown away as I was. Far cry 3 is no doubt one of the best games I've played in years. The graphics are stunning and the visual animations are fantastic. The sound effects are also varied and very realistic. The huge far cry world is completely immersive, and when paired with an intense story line,Having never played a Far Cry game before, I decided to try this one, not expecting to be as blown away as I was. Far cry 3 is no doubt one of the best games I've played in years. The graphics are stunning and the visual animations are fantastic. The sound effects are also varied and very realistic. The huge far cry world is completely immersive, and when paired with an intense story line, creates an unmissable experience. Expand
  11. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    I admit, I am a fan of the African Savannah and of civil war, weapons dealers, and blood diamonds. So when I heard Far Cry was going back to the tropics, I was a little skeptical. Far Cry 3 turned out to be a big step up from its predecessor (not including the general increase in visual quality that most sequels receive). While Far Cry 2 was focused more on the realism and survival aspect,I admit, I am a fan of the African Savannah and of civil war, weapons dealers, and blood diamonds. So when I heard Far Cry was going back to the tropics, I was a little skeptical. Far Cry 3 turned out to be a big step up from its predecessor (not including the general increase in visual quality that most sequels receive). While Far Cry 2 was focused more on the realism and survival aspect, Far Cry 3 provides us with a world just about as beautiful as it is massive. With radio towers, exploration not only is a tourist attraction, it's an objective. Honestly, I will always miss carrying around my GPS and map, searching for blood diamonds, and taking malaria pills (perhaps not that last one), Far Cry 3 provides a more convenient atmosphere more geared towards a thrilling experience. And, a little tangent: Vaas is fricken' awesome. Expand
  12. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is awesome, and in my opinion easily game of the year. There is so much to do in this game, so ill start with the singleplayer. You are Jason Brody, an over privileged kid, when you and your friends are captured by crazy, slave trading pirates you have to escape and find a way to rescue your friends and escape the island. The story is excellent with Vaas being one of the bestFar Cry 3 is awesome, and in my opinion easily game of the year. There is so much to do in this game, so ill start with the singleplayer. You are Jason Brody, an over privileged kid, when you and your friends are captured by crazy, slave trading pirates you have to escape and find a way to rescue your friends and escape the island. The story is excellent with Vaas being one of the best video game villains in recent memory. That's not to say it doesn't have its shortcomings, at time the narrative can become a bit cliche, and slow, but that is my only gripe. apart from the main quest there are radio towers, which once climbed reveal areas of the map, grant you free weapons and reveal all the enemies forts in the area. Once you clear an enemy fort, you gain access to side missions in that region, as well as a fast travel point. This is a great system where one thing leads to another and you can easily waste hours just screwing around. on top of that there is hunting, which is very fun to do, you have animals ranging from tapirs to tigers, deer to crocodiles and even sharks! Hunting also has a purpose as you hunt for animal skins to upgrade your equipment, like your rucksack, wallet and weapon holster. The open world is a large, beautiful, tropical island, filled with ruins caves and wildlife, the gameplay is solid, and takes a page out of RPG's where as you level up you can spend skill points to further customize your play style, my only problem with this is that it is possible to get every skill, i wish it was a little more specialized so if i wanted to be a ninja, i would have to play like one. Overall the single player is not one to be missed and easily the best experience of the year. Muliplayer however, while not fantastic is not bad. It is a typical FPS style multiplayer, build a class, unlock as you progress etc. My favourite game mode was firestorm, where you have to simultaneously ignite your oppositions barrels. Fire then spreads throughout the map cutting off certain routes. It is a fun and interesting game mode to play, and i recommend you give it a go. Then there is even Coop, which is fun and takes place 6 months prior to the singleplayer. Overall the Coop is a solid addition, which can be a bit tedious if you have less than 3 players. Then you have the map editor, which is awesome, the options are extremely robust, and you can create almost anything you can imagine. My only gripe being the controls being a little difficult at times to use. (But that's consoles for ya!). Overall Far Cry is an amazing game, i couldn't give it more praise, a few hiccups sadly prevent me from giving it the 10, but however this is easily the best game released this year, and i recommend it to anyone and everyone. Expand
  13. Jan 1, 2013
    9
    A simply brilliant game. Fantastic shooting, good graphics and an enjoyable story. The co-op mode is good fun too, the best compliment I can give this game is that it is fun to play and does not become a chore at any point. A big improvement on Far Cry 2.
  14. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    A truly excellent game. I like RPGs but for me they are sometimes too daunting. For example, Fallout and Skyrim are great games but there is such a vast amount to do it is off-putting. Far Cry 3 has found the perfect balance, offering a challenge yet not overwhelming the gamer with too much to do, not knowing where to start. The missions offer great variety and are cinematic andA truly excellent game. I like RPGs but for me they are sometimes too daunting. For example, Fallout and Skyrim are great games but there is such a vast amount to do it is off-putting. Far Cry 3 has found the perfect balance, offering a challenge yet not overwhelming the gamer with too much to do, not knowing where to start. The missions offer great variety and are cinematic and exciting. The side missions are slightly repetitive but this is compensated for by the various approaches available to tackle a mission, for example go all out guns blazing or go for stealth. Overall, Far Cry 3 doesn't take itself too seriously and puts fun back into RPGs. Expand
  15. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Far Cry 3 happens to be one of my favourite games of 2012. The game combines the best aspects of its sequels whilst adding more creating an epic and imaginative world for you to roam around in and explore. The campaign has a dark and twisted storyline that keeps you coming back for more and additionally creating a very atmospheric scenario for the player.
  16. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game was a splendid experience. The gameplay is fun and immersive, everything can be going right while you're setting some wild pig on fire, then out of nowhere a lion is mauling you in the face, and some pirates decide to throw bullets and an rpg-7 at you. The locale and graphics are stunning, enough to keep you simply looking around for hours, much like Skyrim.

    This game would be worth a 10 if the story didn't fall flat on it's face after a certain event. Play it and you'll know what I mean.
    Expand
  17. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The allure of Far Cry has always been the open-ended tactical choices available during each encounter, and the variety of ways you could take down targets. With dynamic variables like aggressive wildlife and roaming pirates, your stealth and aggro options open up more than ever. Expand
  18. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    First off this game is perfect, now that I have said that, I would like to say I did not like Far Cry 2, the main problem was the malaria, breakable weapons and all around boring to the core, well with this game they have not just fixed these problems but added a lot of great things to it. The first thing I would like to talk about the game is the hunting mechanics because this is myFirst off this game is perfect, now that I have said that, I would like to say I did not like Far Cry 2, the main problem was the malaria, breakable weapons and all around boring to the core, well with this game they have not just fixed these problems but added a lot of great things to it. The first thing I would like to talk about the game is the hunting mechanics because this is my favourite part of the game, hands down. I love the way hunting is done, from the rewards that come with skinning an animal to unpredictable animal encounters. What made it great was having the bow because this weapon is probably one of the best weapons I have ever used, great for taking out animals as well as using it to stealthily kill everyone in a camp without being detected. Everything else is great about the game too, the characters are fun and interesting, especially Vaas and the gameplay is fun too. The missions are fun to play and there are plenty of replay value, from side missions to capturing bases. I've gone on too long with this review but I wanted to tell how amazed I was at the game and how fun and big it was, also the map is probably the one of the biggest ones I've seen in a game. Bottom line the game has great gameplay, great characters, great story, great replay value and, of course, a great hunting system. 10/10 (BTW did I mention I love the hunting system?) Expand
  19. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    The most beautiful world you could possible be stranded in, The story line was amazing and the side quests as well. I give this game a 10 for its amazing work on keeping the gamer fully engaged in a world filled with nature and wilderness. The characters were really well done and loved how unique each one was, i tip my hat to you Ubisoft, thank you for making such a great game!
  20. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    After playing this for over 25 hours now, I can honestly say this is probably my favorite game of all time. I have never played any of the Far Crys before this one, but I will be picking up 2 after I am done with this. I don't expect 2 to be as good as 3 but if it's half as good it should still be a great game. This is most definately a must buy. GOTY
  21. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    I think this game is amazing most addictive single player in a long time. Cant believe what some people are moaning about. "getting headaches" ! MAN UP! "Only bought it for the map editor" If thats how you get your kicks then your boring.
  22. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    Far Cry 3 is one of the greats of 2012. Has a great mix of combat, stealth, and exploration. Only bad thing would have to be story for me. I mean, I guess I liked how you were just some random person caught up in crap events and learned to survive and all, but most of the story did not appeal much to me.
  23. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    I wasn't too sure whether to buy this game as never really been a fan of any of the Far Cry games. But one of my friends persuaded me to pop out and get it.
    I'm glad that I did as it is an epic game. you don't have to follow the missions, only doing them when you want to. And you can spend hours hunting animals or taking over camps.
  24. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    Game of the Year-material without a doubt. The game's storyline is good, but it's probably not what you'll buy the game for: you buy the game for the tropical islands it is set on, in which you can do whatever you want; wanna go fight some bad guys? Go ahead. Want to fly around the islands in a wingsuit? You can do that. Want to enjoy a beautiful sunset on one of the beaches? Go rightGame of the Year-material without a doubt. The game's storyline is good, but it's probably not what you'll buy the game for: you buy the game for the tropical islands it is set on, in which you can do whatever you want; wanna go fight some bad guys? Go ahead. Want to fly around the islands in a wingsuit? You can do that. Want to enjoy a beautiful sunset on one of the beaches? Go right ahead. Combat is a blast, and caters to pretty much any playstyle. Voice acting and character animation are top notch. Only a few things hold the game back from a full 10/10: at times, the framerate drops quite drastically, and minor glitches tend to show up at times (though they aren't gamebreaking). Long story short, if you enjoy adventure games and/or FPS games, this is your game. Buy it, you won't regret it/ Expand
  25. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    People spend a ton of time comparing FC3 to other games that they lose sight of what it really is. Don't bother asking, "Is it really like Skyrim with guns?" or, "Is it really an FPS Red Dead Redemption or Just Cause?" because it's not. I started into this game with those expectations, and while they work in the simplest of simple terms, Far Cry 3 is a surprisingly unique experience thatPeople spend a ton of time comparing FC3 to other games that they lose sight of what it really is. Don't bother asking, "Is it really like Skyrim with guns?" or, "Is it really an FPS Red Dead Redemption or Just Cause?" because it's not. I started into this game with those expectations, and while they work in the simplest of simple terms, Far Cry 3 is a surprisingly unique experience that is worth picking up for fans of FPS and RPGs alike.
    The story sounds pretty cookie-cutter, but gets very unique very quickly. During a vacation, something goes wrong and you and your friends are captives of a band of pirates led by a complete psychopath. You escape, and are loose on a jungle island tasked with finding your friends. There are influences from lots of big-name games present, such as climbing radio towers to un-fuzz the map or branching skill trees that give you new abilities. These influences come together to create an excellent and immersive experience.
    The story is about the only thing set in stone. Like in Far Cry 2, you can approach any mission the way you want to. You can go in guns blazing, sneak in with silenced weapons (that actually do damage this time) or bust out the knife and start cutting people down with the newly added (and stylish) hand-to-hand takedowns that get progressively better as you upgrade them. As far as free will goes, Far Cry 3 is just like its predecessor. That's where it ends, though. I could rattle on for ages about all the individual ways FC3 is better than FC2, but I'll keep it simple and trim it to one word: polish. I might be alone in this, but FC2 just seemed like a rush job. The story made no sense, stealth was damn near impossible with the crappy weapons, and everything felt like it wasn't finished. The developers heard every single complaint with FC2 and fixed in in FC3. No more fighting through the same outpost 238 times an hour. No more incoherent storyline. No more gun jams. And no more starting a new game every time you finish one.
    Overall, I can find almost nothing wrong with Far Cry 3 other than its somewhat goofy vehicle physics and annoying animal combat. The game excels in just about everything it seeks to do, and is one of the best single-player experiences out there. After you beat the story, there isn't much to do other than wandering around, and even then you stumble on little challenges or puzzles to complete. There's also a multiplayer option, though it is neither bad nor particularly interesting. It has all the standard expectations: leveling, co-op, deathmatch, domination modes etc. There's nothing new about it, but multiplayer isn't what Far Cry is about anyway. It's about a single-player experience that obliterates any online gaming, and no shooter does it better than Far Cry 3.
    Expand
  26. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    The first Far Cry was too little too late for XBOX owners, and as good as it was, missed the point of the PC original. The second Far Cry was a great game on paper, but beset with a legion of issues, some ill-thought-out and some stupidly implemented, that led to frustration for myself and many. This time however, third time lucky is the charm!! Ubisoft implement a very slim but smartThe first Far Cry was too little too late for XBOX owners, and as good as it was, missed the point of the PC original. The second Far Cry was a great game on paper, but beset with a legion of issues, some ill-thought-out and some stupidly implemented, that led to frustration for myself and many. This time however, third time lucky is the charm!! Ubisoft implement a very slim but smart plot to a virtual sandbox for an FPS, but before you groan about the well-worn genres, the whole thing is kept alive by intelligent implementation, and a huge amount of fun!! The graphics aren't faultless but they do the job well, and the sound is storming, with a massive hole-peppered wall of eerie fx and music. Don't buy Far Cry 3 because you want another shooter; buy it because you want to play something compelling, but a lot of fun. Expand
  27. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    One of the best open world shooters released, the graphics, gameplay, sound, environments, characters and scale of the game create a gorgeous atmosphere and a simply amazing gaming experience, there is barely anything wrong with FarCry 3 other then the occasional slight glitch in either graphics or animation which don't really bother much considering most games which aren't open world haveOne of the best open world shooters released, the graphics, gameplay, sound, environments, characters and scale of the game create a gorgeous atmosphere and a simply amazing gaming experience, there is barely anything wrong with FarCry 3 other then the occasional slight glitch in either graphics or animation which don't really bother much considering most games which aren't open world have more of them Expand
  28. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    farcry 3 has possibly the coolest ending to a computer game of all time
    I actually laughed out loud at how it got me seriously seriously amazing imo
    The most engrossing and exhilarating game I have played since half life 2. I have never had so many adrenaline rushes from a single player game while at the same time being so immersed and committed to a protagonist yes it's a bit cheesy
    farcry 3 has possibly the coolest ending to a computer game of all time
    I actually laughed out loud at how it got me seriously seriously amazing imo
    The most engrossing and exhilarating game I have played since half life 2.
    I have never had so many adrenaline rushes from a single player game
    while at the same time being so immersed and committed to a protagonist
    yes it's a bit cheesy in places and occasionally a bro fest but the transformation of you and the psychological elements make it a game I will never forget
    not to mention the fact that half way through you gain the ability to FLY
    not actually a spoiler
    Expand
  29. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very good game, I played for several hours and this game deserves a score of 10, this time to the game's nailed in adventure challenges.Are to be congratulated. Expand
  30. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I give this game a 10/10 because well it's a perfect first person shooter. To start this review off, The intro was amazing. I actually thought it was happening until I see that I am locked in a cage having the intro played on the phone by Vaas, the main villain. The story goes as you , Jason Brody, are trapped on an island with your two brothers and your friends. During the game, you come across tigers, lions, practically any animal you can think of. You can skin the animals and make new pouches or sell the skin to get new weapons. There are many weapons in Far Cry 3 , Even a flamethrower ! The games missions are fun and invigorating. Sometimes you will have to press buttons during cut scenes to get away from pirates , the main enemy. The game , aside from main missions, has side quests and other fun activities you can do. for example, you can go hunt animals or pirates and get XP from it. the game also has a skill tree you can use to get upgrades for your character. The map is not fully unlocked once you get in the game , you must activate radio towers (18) of them to unlock more areas of the map. there is also 38 enemy camps you can take over and have fast travel locations. Overall, this game is fun, exciting, and fairly easy. I would recommend this to anyone who likes FPS RPG games. 10/10 Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3 reaches for greatness, but falls short at merely being really fun. It has a few hiccups here and there and the story is very thin, but the exploration and combat really shine. It's a worthy addition to any collection.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Almost everything about Far Cry 3 speaks to the game’s skilled, confident and tightly interwoven design, and players are free to seek their specific flavour of gratification and victory as Jason becomes the most dangerous animal on the island.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The freeform combat, gorgeous locations, and excellent multiplayer are strong, and Far Cry 3 does a fantastic job of putting the player in the middle of a lawless, chaotic world and letting them get up to whatever they please. Yes, video games are capable of achieving much more than Far Cry 3 does, but it makes a persuasive argument that there's nothing wrong with a guilty pleasure now and again—especially when it's as slickly presented as this is.