User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1010 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Unlike most of the boring and generic FPS out there, this game lets you roam far and wide, wherever the hell you want. It's more like borderlands 2 than any other FPS I can think of. Even a little similar to assassin's creed. Definitely has an RPG element to it, but don't go thinking you're buying final fantasy. It's a bloody, gory and brutal FPS to the core! Just don't expect run and gun, but also not exactly stealth either. I guess it's pretty unique! Expand
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Maybe I'm a bit of a psychopath: the violence in this game is hands down my favorite aspect. None of the leading FPS out there are this brutal. You can see from the video episodes they were leading up to it. Far more brutal than the previous games. Almost as bad as survival horror but not quite. Awesome gaming violence!
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    fc2 was a piece of trash but THIS GAME IS NOT. I don't know how they went from making GAME OF THE GARBAGE (GOTG) to GAME OF THE YEAR (GOTY). Seriously this is the best shooter I've played on 360 probably even in my entire life! Freaking ridiciulous action, the A.I. Is SMOOTH and unpredictable. The graphics are MOUTH WATERING. You won't believe your eyes. Even the plot is super good. F****** amazing game. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    If you can get past the ample screen tearing and poor framerate, Far Cry 3 is or is one of the best games of the year. The gunplay is some of the best I've experienced all gen. Finally a game where the enemies aren't all bullet sponges. People without armor are finished in 2-3 shots while the heavily armored guys require a couple of clips ( or better yet, a couple grenade arrows). The action and animation make you forget about visuals allowing for an incredibly immersive experience and the gameplay doesn't get stale due to the myriad of combat strategies and the visceral gunplay which benefits greatly from realistic enemy health amounts. I almost didn't buy it because I'm a total graphics whore but I love the game, it's the quintessential triumph of gameplay over graphics. If you have a PC that can handle it, get it on that instead but I'm loving it on 360 despite the very overly stressed engine. Lastly, the pacing stinks - I have no idea how the main character becomes Rambo after never firing a gun prior. Notwithstanding, the voice acting and interesting characters (aside from the boring protagonist) make for an entertaining SP campaign. Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    As an "older" gamer with young kids, it's not often I'm interested enough to actually play through an entire game. But Far Cry 3 has the right mix of interesting storyline, good gameplay, satisfying item development, enjoyable skill trees, and enough detail to keep me coming back for more. As others have said there are many enjoyable options to approaching any battle situation, from close-quarters stealth takedowns, to sniping from afar, to the balls-to-the-wall guns blazing approach. I would give this game 9.5 overall, which rounds up to 10 in my opinion. Definitely one of the best games of 2012, not to be missed and well worth the investment. Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    It's nothing revolutionary but there is no better way to spend your evenings, or even entire days. A major improvement from Far Cry 2. The stealth, the music, the voice acting, the believable story. Vaas and Hoyt are 2 or the greatest villains in video game history. It's just fun.
  7. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    This is hands down one of the best open world games I have ever played. They get so much right and only minor details can be listed in the cons for this game. The story, the voice acting, the gameplay. They knock everything out of the park. This is the best FarCry game to date, and one of the best FPS titles of the year.
  8. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Many aspects of Far Cry 3 take credit for the undeniable perfection of the game. 1. Visually we are presented to a world with an immense feeling of variety and depth, so far unmatched. The jungle of Rook Islands is first-of-a-kind creation in gaming history, only rivaled by Skyrim (mod'ed) imo. 2. Far Cry 3 is stuffed with amazing characters that keeps getting more crazy as the game progresses, but above all stands Vaas: so crazy, so funny, so scary, so ambivalent, FC3 has gotten its own Dark Knight Joker. 3. The synthesis of camera, music, sounds, visuals and continuity when we explore the Rook Islands is everything Far Cry 2 didnt have, especially the continuity. We would perform the same identical actions over n over n over again, the definition of insanity... In FC3 we do the exact same things over n over n over again, but because the game in visuals and experience is so tasty, u feel like u could go on forever liberating outposts and rerouting radio-towers. 4. Our main character, Jason. Finally a game that shows interest in the fact that killing does change you. Jason goes through a psychological development that I personally haven't seen the likes of ever, this is also why Vaas is so important, there is such a strong relation between him and Jason that grows as Jason keeps rampaging. All these games about killing, shooting, murdering, never have I seen any sign of these actions affecting the main characters. A unique touch to FC3 without doubt, and it succeeds without doubt. I would keep praising this game in all eternity, but these aspects are more that enough for a 10.
    Buy it n enjoy it, definitely worth it.
    Expand
  9. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    one of the best games of 2012 is Far Cry 3.This is an amazing game very addictive and fun to play.From the start the storyline is done perfectly as you get deeper into the game it becomes very addictive.From the amazing graphics to the smooth gameplay and the easy controls this game is truly one of the best first person shooter's I have ever played.Even if you are new to the first person shooters you will find the controls very easy to learn.Though this game is a bit difficult all this means is you have to think what to do next on how to accomplish your mission.Far Cry 3 is an amazing game and as you play the game you know the creators took their time making this game and at the end they produced on of 2012 best games.If you love first person shooter's then I strongly recommend this and if you still not convinced just read the other reviews and if you're still not convinced look at the reviews from the critics.Forget the negative reviews those people just don't know what a good game is.Far Cry 3 is by far the best and most addictive and fun filled open world game I have played in a while.It is the type of game that keeps you hooked to your TV screen for hours on end and when you go to sleep you even dream of the game.Thank you Ubisoft for making such amazing and highly addictive games. Expand
  10. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    This game is out right phenomenal. Everything from the graphics, (minor screen tear on Xbox but not too bad) voice acting, gameplay, and for how long it is, its one of the best campaigns I've ever played in a game and that's saying something. 30 hour campaign? Yes please! All this and I didn't even mention the beefy multiplayer mode, coop, and it even has a damn map editor! You can make maps and host games on them as well. All this for just 60$? Hell yeah! Ubisoft has really out done themselves. GOTY in my opinion. I also forgot to mention that Vaas is one of the best villains in gaming! Get this now and support this excellent game! Expand
  11. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using their skin to craft new items like wallets or ammo holsters which enable you to carry more money and ammo. I love the story and all the crazy vehicles you have at your disposal. The graphics aren't top notch, but it still manages to take your breath away and look extraordinary. I highly recommend anyone and everyone to buy this game as it's now became one of my favorite games. I wouldn't be surprised if Far Cry 3 won game of the year cause it sure as hell deserves it. Expand
  12. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    this game is great and far cry 3 is big sand box You can kill animals whenever you want Far Cry 3 is all the best things about open-world gaming. It's a glorious anecdote factory, where you manufacture brilliant new memories every time you wake up in a safehouse and head out into the jungle d it always lets you play, but it also controls the tempo - sometimes a little heavy-handedly, but always with good intentionsou have a fully featured single-player game that lasts upward of 35 hours or more, depending on how much you want to do. Kills earn you experience, Corpses and chests can be looted for cash and saleable items; you then buy new weapons and maps and to replenish ammo at safe houses. Out in the wild, you collect plant life of various kinds so that you can fill syringes with meds that heal you, make you less vulnerable, or enhance your senses. Expand
  13. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    I wasn't too sure whether to buy this game as never really been a fan of any of the Far Cry games. But one of my friends persuaded me to pop out and get it.
    I'm glad that I did as it is an epic game. you don't have to follow the missions, only doing them when you want to. And you can spend hours hunting animals or taking over camps.
  14. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    I've played every big game this year and this by far beats them all. amazing graphics solid game play, amazing fps, this game has something for everyone. best part for me is about to snipe in to an enemy camp and suddenly your hear a growl behind you turn around and theres a lion ready to pounce and kill you!!! cant praise this game enough the story plus side missions is well over 35hr+ game play even just free roaming has you constantly battling with the jungle. this by far is GOTY by far best far cry to date and probably best game i've ever played. Expand
  15. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    Amazing game gorgeous graphics amazing weapons and all round fun. The game has one heck of a storyline that made me cry. The guns are great, the bow is one the best with the wind drop. The action is incredible. This is hands down the best game of 2012 well done ubisoft
  16. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Having never played a Far Cry game before, I decided to try this one, not expecting to be as blown away as I was. Far cry 3 is no doubt one of the best games I've played in years. The graphics are stunning and the visual animations are fantastic. The sound effects are also varied and very realistic. The huge far cry world is completely immersive, and when paired with an intense story line, creates an unmissable experience. Expand
  17. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    I rarely write reviews on ths site since its full of hate and contradiction,but when games like Far Cry 3 come along i cant help it but share my thoughts.This is a beautiful game,and im not talkin about the graphics.After finishing it i felt empty,thats how good it is.The story gets u hooked nearly all the time u play,but the thing i admired most about this game was the level design.I was surprised by this game in many ways.When u see the trailers it looks like just another COD,but hunting a shark in FC3 is more suspenfull then the last COD game itself!!The missions were a strong point of this game cause they always mix shooting,climbing,stealth and exploring in marvelous ways....The only negative thing about this game could be some screen tearing and an isolated case when a glitch occurs.The sound is fantastic,guns ,animals,enemy's feel real and the voice acting is top notch.The main character is believeable and his actions affect him in every step of your journey.The villains were very well writen especially Vass and Buck.I've played all big games this year and this is my best game shoulder to shoulder with Dishonored.I dont care about MP so if u want a rly strong SP experience try this game out.Cheers Expand
  18. Jan 7, 2013
    10
    Usually G4TV's reviews feel almost like they were paid off by the company, but they are so spot on it's sick. This game is incredible. That's the only word that can describe it. The most captivating game I've ever played. I loved Far Cry 1 and 2, but this is a game you get your money's worth 10 fold. Don't think twice about it... besides possibly Bioshock and Watch Dogs, game of the year.
  19. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    Miles better than Far Cry 2 overall, now you don't have to drive tediously to your next objective and enemies doesn't pop out of nowhere harassing you while driving. Hunting for upgrades is a real nice touch to the game as well as the leveling system
  20. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    and here we have it, to be honest, Far Cry 2 was a good game, but not quite my cup of tea, it just didn't seem that interesting, and Far Cry 1 I never played it. But I knew what they were all about.
    So my review goes like this: I'm a huge Assassin's Creed fan, and I've been waiting for AC3 for a while, but when it came out, the game was a huge mess. And Far Cry 3 had been delayed. AC3 had
    so many missions, hunting side stuff, challenges, but yet, none gave you anything worth it, the only fun I had was combat and Naval Missions. The game broke my heart.

    But here we have a little bit of what AC3 has, except it MAKES SENSE here, rewarding loot, experience points that actually mean something, hunting is actually needed and fun, the driving is a bit clunky, yes. But overall I'd say this is a GOTY contender, for me
    Expand
  21. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    Far Cry 3 is one of the best games of 2012, ill go as far as saying one of the best games this gen in certain areas. You play as Jason Brody, a spoiled rich kid from America who is off partying with his brothers Grant and Riley plus all your friends when you are kidnapped by pirate slavers on the beautiful Rook Island. In an attempt to escape, Grant is shot and killed by the pirates leader Vaas Montenegro and you are left stranded on the island. With the help of the local tribe, The Rakyat and some others willing to stab Vaas and his boss Hoyt in the back and take back the island you embark on a 40+ hour journey of off the rails action as your mind slowly succumbs to insanity.
    You are given a massive playground with the north and south sections of Rook Island with no loading times, hundreds of side missions & activities and a gripping main storyline alongside a robust skills & weapon upgrade system.
    Far Cry 3 is easily one of the best sandbox titles this decade, one of the best shooters and has an excellent but dark and twisted story that isn't afraid to show you what others wouldn't, a must play.
    Expand
  22. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    I counted the other day that I've completed at least 22 Xbox games' single player campaigns and also played many other games I haven't bothered finishing Far Cry 3 is in the top 3 games I have played It's an open world FPS and will take up a lot of your time very good value for money Great main story with a vast amount of other content including taking out military bases by stealh or all guns blazing

    A good leveling up system and much more to keep you busy

    I know everyone is entitled to their own opinion but I can't understand the few negative reviews on this site

    If you buy one FPS this generation make it this one
    Expand
  23. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Absolutely in love with this game. A huge, beautiful and great, living world with many of things to do besides the very well executed missions. While Ubisoft tried to make their previous installment Far Cry 2 immersive it almost went controversy and a little too realistic. Jamming guns, a lack of hud mode and an overall lack of gameplay features drive you away from the experience. In Far Cry 3, things have changed. With the new introduced RPG elements, abilities to craft and the ability to use stealth against your enemies, it actually became lots of fun to travel instead of frustrating. Far Cry 3 offers us what the openworld genre is supposed to offer, while the previous installment was good, it lacked many things that other openworld games had to offer. Besides the addictive singleplayer campaign, there's also a little uninspired, but yet so fun multiplayer with a huge map editor, allowing the people who love to be creative almost unlimited hours of fun. The 6 hour Coop is pretty interesting also, but i personally see much more potential in the Map editors sandbox mode, allowing you to put AI in your maps. Imagine if Ubisoft skipped this whole coop and made it possible for the player to create their OWN coop, each with it's own map and objective. This way, the AI that Ubisoft introduced us would be where it really belongs. Now Far Cry 3 isn't flawless, but offers so much fun and an almost unlimited amount of replay value, making it my personal Game Of The Year 2012. Expand
  24. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    First off this game is perfect, now that I have said that, I would like to say I did not like Far Cry 2, the main problem was the malaria, breakable weapons and all around boring to the core, well with this game they have not just fixed these problems but added a lot of great things to it. The first thing I would like to talk about the game is the hunting mechanics because this is my favourite part of the game, hands down. I love the way hunting is done, from the rewards that come with skinning an animal to unpredictable animal encounters. What made it great was having the bow because this weapon is probably one of the best weapons I have ever used, great for taking out animals as well as using it to stealthily kill everyone in a camp without being detected. Everything else is great about the game too, the characters are fun and interesting, especially Vaas and the gameplay is fun too. The missions are fun to play and there are plenty of replay value, from side missions to capturing bases. I've gone on too long with this review but I wanted to tell how amazed I was at the game and how fun and big it was, also the map is probably the one of the biggest ones I've seen in a game. Bottom line the game has great gameplay, great characters, great story, great replay value and, of course, a great hunting system. 10/10 (BTW did I mention I love the hunting system?) Expand
  25. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    Amazing, literally amazing. The missions are so much fun, I mean there are some straight forward, kinda meh missions but there soem absolutely bonkers missions which don't even feel like a first person shooter but more of a japanese insanity game. seriously though, this game is my favourite game of 2011 - 2013. it is absolutely beautiful, the graphics, the story, it's so compelling and you really become jason, the protagonist. he slowly becomes more insane and more hungry to just kill, you get that same feeling as you get more skills, especially takedowns, they inspire my bloodlust in the game. A MUST BUY. Expand
  26. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    A game to dive into, experiment and explore. Easily one of the best shooters ever, better even than the original Far Cry. Story and setting are incredible, gameplay is king.
  27. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    After playing this for over 25 hours now, I can honestly say this is probably my favorite game of all time. I have never played any of the Far Crys before this one, but I will be picking up 2 after I am done with this. I don't expect 2 to be as good as 3 but if it's half as good it should still be a great game. This is most definately a must buy. GOTY
  28. Dec 26, 2012
    10
    I think this game is amazing most addictive single player in a long time. Cant believe what some people are moaning about. "getting headaches" ! MAN UP! "Only bought it for the map editor" If thats how you get your kicks then your boring.
  29. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    The trailers all said Far Cry 3 is "like Skyrim with guns." Understand that when I say this is untrue, I mean it in a good way. This game, like Far Cry 2, has its own identity, and it is amazing. Perfect for sandbox fans, Far Cry 3 has the crazy fun of Just Cause 2 with the refined gameplay of a modern FPS and a better story than you'll find in either..

    Visuals: 9
    Gameplay: 9.5
    Story:
    8.5
    Variety: 10

    I'd give it an overall 9.5, but if it's 9 or 10 I'd round it up to 10.
    Expand
  30. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    For the 60 dollars you have one of the most enjoyable games of the year!!! Well worth the money I've spent 30 hours looking for relics, hunting and doing missions and only maybe opened about half the map. Im guessing 60 hours of gameplay!! Thats getting my moneys worth!!!
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Apr 8, 2013
    80
    Far Cry 3 reaches for greatness, but falls short at merely being really fun. It has a few hiccups here and there and the story is very thin, but the exploration and combat really shine. It's a worthy addition to any collection.
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    Almost everything about Far Cry 3 speaks to the game’s skilled, confident and tightly interwoven design, and players are free to seek their specific flavour of gratification and victory as Jason becomes the most dangerous animal on the island.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The freeform combat, gorgeous locations, and excellent multiplayer are strong, and Far Cry 3 does a fantastic job of putting the player in the middle of a lawless, chaotic world and letting them get up to whatever they please. Yes, video games are capable of achieving much more than Far Cry 3 does, but it makes a persuasive argument that there's nothing wrong with a guilty pleasure now and again—especially when it's as slickly presented as this is.