Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 362 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pure Shot promises to let FIFA fans feel what it is like to connect with the perfect strike while a brand new ball physics system called Real Ball Physics ensures the trajectory of the ball behaves as it would in real life. With Teammate Intelligence in FIFA 14, players have better decision-making and teams play smarter on both the attack and defense to bring the beauty of the game to life. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Oct 3, 2013
    95
    Realism in football games reaches its maximum.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    90
    FIFA 14 is still the amazing soccer simulation we know, with a host of improvements and the most complete set of players, teams and game modes.
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    90
    Although lacking a bit in terms of innovation when compared with previous iterations, FIFA 14 remains a well balanced, profound and addictive soccer experience, that will be enjoyed by rookies and veterans alike.
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    85
    With its extensive licenses, bold and complex yet accessible gameplay, unparalleled online offerings, excellent tutorials, and clean presentation, FIFA 14 may only be a small step up from last year's game, but it remains a fantastic offering overall.
  5. Oct 14, 2013
    80
    Learn the nuances then revel in the gorgeous results. [Issue#103, p.80]
  6. FIFA 14 is the same, fundamentally great game that FIFA 13 was before it. Hard-core fans of the series will doubtlessly enjoy the latest instalment, but casual gamers who picked up last year’s won’t miss much by sitting this one out. There is, after all, a next-generation FIFA game to look forward to.
  7. Sep 23, 2013
    70
    FIFA 14 requires more patience than most of its predecessors, and even when your patience is rewarded, it often feels like it's flattering to deceive. Slow and stodgy in midfield but dynamic and physical at either end of the pitch, it's possible that some might think this the best FIFA ever--but you'd be splitting hairs, not defences.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 122
  2. Negative: 85 out of 122
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    I love all these people complaining how slow it is. It is a much more realistic game. Those of you complaining about one team being rubbish and the next being spectacular...youre probably playing Ultimate team right? Not every team is the same skill level. Game one may be Pro, game two may be world class, they arent the same.

    This is by far the best and most realistic fifa to date. Solid note to end this generation of consoles on.
    Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    8
    It's a great football game, but that doesn't mean it's all good and all gold. The game represents an actual football game a whole lot better than FIFA 13: It's not just mindless running from end to end, you have to work the midfield instead. But you have to relearn some basic skills like passing (even in assisted mode you have to be more careful with your aim) and you can't just rely on through balls. The much hyped new AI actually seems to be no better than before with the defenders not closing in on lonely attackers and teammates not going for loose balls after succesful tackles. And the reduced speed of the game, while it's a good thing, has probably gone a bit too far with the speedsters like Walcott not being able to outrun huge lumbering centre backs.

    It's far from perfect, but it's a solid performance. You won't miss much, though, if you don't upgrade from FIFA 13.
    Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2013
    6
    It seems that quite a lot of reviews of FIFA 14 have been made by people yet to be completely accustomed to the new style. A frustrating game at first, FIFA 14 will infuriate with its loose control and cause broken controllers with its "players turn like milk" policy, but eventually the creases can be ironed out with a change in style of play.

    Focusing specifically on possession-based football, EA have gone from making a game all about skill and pace to making a game that isn't impacted on by either. However, the effort you have to put in makes winning all the more rewarding.

    Having said that, the inconsistency between each game is what spoils the overall experience. Stoke can pass like Barcelona and beat you 3-0, but Arsenal can't string a pass together and you can waltz to victory.

    Enjoyable? Perhaps not. The worst game of the year? Hell no.
    Expand
  4. Jan 15, 2014
    2
    This game is so annoying :( I started no tutorial set semi pro I thought amateur Is this game only for person who played fifa13?

    but graphic is great movement is awesome

    and i don't like this game
    Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2014
    1
    The worst FIFA yet. Sad this game used to be so good. I understand you can't please everyone but this is truly an awful game. The point was to make it more realistic which is last thing this game is. Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    Diabolical is the only way to describe this game which has been written by people who haven't seen a game if footy in their lives. Spamming long balls all game seems to be the only way to play this joke of a game. Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Worst Fifa ever!! I never felt so angry playing a football game in my life..Fifa is going backwards with this new game..:(.
    I bought Fifa 14
    two weeks ago and can't play it more than four games without turning it off, never had this problem before... Bad defending, bad player stats, stupid bugs in the game that really get to you when playing..like come on EA with the throw ins, whats with the players chasing the ball all the way up the pitch, then to bring it all the way back down to where he should be taking it, then changing it onto another player to take the throw in..whats the point??. A few hours ago I was playing it and someone crossed the ball into my box, I had two defenders standing right beside each other and the ball was perfect for them to head away, not one of them (DANTE & BOATENG Champions League winning team like..) made any attempt to head it away..My Nanny would of heading this away and imagine what Fifa stats she'd have.. I never post comments about games but I had to with this Fifa, really head wrecking..do another update EA and give us buyers a football game. 0/10 Expand

See all 122 User Reviews