Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 401 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pure Shot promises to let FIFA fans feel what it is like to connect with the perfect strike while a brand new ball physics system called Real Ball Physics ensures the trajectory of the ball behaves as it would in real life. With Teammate Intelligence in FIFA 14, players have better decision-making and teams play smarter on both the attack and defense to bring the beauty of the game to life. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Oct 3, 2013
    95
    Realism in football games reaches its maximum.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    90
    FIFA 14 is still the amazing soccer simulation we know, with a host of improvements and the most complete set of players, teams and game modes.
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    90
    Although lacking a bit in terms of innovation when compared with previous iterations, FIFA 14 remains a well balanced, profound and addictive soccer experience, that will be enjoyed by rookies and veterans alike.
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    With its extensive licenses, bold and complex yet accessible gameplay, unparalleled online offerings, excellent tutorials, and clean presentation, FIFA 14 may only be a small step up from last year's game, but it remains a fantastic offering overall.
  5. Oct 14, 2013
    80
    Learn the nuances then revel in the gorgeous results. [Issue#103, p.80]
  6. FIFA 14 is the same, fundamentally great game that FIFA 13 was before it. Hard-core fans of the series will doubtlessly enjoy the latest instalment, but casual gamers who picked up last year’s won’t miss much by sitting this one out. There is, after all, a next-generation FIFA game to look forward to.
  7. Sep 23, 2013
    70
    FIFA 14 requires more patience than most of its predecessors, and even when your patience is rewarded, it often feels like it's flattering to deceive. Slow and stodgy in midfield but dynamic and physical at either end of the pitch, it's possible that some might think this the best FIFA ever--but you'd be splitting hairs, not defences.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 140
  2. Negative: 97 out of 140
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    I love all these people complaining how slow it is. It is a much more realistic game. Those of you complaining about one team being rubbish and the next being spectacular...youre probably playing Ultimate team right? Not every team is the same skill level. Game one may be Pro, game two may be world class, they arent the same.

    This is by far the best and most realistic fifa to date. Solid note to end this generation of consoles on.
    Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    It's a great football game, but that doesn't mean it's all good and all gold. The game represents an actual football game a whole lot better than FIFA 13: It's not just mindless running from end to end, you have to work the midfield instead. But you have to relearn some basic skills like passing (even in assisted mode you have to be more careful with your aim) and you can't just rely on through balls. The much hyped new AI actually seems to be no better than before with the defenders not closing in on lonely attackers and teammates not going for loose balls after succesful tackles. And the reduced speed of the game, while it's a good thing, has probably gone a bit too far with the speedsters like Walcott not being able to outrun huge lumbering centre backs.

    It's far from perfect, but it's a solid performance. You won't miss much, though, if you don't upgrade from FIFA 13.
    Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    This game was good except for FUT. In the tutorial they teach you about chemistry and they make it look really easy but when you get your team its so hard to build the chemistry. Then your team sucks and you can't win. I just play it for the manager career which if you pick a good team then this game is really fun. Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2014
    1
    I think it is really disgusting how EA have focused on the aspects of the game that brings them money rather than the game overall. Although they have improved ultimate team (as it's what brings them the extra cash) They have just added seasons to every other mode and believed it is enough of an improvement.
    However there are so many flaws with the game.

    -Unrealistic Defensive clearances
    -Really poor AI in Pro Clubs
    -Overpowered Heading
    -Retarded Goalkeepers
    - Poor Unrealistic First touches
    - Momentum
    -Scripting
    - Blowing the whistle at half-time/full-time when a team is on the attack
    -Lack of ambition with Pro Clubs
    -Same Player creation system for god knows how many years now
    -Alot of poor refereeing decisions regarding fouls (not opinionated happens for both sides)
    -Poor player switching
    - Unrealistic Career with poor youth systems and
    - Taking out or changing elements of previous Fifas which weren't an issue such as:
    -The right stick to take large touches
    -Making automatic containing ridiculously underpowered
    -Victor Ibarbo
    - A useless and unnecessary external creation centre(which was a problem before but should have changed)
    -Awful Servers
    -Defence is a joke
    -Players falling over on their backs after a soft tackle
    -Isn't satisfying as it used to be
    -Repetitive commentary
    -Stupid animations which are copied every single year
    - Managers just look horrific , just like the substitutes.
    -One handed goalkeeper catches
    -Slow gameplay (don't even start about how it's more realistic, cause it ain't)
    -Whatever happened
    -Oh and i have to buy a seasons pass to use my created team in a career mode?
    -To get good players in packs you either need to suck off Electronic Arts (paying them) or rely on miracles

    There are probably more that I forgot about but honestly. I've played Fifa since 2003 and some of these games were good. EA are money whores who pay reviewers to give them a great review every year. It makes me sad knowing that they know themselves that they are ripping everyone off and ultimate team just floods them with even more money.
    Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2013
    1
    Imagine the best painting in the world. Now imagine that, to spice things up, the creator decided that every few seconds the painting would release tear gas sending viewing the painting into the agony of inflamed eyeballs. Then as they lay there trying to enjoy the painting with their vision blurred from toxic gas. The painting then starts swinging around the room to make the viewing experience dynamic and exciting. THATS Fifa 10. The best sports game available. However it's marred by horrible design decisions made to make the game "challenging". Everything thats great about it can and will altered to insure that theres another obstacle in your way so the CPU can keep the game "exciting". You will play 4 games overcoming the common problems but on that 5th game the controls will mysteriously turn to mush. It's like a brand new game. It's that last and greatest level of desperate AI cheating. It will destroy your ability to enjoy the game. They take the core mechanics of the game and make it all unresponsive on purpose. Just think about that. And while you're at it, avoid this game. Collapse Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2014
    0
    This FIFA has to be the most pathetic game I've ever had to witness. Don't get me wrong I love playing FIFA and am very good at it. The new game play is okay not great but okay. What makes this game is pathetic is that they called this 'the most realistic FIFA' that they had brought out but it's completely the opposite... the actions your players take when you're winning is that of someone who has never seen a football in their life. Your goalkeeper parries the ball to their players basically every time, 'when in doubt cross it in' since when could you in real life score as many headers as FIFA does. Why is it that when you're also winning the other team gets to go into God mode and that you can tackle, tackle and tackle over and over but the ball either doesn't get taken from them unless they get a throw-in, corner or a free kick. Why is it that when you're also winning that your players that you're not controlling will randomly foul the opposing team in the box giving them a free penalty, seriously what is that about? This does sound more of a rant but I'm backing up my comment on how pathetic and 'unrealistic' this game really is. I pray that they sort out their game play for their upcoming FIFA's because it's not 'who's the better player' it's who can get the most unlucky due to EA interfering in the games. Do you find it that a lot of goals are scored up to the 45th and 90th minute? it's programmed to let the who ever has got the ball to be able to score basically anywhere and that no matter what the goalkeeper will let it in or parry it to their player. Review done 0/10 the game is rigged. Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Worst Fifa ever!! I never felt so angry playing a football game in my life..Fifa is going backwards with this new game..:(.
    I bought Fifa 14
    two weeks ago and can't play it more than four games without turning it off, never had this problem before... Bad defending, bad player stats, stupid bugs in the game that really get to you when playing..like come on EA with the throw ins, whats with the players chasing the ball all the way up the pitch, then to bring it all the way back down to where he should be taking it, then changing it onto another player to take the throw in..whats the point??. A few hours ago I was playing it and someone crossed the ball into my box, I had two defenders standing right beside each other and the ball was perfect for them to head away, not one of them (DANTE & BOATENG Champions League winning team like..) made any attempt to head it away..My Nanny would of heading this away and imagine what Fifa stats she'd have.. I never post comments about games but I had to with this Fifa, really head wrecking..do another update EA and give us buyers a football game. 0/10 Expand

See all 140 User Reviews