Far Cry 3 Xbox 360

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1244 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is a game intent on giving the player a lot of freedom, whilst offering a lot of personality. The stealth is expertly implemented, so you know when to hide and what will get you caught. There is also great strategy, especially when attacking the numerous outposts scattered around the island. The story starts off a bit cliche, with a group of teenagers having their paradise turnedFar Cry 3 is a game intent on giving the player a lot of freedom, whilst offering a lot of personality. The stealth is expertly implemented, so you know when to hide and what will get you caught. There is also great strategy, especially when attacking the numerous outposts scattered around the island. The story starts off a bit cliche, with a group of teenagers having their paradise turned upside down, but after meeting Dennis and the primary antagonist Vaas, you will understand how different a beast FC3 is. With its veluptuous landscapes and verdant vistas, Far Cry 3 is a hot prospect, that you should happily sink hours of enjoyment out of. Expand
  2. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    Summary good game, good plot and ending delivery not so great nut otherwise a great game. Well I expected more towards the end and it didn't deliver. Though do not get me wrong I enjoyed my time I just expected it to be more pyshcological. The alternative endings didn't deliver as well, but I mean hey it was a good game and I had a good ride. I expected to track down the person who set usSummary good game, good plot and ending delivery not so great nut otherwise a great game. Well I expected more towards the end and it didn't deliver. Though do not get me wrong I enjoyed my time I just expected it to be more pyshcological. The alternative endings didn't deliver as well, but I mean hey it was a good game and I had a good ride. I expected to track down the person who set us up or sent us to the island in the first place. But this didn't occur. Good selections of weapons and good progression there was a point though where I asked myself why wasn't I playing on the hardest difficulty. Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Unlike most of the boring and generic FPS out there, this game lets you roam far and wide, wherever the hell you want. It's more like borderlands 2 than any other FPS I can think of. Even a little similar to assassin's creed. Definitely has an RPG element to it, but don't go thinking you're buying final fantasy. It's a bloody, gory and brutal FPS to the core! Just don't expect run and gun,Unlike most of the boring and generic FPS out there, this game lets you roam far and wide, wherever the hell you want. It's more like borderlands 2 than any other FPS I can think of. Even a little similar to assassin's creed. Definitely has an RPG element to it, but don't go thinking you're buying final fantasy. It's a bloody, gory and brutal FPS to the core! Just don't expect run and gun, but also not exactly stealth either. I guess it's pretty unique! Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    I admit, I am a fan of the African Savannah and of civil war, weapons dealers, and blood diamonds. So when I heard Far Cry was going back to the tropics, I was a little skeptical. Far Cry 3 turned out to be a big step up from its predecessor (not including the general increase in visual quality that most sequels receive). While Far Cry 2 was focused more on the realism and survival aspect,I admit, I am a fan of the African Savannah and of civil war, weapons dealers, and blood diamonds. So when I heard Far Cry was going back to the tropics, I was a little skeptical. Far Cry 3 turned out to be a big step up from its predecessor (not including the general increase in visual quality that most sequels receive). While Far Cry 2 was focused more on the realism and survival aspect, Far Cry 3 provides us with a world just about as beautiful as it is massive. With radio towers, exploration not only is a tourist attraction, it's an objective. Honestly, I will always miss carrying around my GPS and map, searching for blood diamonds, and taking malaria pills (perhaps not that last one), Far Cry 3 provides a more convenient atmosphere more geared towards a thrilling experience. And, a little tangent: Vaas is fricken' awesome. Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Maybe I'm a bit of a psychopath: the violence in this game is hands down my favorite aspect. None of the leading FPS out there are this brutal. You can see from the video episodes they were leading up to it. Far more brutal than the previous games. Almost as bad as survival horror but not quite. Awesome gaming violence!
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    fc2 was a piece of trash but THIS GAME IS NOT. I don't know how they went from making GAME OF THE GARBAGE (GOTG) to GAME OF THE YEAR (GOTY). Seriously this is the best shooter I've played on 360 probably even in my entire life! Freaking ridiciulous action, the A.I. Is SMOOTH and unpredictable. The graphics are MOUTH WATERING. You won't believe your eyes. Even the plot is super good.fc2 was a piece of trash but THIS GAME IS NOT. I don't know how they went from making GAME OF THE GARBAGE (GOTG) to GAME OF THE YEAR (GOTY). Seriously this is the best shooter I've played on 360 probably even in my entire life! Freaking ridiciulous action, the A.I. Is SMOOTH and unpredictable. The graphics are MOUTH WATERING. You won't believe your eyes. Even the plot is super good. F****** amazing game. Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    If you can get past the ample screen tearing and poor framerate, Far Cry 3 is or is one of the best games of the year. The gunplay is some of the best I've experienced all gen. Finally a game where the enemies aren't all bullet sponges. People without armor are finished in 2-3 shots while the heavily armored guys require a couple of clips ( or better yet, a couple grenade arrows). TheIf you can get past the ample screen tearing and poor framerate, Far Cry 3 is or is one of the best games of the year. The gunplay is some of the best I've experienced all gen. Finally a game where the enemies aren't all bullet sponges. People without armor are finished in 2-3 shots while the heavily armored guys require a couple of clips ( or better yet, a couple grenade arrows). The action and animation make you forget about visuals allowing for an incredibly immersive experience and the gameplay doesn't get stale due to the myriad of combat strategies and the visceral gunplay which benefits greatly from realistic enemy health amounts. I almost didn't buy it because I'm a total graphics whore but I love the game, it's the quintessential triumph of gameplay over graphics. If you have a PC that can handle it, get it on that instead but I'm loving it on 360 despite the very overly stressed engine. Lastly, the pacing stinks - I have no idea how the main character becomes Rambo after never firing a gun prior. Notwithstanding, the voice acting and interesting characters (aside from the boring protagonist) make for an entertaining SP campaign. Expand
  8. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    As an "older" gamer with young kids, it's not often I'm interested enough to actually play through an entire game. But Far Cry 3 has the right mix of interesting storyline, good gameplay, satisfying item development, enjoyable skill trees, and enough detail to keep me coming back for more. As others have said there are many enjoyable options to approaching any battle situation, fromAs an "older" gamer with young kids, it's not often I'm interested enough to actually play through an entire game. But Far Cry 3 has the right mix of interesting storyline, good gameplay, satisfying item development, enjoyable skill trees, and enough detail to keep me coming back for more. As others have said there are many enjoyable options to approaching any battle situation, from close-quarters stealth takedowns, to sniping from afar, to the balls-to-the-wall guns blazing approach. I would give this game 9.5 overall, which rounds up to 10 in my opinion. Definitely one of the best games of 2012, not to be missed and well worth the investment. Expand
  9. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    Possible Game of the Year material. I play a lot of games. I can't say I played them all though, so instead of saying that this IS game of the year material I'll say it
  10. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    It's nothing revolutionary but there is no better way to spend your evenings, or even entire days. A major improvement from Far Cry 2. The stealth, the music, the voice acting, the believable story. Vaas and Hoyt are 2 or the greatest villains in video game history. It's just fun.
  11. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 was by far the most exciting game experience of 2012. While other stories like Halo 4 Assassin's Creed 3 had their strengths, Far Cry 3 has the most driven story and villains. Add the great story elements to a fantastic open-world experience that allows you to secure or leave-alone parts of the island, depending on what you would like to do, and you almost have the shooterFar Cry 3 was by far the most exciting game experience of 2012. While other stories like Halo 4 Assassin's Creed 3 had their strengths, Far Cry 3 has the most driven story and villains. Add the great story elements to a fantastic open-world experience that allows you to secure or leave-alone parts of the island, depending on what you would like to do, and you almost have the shooter version of Skyrim. I put roughly 20 hours into the campaign portion, and that's more than any other shooter in recent history. By now, Far Cry 3 is in a bargain bin at GameStop (or elsewhere). The game is worth the original $60 price tag, it's even more-so at reduced prices. If you like shooters with meaningful story, look no further. Expand
  12. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    UPDATE: after playing this game some more, my original score of 7 seems a little generous. I would like to make some complaints starting with the graphics. The frame rate is quite bad for starters. Also, as you approach some objects in the game world you'll notice they kind of ''de-rez'' and reappear for some odd reason. Like a lamp or piece of equipment on the ground. WTF is up withUPDATE: after playing this game some more, my original score of 7 seems a little generous. I would like to make some complaints starting with the graphics. The frame rate is quite bad for starters. Also, as you approach some objects in the game world you'll notice they kind of ''de-rez'' and reappear for some odd reason. Like a lamp or piece of equipment on the ground. WTF is up with that? Getting a close up kill or searching a body reveals horrible textures and the see through effect. Oh yeah, the water is horrible too. It barely moves no matter if you're looking at it from the ground or swimming on the surface. Hardly any animations. Now if water didn't play such a large part in the game environment I would forgive this but for taking place on a huge group of islands you can't help but notice how bad it looks every time you play. Bioshock from 5 years back has water that looks lightyears ahead of FC3. The animals are cool but their sounds get annoying really fast. If there's a big group of them together it sounds ridiculous. The enemy chatter is repetitious, all you hear from them is complaints of the heat and getting VD. Hate to continue the negatives here but there are many. The menu system is poorly designed and convoluted. The game is constantly throwing messages at you on screen which is distracting. Compared to FC2, FC3 has made some improvements. No more respawning enemies and easier fast travel to name a couple. Overall, it just feels rehashed and tired to me though. I actually prefer FC2 overall I think...call me crazy I know. Expand
  13. Mar 25, 2013
    9
    This game was fantastic. As soon as i started playing I didn't want to stop until I got 100%. It took me about 30 hours to complete everything. I would have given this a 10 if it wasn't for the tedious CO-OP, and the lack of a reason to keep playing once you finish the story and the liberation of outposts.
  14. Feb 17, 2014
    8
    Far Cry 3 is the best game ever for about five to ten hours, then starting forest fires with a flamethrower and blowing up a animals with an RPG just kind of gets old. I like the story and the setting. The landscape looks great and its really cool that the box art is actually a real spot in the game (try to find it!). The weapon selection and upgrades are nice. I liked how you had to workFar Cry 3 is the best game ever for about five to ten hours, then starting forest fires with a flamethrower and blowing up a animals with an RPG just kind of gets old. I like the story and the setting. The landscape looks great and its really cool that the box art is actually a real spot in the game (try to find it!). The weapon selection and upgrades are nice. I liked how you had to work to open up the map and aim to make targets show up. I felt cheated every time I died due to the game breaking it's own rules. The enemies are a little funny at first, but they only said a few lines, so I got pretty tired of them fast. I spent over 50 hours in the game because I went after absolutely everything, and I can say that there is no reward in getting every piece of loot, so resist being a completionist. The driving should really have been third-person because walking everywhere got very tedious. My car would either explode or get stuck on a twig within 20 seconds of getting in it. The choices of the open world made the game open-ended for different styles of play. For example, I took an outpost with only two bears when I could have used bullets or bombs or arrows. Overall, this title is a good open world game with so much to do and good memories to have, but little short on the story mode and gets slightly repetitive. Expand
  15. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This is hands down one of the best open world games I have ever played. They get so much right and only minor details can be listed in the cons for this game. The story, the voice acting, the gameplay. They knock everything out of the park. This is the best FarCry game to date, and one of the best FPS titles of the year.
  16. Dec 9, 2012
    1
    Read Charlius 2's review (5 rating) and he hit the nail on the head with the myriad problems with this game, especially the graphics on the 360. As soon as I got a headache the third straight time I played it I sold it back to GameStop. I mean, c'mon, there is NO excuse for the FPS. The people at GS told me that the problem is due to the sheer amount of stuff happening on screen, and IRead Charlius 2's review (5 rating) and he hit the nail on the head with the myriad problems with this game, especially the graphics on the 360. As soon as I got a headache the third straight time I played it I sold it back to GameStop. I mean, c'mon, there is NO excuse for the FPS. The people at GS told me that the problem is due to the sheer amount of stuff happening on screen, and I thought to myself, are you kidding me, there's hardly anything happening except shrubbery (and boy, I love a good quest to go and get me some shrubs). Also, I have to say, those damn messages that keep appearing every time you successfully take a dump are annoying as cuss. Anyways, I can't believe this game has received universal acclaim for the XBOX despite being trite and boring as cuss. Do yourself a favor and rent before you buy. Also do yourself a favor and play Alan Wake and see what a little real creativity can do to gaming. Expand
  17. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    Far Cry 3 is an 8 or 9 out of 10. Its so close to being perfect but has a few minor let downs.
    Graphically the game is good. Enemies, landscape and animal etc all look good and bring the island to life. The small issue i had was with distances. Alot of the time the game struggled to display things far in the distance and they occassionally just appear from nowhere. You would spot a huge
    Far Cry 3 is an 8 or 9 out of 10. Its so close to being perfect but has a few minor let downs.
    Graphically the game is good. Enemies, landscape and animal etc all look good and bring the island to life. The small issue i had was with distances. Alot of the time the game struggled to display things far in the distance and they occassionally just appear from nowhere. You would spot a huge mountain in the distance but the game does not think so. to be fair I looked past this, it did not take away from the game but was a slight niggle. I was a bit unsure of the human enemy AI. It was not bad but it was not great either but when you think of the size of the game world plus the fact that animals in the game are pretty impressively written and add some real tension again this can partially be looked past. I found the story really really engaging until one moment happened. From here the story is not bad but noticably takes a dip (You will know the moment when you play).
    I would say this was in my top 10 games of 2012 and would recommend anyone to play it. you can waste hours just hunting animals!. Don't be put off by anything bad written about it as the game is EPIC. Its just not perfect but when you play it you will see past the same niggles I did.
    Expand
  18. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    Nearly perfect. While a few quests can be a bit samey and some of the side quests seem really pointless, the rest of the game is excellent. Has a great story with excellent characters and a bit of a disturbing look into the what can happen to someone's mind under the right circumstances.
  19. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is basically what you get when you mix Borderlands, Crysis, Red Dead Redemption, Skyrim, and Assassin's Creed. And it's hands-down one of the best games of 2012. However, I cannot give it a 10 as it doesn't have the polish required to merit that score... for example, the frame-rate is lousy and some of the speech is played at a low bitrate. But in terms of sheer fun andFar Cry 3 is basically what you get when you mix Borderlands, Crysis, Red Dead Redemption, Skyrim, and Assassin's Creed. And it's hands-down one of the best games of 2012. However, I cannot give it a 10 as it doesn't have the polish required to merit that score... for example, the frame-rate is lousy and some of the speech is played at a low bitrate. But in terms of sheer fun and addictiveness, few games can match Far Cry 3. Almost every mechanic is solid, from the shooting to the upgrade system to the crafting to the driving to the platforming... the characters are well-written and well-acted (particuarly Vaas), and the island is fully-realised and a joy to explore. I applaud Ubisoft Montreal for taking a game with greater potential than execution (Far Cry 2) and turning it into one of the best games of this generation. FPS developers should take note: THIS is how you keep the genre fresh. Expand
  20. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    Pure fun. A big open wouold full of great graphics and things to do. Far Cry 2 was terrible and I promised myself not to buy this, but I did. This is soooo much more fun. Everything feels accessible. They don't make the side missions too annoying and as long as you plan properly you will always be rewarded (something EVERY game sould do). Pure fun.
  21. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Many aspects of Far Cry 3 take credit for the undeniable perfection of the game. 1. Visually we are presented to a world with an immense feeling of variety and depth, so far unmatched. The jungle of Rook Islands is first-of-a-kind creation in gaming history, only rivaled by Skyrim (mod'ed) imo. 2. Far Cry 3 is stuffed with amazing characters that keeps getting more crazy as the gameMany aspects of Far Cry 3 take credit for the undeniable perfection of the game. 1. Visually we are presented to a world with an immense feeling of variety and depth, so far unmatched. The jungle of Rook Islands is first-of-a-kind creation in gaming history, only rivaled by Skyrim (mod'ed) imo. 2. Far Cry 3 is stuffed with amazing characters that keeps getting more crazy as the game progresses, but above all stands Vaas: so crazy, so funny, so scary, so ambivalent, FC3 has gotten its own Dark Knight Joker. 3. The synthesis of camera, music, sounds, visuals and continuity when we explore the Rook Islands is everything Far Cry 2 didnt have, especially the continuity. We would perform the same identical actions over n over n over again, the definition of insanity... In FC3 we do the exact same things over n over n over again, but because the game in visuals and experience is so tasty, u feel like u could go on forever liberating outposts and rerouting radio-towers. 4. Our main character, Jason. Finally a game that shows interest in the fact that killing does change you. Jason goes through a psychological development that I personally haven't seen the likes of ever, this is also why Vaas is so important, there is such a strong relation between him and Jason that grows as Jason keeps rampaging. All these games about killing, shooting, murdering, never have I seen any sign of these actions affecting the main characters. A unique touch to FC3 without doubt, and it succeeds without doubt. I would keep praising this game in all eternity, but these aspects are more that enough for a 10.
    Buy it n enjoy it, definitely worth it.
    Expand
  22. Dec 20, 2012
    9
    farcry 3 has possibly the coolest ending to a computer game of all time
    I actually laughed out loud at how it got me seriously seriously amazing imo
    The most engrossing and exhilarating game I have played since half life 2. I have never had so many adrenaline rushes from a single player game while at the same time being so immersed and committed to a protagonist yes it's a bit cheesy
    farcry 3 has possibly the coolest ending to a computer game of all time
    I actually laughed out loud at how it got me seriously seriously amazing imo
    The most engrossing and exhilarating game I have played since half life 2.
    I have never had so many adrenaline rushes from a single player game
    while at the same time being so immersed and committed to a protagonist
    yes it's a bit cheesy in places and occasionally a bro fest but the transformation of you and the psychological elements make it a game I will never forget
    not to mention the fact that half way through you gain the ability to FLY
    not actually a spoiler
    Expand
  23. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    An amazing game.I loved the story,freedom and weapons especially,as well as the wing suit/parachute.Though the side missions are mainly dull,the activities such as racing,knife throwing,shooting,poker and hunting missions are all fantastic.There are a few major flaws though.Context sensitivity,mainly healing, is poor throughout and the odd mission glitches out randomly and your syringesAn amazing game.I loved the story,freedom and weapons especially,as well as the wing suit/parachute.Though the side missions are mainly dull,the activities such as racing,knife throwing,shooting,poker and hunting missions are all fantastic.There are a few major flaws though.Context sensitivity,mainly healing, is poor throughout and the odd mission glitches out randomly and your syringes are mostly useless,Medicine and Hunters Instinct being the major ones and the occasional Deep Dive and Invincibilty coming in handy.The two major islands are quite different with the first a true jungle and second being far more open.Also the game isn't as long as you'd initially believe with a completion rate of exactly 90% after 28 hours during my first playthrough on medium.Hard is slightly tougher but not impossible.The main story actually blew me away in several trippy parts and was most enjoyable.All in all a really,really great game,despite some big annoyances.9.5/10 Expand
  24. Jan 27, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 was one of the best games of 2012 hands down. Great characters, awesome graphics and killer gameplay. The story left a little bit to be desired, but still phenomenal.
  25. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    Returning to the island paradise setting of the original Far Cry 3 is, for me at least, the best in the series by far. Having seen family members and friends captured by the psychotic pirate Vaas following an adventure holiday Jason sets out to get them back. Starting as a neutral figure, afraid to even fire a gun at first, he is quickly transformed by his experiences as the gameReturning to the island paradise setting of the original Far Cry 3 is, for me at least, the best in the series by far. Having seen family members and friends captured by the psychotic pirate Vaas following an adventure holiday Jason sets out to get them back. Starting as a neutral figure, afraid to even fire a gun at first, he is quickly transformed by his experiences as the game progresses until pretty soon all manner of options are available to the player to best defeat their enemies.

    Truth be told the actual story missions, while usually passable, are far from the most interesting aspect of the game. All too often they fall back on video game clichés with the use of QTE’s and escort missions being particularly irritating. What truly makes Far Cry 3 the game it is, is the fantastic open world that allows for all manner of unique, and totally unscripted, events. Talk to anyone that has played the game and they will tell you of events that only they will have experienced. Fortunately the actual gameplay mechanics are also very good with weapons having a real sense of weight to them as well as the welcome freedom to choose from going in all guns blazing to taking a more stealthy approach thanks to the use of 'Takedown' moves that can be unlocked.

    All in all this one comes highly recommended.
    Expand
  26. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    Near perfection...so far this game takes me back to the very first in the series which was and still is my favorite but for different reasons. The story in the campaign is so fantastic in this game and the characters you meet are amazing. The voice acting is incredible and you really care about saving your friends and trying to get off this island hell you find yourself trapped in. TheNear perfection...so far this game takes me back to the very first in the series which was and still is my favorite but for different reasons. The story in the campaign is so fantastic in this game and the characters you meet are amazing. The voice acting is incredible and you really care about saving your friends and trying to get off this island hell you find yourself trapped in. The visuals are truly gorgeous and I have never seen water that looks so fantastic and real. There is plenty to do other than push the story along even though it does get a bit repetitive. The MP is fun but a tad unbalanced from what i have played so far....for me the campaign is where this game really shines. If you are a fan of the series or have never played them before this is a great jump off point for anyone, make sure to check this game out, it is well worth it! Expand
  27. Mar 14, 2013
    6
    Proof that once more in an open world game, variety and quantity doesn't equate to quality. Far Cry 3 throws an abundance of activities at you and yet non of them or their mechanics are particularly satisfying. You play as carefree fratboy Jason Brody, who along with his equally model-perfect chums, get abducted on an idyllic paradise island, by a group of pirates headed by cliched loony,Proof that once more in an open world game, variety and quantity doesn't equate to quality. Far Cry 3 throws an abundance of activities at you and yet non of them or their mechanics are particularly satisfying. You play as carefree fratboy Jason Brody, who along with his equally model-perfect chums, get abducted on an idyllic paradise island, by a group of pirates headed by cliched loony, Vaas. Even before the prologue is over you'll be struggling with who you hate more. The aforementioned cartoon villain, Vaas, or the nauseating protagonist and his 1-dimensional cast of apparently lab-grown wasters. actually, that's a lie. It's the latter. By a long way. This leaves you with an interesting motivational conundrum: It's hard to play as the 'hero' wanting to save all his poor friends, when you really want nothing more then to aid Vaas in helping him skin the lot of them and sell them back to their parents as designer handbags. But the game doesn't let you do this. So much for choice!
    And while we're on the subject of choice, don't expect it when it comes to the main story. If you're a stealth player expect the game to remove that option for you in favour of explosions and scripted set-pieces. This is particularly galling when so many of the environments are teeming with great ambush possibilities. But even action fans will be disappointed by how little of the environment is actually accessible due to the maddeningly awful and illogical jumping mechanics. Guns feel pretty weak and hit-detection is spotty. The much vaunted animals provide amusing ad lib moments, ruining your or your enemies plans, but quickly become tiresome, particularly as they appear virtually and comically indestructible. Bears and tigers will barely break stride when confronted by such inconveniences as 3 sniper rifle bullets to the face and animals as small as dogs will shrug off petty attacks like being run over by a 4x4. The save system is awful, and the whole island feels plasticky. If all you desire from a game is a huge map, loads of stuff to do (and by that I mean shoot and blow stuff up) and aren't particularly bothered how well it does it, or by how painfully, insultingly vacant the plot and characters are then I can guarantee you will love this game. I found one that constantly teased greatness,, only to waste a whole lot of design potential, to the point where it became an infuriating, vapid bore.
    Expand
  28. Dec 7, 2012
    6
    I am not enjoying this game at all. it is as dull as dishwater. there is no tension in the game. the big anoying shadow around the grsphics. the water looks very poor. for me this shows how out of date the current xbox is. the sound is terrible. the main badie is annoying and hamy. the side missions boring. attack one outpost and the map becomes easy. AAA it may be but i get noI am not enjoying this game at all. it is as dull as dishwater. there is no tension in the game. the big anoying shadow around the grsphics. the water looks very poor. for me this shows how out of date the current xbox is. the sound is terrible. the main badie is annoying and hamy. the side missions boring. attack one outpost and the map becomes easy. AAA it may be but i get no feeling/tension/feedback from the game. the original farcry is still the best by a country mile. i give this six. Expand
  29. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    one of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first personone of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first person shooters you will find the controls very easy to learn.Though this game is a bit difficult all this means is you have to think what to do next on how to accomplish your mission.Far Cry 3 is an amazing game and as you play the game you know the creators took their time making this game and at the end they produced on of 2012 best games.If you love first person shooter's then I strongly recommend this and if you still not convinced just read the other reviews and if you're still not convinced look at the reviews from the critics.Forget the negative reviews those people just don't know what a good game is.Far Cry 3 is by far the best and most addictive and fun filled open world game I have played in a while.It is the type of game that keeps you hooked to your TV screen for hours on end and when you go to sleep you even dream of the game.Thank you Ubisoft for making such amazing and highly addictive games. Expand
  30. Jan 17, 2013
    7
    Story, gameplay and associated mechanics are good, gunplay is very solid. It should have been a classic, however, I refuse to believe that these professional reviewers have touched the console versions to give it such high praise. The immersion is often ruined by the persistent screentearing and framerate drops. The XBOX is simply not capable of handling it properly. The environments don'tStory, gameplay and associated mechanics are good, gunplay is very solid. It should have been a classic, however, I refuse to believe that these professional reviewers have touched the console versions to give it such high praise. The immersion is often ruined by the persistent screentearing and framerate drops. The XBOX is simply not capable of handling it properly. The environments don't look polished enough either. A pity, as there's obviously a great game struggling to get out - get it on PC Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3 reaches for greatness, but falls short at merely being really fun. It has a few hiccups here and there and the story is very thin, but the exploration and combat really shine. It's a worthy addition to any collection.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Almost everything about Far Cry 3 speaks to the game’s skilled, confident and tightly interwoven design, and players are free to seek their specific flavour of gratification and victory as Jason becomes the most dangerous animal on the island.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The freeform combat, gorgeous locations, and excellent multiplayer are strong, and Far Cry 3 does a fantastic job of putting the player in the middle of a lawless, chaotic world and letting them get up to whatever they please. Yes, video games are capable of achieving much more than Far Cry 3 does, but it makes a persuasive argument that there's nothing wrong with a guilty pleasure now and again—especially when it's as slickly presented as this is.