User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1128 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using theirI love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using their skin to craft new items like wallets or ammo holsters which enable you to carry more money and ammo. I love the story and all the crazy vehicles you have at your disposal. The graphics aren't top notch, but it still manages to take your breath away and look extraordinary. I highly recommend anyone and everyone to buy this game as it's now became one of my favorite games. I wouldn't be surprised if Far Cry 3 won game of the year cause it sure as hell deserves it. Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    A near perfect open world gaming experience. With the expection of minor flaws, all the parts needed to make this a great game are present. Story is usually a component of games that most often leaves me uninspired, and therefore my expectation are kept low. In the case of Far Cry 3, the charater animations, voice performances, and dialogue are quite good making it a pleasure toA near perfect open world gaming experience. With the expection of minor flaws, all the parts needed to make this a great game are present. Story is usually a component of games that most often leaves me uninspired, and therefore my expectation are kept low. In the case of Far Cry 3, the charater animations, voice performances, and dialogue are quite good making it a pleasure to follow the narrative. The meat and potatoes however is always the core gameplay, and here Ubisoft has delivered nicely. Here you have a huge, dense open world, unique objectives to tackle through a variety of optional means, and an enemy AI that for the most part is adequately adaptive and aggresive. I have found, early on in the game at least, that the standard frontal assault on a well defended position is likely to get you killed. It's usually a better idea to employ a bit of steath assasination to thin the ranks before openly engaging. Driving physics are good but somewhat of a challenge from first person perspective. I personally would have preferred a third person view to allow better situational awareness. Graphical presentation is good, not great. Draw distance is generally terrific but geometry and textures leave something to be desired, on the 360 version at least. It's worth noting that not withstanding the huge world, and large numbers of sophisticated AI, there is virtually no loading in contrast to a game like Skyrim. With that said, this is still a beautiful game visually and does not detract from the gameplay experiance one bit, IMO. Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This game is out right phenomenal. Everything from the graphics, (minor screen tear on Xbox but not too bad) voice acting, gameplay, and for how long it is, its one of the best campaigns I've ever played in a game and that's saying something. 30 hour campaign? Yes please! All this and I didn't even mention the beefy multiplayer mode, coop, and it even has a damn map editor! You can makeThis game is out right phenomenal. Everything from the graphics, (minor screen tear on Xbox but not too bad) voice acting, gameplay, and for how long it is, its one of the best campaigns I've ever played in a game and that's saying something. 30 hour campaign? Yes please! All this and I didn't even mention the beefy multiplayer mode, coop, and it even has a damn map editor! You can make maps and host games on them as well. All this for just 60$? Hell yeah! Ubisoft has really out done themselves. GOTY in my opinion. I also forgot to mention that Vaas is one of the best villains in gaming! Get this now and support this excellent game! Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Far Cry 3 is probably the best sandbox shooter and a lovable alternative to those who do not like Borderlands. There is so much to do in this game and makes it very much worth the money. Ubisoft Montreal have fixed all the game ruining glitches that have come from Far Cry 2. But when creating a massive world, it can't be perfect so there are still a few glitches here and there, but in myFar Cry 3 is probably the best sandbox shooter and a lovable alternative to those who do not like Borderlands. There is so much to do in this game and makes it very much worth the money. Ubisoft Montreal have fixed all the game ruining glitches that have come from Far Cry 2. But when creating a massive world, it can't be perfect so there are still a few glitches here and there, but in my experience I have seen nothing so far that has made me unable to complete a mission or side mission. This is an amazing experience and is very enjoyable challenge for people who like to run and gun and the people who love stealth games. Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    Full play-through review. The story in Far Cry 3 is epic and one of its bright spots. Most shooters have a lame to semi lame story that feel like they are there just to connect one level to another, but with FC3 the story drives the action forward. I don't want to give anything away, but at the end of the game you have a hard choice to make, and the reason the choice is hard is because youFull play-through review. The story in Far Cry 3 is epic and one of its bright spots. Most shooters have a lame to semi lame story that feel like they are there just to connect one level to another, but with FC3 the story drives the action forward. I don't want to give anything away, but at the end of the game you have a hard choice to make, and the reason the choice is hard is because you have become attached to the characters and the different sides... this is testament to the great voice acting and spot on animations. I actually cared what happened. Graphically the game is beautiful and adds to the immersion. The combat is a lot of fun... personally I like the sniping and stealth aspect which works very well. I was worried about the predators like the leopards. I wondered if they would pounce out of every other bush. I am happy to report that run-ins happen, but the encounters are random and do not happen all that often. The autonomous A.I. makes for some interesting and random action. For example, one fight I was trying to move into position to knife kill a target when some friendlies in a boat caught the attention of my prey, thus giving me the distraction to go in for the kill. My main gripe with FC3 is in the middle of the game, before you are allowed to go to the second island, you have to do a series of main missions that are a grind at best and really annoying at worst. One mission has you doing a kill free corridor stealth run, another starts you out with only a knife and a set area that you are confined to, while another has you defending a position while a friendly AI does a repair... and failing the mission five times because he keeps getting shot from multiple angles. These quests were stripped of the very thing that makes the Far Cry series so great... choice. Also some of the real time events were just frustrating... and if you do not hit the right button at the right time you have to start over and do it again. But despite some major mid game annoyances and a couple of the more challenging real time events, the rest of the game is amazing... albeit a bit busy. I did not do the hunting, racing, collecting items (unless I ran across them) I stayed to the main and side stories and the outposts, assassinations and towers. Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2013
    7
    After one complete playthrough of this game, I can say that I have mixed feelings about it overall. On one hand, it is a very solid FPS with a HUGE game world. The story is truly top notch, voice acting is excellent. The arsenal of guns at your disposal is equally as large, and each one is customizable in the way of attachments, and paint jobs. There are quite a few upgrades to get byAfter one complete playthrough of this game, I can say that I have mixed feelings about it overall. On one hand, it is a very solid FPS with a HUGE game world. The story is truly top notch, voice acting is excellent. The arsenal of guns at your disposal is equally as large, and each one is customizable in the way of attachments, and paint jobs. There are quite a few upgrades to get by hunting and skinning animals (one of my favorite parts), and generally the controls are excellent. Unfortunately, there are a few problems with Far Cry 3 that convey a huge lack of attention to detail. After liberating outposts, more and more side quests open up for you to do. Each one is one of two types, Path of the Hunter, or WANTED dead. Each mission of these type are awfully similar to one another, and need only to be done if you need money. Go find this group of 5 guys, kill one with a knife, rinse and repeat in another area. Also, liberating outposts gets extremely boring after you get about a quarter of them, and by the end I was only doing them to get the achievement, otherwise I would have stopped after about 10 of them. One of my favorite parts of the game, hunting, became completely worthless to do after I got about 20% through the game, as I had already upgraded all of my equipment (except for a few extended pieces). Blue exclamation point side quests are also equally pointless, as each one is so unimaginative it was painfully obvious they were just there to add some sort of filler. A complete playthrough took me only 20 hours, doing everything except collecting the relics and most of the side quests. This is an EXTREMELY short amount of time for an open world RPG, and there is little reason to play it all over again, unless you want to use different guns or approach outposts differently. I had fun, but it was over way too quick, and I wish there was just a little bit more variety. Good job Ubisoft, just not a great job. Expand
  7. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 is a game intent on giving the player a lot of freedom, whilst offering a lot of personality. The stealth is expertly implemented, so you know when to hide and what will get you caught. There is also great strategy, especially when attacking the numerous outposts scattered around the island. The story starts off a bit cliche, with a group of teenagers having their paradise turnedFar Cry 3 is a game intent on giving the player a lot of freedom, whilst offering a lot of personality. The stealth is expertly implemented, so you know when to hide and what will get you caught. There is also great strategy, especially when attacking the numerous outposts scattered around the island. The story starts off a bit cliche, with a group of teenagers having their paradise turned upside down, but after meeting Dennis and the primary antagonist Vaas, you will understand how different a beast FC3 is. With its veluptuous landscapes and verdant vistas, Far Cry 3 is a hot prospect, that you should happily sink hours of enjoyment out of. Expand
  8. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    Summary good game, good plot and ending delivery not so great nut otherwise a great game. Well I expected more towards the end and it didn't deliver. Though do not get me wrong I enjoyed my time I just expected it to be more pyshcological. The alternative endings didn't deliver as well, but I mean hey it was a good game and I had a good ride. I expected to track down the person who set usSummary good game, good plot and ending delivery not so great nut otherwise a great game. Well I expected more towards the end and it didn't deliver. Though do not get me wrong I enjoyed my time I just expected it to be more pyshcological. The alternative endings didn't deliver as well, but I mean hey it was a good game and I had a good ride. I expected to track down the person who set us up or sent us to the island in the first place. But this didn't occur. Good selections of weapons and good progression there was a point though where I asked myself why wasn't I playing on the hardest difficulty. Expand
  9. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    Near perfection...so far this game takes me back to the very first in the series which was and still is my favorite but for different reasons. The story in the campaign is so fantastic in this game and the characters you meet are amazing. The voice acting is incredible and you really care about saving your friends and trying to get off this island hell you find yourself trapped in. TheNear perfection...so far this game takes me back to the very first in the series which was and still is my favorite but for different reasons. The story in the campaign is so fantastic in this game and the characters you meet are amazing. The voice acting is incredible and you really care about saving your friends and trying to get off this island hell you find yourself trapped in. The visuals are truly gorgeous and I have never seen water that looks so fantastic and real. There is plenty to do other than push the story along even though it does get a bit repetitive. The MP is fun but a tad unbalanced from what i have played so far....for me the campaign is where this game really shines. If you are a fan of the series or have never played them before this is a great jump off point for anyone, make sure to check this game out, it is well worth it! Expand
  10. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    I wasn't too sure whether to buy this game as never really been a fan of any of the Far Cry games. But one of my friends persuaded me to pop out and get it.
    I'm glad that I did as it is an epic game. you don't have to follow the missions, only doing them when you want to. And you can spend hours hunting animals or taking over camps.
  11. Apr 8, 2013
    9
    Did I ever tell you what the definition of insanity is? It's playing the same game over and over again thinking "This time, it's gonna be less fun than the last time." That is crazy. This one time, this guy told me he liked the game, and I thought he was bullsh*tting me, so boom, I shot him. Did I ever tell you what the definition of insanity is?
  12. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    Far Cry 3 completely surprised me, I knew it was gonna be good but I never thought it would be my Game of The Year 2012!!!!! Thought Halo 4 would get GoTY but due to the campaign not been as gripping as other Halo campaigns and Borderlands 2 just passing it out. But enough talking about other games and lets talk about Far Cry 3. The campaign is one the of the best FPS campaigns I haveFar Cry 3 completely surprised me, I knew it was gonna be good but I never thought it would be my Game of The Year 2012!!!!! Thought Halo 4 would get GoTY but due to the campaign not been as gripping as other Halo campaigns and Borderlands 2 just passing it out. But enough talking about other games and lets talk about Far Cry 3. The campaign is one the of the best FPS campaigns I have ever played! Doing stuff like burning down a weed farm or hunting sharks or escaping an enemey airfield on a helicopter and many other awesome things. Great story and tons of side missions to keep you playing for hours on end. You also have a CO-OP campaign witch is nothing really interesting, but a little campaign to play with friends is also something to keep you playing this game for longer. Map maker is still fun and new A.Is make to mess around in. Multiplayer is the only thing I have to say they messed up, really outdated, but still good to play but just really outdated multiplayer. Overall, unless Disohnored is perfect (playing it at the momment) Far Cry 3 is my GOTY of 2012. Far Cry 3 9.4/10 Expand
  13. Mar 5, 2013
    9
    While I was hesitant at first to try the third installation in a franchise that I've yet to know or care, after carefully inspecting professional and honest reviews on this game, the hype of this game being "skyrim-with-guns" made me want to put my feet into the unknown territory of Far Cry 3. I couldn't have made a better choice in my life. Let's start from when you start the game. I amWhile I was hesitant at first to try the third installation in a franchise that I've yet to know or care, after carefully inspecting professional and honest reviews on this game, the hype of this game being "skyrim-with-guns" made me want to put my feet into the unknown territory of Far Cry 3. I couldn't have made a better choice in my life. Let's start from when you start the game. I am quite piqued at the conceptualism of Duality and Insanity voiced through the visuals of the main screen even, and also works beneficially for accessing your menu with ease. But, the one thing that did annoy me the most about this game was not necessarily about the content itself but Ubisoft's constant plea for it's almost unnecessary online pass. While you could play multiplayer without installing this pass up to Level 15, the whole reward on your hand for doing so isn't that significant. Likely, all you'll ever get is 4 achievement challenges which if completed will give you so to say "points" that you can use to download only 4 unlockables, almost all of which could've been in the final game to begin with. Nevertheless, at least it didn't necessarily force you to keep paying with real money, rather than just your dedication to the game itself. But overall, this Uplay is just another hub to bring more uneccessary adverts and lock the customer in a very unfriendly commitment to a company which seems to lie more than what their customer would. Anyhow, back to the game. The singleplayer as a whole is quite astounding, with real and round character development, combined with an engaging environment and tons of activities to do in this game. while you play as a seemingly spoiled college frat boy, you actually almost immediately get past his stereotypes and see the real human in him, and you can see him slowly develop from a person who only knew the life of luxury to a hard-boiled survivalist, something that a lot of games have trouble these days topping off. Jason Brody has morals, and is not a airhead as I thought I'd come to expect. The gameplay itself is also nice, where you can constantly have yourself engaging in a lot of dynamic battles between pirates, hostile animals and maybe even your friends. I do have to say right out the bat that in the singleplayer mode this game provides one of the best pyrotechnics I have ever seen (you can even hear the trees crackle as they burn and the fire spread!). There are a whole assortment of weapons and traps to choose from, varying between out in the open to overall stealthy, and the stealth mode in this game also has a big improvement, with individual enemy indicators rather than universal ones found in Skyrim or Fallout. Skinning animals actually comes to use, as you can use the skins to increase the capacity of ammo, how many weapons you can hold, or aid of the matter. There are internet challenges you can engage in around the singleplayer world, where you can compete with your friends to have your name stamped on a bright red rock as the champion of said challenge. Skills not only diversified but having these skills adds tattoos to your arm, and you can see how detailed your arm will become after amassing a large amount of skills. You can also gain signature weapons from completing other challenges, like collecting relics or lost letters, and there is also a radio tower part of gameplay that works not unlike the Assassin's Creed towers, where you can reveal the map and have certain guns be free for purchase (not the attachments, however). Now, I would say that the singleplayer on it's own would be enough to get this game immediately, but this game is so much more give than take. There is a co-op mode (although it's more of a big shooting gallery with pyrotechnics), a multiplayer mode (with loadouts that you can use in co-op as well) and even a map editor, which allows for much more replayability with the multiplayer even after reaching the highest rank (and you will get there fast, believe me.) There is a decoding system that allows you to get certain camoflauge that also serve to provide some certain attributes to your weapons, and urges you to keep playing as theses decoders are "decoding". Other than the blatant ad spam that is the Uplay system, with a facebook like dashboard that puts a status of you every time you either get top score on a match or complete a challenge, to which people can "like" them. I don't really see the point of this at all as it doesn't serve any purpose to popularize yourself or having any control over what status' should be shown, much less even make your own. But, apart from that, This game is wholly wonderful and you will spend oodles of hours playing player made maps, or making your own, and especially getting some singleplayer in. Hear that, Battlefield 3? This is how you make multiplayer AND singleplayer just as good. Expand
  14. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    After finally finishing the campaign, I can safely give Far Cry 3 a 9 out of 10. The story is easy to follow but still engaging. There are some emotional moments here and there, but that is not the moral of the story, the point of this game is survival. You hunt animals and people, try to save your captured friends, drive, glide, parkour, kill, dive, explore, and the list goes on andAfter finally finishing the campaign, I can safely give Far Cry 3 a 9 out of 10. The story is easy to follow but still engaging. There are some emotional moments here and there, but that is not the moral of the story, the point of this game is survival. You hunt animals and people, try to save your captured friends, drive, glide, parkour, kill, dive, explore, and the list goes on and on. The side missions are short but sweet, and most have them have a funny ending to them. Crafting is an important element to the game. You must hunt for game and collect herbs to craft materials and tools such as wallets, ammo pouches, and medicine. You can play the game however you want. You have the choice to take down the bad guys using stealth, brute frontal assault, or a mixture of both! There are some problems with the game that forces me to give this game only a 9 out of 10. First, the glitches are abundant in this game. There is one glitch where the shadow of your gun is permanently stuck on the ground and will follow you until you exit the game and come back. Enemies will sometimes see you through walls and trees, but you can't see them. This will cause them to ring the alarm, which will call for reinforcements. (Reinforcements are a pain in the A** to deal with) Those are the only problems I have with the game, but the rest is pure awesomeness. This game is a must buy game. This is a definite nominee for GOTY. Expand
  15. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    Thank God for Ubisoft Montreal an the Canadians for saving my gaming year. This year was set to be one of the greatest years in gaming ever with so many hotly anticipated AAA titles all releasing in time for Christmas, then many of them turning out to be a disapointment. I personaly had my eye on Hitman Absolution and Far Cry 3, Hitman Absolution turned out to be a huge disapointment asThank God for Ubisoft Montreal an the Canadians for saving my gaming year. This year was set to be one of the greatest years in gaming ever with so many hotly anticipated AAA titles all releasing in time for Christmas, then many of them turning out to be a disapointment. I personaly had my eye on Hitman Absolution and Far Cry 3, Hitman Absolution turned out to be a huge disapointment as it took away all the huge free roam do what you want when you want as you want....but thanks to Far Cry 3 that huge free roam do what you want when you want as you want is all here intact just like it was in Far Cry 2 (which i also loved). Far Cry 3 is VERY ambitious, the map is 10x the size of Far Cry 2 and has 10x as much going on in it. One of the big things you will notice is how many animals this game has , i think it pretty much has every animal in the world in it, all of which look surprisingly good and roam around the living world grazing or being chased an eaten by prey, for instance you will witness tigers, jaguars, bears, komdo dragons etc chasing and eating wild boars, buffalo ,deer etc etc, or see people down by the stream suddenly get attacked an eaten by crocodiles (they all chase and eat you too) or great white sharks will circle an investigate your boat an give it a lil nibble before darting off, or will attack you if in the water. Then there are smaller fish like beautiful coral reef fish to small lake fish all darting around, tiny bugs and birds to parrots to crabs etc etc, the whole island just feels alive like a real island and gives you a sense of paranoia that your being stalked (sometimes you are by a bear or something). You also have to kill and use these animals to make gun holsters, ruck sacks,pouches etc as you progress, more difficult animals make for bigger holsters.pouches etc. Graphically the game looks great but you cant help but feel its trying to scream out "i know i know Im sorry, Im supposed to be next gen, gimmie a break" everything around you looks very well detailed and very close to Far Cry 2's graphics, but then things way way off in the backround like a few mountains look pretty bad, its as if the game is far too big and ambitious for current gen consoles, but on the whole if you liked Far Cry 2's graphics then you will like this, close up its very pretty an very detailed and because the game is so big with so much content you can forgive the few bad parts off in the far backround. It has a great selection of guns that can be bought an modified,from pistols to sniper rifles to rocket launches to bow an arrows, theres a big selection. The cutscenes look beautiful an the story is pretty cool too.It has lots of veichles from cars, boats, jet skis, quad bikes, handgliders, jeeps etc. Ive been playing forrrr aboooout 9 or 10 hours on medium difficulty so far and i dont think ive even scratched the surface of the campaign an only explored about a 1/3 of the map so far. This really is a great an beautiful looking game that will keep you entertained for ages, well worth the full price and gets my vote for game of the year. (Although i havent played Assasins Creed 3 yet as its wrapped up nicely under the tree waiting for Christmas day) having said that im a huge fan of open world sanboxs that i can explore an do as i wish in, so Far Cry 3 will still probably get my game of the year award. Expand
  16. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    Far Cry 3 is probably my favourite game of 2012. I stopped short of giving it a ten due to some technical issues on 360, and some minor annoyances. Far Cry 3 gives you an intelligent story that points out glorifying violence is insane, not a good thing. It gives you all kinds of interesting characters, but one of them dies way too prematurely. The gameplay is fantastic, giving you allFar Cry 3 is probably my favourite game of 2012. I stopped short of giving it a ten due to some technical issues on 360, and some minor annoyances. Far Cry 3 gives you an intelligent story that points out glorifying violence is insane, not a good thing. It gives you all kinds of interesting characters, but one of them dies way too prematurely. The gameplay is fantastic, giving you all sorts of ways to approach outposts. And light RPG elements give Brody a sense of progression. This choice is taken away during the story missions, which are often more linear and scripted about things. But that doesn't feel like a negative because they are so well designed. The soundtrack is outstanding. Exciting during fights, tense during stealth, and sad when it needs to be. On the downsides, things will get a little repetitive if you try to 100% it. The only way to interact with the world is to shoot it or stab it. So I would recommending wrapping up once you've had your fill, and not forcing yourself to do everything. Weapon wise, you have a nice range of choices but starts to feels a little stunted for a game this huge. On 360, there's annoying framerate issues when things get really busy, and pop-in. Water textures are also a little bizarre. I think these are small issues when taken in the context of a wider game which provides so much fun and choice. Where other shooters are slowly chipping away at what players can choose to do, FC3 hands it back to the player in a crazy and interesting world with an intriguing story and great soundtrack. Expand
  17. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    People spend a ton of time comparing FC3 to other games that they lose sight of what it really is. Don't bother asking, "Is it really like Skyrim with guns?" or, "Is it really an FPS Red Dead Redemption or Just Cause?" because it's not. I started into this game with those expectations, and while they work in the simplest of simple terms, Far Cry 3 is a surprisingly unique experience thatPeople spend a ton of time comparing FC3 to other games that they lose sight of what it really is. Don't bother asking, "Is it really like Skyrim with guns?" or, "Is it really an FPS Red Dead Redemption or Just Cause?" because it's not. I started into this game with those expectations, and while they work in the simplest of simple terms, Far Cry 3 is a surprisingly unique experience that is worth picking up for fans of FPS and RPGs alike.
    The story sounds pretty cookie-cutter, but gets very unique very quickly. During a vacation, something goes wrong and you and your friends are captives of a band of pirates led by a complete psychopath. You escape, and are loose on a jungle island tasked with finding your friends. There are influences from lots of big-name games present, such as climbing radio towers to un-fuzz the map or branching skill trees that give you new abilities. These influences come together to create an excellent and immersive experience.
    The story is about the only thing set in stone. Like in Far Cry 2, you can approach any mission the way you want to. You can go in guns blazing, sneak in with silenced weapons (that actually do damage this time) or bust out the knife and start cutting people down with the newly added (and stylish) hand-to-hand takedowns that get progressively better as you upgrade them. As far as free will goes, Far Cry 3 is just like its predecessor. That's where it ends, though. I could rattle on for ages about all the individual ways FC3 is better than FC2, but I'll keep it simple and trim it to one word: polish. I might be alone in this, but FC2 just seemed like a rush job. The story made no sense, stealth was damn near impossible with the crappy weapons, and everything felt like it wasn't finished. The developers heard every single complaint with FC2 and fixed in in FC3. No more fighting through the same outpost 238 times an hour. No more incoherent storyline. No more gun jams. And no more starting a new game every time you finish one.
    Overall, I can find almost nothing wrong with Far Cry 3 other than its somewhat goofy vehicle physics and annoying animal combat. The game excels in just about everything it seeks to do, and is one of the best single-player experiences out there. After you beat the story, there isn't much to do other than wandering around, and even then you stumble on little challenges or puzzles to complete. There's also a multiplayer option, though it is neither bad nor particularly interesting. It has all the standard expectations: leveling, co-op, deathmatch, domination modes etc. There's nothing new about it, but multiplayer isn't what Far Cry is about anyway. It's about a single-player experience that obliterates any online gaming, and no shooter does it better than Far Cry 3.
    Expand
  18. Feb 8, 2013
    5
    At it's core, FC3 is a solid FPS with an open-world setting. In addition, they make you unlock moves and power-ups through a shallow leveling system. Because of this, some people have compared FC3 to Skyrim and even gone so far as to say it is an RPG/FPS akin to Fallout 3. They are so very, very wrong and I will never forgive those friends of mine who said such lies. Skyrim shouldn'tAt it's core, FC3 is a solid FPS with an open-world setting. In addition, they make you unlock moves and power-ups through a shallow leveling system. Because of this, some people have compared FC3 to Skyrim and even gone so far as to say it is an RPG/FPS akin to Fallout 3. They are so very, very wrong and I will never forgive those friends of mine who said such lies. Skyrim shouldn't even be brought up, really. The RPG elements are mostly superficial and unnecessary. Most games of this type would just dole out the moves/power-ups as you progressed or teach you the moves through a lengthy tutorial instead. FC3 just found another way to do it that allows for a tiny, tiny amount of customization. That's fine and all, but seriously, if you gave the player all those moves right from the start, I doubt it would alter the gameplay very much. I kind of think it would improve it. Also, for such a dull story, they really make you wallow in it at times.
    FC3 looks and sounds great and controls very, very well. If you can't get enough of first-person shooters, you'll probably love this game. I, on the other hand, am growing tired of the repetitiveness of the FPS genre and FC3 does nothing to improve my attitude. If you're like me, this is strictly a rental.
    Expand
  19. Feb 14, 2013
    6
    Don't believe the hype. While Far Cry 3 is a solid game, it lacks the depth needed to be truly excellent. Full Review Here http://alloyseven.com/articles/game/item/83-fc3qr
  20. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    Grade: high end of 8.5, singelplayer 10,Multiplayer 7. Gameplay (reviewed on normal diff): Singleplayer;starts a little slow and easy makeing it a little boring but after an hour or so gets addictive,fun,and hard to put down. It is a real treat and lots of content, will have you jumping back like a scary movie at many differnt turns, a true open world (U do not have to turn on radio towersGrade: high end of 8.5, singelplayer 10,Multiplayer 7. Gameplay (reviewed on normal diff): Singleplayer;starts a little slow and easy makeing it a little boring but after an hour or so gets addictive,fun,and hard to put down. It is a real treat and lots of content, will have you jumping back like a scary movie at many differnt turns, a true open world (U do not have to turn on radio towers or use fast travel its up to U,some parts of missions do make you stay on mission track for a small time). Autosave is execuded near perfect, best I have seen in most games. Fast travel is great (did get glitch stuck around 4 times during game and fast travel set me free). Mini games are plentiful and chalenging but with the exception of trials there is no score traking I found (did I beat this min game alreay on hardest dif and what was my time? glitch if you drive to race mini vehicle to get there will be gone win or lose you may be walking). Controls are superb. Exploring; caves, underwater wreckage, WWII bunkers, Jungles filled with wild animals could not ask for more.multiplayer; nothing special and co-op is fun and would bring my multiplayer score up if it was not so buggy to point of needing an emrgency patch. Graphics: Amazing waxy look like a bannana plant is that real or fake love em, Water is flat at time ocean is more like the gulf,but this game has the bext underwater,scare the hell out of yaand makes you fill like you are swimming graphics I have ever seen. sky; lighting is gorgeouse, but no moving cloudes(there are formation change from night to day smart), rain is superb. sound: Great music, main charecter is disapointing, why do we have to sound like a puss, when all the other charecters are so tough love em all. Effects are all superb. Menu: skill tree takes away from open world do to fact item locks are implemended till finishing some missions one point I had 4 skills to spend over 4000xp and no unloked skills available to choose,there is no real path ut is more an xp store, like the Idea and earning skills(which realy as great skills to learn) but the tree wass poorly designed. Letters, Loot,and relics; have funny descrips with the excepiton of relics which seemed to be unfinshed(find a relic menu has you look at it no description after 120 times going in menu to remove notification gets annoying). Encycopedia;is hilarious and a pleaure to few from animals,guns,people,and vehicles, grade A+. Get this game if you loved Far Cry 2 or are new to liberating 3rd world countries. Expand
  21. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    So here's the thing. I've just created this account on metacritic with the sole purpose of telling you all how absolutely epic, farcry 3 is. I've played games my entire existence from mario, to resident evil to portal to gears of war etc. but nothing comes even close to this game. From start to finish, the game is completely flawless. Not one bug, not one stupid bit, not one moment ofSo here's the thing. I've just created this account on metacritic with the sole purpose of telling you all how absolutely epic, farcry 3 is. I've played games my entire existence from mario, to resident evil to portal to gears of war etc. but nothing comes even close to this game. From start to finish, the game is completely flawless. Not one bug, not one stupid bit, not one moment of frustration, just pure entertainment value from a absolutely incredible game. For me this has to be the greatest game of all time. I'm on my 6th play through of it and I am still enjoying it, and I never usually go back and play games. All I'm saying is, Vass is a cult legend of gaming. This game is epic. Expand
  22. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    The game is great, it is the best far cry that has been made. The leveling system is deep although I found that I had myself completely leveled before I had even finshed all of my side missions which made them feel pointless. It is a great game that can make you feel like a bad ass and there are many ways to get things done. I prefer the sniper rifle and assault rifle. I did everything inThe game is great, it is the best far cry that has been made. The leveling system is deep although I found that I had myself completely leveled before I had even finshed all of my side missions which made them feel pointless. It is a great game that can make you feel like a bad ass and there are many ways to get things done. I prefer the sniper rifle and assault rifle. I did everything in the game. replay ability isn't there for me but it should be played for the experience at least once all the way though Expand
  23. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    Solid shooting mechanics, a surprising attention put towards narrative (to which it mostly hits home) and a large, densely populated world with a lot of interesting, worthwhile, and, most importantly, fun content to take part in.

    Up to even a few weeks before launch, Far Cry 3 was not exactly a game that was high on my list. While I thoroughly enjoyed Far Cry: Instincts Predator when it
    Solid shooting mechanics, a surprising attention put towards narrative (to which it mostly hits home) and a large, densely populated world with a lot of interesting, worthwhile, and, most importantly, fun content to take part in.

    Up to even a few weeks before launch, Far Cry 3 was not exactly a game that was high on my list. While I thoroughly enjoyed Far Cry: Instincts Predator when it released on the 360 a fair few years back, it's follow-up (by name alone), Far Cry 2, did little to impress me and much to annoy me. As for Far Cry 3, it is certainly very comparable to the experience found in Far Cry 2, except now with the lack of questionable game mechanics, annoying traveling (it is there, just handled far better this time around) and infuriating ai. Ultimately, Far Cry 3 is essentially Far Cry 2, simply executed far better this time around. If you saw the promise of the series' prior release, but were let down with the end product, it might be worth your time checking this one out. For me, this is certainly a strong contender for my personal game of the year. It's an extremely solid game that seems to have hit, and properly, all of the goals it set to make.
    Expand
  24. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    The game is simply amazing. You really get into that big and beautiful jungle full of wildlife and hostality. It has been a while since I played a good but at the same time big game as this one. All the features are great and even though the storyline is very good you can have much fun doing other things beside the main plot. Also the crafting system is great, in my opinion not too muchThe game is simply amazing. You really get into that big and beautiful jungle full of wildlife and hostality. It has been a while since I played a good but at the same time big game as this one. All the features are great and even though the storyline is very good you can have much fun doing other things beside the main plot. Also the crafting system is great, in my opinion not too much complicated and perfectly balanced with the game itself. The multiplayer I just managed to try it out and it looks good but since there are not so many players yet there has been a rather big difference between those who already tried it out and those who are new. Even though that my video card is not the recommended one I can enjoy the game with the most things set on high and that makes me even more happy. Expand
  25. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    one of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first personone of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first person shooters you will find the controls very easy to learn.Though this game is a bit difficult all this means is you have to think what to do next on how to accomplish your mission.Far Cry 3 is an amazing game and as you play the game you know the creators took their time making this game and at the end they produced on of 2012 best games.If you love first person shooter's then I strongly recommend this and if you still not convinced just read the other reviews and if you're still not convinced look at the reviews from the critics.Forget the negative reviews those people just don't know what a good game is.Far Cry 3 is by far the best and most addictive and fun filled open world game I have played in a while.It is the type of game that keeps you hooked to your TV screen for hours on end and when you go to sleep you even dream of the game.Thank you Ubisoft for making such amazing and highly addictive games. Expand
  26. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    A truly excellent game. I like RPGs but for me they are sometimes too daunting. For example, Fallout and Skyrim are great games but there is such a vast amount to do it is off-putting. Far Cry 3 has found the perfect balance, offering a challenge yet not overwhelming the gamer with too much to do, not knowing where to start. The missions offer great variety and are cinematic andA truly excellent game. I like RPGs but for me they are sometimes too daunting. For example, Fallout and Skyrim are great games but there is such a vast amount to do it is off-putting. Far Cry 3 has found the perfect balance, offering a challenge yet not overwhelming the gamer with too much to do, not knowing where to start. The missions offer great variety and are cinematic and exciting. The side missions are slightly repetitive but this is compensated for by the various approaches available to tackle a mission, for example go all out guns blazing or go for stealth. Overall, Far Cry 3 doesn't take itself too seriously and puts fun back into RPGs. Expand
  27. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    Keep in mind that these are only initial impressions from the first 6 or so hours of gameplay. Overall, I'm impressed with this game! It's gorgeous, and the sound design is pretty good. I refuse to critique a story until I've finished the game, but so far it has me hooked. I did suffer from a few performance issues with the game, and odd glitches here and there (this is almost aKeep in mind that these are only initial impressions from the first 6 or so hours of gameplay. Overall, I'm impressed with this game! It's gorgeous, and the sound design is pretty good. I refuse to critique a story until I've finished the game, but so far it has me hooked. I did suffer from a few performance issues with the game, and odd glitches here and there (this is almost a standard in any sandbox game it seems). There are a few issues with AI I've noticed.... they can either be really dumb or downright cheap (spot me from 300 yards away when I'm not moving and hidden by underbrush???) But overall it's a great sandbox experience! I recommend this to both FPS and openworld Sandbox fans. Expand
  28. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    UPDATE: after playing this game some more, my original score of 7 seems a little generous. I would like to make some complaints starting with the graphics. The frame rate is quite bad for starters. Also, as you approach some objects in the game world you'll notice they kind of ''de-rez'' and reappear for some odd reason. Like a lamp or piece of equipment on the ground. WTF is up withUPDATE: after playing this game some more, my original score of 7 seems a little generous. I would like to make some complaints starting with the graphics. The frame rate is quite bad for starters. Also, as you approach some objects in the game world you'll notice they kind of ''de-rez'' and reappear for some odd reason. Like a lamp or piece of equipment on the ground. WTF is up with that? Getting a close up kill or searching a body reveals horrible textures and the see through effect. Oh yeah, the water is horrible too. It barely moves no matter if you're looking at it from the ground or swimming on the surface. Hardly any animations. Now if water didn't play such a large part in the game environment I would forgive this but for taking place on a huge group of islands you can't help but notice how bad it looks every time you play. Bioshock from 5 years back has water that looks lightyears ahead of FC3. The animals are cool but their sounds get annoying really fast. If there's a big group of them together it sounds ridiculous. The enemy chatter is repetitious, all you hear from them is complaints of the heat and getting VD. Hate to continue the negatives here but there are many. The menu system is poorly designed and convoluted. The game is constantly throwing messages at you on screen which is distracting. Compared to FC2, FC3 has made some improvements. No more respawning enemies and easier fast travel to name a couple. Overall, it just feels rehashed and tired to me though. I actually prefer FC2 overall I think...call me crazy I know. Expand
  29. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This is hands down one of the best open world games I have ever played. They get so much right and only minor details can be listed in the cons for this game. The story, the voice acting, the gameplay. They knock everything out of the park. This is the best FarCry game to date, and one of the best FPS titles of the year.
  30. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    and here we have it, to be honest, Far Cry 2 was a good game, but not quite my cup of tea, it just didn't seem that interesting, and Far Cry 1 I never played it. But I knew what they were all about.
    So my review goes like this: I'm a huge Assassin's Creed fan, and I've been waiting for AC3 for a while, but when it came out, the game was a huge mess. And Far Cry 3 had been delayed. AC3 had
    and here we have it, to be honest, Far Cry 2 was a good game, but not quite my cup of tea, it just didn't seem that interesting, and Far Cry 1 I never played it. But I knew what they were all about.
    So my review goes like this: I'm a huge Assassin's Creed fan, and I've been waiting for AC3 for a while, but when it came out, the game was a huge mess. And Far Cry 3 had been delayed. AC3 had so many missions, hunting side stuff, challenges, but yet, none gave you anything worth it, the only fun I had was combat and Naval Missions. The game broke my heart.

    But here we have a little bit of what AC3 has, except it MAKES SENSE here, rewarding loot, experience points that actually mean something, hunting is actually needed and fun, the driving is a bit clunky, yes. But overall I'd say this is a GOTY contender, for me
    Expand
  31. Dec 24, 2012
    0
    An island sandbox with elements of Assassin's Creed (climbing tall phallus shaped objects), Red Dead Redemption (hunting), and World of Warcraft (terrible skill tree). First, the worst part of the game is the addition by duck tape of a bare bones RPG skill tree. The skill tree, by the end of the game will feel like it was a cocoon wrapped around you preventing you from playing how youAn island sandbox with elements of Assassin's Creed (climbing tall phallus shaped objects), Red Dead Redemption (hunting), and World of Warcraft (terrible skill tree). First, the worst part of the game is the addition by duck tape of a bare bones RPG skill tree. The skill tree, by the end of the game will feel like it was a cocoon wrapped around you preventing you from playing how you should have played from the first minute on. The best part of the game is that it it is easily the most responsive shooter I have ever played. When playing you will feel like you are in more control of Brody than any game character you have played. Every shot you miss, you will never feel like it is lag. The game is so responsive, you will unconsciously take responsibility for ever mistep you make.

    I score it down because, like Darksiders 2, Far Cry 3 should have been in development for another 3 to 6 months. In short, the first half of the game is brilliant, while the latter half plays like a pc tech demo.
    Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3 reaches for greatness, but falls short at merely being really fun. It has a few hiccups here and there and the story is very thin, but the exploration and combat really shine. It's a worthy addition to any collection.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Almost everything about Far Cry 3 speaks to the game’s skilled, confident and tightly interwoven design, and players are free to seek their specific flavour of gratification and victory as Jason becomes the most dangerous animal on the island.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The freeform combat, gorgeous locations, and excellent multiplayer are strong, and Far Cry 3 does a fantastic job of putting the player in the middle of a lawless, chaotic world and letting them get up to whatever they please. Yes, video games are capable of achieving much more than Far Cry 3 does, but it makes a persuasive argument that there's nothing wrong with a guilty pleasure now and again—especially when it's as slickly presented as this is.