User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 33
  2. Negative: 11 out of 33

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 6, 2011
    3
    Like the majority of recent final fantasy games this was bollocks. Another boring linear game with no real choice or influence in what you do, hack and slash rubbish. Also the new leveling up system, one word. LAZY. Graphically game was good but that about sums up the good points. Do not buy this game if you are a true rpg fan.
  2. alanFitzpatrick
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    this game cannot be reviewed.as a player of ffxi for over 3 years now i cannot honestly say that with so much contect and now 20 unique jobs there is absolutly no way in the world this game can be correctly reviewed without at least having one 75 job/several missions complete and at least one full expansion pack.im sorry but i used to have respect for magazines like games master but tothis game cannot be reviewed.as a player of ffxi for over 3 years now i cannot honestly say that with so much contect and now 20 unique jobs there is absolutly no way in the world this game can be correctly reviewed without at least having one 75 job/several missions complete and at least one full expansion pack.im sorry but i used to have respect for magazines like games master but to give a game a 66 score talk about sittin on the fence!all i will say is 1.this is the biggest and the best mporpg there is nothing comes close 2.its final fantasy to the core 3.takes up a lot of dedicated time with more staisfying results than any other game i know of 4.its fee based per month but when u realise the amount of uddates we get new content and task forcing of gilsellers,it sooooo worth it.so if u love final fantasy,love online rpg have time to spare and are patient then you will enjoy ffxi.as for one of the comments i read about noobs being left to learn for themselves-Wrong mayb that was just u-but there are lots of linkshells that are willing to help out new players including my own. Expand
  3. JustinS.
    Mar 7, 2007
    2
    this game is too expensive. $12 a month plus xbox live? pls Duncan O. Adults like it more than younger kids is because adults can actually afford it with THEIR money. Kids have to ask their parents to pay and when the parents find out its $144 a year +%50 for xbox live they're gonna say hell no
  4. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    I honestly don't see why people hate the 360 version so much. The only valid complaint, kind of, that I see is that it requires XBox Live. I understand people getting upset about that, but here's the question in countering that complaint. Are you sure that it only works on "XBox Live Gold"? As far as I've seen, the answer is no. What is XBox LIVE Gold? Simple, it's what you get when youI honestly don't see why people hate the 360 version so much. The only valid complaint, kind of, that I see is that it requires XBox Live. I understand people getting upset about that, but here's the question in countering that complaint. Are you sure that it only works on "XBox Live Gold"? As far as I've seen, the answer is no. What is XBox LIVE Gold? Simple, it's what you get when you pay $60 a year to play online and have access to online content. But there's an alternative, called XBox Live Silver, which is 100% free. XBL Silver doesn't give you the ability to play online, but it does allow you to interact with your friends online, and have access to certain things. But here's the detail that people don't know about. Final Fantasy XI actually works on XBL Silver. What does this mean? It means you can play FFXI on 360 without the need to pay for XBL, of course you still have to pay the $12 a month to play the game, but when can you not play an MMO like this for free? In all honesty, when I heard that this game was on 360, I jumped on it. Long have I waited for an awesome MMO that you can play on an actual CONSOLE, and not have to play with a stupid keyboard that has too many buttons for gaming. Trying to play a game on PC reminds me of the Intelevision, which had the stupid ass keypad. Sorry PC gamers, but if there's isn't an actual gaming controler, I can't play it. One of the reasons I didn't like WOW, shocked to hear that? Get used to it, I hate PC gaming. So when I found out that this MMO, which was a smash hit when it came out, was being launched on 360 with XBL support, I jumped on it, big time. Because I love playing MMO's, I really do, but I hate PC gaming, and since the large majority of MMOs are PC exclusive, that's why I don't play them very often. That and I sometimes can't afford the monthly fee. Anway, concerning the game in general, my only complaint about the 360 verson was all the room it took up on my hard drive. 7GB!!! YEESH!! If you want to play the 360 version of this game, make sure you have a big hard drive. One other complaint is how you can't turn the console off while playing. When you wanna get off the game, you can't just hit the power button, you have to shut down from the in game menu first, and wait until it arrives at the dashboard, then you can turn the console off. This can take some time, once it took 5 whole minutes to go back to the dashboard. So, with these complaints, why do I give it a 9? Easy, the game is ABSOLUTELY FREAKING POSSITIVLEY AMAZING!!!!!!!!! Yes, these complaints can be issues, but when you're actually in the game and playing, it's so worth it. It's just like your average MMO, make a character, choose your race and class, where your character was born, the whole deal. But here's the twist, in most MMOs, WOW included, when you choose a class you're stuck with it. You cannot try a different class, if you want to do another class, you have to make another character, which is a pain in the ass because I want to be adventurous. In FFXI, you're character isn't restricted to just one class. You choose a starter class, and you can change to another anytime without the need of making another character. This gives the game alot more freedom, and allows you to help others in need, properly. Say somebody needs a white mage to help them on a quest, but you're in Thief mode. You can just tell him "Just give me a sec to change to white mage and I'll help you." Each class has it's own unique leveling up. Say you level up your thief to lvl 10, you then switch to warrior, you will then be at lvl 1 again. You lvl up your warrior to lvl 14, but then you switch to your thief, and your thief is still lvl 10. This gives the leveling system the propper use of balance between leveling different classes. And once you hit lvl 18, you can do a sub-job quest. Once you do the sub-job quest, you can have a mian job, and a sub-job. So you can pretty much be both a Black mage, and a white mage. Of course there are restrictions. your sub-job can only be half of what your main job is. Say your a lvl 18 black mage, and you also lvled your white mage to lvl 16. When you set white mage as your sub, it will display your white mage at lvl 9, but when you lvl your black mage up to lvl 20, your white mage will display lvl 10. having a sub job gives you access to many other abilities to add to your main job, but some of you white mage special abilities will not be usable as a sub job, mainly your 2 hour power ability, a very powerful ability that can only be used once every 2 hours, real time. The community in the game is great, in fact communication is required. The game encourages you to get help from other players in order to get past quests that you could never do alone, including end-game events. I wish I could go on, but I'm running out of room on this review, but overall the game is great. I give it a 9/10. Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2011
    9
    It's funny how this has so many negative reviews from critics when the PC version doesn't. In the end, this MMO is either for you or not. It has a steep learning curve that requires hours of poking around the FFXI wiki and learning the basics.

    Also for people who do NOT get this because they don't want to pay for a gold subscription AND FFXI: Much like Phantasy Star Universe, this game
    It's funny how this has so many negative reviews from critics when the PC version doesn't. In the end, this MMO is either for you or not. It has a steep learning curve that requires hours of poking around the FFXI wiki and learning the basics.

    Also for people who do NOT get this because they don't want to pay for a gold subscription AND FFXI: Much like Phantasy Star Universe, this game does not require gold to be played online. As PlayOnline is a unique entity from XBOXlive, they do not require it. ... not that doesn't annoy MS, but hey. You can play FFXI with your silver account,
    Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2012
    2
    Final Fantasy XI; what a waste of my life. So far I have had positive reviews on video games; this game changes that. I know all website say this game is good; they must have been payed because the Final Fantasy XI I played sucked. I purchased this game for the Xbox 360 for twenty dollars at the local Gamestop. I was expecting to play it that night, surprise you have to get a massiveFinal Fantasy XI; what a waste of my life. So far I have had positive reviews on video games; this game changes that. I know all website say this game is good; they must have been payed because the Final Fantasy XI I played sucked. I purchased this game for the Xbox 360 for twenty dollars at the local Gamestop. I was expecting to play it that night, surprise you have to get a massive download that has nothing to do with the game. After two days of leaving my 360 on, I had to set up and online account. I then find out that there is a monthly fee of fifteen dollars a month. WTF!!! I already pay sixty dollars a year for the Xbox (luckily this game lasted only a few days more). Four days after buying this game I GOT TO PLAY!!! The graphics were as good as Final Fantasy VIII (a 1999 game). I was walking around and saying to my self, "this must be the tutorial area..not to many people here." I continued playing and got some random quest to kill things (this is an MMORPG after all) and got to level two. During my quest I saw a person doing a quest as well. (Turns out this was no tutorial, it was the game). After getting to about level four I said I am done with this **** The graphics sucked, quests were super boring, and no sense of accomplishment when playing this game. I also saw only about five people the entire time I played this game. Some MMO. I doubt that the PC version is any better. They even made several expansion to this horrible game. Nowadays people are saying that Final Fantasy XIV is terrible. My advice is to stay away from Final Fantasy MMO's. Even more good news about this game. When you try to take it to Gamestop after you have realized it sucks donkey balls, they will tell you that they cannot buy it from you because it is an MMORPG and it has been opened. I even tried to exchange it for a quarter; that failed. =( Expand
  7. BareO.
    May 22, 2006
    8
    Don't believe the critics when it comes to this game!!... I have been playing this game for a couple of weeks and at first, yes i thought WF!?! "how am i supposed to do anything with hardly any armour, an onion knife and 50gil". BUT the more you play, the better it gets. I'm a level 13 warrior and making money using the auction house system, (which by the way is really well Don't believe the critics when it comes to this game!!... I have been playing this game for a couple of weeks and at first, yes i thought WF!?! "how am i supposed to do anything with hardly any armour, an onion knife and 50gil". BUT the more you play, the better it gets. I'm a level 13 warrior and making money using the auction house system, (which by the way is really well done). levelling up is hard but when it you do there is a genuine sense of achievment. You can do anything you want, u get your own house to fill with furnitiure and a moogle who willl grow plants for you and organise all the crap you build up in your inventory. It took me close to 20 hours gameplay to fully understand the basics and get to a decent level (I am now able to literally butcher Quadav's in 2 hits Hehe) and buy a gigantic sword. The monthly fee is annoying but the money is HOPEFULlY being used constantly improve the game. In all, this game is great once you get past the first few levels and start forming party's with people and making money. If you want a game you can just pick up and play, then get bored with after 20mins, dont buy this cus you will hate it. Expand
  8. Jake
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    More people would like it if it wasn't for the fee.
  9. GiuseppeS.
    Jan 12, 2008
    9
    This is a great game, i've been playing for 2 years and i loved it... Morris N. gave it a10: " let me tell you getting into this game require commitment! At first when I picked up this game I have no idea how to play except killing monsters. Then I discovered the Auction House, Fishing, Crafting, Moogle, and the enormous hugh world out there. It caters to not just mindless fighting This is a great game, i've been playing for 2 years and i loved it... Morris N. gave it a10: " let me tell you getting into this game require commitment! At first when I picked up this game I have no idea how to play except killing monsters. Then I discovered the Auction House, Fishing, Crafting, Moogle, and the enormous hugh world out there. It caters to not just mindless fighting but also other aspects of life. And most importantly, the balanced design of various job-class-race allows infinite combination of partying (especially if you get into skillchains.) The monthly fees took me some time to get used to, but the frequent updates/improvement/enhancement made it worth every penny." He basically took the words right out of my mouth, i love partys, missions, and helping my linkshell friends out... The Monthly Fees are a killer but its worth it. Expand
  10. jr
    Feb 24, 2008
    7
    There is a lovely game full of depth, underneath the huge learning curve and horendous monotony. If yo have the patience and the time (I DIDNT cause of my classes and work),its not to late to get this and have it take over your life. (for better or worse)
  11. Paulox
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    Im very surprised to see how low metacritics score for this game is. I played thisfor a 1 1/2 years and it was great. There is so much content that it takes that long to explore most of it ^^. although the graphics are a bit dated, its a 7 year old game, FFXI provided me with more fun than most every other game on my 360. The community was good and people are willing to help new players Im very surprised to see how low metacritics score for this game is. I played thisfor a 1 1/2 years and it was great. There is so much content that it takes that long to explore most of it ^^. although the graphics are a bit dated, its a 7 year old game, FFXI provided me with more fun than most every other game on my 360. The community was good and people are willing to help new players learn how to play. the monthly fee is the only downside but the game is well maintained and updated frequently. I miss playing it but I had to move on. I agree with the other ppl who say that this game may not be for gamers who dont have much patience but for everyone else this is a great MMO for the 360 and one of the best games Ive ever played. Expand
  12. MorrisN.
    May 24, 2006
    10
    Let me tell you getting into this game require commitment! At first when I picked up this game I have no idea how to play except killing monsters. Then I discovered the Auction House, Fishing, Crafting, Moogle, and the enormous hugh world out there. It caters to not just mindless fighting but also other aspects of life. And most importantly, the balanced design of various job-class-race Let me tell you getting into this game require commitment! At first when I picked up this game I have no idea how to play except killing monsters. Then I discovered the Auction House, Fishing, Crafting, Moogle, and the enormous hugh world out there. It caters to not just mindless fighting but also other aspects of life. And most importantly, the balanced design of various job-class-race allows infinite combination of partying (especially if you get into skillchains.) The monthly fees took me some time to get used to, but the frequent updates/improvement/enhancement made it worth every penny. Expand
  13. [Anonymous]
    Sep 6, 2006
    5
    Sorry, but this game is probobly a good system, I love all mmorpg's (except SWG, now.), but I just cant get the hang of the text system, I always have something funny to say, but on the xbox 360, it takes so long to type it that suddenly they are on a whole nother topic. until I can buy a xbox keyboard sold seperately, leave mmorpg's for teh pc's.
  14. DuncanO.
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    In my opinion most adults (out of high school ) seem to like the game more and the younger kids they just dont seem to have the patience nessesary to get really involed in this game.
  15. Dec 24, 2011
    0
    The game is horrendous like rob is at WoW, the game is incredibly un-user friendly, with long travel times, no way to keep track of your quest givers and mounts which you cant recall once you dismount off, all i can say about the game is that it is incredibly dated and for anyone looking for a MMO to play I would suggest any Korean free mmo over this game.
  16. May 14, 2014
    1
    This game nearly ruined the franchise. Worst rendition of Final Fantasy ever. X was amazing and to follow it up with this crap is depressing. I refuse to play any more of there games this game is unforgivable. Online only play. Give me a break. Waste of Video game makers time. Top 10 worst MMO's but then again all MMO's are crap. WoW sucks too. Play better games. There are a at least 1000This game nearly ruined the franchise. Worst rendition of Final Fantasy ever. X was amazing and to follow it up with this crap is depressing. I refuse to play any more of there games this game is unforgivable. Online only play. Give me a break. Waste of Video game makers time. Top 10 worst MMO's but then again all MMO's are crap. WoW sucks too. Play better games. There are a at least 1000 better games out there better than any massively multi player online one. Expand
  17. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    Oh my Final Fantasy XI what can I say, it is the first MMO I truly fell in love with. As all my reviews with MMO’s start out the same as I’ve been playing MMO most all my life and they are my favorite type of game to play. As this review is being done on 9/7/2013 that’s how I’ll be looking at the game as it stands now. I’ve done a review of the PC version so check that out. For me the XBOXOh my Final Fantasy XI what can I say, it is the first MMO I truly fell in love with. As all my reviews with MMO’s start out the same as I’ve been playing MMO most all my life and they are my favorite type of game to play. As this review is being done on 9/7/2013 that’s how I’ll be looking at the game as it stands now. I’ve done a review of the PC version so check that out. For me the XBOX 360 version of this game is disappointing in my eyes. It’s an older game on a 7th generation console and it look exactly the same as the ps2 version of the game with the exception of higher resolution text textures for HDTV’s SE just lazily ported over the ps2 version with no effort to make it look any better. The game for xbox has long load time, lag in area of more then 10 people and textures look exactly the same as the ps2. If you need to play it on a console then yes the xbox 360 version of the game is your best choice. It should be noted that the PC supports controllers as well and look great for the age of the game with high resolution textures. I did use the xbox version out on my big screen for a bit till I build a HTPC, now I just use a wireless xbox 360 controller adapter and sit on the couch with a wireless keyboard. The game is still a 10 out of 10 for me but I wish SE put a little more effort to making it look more like the pc version of the game not just port over the ps2 version. Expand
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Final Fantasy XI is an acquired taste, and one that was built for playing on the sofa rather than on the PC. It's a pity that Square couldn't have served up something more ambitious for our first online RPG, but at least it means we get an RPG that's had three years of being knocked into shape. [Official UK Xbox Magazine]
  2. With no actual way of finishing the game, Gamers can find hundreds and hundreds of things to do, and still not be able to put it down. [Beta review: to be updated]
  3. Even hardened FF fans can't escape the fact that this is little more than a solid, functional port of a four year old game. As potentially enjoyable as it is (if you put the hours in), and as much content as there is in this all-encompassing release (if you really put the hours in), things have moved on considerably in the MMO scene in the intervening years.