Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Oct 3, 2013
    95
    Realism in football games reaches its maximum.
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    92
    Electronic Arts once again offers the best gaming experience for all lovers of football. FIFA 14 isn’t a major landmark for the series in terms of innovation, but the changes have such a significant effect on physic and gameplay.
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    91
    FIFA 14 may seem like the same old song and dance on the surface, but once you get into the game you’ll appreciate what the developer has done to enhance the overall quality, even if the glitz and glamour suffers a bit by not advancing along the same path as the improved controls.
  4. Oct 19, 2013
    90
    Clumsier players only slightly dent what's still the most comprehensive footy game ever made. [Dec 2013, p.58]
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    90
    FIFA 14 confirms itself as the best football sim around. A great and improved gameplay and many play modes make it a worthwhile buy on Xbox 360 even with the next-gen version looming.
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    90
    Although lacking a bit in terms of innovation when compared with previous iterations, FIFA 14 remains a well balanced, profound and addictive soccer experience, that will be enjoyed by rookies and veterans alike.
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    90
    On paper, the changes might sound subtle, on the pitch though, they really influence your way of play. FIFA 14 wants you to play clever, and the AI, refined controls, better ball physics and richer animation all work in support of that.
  8. Sep 25, 2013
    90
    Konami's Fox Engine is not enough to beat Electronic Arts' gigantic production. Even this year FIFA features solid gameplay, great graphics and much of the usual content that proves to be incredibly satisfying.
  9. Sep 24, 2013
    90
    With a cleaned up presentation, deep gameplay modes, and new mechanics that bring a more realistic experience on the pitch, FIFA 14 definitely captures the beautiful game in all of its glory.
  10. 90
    [Skill Games] aside, FIFA 14 oozes style, authenticity, and bold design from start to finish. It looks and feels better than ever - and that's no small feat considering the series' incredibly rich tradition.
  11. Sep 23, 2013
    90
    FIFA 14 is still the amazing soccer simulation we know, with a host of improvements and the most complete set of players, teams and game modes.
  12. 90
    FIFA 14 represents a difficult step forward for a very popular franchise, but a successful one nonetheless. The changes have such a significant effect, that returning fans may find them off-putting through the first five to ten games. But those that embrace them will be rewarded with perhaps the most satisfying, engaging FIFA yet.
  13. Sep 23, 2013
    90
    PES presents a credible alternative in terms of gameplay – FIFA can’t replicate it’s artful passing style – but when it comes to exciting gameplay, impeccable presentation, and a generous year-long experience, FIFA is still in a league of its own.
  14. Sep 23, 2013
    90
    14 is very good. It feels different, and while it may not necessarily be superior, it easily matches its predecessor's quality.
  15. Oct 11, 2013
    88
    FIFA 14 takes yet another step towards being an even better football simulation than its predecessor. Small but considerate improvements like Precision Movement and advanced physics secure the sports game throne for FIFA for another year.
  16. Sep 28, 2013
    88
    Looking past such a calculating diagnostic, losing yourself in this game is still easy. The kinds of shots players get off are varied due to how they strike the ball (and with which foot), and the controls hit a sweet spot of being easy to pull off and capable of letting you engineer some incisive attacks. These aspects are not to be underestimated, as they give you confidence going forward and the ability to score from some new areas.
  17. Sep 23, 2013
    88
    FIFA 14 takes some risks with new improvements and new situations that offers more realism in general. Although the game isn't as fluid as its predecessor in some moments. Incredible in presentation and licenses.
  18. 87
    FIFA 14 doesn’t bring any “game changers” to the table but what it does do is refine an already superb soccer game.
User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 389 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 135
  2. Negative: 96 out of 135
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    0
    DON'T BUY THIS GAME!

    You don't play this game. You just follow the script. All the matches are scripted by EA. They decide when you win,
    when you lose, everything is scripted.

    And it's just the same thing of FIFA 13, just slower, I don't know why

    It's sad because I was a FIFA fan since FIFA 98, and this is the end of the line for this series for me. Another title that's a copy of the previous one and full of script.

    What I most like in videogaming was the fact that we can decide our destiny, we decide what happens in the screen. EA, since FIFA 12, destroyed this: you don't play a football videogame, you just follow the script the game definied for each match

    Run away from this crap
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 25, 2013
    4
    SCRIPTED everything I do is scripted. Even though they have added cool new features to normal gameplay and ultimate team i still think this is scripted. Full Review »
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    2
    This is definitely the worst FIFA in history. It brings over all problems of FIFA13 and adds more. I'm talking about single player modes, as I'm not interested in multiplayer game at all. My score reflects only a single player experience

    I'm not expecting a game to be easy, I like challenge, especially in a football game, but the game has to be enjoyable. And F14 is far from that. It's one of the most frustrating experiences in a game world ever. If I pick one of the biggest teams on the continent, with players valued millions of euros in real world, I'd like to feel that I'm indeed controlling a really strong team. That I have immediate advantages over a poor opponent. But there's no such feeling in this game. FIFA 'world' seems to be using some kind of level scaling, like Skyrim, because no matter how good team you pick, how close to level 99 your players are and how skiled you are in controlling a pad, you will struggle with likes of Stoke or Almeria or whatever. Your Piques, Ramoses and Luizs will be outrun by poor team's attackers, your Messis, Ronaldos and Robbens will be outrun by poor team's defenders. 60 level team will make pinpoint precision long passes and exchange ball better than Barca in their best years. And watch yourself in the last 15 minutes of the game if you're winning by 1 or 2 goals you will experience pressing like you've never seen on live TV, unless you watch ice hockey match and one team plays with a player advantage.

    Reaction your opponent AI presents is unhumanly they can react to your action a fraction of a second after you press the button. At the same time, your defenders AI is utterly stupid. There's barely any move on the pitch except the player you control. AI doesn't move your player towards the ball in the air, doesn't assist you in defence. You would imagine you could position a player manually, but auto switching doesn't work correctly and manual switching when ball is in the air is practically impossible. Your players also won't move towards a loose ball after eg a tackle (it sometimes looks like all players 'wait' until the tackle/collision animation is finished). Passing on assisted and semi modes don't work and at least 1/3 simple short passes (not to mention long through balls) end up bouncing of opponent's legs. Your attackers barely move off the ball. And even if they move and make a nice run, AI defenders will outrun them anyway, as mentioned earlier, or they will be caught offside as most often there's a huge delay between you pressing a button and AI making a pass (again, it has to do with animations)

    If that's not enough, imagine referees ending matches during your attacking move in opponent's penalty box. This however should be easily fixable in a patch. As to all other complaints, it seems like a broken engine so it would need a total revamp, which is impossible at this stage.

    If I bought the game on Origin, I would definitely apply for a refund. Waste of money. And since PES14, although significantly better than PES13, also suffers from unpolished engine and bugs, there's no football game to enjoy this year
    Full Review »