Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 244 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Final Fantasy XIII-2 is a direct sequel to FFXIII, and will once again star lead protagonist Lightning.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 50
  2. Negative: 1 out of 50
  1. Jan 31, 2012
    100
    I had great hopes for this game, just like I had for the original title. Square Enix addressed nearly every issue from the previous title and delivered in a huge way. With a non-linear world, plenty of side quests, puzzles, and much more, Final Fantasy XIII-2 adds yet another smash hit to the RPG powerhouse.
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    90
    There are enough improvements to both exploration and combat to appease the old school FF players while keeping the game play fresh. If you're a fan of Japanese RPG's, you'll love the game. Despite the story slowing down at times, the game is really impressive and a lot of fun to play.
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    86
    A great improvement from FFXII, but a poor battle system takes away challenge. [March 2012, p.79]
  4. 80
    The true paradox of Final Fantasy isn't a temporal one. It's how it can conjure a feeling that's a combination of love, hate, derision and awe. XIII-2 gets less love than XIII. And the simplification dampens the open awe of previous games. But it's still the dominant feeling. And the fact I finished the game with only a quarter of the collectible fragments and very little idea of where to find them? Well, I just can't wait for the FAQs to start coming out.
  5. Jan 30, 2012
    80
    It's a unique and interesting way of handling time travel in games too, and while XIII-2 might fall foul of all the usual time-hopping pitfalls (read: it's really rather stupid at times) it's hard to recall a sequel that makes such major changes to a great game and still manages to get things so right. If XIII was making a case for the quickest route from A to B being a straight line, XIII-2 instead argues that a time gate directly to your destination is both more practical and more interesting. We're inclined to agree.
  6. Feb 7, 2012
    75
    It's fair to say Final Fantasy XIII-2 is an appealing return for the much-adhered franchise. It offers some truly unique and intriguing gameplay elements that will invite newcomers whilst challenging series aficionados. This is extremely important after the failings of XIII, as it shows Square Enix are prepared to keep building on the RPG formula they shaped. Serah's adventure is an entertaining and dynamic one, signalling that Final Fantasy is moving in the right direction once again.
  7. Feb 6, 2012
    40
    If there's no payoff - or, as is the case here, if the payoff is hidden behind such a clot of unavoidable tedium that it ultimately overwhelms how much I care about reaching that payoff - then hasn't the game failed? The balancing act for any game designer is to make me care in proportion to the challenge level you throw at me. And given how close I must be to the end, and how little I care to push on, Final Fantasy XIII-2 ultimately fails.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 83
  2. Negative: 15 out of 83
  1. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    I enjoyed this game I feel like people are to harsh on final fantasy. there are really high expectations for these games and you start to feel bad for them at a certain point. I mean the hatred these games get seems unwarranted. Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    The CEO Square Enix Yoichi Wada and the CEO of Bic Camera, Hiroyuki Miyajima continued with speeches short. Wada noted that XIII -2 has been enhanced to overcome the XIII in all aspects. Miyajima said the pre-sales for the game were strong in your store, and expressed hope that they sell more copies than anywhere in Japan. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2012
    10
    So if you stopped being a FF fan, respect the thousands who currently enjoy the series, and go play and watch another game. If you think that the series has "died" why are you here commenting about it? Final Fantasy have their real fans and not needs those who once were, but today only know to criticize. You are a zero to the left! Very hard to find a true fan of the Final Fantasy series. What there are people who are/was fans of one or another episode, and all they know to do nowdays is follow the series news just to criticize and say that "it was the good on my time, now it is garbage". So pay no attention to haters, realize that each FF has something new and different to offer and has no obligation to please fans of previous episodes. Expand
  4. May 29, 2014
    8
    This game is pretty good. There are a lot of sidequests to do, the battlesystem invites you to be creative, the visuals are stunning, but story and characters, or perhaps Serah, are a bit of a letdown. While Noel has a good backstory and Caius is one of the best Final Fantasy villains of all time, Serah is annoying. Story is really confusing but not impossible to understand. If you like JRPGs and beeing able to look past these flaws, this game is for you. Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    As a fan of JRPG, I have to say, this is certainly an improvement from FF-XIII. The ending is what really let me down. And despite its improvement, I only rented it, and spent it on other well-deserved games like Darksiders 2. Sorry, Lightning, but Death is FAR better than you in terms of character charisma. Plus, the RPG elements in DS 2 is better than XIII-2. An improvement, yes, but DS 2 proved to be a BETTER improvement. Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2012
    6
    This game is better than XIII but the damage has been done. Final Fantasy XIII is one of my most hated games ever and in my opinion, the worst FF game ever. This sequel is what XIII should have been but the problem is that this game should have been XIII when XIII was released and instead we got the same horrible taste with salt and flavourings added to it for slight improvement. First, the good stuff. The battle system is more involving and intuitive, there is more emphasis on exploration and random encounters are tactical. Overall, it completely improves on the gameplay from XIII. Now for the bad stuff and it's a very major one: the story. It is so contrived, so depressing and so poorly written and the time travelling aspect actually makes it worse and yes, the writing is as bad as XIII. Most of characters from XIII are back and are annoying as ever but at least we only have to follow Lightning's sister, Serah, who I thought was the most boring character out of the cast but it is sort of an improvement. Did XIII-2 redeem XIII and the whole franchise? Hell no. Even though it is better than XIII, it isn't enough to save the Final Fantasy franchise because it is still hanging on XIII's shadow and that's not good but it is one small step in the right direction at least. Expand
  7. Jan 31, 2012
    0
    Outdated Everything. Story doesn't make any sense. Annoying voice acting. Combat still unimaginative, the game plays by itself, just flashy battles. How about some real fighting. Not here. Square Enix is just milking the fanbase. The fanbase of neckbeards that like little girls with pink hair. Expand

See all 83 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?