Final Fantasy XIII Xbox 360

Final Fantasy XIII Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 546 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Final Fantasy XIII, you will embark on a journey through the cityworld of Cocoon and the outerworld of Pulse. Along the way, you will encounter diverse allies who will fight alongside you. Execute powerful attacks with weapons and magic, and summon the enigmatic Eidolons with an evolvedIn Final Fantasy XIII, you will embark on a journey through the cityworld of Cocoon and the outerworld of Pulse. Along the way, you will encounter diverse allies who will fight alongside you. Execute powerful attacks with weapons and magic, and summon the enigmatic Eidolons with an evolved Active Time Battle system. Experience seamless transitions between real time gameplay and in-game cinematics. Do you have the courage to face your destiny? Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 54
  2. Negative: 2 out of 54
  1. The streamlined, focused structure eliminates potential tedium without dumbing anything down, and the battle system strikes an elegant balance between strategy and fast-paced action. Stunningly beautiful graphics and a pervasively meticulous level of polish throughout only add to the experience.
  2. If you love JRPGs, Final Fantasy XIII is a must have, and even if you don’t, it’s still worth checking out as it’s one of the best RPGs to come out of Japan in a very long time.
  3. An epic adventure that shakes things up quite a bit yet still manages to retain the elements that've made the series great.
  4. Final Fantasy XIII will probably not go down as one of the high points in the series. However, on its own, FFXIII is still a really good and enjoyable game with a fantastic battle system and gorgeous graphics.
  5. Those who don't check their preconceptions at the door are missing the point. Novices and veterans be warned; Final Fantasy XIII demands your complete and utter surrender. Those willing to comply will be rewarded with a unique and compelling gaming experience accompanied by visuals that can only be described as completely out of this world.
  6. AceGamez
    79
    While Final Fantasy XIII is ultimately an enjoyable experience, the change in pace will throw off fans of turn-based battles or those who enjoyed the immediate grandeur of the twelfth installment.
  7. 40
    With Final Fantasy XII being such a revolution to the series, creating the series’ best battle system in the process, Final Fantasy XIII feels like a massive backwards step.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 129
  2. Negative: 33 out of 129
  1. GregS
    Mar 22, 2010
    10
    The best Final Fantasy since X. The story is one of the better ones in the series, and has one of the most likable casts in any Final Fantasy The best Final Fantasy since X. The story is one of the better ones in the series, and has one of the most likable casts in any Final Fantasy game (except Sazh). The combat system is the most fast paced in the series yet, with an emphasis on the ability to adapt. The removal of MP may seem like a bad thing, but it allows for random battles to actually take some effort, instead of the normal attack, then heal after battle. The lack of having to manage MP does not make it any easier either, as the mechanics are in place to prevent outlasting strategies on bosses. There is also some great music, even without Nobuo Uematsu. The final boss theme Born Anew, in particular, stands with the best final boss themes in the series. Oh, and the graphics are the best I've ever seen (though I have yet to play Crysis). Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    I really don`t know why people hate this game so much, i know ff xiii isn`t ff vii i know lightning is`nt cloud but you can`t pass your entireI really don`t know why people hate this game so much, i know ff xiii isn`t ff vii i know lightning is`nt cloud but you can`t pass your entire life waiting for a remake, ff xiii innovates and refresh the jrpg concept and that what square enix said before launching the game, in ten years this game will be remembered like one of the most underrated ff ever just for the obsession with cloud and company. Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2011
    8
    Being the newest game in one of the most beloved and successful video game series is never easy and while XIII doesn't hold a candle to theBeing the newest game in one of the most beloved and successful video game series is never easy and while XIII doesn't hold a candle to the best FF titles, it is still a good game in its own right. The first note to make has to be regarding the fantastic visuals which are some of the best of this console generation. However, visuals are not why FF games are so popular. The real point of interest is the combat. The paradigm system is a fresh take on the job system generally associated with III and V. Characters switch roles in the heat of battle, meaning a constant creating and revision of strategy, adding depth and complexity to fighting. The crystarium is very similar to the sphere grid of FFX so it is not a revolution in player growth. The story is much more character driven than other FF games with each struggling with problems connected to others in the group. Though it sags in the third act, the story is much more mature and modern than that of other games in the series. With a combination of graphics, gameplay and story, on paper this looks like an instant classic. FFXIII's real problem is in its mishandling of these elements. The camera is constantly trying to direct the player to the scenery and the visual dazzle occasionally overwhelms and prevents immersion. The game takes too long to reveal all elements of its battle system, withholding the ability to change roles and leaders until certain sections of the game. The characters personal conflicts take much too long to resolve themselves, usually because a character is too afraid to speak up. Though I liked most of the characters, Vanille was unbearable, with an optimistic attitude that is completely at odds with the story and the rest of the characters. This game will divide fans who question whether this is a game worth of the FF name. But to do this game justice, gamers should judge FFXIII on what it is and not on what it isn't. Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    A good game I liked the characters the story and the gameplay.I was happy with the character development that accured. the game was veryA good game I liked the characters the story and the gameplay.I was happy with the character development that accured. the game was very pretty but it was too linear. not the best installment in the Final Fantasy series but an okay one Expand
  5. May 1, 2014
    6
    I reviewed this game back in late 2013, and I started to get really into it. The problem with me and games is that I won't play a game toI reviewed this game back in late 2013, and I started to get really into it. The problem with me and games is that I won't play a game to completion until something about it grabs my attention, or else I'll play other games and only continue it later. I'm wishy-washy when it comes to completing games nowadays, and what's disheartening about this game was the fact that I was finally about to beat it.

    I purchased this game over the summer and didn't really play it that much until school started. Then all of a sudden the game really ramped up, and I saw myself completing disc one, and after that I was hooked. Disc 2 was an incredible experience from beginning to end, as it was breathtaking visually and the story got more and more interesting. Later on, I beat disc 2, and I couldn't wait to continue on to disc 3, finally beating this game. I was ready for that great sense of completion one gets when they beat a game they've had on their backlog for so long.

    But alas, the third disc was a horrible miscalculation. It went from an enjoyable experience overall to a shocking, horrendous slog. It's so freaking hard that I simply couldn't keep up with the enemies. I put 30 hours into the game, only to have a brick wall erected in front of my progress. It turns out that in order to even stand a chance in disc 3, you're supposed to do all the side missions. This is terrible. And it's a shame too.

    I was having a great time with this game, but unfortunately I was rendered unable to complete it. This game gets a 6 for horrendous difficulty spikes. It really is a shame, because late disc one and all of disc 2 were a very enjoyable way to pass the time.
    Expand
  6. Aug 16, 2010
    4
    Gamepro descriped this game best: "a long hallway toward an orange target symbol on your mini-map that triggers a cutscene, a boss fight, orGamepro descriped this game best: "a long hallway toward an orange target symbol on your mini-map that triggers a cutscene, a boss fight, or both. Frankly for the first six chapters I thought this game had longest tutorial ever, with total lack of towns, exploration or people to talk to. In short anything fun. There are some good points in the game of course. Story isn't horrible, it isn't anything to write home about either, and combat is much improved, however all together game is just bad even with all the improvements. If you want to play final fantasy I suggest you play any other number from I-XII, they are all better than this one. Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2016
    0
    I have absolutley nothing positive to say, this game is complete and utter garbage. All you do is walk in a linear line from one stupendouslyI have absolutley nothing positive to say, this game is complete and utter garbage. All you do is walk in a linear line from one stupendously long cut-scene to the next. You can't even over-level yoursself if you're struggling to beat a boss, it's the most linear and restrictive RPG I've ever played. I hate it. Expand

See all 129 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?