Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1052 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Far Cry 3, players assume the role of Jason Brody, a figure alone at the edge of the world, stranded on a mysterious tropical island. In this savage paradise where anarchy and violence are the only sure thing, players dictate how the story unfolds, from the battles they elect to fight to the allies or enemies they make along the way. As Jason Brody, players slash, sneak, detonate and shoot their way across the island in a world that has lost its understanding of what's right and wrong. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Dec 5, 2012
    100
    Aside from the occasional texture glitch or stray enemy phasing into a rock (a problem easily solved with well-placed explosives), Far Cry 3 is a technically brilliant and expertly balanced gameplay experience that offers an immense amount of content and a high degree of polish. At the time of writing I have put nearly 60 hours into it across two playthroughs, and will probably play it a third time on PC later on. I suggest you do the same.
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    100
    Every so often, a game comes along which is so irresistible that it leaves you wondering whether sequelitis might actually be a good thing. Far Cry 3 being a classic example.
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    95
    Far Cry 3 was a shock all around. After being cold on the second game and only mildly excited about the original, I wasn't expecting groundbreaking. FC3 obliterated my expectations and is easily in my top-tier of 2012 games. I can see myself sinking hours into the campaign, and I am stoked to see what people concoct with the map editor over time. If you like FPS games in general, you owe it to yourself to pick up FC3. The game exceeds all expectations and is quickly becoming one I can't stop thinking about when real life takes me away from Rook Island.
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    Far Cry 3 shines in its campaign, which is more layered and compelling than any game proffering a power trip through escapist ultraviolence has any right to be.
  5. Nov 21, 2012
    90
    Easily the best Far Cry game so far, with a near perfect mix of open world exploration, action, impressively ambitious storytelling, and one of gaming's best villains.
  6. Dec 12, 2012
    89
    With freedom comes great responsibility. With a lush world for free-roaming and with freedom to execute your objectives Far Cry 3 delivers. The story missions and characters are not of the same standard but are also not a big annoyance. [Dec 2012]
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    60
    Far Cry 3, a pretty good open-world shooter, is a terrible sequel to Far Cry 2. One of the hallmarks of Far Cry 2 was that you never left the game world, even to check your map. But like many good games, Far Cry 3 is brimming with gamey stuff that takes you out of the world and into the gaminess.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 269
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    I love the intro to the game. I love the open world, I love the huge selection of weapons, the various techniques used to get through missions, like opening tiger cages, sneaking around or just balls to the wall Rambo style. I love how everything in the environment explodes in fires when a car explodes, a flame thrower is used or whatever. I love hunting all the animals and using their skin to craft new items like wallets or ammo holsters which enable you to carry more money and ammo. I love the story and all the crazy vehicles you have at your disposal. The graphics aren't top notch, but it still manages to take your breath away and look extraordinary. I highly recommend anyone and everyone to buy this game as it's now became one of my favorite games. I wouldn't be surprised if Far Cry 3 won game of the year cause it sure as hell deserves it. Expand
  2. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I give this game a 10/10 because well it's a perfect first person shooter. To start this review off, The intro was amazing. I actually thought it was happening until I see that I am locked in a cage having the intro played on the phone by Vaas, the main villain. The story goes as you , Jason Brody, are trapped on an island with your two brothers and your friends. During the game, you come across tigers, lions, practically any animal you can think of. You can skin the animals and make new pouches or sell the skin to get new weapons. There are many weapons in Far Cry 3 , Even a flamethrower ! The games missions are fun and invigorating. Sometimes you will have to press buttons during cut scenes to get away from pirates , the main enemy. The game , aside from main missions, has side quests and other fun activities you can do. for example, you can go hunt animals or pirates and get XP from it. the game also has a skill tree you can use to get upgrades for your character. The map is not fully unlocked once you get in the game , you must activate radio towers (18) of them to unlock more areas of the map. there is also 38 enemy camps you can take over and have fast travel locations. Overall, this game is fun, exciting, and fairly easy. I would recommend this to anyone who likes FPS RPG games. 10/10 Expand
  3. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    Brilliant open world game with so much to see and do. I love games that allow me to explore go anywhere do anything as i wish, and Far Cry 3 allows me to do that and so much more. A few of the missions in the campaign are a little poo, but the rest is just fantastic. Can't wait for Far Cry 4 on next gen. Expand
  4. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    One of the best open world shooters released, the graphics, gameplay, sound, environments, characters and scale of the game create a gorgeous atmosphere and a simply amazing gaming experience, there is barely anything wrong with FarCry 3 other then the occasional slight glitch in either graphics or animation which don't really bother much considering most games which aren't open world have more of them Expand
  5. May 9, 2013
    9
    Fantastic game, absolutely loving it without a doubt. I'll be honest, when I heard about it initially, I wasn't too keen on getting it due to Far Cry 2 being so terrible and frustrating. However, I did decide to rent the game and upon playing it for quite some time, I felt like an idiot for not buying it sooner.

    I'm going to take a dig at a few people writing reviews complaining about the graphics for a start, people have stated that "for a 2012 game it's graphically terrible". What? Graphically, I think the game does pretty well, if you want to see terrible graphics? Head on over to whatever game shop you like and buy The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct. Now THAT game is beyond awful when it comes to graphics.

    Anyway, Far Cry 3 A very sound storyline. Not a lot of games have well scripted voiced storylines nowadays but this game does it pretty well. It's interesting too, and the villian is pretty awesome. Hunting, now that is something that I like. Love the feel of being in the wilderness with a bow, picking off animals and then skinning them to help me craft materials that benefit my gameplay. There are a good amount of things to do, meh they can be repetitive but what game isn't nowadays? Customization is decent, the scenery is nice to look at and the game has quite a lot to offer especially for an FPS.

    I'd recommend this game to all of my friends, and especially people I don't know. Buy it, rent it You'll enjoy it.
    Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2013
    8
    A great game, The campaign is long enough, and interesting. The multiplayer is not so great, but it doesn't ruin the great singleplayer experience. Most of the sidemissions are not too great but it doesn't matter. On the xbox360 the graphix are kinda good, but at the same time really rough on the edges. But the good gameplay and the good story and the great open world make this game a must buy for FPS fans. Expand
  7. Mar 19, 2013
    0
    Glitches all up in these Multiplayer is a JOKE. The 2nd place world ranked FarCry3 player uses a glitch to turn invisible and kill everyone, this is the kind of that goes with FarCry3, Not to mention it took them 4 months after release to fix some, not ALL, but some of the game breaking glitches in Single player and Multiplayer. Expand

See all 269 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.