User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 138 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 138
  2. Negative: 21 out of 138
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 13, 2011
    7
    Three minus points are getting discounting, why? well my big complain in the second was that it focused a little bit more in action and forgot a ( not to much, but still) the fear. This time they went to far, is a big risk forgetting about something so important, doesn't the tittle say Fear? well you may ask if the game really show you that, because it really don't do it too much. AlsoThree minus points are getting discounting, why? well my big complain in the second was that it focused a little bit more in action and forgot a ( not to much, but still) the fear. This time they went to far, is a big risk forgetting about something so important, doesn't the tittle say Fear? well you may ask if the game really show you that, because it really don't do it too much. Also being said, solid shooter,tho, is very smooth ( and similar by any means compared too, ehh you know what FPS game is) anyway, so by any standard , do not play because of the horror genre , play by the solid mechanics. The online , use filters, so you need to pick already in progress competition , also there's a mode similar to the Zombies from Call of Duty Black Ops, only thing that pissed off me, is that ,it doesn't progress you get stuck in the same place fighting hordes and more hordes of creatures, yeah you don't progress but they do, sending more stronger enemies while you're already in the same place. Maybe Fear made good efforts in feeding the fans, but also left fans wanting more scares rather than running and shooting. Expand
  2. Jul 20, 2011
    7
    + Points - Good co-op, decent graphics, some nice levels, interesting campaign, well thought out scoring system - Points - No deathmatch in multiplayer, campaign can be beaten in 6 hours on easy, some bland level+ Points - Good co-op, decent graphics, some nice levels, interesting campaign, well thought out scoring system - Points - No deathmatch in multiplayer, campaign can be beaten in 6 hours on easy, some bland level design, does'nt really feel like a F.E.A.R game Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2011
    7
    Where to begin. Well first of all, it didn't scare me once. I really like the fear series for it's times where it surprises you but this game doesn't really try to scare you. In fact it feels more like an action game that just so happens to happen in the Monolith timeline, if your a F.E.A.R. fan you should know what I'm talking about.

    Now lets talk about the campaign. In terms of story,
    Where to begin. Well first of all, it didn't scare me once. I really like the fear series for it's times where it surprises you but this game doesn't really try to scare you. In fact it feels more like an action game that just so happens to happen in the Monolith timeline, if your a F.E.A.R. fan you should know what I'm talking about.

    Now lets talk about the campaign. In terms of story, the campaign somewhat overstays it's welcome. Like Bulletstorm, the story just keeps going and going. By the point it ended I wanted to stop playing this half an hour ago. The ending is also really stupid? I can understand why killing Harlen Wade, aka. your past, should be a major plot element but it doesn't really understand why it should be the final battle. I was expecting the whole time to be either battling Fettel or Alma or even both of them as the final battle. But there isn't JUST faults with the game's campaign, there are good points. I like the fact that they finally gave Alma a sense of emotion. They did show some in past games but never until now, at least in the Monolith timeline. I also really like the co-op's "your working together but your also competing against each other" idea and that who ever does better will effect the ending. It's also nice to finally see what the hell the Point Man looks like.

    Now for the multiplayer. It's just great. That's all I can really to describe it. While Soul King isn't my cup of tea, it's none the less a good gamemode idea. F***ing Run is especially one of my most favorite gamemode ideas I've seen in quite a while. Soul Survivor is slightly confusing to me but it's still okay. And Contractions is a nice addition to the Horde style gametype family.

    All in all, it's good but it's not a masterpiece like it's predecessors.
    Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2011
    6
    A very average game imo. I picked it up for single player, though I am guessing its supposed to be more enjoyable in coop. Not a lot of longevity or re-playability with this one. It does have a decent cover mode and shooting game-play, but not enough weapons or other things to do other than shoot bad guys. Its pretty much a straight shooter, with a bit of a horror vibe. The story probablyA very average game imo. I picked it up for single player, though I am guessing its supposed to be more enjoyable in coop. Not a lot of longevity or re-playability with this one. It does have a decent cover mode and shooting game-play, but not enough weapons or other things to do other than shoot bad guys. Its pretty much a straight shooter, with a bit of a horror vibe. The story probably wont make a deal of sense to anyone but a fan of the previous titles. Personally I'll be trading this one in come the weekend. Just not enough interesting game-play or single player longevity / re-playablity to keep this one hanging around. Collapse
  5. Jun 21, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am a FEAR fan but I think there were so many things gone worse. I will only start with the single-player aspects, and it is fun I admit, however the campaign is way too short... And the campaign wasn't that scary, it will shock you something with sound effects after then you will confuse on what has happened, which is kind of disappointing. Overall, I feel it was normal but a bit disappointing, F.E.A.R game deserves a longer campaign and more horrifying aspects. ( It seems there is only one level which created for scaring people-.-) Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2011
    7
    I've always liked the FEAR games, they always had a creepy atmospheres, plenty of scares and a decent story for a horror game. FEAR 3 follows kinda after the story of the second but with you returning to the role of "point man", i thought they would have given him a name now, but i guess not. The story is pretty straightforward,kill Alma. Nothing really shocking happens here and thatI've always liked the FEAR games, they always had a creepy atmospheres, plenty of scares and a decent story for a horror game. FEAR 3 follows kinda after the story of the second but with you returning to the role of "point man", i thought they would have given him a name now, but i guess not. The story is pretty straightforward,kill Alma. Nothing really shocking happens here and that really isn't surprising since this is supposed to be then end of the FEAR trilogy. The game play is standard shooter stuff, pick up a gun, shoot dudes, not really revolutionary there. However the shooting feels really solid and you enemies explode in geysers of blood and dying gurgles which makes for some really satisfying kills.The "unique: thing about fear is that in between combat there are some really tense sections where ghosts and Alma haunt you from where you would least expect it. This broke up the combat nicely and kept it from just being another shooter. I suppose the more unique thing about FEAR 3 is that once you complete a level as Point Man, you can play through it again as Paxton Fettle, who plays vastly different than Point Man and makes for some really cool Single-Player and co-op moments. The multiplayer is solid and provides lots of chills and action in every mode. Thing is though, the multiplayer, while cool, really wont keep you from better multiplayer games such as Halo or Call Of Duty.

    Overall FEAR 3 is good, not really something you will keep around for years though. The story was predictable and the criminal thing is that I saw some plot points that could have been made into really cool twists. The game-play is not really revolutionary or new, and the scoring system just seems out of place in a horror FPS. I believe ditching Point Man or making it an option to play him in place of Fettle would have been unique and different than the standard run and gun FPS. And the Multiplayer is just well, ok, good but not really a reason to ditch the better multi-player games out there. The thing is these additions would have made this a must play, but as the current package, its just an "ok" rental.
    Expand
  7. Jun 22, 2011
    7
    The game sets up as a horror based game, though I find it more of a thriller at best, (just like the previous installments). The majority of the levels have intense settings that make it feel like your in a nightmare, yet it lacks in excellent graphics. Though not a big issue considering how enjoyable the game is! If your a fan of the franchise, then I would recommend this. If your not aThe game sets up as a horror based game, though I find it more of a thriller at best, (just like the previous installments). The majority of the levels have intense settings that make it feel like your in a nightmare, yet it lacks in excellent graphics. Though not a big issue considering how enjoyable the game is! If your a fan of the franchise, then I would recommend this. If your not a fan, then I would rent before purchasing! Though if your just looking for a good fun game, then I recommend this game to everyone, fan or no fan! Expand
  8. Jun 22, 2011
    6
    Not feeling quite as generous as many of the reviews I've seen here. Playing through the first few chapters in single player I got pretty bored. Let's boil this game down a bit. At least for single player the game is a generic shooter that we've all played a hundred times. There is no innovation here, well I guess there is "bullet time" as the super soldier dude, but I'm not sure thatNot feeling quite as generous as many of the reviews I've seen here. Playing through the first few chapters in single player I got pretty bored. Let's boil this game down a bit. At least for single player the game is a generic shooter that we've all played a hundred times. There is no innovation here, well I guess there is "bullet time" as the super soldier dude, but I'm not sure that qualifies. The graphics don't look live they've improved any from the last game. There is very little explanation in the game's campaign about what is actually going on in the story (see Dead Space for an example of how this is done correctly). The game is supposed to be a "horror" game but it is a pathetic attempt at best. The attempted scares are predictable and laughable sometimes. My hope is that co-op and multiplayer saves this game, the campaign is poor to mediocre so far. May want to save your $$ until this goes on sale. Expand
  9. Aug 14, 2011
    6
    This game does NOT deserve the ratings people are giving it. In terms of story, its basically trying to make sense of the madness of F.E.A.R 2 and in terms of visuals its dated as hell. The game is fun and the core mechanics are as strong as they always were but its almost like the series has nothing to show for itself! The co-op is surprisingly good fun but ultimately false. The reasonThis game does NOT deserve the ratings people are giving it. In terms of story, its basically trying to make sense of the madness of F.E.A.R 2 and in terms of visuals its dated as hell. The game is fun and the core mechanics are as strong as they always were but its almost like the series has nothing to show for itself! The co-op is surprisingly good fun but ultimately false. The reason this is the case is because the game tries to fool you into thinking that the two players have COMPLETELY different styles when ultimately there is no difference. The point scoring system was as I said fun and gives decent replay value, especially for both endings. But as a game that's meant to be a finale of a horror FPS series its shoddy, did everyone just forget what it was all about? If that's the case, fine, give it 8 out of 10 but don't come running to me when you see it hasn't changed since 2004 Expand
  10. Apr 1, 2013
    7
    This game is severely flawed but once you get used to the cheesy aspects, it starts to get a little fun. It's not really fun or really boring. It's something you'd put on when you've finished all your good games and you're out of gas. Forgettable
  11. Nov 21, 2011
    7
    F.E.A.R 3 lost what F.E.A.R and F.E.A.R. 2 where all about. The story and ending where a let down, however co-op is what saved the game. Without a buddy to co-op with I would pass on this game. Nothing special here rent it and finish the series other wise save that money.
  12. Jul 6, 2011
    0
    A very average game imo. I picked it up for single player, though I am guessing its supposed to be more enjoyable in coop. Not a lot of longevity or re-playability with this one. It does have a decent cover mode and shooting game-play, but not enough weapons or other things to do other than shoot bad guys. Its pretty much a straight shooter, with a bit of a horror vibe. The story probablyA very average game imo. I picked it up for single player, though I am guessing its supposed to be more enjoyable in coop. Not a lot of longevity or re-playability with this one. It does have a decent cover mode and shooting game-play, but not enough weapons or other things to do other than shoot bad guys. Its pretty much a straight shooter, with a bit of a horror vibe. The story probably wont make a deal of sense to anyone but a fan of the previous titles. Personally I'll be trading this one in come the weekend. Just not enough interesting game-play or single player longevity / re-playablity to keep this one hanging around. Collapse
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 71
  2. Negative: 2 out of 71
  1. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Aug 19, 2011
    80
    What FEAR 3 lacks as a horror game it makes up for as a solid shooter. [Issue#75, p.80]
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Aug 15, 2011
    70
    Workmanlike design scuppers rock solid shooting. Not great FEAR, but not all awful. [Oct 2011, p.81]
  3. Jul 27, 2011
    68
    While I enjoyed FEAR 3 because I'm a fan of the series, I don't think the average person picking this up will know all the missing tidbits of knowledge the game doesn't give you to piece it all together.