Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the team that created the award-winning Greed Corp, comes Gatling Gears. Set within the same Mistbound universe featuring signature elements like collapsing land, walker units and warring factions, but now with twin-stick shooter controls and a new hero, Max Brawley. In this eclecticFrom the team that created the award-winning Greed Corp, comes Gatling Gears. Set within the same Mistbound universe featuring signature elements like collapsing land, walker units and warring factions, but now with twin-stick shooter controls and a new hero, Max Brawley. In this eclectic steampunk setting, players fill the air with lead as they try to defeat a monopolistic corporation that is depleting the world of its natural resources. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. May 11, 2011
    90
    Vanguard Games is off to an impressive start. Their debut title is a blast to play, shows a keen attention to detail lacking in many downloadable games, and takes place in a fascinating world. I'm not exactly sure where Vanguard is taking us with its Mistbound universe, but if Gatling Gears is any indication, I'm looking forward to the journey.
  2. May 16, 2011
    80
    Gatling Gears is an excellent game regardless if you're playing alone or co-op. 1200 Microsoft points is a bit on the expensive side, but still worth your hard earned money.
  3. 80
    Otherwise, though, this breezy shoot-'em-up is five-plus hours of mindless fun. [Aug 2011, p.85]
  4. May 22, 2011
    75
    Gatling Gears is all about shooting. It's very simple, but really straightforward. Gatling Gears is a fast action game and has good looks, however, it's disappointing to see that it doesn't add a single thing to the genre.
  5. Sep 29, 2011
    70
    A solid game that ticks off everything on the things-you-need-to-have-in-a-twin-stick-shooter list. Doesn't stand out from the crowd though. [October, p.80]
  6. May 11, 2011
    70
    An enjoyable twin-stick isometric shooter with great visuals. Too easy and linear, surely recommended for unskilled players.
  7. May 12, 2011
    50
    By bringing nothing particularly new to either genre that it borrows from, Gatling Gears fails to justify its inflated price of 1200 Microsoft Points, and is far from an essential purchase.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. May 13, 2011
    10
    This game took me back to ye olde days of arcade gaming :-), but with the excellent visuals of a modern game. Every explosion feels like aThis game took me back to ye olde days of arcade gaming :-), but with the excellent visuals of a modern game. Every explosion feels like a little reward. There is a metric ton of content and it can get refreshingly challenging now and then,..specially on hard. The production value of this game really makes it stand out from the crowd. More of this please xbla! Expand
  2. May 12, 2011
    10
    For the price you can't beat Gatling Gears. If you are a fan of twin stick shooters that is. I have no issues with this game whatsoever. TheFor the price you can't beat Gatling Gears. If you are a fan of twin stick shooters that is. I have no issues with this game whatsoever. The action and pacing is excellent. There is a ton of content and it offers coop. The game is actually quite gorgeous. It's a feast for the senses. Try the trial and I bet you are not disappointed. Collapse
  3. May 14, 2011
    10
    Simply awesome!!! Wide variety of enemies, lots of levels, extremely fun bosses (especially in co-op). Top down shooters just ain't gettingSimply awesome!!! Wide variety of enemies, lots of levels, extremely fun bosses (especially in co-op). Top down shooters just ain't getting better than this!!! Expand
  4. May 13, 2011
    10
    I completed the campaign on medium in around 5 hours, and i am very eager to play it again on hard. The survival mode so far has beenI completed the campaign on medium in around 5 hours, and i am very eager to play it again on hard. The survival mode so far has been extremely challenging for me, almost a bit too much. The graphics in this game are amazing, there is always something happening on the screen. Boss fight were amazing too.. even though the second one was a bit of a pushover. Love this game, sad i don't have a gold account to play it with friends. Expand
  5. May 13, 2011
    10
    Back to the good old school arcade gaming! These bosses are just magnificant! Brilliant game with great eye for detail!!! Excellent value forBack to the good old school arcade gaming! These bosses are just magnificant! Brilliant game with great eye for detail!!! Excellent value for money that is! Expand
  6. May 19, 2011
    9
    Straightforward dodging and shooting made heaps of fun! Lots of explosions and destructible stuff, lots of very nice graphics to look at,Straightforward dodging and shooting made heaps of fun! Lots of explosions and destructible stuff, lots of very nice graphics to look at, plenty of levels to play, it kept me busy for quite a few hours! This game does not pretend to be innovative, it's just a good twin-stick shooter! Expand
  7. May 13, 2011
    7
    If you love twin stick shooters then you can't go wrong with this one. But for casual fans of the genre it just isn't worth 15 bucks. TheIf you love twin stick shooters then you can't go wrong with this one. But for casual fans of the genre it just isn't worth 15 bucks. The gameplay is solid but there are so many comparable games one could get for a fraction of the price. Not a bad game by any means it just doesn't do enough to seperate itself from the pack. While it is a more in depth game than most other twin sticks out there, the action isn't any better than similar titles. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews