User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 98
  2. Negative: 10 out of 98

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. UliW.
    Oct 20, 2008
    3
    Rubbish! Graphics still suck, ball physics suck, speed sucks, this game generally sucks. But the stupid media believe this is a better game because it has official licenses and you got 10 vs 10, well has anyone one played 10 vs 10? It's crap, it seriously is. Players running towards the ball like lemmings off a cliff. As for this game being deeper that Pro, more like Mr Svennis Rubbish! Graphics still suck, ball physics suck, speed sucks, this game generally sucks. But the stupid media believe this is a better game because it has official licenses and you got 10 vs 10, well has anyone one played 10 vs 10? It's crap, it seriously is. Players running towards the ball like lemmings off a cliff. As for this game being deeper that Pro, more like Mr Svennis couldn't hack the difficulty of pro and cried to fifa. The only things which are better here is the commentary and the be a pro section, that's it! Pro is men, fifa is for little boys (as that is all I hear online) or Americans thinking this is the super-bowl! Expand
  2. ApocalypseBrown
    Oct 8, 2008
    7
    I am a die hard Pro fan, but must admit this actually is a decent game. Good game in fact, only spoiled by broken AI and a funeral pace to the matches. Online features are excellent, especially the ten vs ten. But honestly that wares thin unless you have good players on your team, and even then the game descends into either chaos or a bore-fest. But the gameplay has improved a lot over I am a die hard Pro fan, but must admit this actually is a decent game. Good game in fact, only spoiled by broken AI and a funeral pace to the matches. Online features are excellent, especially the ten vs ten. But honestly that wares thin unless you have good players on your team, and even then the game descends into either chaos or a bore-fest. But the gameplay has improved a lot over fifa 08, and players seem a little more responsive. But ultimately the game just doesn't move fluidly enough to really get excited. Good game but still not an Evo killer, not yet anyway. Expand
  3. AnActualGameDesigner
    Mar 10, 2009
    6
    If you want to "Play" a game, buy something else. If you want to dump $60 on something you get to watch EACanada "Producers" play a game for you, and try to guess which amazingly unintuitive seriese of buttons you need to press .7 seconds BEFORE the sim plays out on screen, then spred-teh-cheekz-for-EA-marketing-love and be prepared to strap=on your FanBoyz feedbag. I'd prefer to If you want to "Play" a game, buy something else. If you want to dump $60 on something you get to watch EACanada "Producers" play a game for you, and try to guess which amazingly unintuitive seriese of buttons you need to press .7 seconds BEFORE the sim plays out on screen, then spred-teh-cheekz-for-EA-marketing-love and be prepared to strap=on your FanBoyz feedbag. I'd prefer to actually BE incontrol of my 'on screen avatar' when i play a video game. Collapse
  4. TerjeA.
    Oct 12, 2008
    7
    Fifa 09 is a good game, but too linear. By now we should be able to run freely around the pitch, but no, still only eight diretions to move in, witch makes the game quite boring and repetitive. The be a pro feature this year lets you play four seasons, witch is a good thing, but you don't get too see your progress in the league or no matter how bad you play you're always on the Fifa 09 is a good game, but too linear. By now we should be able to run freely around the pitch, but no, still only eight diretions to move in, witch makes the game quite boring and repetitive. The be a pro feature this year lets you play four seasons, witch is a good thing, but you don't get too see your progress in the league or no matter how bad you play you're always on the first team. Fifa 09 is fun, but too old school for me. Expand
  5. mgravy
    Oct 14, 2008
    9
    Only thing preventing this from getting a 10 is the fact that 10 is perfectionand theres a couple of tiny flaws ad ways it could be improved slightly. amazing though. Not played PES but the last 2 before this year I've found it inferior, and when FIFA is this good this time out on the pitch I do;t see it changing.
  6. MrSvennis
    Oct 18, 2008
    9
    In some ways FIFA is still not as intuitive as PES but once you learn to play the game it is far deeper. The graphics are excellent, the gameplay challenging, the online modes fantastic. I was a confirmed PES fan but I have crossed to the dark side as FIFA is the best footy game for years and PES is once again a pale shadow of former glories.
  7. CathalM.
    Oct 18, 2008
    6
    Some really cool enhancements in this years version, no doubt about it. However,i think the offensive side of the game has taken a step backwards. Shooting, crossing and heading the ball is now so ludicrously difficult that it ends up being really frustrating experience. I've noticed that shooting also suffers from a lack of natural curl when you strike the ball, particularly when Some really cool enhancements in this years version, no doubt about it. However,i think the offensive side of the game has taken a step backwards. Shooting, crossing and heading the ball is now so ludicrously difficult that it ends up being really frustrating experience. I've noticed that shooting also suffers from a lack of natural curl when you strike the ball, particularly when you are 1 on 1 with the keeper making for some ridiculous misses in front of goal. The power bar is also too sensitive making it far too easy to blaze shots over the bar even when you are in the penalty box. Passing to a free man within the box is also really sluggish usually not reaching your team mate despite him being only a few yards away. Really annoying. It looks great though and the addition of new generic stadiums is a nice touch. Expand
  8. NikB
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    This is the first FIFA I have preferred over PES.. everything seems so slick in this release - the graphics and design are stunning, without lagging or chugging, and the gameplay has been improved to be more realistic. I never thought I would change over to FIFA, but Pro Evo is continually putting out similar versions each year and being left way behind.
  9. TonyD
    Dec 6, 2008
    10
    Full of stuff to do and see. especially its more real than pro this year. this is my first fifa and only fifa. i usually bought pro becuse i thought it was a simulation but if you cant see than the tables have turned then your dellusional or dont know a thing about football to wise up and go play a poor japaneese football arcade game.
  10. KhristianR.
    Oct 6, 2008
    9
    It would have been nice though to have more of the Rest of the World teams. Also legendary players like Litmanen, Batistuta, Zola, Bergkamp, Zidane - or maybe you unlock them? FIFA 09, advances on last year's effort that finally put FIFA ahead of Pro Evolution Soccer. Only this has even more detail, greater animations and even more realism. A few tweaks have been made to the It would have been nice though to have more of the Rest of the World teams. Also legendary players like Litmanen, Batistuta, Zola, Bergkamp, Zidane - or maybe you unlock them? FIFA 09, advances on last year's effort that finally put FIFA ahead of Pro Evolution Soccer. Only this has even more detail, greater animations and even more realism. A few tweaks have been made to the management sides. I think if the management side was as indepth as Football Manager, you'd have the best of both worlds lol. FIFA is the best Football game on the market and even if your not a football fan, its just a very well made game that deserves to be played. SCORE : 90% Expand
  11. TroyW.
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    As a FIFA fan I had high expectations for this one and I would have to say that it is the best by far of any I have played. The graphics are stunning and the new features including the collision system and ball control is great and makes for a more realistic experience. 10 out of 10 for sure.
  12. JimP.
    Jan 16, 2009
    8
    Having never played the PES franchise and really not getting into the soccer (as we Yankees call it) gaming franchise until Euro 2008, I was surprised at how well FIFA 09 was done. My friend who hates watching soccer called Euro 2008 the "best sports game he's played in a while." FIFA 09 was pretty much the same thing with slightly better graphics, slightly better handling, and many Having never played the PES franchise and really not getting into the soccer (as we Yankees call it) gaming franchise until Euro 2008, I was surprised at how well FIFA 09 was done. My friend who hates watching soccer called Euro 2008 the "best sports game he's played in a while." FIFA 09 was pretty much the same thing with slightly better graphics, slightly better handling, and many more teams (and commentary tracks). One thing I had to severely ding FIFA 09 on was its lack of a co-op "Be a Pro" mode that was present in Euro 2008 in the "Captain Your Country" mode. The game also gets repetitive after a while after you improve your pro character and they get really good. The only thing to do is ratchet up the difficulty and once you get used to how the computer plays, it's just a matter of polishing the play. I understand that with the immense number of players that are in the various leagues that are used in the game that it's hard to have a single announcer team speak all the names, but I think that at least giving one announce team a better variety of last names to say would have been nicer. However, with the downloadable commentary tracks it's fun to play in the Polska Liga with the Polish announcers speaking in the background. I have yet to try the online mode, but I generically don't play online with sports games anyway, since I'm not that good. I also have yet to try out the Manager Mode, which seems like it would be a great way to enjoy the game (although I don't like that achievement that says play every game in a Manager Mode career without missing one...). But with my limited experience with the soccer sports genre, I do have to say that FIFA 09 certainly slapped Madden 09 in the face in terms of quality and I'll be happy to buy FIFA 2011 when it comes out (I only buy sports games every other year). Expand
  13. GordP
    Apr 12, 2009
    9
    lots of fun to play and the commentary was good for most parts. one thing that annoyed me though was when players when strangely pass to the other team or the only player offside even when you try aiming and pushing in the direction where you want the pass to go. Other than a couple of minor faults this is far and away my favourite football game
  14. NamT
    May 12, 2009
    9
    Fifa took Pro Evo
  15. mikee704
    Jul 26, 2009
    9
    Really the only problem in this game is the amount of glitches there are everything else is awesome!!! I mean they improved manager mode to being better. They made be a pro mode and that is a really fun mode but dont forget about tournament and lounge mode and u still have online to play especially as when you have that 11 vs 11 and your one player and dont forget about ranked matches. Really the only problem in this game is the amount of glitches there are everything else is awesome!!! I mean they improved manager mode to being better. They made be a pro mode and that is a really fun mode but dont forget about tournament and lounge mode and u still have online to play especially as when you have that 11 vs 11 and your one player and dont forget about ranked matches. well the only bad thing is the glitches but it wont slow the game down from being the best soccer game out there at the moment. this years fifa is way better than pes. so go to gamestop and get your copy today. Expand
  16. AdrainG.
    Nov 2, 2008
    7
    Fifa 09 is overall a good football game but there are some very anoying problems gameplay : there are some new modes to uniqe to this version of fifa such as the be a pro mode which is, to me, more fun to lay than the standard, birds eye view control everyone mode (especially online).there is also the option to download live daily updates of the teams of your choise which is an excellent Fifa 09 is overall a good football game but there are some very anoying problems gameplay : there are some new modes to uniqe to this version of fifa such as the be a pro mode which is, to me, more fun to lay than the standard, birds eye view control everyone mode (especially online).there is also the option to download live daily updates of the teams of your choise which is an excellent feature for football heads. enjoyability: its fun for short periods of time single player but is far more fum playing online or against a buddy. presentation: the graphics are good and the trach list is ok but what i hate is the menue screen which is notoriously hard to navigate. Expand
  17. NaytoE
    Jul 24, 2009
    6
    All the annoying bugs from 2 years ago are still here. The ridiculas pause of your current player as he seems to decide what to do next is infurating and just one of manythings that haven't been fixed. The fact that EA keep giving out the same game with only 1 or 2 new features is really a joke and to me prooves that you can sell any old crap to teenage footy fans. The "be a pro" All the annoying bugs from 2 years ago are still here. The ridiculas pause of your current player as he seems to decide what to do next is infurating and just one of manythings that haven't been fixed. The fact that EA keep giving out the same game with only 1 or 2 new features is really a joke and to me prooves that you can sell any old crap to teenage footy fans. The "be a pro" mode is, quite simply, boring. For FIFA 10, expect a new cover, new shirts, the same old bugs and the exact same game modes. Well, they might add some new ball skins and use that as a major selling point. Expand
  18. Feb 24, 2011
    8
    Nice, this is the type of soccer game I can recommend, the graphics are alright, and at least they didn't add the curves while players are running but they have to run straight without losing any balance to the ball.
    I you compare it to FIFA 10, not really, even though FIFA promised that most players moralities would be even higher, but looks like, still the same thing. Anyway on FIfa 09
    Nice, this is the type of soccer game I can recommend, the graphics are alright, and at least they didn't add the curves while players are running but they have to run straight without losing any balance to the ball.
    I you compare it to FIFA 10, not really, even though FIFA promised that most players moralities would be even higher, but looks like, still the same thing. Anyway on FIfa 09 you don't get as much as bugs as FIFA 10.The bad thing though is the AI is a bit slow when you want to make slick passes, and it's really detailed as FIFA 10's graphics. Though for game speed it's simple and fast.
    Expand
  19. Feb 18, 2012
    4
    FIFA 09 was my first Xbox 360 game. This game led me to believe that Xbox games were not the best and I didn't play the game for a while. However when I got back into this game I realised that it can actually be quite fun and in my opinion is better than FIFA 10 and 11 due to the fact that the ball sounds so fluent and exaggerated which to me is a good feature. The game's graphics wereFIFA 09 was my first Xbox 360 game. This game led me to believe that Xbox games were not the best and I didn't play the game for a while. However when I got back into this game I realised that it can actually be quite fun and in my opinion is better than FIFA 10 and 11 due to the fact that the ball sounds so fluent and exaggerated which to me is a good feature. The game's graphics were more than decent for their time and it was a real shame when they took the servers down for the game. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. 89
    FIFA 09 returns to the pitch full of swagger, and it does it’s very best to deliver on EA Sport’s promise of creating the definitive football title. An exacting game on the pitch and an overwhelmingly comprehensive one off of it.
  2. FIFA 09 comes with a new system of passes, stunning graphics and the all elements are taken almost to perfection. Fun for both newcomers and veterans! [Oct 2008]
  3. The best FIFA game ever made. Over to you Konami.