Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 406 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pure Shot promises to let FIFA fans feel what it is like to connect with the perfect strike while a brand new ball physics system called Real Ball Physics ensures the trajectory of the ball behaves as it would in real life. With Teammate Intelligence in FIFA 14, players have better decision-making and teams play smarter on both the attack and defense to bring the beauty of the game to life. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Oct 3, 2013
    95
    Realism in football games reaches its maximum.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    90
    FIFA 14 is still the amazing soccer simulation we know, with a host of improvements and the most complete set of players, teams and game modes.
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    90
    Although lacking a bit in terms of innovation when compared with previous iterations, FIFA 14 remains a well balanced, profound and addictive soccer experience, that will be enjoyed by rookies and veterans alike.
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    With its extensive licenses, bold and complex yet accessible gameplay, unparalleled online offerings, excellent tutorials, and clean presentation, FIFA 14 may only be a small step up from last year's game, but it remains a fantastic offering overall.
  5. Oct 14, 2013
    80
    Learn the nuances then revel in the gorgeous results. [Issue#103, p.80]
  6. FIFA 14 is the same, fundamentally great game that FIFA 13 was before it. Hard-core fans of the series will doubtlessly enjoy the latest instalment, but casual gamers who picked up last year’s won’t miss much by sitting this one out. There is, after all, a next-generation FIFA game to look forward to.
  7. Sep 23, 2013
    70
    FIFA 14 requires more patience than most of its predecessors, and even when your patience is rewarded, it often feels like it's flattering to deceive. Slow and stodgy in midfield but dynamic and physical at either end of the pitch, it's possible that some might think this the best FIFA ever--but you'd be splitting hairs, not defences.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 142
  2. Negative: 99 out of 142
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    I love all these people complaining how slow it is. It is a much more realistic game. Those of you complaining about one team being rubbish and the next being spectacular...youre probably playing Ultimate team right? Not every team is the same skill level. Game one may be Pro, game two may be world class, they arent the same.

    This is by far the best and most realistic fifa to date. Solid note to end this generation of consoles on.
    Expand
  2. Oct 20, 2013
    7
    FIFA 14 In some respect could be seen as a slight innovation to the Football series.With the pace mechanics shifted from the last entry FIFA 13.The menus often feel laggy and unresponsive and other components to the game(apart from Ultimate Team) feel unchanged.Career mode feels repetitive.Co-op seasons is amazing.The enjoyment is great when you and your friend score after team work. 7/10 Good Expand
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    5
    A game that you could not describe as "Fifa 13.5" It's vastly different and some of it for the better.

    Dribbling

    Dribbling and ball
    control can be a little frustrating with people Involuntarily going into the "Precision dribbling" mode when you haven't pressed the button to do so and players just flat out forgetting to trap the ball and letting it roll by them. Besides that dribbling is more realistic, unlike it's predecessor you can't run at full pelt and retain such a high level of control and it's a welcomed feature although I feel that even when you're not sprinting even a player with good control will make a uncharacteristic bad touch and that can be frustrating especially when you're in a good attacking area.

    Shooting

    In it's entirety is a lot better and feels a lot realistic and you can easily distinguish a good shooter from a bad one but there is moments where you look and say to yourself "How did that go in?" with shots where a players body position is facing a corner flag yet can strike a ball sweetly enough to make it swerve inside the far corner, heading post and pre patch is probably the most consistent method of goalscoring, Mandzukic, Klose among other strikers proving rather infamous and they can single handedly put you ahead of your opponents (See what I did there? heh)

    AI and other miscellaneous Gameplay thoughts

    On the whole it's probably better than 13 but there is moments where you simply facepalm and leaves you looking for some thing to impale with your controller, switching can be a frustrating ordeal with heading being a rather popular method of acquiring goals and players not bothering to contest a shot can leave you feeling hard done by.

    Goalkeepers are considered by stereotype to be "Crazy" and it seems Fifa are sticking to that with some flat out insane moments where by coming out to punch the ball away seemingly miss the ball and end up breaking the strikers lower jaw or so you think as he gets up with out much as a scratch. There also appears to be a delay between a shot aiming for goal and the keeper actually diving to save it and It can lead to some really tame shots trickling into the bottom corner which can frustrate even the calmest of gamers.

    Overall

    Whilst I think the game is a improvement, the main problem I feel is that you never feel like you have lost genuinely to a player who has bested you this time around due to some irrational action the AI has done instead of what you wanted to do. I think as gamers we want a fair game where as we can play a game and win based on our skills and abilities rather than on something that is beyond our control although I know we cannot control every player on the pitch at the same time but surely it's not a taxing request to have the AI competent enough to not do irrational actions right?

    Should anyone at EA read this I want to say this. You are letting your ego and monopoly corrode a famous franchise. We don't expect a perfect game where everything is peachy but we at least expect a game where we as players can win on ability and not on things out of control effect the game as much as it does. We don't like what EA has become and not before long EA could very well be playing catch up to PES and I sincerely hope it does because then we might see EA look to do things right.
    Expand
  4. Apr 10, 2014
    1
    The worst FIFA yet. Sad this game used to be so good. I understand you can't please everyone but this is truly an awful game. The point was to make it more realistic which is last thing this game is. Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2013
    1
    Imagine the best painting in the world. Now imagine that, to spice things up, the creator decided that every few seconds the painting would release tear gas sending viewing the painting into the agony of inflamed eyeballs. Then as they lay there trying to enjoy the painting with their vision blurred from toxic gas. The painting then starts swinging around the room to make the viewing experience dynamic and exciting. THATS Fifa 10. The best sports game available. However it's marred by horrible design decisions made to make the game "challenging". Everything thats great about it can and will altered to insure that theres another obstacle in your way so the CPU can keep the game "exciting". You will play 4 games overcoming the common problems but on that 5th game the controls will mysteriously turn to mush. It's like a brand new game. It's that last and greatest level of desperate AI cheating. It will destroy your ability to enjoy the game. They take the core mechanics of the game and make it all unresponsive on purpose. Just think about that. And while you're at it, avoid this game. Collapse Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2014
    0
    This FIFA has to be the most pathetic game I've ever had to witness. Don't get me wrong I love playing FIFA and am very good at it. The new game play is okay not great but okay. What makes this game is pathetic is that they called this 'the most realistic FIFA' that they had brought out but it's completely the opposite... the actions your players take when you're winning is that of someone who has never seen a football in their life. Your goalkeeper parries the ball to their players basically every time, 'when in doubt cross it in' since when could you in real life score as many headers as FIFA does. Why is it that when you're also winning the other team gets to go into God mode and that you can tackle, tackle and tackle over and over but the ball either doesn't get taken from them unless they get a throw-in, corner or a free kick. Why is it that when you're also winning that your players that you're not controlling will randomly foul the opposing team in the box giving them a free penalty, seriously what is that about? This does sound more of a rant but I'm backing up my comment on how pathetic and 'unrealistic' this game really is. I pray that they sort out their game play for their upcoming FIFA's because it's not 'who's the better player' it's who can get the most unlucky due to EA interfering in the games. Do you find it that a lot of goals are scored up to the 45th and 90th minute? it's programmed to let the who ever has got the ball to be able to score basically anywhere and that no matter what the goalkeeper will let it in or parry it to their player. Review done 0/10 the game is rigged. Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2013
    0
    well... this game isn't too bad, gameplay is a bit better than last year, skills are worst. season mode is good (the same as last fifa) and career mode is pretty funny. but FIFA ULTIMATE TEAM... OMG what a shame! is completely RIGGED. is just cpu vs cpu and who must win... wins. you are only the momentum's viewer (well isn't only momentum, predetermined games before kick off is better).
    FUT (the new gem of EA) is really completely b$hit... AND... i've paid 60$ for an upgrade, because FUT is unplayable.
    Expand

See all 142 User Reviews