Gears of War 2 Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2784 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. chrisv
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    this game is quality. had to write in cos some of these user comments are totally way of the mark. ive played GOW and GOW2 twice right through both r great games but GOW2 takes it to the next level. its one of the best sequels out there. its a keeper as they say!
  2. takedat
    May 2, 2009
    9
    The campaign is much better than Gears 1. The levels are more thought out and make you feel like you are actually in the environment. I would have gave it a 10 if the online play interface was better. Also, it would have been better to have a actual boss fight. Maybe in the next game. Overall, great game ... no doubt.
  3. JakeC.
    Nov 20, 2008
    0
    I was actuially pretty disappointed with Gears 2. It felt to me like Halo 2 all over again. Not that it's similar to halo 2, but i mean in its relationship to Gears 1. I think the critics are giving it much more hype than it deserves, as the game is less a new game than it is the original game revamped. Which some people might find great, but i was disappointed.
  4. DanielT.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Wow, what an amazing game. Where to start? First, the graphics are quite possibly the best of this gaming generation. The gameplay is just as you remembered, frantic and fun. Tons of violence and intense action equal an amazing experience. The online multiplayer really shines through. Add in the new Horde mode and you got a "Game of the Year" contender right here. Definitely worth your Wow, what an amazing game. Where to start? First, the graphics are quite possibly the best of this gaming generation. The gameplay is just as you remembered, frantic and fun. Tons of violence and intense action equal an amazing experience. The online multiplayer really shines through. Add in the new Horde mode and you got a "Game of the Year" contender right here. Definitely worth your hard earn money with tons of replay value. Well worth the wait and hype. Expand
  5. JodyC
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    Love midnight openings. Anyway, its heeeerrre...the sequel to one of if not THE most popular shooters on the Xbox 360. Gears of War 1 was fun, good looking, and easy to play...sporting a gameplay that was both challenging and easy in its execution. OF COURSE hype has been mounting for this game...and with good reason, we are told we are getting something bigger, more story-driven, and Love midnight openings. Anyway, its heeeerrre...the sequel to one of if not THE most popular shooters on the Xbox 360. Gears of War 1 was fun, good looking, and easy to play...sporting a gameplay that was both challenging and easy in its execution. OF COURSE hype has been mounting for this game...and with good reason, we are told we are getting something bigger, more story-driven, and better in every way...and for the most part it delivers. First, anyone expecting a big graphics upgrade will be dissapointed and while it does look a bit better than Gears 1 (which already looks incredible), the quality and scale / size feels the same even though they do a good job of tricking you into believing its a MUCH BIGGER, MUCH BETTER LOOKING game. Sound and Music are top-notch...the soundtrack is calm / tense depending on the situation and that creates a certain atmoshperic element to the game but the voice acting is a bit weaker this time around...its a little over-dramatic and eye-rolling at times (mostly the from Dom...Marcus's friend). The gameplay is basically the same with a few added moves and animations to make things appear more "fresh", but fans of Gears 1 will have no problems adapting its still a great "pick up and play" type game. Overall, Gears 2 is a step in the right direction...it is BIGGER, BETTER, and MORE BADASS than the original even if the "BIGGER" aspect feels more like an illusion...it still feels the same "size" as Gears 1 just busier things going on in the background. Anyway, the expanded story alone is what makes this game irresistable....as it was the ONLY thing missing from the first game...this Gears of War feels SO much more COMPLETE. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Expand
  6. JohnF.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Improving on every aspect that was lacking in Gears of War 1, GOW2 really delivers. More vivid colors, extravagant open less non-linear environments, a good variety of enemies, many new weapons, excellent multiplayer options including fighting waves of locusts, a story that keeps you interested, amazing details everywhere you look - don't miss one of the most stunning technically and Improving on every aspect that was lacking in Gears of War 1, GOW2 really delivers. More vivid colors, extravagant open less non-linear environments, a good variety of enemies, many new weapons, excellent multiplayer options including fighting waves of locusts, a story that keeps you interested, amazing details everywhere you look - don't miss one of the most stunning technically and artistic games ever developed! Expand
  7. AlbertV
    May 5, 2009
    2
    Duck and Cover, Duck and Cover. And more Duck and cover with Bugs. Lag Online only with 5vs5. Hmm, hmm, poor game. Have good graphics, but are not the best. Crysis have better Graphics than that.
  8. RickS
    Jul 26, 2009
    3
    JULY 25, 2009 and this game is still horrible. You have a brother or sister or GF or Wife whatever, that plays with you split screen, right? So your thinking well the Campaign was fun(THE WHOLE 5 HOURS OF IT), lets all play multiplayer together, This game is by far the worst multiplayer game on the market right now, if you ask even the people playing it on live(yes JULY 2009), they will JULY 25, 2009 and this game is still horrible. You have a brother or sister or GF or Wife whatever, that plays with you split screen, right? So your thinking well the Campaign was fun(THE WHOLE 5 HOURS OF IT), lets all play multiplayer together, This game is by far the worst multiplayer game on the market right now, if you ask even the people playing it on live(yes JULY 2009), they will tell you there not buying Gears 3. . First Horde gets boring after maybe 4 play throughs, the campaign itself is so short i thought it needed to be an add-on not a whole damn game, next and the biggest load of $h!t in this game is the multiplayer, LAG EVERY MATCH, IF HOST LEAVE YOU GET NOTHING, Thats right you could get 20 kills and your in a party, if a host leaves the match, everyone is back at the main menu screen, this means you have invite everyone back in, start up matchmaking and wait 4 too 5 mins again EACH MATCH. ARE YOU INSANE, if i play 5 games, i actually sat in my chair and steered at the screen for almost 25 minutes doing nothing! People don't seem to realize that i'm paying for xbox live every month, so when i buy a game i expect the multiplayer to be atleast playable, i'm not buying half of the game, NO, I WILL NOT JUST SETTLE FOR THE Campaign/Story. COD 4 got multiplayer so perfect, why god infinity ward did not put splitscreen why?. Gears of War 2 Weapon spawning is horrid, GLITCHES IN PICKING UP WEAPONS, glitches in running/jumping over walls/taking cover,Shotgun and Lancer rifle is all you play with, YOU HAVE TO OUT RUN YOUR OWN TEAM MEMBERS TO GET A DECENT GUN(sniper,torque bow,boomshot). 80 percent of all matches comes down to a shotgun fest, that is so inconsistent it boggles the mind, i can sometimes explode my enemy with one shot 4 feet away, sometimes 3 shots to the back of an enemy with my shotgun does nothing, he turns around and 2-pieces me(melee and then shoot). The community itself in Gears Of War 2 is very frustrating, everyone seems to be frustrated and angry, and i really can't blame them, the game is not rewarding anymore, its basically-mad dash to get CHEESE big gun, kill 4 people with big gun, pull out your shotgun, wait for big cheesy gun to spawn, do it all over again, mean while getting cursed at, from some of the stupidest people on xbox live. IF YOU HAVE SOMEONE THAT ENJOYS TIME SPENT WITH YOU AND VIDEO GAMES DON'T PUT THEM THROUGH THIS GAME. I PROMISE YOU I AM NOT BUYING GEARS OF WAR 3. Expand
  9. RichardM
    Aug 4, 2009
    3
    Sure, the graphics are better. This is the only good thing. Every other aspect of GOW2 has degraded. Here is why. (Balance) In GOW1, each act was played in specific environments. It was balanced, and it flowed quite nicely. GOW2 however, fluctuates in every act. It is completely unbalanced. Each act takes you to different environment that become tedious to play in. You're alternating Sure, the graphics are better. This is the only good thing. Every other aspect of GOW2 has degraded. Here is why. (Balance) In GOW1, each act was played in specific environments. It was balanced, and it flowed quite nicely. GOW2 however, fluctuates in every act. It is completely unbalanced. Each act takes you to different environment that become tedious to play in. You're alternating from underground to surface. Each act should be dedicated to a particular area, or at least not take us so abruptly to different places. (Feeling) The music is different, the voice acting is horribly, it's corny, the story has elements that shreds it to pieces, etc. It's as if Epic had a last minute thought to add a love side plot to the story. It's poorly executed (voice acting makes it laughable); I waited and waited for it to be over. The scale of GOW2 is quite larger. This however, is impaired by the linear gameplay that limits your "interaction" with the many enemies. When enemies are plentiful, you'll either be contained within a vehicle, or stuck behind a wall. The battles are longer and larger on the normal skirmishes, I can't deny. (Gameplay) The environments weren't enjoyable to play in. You were limited many times by being on vehicles, in boats, on reavers, etc. Freedom is why we play games. Memorable environments included the last act, when I was starting to enjoy it. The battle system is still intact. It's improved with new features. New enemies are just not as fun to defeat as you'd think they'd be. After shooting 100 bullets into one of them, they finally fall. It becomes repetitive and boring after awhile. In fact, the only thing that kept me going were the achievements. Weapons feel weaker, compared to the first game. GOW2 is FULL of bugs. Brumaks float in the air after defeat, enemies paralyze straight in front of you, enemies don't hurt you, etc. After 2 minutes, you know exactly what your enemy will do and what pattern he will follow (run at you, run back, jump over wall, stand straight up, headshot.) (Multiplayer) Need I even say how horrendously the multiplayer fails? 10 minutes just to find 1 game, lag in %80 of games, host leaves %60 of games, glitches on every corner, etc. It's just said. I loved the first game. GOW1 was amazingly done, and even though the multiplayer had the downfall of host advantage; it was crazily fun. The game did become repetitive, but not on the scale of GOW2. The multiplayer is barely playable! The campaign is the only thing this game has going for itself, and even that is poor. I just can't like this game... Expand
  10. AnthonyS.
    Sep 20, 2009
    3
    this game is a 3 at BEST. Yeah the graphics are spectacular. But if it weren't for the graphics or the awesome campaign, this would be a 1. Ppl buy to game for the multiplayer, and let me tell ya, it is the WORTS multiplayer game on the market today. WAY overrated. Epic is just a bunch of lazy bums sitting around hearing evryone complain about the million flaws of this game and here this game is a 3 at BEST. Yeah the graphics are spectacular. But if it weren't for the graphics or the awesome campaign, this would be a 1. Ppl buy to game for the multiplayer, and let me tell ya, it is the WORTS multiplayer game on the market today. WAY overrated. Epic is just a bunch of lazy bums sitting around hearing evryone complain about the million flaws of this game and here they are sitting and doing nothing about with all the money they have. JUST the Host powers itself are enough to give this game an epic fail, not to mention all the bugs and the poor public gameplay. Ill admit though, it can be fun when you're having a good day on that game but that's just cuz i didnt buy it, I borrowed it from a friend. If i bought it id just sell it back. This game is pure trash. Call of Duty's the way to go. And it just gives me giggles to hear all the ppl that think this game is good to go on and on about whats so great about it. And for realism? LOL trust me, if you shoot a guy 3 times point blank with a shotgun, he's gonna be down before he gets one off to just insta kill you. Expand
  11. DonDanger
    Sep 6, 2009
    0
    SHITTY GAME FULL OF SHIT.
    Is this game First idea of this shitty game cover shoot move cover shoot move and do that shit for 10 HOURS What the FU*K story sucks and is so cliché that if someone who hates cliché's would kill himself so....
    This game sucks really. And cost of this 60$ WTF? this game is so bad you should throw the disc out of your window and
    SHITTY GAME FULL OF SHIT.
    Is this game First idea of this shitty game cover shoot move cover shoot move and do that shit for 10 HOURS What the FU*K story sucks and is so cliché that if someone who hates cliché's would kill himself so....
    This game sucks really.
    And cost of this 60$ WTF? this game is so bad you should throw the disc out of your window and break,shoot,burn,buyan elephant and put elephant on it and sh*it on it sorry but thats true and graphics are worst it is ok put GREY it is like old time mickey Moses like how much they spent on this game? 2$?10$?
    Think before buy this game
    Expand
  12. AnonymousMC
    Sep 7, 2009
    9
    Overall it's a fun game. It has good graphics and the two player campaign it great even though it is a short. I cannot see how some people are giving this game a 0. It has its problems but all games do. Even though the multiplayer deathmatch mode is lacking it makes up for it in the story mode. I had fun playing it, and I think it is a good game.
  13. RyanB
    Jan 27, 2010
    3
    Just as repetitive as the last, only enhanced with better graphics. You may want to pick it up just so you can continue the story but i don't advise paying more than £10 ($20) for it. So is not worth it.
  14. ConnorR
    Feb 10, 2010
    4
    Compared to the first Gears of War, I just thought this game was a massive let-down. The story just isn't 'compelling' like they claimed it to be, Horde Mode is fun at first, but ultimately dull and boring, and the multiplayer is what brings it down the most. I HATE the multiplayer, ever since I first played it. It just does nothing for me, I find it so repetitive and Compared to the first Gears of War, I just thought this game was a massive let-down. The story just isn't 'compelling' like they claimed it to be, Horde Mode is fun at first, but ultimately dull and boring, and the multiplayer is what brings it down the most. I HATE the multiplayer, ever since I first played it. It just does nothing for me, I find it so repetitive and boring, a real shame as the first Gears of War was one of my favourite games ever, and you may think there isn't much of a difference, but there really is. The game does have some positive aspects, overall, I did enjoy the campaign, it was just massively over-hyped though, and it nothing much was added to make it stand out further from the first game. Some of the new weapons are also decent, the mortar is a fine addition, as is the Gorgon pistol. Overall though, the game is quite poor, if you can pick it up cheap you might as well get it as I understand a lot of people really like the game, you could be one of those people, but for me, I just didn't enjoy it. Expand
  15. Alec
    Nov 10, 2008
    8
    overall a great game, if a bit over hyped. the game play is solid (albeit simplistic), the campaign is gripping (aside from parts that are too soap opera-ish for my tastes), and horde mode is just fantastic. the only downer is the versus multiplayer, which is disappointing on several levels. the match making system takes way too long (2+ minutes to find a game?), the way you chose game overall a great game, if a bit over hyped. the game play is solid (albeit simplistic), the campaign is gripping (aside from parts that are too soap opera-ish for my tastes), and horde mode is just fantastic. the only downer is the versus multiplayer, which is disappointing on several levels. the match making system takes way too long (2+ minutes to find a game?), the way you chose game modes is frustrating, and weapon imbalances are annoying. if i want to play the submission game type, why do i have to join a queue for "territories" and hope that it is voted for by the other players over annex or king of the hill? that method of finding games may make sense for halo 3 because it has so many game types, but i really think that epic should have gone the route of COD matchmaking, including the ability for new players to drop in/drop out of games. god knows there are enough people playing this game for this to work. luckily this game has horde mode to keep me coming back, but who knows for how long. cod 5 comes out soon, with its zombie coop mode, and not long after is left 4 dead. Expand
  16. DillWhippy
    Nov 10, 2008
    1
    Come'on, scout team, stop writing all this <10> comments. We all know, you working hard to persuade masses that GOW2 is great, but it's a mass maedia pr LIES. I know, you will delete it, but you have to know - we know waht you doing, we know, how you doing it, we know how you make all the so called peoples votes so high.
  17. MattC.
    Nov 14, 2008
    6
    Great Campaign, worth going through a couple of times, even online. Co-op horde mode, isn't original but a welcome addition. Basically a 5 player version of terrorist hunt from Vegas 1 &2. This is all implemented and works fine. Multiple however, should have invested a little more time tweaking network issues. Once again this is their Achilles heal. Network lag across Live is Great Campaign, worth going through a couple of times, even online. Co-op horde mode, isn't original but a welcome addition. Basically a 5 player version of terrorist hunt from Vegas 1 &2. This is all implemented and works fine. Multiple however, should have invested a little more time tweaking network issues. Once again this is their Achilles heal. Network lag across Live is horrendous, even with Cable internet. Whole teams experience lag. Worse that Halo 2 was. Yes, worse. Not sure of how they setup the matches ( dedicated servers hosting or gamers, leaning toward the servers by the way you can't set up a match publicly). Searching for matches without 5 people in your party will take too long, longer than 5-10 minutes for possibly a 10 minute game. With a disappointing multilayer experience, but a mostly descent campaign, the designer did say it would be bigger and bloodier which was delivered, not much tweaking was done to actually make the game better. there are some new inclusion which do help but are not enough to out weigh some glaring flaws. After a few playing the campaign on and some attempts to enjoy multi player, you'll be trading in your gears 2 or selling on eBay or amazon. Expand
  18. ChrisE.
    Nov 10, 2008
    7
    Gears of war 2 starts off pretty good with the single player campaign. i was kinda expecting that you would be able to play as the different characters in the story mode, but unfortunately you get stuck with dom and marcus. Oh well. Doesn't detract from the overall single player experience, which is solid, albeit with a few rough spots here and there. Now, the reason i'm giving Gears of war 2 starts off pretty good with the single player campaign. i was kinda expecting that you would be able to play as the different characters in the story mode, but unfortunately you get stuck with dom and marcus. Oh well. Doesn't detract from the overall single player experience, which is solid, albeit with a few rough spots here and there. Now, the reason i'm giving this good game a 7 is because of the craptastic online multiplayer. I'm not saying Gears of war 2 multi player sucks, i'm saying the online component sucks. There are so many issues with online play right now that it's not even funny: The online lobby and interface looks like crap, you can't find a match you wanna play, you have to wait TEN minutes for the game to find other players to play with, and even when you get into a match, there's no guarantee you'll have fun, thanks to the abundant amount of lag on the servers. Even worse you can't tell the connection strength of everyone, it just put you in a room and says have fun. And yes, this was an issue before the game released, go read IGN's review of the game. There is no grace period for lag when it comes to chainsaw duels, meaning that you'll try to chainsaw someone who you think is unaware, and then 2 seconds after you rev the saw in their face, you're suddenly half way through a chainsaw battle and he's got a second and a half edge of button mashing on you. Not cool. There's also no way to tell who's lagging the game up (which could be me, i dunno) and there's no way to tell your connection strength for gaming (i had to pop in Gears 1 after a really laggy match to find it out... surprisingly it was good enough for a flawless gears 1 match). And the one of the biggest problem is that there are no REGIONAL SERVERS! meaning that Canadians like me will end up fighting Mexicans or Brits that have really bad connections. I can't believe that the gears 2 online is much worse than the gears 1 online. It is a few days after launch but right now its worse than halo 3 in terms of lag. Overall its a good game, but i recommend you rent this first if you're going for the online experience, cause as of right now its a train wreak. It might work for you but lots of people have been experiencing massive lag, so beware. Expand
  19. GrahamM.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    I AM RETARDED HAHAHA I TOTALLY DID NOT KNOW YOU CAN SKIP CUT SCENES BY SIMPLY PRESSING THE BACK BUTTON BECAUSE MY IQ IS LOWER THEN MOST LEGALLY RETARDED PEOPLES

    I ALSO DID NOT KNOW THIS GAME HAD A VERY POOR RATING DUE TO FAN BOY WARS GIVING NEGATIVE REVIEWS TO A GAME PS3 OWNERS NEVER PLAYED FEEL THE FURY OF THE CAPS LOCK!! it's not all in caps now right? edit some caps out
    I AM RETARDED HAHAHA I TOTALLY DID NOT KNOW YOU CAN SKIP CUT SCENES BY SIMPLY PRESSING THE BACK BUTTON BECAUSE MY IQ IS LOWER THEN MOST LEGALLY RETARDED PEOPLES

    I ALSO DID NOT KNOW THIS GAME HAD A VERY POOR RATING DUE TO FAN BOY WARS GIVING NEGATIVE REVIEWS TO A GAME PS3 OWNERS NEVER PLAYED
    FEEL THE FURY OF THE CAPS LOCK!!

    it's not all in caps now right? edit some caps out if you'd like
    Expand
  20. JohnKristic
    Nov 7, 2008
    2
    Ok, I loved the first game and thought this would be pretty good too. I was seriously mistaken. Frame rate issues, texture glitches, same old same old gameplay, horrible story, extremely short single player mode, horrible voice acting. Most importantly, my 360 keeps freezing and restarting itself whenever I play this game for more than an hour. It's really weird. Anyway, go out andOk, I loved the first game and thought this would be pretty good too. I was seriously mistaken. Frame rate issues, texture glitches, same old same old gameplay, horrible story, extremely short single player mode, horrible voice acting. Most importantly, my 360 keeps freezing and restarting itself whenever I play this game for more than an hour. It's really weird. Anyway, go out and buy Fable II instead - it is a FAR greater game. Expand
  21. StephenM.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    An excellent game in my opinion- playing through the campaign on Hardcore and couldn't be more pleased with the cooperative experience. The multiplayer is absolutely perfect, pretty much fixing every problem the first Gears had, and then some. Definitely worth the money.
  22. JohnC.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    Visuals are great, as you would expect, but not an impressive change. But the enhancements can still be noticed. Multi-player maps seem more refined, with better layouts that really cater to the 5v5. Execution, I think, is still the best mode.
  23. Darren
    Nov 8, 2008
    2
    This was the worst game I have played this year. This was a total turn around from the first GOW. I dont know why they had to add so much unnecessary plot... No one wants to fight a giant worm, they want to fight the locust. In my opinion the developers stole every idea from Halo and tried to incorporate it with the previous GOW... I was not even close the the caliber of Halo now. Do not This was the worst game I have played this year. This was a total turn around from the first GOW. I dont know why they had to add so much unnecessary plot... No one wants to fight a giant worm, they want to fight the locust. In my opinion the developers stole every idea from Halo and tried to incorporate it with the previous GOW... I was not even close the the caliber of Halo now. Do not buy this game. Expand
  24. GrantC.
    Nov 8, 2008
    4
    Nothings changed really, without proper comparison you would think the graphics are the same, close up its just a load of messy lines. Some 'craters' in the floor are just images made to look like craters which is lame. Campaign is stupid with more or less the same bosses, and at some points going back to old school type games where you have to dodge walls that will crush you Nothings changed really, without proper comparison you would think the graphics are the same, close up its just a load of messy lines. Some 'craters' in the floor are just images made to look like craters which is lame. Campaign is stupid with more or less the same bosses, and at some points going back to old school type games where you have to dodge walls that will crush you and stuff like Lara Croft or Abes Odyssey and stuff like that. Really its the ONLY reason for me to dust off my Xbox and stop using it as a coffee table/radiator! And its not even that much different to Gears Of War 1. Expand
  25. timothydavis
    Nov 8, 2008
    4
    wow such a disapointment. while the horde is great and the story is actually very good the multiplayer was terrible. Really bad. I idnt stop playing gears 1 mutiplayer until gears 2 came out thats how good it was but i dont think that disc will go back in my xbox until a MAJOR patch is released.
  26. LtM.
    Dec 1, 2008
    1
    No wonder some people call it gears of bore! youre telling me... 5hours to complete the story, broken multiplayer, same old host advantage bullshitt, borked weapons, insane lag..10mins to get a ranked game = FAIL..this game almost as bad as halo3 for hype vs crap game syndrome.
  27. DJM.
    Dec 2, 2008
    5
    This game was pretty amazing but I wasn't as impressed as what I thought I would be.The ending SUCKED! I was hoping there would be some berserkers or something but I killed that big exploding thing easily every time. It needed berserkers like the last one. Overall it was an ok game....GOW 1 was better.
  28. liammcgrath
    Jan 20, 2009
    5
    Campaign was brilliant, bit short though. the online experience was bitterly disappointing. they changed it too much from the original. lot of problems with the online side of it. there are a lot of disappointed Gears fans out there. all you have to do is go to Gears official web site, read the comments posted by people and you will see what i mean. love this game but they have ruined it
  29. stevenh
    Jan 4, 2009
    1
    this game is bullshit to many retarded things happenin like that unbeatable chain saw wen its comin at u not even god himself can stop it i try to use the shot gun but na wont work ....also how come da shot gun only works some times wen u shot a player at the same distance he shot you u get blown away....this game is 2 be for enjoyment all it does is do ur head in its a load of bullshitthis game is bullshit to many retarded things happenin like that unbeatable chain saw wen its comin at u not even god himself can stop it i try to use the shot gun but na wont work ....also how come da shot gun only works some times wen u shot a player at the same distance he shot you u get blown away....this game is 2 be for enjoyment all it does is do ur head in its a load of bullshit ..yhey should have an up date to fix this crap like the glitches and laging
    catch me at my gamer tag stevenhallissey
    Expand
  30. ChrisR.
    Jan 5, 2009
    9
    I was scepticle of this game, I liked ,borderline ,loved the 1st one, but i thought the only reason this game would get any attension is simply fan boys loving the 1st one so much. But it really does meet up to expectations. The Story is absolutly immersive by comparison to most games trying to pull off the same nonsence as this game. Giving Dom a personal story touch was a great call. TheI was scepticle of this game, I liked ,borderline ,loved the 1st one, but i thought the only reason this game would get any attension is simply fan boys loving the 1st one so much. But it really does meet up to expectations. The Story is absolutly immersive by comparison to most games trying to pull off the same nonsence as this game. Giving Dom a personal story touch was a great call. The Combat, basically being the same feels more refined, more effort put into. I still say that the game wouldnt be fun by comparison to co-op then just by yourself. I noticed the sound has improved alot aswell. I do recommend this game. But I wouldnt recommend playing it alone, there geniouenly is not much fun in that. Expand
  31. AlexS.
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    Me and Gears of War 1 did not fit well together i completely despised that game to no end and its a wonder i got this 1 but im sure glad i did all my friends were getting it so i said hey might as well i got nothing to lose so i go out and spend $60 and im so glad i did i even went back and played gears 1 and they fixed everything and i will say that matchmaking in Gears 1 is okay and its Me and Gears of War 1 did not fit well together i completely despised that game to no end and its a wonder i got this 1 but im sure glad i did all my friends were getting it so i said hey might as well i got nothing to lose so i go out and spend $60 and im so glad i did i even went back and played gears 1 and they fixed everything and i will say that matchmaking in Gears 1 is okay and its Okay in Gears 2 i like them both i dont mind it and unlike gears 1 you got to set up your team or youd join a match and miss half your team because they went to Cog but not in Gears 2 the only slightly annoying thing in Gears 2 is the chainsaw.. but once you get good with the shotgun and know how to roll aorund a lil bit more the worries are gone you may still get hit by it but not nearly as much. Oh and peoplle say the Shotgun in gears 2 is crap. NO its not this just requires more skill to use instead of blindfire in front of you and you win its a lot better and i like what they did with it they made it more like a real shotgun instead of a Jesus shotgun that 1 hit kills everyhting. Id say the only bad thing about Gears 2 is that 90% of Shotgunners get there kills from nothing but 2 piecing and all i got to say to that is NO your not good for doing it. For example my friend Kilin 2-pieces all day he gets me sometimes but 80% of the time i blast him before he can get to me and he always loses to me when he doesnt 2-piece its not using the shotgun really your just pressing B + RT and then you move on no you suck for doing it. And Meleeing in this 1 is a little different some weapons melee a lot harder then others and some barely hit you at all at first i was confused a lot because id get 1 hitted when i only have 1 pistol shot damage on but once you learn that you dont get mad as much. Oh and moving around in this game is awesome it saves lives and its funny to get downed by someone and crawl away from them and they search forever and cant find you then you just come up and blast them. Oh and the last thing i cant stress enough about gears 2 DONT PLAY WITH YOUR KILLS!!! Ive had my whole team die and it was just me vs 3 people they downed me and let me get back up (with the intention of donwing me again) and when i got up i rolled away dodged there bullets and 1 of them was still on me i had the torque out charged it for like 2 seconds turned around and blasted him with it and then the other 2 came at me with shotguns luckily there noobs and try to 2 piece and just got raped because i move and blast you once you melee. Expand
  32. GoozeI.
    Oct 6, 2009
    3
    i bought gears 1 for the online as did everyone then i bought gears 2 and the online was pathetic but gears 2 got the campaign pacing right not much story but great pacing. its so bad that i have came to the conclusion that the game was simply rushed and not finished
  33. Vogt
    Jan 7, 2009
    6
    I am, or at least used to be, a big fan of the Gears universe. The original Gears game described a beautiful, desolate, war-torn world, with an almost unreal, ghost-like enemy, the Locust. The sequel takes the fight underground where these Locust dwell and reveals much more of the their society. This is done in a terrible manner, with a colorful medieval theme and a soggy, also colorful, I am, or at least used to be, a big fan of the Gears universe. The original Gears game described a beautiful, desolate, war-torn world, with an almost unreal, ghost-like enemy, the Locust. The sequel takes the fight underground where these Locust dwell and reveals much more of the their society. This is done in a terrible manner, with a colorful medieval theme and a soggy, also colorful, organic mushroom theme, absolutely ruining the beautiful grey, desolate, apocalyptic, mechanic theme of the original game. Gears was never a game which sequel should have been made "bigger, better, more badass", but which art direction should have been held in a firm, responsible grip. Imagine if the sequel to your favorite sci-fi movie turned out to be a musical, with fireworks and silly puppets, with a budget ten times bigger than the original. The Gears universe is finally ruined by the protagonists actually walking around--stairs, paths, platforms--inside a giant earth worm, mid-game. Thank you, Epic, for turning one of the most promising sci-fi universes in gaming into Super Mario World. Finally, on the positive side, guns, especially sounds, are great, and the new Horde game mode is a superb multiplayer co-op experience, unfortunately ruined by the grounded shield exploit, which lets players hold of monsters indefinetly by blocking entrances with shields stuck in the ground. Also, a side plot during the game, that is not very well developed, concerning creatures known as "Sires", was much more in the spirit of the original Gears and could have taken the story in a very interesting direction. Shame that Epic was more concerned with making a "bigger, more bad-ass" sequel, instead of just a good one. Expand
  34. KyleC
    Feb 1, 2009
    5
    I give it 5 out of 10 because the online play is plagued with lag and other issues. If your a hardcore gamer leave this one along. To many problems on the multiplayer level. Now if you are playing Horde mode or regular co-op it will be alright. But the lag and network issues along with all the glitches in the online multiplayer cause this game to be rated 5 out of 10.
  35. JustinB.
    Feb 16, 2009
    4
    It just isn't that fun. A game this visually stunning (save for the brown filter) shouldn't suffer from sluggish controls, cheesy dialog, and generally poor scenarios. Why people go gaga over this title is beyond my understanding but you can beet that any reviewer worth their salt would be willing to admit that this series still has room for improvement.
  36. PatrickC
    Feb 2, 2009
    6
    This game is visually amazing. The sound is fantastic. Multiplayer is fun (when it works). Contrary to popular belief, I actually liked the story. However, there are just as many problems as there are positive points. The multiplayer mode is not only broken, but after being out all this time, IT'S STILL BROKEN. The campaign was too short. People say this game was bigger than Gears 1, This game is visually amazing. The sound is fantastic. Multiplayer is fun (when it works). Contrary to popular belief, I actually liked the story. However, there are just as many problems as there are positive points. The multiplayer mode is not only broken, but after being out all this time, IT'S STILL BROKEN. The campaign was too short. People say this game was bigger than Gears 1, but I swear the first Gears took me longer to finish. Many of the backgrounds are, though good looking, not very interesting. There isn't much variety in the gameplay, and it's an easy game, no matter what difficulty you play it on. Expand
  37. DesO
    Feb 25, 2009
    9
    The single player is pretty good (and only get better in co-op). It's epic in scope as well as gameplay and the story, while not the strongest out there, is entertaining in an action movie kind of way. The gameplay is more weighted than the first gears and the cover system works much better. The multiplayer is good but the matchmaking can be fun-suckingly slow. this is compensated by The single player is pretty good (and only get better in co-op). It's epic in scope as well as gameplay and the story, while not the strongest out there, is entertaining in an action movie kind of way. The gameplay is more weighted than the first gears and the cover system works much better. The multiplayer is good but the matchmaking can be fun-suckingly slow. this is compensated by the fact that you can host a game with a few friends and fill the remaining slots with bots, or you can try to hold out against wave after wave of locust in horde mode. The graphics are a more refined than the first gears and thus significantly better. Overall a pretty solid package and well worth it's weight in gold. Expand
  38. StevieStevie
    Mar 7, 2009
    4
    Quite a dissapointment compared to the original. Graphics are good but discredits itself for using CGI. As for mutiplayer it is laggy and completely unbalanced. You can tell they rushed it for xmas. Worth getting if you don't like FPS and need online competition. Otherwise get a Call of Duty.
  39. Sablicious...
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Gears Of War 2 is just an awesome video game, and the best shooter around. The storyline is pretty mean, and the suicide by Tai really added to the effect of how badly they were torturing people. The Multiplayer is epic as, and the masses upon masses of unnessescary gore is just legendary. The horde part of the game I believe is the most fun, and the inclusion of 5 maps from the first Gears Of War 2 is just an awesome video game, and the best shooter around. The storyline is pretty mean, and the suicide by Tai really added to the effect of how badly they were torturing people. The Multiplayer is epic as, and the masses upon masses of unnessescary gore is just legendary. The horde part of the game I believe is the most fun, and the inclusion of 5 maps from the first game is mean as. Great game! Expand
  40. DavidHull
    Jul 11, 2009
    7
    Looks good, feels good, plays well, has a much larger scale campaign however multiplayer can be rather frustrating should you live anywhere bar the USA and the story line has brutish men with feelings. Honestly where there no story it would probably be better, shooting locust is fun but leave the story to Bungie and Valve
  41. samblackburn
    Jul 15, 2009
    2
    while gears of war 2's campaign is entertaining all be it short the multiplayer is what the original such a successful game and epic have done there utmost to destroy the best part of there game. i can't imagine gears 3 getting any better. if you were a fan of the first stay well away
  42. KevinS
    Jul 20, 2009
    5
    Ridiculous potential to be one of the best games of the decade. Instead, avid online players are left with a myriad of problems that make it frustrating to even get through a match. Game-changing lag is present even with good connections, making it nearly impossible to keep a 1:1 kill/death ratio unless you've mastered leading your targets. The lack of dedicated servers is simply Ridiculous potential to be one of the best games of the decade. Instead, avid online players are left with a myriad of problems that make it frustrating to even get through a match. Game-changing lag is present even with good connections, making it nearly impossible to keep a 1:1 kill/death ratio unless you've mastered leading your targets. The lack of dedicated servers is simply unacceptable for a game of Gears of War 2's budget and sales. Cliffy B and co.'s inability to fix problems that were present in the original Gears of War astound me. Client-side hit detection, dedicated servers, lag, matchmaking... the list goes on. These problems truly make me wonder whether or not Epic cares in the least about their customers. It really is disappointing how much of a let down this game was. Expand
  43. Matt
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    It makes me sad to see people that cannot recognize an epic game when they see one. Most of the people that rate low are Halo addicts that can't stand to realize just how amazing this game is. In my opinion, it is the only true next gen game I have ever played. Shooters don't have to be about charging enemies and shooting wildly and completely unrealistically. This is the way It makes me sad to see people that cannot recognize an epic game when they see one. Most of the people that rate low are Halo addicts that can't stand to realize just how amazing this game is. In my opinion, it is the only true next gen game I have ever played. Shooters don't have to be about charging enemies and shooting wildly and completely unrealistically. This is the way real war is done. Expand
  44. MaverickP
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    The game [CS1.6] truly is a legandary game on its own, supassing countless games in the highs and lows and still to this day maintaining high popularitie and continueing to grow more and more. this is byfar the BEST fps game i have played. for it era and time when developed, the graphics, gameplay and overall design is AWESOME....this is one game to be proud of no doubt if you enjoy a The game [CS1.6] truly is a legandary game on its own, supassing countless games in the highs and lows and still to this day maintaining high popularitie and continueing to grow more and more. this is byfar the BEST fps game i have played. for it era and time when developed, the graphics, gameplay and overall design is AWESOME....this is one game to be proud of no doubt if you enjoy a true fps game this is it....need i say more..buy it get it enjoy it !!!! -Maverick user since 1998 Expand
  45. PeterOmassi
    Nov 11, 2008
    4
    Using the A button for sprinting and going for cover is clunky and the gun play is boring... Eye popping visuals and buckets of blood is just the paint of the Turd . This is only my opinion and i found it boring. Get fallout 3 or fable 2 unless you are really desperate for another multi player experience witch isn't that really good. -The Broken Gamer
  46. ChristyM.
    Nov 10, 2008
    5
    I don't know what game the reviewers were playing. I got bored of horde on the night. Story was too linear. Cover shoot. Cover shoot. On-line. What the bloody hell were they thinking. DON'T LISTEN TO THE N00BS ON THE EPIC FORUMS. LISTEN TO THE REAL PLAYERS. Christ. I'm not saying I hate it, but I agree with the bottom critic. I got bored. That's a bad thing with such a I don't know what game the reviewers were playing. I got bored of horde on the night. Story was too linear. Cover shoot. Cover shoot. On-line. What the bloody hell were they thinking. DON'T LISTEN TO THE N00BS ON THE EPIC FORUMS. LISTEN TO THE REAL PLAYERS. Christ. I'm not saying I hate it, but I agree with the bottom critic. I got bored. That's a bad thing with such a highly anticipated game. 5.5 Expand
  47. TorgnyH.
    Nov 11, 2008
    7
    the game is a 10. it is a great game. but I must deduct 3 pts for not getting all that I paid for. I bought the Limited Edition thinking I would get the flashback map and golden lancer codes, but with no warning from the publisher... some limited editions in some regions don't have the codes included. this could have been better managed by telling us ahead of time and we the game is a 10. it is a great game. but I must deduct 3 pts for not getting all that I paid for. I bought the Limited Edition thinking I would get the flashback map and golden lancer codes, but with no warning from the publisher... some limited editions in some regions don't have the codes included. this could have been better managed by telling us ahead of time and we wouldn't have necessarily wasted the extra money on the limited edition. Now apparently the flashback map codes are available for an additional price. There is no way I'm buying them as I feel I have already bought them by spending extra for the limited edition. its tainted an otherwise blissful gaming experience. Expand
  48. HenryL.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    Gears of War 2 is frieken awesome, the graphics are flawless, the action is incredible, its everything and more than the first one was, and if you played the first one then you know how amazing it was.
  49. PaulB.
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    A more cinematic feel than the last game is accompanied by stunning visuals, and more varied locations than previously. Gameplay wise, I rarely got the feeling of imminent death as in GOW1, but thats mainly because you a re taking the fight to the locust. If you don't give a hoot about atmosphere or cutscenes, than theres always muiltiplayer - which is everything it should have been A more cinematic feel than the last game is accompanied by stunning visuals, and more varied locations than previously. Gameplay wise, I rarely got the feeling of imminent death as in GOW1, but thats mainly because you a re taking the fight to the locust. If you don't give a hoot about atmosphere or cutscenes, than theres always muiltiplayer - which is everything it should have been last time round. 5 players a side, loads of maps, respawns (in some games) and the co-operative horde mode - which shoud slate your thirst for intense combat, if the campaign has failed to do so. Also HORDE is about the most HORDE fun I've had HORDE on xbox HORDE live, and if you've HORDE never fancied joining this HORDE service this could be HORDE the game that HORDE changes your HORDE mind. LOad up some HORDE bots and give it a go HORDE you'll be x-box living it HORDE before you know it. You may have guessed i quite like HORDE. Expand
  50. JamesM.
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    Love this game, it's so much fun. The single player is challanging on Hardcore mode and I am about 2/3'rd through it. Get's frustrating at some points but then when you manage to get passed a certain area or kill off a 'boss' that sense of 'hell yeah! i did it!' kicks in and you love the game more. The reason for the point drop is the multiplayer is a Love this game, it's so much fun. The single player is challanging on Hardcore mode and I am about 2/3'rd through it. Get's frustrating at some points but then when you manage to get passed a certain area or kill off a 'boss' that sense of 'hell yeah! i did it!' kicks in and you love the game more. The reason for the point drop is the multiplayer is a bit of a let down but not as much as some people make out. yes the shotgun has changed etc.. and it's not gears1, if it was, that would be a bad evolution of the game. Why not just play gears1 if you want to own with the shotgun? This is a new game and new rules. get revving and let the blood flow through those metal teeth! anyone for toast? Expand
  51. GavinB.
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    Excellent. Simply put, one of the most amazing 'balls to the wall' action game. There were so many sphincter tightening moments in this game, it's hard to believe it actually surpasses the original in terms of wow factor. Highest of recommendations.
  52. SteveR.
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    Don't take any notice of the Sony fanboy votes that have somehow forced the rating for this great game down to 6.7, this is a top rated game. The story is more engaging that the first installment, the graphics and environments are more varied and interesting and the all important gameplay is up there with the best of them. Also, the addition of the Horde multiplayer game mode is a Don't take any notice of the Sony fanboy votes that have somehow forced the rating for this great game down to 6.7, this is a top rated game. The story is more engaging that the first installment, the graphics and environments are more varied and interesting and the all important gameplay is up there with the best of them. Also, the addition of the Horde multiplayer game mode is a masterstroke; at last, you can game with your mates without running the risk of pre-pubescent morons shouting, swearing singing or screaming in the background. Excellent and highly recommended to anyone who likes shooters. Expand
  53. ValC.
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    Gears of war 2 completely captures the brilliance of the first game and actually moves it forward. With its new ideas and provocative levels, GOW2 is destined to become one of the greatest games xbox has seen in a long, long, time.
  54. JimmyP
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost Expands on the original in graphics, gameplay and storyline in significant ways. Graphics are most obviously a very strong point as the vistas are emmense the added color is pleasure to behold in the older maps and gives them added dimension and realism. Gameplay has been tweeked to put more weapons on a more equal playing field. Not to mention the new weapons! Storyline as with almost all games could have been deeper but still is engrossing! AND did I mention HORDE! Great game and looking forward to DL content. Expand
  55. MikeyW.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    Awesomeness. This game is pretty good. The boss battles are not as epic, but there's more stuff to it, like a longer vehicle sequence, a wide range of new weapons and enemies to kill and much more insight into the story. The only thing missing are epic boss battles and the hammer of dawn.
  56. GrahamM.
    Nov 18, 2008
    7
    No advancement since the first installment. Game design feels old, environments looks messy (some might say detailed, I say messy), and moments of frustration (can't skip cut-scenes). If you were happy with the first one, just stay there.
  57. Wayloski
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Gears 2 is definately worth people's time and money. When I first picked it up at the midnight release, I couldn't wait to get home and get online, only to sit in the match making for close to 20 minutes before it found a game for me. Very dissappointing. But since then, it seems they ironed out the problems, and I can now get in a game pretty easily. Online MP is very well Gears 2 is definately worth people's time and money. When I first picked it up at the midnight release, I couldn't wait to get home and get online, only to sit in the match making for close to 20 minutes before it found a game for me. Very dissappointing. But since then, it seems they ironed out the problems, and I can now get in a game pretty easily. Online MP is very well done. Very strategic with the inclusion of using grenades as proxy mines. Not to mention you can set up shields in the ground to make yourself a nice little fort to hold down. Horde mode has to be one of the best coop experiences in recent memory. You really have to work together to survive, especially after round 10. Single player is a very engaging experience. I thought the story in Gears 1 was great. Short, simple, and to the point, so I was really blown away by this game. Cliffy B and the gang did an awesome job fleshing out the overall story. Almost shed a tear for one of the characters at one point! :( There is also a variety of gameplay in the single player besides the old "shoot anything that moves" mentality. The game also gives you a good challenge on just hte Hardcore setting, can't wait to start it again on Insane! Boss battles are very well done and a welcome addition to the Gears games. Games the perfect package of single and multiplayer. Definate 10/10. What are you waiting for, run out and buy it! See you online COGs! Expand
  58. CalebL
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Gears 2 takes what was great in the first and adds a plethora of content and gameplay modes that will more than satisfy any fan of Gears 1. And Graham M, try hitting the "back" button. It lets you skip the cutscenes as well as the headset communications.
  59. BrendanS
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    Really like the first; they didn't reinvent the wheel here; just made it shinier and a bit more solid. Matchmaking is broken at the moment and the communities' collective fingers are crossed for a quick fix soon. Otherwise, a visceral, cinematic experience that is truly impressive to behold.
  60. DemothH.
    Nov 25, 2008
    8
    This game was AWESOME, and far better than the first. I am almost a total fan-boy for this game because of the fixes for multiplayer. I still have my gripes, however, that caused me to not give this a 10. The weapons online can sometimes be horribly inconsistent. Some days all the weapons seem to work as they should and I'll get kills and get killed and there are no problems. Other This game was AWESOME, and far better than the first. I am almost a total fan-boy for this game because of the fixes for multiplayer. I still have my gripes, however, that caused me to not give this a 10. The weapons online can sometimes be horribly inconsistent. Some days all the weapons seem to work as they should and I'll get kills and get killed and there are no problems. Other times I will unload 3 shotgun shells into someone, point blank, then melee them and then I get chainsawed. I've also been on the receiving end of BS when someone sits in my face for 3 seconds with a chainsaw and then I roll away and down them in one non-active reload shot with the shotgun. I've even been hin the legs with a boomshot and lived.... wtf? BS goes both ways sometimes, and when the game decides to have inconsistent weapons then the game becomes no fun. The matchmaking can also be spotty, sometimes taking 10 minutes to find a game, and other times assigning you to a game where everyone is experiencing crippling lag. When the game does decide to work, however, the game is second to none. I just wish the game actually was consistent. Expand
  61. ShaneS
    Nov 25, 2008
    7
    This game does not have the same emotive quality or graphical purity or, indeed, soul as the first one. The first was more gritty and tougher than this: Stick your head out and it would be blown away! GOW1 was a masterpiece; GOW2 is a cartoon for kids. Basically lamer version of GOW1 on trianing wheels: not challenging at all and a BIG disappointment.
  62. steveweinstein
    Nov 25, 2008
    1
    this game is way too much like the first one, sure the graphics are good but thats it(thats why i gave it one point) but besides that this game is a buggy piece if crap. as a shooter, its very much like the halo series in that its overrated by all people who bought the 360 mainly because they dont want to admit the wii and ps3 are superior... ha, pathetic!
  63. JohnS.
    Nov 25, 2008
    8
    Although the feel was the same as the first game, this shouldn't be unexpected as it is the second in a trilogy. The writing was great as the plot was advanced - the writers aren't waiting for the last game to release all the information. I liked the differences between Gears 1 and Gears 2 - "collectables" aren't just in the form of COG tags, and, when found, they actually Although the feel was the same as the first game, this shouldn't be unexpected as it is the second in a trilogy. The writing was great as the plot was advanced - the writers aren't waiting for the last game to release all the information. I liked the differences between Gears 1 and Gears 2 - "collectables" aren't just in the form of COG tags, and, when found, they actually serve a purpose - they advance the plot of the story. DIfferent weapons, enemies and modes of transport made for a very enjoyable experience. Expand
  64. Vinnyb
    Nov 20, 2008
    6
    just recently got a 360 xbox and this was one of my first games i've bought. Overall i like the single player mode(co-op mode), but what made me buy this game and my xbox 360 was that the multiplayer modes on both this game and xbox live was suppose to be amazing(better than cod4 people said) but what i have found is that it's almost impossible to connect to a game online but just recently got a 360 xbox and this was one of my first games i've bought. Overall i like the single player mode(co-op mode), but what made me buy this game and my xbox 360 was that the multiplayer modes on both this game and xbox live was suppose to be amazing(better than cod4 people said) but what i have found is that it's almost impossible to connect to a game online but when i tried gear of war 1 there was no problem. I hope they can sort this problem out soon or i will be sticking with my ps3 and selling my 360. Fell like i've been lied to with most of the reviews giving it 100% what going on here Expand
  65. YouDamnFanboys
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    Gears of War 2 is the best shooter out on current consoles today. With a deep story, engaging gameplay, and a desperate world torn by war, there is nothing this game does not have. It's probably the best 3rd person shooter made, and I dare you to name 1 co-op game that is more immersive then this title? With an 8-10 -hour long co-op campaign (unless you play on insane, in which case Gears of War 2 is the best shooter out on current consoles today. With a deep story, engaging gameplay, and a desperate world torn by war, there is nothing this game does not have. It's probably the best 3rd person shooter made, and I dare you to name 1 co-op game that is more immersive then this title? With an 8-10 -hour long co-op campaign (unless you play on insane, in which case its at least 15 hours), and an unrivaled online system (which includes about 10 different types of battles), and another co-op mode called Horde, this game screams replay value. It's not perfect (I can't give it a 9.8 like I want to), but this is definatly a runner for GOTY, and a definite must have for anyone older then 18. P.S. The truth, you gave this game a 0 because you thought it was a racing game? Wow your not biased. Expand
  66. MackA.
    Nov 27, 2008
    10
    Improving the formula? Yes. Great graphics? Yes. Great gameplay? Yes. Best Game ever? Yes, yes, yes!! This game has about everything that a shooter fan could ask for, Open vistas being ripped apart by mortars, Huge cinematic fights, and Boss Fights that once you beat you'll just say "Wow!". This game's dialouge is soaked in adrenaline fueled stereotypical soldier remarks, but Improving the formula? Yes. Great graphics? Yes. Great gameplay? Yes. Best Game ever? Yes, yes, yes!! This game has about everything that a shooter fan could ask for, Open vistas being ripped apart by mortars, Huge cinematic fights, and Boss Fights that once you beat you'll just say "Wow!". This game's dialouge is soaked in adrenaline fueled stereotypical soldier remarks, but it's not a big problem. The story has been expanded from the first game including a side story for the search for Maria Santiago (Dom's Wife). Overall, this is the best game i've ever played, and is an extremely high recommendation for all Tactical Shooter fans!! Expand
  67. Kotsu
    Nov 20, 2008
    10
    its amazing how many idiots were thinking that this game would be a clone of gears, it adds weapons enemies a more in depth story but its mostly an action game, anyone who is crying about the story sucking doesn't know what kind of game this is and dserves to be taken off of life support should they ever fall into a catatonic state.
  68. TristanH
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    This is one of the best Games i played ever, no matter on console or on the pc. The atmosphere is amazing, the controls are easy as pie and the gameplay is diversified. Also the Characters, even if they are clichéd, couldn't be any cooler or funnier. I can recommend this game warmly to everyone who has a Box and is of course OLD ENOUGH. (thats definitely not a game for kids)
  69. AliS.
    Nov 7, 2008
    2
    The graphics is better on this reiteration but the gameplay is still very much the same. Basically hide,shoot,hide,next part. The story is nonexistent and unrealistic and the character models are still very steroidtypical exaggearated. Multiplayer is great but for singel player it is quite short and people buy it for single player not neccessariyl multiplayer
  70. ErucG
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Went to eat with my wife and took a chance to see if blockbuster had any copies on a Friday night at 7:00pm on release date, One copy left. Amazing! After about 1 hour of playing, you can sense a better plot and depth than GOW. To me, that was all that GOW lacked, now it is complete.
  71. RogerR.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    For me, i have to rate this game a 1. i'm halfway through the campaign and just barely scratched the surface of multiplayer,including horde which is incedible,and i couldn't be more impressed. It's done everything to the highest caliber. way to go epic on this beautiful game.
  72. CoryG.
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    This game has been polished from the original and is just fun to play. The only complaints I really have are the occasional graphic meshing which detracts from the idea you are in the game and the occasional 'heroic' feat performed by someone in multiplayer. Anyone that has played Gears knows what I am talking about. Other than that it is a masterful game and I am enjoying it to This game has been polished from the original and is just fun to play. The only complaints I really have are the occasional graphic meshing which detracts from the idea you are in the game and the occasional 'heroic' feat performed by someone in multiplayer. Anyone that has played Gears knows what I am talking about. Other than that it is a masterful game and I am enjoying it to it's fullest. Expand
  73. Christopher
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    Not only has the game drastically improved upon the first, whether it be storyline, cutscenes, or matchmaking. It also keeps what was great in Gears of War 1 still around. A must have for any Gears of War fan, and at least a rental for the fan of action packed shooters.
  74. MatteoN.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    An invasion of Sony fanboys won't make the game any worse. It's a MASTERPIECE. Better graphics, better gameplay, more weapons, more enemies, bigger enviroments, better multiplayer, better story, longer campaign. It absolutely R-O-C-K-S!
  75. JoshE.
    Nov 7, 2008
    5
    In comparison to gears 1 this gets a 5. Campaign is decent but its much more of the same. All the little add-ons like the meat shield and chainsaw duals could have been left out and it would have made no difference, they aren't a big deal. Graphically it almost looks a step back from gears 1. looks more cartoony. Multiplayer is where for me anyways that this is a big letdown. Im a In comparison to gears 1 this gets a 5. Campaign is decent but its much more of the same. All the little add-ons like the meat shield and chainsaw duals could have been left out and it would have made no difference, they aren't a big deal. Graphically it almost looks a step back from gears 1. looks more cartoony. Multiplayer is where for me anyways that this is a big letdown. Im a hardcore gears player and have been playing online solid for the last two years. The new maps are terrible, the new weapons are fairly useless and one on one shotgun battles and sniper battles etc are now a thing of the past. Last gears had a sense of emotion and rivalry in its multiplayer but this is just too mindless. Any gears fan will not be pleased with this and I honestly don't know how gears of war 2 has gotten such high reviews. For people new to the series it will be decent but to hardcore fans of old.. don't get too excited! Peace. Expand
  76. NickP.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    I really enjoyed GoW, and I played through it quite a few times. Then I decided, thanks to a friend's insistence, to play it co-op. Even better! Then he said, hey - multiplayer, and I did. I was blown away. Now, with Gears 2 - everything is there that was in the first, except it's all BETTER. Controls, better. Multiplayer, better. Focus on the story, better. Everything that I I really enjoyed GoW, and I played through it quite a few times. Then I decided, thanks to a friend's insistence, to play it co-op. Even better! Then he said, hey - multiplayer, and I did. I was blown away. Now, with Gears 2 - everything is there that was in the first, except it's all BETTER. Controls, better. Multiplayer, better. Focus on the story, better. Everything that I wasn't keen on is gone, and everything that I wanted to be better is there. Who can ask for anything more? Expand
  77. AndrewB.
    Nov 7, 2008
    9
    Absolutely incredible, Gears 2 takes what was awesome in the original and raises the bar. The improved Unreal 3 Engine looks beautiful, although there are still some texture fade in issues (which is the only reason I can't bring myself to give it a 10). The campaign is lengthy and the story adds depth to the world. My biggest praise for the game has to be the reworked cover system Absolutely incredible, Gears 2 takes what was awesome in the original and raises the bar. The improved Unreal 3 Engine looks beautiful, although there are still some texture fade in issues (which is the only reason I can't bring myself to give it a 10). The campaign is lengthy and the story adds depth to the world. My biggest praise for the game has to be the reworked cover system and the new party system, a la Halo, for multiplayer matches. If you own and XBOX 360, you should own Gears 2. Expand
  78. AnthonyG.
    Nov 7, 2008
    7
    Not so polished gears 2 Yet another fast and to the point review on this game. Ok here it is the game is great game and adds some new stuff to do in the solo campaign, but it's a bit short...hold for it
  79. BrandonM.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    You have got to be kidding me how does this game have a 7.9 by players the morning after it comes out clearly kids are voting based on how much they like xbox and not the actual game trust me i go it last night at midnight and it is everything the hype said and more this will not dissapoint you not one bit there are almost no bugs and if there are they are so small that the intensity of You have got to be kidding me how does this game have a 7.9 by players the morning after it comes out clearly kids are voting based on how much they like xbox and not the actual game trust me i go it last night at midnight and it is everything the hype said and more this will not dissapoint you not one bit there are almost no bugs and if there are they are so small that the intensity of the action will distract you everything that was wrong with the award winnig first gears has been improved graphics are stronger ai is deadlier and with all the new game modes this is easily a 100+ hour video games GET IT Expand
  80. Mike
    Nov 8, 2008
    8
    Gears 1, but with better graphics and more weapons. The SP is much like a current Hollywood action film: bloated, obvious, and be prepared for either a cutscene or text and control hints overlaid on your screen about every 60 seconds or so. And the music is an overbearing nonstop classical score from beginning to end. The whole thing kinda reminds me of a new Star Wars film, overproduced Gears 1, but with better graphics and more weapons. The SP is much like a current Hollywood action film: bloated, obvious, and be prepared for either a cutscene or text and control hints overlaid on your screen about every 60 seconds or so. And the music is an overbearing nonstop classical score from beginning to end. The whole thing kinda reminds me of a new Star Wars film, overproduced and bombastic with not much substance. I struggled to feel "part" of the world, with the text messages, cutscenes, and control hints constantly popping up. Feels like its for a 12 yr old. All that being said, MP is better than in Gears 1, with more options and a better party system. Still has some of the glitchiness present in Gears 1, with wall sticking and the cover system, but I suppose that can be overlooked. Still, its unreal this is getting rated 100 by so-called legit game mags and websites. Wake up people. Expand
  81. KieranM.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    After playing through and completing the campaign I am absolutely stunned. The games looks beautiful and play beautifully too. The story offered more than thought and blew me away. Some bugs are still appearing but that doesn't hinder the fact that it is one of the bext games out on Xbox 360. Multiplayer is enhanced although needs ironing out in places. Stupid amounts of fun can be After playing through and completing the campaign I am absolutely stunned. The games looks beautiful and play beautifully too. The story offered more than thought and blew me away. Some bugs are still appearing but that doesn't hinder the fact that it is one of the bext games out on Xbox 360. Multiplayer is enhanced although needs ironing out in places. Stupid amounts of fun can be had with mates and Horde is another stunning co-op inventive feature. A superb game, any fans of shooters, good MP games or gore should get this. Expand
  82. PatrickR.
    Nov 8, 2008
    9
    from the very begining of the campaign its clear. Gears 2 is everything that made the first an instant classic with a face lift and some well proportioned implants. If you loved the first game, you'll love the second. Nuff said. The multi player once again stands as the best xbox has to offer.... if you can find a party that is. Which brings me to why i cant give Gears 2 a perfect from the very begining of the campaign its clear. Gears 2 is everything that made the first an instant classic with a face lift and some well proportioned implants. If you loved the first game, you'll love the second. Nuff said. The multi player once again stands as the best xbox has to offer.... if you can find a party that is. Which brings me to why i cant give Gears 2 a perfect 10. The easy and accesable match searching from the first has been replaced by the tedious, frustrating and often time consuming matchmaking that annoyed me about halo 3. In order to play you can either A. Host a match in which the only people who can join are on your friends list. B. enter matchmaking in which you have to wait until you get added to a party of other frustrated gamers waiting to play. once you get a party you must then wait until your party finds another party of players who have chosen the same 2-6 possible games types (i guess to speed up the process you can no longer search for one single mode, which again,is frustrating.) All that being said, Horde is an amazing addition to the Mp and should be the standout mode for this game. Gears 2 is everything you wanted it to be, and aside from some match making issues (which im sure will be addressed eventually) is every bit as intense as the first if not more so. Expand
  83. JackR.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    Like most of the people here, I have not played the game, not even seen it being played. But unlike most of the folks who have reviewed the game I'm not a Xbox 360 or PS3 "fanboy". Without a doubt, the game will suprass it's precdessor in almost all areas and it will be a great game for those who liked the original and are into action shooters. Resistance 2 and Killzone 2 for Like most of the people here, I have not played the game, not even seen it being played. But unlike most of the folks who have reviewed the game I'm not a Xbox 360 or PS3 "fanboy". Without a doubt, the game will suprass it's precdessor in almost all areas and it will be a great game for those who liked the original and are into action shooters. Resistance 2 and Killzone 2 for the PS3 will also be great games and comparing them to GoW2 is merely a matter of preference (or matter what ever console you happen to own). I don't hear many people comparing movies with such "enthusiasm" as games, but personally I don't make that big a difference between the two mediums. Expand
  84. mg
    Nov 8, 2008
    8
    The cinematics are the same as the first, which is great. The single player campaign is epic. The multiplayer is a little wanting. My friends and I had to wait for a long time to get a 5th player before we could actually start playing. And only 2 player coop? And since they were released so close together, you can't help but compare this game to resistance 2. Gears wins the solo The cinematics are the same as the first, which is great. The single player campaign is epic. The multiplayer is a little wanting. My friends and I had to wait for a long time to get a 5th player before we could actually start playing. And only 2 player coop? And since they were released so close together, you can't help but compare this game to resistance 2. Gears wins the solo campaign. But I have to give the award for multiplayer to Resistance. It's just more fulfilling, not a lot of waiting around. Gears is still definitely a great game, though. Expand
  85. ConnorH.
    Nov 9, 2008
    5
    Honestly, the new things this game offers is truly subpar for a full-blown 60$ sequel. This game is essentially what Halo: Recon will offer, aside from the slapped on horde mode. It offers new multiplayer maps, a new campaign (while once again having a terrible story with shallow characters) and a few new guns and small tweaks. The biggest difference between Gears 2 and Recon is Recon Honestly, the new things this game offers is truly subpar for a full-blown 60$ sequel. This game is essentially what Halo: Recon will offer, aside from the slapped on horde mode. It offers new multiplayer maps, a new campaign (while once again having a terrible story with shallow characters) and a few new guns and small tweaks. The biggest difference between Gears 2 and Recon is Recon will probably cost 20 bucks cheaper at launch. Way to milk the series, Epic. Expand
  86. JoseR.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Ok so gears of war 2 improves many "complains" that people had with gears 1, and this time around they have a story, a great multiplayer, amd the graphics are amazing, the only complain i have is that now the shotgun is kind of crappy thanks to the stopping power, but is a grat game so go ahead and try it.
  87. JoeLoccius
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    This game is simply amazing. I love the enviroments and how each different act always has at least 15 epic moments were you are just like "wow this sure does own resistance 2". Anyway the whole game is unbeilevably epic and it is definatly bigger, better, and more badass then resistance 2....(espcailly Cole Train's lines).
  88. DillW.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Gears of War 2 raises the bar that Gears 1 set up by a long shot. The story is still typical Gears of War fare but there is a much better storytelling and you find out more about the enimies you face. The combat is just as fun as ever with new weapons such as the Scorcher Flamethower, The Gorgon Burst Pistol and my personal favorite the Mucher portable turret. There are more driving Gears of War 2 raises the bar that Gears 1 set up by a long shot. The story is still typical Gears of War fare but there is a much better storytelling and you find out more about the enimies you face. The combat is just as fun as ever with new weapons such as the Scorcher Flamethower, The Gorgon Burst Pistol and my personal favorite the Mucher portable turret. There are more driving segments which are more fun than the Junker by a long shot. The enviroments are nicley colored and the dispay of tens of villans on one screen is great. However, there are still some errors with the game itself. The voice acting could use a little work and a couple of texture glitches occur here and there. This game has "Game of the Year" written all over it. Expand
  89. DAVIDGIBBONS
    Nov 9, 2008
    8
    i THINK THIS IS STILL AN AMAZING GAME AND FOR NEWCOMERS IS JUST AS GOOD OR BETTER THAN THE FIRST. BUT IF YOU HAVE PLAYED THE FIRST AND HAVE JUST BOUGHT THE SECOND THEN YOU MAY FIND IT A BIT BORING IN SOME WAYS BECAUSE IT IS VERY MUCH THE SAME
  90. KyleOcocker
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    This game has impressive graphics, gameplay, story, funny lines said by Cole Train, awesome horde mode, and multiplayer +bots!

    This game is really awe-maz-ing and beats resistance 2 by far.... When i am playing the chicago co-op level online for resistance 2 it looks like a gamecube game....unlike gears 2 which is just basically jack off material...
  91. BenM.
    Nov 9, 2008
    9
    Non-stop feeling of being in a war plowing a troika through 50+ locusts is just amazing .. multiplayer movement is alot smoother - no more hoover vacuums in walls . Needs locale settings or ping indicator for public games in multiplayer ... lag can become terrible at times.
  92. JamesB
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    Another target for the fanboy idiots. Well done, you are going to get user rankings blocked. Now that the rant is over lets move on to the game. It really is a case of more of the same but is definately a good thing, but the battles are more epic, the environments are simply jaw dropping, however for me personally, the real secret to its success is the co-op mode. I have been playing Another target for the fanboy idiots. Well done, you are going to get user rankings blocked. Now that the rant is over lets move on to the game. It really is a case of more of the same but is definately a good thing, but the battles are more epic, the environments are simply jaw dropping, however for me personally, the real secret to its success is the co-op mode. I have been playing online with my friend and it is simply a joy to behold. A beautiful beautiful game which deserves to be played. Well done Epic I hope it brings you the success it deserves. Absolutely brilliant. Expand
  93. JasonEdwards
    Dec 15, 2008
    10
    The fact that this game is rated lower than the first is moronic. When reviewing a game, people need to stop comparing it to the first and saying "Oh, they didn't change it enough so it gets a worse review" and instead should pretend as if the original NEVER EXISTED and base their review off of the game for all it's worth.

    Gears 2 is definitely a hgue improvement over the
    The fact that this game is rated lower than the first is moronic. When reviewing a game, people need to stop comparing it to the first and saying "Oh, they didn't change it enough so it gets a worse review" and instead should pretend as if the original NEVER EXISTED and base their review off of the game for all it's worth.

    Gears 2 is definitely a hgue improvement over the first, offering a longer game, more weapons, new and exciting level-specific mechanics (razor-hail, tunneling worms, boat battles, etc) as well as incredibly unique, well detailed and definitely rememberable level designs.

    Gears of War was a fun third-person shooter that lasted a few hours and was an enjoyable ride. Gears of War 2 is an amazing experience that takes you many places that you won't soon forget.

    10/10 for being an incredible game that surpasses the first in every aspect.
    Expand
  94. ZacharyTrimmer
    Dec 10, 2008
    9
    Gears of War 2 is an improvement over its predecessor in almost every single way. The single player is more epic and engaging, and the multiplayer has received the attention it deserves. My only complaint is that the chainsaw is too easy to re-rev if you are shot/beat trying to chainsaw someone, meaning it is easier to chainsaw in GOW2 than GOW1.
  95. L.B
    Dec 22, 2008
    6
    Quite frankly, the fanboy rating for this game is far more accurate than the critic rating.
    Gears of War 2's singleplayer is pretty much what you'd expect. It has a lot more variation than the previous game, fortunately. And it is quite fun. However, it's not amazing and it's not that much different to its prequel. And it's as short as you'd think.
    The
    Quite frankly, the fanboy rating for this game is far more accurate than the critic rating.
    Gears of War 2's singleplayer is pretty much what you'd expect. It has a lot more variation than the previous game, fortunately. And it is quite fun. However, it's not amazing and it's not that much different to its prequel. And it's as short as you'd think.
    The multiplayer is a broken disgrace. You can't start or join a game, you can't choose a game type, can't choose a map, nothing. It has none of the social aspect of Gears 1 either. It uses the godawful matchmaking system from Halo 3. Which amounts to you spending all your time in menus instead of playing boring glitchy matches.
    Please don't buy this game. I felt ripped off enough renting it.
    Expand
  96. HarryBauls
    Dec 26, 2008
    0
    At first, I thought that this game was going to be a worthy followup to a great game, and I looked forward to the story. It had me interested for a little while, but then when Marcus pissed all over that hot sexy girl in the third act of yonder I found it sort of tasteless and put the game down and never played it again.
  97. AlbertW.
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    GOW, i mean GOW!!!!!! wow this is an amazing game the history and the multiplayer are examples of what a Third Person Shooter MUST be, the characters aren't only videogame characters, they can be real people all have their history, mistakes, etc. this game can be played even if you don't know the first part, the campaign made me laugh, cry and eat my nails haha, i didn'tGOW, i mean GOW!!!!!! wow this is an amazing game the history and the multiplayer are examples of what a Third Person Shooter MUST be, the characters aren't only videogame characters, they can be real people all have their history, mistakes, etc. this game can be played even if you don't know the first part, the campaign made me laugh, cry and eat my nails haha, i didn't think this could be possible, at least the graphics are the best of all times, Halo, here's your contender number 1!!! Expand
  98. JeffreyP
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    This game is mixed by users 1) perhaps they are not the type to play third person shooters 2) they are ps3 users trying to make the purchase justified and not buy this game 3) the reviewer just honestly did not like the game. I can understand one and three, but when I hear people get upset because they didn't mind to look at the freaking cover of the game, thinking it was a racingThis game is mixed by users 1) perhaps they are not the type to play third person shooters 2) they are ps3 users trying to make the purchase justified and not buy this game 3) the reviewer just honestly did not like the game. I can understand one and three, but when I hear people get upset because they didn't mind to look at the freaking cover of the game, thinking it was a racing game, come on, that makes me a little upset. This game defines what a blockbuster style action and story of epic survival really mean. Big guns, huge enemies with bigger weapons, expanded environments and new takes on the bleak world of Sera, take this game to a new height of badassness. Mind you there are thing like glitches that need to work out, but don't complain the multilayer is laggy, because you're internet sucks(oldest excuse in the book of gaming by the way). The game may feel short to some, but in the long run, I know people will be working day and night to get the Seriously 2.0 Achievement. Expand
  99. LaV.
    Dec 6, 2008
    9
    "I thought this was a racing game. I mean, "gears"... doesn't that sound like a racing game to you? But it was really just a bunch of weird looking creatures running around blowing each other's skulls off. Not a face car to be found. They should have renamed this "shoot the screaming beast in the face 2" or something. Typical Microsoft false advertising. I suspect this game is "I thought this was a racing game. I mean, "gears"... doesn't that sound like a racing game to you? But it was really just a bunch of weird looking creatures running around blowing each other's skulls off. Not a face car to be found. They should have renamed this "shoot the screaming beast in the face 2" or something. Typical Microsoft false advertising. I suspect this game is only played by teenage bed-wetters who cannot read. Worst ever! Shame on you Microsoft!" Have you been living under a rock? How the hell do you think it's a racing game? There's a damn gun in the front of the cover and have you ever thought about looking at the back of the damn package? It gives a perfect description of what the game is about. Microsoft didn't give any false advertising at all your just an ignorant daft c**nt! Other than that I believe the game is great. Only downside is it takes ages for the game to connect online. Which I'm hoping they will fix. Expand
  100. BrandonS
    Dec 7, 2008
    9
    This game is great and truly improves upon the original Gears. Now I wonder, what's with all the low-rating scores for stupid reasons? "I thought it was a racing game, so I'll give it a 2", that's just dumb. And why are people saying it's perfect and recommending it, but then giving it a 2? I realize they are kidding, but do not ruin a game's reputation for your This game is great and truly improves upon the original Gears. Now I wonder, what's with all the low-rating scores for stupid reasons? "I thought it was a racing game, so I'll give it a 2", that's just dumb. And why are people saying it's perfect and recommending it, but then giving it a 2? I realize they are kidding, but do not ruin a game's reputation for your own enjoyment. Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 90 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 90
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 90
  3. Negative: 0 out of 90
  1. There are very few ways that Gears of War 2 could be improved on. Only the story and the final boss in particular are a slight disappointment. Fanboys will love the fact that only one of a multitude of story arcs is concluded; everyone else will feel slightly unfulfilled. But aside from this, Gears 2 is not just the most exhilarating game you'll play this year, but possibly the most heady and downright shocking piece of entertainment full stop. Hollywood, your days are numbered. [Dec 2008, p.61]
  2. The real star, however, is Horde, a ballistic assault on your worst score-rush tendencies that transforms maps into Gears-flavoured Mutant Storm: weapons spawn, then a wave of enemies hits, then more weapons and then another, tougher, wave.
  3. 360 Gamer Magazine UK
    90
    We could be critical of Gears of War 2 simply offering more of the same, but the fact that it simply does everything better than the original in delivering a fantastic display of shoot-’em-up mayhem its quality simply shines through. With some awesome level design, supported by unsurpassed visuals and relentlessly entertaining action it is a compelling experience from start to finish. Forget the crack at putting emotion into the storyline; it’s almost irrelevant as Gears of War 2 is an allguns- blazing extravaganza and, as such, it’s just a glorious shooter that very few can match.